Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

452 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 386
Large 51
Photos 241
Tees
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful outfit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I will continue to rent at RTR. People were staring atvmevall night. I felt beautiful and confident in the dress.
Pamplemousse
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Fun and classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. As some of the other reviews say, it was a little wrinkled when it came to me. The material is cotton. This could definitely work as a sundress. I wore it with a cropped blazer and a necklace like the one in the model's picture, and I felt like it looked dressy enough for a rehearsal dinner at a country club. It definitely runs a little big, specifically, it has extra room in the chest area which is the only fitted part of the dress. If you are small on top definitely size down! It also is pretty long, so if you are shorter, be aware that it might hit your knees. I would definitely rent this again!
Leigh Ann
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 19, 2013

Beautiful, classic dress that is very flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I would wear this dress for many events. I was surprised there wasn't a lining, but you didn't need one since the fabric was so thick. The small belt was a nice touch. I had a baby a couple of months ago and it concealed my little belly nicely. I don't wear Spanx (even though they are great) and with this dress you really don't need to. The length was good. I ordered a size 2 and 4 and the 2 was perfect! In the online photo the stripes look more white, but they are much more bone/off-white. It complimented my nude round toe pantent leather heels nicely.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2013

Super cute!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved wearing this dress. It was super comfy and I felt beautiful. Comes with a small ribbon belt which made the dress that much more perfect. I would note that the white is actually a beige-cream color and the dress does have some stretch.
joan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

cute dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
wore for my friend's black and white theme bridal shower. Wished that the dress was a bit shorter but it was still cute!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I did not end up wearing this dress due to sizing but it was a beautiful dress. I usually wear a 2 in Kate Spade and this dress ran a little big. I would have needed the 0.
Hillary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 25, 2013

Everyone loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my bridal shower! It was a huge hit!
eamar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

great dress, but both sizes I ordered were missing the belt!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is an elegant, ladylike, yet totally stylish dress. I felt like I walked more gracefully when I was wearing this. I was realllly disappointed that the belts were missing. I had read a couple reviews where this had happened before, and believe me I turned the box and all the bags inside out looking for them. Nothing. It still looked fine without, but a belt would have been a nice touch. Also, this dress has a puffier skirt, so if you are looking for something that has a slim silhouette from the side especially, this is not it.
Sonia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Beautiful fit and perfect for the beach club wedding I attended. Received compliments all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm not as tall as the model shown, so the dress hit right at my knees, which I loved. Fit perfectly at my bust, and I'm not busty at all. I added a skinny belt black patent belt with a small boy and wore nude patent leather pumps. This dress was very comfy and looked great! I do not wear dresses often, but would love to wear this again.
christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Beautiful dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very comfortable dress.
Blythe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013

A classy look perfect for an engagement party!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress ran true to size and fit great, but unfortunately the hem had dropped completely. The provided dress tape was not enough to fix the damage to the dress, so I was unable to wear it to my event. If it weren't for the hem, it would have been perfect!
Jonille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
May 1, 2013

I felt elegant in this dress at an upscale restaurant!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fit wonderfully, and was slightly heavier material than I thought, so on a 60 degree evening, I wasn't cold or anything. I felt beautiful!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
May 4, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got so many compliments on this. Very vintage hollywood.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013

Perfect for my best friend's outdoor bridal shower

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super comfortable - great for hosting.
Elisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 16, 2013

Pretty, but underwhelming

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought the dress was pretty, but underwhelming. I had to jazz it up by wearing a black skinny waist belt and a multiple strand pearl necklace. Also, I thought the white on the black and white striped skirt looked more yellowish-beige than white. The skirt texture was also much "softer" than the picture makes it look, so the skirt actually got a little crinkly as the evening wore on. I give it 3 stars for RTR's delivery policy and the fit was perfect.
JJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2013

Great fit, great look.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented a size 4 and had a size 6 as a back up since I had not worn the Kate Spade brand before. The size 4 was perfect for my 5'5, 127 lb frame. I really should have found a thin belt to wear with this dress. It would have looked so much better. Although it didn't seem so in person, in photos I looked a little thick in the middle. A belt would have helped. I accessorized with the Kate Spade Cobblestone Bib Necklace, a bright cardigan and bright colored pumps. One of the lingerie straps was missing from the dress and the hook and eye closure under my arm was bent and really killed by the end of the night.. Overall, a great dress. I received a lot of compliments and actually want to purchase this dress from Kate Spade.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2013

I LOVED this dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My husband liked this dress so much, he suggested that I try to buy it. The fit was perfect and flattering, and the style was exactly what I wanted for a formal, Parisian-themed Valentine's Day party at a winery in Napa. One woman at the party told me that my dress was "perfection." Doesn't get better than that!
bmills
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 22, 2013

Rented this for a polo match and it worked perfectly!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Overall the dress was perfect! I ordered both the 2 and the 00, but ended up using the 00 due to the sizing running a little large. The lighter stripe is more of a cream than a white if you are choosing accessories. Great option to be more casual or dressy!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 22, 2013

I didn't wear it out to the party because I got two to try on, but loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit very well... a little big in the bust area, but that's just my body type.
Mandy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
May 29, 2013

Perfect Fitting Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for the formal event I attended. It was also very comfortable.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Flattering but worn

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was like an old favorite in my closet. I agree with previous reviewers who stated that it should be retired. The dress is in good condition but it looks like I've worn it several times before. The fit and quality is nice, but I chose to wear the other dress I rented to the wedding.
BizzyAttorney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2013

Classic and timeless

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very classic. Very Jackie O. I loved the way that it fit and flared a the bottom. I received a tonne of compliments all afternoon at the event. Can't go wrong with this dress, although I must say it was a little bit longer than expected, but that may be my fault as I tend for forget that the models on here are 5' 10".
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jun 9, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it's the perfect classic look.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The cut of this dress is very flattering and it is true to size. My only complaint is the fabric. It is not as high quality as I had hoped.
Angela
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 11, 2013

Such a classic dress! Perfect for any occasion!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits on the larger side so try going down a size. But worth every penny!!
julianne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

Awesome dress for a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so flattering. The skirt was so much fun to dance in. The fabric was light and easy to move it.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Jun 17, 2013

I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a friends wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the way I looked. The dress fit perfectly and I got compliments all night, it was a little big in the bust, but nothing a padded bra couldn't fix. Other than that the length was great and appropriate for the event.
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Didnt really like the fit but the back of it was super cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved the back of this dress but the fit was a little off! I wore it for my sons baptism and I was less than thrilled with this dress.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Washed out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is very adorable but i expected the colors to be more bold. It has been worn many times and the color has faded. Unfortunately, I ended up returning this dress
Sandy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 22, 2013

Classy, yet fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully and gave me that elegant feeling without being over-the-top. Received a lot of compliments at the wedding I attended.
ksenia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Loved the style and fit, but needs to be retired (this specific dress)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the style and fit. The dress itself was really faded though and did not look as high end because of it. I still wore the dress to a formal event, but was not as floored as I was hoping. Might be time to retire this particular size 6.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

na

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
na
Gina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jul 3, 2013

LOVE this dress. Too big :(

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is totally classy. Unfortunately the 0 was huge on me. Wish I could have wore it. RTR gave me a credit to rent my next dress :)
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Jul 3, 2013

This dress is FAB!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tons of compliments! This worked great for my Knot Summer Cocktail party!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 13, 2013

Love the vintage cut.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfect.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Runs a bit big, but was a really cute dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a bit worn, so it was stretched out on top, but overall it fit nicely. I wore it to a wedding and it was pretty classy. The length was really nice considering how short i am and the fit was really flattering. I would definitely go with another Kate Spade in the future.
Karly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Classic. This dress is comfortable, feminine, and flattering. Rent it- you won't be disappointed!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had a baby 5 months ago, so I'm still working to fit back into my old size. This dress was absolutely perfect because it hid my trouble spot (belly), while still being very flattering on the rest of my body. Classic Black and Beige combination that looks good anytime of year!
jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Loved!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect dress for a wedding! So flattering
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

Perfect dress for a spring wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well and looked very classy
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

Fun girls weekend get away!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
The dress was perfect for my spur of the moment girls weekend to Vegas. It fit perfectly and was really classy. Loved this dress.
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

What a sleek dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks amazing on. Great, sleek and refined look. Wore it with a pair of nude pumps. Basic jewelry.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×