kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2015
Dress was long
Fit was great and soft to wear. But dress was long for my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2015
Classic dress!
Fit was flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
November 10, 2016
Having fun in this dress
Fits well. So comfortable. Sweet flirty fun dress
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
September 9, 2012
"Wow, you look so elegant"
I rented this dress for a wedding I was in, and I do not regret it! It did not come with the belt pictured, but a quick trip to F21 fixed that. The dress material was very thin and might need steaming to remove wrinkles. I received tons of compliments. If you are thinking about this dress, I'd say go for it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the dress
Very cute on, and super comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2012
Classy dress and great first experience with RTR!
The dress was amazing and arrived on time. I typically wear an 8 but the 6 fit perfectly. I had so many people compliment the dress and felt great all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2012
I received many compliments, my favorite so far
Wore dress to a baptism, it was very comfortable. Material had a lot of stretch to it, I wore the 14, it was very roomy on top- I should've worn the 12, but didn't want to take a chance of it being too tight. Skirt is very flowy, will hide any trouble areas. Loved the style, simple and chic. This is my second dress I rent from RTR, this month. Looking forward to renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Flattering, chic dress.
Great dress. Runs large so size down. Very comfortable but chic. Does not come with a belt but doesn't need it. Got tons of compliments. I wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2012
Fun & Flirty
Really cute overall, fun and flirty to dance in. The dress itself fit wonderfully, but I'm a bit short so the dress ran long on me. The short skirt became more of a tea length with my height. But still, it was very cute and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
December 19, 2012
fabulous
loved this dress
lindaJanuary 8, 2013
Awsome!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 25, 2012
LOVED this dress... I will rent it again for sure
The dress was big. I could have easily worn a 4 maybe even a 2
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 2, 2013
Fun & Classy
I usually wear a size 4 but in this dress it ran a tad big, so a size 2 was perfect! It's a flattering shaped dress, comfortable and simple. I paired it with a big statement necklace (not pictured) which gave it an added glamor look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2013
Dinner with BF's parent's, perfect dress!
Runs large. I wasn't swimming in the dress but it felt large on me. No need to worry about whether it will fit the butt area does not matter with this dress since it flares out around from the waist area down. Just make sure that the dress size will fit your chest area. I normally wear a size 2-4, wore a Kate Spade size 2, and the additional size I got, size 4 in Kate Spade, was just ridiculously large. I was meeting BF's parents for the first time, so had to be a little conservative, and with the knee-length of this dress, it was perfect! Fun, cute, yet conservative. BF's parents later told him I looked beautiful. I usually like hugging dresses that flatter the figure but this Kate Spade was not "pudgy" at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
Super cute!
It is such a classic dress and very comfortable. I loved the fit. My boyfriend loved it as well. Sad I had to return it. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2013
I got so many compliments! this dress came on time, both sizes actually fit well!
The fit was great, the quality was fantastic, and I wanted to keep it for my own!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect for the black tie wedding I attended, so comfy and elegant!
I am usually a size 2/4 so I ordered both sizes, and the two fit me like a glove! I would recommend ordering your regular size and the next size down as your back up because KS seems to run a little large. This dress is amazing, it can be dressed up or worn in a more casual setting, all depending on your accessories! I received so many compliments on the dress and really loved my entire experience with RTR. I will definitely be back, no doubt about it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
The process couldn't be easier and the dresses couldn't have been more perfect for the event!
This dress was gorgeous! I received several compliments on the dress. It ran a little large, but they only had a 4 available. I think the 2 would've been perfect, but the 4 definitely worked. My only gripe is that the belt many other referenced, did not come with mine!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2013
Off to the races!!
I'm in love with this dress!! I work for kate spade, and we currently have this dress in store in navy, and pink; however, the black was perfect for my Kentucky Derby viewing party! Traditionally, I wear a 0 or XS in ksny, but because the 0 wasnt available, I wore this dress in a 00 and felt great! As others have mentioned, the stripes are DEFINITELY not white, more of a dark cream or beige. Not the end of the world, just don't try to match it with any white accessories. Overall, LOVE it! Felt fabulous all day!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2013
Rented this for a polo match and it worked perfectly!
Overall the dress was perfect! I ordered both the 2 and the 00, but ended up using the 00 due to the sizing running a little large. The lighter stripe is more of a cream than a white if you are choosing accessories. Great option to be more casual or dressy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 7, 2013
Fun dress but looks a bit different in person.
I rented this dress in a size 0 and size 2 for my Black and White rehearsal dinner party. Unfortunately, when it arrived, it was black and beige. Also, it was not a poufy on the bottom as it looks in the photo. I thought it looked more casual than what I wanted so I added a petticoat under it and black tights. I liked the look but I didn't love it. I did get compliments on it though. It is a nice dress for a less formal event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 19, 2013
Washed out
The dress is very adorable but i expected the colors to be more bold. It has been worn many times and the color has faded. Unfortunately, I ended up returning this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 20, 2013
Work Worthy!
I wore this to a work fundraiser and got so many compliments. It was the perfect Spring dress--cute but not too sexy. I felt very comfortable all night. I wore a belt with this dress to add a little more detail. Overall it fit slightly big on me--my mom tried it on the next day and it actually fit her better!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 23, 2013
Fun girls weekend get away!
The dress was perfect for my spur of the moment girls weekend to Vegas. It fit perfectly and was really classy. Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
July 24, 2013
I got compliments on this dress all night! It fit perfectly and was super comfortable!
The dress runs big! I was surprised how big the 6 actually is! I would recommend renting a size down!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 4, 2013
Gorgeous dress, maybe I just had a bad one
I was in love with the idea of this dress. It looks gorgeous in the picture and I was very excited to rent it. The fabric is cotton-like and not very easy to keep wrinkle free. My dresses looked like someone had washed them in the washer. I wore it anyway, but it didn't look as great and I had hoped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2013
Cute dress and perfect for a casual wedding
I rented this dress for a summer wedding (ceremony at a church, reception on a yacht). The dress runs a little big - I'm normally a 4 in RTR dresses and I fit comfortably in a 2. The pros - I got a lot of compliments on this dress (both in person and online when I posted photos); very comfortable for eating and dancing because it flares out; fun to dress it up with bold jewelry. One main con and why I didn't give it 5 stars - it skews more casual than I wanted because it's a cotton material and the bottom is prone to wrinkles. I wouldn't recommend for fancy gatherings. But overall, I was happy with the rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2013
LOVED IT!
The dress was a little long and fit pretty large, however it overall looked amazing! I had more compliments than I knew how to take. I paired it with the Kate Spade necklace and hot pink stillettos! The dress itself looked only SLIGHTLY worn! Not enough to really complain about. Overall a great experience and I will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 24, 2013
Cute dress for a wedding.
Definitely had to get the dress steamed prior to wearing... Arrived very wrinkly due to the fabric. Really cute paired with fun jewelry, but I didn't LOVE it. Would be cuter if the beige was white and if there was a little less material in the skirt. I wore the smaller size that I ordered and still felt that the dress was a tad big. Overall, it was cute and I got a bunch of compliments but I will order a different dress next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2013
Very cute but too big
Rented this to wear the day after my wedding. The dress was cute but much too big up top. The waste fit well and the skirt didn't fall long, however, I probably could have taken off two inches from the top (was able to pull the dress up about that high past my shoulders). I didn't end up wearing it because it bunched up so much in the chest due to how long the upper half of the dress was. If you have a long torso this will probably work well for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
October 5, 2013
Great dress, but different from picture
I loved the fit and style of this dress, but a couple aspects are affecting my rating. First, the dress I received was so faded that it looked more like navy than black. Second, it came very wrinkled and I do not have the iron skills to tackle those pleats! I ended up wearing it and got compliments, but I didn't feel like it was the dress I signed up for. Still, I love RTR!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
October 10, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday party!!
I am usually a size 16, but after reading reviews that it ran big--I decided to give the 14 a try. I am so happy that I did! It fit perfectly. I received countless compliments on the dress all night. The only reason that I didn't give this dress 5 stars is because the off-white is almost tan... not that I was expecting bright white, but it is definitely darker than the picture. That being said, I would still rent this dress again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
Great dress! Cute and comfortable!
When the dress arrived I was definitely glad I had paid attention to someone else's comments about dressing it up with a petticoat underneath. Made a big difference! Loved the dress. Fit great and was comfortable which is always a plus. Wore it to a gala event and felt very appropriately dressed in a formal crowd.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 21, 2013
Not just another black dress!
I am hooked on RTR! This is my third rental. The whole process is fun. You get to window shop right in your own home. With the first rental, I was a little nervous thiinking if the dresses didn't fit than what would I do? However, most of us have one or two basic dresses in our closet that we could resort to if it turned out to be a disastor. No such thing has happened after three rentals due to the fact that there are so many great reviews that describe how the dress fits and offer little tips that provide you with enough information to help you make the right choice for your body. Most women like to wear different outfits to their events. How many of us wear the same formal dress more than 2 or 3 times? Sometimes the dresses that we do have in our closet are not appropriate for the occassion. This is my favorite thing about RTR. You can rent an affordable, well made dress that will suit the occassion because of their variety. The Whole In One Dress was just that, "a whole in one" for my wedding occasion. I ordered the 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the 4. The dress is made just a touch big. I wore a wide black belt that clasped in the front (did not come with the dress) and black pumps. It was a comfortable fit and the perfect length. The dress is full from the waist down and the adding belt helped to separate tht fullness. If you have a small waist than a petticoat may help to add fullness but I liked the fullness without the extra poof! It was a cooler night and I added a long black sweater while we were outside. Most people wear black to weddings. This Kate Spade dress was "not just another black dress" but the black and white stripe and full skirt added some fun to my attire. Had so much fun wearing this Whole in One Dress! Thanks RTR for another flawless rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Elegant without being stuffy
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding. I was very pleased with the overall "look" but the dress itself was showing wear and tear. I wear a large cup size but there was enough room in the stretched-out top that I could have fit into a 2. (Although one wasn't available as a backup size.) Also, both of the loop/snap things at the shoulder to hold bra straps were broken. (I improvised with the fashion tape sample instead.) It was clean but needed ironing after shipping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2013
Classic Pretty!
Wore this to a friends Bridal Shower and it was the perfect dress. Received lots of compliments. It fit well, but was a little large around the armholes (though I'm sort of tiny on top). I did pair it with a black belt, and a belt really looks good with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
January 2, 2014
Great Dress!!
Wore this dress to a wedding. It was a fantastic dress. I got tons of compliments on the dress and I would definitely recommend it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 6, 2014
The dress was stunning, and it photographed well! Very comfortable!
I wore this dress for prom, and i was surprised to find that the dress ran a bit large. I wish I had ordered a size down for my backup size, but the size 2 looked wonderful on me, despite feeling a bit roomy. The dress also felt a tad long, but that is more because I am so short. The fabric was much more comfortable and soft to the touch than i imagined, which was a pleasant surprise! I got plenty of compliments on the dress, and I loved my experience with RTR! I would highly recommend this dress, though I would suggest ordering down for your backup size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2014
Perfect dress for my wedding shower!
So this was my first time renting from RTR. I ordered a size 2 and a 4. Unfortunately, the size 4 was damaged so they couldn't send it to me. They sent me another style from my favorites and the size 2. Luckily, the skirt of the dress is flared, so the size 2 worked for me. I will say that the material is very crushable, so I had to have my fiancé run to the cleaners the day of the shower to get it steamed. If you are able to put on the dress just before your event (i.e. after a car ride), I would highly recommend it. Otherwise, it was a great dress and I got SO many compliments. Plus it looked really cute while we were opening our shower gifts.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
I wore this dress for my engagement photos!
I love this dress. I wish I could find where to purchase it. its worth every penny. the skirt isnt as full as it looks on some, but it has plenty of flow. everything about the dress is flattering and classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2014
Classic, stunning dress! I wore this for my engagement photos!
I rented a 4 and really needed a 2 but it wasn't available. It was a bit big but still fit. I had to iron the pleats on the skirt to make it appear like it does in the picture above. Otherwise, classic, pretty, great dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×