Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
101 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 2, 2014
The color is amazing!
Such a pretty, classic dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot of compliments! It was a little tight in the rib cage area... But I wouldn't have gotten a bigger size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2013
So classy for the first time meeting all of my boyfriends family!
The fit was perfect! I wear a 34d and wasn't sure which fit (4 or 6) would fit better up top. The 6 allowed me to wear a better fitting bra where the 4 would have had me squeezing. Unfortunately I don't have a full length picture of the dress but it was a modest length and worked well for dancing and moving around comfortably. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2014
Great material and color... Perfect for a rehearsal dinner
Wore to my boyfriend's brother's rehearsal dinner. Thought that it struck the right balance of dressy but not too formal. Loved the texture of the dress and purple color. Was pleased that the 6 fit like a glove, the 4 was too tight for my curves. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
February 15, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this dress along with another one for a Valentine's Day date but the other dress was more "date-y", so I just put a black cardigan with this one and wore it to work! I had SO many compliments on it and the color is gorgeous! Someone even told me I looked skinny in it, which to me is the biggest compliment you can get! I want to buy this dress now!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Wore to my bridal shower...
Really cute and flattering. Color was beautiful. Could have been 1/2 inch shorter on me but was completely appropriate for a ladies lunch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Nice, a little snug for me
I'm a 10-12 on top and a 12-14 on the bottom, so even with Spanx this was a little snug on me through the hips (nothing so obvious it couldn't be worn, but it rode up a bit as I moved around and I felt like I was adjusting a lot). That said, it's a very pretty dress - very classic and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2012
Easy!
Beautiful dress, classy and very nice hue for fall wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
Fits true to size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Great dress! The fit was perfect and the color is eye catching without being over the top.
Loved the color! In a sea of little black dresses this stands out, but is simple and elegant. I normally wear a 6. The dress fit great without being snug or uncomfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
October 30, 2012
Very comfortable dress!
The biggest problem I had with this dress was that I had to pin the back because the sash was loose. It seemed like it had been stretched or something. Other than that, I loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
Pretty dress
Fit was great, didn't love the color--was a warmer purple than I was expecting. Many compliments received.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 7, 2012
Cute!
A little bit tight through the thighs but nothing a pair of Spanx can't fix. Super flattering and cute on! Easy to accessorize!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2012
I looked hot
Ran a little small I usually wear an 8 but the reviews said it ran small so I also got a 6 but the 8 was still tight around my ass. I have kind of a big ass though.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2013
This dress was perfect for a fun but formal wedding!
Fit was a little big, especially in the waist. The color is much brighter than the pictures shows: more of a magenta. The length was slightly on the longer side, which was perfect for a tall girl like me (I'm 5'9).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
March 19, 2013
3rd time renting from RTR, never tried Kate Spade before, will def rent again!
The color is much more vibrant in person! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2013
Fit great! Loved the color!
The picture of the color is a little deceiving. The dress is a lot darker purple in person but it worked out great in the end. It was very comfortable to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
June 14, 2013
Beautiful Color and cut but tight along chest
I would have loved to worn this dress, both the 6 and 8 fit except for across the bust! I'm only a C but was squished in. Beautful color though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2013
Loved it!
Another dress that I didn't want to return! The fabric and cut of the dress are great. I received a to. Of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 21, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I normally wear a 6, but could not zip the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2013
Wore this dress for my niece's wedding. Very classy!
Ordered 6 and 8, both fit but the 6 was a little better quality.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 28, 2016
Beautiful color! I love renting dresses from Kate Spade.
A little larger in the bust. Overall, a great dress!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×