kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
458 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(390)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
May 9, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I rented this dress for an early Mother's day brunch in NYC. Was a total hit and looked great with a matching Kate Spade necklace. Fabric was very stretchy and the dress was comfortable and chic. LOVE RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
May 14, 2012
I wore this dress to my Mother's Day brunch. My mother loved the dress and was jealous I didn't rent it for her instead.
The dress was true to size but it was longer then I expected (slightly below my knees). I didn't mind it being slightly longer because it was probably more appropriate for my event. Overall, it was a beautiful dress and is one of my favorites. I would definitely rent this dress again.
RachelMay 20, 2012
I love how you paired it with that jacket and purse!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2012
Cute!
Love this dress, might need to get it. Typically wear a 4 but looked better in the 6 so I went with that ( I do have broad shoulders). However, I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2012
Amazing
This dress is georgous. I would reccomend it to anybody looking for a classy yet playful dress. I loved it and I hope you will too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2012
As usual, I had strangers come up and ask where I got my dress! The answer is always RTR!
This is a beautiful dress and was a perfect choice for my brother-in-law's graduation brunch! The stripes are adorable, but the cut of the dress makes it sophisticated. The patent leather belt goes great with it. My only complaint is that I think it would fit someone with a shorter torso better as my natural waist was about two inches below where the belt hit. Overall, a wonderful summer dress for those special occasions where you want to look like a lady! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2012
Comfortable and stylish.
This dress was comfortable while looking smart and stylish. The bottom is a poplin, the top is stretchy. Not very dressy like some Kte Spade dresses but gorgeous all the same.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2012
It's a very 1950s cut - I loved the fit on top and it definitely accentuated my waist. But the way the first cream-colored band drapes off the hips, I definitely would not recommend this dress for other full-hipped ladies. On the other hand, if you hips are less than full, wear with abandon!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
June 27, 2012
Adorable, classy dress
I LOVED this dress. I rented it for a friend's wedding and it was perfect. Tons of compliments, nice material, I felt very comfortable in it. Paired it with some pretty pearls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 29, 2012
Great for a casual wedding
I wore this dress for an afternoon wedding, and it was perfect. The belt accentuates a small waist...always a plus. Also, I'm a few months postpartum and it was very forgiving in the hips/butt area. Great dress. Would totally rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2012
My building's concierge messed up and didn't accept my dress the day before my event, but RTR came to my rescue and got the dress to me with plenty of time the day of my event!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress! This dress is fun and has a classic look to it.. everyone complimented it! Its very comfortable to wear as well. I usually wear a 4 but I wore my backup size 6 since the 4 felt a little tight around the natural waist. Even one size up the dress wasn't too long on me (even though I am 5'4"). I felt great in this dress! If you are considering it for an event, I say go for it!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 5, 2012
Loved everything about the dress from the fit, to the pockets and the adorable belt!
Absolutely loved this dress and will be renting again!! Many sorority sisters asked who was the designer - I am a huge fan of Kate Spades clothing line and people were impressed I rented it from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 9, 2012
I have another wedding in a few weeks and may rent this same dress.
I ordered a 6 and an 8 and while I think the dress runs small, I may have to admit that I am running a bit big. I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I am 5' 6' and the dress hit perfectly, just above my knee. I have broad shoulders but the scoop in the back provides lots of mobility. The skirt is also fun and twirly whirly when dancing. Heads up, it needed a press when it arrived and was an ironing challenge given the pleats. Downside: It's not lined. I would have expected a lining in a Kate Spade. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
July 13, 2012
So Cute!!
Love it! The dress is fresh and totally flirty and cute. The fabric on the dress tends to be a bit more casual, like a linen on the bottom. Worked well for an outdoor wedding. Loved it, want to buy it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
July 24, 2012
Adorable
I would say I am usually an 8 petite, so I ordered the size 8 and 6. The 8 was too big on top. The shoulders did not fit me well, but the 6 fit perfectly. I loved the dress and received a lot of compliments on it. My first experience with RTR was a big success. I will be looking for another dress for a wedding in August. Thank you!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2012
Great Fit, Style and Fabric
I rented this dress for a convention I was going too. I had three dresses shipped to the hotel. They all arrived and it was so nice not to have to pack extra clothes. The dress was perfect for the closing evening dinner. I got tons of compliments and will certainly work with RTR in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 1, 2012
Everyone wanted to know where I got this dress and how RTR worked! It was amazing.
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower which had an English Tea theme. I ordered this dress in the 8 and the 10, knowing that designers of this caliber usually run small. The 8 fit fine but was a little tight around the waist area. The 10 was perfect. I loved all the little details in this dress. For example, the skirt is lined with lace on the bottom of the inside. Everyone kept asking me where I got it. I think RTR may be paying me some money for the amount of advertising they got from me wearing this dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2012
Fabulous Dress. . .
The dress was beautiful. It fit just as expected. I wore my normal size, 6. I do have to say that the chest was a little tight, but not so much so that the dress looked bad, or was uncomfortable. I got compliments on it all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Such a great dress!!
This dress was perfect for the country club wedding I attended this summer. It is so classic and goes great with black or nude pumps. I added a layered strand of pearls to jazz up the neckline. I received SO many complements on this dress, and it was super comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2012
classy cute & comfortable
I rented this dress for a wedding shower hosted by my boyfriend's family. It was an upscale backyard cookout and this dress was perfect. It's easy to accessorize however you want and I received compliments on it all night. It ran just a little small but not anything super noticeable. I would just use your backup to go a size up from your usual size because there wasn't a huge change between sizes!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Women were amazed the dress was rented and shocked at the ease in which I ordered, received and needed to ship back! Even more.. the options of dresses to choose from!
The fit was true to size. The fabric was so soft and movable!! It was a real show stopper for the country club wedding! I felt proud to wear it! It was also easy to accessorize!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
Girly & Cute
This dress is lovely! The fit is great, with some give on the top for those of us with ample chests. The bottom is actually more of a cream & black rather than white. The lower scooped back is very flattering, although high enough that a full-support bra still fits comfortably. Got many compliments during the event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Great for casual weddings
I usually wear a 10, and got this dress in and 8 and a 10 because of the full skirt. The 8 fit perfectly. The skirt is full and it comes with an adorable belt, also.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
perfect!
The dress was perfect for my event and exactly as described!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
Feeling like a million dollars!
I rented this dress for a wedding that was held on a golf course in Lake Geneva, WI. The material is light weight enough that I was kept cool, but substantial where I could tell the quality was superb. I received so many compliments on the dress and felt it was so appropriate for such an occasion! 3 days after I wore the dress Samantha Gunthrie was wearing it on the Today show!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2012
For our golf tournament party, the name of the dress was quite fitting.
Fittingly, I wore this to my fiance's golf tournament party. Since the summer weather was a bit more on the chilly side, I felt a bit more covered up and appropriate for the event. While I dressed it up a bit with a fun necklace, you really don't need much for this dress. I will say that the size 8 was a bit snug in the waist, but the 10 would have been a bit too roomy up top. Fortunately the belt could be adjusted to provide a little more room after a nice helping of dinner and dessert.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2012
Classic Bridal Shower Dress
My first experience with RTR and I couldn't have been more pleased. This was an elegant dress that I wore for my bridal shower. I received so many compliments, and then disbelief when I revealed I was borrowing it for the weekend. The dress hits at the knee for shorties - but nothing that can't be fixed with a little hemming tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2012
I felt so beautiful and had such ease chasing around my toddler daughter.
If I weren’t happily married, I might consider marrying this dress. It was perfect for me! I loved the soft fabric, and the dress was perfect for an outdoor event. Since the occasion I rented a dress for was a family wedding and my toddler daughter was the flower girl, I had a couple of requirements for my selection: 1) It had to be comfortable; 2) I had to feel beautiful; 3) The dress had to have a timeless feel since these pictures would be in my family’s for decades to come, and; 4) I had to have the ability to chase around a toddler and bend down with ease (trust me, a ton of dresses were cut out of my list immediately for this reason alone ;) ). This Kate Spade dress met all of the above requirements, and I received so many compliments all night! I haven’t felt -this- gorgeous in quite some time. It looked great with a nude flat (I was walking in grass) and a bright earring!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 21, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this dress to my best friend's wedding. I also rented the crystal necklace reommended by RTR and it totally made the outfit. The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. My only issue was that it was a bit wrinkled when I took it out of the package, but with some time in a steamy bathroom, the problem was resolved.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
August 21, 2012
"You look AMAZING in that dress" - from the bride!
This dress was amazing. I got compliments all evening. I am 5'10, weigh 168 lbs and have a large bust. The belt that comes with the dress is perfect for cinching the waist. The back of the dress is cut lower than the front which is very nice (and classy) look. I wore a size ten which was very true to size. Not too big not too small. I will say that the stripes are not exactly black and white. It's sort of black and cream/beige (but shows up white in pictures taken with flash). I will also recommend ironing the pleats because some got lost when the dress was mailed and then in my luggage during the flight to the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2012
Preppy Chic for Bridal Shower
Very Cute and true to size. A little long with the length, but I am petite at 5'3. Loved the cute bow belt with it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 27, 2012
This was a special day for me and rent the runway gave me a special dress for it!
I wore this to my bridal shower and LOVED it! It was everything I wanted! It came right on time and was clean and pressed! I got so many compliments! Thank you so much Rent the Runway for making me look fabulous at my bridal shower!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
When we arrived at the polo grounds, I fit right in and got so many compliments! I didn't want to wait for the professional photos to review this.
I rented this beauty over Labor Day weekend for my first ever polo match in CT, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I paired it with a big floppy black hat and the Lee Angel "Tie Up in Crystal Necklace" and Nicole Miller "Star Light Star Bright" bracelet and open toed flats to make the full outfit. I'm petite (5'3") with a solid atheltic build (~130 lbs), and the size 4 looked like it had been made for my body. One caution--if you're traveling, this may not be the dress for the job. The material, while of good quality (felt like poplin/lycra, with a good bit of give), shows wear and wrinkles very easily. There were some subtle water stains on the taupe stripes that you could really only see up close, and I did have to iron the dress when I received it. That said, if you like classic, understated style and you're thinking of renting this, I say go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2012
Cute!
Great dress! A little more casual then it looks in the pictures.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
September 9, 2012
"Wow, you look so elegant"
I rented this dress for a wedding I was in, and I do not regret it! It did not come with the belt pictured, but a quick trip to F21 fixed that. The dress material was very thin and might need steaming to remove wrinkles. I received tons of compliments. If you are thinking about this dress, I'd say go for it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
Great fit... perfect dress to show off my recent weight loss! :)
This dress was fantastic! The cut is great, the belt is the perfect accent, can wear a regular bra with it even though the back is low. Everyone was complimenting me and I gladly spread the word about RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2012
Great graduation dinner dress!
I rented this dress for my grad school graduation dinner. I'm typically between a 4 and a 6 and size 6 fit snugly. I did find the natural waste of the dress (where the belt hits) a little higher on me than my natural waste line. So I took the belt out of the loops and that fixed the problem. I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels which made the dress hit me right above the knee. Great length. This is a truly beautiful dress. It's flattering and unique. It doesn't wrinkle very easily. I'm thinking of purchasing it since it's available through the designers site right now.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2012
the skirt makes dancing fun!
the dress fits true to size, i own several kate spade dresses and they tend to work for me. the skirt is great for dancing at a wedding. the cute bow belt adds a little shine. i wore the dress with gold strappy sandals to dress it up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2012
My favorite dress that I have rented.
Classic and chic. I was looking for a dress that was classy, chic and somewhat preppy (this was for a Rehearsal Dinner at the Harvard Club). A fun twist on the LBD, this dress fit the bill. The patent leather bow belt was just the icing on the cake; adorable. Plus, my RTR experience was phenomenal. This was an out-of-town event in NYC, and I requested that the dress be delivered by 12 pm on a certain day. It came at 10 am!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2012
Very classy!
This is a great dress because its classy and sexy at the same time. I wore it to a wedding and got many compliments. I'm about 5'6" and it went to my knees. My husband said it was the best dress I've rented so far, he loved it. The only thing I would change about it is that my torso is long, so the pleats started pretty high up on the dress, which made me look a little wider than I am since they puff out a little bit. Other than that, it was beautiful and I was glad I rented it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2012
LOVED this dress - perfect for a wedding or after 5 event!
The dress fit very true to size. The top part is a very fitted look with a beautifully done full skirt that is tailored by wide pleats. The small accented patent leather belt is a nice accent! I wore a series of different length/type pearl necklases with it, pearl earrings, and lots of pearl bracelets. Finished off with black shoes and purse I received many compliments and had a blast dancing the night away with such a fun skirt!
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×