Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
456 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size389
Small14
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2013
I got a lot of compliments!
I loved the dress but I really wear a size 6, which fit perfectly but the hem was out when I received it so I could not wear it. There was also a clasp broken on the size 8. The dresses need to be looked at better before sending out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 1, 2013
Really Cute...Recv'd tons of compliments
I was really excited about this dress for a cocktail event. When I received it I was disappointed at the material as it is more of a daytime material as some of the other reviews had said. That being said I dressed it up with accessories/shoes and wore it. I received many compliments and it was a success. It is a little high waisted and I am 5'4" and it was right about knee level on me...I wish it would've been longer, but it was perfectly fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
March 29, 2013
Loved it.
This dress fit perfectly, and was so comfortable. I even thought about renting it a second time! Maybe better to just buy my own :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 25, 2013
Perfection. Covers imperfections while feeling very feminine and sweet.
Perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 22, 2013
This dress fit perfectly and was flattering. It's sleek and cute at the same time.
Loved the dress...didn't love the bow belt. Made it look to girly so I left it off. It's also a great winter dress as I was able to wear black tickets and booties with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
March 21, 2013
Great party dress
A bit large in the chest but otherwise fit well. Wish I had rented the 0 and 2 I think the zero would have been perfect! Wore it to an evening wedding but could to any daytime event. Really fun to dance in. The skirt swung around beautifully. Would definately re-rent. Only rated 4 stars because of the wrinkle factor. Drove for 25 minutes to the wedding and the back of my dress was in shambles.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2013
I got so many compliments! this dress came on time, both sizes actually fit well!
The fit was great, the quality was fantastic, and I wanted to keep it for my own!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
March 19, 2013
Fantastic dress; I received a ton of compliments!
I'm not a curvy person but this dress was still very flattering and the white/black detail really stood out. It was comfortable and easy to wear all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
My sister-in-law loved it so much she bought it after!
Rented for a wedding shower. Adorable, feminine, and preppy, exactly what I think about when I think Kate Spade!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2013
My favorite RTR dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding and it could not have been more perfect. The fit was fantastic, it really makes your waist look great - It's classy but fun and very easy to dance in. Everyone kept asking me where I got it and I proudly said "I rented it!"
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
March 16, 2013
Fit perfectly and loved all the complements!
I loved this dress! I wore it to work in a professional setting, which was good but I recommend it more for a sundress day in Central Park. The fit was perfect and the material is extremely comfortable. The structure is very fitted at the waist and above sections, so make sure to order your sizes based on that. The bottom was so flowy that I felt like doing the flamenco all day! I hope everyone's experience with this dress is as great as mine was!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2013
Love, love, love this dress!!! It fits perfectly in all the right places.
Loved the fit and look of this dress. I received compliments all night long. Rented this for a family rehearsal dinner and felt like a million bucks. My hubby couldn't keep his hands off me. :) I was concerned after reading the reviews that the dress would be too large in the bust area but it fit perfectly. I would love to own this dress!! The material was lovely and so comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2013
Perfect for the occassion!
I wore this dress for my 1960's cocktail party themed 30th birthday. I am very curvy on top and bottom with a relatively small waist, so I loved the flowy skirt. I got a lot of compliments on this dress and it was very flattering for my hourglass figure. I am 5'0 and the dress came down below my knee to mid calf...I wasn't too bothered by that however since I loved how flattering it was everywhere else. Also, I was disappointed that the cute belt wasn't included with the dress...then after the event while packing it up, I realized it was in fact rolled up and in a small plastic bag that I just didn't see....so make sure to look for it!
MelissaJuly 24, 2013
so cute & love the retro makeup & hair =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
March 13, 2013
This dress is incredibly comfortable and looks adorable on!
The material is a bit duller in tone than I thought it was going to be - definitely more of a matte finish than it looks in the photos. Regardless, it is an incredible comfortable party dress - fitted, but with plenty of stretch so it looks form fitting, without being too tight. Absolutely would rent this again for a party or wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2013
Great, comfortable dress! Couldn't resist the photo op on the fainting couch. :)
This is a great dress - the fit is classic and flattering. The cotton fabric could be a bit casual, but it is easily dressed up with shoes, jewelry, etc. Received lots of compliments and was comfortable all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2013
Cute & classy stand-out. True to size.
I was surprised that the dress is light-weight cotton. Somehow I missed that in the description. However, I did think the dress was adorable on, and looked great with black tights. I think you can easily acessorize this for a day event, as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 11, 2013
Classy & Adorable!
I rented this dress for my brunch bridal shower that had a "breakfast at tiffany's" theme. This is a classy and adorable dress that worked great for the type of event. The fit is great and very flattering, the bow belt included adds a nice touch. I rented my size & a size up for backup, but I wish I would've went a size down for the backup since it runs true to size, but slightly loose. I was very comfortable the whole time and the length was great for sitting and having everyone watching me open presents. I am 5'6 and the hem hit right at my knees. There a couple of cute details to this dress you can't see, such as the lace interior hemline. Also, the straps had small clasps to snap your bra into place so no straps could come sneaking out. Overall, a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
March 10, 2013
Loved the dress & hated to return it. The fit was perfect & the look was very elegant.
True to size but the belt was not sent with the dress. Luckily I had the perfect black sweater to pair with the outfit so one would never know a piece was missing.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 6, 2013
looks much better in person and fits fabulously!
this dress was perfect for my work party. not only did it fit like a glove (ordered 6 & 8, wore the 8), but it was super comfortable. the material was soft and didn't wrinkle too bad. it definitely isn't a white stripe, which i liked, and also enjoyed the hidden lace trim on the hem. the skirt is quite loose in construction and it was a little windy outside, proving to be a little challenging, but nothing nude boyshorts didn't fix. i received more compliments on this dress than i can remember! everyone loved it, including me, and i would most definitely rent this dress again and again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 3, 2013
This is a really fun dress to wear!
I rented this dress for a wedding, along with a RJ Graziano Dress Me Up Necklace. I recieved so many compliments and loved telling people it was a Kate Spade! Very fun dress to wear and I felt great in it. They were out of my back up size 8 at that time, but the 6 fit perfectly, so it didn't matter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 2, 2013
Beautiful, classy dress!
Received so many compliments for this dress! I am quite certain that you have at least 5 new customers after this evening. I raved about the prompt delivery of 2 beautiful, dry cleaned dresses at my door step. I could not be more pleased about this company- I will definitely rent again with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 1, 2013
It's a classic dress, that made me feel polished and fashion forward!
Fit was true to size, with a little stretch in the chest- definitely a great dress for anyone self-conscious about their tummy!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2013
Excellent service, easy process. Great for special occasions!
Fit was true to size, very comfortable, VERY flattering. I got so many compliments on this dress! I wore my hair in a top knot and bright pink lips, which complimented the look well. I strongly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
February 26, 2013
Loved this dress!! Many Compliments!!! Would rent again!
The lighter colored stripes are more light taupe than white as they appear in the website model picture. I easily could have worn the sz 8, except I am quite busty (36 DD) and the top is not as forgiving as the bottom. Very comfortable and easy to dance in too!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2013
Close, but no cigar.
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress. They didn't have my size so I ordered the smaller size hoping it would fit, but it didn't. It was really nice, soft fabric and the style is cute online and cuter in person. I will definitely try renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 20, 2013
So cute for my bridesmaid luncheon!
This dress is so cute for a day party/ luncheon! I wore this along with some the Kate Spade Bryce Bauble Necklace (via "mystery bling", always my favorite accessories option) to a bridesmaid luncheon. Both the 4 and 6 fit great. I think the top runs a bit large, and the bottom is pretty forgiving, so definitely order down for a backup size. Thank you RTR for making my pre-wedding events outfits so much better!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2013
Classic and chic style
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering. I also liked the classic style, it was very appropriate for the event. The only thing I would suggest is leaving an extra day to have it steamed before wearing it. It was a bit wrinkled when I received it because of the cotton fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 19, 2013
Amazing dress that made me feel FABulous!
I absolutely loved this dress. The cotton was so soft. It fit like a glove and could be worn with my regular bra. Two random women on the street stopped me to say how much they adored my dress!! It was the perfect length and flare – definitely a good dress to dance and twirl in. I wore it with black tights and ankle boots. Perfect. Pair it with a chunky necklace and a bright colored purse and voila!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 13, 2013
it made me look amazing!
i absolutely loved this dress. it was so pretty, girly, and fun to wear. I wore it during the day before a wedding. It was so perfect and fit true to size. I can't say enough good things about it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2013
Cute in theory - but I didn't wear it
I got this dress for an industry luncheon. I didn't end up wearing it. The skirt flares out a lot - which was not very flattering. It might be because I am super tall - the waist hit as an empire waist on me- which is wider than my true waist. I wanted it to be great, but the pleats in the skirt were just too stiff and flared.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 12, 2013
I was sitting in my car with a coat on over this dress and still received a compliment!
I absolutely love this classic look and so did many other people. I felt stunning in this dress because of the slew of compliments that it provoked. I am between a 6 and 8 so I ordered both. Both fit well but the 8 was a bit loose in the top, I do not have the biggest chest area; however this is did compliment the girls too. This was perfect for my sister's bridal shower which I was hosting. I definately recommend this dress; plus its really fun to twirl in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2013
Super flattering and versatile.
This dress fit like a glove and was super flattering. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner with tights. You can totally dress up with statement jewelry or dress down for a day event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect Dress for Bridal Shower.
True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2013
I love this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it.
I wore this to a day wedding. It was perfect! Comfortable, easy and cute.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2013
Everyone called me Barbie!!!
Fit was true to size. It was very comfortable and I moved effortlessly in it. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 3, 2013
Fit perfectly and really made a statement! I wore with black wedges and it looked great!
Perfect for pear shaped bodies. Looks great if you are small waisted. True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 3, 2013
Got compliments, but have an iron handy
I ordered the 10 and the 12; the 12 was gigantic- a previous renter must have stretched it a bit. The 10 was a bit snug in the bust. The armholes were also cut a bit small; after a night of dancing I had rope burn-like marks by my armpits. The material is also a bit more "cottoney" and had less sheen than I thought it would. This also meant it arrived a bit wrinkled and needed touching up before the wedding. But, even with all those issues, it was a head turner for it's stunning simplicity.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 31, 2013
Very cute dress and was perfect for the party! Very Audrey Hepburn!
The white color is more of a cream so just be aware. It has a higher setting waist line which is a nice figure flattering element.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
One of a kind look!
The minute I walked in the room, everyone made a comment about how beautiful my dress was. My husband and I were judges for Miss Vermont USA and I wanted a dress that was going to command attention. It definitely did!!! The top has just the right amount of stretch to it and the fabric is amazing. And I was nervous because I am a 36D. It comes with a thin belt, which was lovely, but I chose to wear my own. I am waiting for another opportunity to wear this dress. LOVED it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
Great fit, tons of compliments!
If you are a pear shape, RENT THIS DRESS. It fits like a glove in all of the right places and is beyond comfortable and great for dancing. I am tall and this was still to the knee, hard to find!
See more reviews:
7 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×