Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Mademoiselle Dress

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

101 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 73
Large 9
Photos 34
Lauren
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful and made of nice material. However it doesn't do a ton for your figure. I rented to 6 and the 8, the 6 fit but the bottom half isn't tailored well enough to follow a women's body. It just sort of tents out. I was dissapointed and returned it the next day.
Brielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress fit perfectly. The only issue was that it was a little long. If you are short it is going to fall right around your knee area. It still looked great and was very comfortable. I was very happy with my rental and would reccommend this dress!
Leslie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented the 10 and 12...I usually wear a 10 in everything I wear but this dress was a little to snug as a 10. I wore the 12 for my event but it was a bit big in the chest. It was very comfortable but overall the dress was longer than it looks in the photo. I would rent it again and loved the color.
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress!! I wore it for a Christmas party with tights and it looked really cute! It's such a fun bright color and I received so many compliments. It actually seemed to run a little large - I usually wear a 2 but could have worn a 0. I highly recommend this dress!
A
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 15, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress along with another one for a Valentine's Day date but the other dress was more "date-y", so I just put a black cardigan with this one and wore it to work! I had SO many compliments on it and the color is gorgeous! Someone even told me I looked skinny in it, which to me is the biggest compliment you can get! I want to buy this dress now!
Delaney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 5, 2012

Beautiful, but short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup for a formal event. The fabric and detailing are beautiful (especially the gold zipper running up the back), but unfortunately it really didn't sit well on my taller frame. The I'm used to that, but it doesn't mean I wasn't disappointed!
CMed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 16, 2012

Awkward cut

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While the color of this dress is stunning, the cut leaves a lot to be desired. The lower half was very constricting, while the top portion was way too big. I have more of an hourglass figure, so it was just unflattering on all parts. The sewn in slip created a created a weird bulge in the middle section too. Although this is a beautiful dress, I don't recommend it for hourglass or pear-shaped figures.
Ginger
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable! I wore it to an evening summer wedding. The bride's family are conservative dressers, so I knew it wasn't the time to rock anything revealing. This dress was perfect for this event and I received lots of compliments, even one from the bride's mother! I think the color is a little more eggplant, than the photo, but it was a lovely color. Probably one of the "easiest to wear" party dresses I have ever worn.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

Love, but a wee bit big

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great, classic dress. I wore for a rehearsal dinner for a friend's wedding and it was great. I matched it with tan heels and the Gold Elephant bag from Lilly Pulitzer. The dress ran big on me, there was extra fabric in the back and a little in the front. If I owned it I would have it tailored, but it worked fine as is.
TMA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Jun 19, 2012

Great dress for a Wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very pleased with this dress! It was my first RTR order and it came right on time and in great condition. I will say the dress runs a size small so make sure you order a size up just to be safe. I received tons of compliments!
Amelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 21, 2012

Not for curvy girls

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress along with the Kate Spade Puttin' on the Ritz drop earrings to wear to a friend's wedding. The color was gorgeous (like all of Kate's dresses!), and the style of the dress would have been perfect for the afternoon, summer-time, outdoor wedding I was going to...this dress just is not cut to fit curvy girls well. I'm usually in between a 4 and a 6 depending on the dress, but rented a 6 and an 8 of this one after reading some of the reviews saying the bottom could be a bit snug. For me, both the 6 and the 8 were so tight on the bottom that there top of the waist didn't lie flat, but the top of the dress was HUGE. If you're built like a tent pole, this is the dress for you. If not, perhaps chose a different dress. (P.S. I still ended up wearing the Kate Spade earrings with a dress of my own, so not all was lost!)
Gail
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Jul 26, 2012

The Color Purple

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I received many compliments on the color of this stylish sheath, which I wore to my 40th high school reunion! When I tried on the size 6, I noticed that it seemed a bit "shop worn" and the lining extended a bit below the hemline. The size 4 was crisp and seemed less worn.
Diane
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Aug 13, 2012

lovely dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit very well, runs true to size. Very forgiving . seemed to wrinkle easily after sitting
AmyBeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 21, 2012

Great dress, small in the bust

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
After reading other reviews, I'm so glad I went up a dress size for this. I can admit to being a buster girl and although the original size fit well, I was much more comfortable in the larger one. I was at an outdoor bridal shower and I was happy the dress did not show the sweat. Cute dress!
ljpj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 27, 2012

Great color, runs really small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a holiday party; the color is really pretty but the fit is off... huge on top; tight on the bottom. I didn't end up wearing it and had to pull something from my closet.
jessaroo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 4, 2012

Wore to my bridal shower...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really cute and flattering. Color was beautiful. Could have been 1/2 inch shorter on me but was completely appropriate for a ladies lunch.
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

Nice, a little snug for me

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm a 10-12 on top and a 12-14 on the bottom, so even with Spanx this was a little snug on me through the hips (nothing so obvious it couldn't be worn, but it rode up a bit as I moved around and I felt like I was adjusting a lot). That said, it's a very pretty dress - very classic and elegant.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Sep 13, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fantastic color, easy to wear, and photographs well!
Holly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

This was fabulous - transitioned well from the church wedding to reception in June

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. I was surprised it was cut well enough to be comfortable throughout in the 4. My only issue was the waist detail had pulled - I tacked it into place before the wedding. Other than that it arrived in great condition and was the perfect dress for the event.
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Perfect and classy dress for a special occasion

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehersal dinner for a wedding in Washington DC. It was at a more traditional venue and this Kate Spade dress was an excellent choice. It stood out becasue of the vibrant color but was still conservative. The size 2 fit perfectly without any need for modification. The dress was a little longer on me than the photo.
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

This was the dress I was wearing when I got my bid from Delta Zeta!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sisters couldn't stop complimenting me and it fit perfectly. It made my Rush Week that much easier, knowing that I looked great and no one else would have the same dress as me. I stood out and got bids from my Top 2 sororities! It was an appropriate length on me, since I'm 6 feet tall so I love this dress. It was a beautiful dress and I'd rent it again in a heartbeat.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×