Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
455 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size388
Small14
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
I wore this Kate Spade number to a ball for my husband's company, overall, it was the perfect pick!
The only thing you should be mindful of is that the material is practically cotton, not a nylon/satin fabric, and I knew that when I rented it, but still thought the material would have a bit more sheen. That said, it's not SUPER dressy, so, if you have a very formal affair, this isn't the dress for you. However, a wedding, cocktail party, work event, etc...it'll do. Runs true to size, may actually run a little big. I'm typically an 8-ish, and I wore a 6, comfortable. Length is slightly above knee, wouldn't consider this "mini" at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2013
I walked out and my fiancé said, "can you buy that" - enough said.
Great for girls with a full bust. The cream color is a little darker than what I was expecting, but this dress is great for really ANY occasion. So sorry to see it go.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2013
Dinner with BF's parent's, perfect dress!
Runs large. I wasn't swimming in the dress but it felt large on me. No need to worry about whether it will fit the butt area does not matter with this dress since it flares out around from the waist area down. Just make sure that the dress size will fit your chest area. I normally wear a size 2-4, wore a Kate Spade size 2, and the additional size I got, size 4 in Kate Spade, was just ridiculously large. I was meeting BF's parents for the first time, so had to be a little conservative, and with the knee-length of this dress, it was perfect! Fun, cute, yet conservative. BF's parents later told him I looked beautiful. I usually like hugging dresses that flatter the figure but this Kate Spade was not "pudgy" at all.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
January 21, 2013
I felt so special in this dress. It was a knock out.....Thanks RTR!
Love the little patent leather belt.,,,this add the extra touch to the dress.... Paired it with patent leather pumps and a great necklace.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 21, 2013
I LOVED this dress, and the best part was its so easy to dress up or down!
It fit perfectly and was exceptionally comfortable! I was sitting in on presentations/seminars all day and with the perfect length it gave me no problems. The top is nicely fitted so it makes your waste feel much smaller, especially with the belt.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
January 21, 2013
Beautiful dress. I received many compliments. Elegantly understated.
This dress is really gorgeous. It is subtle and understated but with some red lipstick helps you garner some killer attitude. The picture has a cute belt on it, but unfortunately, it was tucked in the return envelope so i ended up wearing my own. I would not wear this to a formal event, but for something semi formal it is great.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2013
N/A
I rented the dress as a second option for my party, the dress is gorgeous, classic, and fits good. The only problem is i am not going to be able to ware it because it has light dark spots under waist line. Probably the previous renter spilled red wine on the dress and you guys were not able to remove it. My party is today and i will wear my first dress. Thank you
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
So classy!
I received so many compliments throughout the night from perfect strangers. It was a beautiful dress and I felt like Audrey Hepburn!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
Beautiful Sun dress
This dress is beautiful, but the material of the dress is more casual. I did not wear this dress to the event. This dress w ould be better suited for a shower or formal Sunday brunch.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2013
A lovely dress with a classic feel.
First off: the dress wasn't quite as formal as I expected from the photos. The skirt portion of the dress is more cottony than I expected, but I would easily have found that out if I had looked into the dress's details before ordering it. Also, the stripes are black and more of a linen, off-white color; they are not white. That said, the dress fit well in the smaller size I ordered and the top definitely had some stretch to it, so I think it would be flattering on many body types. I have am pretty curvy and I found it to be pretty flattering. As other reviewers noted, steaming is a good option before wearing as it may come a little wrinkly due to the nature of the fabric. I think it would be perfect to wear to an evening summer wedding or party, but is on the more casual side of cocktail in my opinion. An easy dress to accessorize!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2013
Very flattering!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower, and the dress fit perfectly! It was girly and sophisticated at the same time. The material was thicker than I expected, which was a good thing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Great fit, but didn't wear.
I was very excited to wear this dress for a work Christmas party, but when it arrived the 2 had a stain on it and the 4 was too big to wear. The stain was near the zipper on the cream part of the dress, so to me it was obvious and I felt like I didn't want to wear something that I knew was flawed. RTR was quick to assist though, which was awesome. I returned the dress and they refunded me the total for my order within days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
not for me
i sent this dress back, it was very unflattering on me. the top was too tight and i felt like the waist sat way too high. if you have a longer torso i bet this would be pretty. the fabric was ok, a little more casual than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Very cute; longer than expected; runs big.
This dress was adorable but I ended up not wearing it as it was too big. Also, it is much longer on someone my height than it is on the model so just be aware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 8, 2013
This dress is very flattering for a pear shape.
This was a fun party dress that was easy to dress up with a statement necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 7, 2013
Wore this to my rehearsal/rehearsal dinner for my wedding. It was perfect - comfy and oh so cute!
Loved wearing this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It was the perfect shape for me and was great for one of those "have to look cute but still want to eat a lot" moments. Looks great alone or with a cardigan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2013
It was great, I got a lot of compliments!!
I ABSOLUTELY loved it! I felt sophisticated yet comfortable, and it fit perfectly. thanks RTR:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
Dress was a room-wow'er!
Loved wearing this!! Very forgiving and flattering. I sized up just in case, but did not need to go with the 8. The 6 fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Dose not photograph well but great in person
This dress is perfect for a Hamptons or NYC charity event , dinner or lunch-in. Unfortunately unless you 90lbs it does not photograph well, but it was fabulous in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 2, 2013
LOVE this dress!
I will definitely rent this again. It's flattering and adorable with flats or heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 2, 2013
Fun & Classy
I usually wear a size 4 but in this dress it ran a tad big, so a size 2 was perfect! It's a flattering shaped dress, comfortable and simple. I paired it with a big statement necklace (not pictured) which gave it an added glamor look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 27, 2012
Super comfortable yet dressy enough for my company holiday party. Got a ton of compliments!
The fit was pretty true to size. Between the 6 and 8 there wasn't a big difference. Very stylish and a must to add big fun jewelry to it to jazz it up a bit.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress!
It was a bit longer than it looks on the model which makes it appropriate for many occasions. I fit into both the 4 and 6 but I went with the 6 since the hook and eye on the 4 was broken as well as the clips that hide bra straps. I guess with delicate parts, they tend to break easily with wear and tear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 25, 2012
LOVED this dress... I will rent it again for sure
The dress was big. I could have easily worn a 4 maybe even a 2
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 25, 2012
Everyone who has seen my engagement photos remarks on this stunning dress!
This dress gets a 10 in every category!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
December 19, 2012
fabulous
loved this dress
lindaJanuary 8, 2013
Awsome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2012
Very fun and cute! Though I didn't get a belt with it.
I really loved this dress, but there was no belt shipped with it. So I had to find my own. It's cute and flattering and made me feel like a lady!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
Great fit, but unlined
This is a beautiful dress and fit spectacularly, but I was disappointed that the fabric was cotton (I thought it would be silk) and that it was unlined and very wrinkly. I did not end up wearing this to the wedding because it arrived late.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 17, 2012
Cute and sophisticated
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and I got lots of compliments. IIt was easy to wear and I didnt feel like I had to fidget with anything all night. The material is smooth but heavy. Also, this dress comes with the belt in the bottom of the bag. I didnt see it at first and used my own belt - so make sure you look for the one that is included!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
The black and white adds a little something special.
Wore this for my work holiday party and was overall satisfied with the dress. The white is more of an off-white rather than a winter white as pictured, and the bottom part of the dress flares out a bit and could make some girls look like they have bigger hips than the really do. Additionally, I’m tall and the dress was longer than I thought it would be. I should mention that the picture is shown with a black belt but it's not included with the dress even though there are belt loops.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2012
Fun & Flirty
Really cute overall, fun and flirty to dance in. The dress itself fit wonderfully, but I'm a bit short so the dress ran long on me. The short skirt became more of a tea length with my height. But still, it was very cute and I received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2012
Loved this Kate Spade dress!
This dress is very becoming and would be to any body type. I got tons of compliments on how great I looked. The top is slightly stretchy so it forms well. The skirt part of the dress does wrinkle easy but not enough for anyone to notice. I'm so happy with my first Rent the Runway experience; I will be back!!!
KristaDecember 21, 2012
Love it with tights!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
It was lovely but not as dressy as I was expecting.
Ended up returning this dress, but it would have been great for a more casual event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
December 10, 2012
Compliments: jackie O
The fabric wrinkles so def STEAM THIS DRESS! fit greats bows a little wonkey but you could add any quite bow and it would be great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2012
Everyone loved the dress, I felt so comfortable and classy at the same time. Thanks RTR!
It fit true to size, and I loved that I could wear my normal bra with it. Very comfortable. My backup size was the 6, and that fit, but was a little tight around the belt when I sat so I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I'm still loosing baby weight so I loved that this dress hides your tummy. I would love to rent this dress again, it was a hit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 9, 2012
Great classic go to
Great classic style. The lighter part of the skirt is a little see through, makes the dress more casual but so perfect for a rehearsal dinner/wedding.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2012
Too long!
the dress is much longer than it appears on the model
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
This was my first RTR experience and it was so incredibly stress-free!
The fit was true to size--I carry all my weight in my hips and thighs, so I can generally go down a size on dresses that are fitted in the waist. I was invited to a dinner for the dean of my law school and was a little unsure about what the "business" dress code meant; this dress ended up being perfect. I probably could have used slightly fancier accessories, but I definitely wasn't underdressed.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
As soon as I took off my coat, a friend said, "I love your dress! Where did you get it?!?!"
This dress fir perfectly; it was very comfortable and made me feel fabulous! Plus, if you like to dance, the skirt has a great twirl...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
December 5, 2012
Great fit, classy dress, but women with big hips beware.
This dress did get lots of compliments, but I didn't feel comfortable. The flowing shirt in theory is great to hide big hips, but the stripes only accentuate hips more. The size ran true to size and the little belt that came with it was very cute. Soft material with a little bit of stretch, easy to zip by self (underarm). can wear a regular bra which is a plus, but the stripes really made my butt look a lot bigger than it is.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
8 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×