kate spade new york

Mademoiselle Dress

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress. Stick with a simple pump and and add the Kate Spade's Confectionary Multi Anastasia Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

99 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 72
Large 9
Photos 32
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Perfect and classy dress for a special occasion

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehersal dinner for a wedding in Washington DC. It was at a more traditional venue and this Kate Spade dress was an excellent choice. It stood out becasue of the vibrant color but was still conservative. The size 2 fit perfectly without any need for modification. The dress was a little longer on me than the photo.
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

This was the dress I was wearing when I got my bid from Delta Zeta!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sisters couldn't stop complimenting me and it fit perfectly. It made my Rush Week that much easier, knowing that I looked great and no one else would have the same dress as me. I stood out and got bids from my Top 2 sororities! It was an appropriate length on me, since I'm 6 feet tall so I love this dress. It was a beautiful dress and I'd rent it again in a heartbeat.
Hope
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Classic shape, gorgeous color made a perfect wedding dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my boyfriend's sister's wedding - a big deal for meeting the whole extended family for the first time! The ceremony and reception were at very traditional spaces in Boston that the family had used for generations - it needed something traditional, not too trendy. This dress was the perfect mix - fit in all the right places. I am usually a 6 and this was very true to size. It was fitted at the waist and was the perfect length. The material was a beautiful rich color - perfect for Fall. The only downsides was that it kind of smelled like it had been worn a lot - I had to air it out over night - and there was a small stain on the front, bottom hem area.
mg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Easy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, classy and very nice hue for fall wedding.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Great dress! The fit was perfect and the color is eye catching without being over the top.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the color! In a sea of little black dresses this stands out, but is simple and elegant. I normally wear a 6. The dress fit great without being snug or uncomfortable.
Patti
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Oct 30, 2012

Very comfortable dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The biggest problem I had with this dress was that I had to pin the back because the sash was loose. It seemed like it had been stretched or something. Other than that, I loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Pretty dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, didn't love the color--was a warmer purple than I was expecting. Many compliments received.
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Nov 3, 2012

This dress is amazing. Structures, Beautiful color, Simple and Chic!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size. Wore this dress to a wedding and received tons of compliments.
AG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Cute!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A little bit tight through the thighs but nothing a pair of Spanx can't fix. Super flattering and cute on! Easy to accessorize!
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Runs very small in the bust area.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As others have mentioned, the bust area is very tight. I even sized up, and it was still way too tight. Also, the lining on this dress hung down past the dress's hemline, so I ended up returning.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

This was my back up dress from RTR. I did not wear it because I went with my first choice, instead.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish my event would have been 2 days because I definitely would have worn this one. It was such a beautiful color and fit nicely. But, because I liked my first choice better, it is the one I wore rather than this one.
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

I looked hot

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ran a little small I usually wear an 8 but the reviews said it ran small so I also got a 6 but the 8 was still tight around my ass. I have kind of a big ass though.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2012

Not a bad dress, just not what I was looking for

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well across my big top and hips, however it was too long for a shortie like me! I could have taken 3-4 inches off the bottom without a problem
Caitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

This dress was perfect for a fun but formal wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was a little big, especially in the waist. The color is much brighter than the pictures shows: more of a magenta. The length was slightly on the longer side, which was perfect for a tall girl like me (I'm 5'9).
CMS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Mar 19, 2013

3rd time renting from RTR, never tried Kate Spade before, will def rent again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is much more vibrant in person! Loved it!
cwilson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress! Got lots of compliments. I would note that it is proportioned for more pear shape people. I was torn between the 6 and 8 because the bust was a little snug on the 6 but the 6 still worked best because the hips on the 8 would have been way big.
Jil
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 1, 2013

GREAT!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i love how classic this dress is. it has a great shape and is very well made. it might be hard to wear if your shape is bigger in the bust or hips and the fabric is not stretchy at all. but i definitely recommend this dress.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Fit great! Loved the color!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The picture of the color is a little deceiving. The dress is a lot darker purple in person but it worked out great in the end. It was very comfortable to wear!
em
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Apr 7, 2013

A little loose in the chest

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as my backup dress and did not end up wearing it because my first choice worked. The dress was much prettier in person - more of a fuchsia color than the photo. I sized up because this style of dress is usually tight around my hips. The size 10 fit great in the hips, but was really loose/baggy in the top/chest. I felt frumpy when I tried it on because of the looseness. The dress was a good length, hitting right above my knees. Beautiful dress, but wish it fit better!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

the dress I wore was a far better fit than this one, which was my back up style.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my back up style for my first RTR experience. I am SO glad it wasn't my first choice because it was not a good fit for me! I normally wear a size 4 dress, but this size 4 was very large on me! I have a full chest and it even hung loose in the bust! If i ever rent a Kate Spade again I will certainly go a size down for my back up size!
MH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 30, 2013

Gorgeous Color and Shape

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you're looking for a classic shift with a pop of color, you can't beat this dress!
luckylady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 2, 2013

pretty color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the bow was wrinkled
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
May 23, 2013

Tight in the hips

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress - fabric was not what I was expecting, but it's still really lovely. It's not shiny at all as it looks on the model, but rather it's more iridescent, which is what gives it its sheen. Unfortunately, it does not have ANY extra room through the hips, so it is NOT meant for pear-shaped women, which I am.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

The perfect blend of classy and fun!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a daytime solo voice recital where I needed to go from classical opera to Broadway comedy, and it was just the right look to navigate that range as well as stand out at the after party! I should have ordered an 8, but I've just realized that I've lost enough weight to wear a standard 8 instead of a 10, so I would describe this dress as true to size.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Fabulous dress! Outstanding color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is so vibrant and it fit so well. I usually wear a size 4 and I wore the 4 and it looked like it was tailored for me. Of course I received tons of compliments as I usually do whenever I rent the runway. I can't say enough about this wonderful service!
Carlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Beautiful Color and cut but tight along chest

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would have loved to worn this dress, both the 6 and 8 fit except for across the bust! I'm only a C but was squished in. Beautful color though
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 16, 2013

Didn't wear this dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for my sister's wedding - she asked us to get purple dresses. It arrived in pretty poor condition, extremely wrinkled and a bit beat up. The color purple is darker and has less of a sheen than in the picture. Then, I tried it on. The 10 was too small, and extremely tight around the hips. I was surprised because I own several Kate Spade dresses, and usually the 10 is just a bit too large on me. So, I did not end up wearing this dress to my sister's wedding. Bummer.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Didn't even bother to take a picture with this dress on.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a petite girl and this dress did not fit me well at all. Thank goodness RTR had this one as a reduced price add-on because the dress I wanted wasn't available in the two sizes I wanted. I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 6 fit in some places, but bulged at the stomach and bulged above the butt. The color of the dress was the only good thing about it. I don't recommend it if you've got disproportionate (small) waist and (med-large) hips/thighs - not at all flattering for me. The other ladies that wore this wore it better. Kudos to them.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Great summer wedding dress - especially loved the color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly for the occasion! I have an hourglass figure, and it highlighted my curves while not getting too risky. An absolutely classic dress. One thought to take into consideration - I have a lot of out of town weddings and this dress did wrinkle quite a bit and wouldn't be th best for travel. For additional accessories - I would recommend a classic bra (my straps did not show), kitten heels, and a simple neacklace or simple, long earrings. I also wore my hair down, but, in retrospect, this dress should have had a bit more manicured hair and I should have gone with either half or all the way up.
Martha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jul 15, 2013

Great fit and beautiful purple!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

Worn to an upscale rehearsal dinner and color was a great contrast to the traditional black.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit is great for women who want to accentuate an hourglass figure. I have a long torso and was concerned how the bow would look, but it fell at the right spot. Felt and looked great.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Another dress that I didn't want to return! The fabric and cut of the dress are great. I received a to. Of compliments.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 4, 2013

Cute dress, just didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the color, but it was too narrow for my thick thighs and big butt. Ended up wearing a dress I already had. Wish it would have worked out.
Ms.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Nov 1, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wish this dress had worked out, but I give it high ratings for its style. It was a beautiful color, but the underslip appeared from underneath and was unable to be worn to my scheduled reunion. It's a pretty dress and RTR was wonderful in providing me another dress that did not show the underslip in time for my reunion. Thanks for wonderful service!
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I did not end up wearing the dress because it was too small. I normally wear a 6, but could not zip the dress.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Wore this dress for my niece's wedding. Very classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered 6 and 8, both fit but the 6 was a little better quality.
Sue
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Great dress for summer party

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was true to size and looks great. Best suited for a summer party/wedding.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Loved this dress! Fit true to size and was very comfortable. Great color too!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit true to size. Loved the color. I wore it to a wedding in NYC in August and I was glad that the material was not too hot.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Color is vibrant and stands out in a crowd without being overwhelming

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I probably should have ordered an 8 as the 6 was a little tight but it worked as the other dress highlighted my mom tummy so it went back in the bag right away. I received lots of compliments on the color and style of this dress and it was just right for this event which was a fundraiser for a local charity organization.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×