Mademoiselle Dress

$141 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large9
True to Size74
Small17
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
June 19, 2013
I wore this to a formal wedding that I was doing a reading as part of the ceremony.
I got lots of compliments on the color and it was perfect for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
Didn't even bother to take a picture with this dress on.
I'm a petite girl and this dress did not fit me well at all. Thank goodness RTR had this one as a reduced price add-on because the dress I wanted wasn't available in the two sizes I wanted. I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 6 fit in some places, but bulged at the stomach and bulged above the butt. The color of the dress was the only good thing about it. I don't recommend it if you've got disproportionate (small) waist and (med-large) hips/thighs - not at all flattering for me. The other ladies that wore this wore it better. Kudos to them.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 16, 2013
Didn't wear this dress.
I rented this for my sister's wedding - she asked us to get purple dresses. It arrived in pretty poor condition, extremely wrinkled and a bit beat up. The color purple is darker and has less of a sheen than in the picture. Then, I tried it on. The 10 was too small, and extremely tight around the hips. I was surprised because I own several Kate Spade dresses, and usually the 10 is just a bit too large on me. So, I did not end up wearing this dress to my sister's wedding. Bummer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
June 14, 2013
Beautiful Color and cut but tight along chest
I would have loved to worn this dress, both the 6 and 8 fit except for across the bust! I'm only a C but was squished in. Beautful color though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2013
Fabulous dress! Outstanding color!
I wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is so vibrant and it fit so well. I usually wear a size 4 and I wore the 4 and it looked like it was tailored for me. Of course I received tons of compliments as I usually do whenever I rent the runway. I can't say enough about this wonderful service!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2013
The perfect blend of classy and fun!
Wore this for a daytime solo voice recital where I needed to go from classical opera to Broadway comedy, and it was just the right look to navigate that range as well as stand out at the after party! I should have ordered an 8, but I've just realized that I've lost enough weight to wear a standard 8 instead of a 10, so I would describe this dress as true to size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 25, 2013
Posh and elegant
The fit was perfect. The dress was elegant and so appropriate for my daughter's awards banquet. The color was one of my favorites and just gorgeous in person. So glad I tried RTR. I used my own accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 23, 2013
Tight in the hips
Beautiful dress - fabric was not what I was expecting, but it's still really lovely. It's not shiny at all as it looks on the model, but rather it's more iridescent, which is what gives it its sheen. Unfortunately, it does not have ANY extra room through the hips, so it is NOT meant for pear-shaped women, which I am.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2013
pretty color
the bow was wrinkled
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2013
Gorgeous Color and Shape
If you're looking for a classic shift with a pop of color, you can't beat this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2013
the dress I wore was a far better fit than this one, which was my back up style.
I chose this dress for my back up style for my first RTR experience. I am SO glad it wasn't my first choice because it was not a good fit for me! I normally wear a size 4 dress, but this size 4 was very large on me! I have a full chest and it even hung loose in the bust! If i ever rent a Kate Spade again I will certainly go a size down for my back up size!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, great quality and color!
very comfortable fit, accentuates the waist, but definitely runs a bit large. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4 as with most KS dresses
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 16, 2013
So classy for the first time meeting all of my boyfriends family!
The fit was perfect! I wear a 34d and wasn't sure which fit (4 or 6) would fit better up top. The 6 allowed me to wear a better fitting bra where the 4 would have had me squeezing. Unfortunately I don't have a full length picture of the dress but it was a modest length and worked well for dancing and moving around comfortably. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
April 7, 2013
A little loose in the chest
I ordered this as my backup dress and did not end up wearing it because my first choice worked. The dress was much prettier in person - more of a fuchsia color than the photo. I sized up because this style of dress is usually tight around my hips. The size 10 fit great in the hips, but was really loose/baggy in the top/chest. I felt frumpy when I tried it on because of the looseness. The dress was a good length, hitting right above my knees. Beautiful dress, but wish it fit better!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2013
Fit great! Loved the color!
The picture of the color is a little deceiving. The dress is a lot darker purple in person but it worked out great in the end. It was very comfortable to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
GREAT!
i love how classic this dress is. it has a great shape and is very well made. it might be hard to wear if your shape is bigger in the bust or hips and the fabric is not stretchy at all. but i definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
March 21, 2013
Loved it!
Beautiful dress! Got lots of compliments. I would note that it is proportioned for more pear shape people. I was torn between the 6 and 8 because the bust was a little snug on the 6 but the 6 still worked best because the hips on the 8 would have been way big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
March 19, 2013
3rd time renting from RTR, never tried Kate Spade before, will def rent again!
The color is much more vibrant in person! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 9, 2013
The color was amazing! Perfect for a daytime wedding, shower or corporate dinner.
The chest was a little snug and the hips were a little wide. Outside of that the fit was pretty much true to size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2013
This dress was perfect for a fun but formal wedding!
Fit was a little big, especially in the waist. The color is much brighter than the pictures shows: more of a magenta. The length was slightly on the longer side, which was perfect for a tall girl like me (I'm 5'9).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
February 11, 2013
The perfect dress for my Bridal Shower!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and I am very happy with my overall experience. This Kate Spade dress fits very true to size (I rented a size 4 and 6 and wore my normal size 4), but the actual color is more of a bright grape/fuchsia than the featured lavender. There also was quite a bit of extra room under the arm-area. However, the exposed gold zipper in the back was beautiful as well as the big bow at the waist. Overall, I got many compliments on this gorgeous dress at my Bridal Shower!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 11, 2013
Classic silhouette, fun color!
Fit true to size, although the back was a bit loose by the top of the zipper, but not gaping. Loved that it had snaps to hold bra straps in place---GENIUS!! When I first opened the box the dress had a bit of a weird smell, kinda like moth balls or possibly from the printing of the garment bag? I let it hang for about a day in the closet and didn't notice it when I wore the dress. Other than that, absolutely loved it, easy to dance in, felt great in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Color and fabric are beautiful and different from what anyone else was wearing.
I needed a dress for a Mad Men-themed holiday party. The RTR consultant recommended this dress and she was spot on. Its a really pretty dress. As for the fit, I am typically a 4 but in this dress, it was snug in the bosom area so I went with the 6. The 6 fit much better on the top, but was a bit loose in the skirt. Length was perfect for the 'mod' theme - just below the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Not a bad dress, just not what I was looking for
The dress fit well across my big top and hips, however it was too long for a shortie like me! I could have taken 3-4 inches off the bottom without a problem
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 19, 2012
I looked hot
Ran a little small I usually wear an 8 but the reviews said it ran small so I also got a 6 but the 8 was still tight around my ass. I have kind of a big ass though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 19, 2012
This was my back up dress from RTR. I did not wear it because I went with my first choice, instead.
I wish my event would have been 2 days because I definitely would have worn this one. It was such a beautiful color and fit nicely. But, because I liked my first choice better, it is the one I wore rather than this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2012
Runs very small in the bust area.
As others have mentioned, the bust area is very tight. I even sized up, and it was still way too tight. Also, the lining on this dress hung down past the dress's hemline, so I ended up returning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 7, 2012
Cute!
A little bit tight through the thighs but nothing a pair of Spanx can't fix. Super flattering and cute on! Easy to accessorize!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
November 3, 2012
This dress is amazing. Structures, Beautiful color, Simple and Chic!
Runs true to size. Wore this dress to a wedding and received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2012
Pretty dress
Fit was great, didn't love the color--was a warmer purple than I was expecting. Many compliments received.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2012
The color was even more vibrant in person! Absolutely stunning.
I needed a dress for my Father's Presidential Inauguration garden ceremony at his work. This dress was absolutely perfect: classy, conservative, yet fun! The color was absolutely brilliant, looked fantastic against my skin tone, and looks great in pictures. I loved the length (the dress hit right above the knee), and the bow at the waist was a lovely touch. It was a fabulous choice for the occasion!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
October 30, 2012
Very comfortable dress!
The biggest problem I had with this dress was that I had to pin the back because the sash was loose. It seemed like it had been stretched or something. Other than that, I loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Great dress! The fit was perfect and the color is eye catching without being over the top.
Loved the color! In a sea of little black dresses this stands out, but is simple and elegant. I normally wear a 6. The dress fit great without being snug or uncomfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2012
Easy!
Beautiful dress, classy and very nice hue for fall wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
Classic shape, gorgeous color made a perfect wedding dress!
I wore this for my boyfriend's sister's wedding - a big deal for meeting the whole extended family for the first time! The ceremony and reception were at very traditional spaces in Boston that the family had used for generations - it needed something traditional, not too trendy. This dress was the perfect mix - fit in all the right places. I am usually a 6 and this was very true to size. It was fitted at the waist and was the perfect length. The material was a beautiful rich color - perfect for Fall. The only downsides was that it kind of smelled like it had been worn a lot - I had to air it out over night - and there was a small stain on the front, bottom hem area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2012
This was the dress I was wearing when I got my bid from Delta Zeta!
Sisters couldn't stop complimenting me and it fit perfectly. It made my Rush Week that much easier, knowing that I looked great and no one else would have the same dress as me. I stood out and got bids from my Top 2 sororities! It was an appropriate length on me, since I'm 6 feet tall so I love this dress. It was a beautiful dress and I'd rent it again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect and classy dress for a special occasion
I wore this dress to a rehersal dinner for a wedding in Washington DC. It was at a more traditional venue and this Kate Spade dress was an excellent choice. It stood out becasue of the vibrant color but was still conservative. The size 2 fit perfectly without any need for modification. The dress was a little longer on me than the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Perfect fit, very comfortable, got lots of compliments
I can see how some other reviews say that it fits large in the chest but I am a 34C and it fit perfectly. So size down if you have a smaller chest and you should be good to go!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2012
This was fabulous - transitioned well from the church wedding to reception in June
Fit great. I was surprised it was cut well enough to be comfortable throughout in the 4. My only issue was the waist detail had pulled - I tacked it into place before the wedding. Other than that it arrived in great condition and was the perfect dress for the event.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×