You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Mademoiselle Dress
Rental $45 Retail $395
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Feel fabulous and beautiful in this kate spade new york violet silk cocktail dress. Stick with a simple pump and and add the Kate Spade's Confectionary Multi Anastasia Clutch.
Chat with a Stylist
Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Violet silk shantung(75% silk; 25% cotton; 100% polyester lining). Bateau neckline. Side bow at waist. Pleating detail at shoulders. Exposed back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos24

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Carlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Jun 14, 2013
Beautiful Color and cut but tight along chest
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would have loved to worn this dress, both the 6 and 8 fit except for across the bust! I'm only a C but was squished in. Beautful color though
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jun 12, 2013
Fabulous dress! Outstanding color!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Bat Mitzvah and it was perfect for the occasion. The color is so vibrant and it fit so well. I usually wear a size 4 and I wore the 4 and it looked like it was tailored for me. Of course I received tons of compliments as I usually do whenever I rent the runway. I can't say enough about this wonderful service!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jun 9, 2013
The perfect blend of classy and fun!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a daytime solo voice recital where I needed to go from classical opera to Broadway comedy, and it was just the right look to navigate that range as well as stand out at the after party! I should have ordered an 8, but I've just realized that I've lost enough weight to wear a standard 8 instead of a 10, so I would describe this dress as true to size.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
May 23, 2013
Tight in the hips
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress - fabric was not what I was expecting, but it's still really lovely. It's not shiny at all as it looks on the model, but rather it's more iridescent, which is what gives it its sheen. Unfortunately, it does not have ANY extra room through the hips, so it is NOT meant for pear-shaped women, which I am.
luckylady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
May 2, 2013
pretty color
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the bow was wrinkled
MH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6531
Apr 30, 2013
Gorgeous Color and Shape
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you're looking for a classic shift with a pop of color, you can't beat this dress!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Apr 29, 2013
the dress I wore was a far better fit than this one, which was my back up style.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my back up style for my first RTR experience. I am SO glad it wasn't my first choice because it was not a good fit for me! I normally wear a size 4 dress, but this size 4 was very large on me! I have a full chest and it even hung loose in the bust! If i ever rent a Kate Spade again I will certainly go a size down for my back up size!
em
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6331
Apr 7, 2013
A little loose in the chest
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as my backup dress and did not end up wearing it because my first choice worked. The dress was much prettier in person - more of a fuchsia color than the photo. I sized up because this style of dress is usually tight around my hips. The size 10 fit great in the hips, but was really loose/baggy in the top/chest. I felt frumpy when I tried it on because of the looseness. The dress was a good length, hitting right above my knees. Beautiful dress, but wish it fit better!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Apr 2, 2013
Fit great! Loved the color!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The picture of the color is a little deceiving. The dress is a lot darker purple in person but it worked out great in the end. It was very comfortable to wear!
Jil
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Apr 1, 2013
GREAT!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i love how classic this dress is. it has a great shape and is very well made. it might be hard to wear if your shape is bigger in the bust or hips and the fabric is not stretchy at all. but i definitely recommend this dress.
cwilson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Mar 21, 2013
Loved it!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress! Got lots of compliments. I would note that it is proportioned for more pear shape people. I was torn between the 6 and 8 because the bust was a little snug on the 6 but the 6 still worked best because the hips on the 8 would have been way big.
CMS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3422
Mar 19, 2013
3rd time renting from RTR, never tried Kate Spade before, will def rent again!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is much more vibrant in person! Loved it!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Mar 3, 2013
This dress was perfect for a fun but formal wedding!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was a little big, especially in the waist. The color is much brighter than the pictures shows: more of a magenta. The length was slightly on the longer side, which was perfect for a tall girl like me (I'm 5'9).
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6424
Dec 12, 2012
Not a bad dress, just not what I was looking for
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well across my big top and hips, however it was too long for a shortie like me! I could have taken 3-4 inches off the bottom without a problem
Erin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6333
Nov 19, 2012
I looked hot
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ran a little small I usually wear an 8 but the reviews said it ran small so I also got a 6 but the 8 was still tight around my ass. I have kind of a big ass though.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Nov 19, 2012
This was my back up dress from RTR. I did not wear it because I went with my first choice, instead.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish my event would have been 2 days because I definitely would have worn this one. It was such a beautiful color and fit nicely. But, because I liked my first choice better, it is the one I wore rather than this one.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4644
Nov 19, 2012
Runs very small in the bust area.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As others have mentioned, the bust area is very tight. I even sized up, and it was still way too tight. Also, the lining on this dress hung down past the dress's hemline, so I ended up returning.
AG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Nov 7, 2012
Cute!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
A little bit tight through the thighs but nothing a pair of Spanx can't fix. Super flattering and cute on! Easy to accessorize!
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6531
Nov 3, 2012
This dress is amazing. Structures, Beautiful color, Simple and Chic!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs true to size. Wore this dress to a wedding and received tons of compliments.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5522
Nov 2, 2012
Pretty dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great, didn't love the color--was a warmer purple than I was expecting. Many compliments received.
Patti
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5541
Oct 30, 2012
Very comfortable dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The biggest problem I had with this dress was that I had to pin the back because the sash was loose. It seemed like it had been stretched or something. Other than that, I loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5643
Oct 29, 2012
Great dress! The fit was perfect and the color is eye catching without being over the top.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the color! In a sea of little black dresses this stands out, but is simple and elegant. I normally wear a 6. The dress fit great without being snug or uncomfortable.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 24, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size.
mg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Oct 10, 2012
Easy!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, classy and very nice hue for fall wedding.
Hope
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 9, 2012
Classic shape, gorgeous color made a perfect wedding dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my boyfriend's sister's wedding - a big deal for meeting the whole extended family for the first time! The ceremony and reception were at very traditional spaces in Boston that the family had used for generations - it needed something traditional, not too trendy. This dress was the perfect mix - fit in all the right places. I am usually a 6 and this was very true to size. It was fitted at the waist and was the perfect length. The material was a beautiful rich color - perfect for Fall. The only downsides was that it kind of smelled like it had been worn a lot - I had to air it out over night - and there was a small stain on the front, bottom hem area.
Nora
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4344
Oct 2, 2012
This was the dress I was wearing when I got my bid from Delta Zeta!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sisters couldn't stop complimenting me and it fit perfectly. It made my Rush Week that much easier, knowing that I looked great and no one else would have the same dress as me. I stood out and got bids from my Top 2 sororities! It was an appropriate length on me, since I'm 6 feet tall so I love this dress. It was a beautiful dress and I'd rent it again in a heartbeat.
LC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3631
Sep 20, 2012
Perfect and classy dress for a special occasion
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehersal dinner for a wedding in Washington DC. It was at a more traditional venue and this Kate Spade dress was an excellent choice. It stood out becasue of the vibrant color but was still conservative. The size 2 fit perfectly without any need for modification. The dress was a little longer on me than the photo.
Holly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Sep 18, 2012
This was fabulous - transitioned well from the church wedding to reception in June
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great. I was surprised it was cut well enough to be comfortable throughout in the 4. My only issue was the waist detail had pulled - I tacked it into place before the wedding. Other than that it arrived in great condition and was the perfect dress for the event.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8433
Sep 13, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fantastic color, easy to wear, and photographs well!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8444
Sep 7, 2012
Nice, a little snug for me
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm a 10-12 on top and a 12-14 on the bottom, so even with Spanx this was a little snug on me through the hips (nothing so obvious it couldn't be worn, but it rode up a bit as I moved around and I felt like I was adjusting a lot). That said, it's a very pretty dress - very classic and elegant.
jessaroo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4521
Sep 4, 2012
Wore to my bridal shower...
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Really cute and flattering. Color was beautiful. Could have been 1/2 inch shorter on me but was completely appropriate for a ladies lunch.
ljpj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7633
Aug 27, 2012
Great color, runs really small
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a holiday party; the color is really pretty but the fit is off... huge on top; tight on the bottom. I didn't end up wearing it and had to pull something from my closet.
AmyBeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7444
Aug 21, 2012
Great dress, small in the bust
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
After reading other reviews, I'm so glad I went up a dress size for this. I can admit to being a buster girl and although the original size fit well, I was much more comfortable in the larger one. I was at an outdoor bridal shower and I was happy the dress did not show the sweat. Cute dress!
Diane
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8133
Aug 13, 2012
lovely dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit very well, runs true to size. Very forgiving . seemed to wrinkle easily after sitting
Gail
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jul 26, 2012
The Color Purple
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I received many compliments on the color of this stylish sheath, which I wore to my 40th high school reunion! When I tried on the size 6, I noticed that it seemed a bit "shop worn" and the lining extended a bit below the hemline. The size 4 was crisp and seemed less worn.
Amelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5422
Jun 21, 2012
Not for curvy girls
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress along with the Kate Spade Puttin' on the Ritz drop earrings to wear to a friend's wedding. The color was gorgeous (like all of Kate's dresses!), and the style of the dress would have been perfect for the afternoon, summer-time, outdoor wedding I was going to...this dress just is not cut to fit curvy girls well. I'm usually in between a 4 and a 6 depending on the dress, but rented a 6 and an 8 of this one after reading some of the reviews saying the bottom could be a bit snug. For me, both the 6 and the 8 were so tight on the bottom that there top of the waist didn't lie flat, but the top of the dress was HUGE. If you're built like a tent pole, this is the dress for you. If not, perhaps chose a different dress. (P.S. I still ended up wearing the Kate Spade earrings with a dress of my own, so not all was lost!)
TMA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 6421
Jun 19, 2012
Great dress for a Wedding!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very pleased with this dress! It was my first RTR order and it came right on time and in great condition. I will say the dress runs a size small so make sure you order a size up just to be safe. I received tons of compliments!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jun 17, 2012
Love, but a wee bit big
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great, classic dress. I wore for a rehearsal dinner for a friend's wedding and it was great. I matched it with tan heels and the Gold Elephant bag from Lilly Pulitzer. The dress ran big on me, there was extra fabric in the back and a little in the front. If I owned it I would have it tailored, but it worked fine as is.
Ginger
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
Jun 17, 2012
loved it!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable! I wore it to an evening summer wedding. The bride's family are conservative dressers, so I knew it wasn't the time to rock anything revealing. This dress was perfect for this event and I received lots of compliments, even one from the bride's mother! I think the color is a little more eggplant, than the photo, but it was a lovely color. Probably one of the "easiest to wear" party dresses I have ever worn.
CMed
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5534
Apr 16, 2012
Awkward cut
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While the color of this dress is stunning, the cut leaves a lot to be desired. The lower half was very constricting, while the top portion was way too big. I have more of an hourglass figure, so it was just unflattering on all parts. The sewn in slip created a created a weird bulge in the middle section too. Although this is a beautiful dress, I don't recommend it for hourglass or pear-shaped figures.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress