Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
September 13, 2012
Great dress!
Fantastic color, easy to wear, and photographs well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
September 7, 2012
Nice, a little snug for me
I'm a 10-12 on top and a 12-14 on the bottom, so even with Spanx this was a little snug on me through the hips (nothing so obvious it couldn't be worn, but it rode up a bit as I moved around and I felt like I was adjusting a lot). That said, it's a very pretty dress - very classic and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
September 4, 2012
Wore to my bridal shower...
Really cute and flattering. Color was beautiful. Could have been 1/2 inch shorter on me but was completely appropriate for a ladies lunch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2012
Great color, runs really small
I rented this dress for a holiday party; the color is really pretty but the fit is off... huge on top; tight on the bottom. I didn't end up wearing it and had to pull something from my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
August 21, 2012
Great dress, small in the bust
After reading other reviews, I'm so glad I went up a dress size for this. I can admit to being a buster girl and although the original size fit well, I was much more comfortable in the larger one. I was at an outdoor bridal shower and I was happy the dress did not show the sweat. Cute dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Many compliments on this fun color!
Although the dress is a beautiful color and very comfortable, there was too much space under the arms, even in the smaller size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
lovely dress
fit very well, runs true to size. Very forgiving . seemed to wrinkle easily after sitting
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
July 26, 2012
The Color Purple
I received many compliments on the color of this stylish sheath, which I wore to my 40th high school reunion! When I tried on the size 6, I noticed that it seemed a bit "shop worn" and the lining extended a bit below the hemline. The size 4 was crisp and seemed less worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 25, 2012
When I was opening up my shower gifts and I recieved a Kate Spade Vase to go with my Kate Spade dress!
I loved everything about this dress, the fit was great, the dress was very comfortable and the fabric held up really well even thought it was a very hot and humid day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2012
Not for curvy girls
I rented this dress along with the Kate Spade Puttin' on the Ritz drop earrings to wear to a friend's wedding. The color was gorgeous (like all of Kate's dresses!), and the style of the dress would have been perfect for the afternoon, summer-time, outdoor wedding I was going to...this dress just is not cut to fit curvy girls well. I'm usually in between a 4 and a 6 depending on the dress, but rented a 6 and an 8 of this one after reading some of the reviews saying the bottom could be a bit snug. For me, both the 6 and the 8 were so tight on the bottom that there top of the waist didn't lie flat, but the top of the dress was HUGE. If you're built like a tent pole, this is the dress for you. If not, perhaps chose a different dress. (P.S. I still ended up wearing the Kate Spade earrings with a dress of my own, so not all was lost!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
June 19, 2012
Great dress for a Wedding!
I was very pleased with this dress! It was my first RTR order and it came right on time and in great condition. I will say the dress runs a size small so make sure you order a size up just to be safe. I received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 17, 2012
Love, but a wee bit big
This is a great, classic dress. I wore for a rehearsal dinner for a friend's wedding and it was great. I matched it with tan heels and the Gold Elephant bag from Lilly Pulitzer. The dress ran big on me, there was extra fabric in the back and a little in the front. If I owned it I would have it tailored, but it worked fine as is.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 17, 2012
loved it!
This dress was so comfortable! I wore it to an evening summer wedding. The bride's family are conservative dressers, so I knew it wasn't the time to rock anything revealing. This dress was perfect for this event and I received lots of compliments, even one from the bride's mother! I think the color is a little more eggplant, than the photo, but it was a lovely color. Probably one of the "easiest to wear" party dresses I have ever worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2012
Awkward cut
While the color of this dress is stunning, the cut leaves a lot to be desired. The lower half was very constricting, while the top portion was way too big. I have more of an hourglass figure, so it was just unflattering on all parts. The sewn in slip created a created a weird bulge in the middle section too. Although this is a beautiful dress, I don't recommend it for hourglass or pear-shaped figures.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2012
Beautiful, but short
This was my backup for a formal event. The fabric and detailing are beautiful (especially the gold zipper running up the back), but unfortunately it really didn't sit well on my taller frame. The I'm used to that, but it doesn't mean I wasn't disappointed!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
February 15, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this dress along with another one for a Valentine's Day date but the other dress was more "date-y", so I just put a black cardigan with this one and wore it to work! I had SO many compliments on it and the color is gorgeous! Someone even told me I looked skinny in it, which to me is the biggest compliment you can get! I want to buy this dress now!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2011
Lots of confidence in the spotlight thanks to this dress.
Loved the color and flattering fit. It was perfect for my company christmas party -- conservative but not dull. I ordered the 4 and 6 and the 6 JUST fit, so I'd say it runs a little small.
MeghanNovember 16, 2012
Love it. What accessories would you recommend for this dress?
RTR CustomerNovember 19, 2012
Hi Meghan! I would recommend a great cuff, clutch, or pair of earrings to wear with this dress! Take a look at our new jewelry options!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 21, 2011
Beautiful Dress!
I loved this dress!! I wore it for a Christmas party with tights and it looked really cute! It's such a fun bright color and I received so many compliments. It actually seemed to run a little large - I usually wear a 2 but could have worn a 0. I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 5, 2011
I loved the color of the dress. It was vibrant and happy :)
This dress was gorgeous!!! I loved wearing it and received numerous compliments. It's flattering, comfortable, and just a beautiful dress all around. Sadly I don't have better pictures that show the full length, but will post them later if I come across some. I wore this to my post wedding brunch and it was perfect! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I rented the 10 and 12...I usually wear a 10 in everything I wear but this dress was a little to snug as a 10. I wore the 12 for my event but it was a bit big in the chest. It was very comfortable but overall the dress was longer than it looks in the photo. I would rent it again and loved the color.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 2, 2011
The dress fit perfectly. The only issue was that it was a little long. If you are short it is going to fall right around your knee area. It still looked great and was very comfortable. I was very happy with my rental and would reccommend this dress!
LaurenJune 28, 2015
I love the earrings you wore with it! Are they from RTR also?
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
This dress is beautiful and made of nice material. However it doesn't do a ton for your figure. I rented to 6 and the 8, the 6 fit but the bottom half isn't tailored well enough to follow a women's body. It just sort of tents out. I was dissapointed and returned it the next day.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×