kate spade new york

Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2012
Not a friend for girls with hips.
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding. I usually LOVE Kate Spade dresses, and was so excited! However, when it came, neither size fit. Both sizes were waaaaay too tight on my hips and waaaayyy too loose on top. It looked ridiculous. I ended up just wearing a dress I already had. You may be beautiful, dress, but you are not a friend to girls with hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
December 9, 2014
Would have worn it if they had my back up size.
Fit ran small. I own a lot of KS dresses and her sizing can be all over the place.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
May 21, 2015
Perfect dress for a circa 1962 cocktail party!
This was my first experience renting with RTR and it couldn't have been easier. For the most part I felt the dress ran true to size. It was a tiny bit loose on me in the top (I'm a 30DD) but other than that, I have zero complaints! It's a cute dress and could be accessorized to look completely retro!! I loved it! I will definitely be using RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 21, 2011
Beautiful Dress!
I loved this dress!! I wore it for a Christmas party with tights and it looked really cute! It's such a fun bright color and I received so many compliments. It actually seemed to run a little large - I usually wear a 2 but could have worn a 0. I highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 17, 2012
Love, but a wee bit big
This is a great, classic dress. I wore for a rehearsal dinner for a friend's wedding and it was great. I matched it with tan heels and the Gold Elephant bag from Lilly Pulitzer. The dress ran big on me, there was extra fabric in the back and a little in the front. If I owned it I would have it tailored, but it worked fine as is.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, great quality and color!
very comfortable fit, accentuates the waist, but definitely runs a bit large. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4 as with most KS dresses
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2013
the dress I wore was a far better fit than this one, which was my back up style.
I chose this dress for my back up style for my first RTR experience. I am SO glad it wasn't my first choice because it was not a good fit for me! I normally wear a size 4 dress, but this size 4 was very large on me! I have a full chest and it even hung loose in the bust! If i ever rent a Kate Spade again I will certainly go a size down for my back up size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 4, 2013
so chic! can dress it up or down!
I wore this dress for the Maryland Microbrew Festival (I had originally planned to wear it to the opening of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, but I chose the wrong dates by accident!) it actually worked out perfectly. I rented the necklace, too, and wore black flats with a cropped yellow jacket. it was casual and chic, and wasn't out of character for the way I normally dress. it was a bit big, maybe if I had a larger chest it would have filled out a little more, but I don't think anyone could tell! fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2014
Colorful frock wins the night's best dress!
Beautiful jewel tone, length was good but I may have been able to do the size down. The fabric was also a little hot on a humid, rainy day.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2014
didn't end up wearing
I wanted a 0 but it never came in so I received the 4 and it was way too big, cute dress though and would have been nice if it was the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Many compliments on this fun color!
Although the dress is a beautiful color and very comfortable, there was too much space under the arms, even in the smaller size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2013
This dress was perfect for a fun but formal wedding!
Fit was a little big, especially in the waist. The color is much brighter than the pictures shows: more of a magenta. The length was slightly on the longer side, which was perfect for a tall girl like me (I'm 5'9).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2011
Lots of confidence in the spotlight thanks to this dress.
Loved the color and flattering fit. It was perfect for my company christmas party -- conservative but not dull. I ordered the 4 and 6 and the 6 JUST fit, so I'd say it runs a little small.
MeghanNovember 16, 2012
Love it. What accessories would you recommend for this dress?
RTR CustomerNovember 19, 2012
Hi Meghan! I would recommend a great cuff, clutch, or pair of earrings to wear with this dress! Take a look at our new jewelry options!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2012
Awkward cut
While the color of this dress is stunning, the cut leaves a lot to be desired. The lower half was very constricting, while the top portion was way too big. I have more of an hourglass figure, so it was just unflattering on all parts. The sewn in slip created a created a weird bulge in the middle section too. Although this is a beautiful dress, I don't recommend it for hourglass or pear-shaped figures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
June 19, 2012
Great dress for a Wedding!
I was very pleased with this dress! It was my first RTR order and it came right on time and in great condition. I will say the dress runs a size small so make sure you order a size up just to be safe. I received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
August 21, 2012
Great dress, small in the bust
After reading other reviews, I'm so glad I went up a dress size for this. I can admit to being a buster girl and although the original size fit well, I was much more comfortable in the larger one. I was at an outdoor bridal shower and I was happy the dress did not show the sweat. Cute dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2012
Great color, runs really small
I rented this dress for a holiday party; the color is really pretty but the fit is off... huge on top; tight on the bottom. I didn't end up wearing it and had to pull something from my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
Runs very small in the bust area.
As others have mentioned, the bust area is very tight. I even sized up, and it was still way too tight. Also, the lining on this dress hung down past the dress's hemline, so I ended up returning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 23, 2013
Tight in the hips
Beautiful dress - fabric was not what I was expecting, but it's still really lovely. It's not shiny at all as it looks on the model, but rather it's more iridescent, which is what gives it its sheen. Unfortunately, it does not have ANY extra room through the hips, so it is NOT meant for pear-shaped women, which I am.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2013
Didn't wear this dress.
I rented this for my sister's wedding - she asked us to get purple dresses. It arrived in pretty poor condition, extremely wrinkled and a bit beat up. The color purple is darker and has less of a sheen than in the picture. Then, I tried it on. The 10 was too small, and extremely tight around the hips. I was surprised because I own several Kate Spade dresses, and usually the 10 is just a bit too large on me. So, I did not end up wearing this dress to my sister's wedding. Bummer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 4, 2013
Cute dress, just didn't fit
Loved the color, but it was too narrow for my thick thighs and big butt. Ended up wearing a dress I already had. Wish it would have worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 24, 2014
It was not a great hourglass dress...
I hated this dress on my shape! It wasn't stretchy and bunched up over my hips.... It was not flattering to the hourglass shape and I even sized up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
November 9, 2014
Pretty dress, but too snug
I rented this dress for a wedding. It was a very pretty color (they've adjusted the online photo to more accurately reflect how purple it is -- when I rented it, the online photo was paler), but it just didn't fit. It was too snug, so I sent it back. I've tried on other Kate Spade dresses a 12 and they fit fine, but this one didn't. It was very tighter than I expected around the hips and bust. In particular, the bust line was so tight that you could see my roll of back fat through the dress -- yikes! I returned it and RTR was great about giving me a credit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Nice, a little snug for me
I'm a 10-12 on top and a 12-14 on the bottom, so even with Spanx this was a little snug on me through the hips (nothing so obvious it couldn't be worn, but it rode up a bit as I moved around and I felt like I was adjusting a lot). That said, it's a very pretty dress - very classic and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 7, 2012
Cute!
A little bit tight through the thighs but nothing a pair of Spanx can't fix. Super flattering and cute on! Easy to accessorize!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2012
I looked hot
Ran a little small I usually wear an 8 but the reviews said it ran small so I also got a 6 but the 8 was still tight around my ass. I have kind of a big ass though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
June 14, 2013
Beautiful Color and cut but tight along chest
I would have loved to worn this dress, both the 6 and 8 fit except for across the bust! I'm only a C but was squished in. Beautful color though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 21, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I normally wear a 6, but could not zip the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 28, 2016
Beautiful color! I love renting dresses from Kate Spade.
A little larger in the bust. Overall, a great dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
This dress is beautiful and made of nice material. However it doesn't do a ton for your figure. I rented to 6 and the 8, the 6 fit but the bottom half isn't tailored well enough to follow a women's body. It just sort of tents out. I was dissapointed and returned it the next day.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 2, 2011
The dress fit perfectly. The only issue was that it was a little long. If you are short it is going to fall right around your knee area. It still looked great and was very comfortable. I was very happy with my rental and would reccommend this dress!
LaurenJune 28, 2015
I love the earrings you wore with it! Are they from RTR also?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I rented the 10 and 12...I usually wear a 10 in everything I wear but this dress was a little to snug as a 10. I wore the 12 for my event but it was a bit big in the chest. It was very comfortable but overall the dress was longer than it looks in the photo. I would rent it again and loved the color.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 5, 2011
I loved the color of the dress. It was vibrant and happy :)
This dress was gorgeous!!! I loved wearing it and received numerous compliments. It's flattering, comfortable, and just a beautiful dress all around. Sadly I don't have better pictures that show the full length, but will post them later if I come across some. I wore this to my post wedding brunch and it was perfect! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2012
Beautiful, but short
This was my backup for a formal event. The fabric and detailing are beautiful (especially the gold zipper running up the back), but unfortunately it really didn't sit well on my taller frame. The I'm used to that, but it doesn't mean I wasn't disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 17, 2012
loved it!
This dress was so comfortable! I wore it to an evening summer wedding. The bride's family are conservative dressers, so I knew it wasn't the time to rock anything revealing. This dress was perfect for this event and I received lots of compliments, even one from the bride's mother! I think the color is a little more eggplant, than the photo, but it was a lovely color. Probably one of the "easiest to wear" party dresses I have ever worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 25, 2012
When I was opening up my shower gifts and I recieved a Kate Spade Vase to go with my Kate Spade dress!
I loved everything about this dress, the fit was great, the dress was very comfortable and the fabric held up really well even thought it was a very hot and humid day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 26, 2012
The Color Purple
I received many compliments on the color of this stylish sheath, which I wore to my 40th high school reunion! When I tried on the size 6, I noticed that it seemed a bit "shop worn" and the lining extended a bit below the hemline. The size 4 was crisp and seemed less worn.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
lovely dress
fit very well, runs true to size. Very forgiving . seemed to wrinkle easily after sitting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
September 13, 2012
Great dress!
Fantastic color, easy to wear, and photographs well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2012
This was fabulous - transitioned well from the church wedding to reception in June
Fit great. I was surprised it was cut well enough to be comfortable throughout in the 4. My only issue was the waist detail had pulled - I tacked it into place before the wedding. Other than that it arrived in great condition and was the perfect dress for the event.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×