kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
458 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(390)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2013
I loved it to much I actually kept saying I wanted to keep it!
Material is amazing- it was super comfortable and so soft. Loved that it had pockets! And fancy hooks to keep those bra straps in place. Fit true to size (I am a 6). Pleats are a little tricky but for the most part it didn't wrinkle!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2013
Sophisticated yet simple
The biggest surprise about this dress was the material. I expected it to be more of a shiny satin-type finish. Instead, it was more like polished cotton. However, the material didn't take away from the sophistication of the dress. I wore this to a business-formal awards dinner with a black pashmina, strappy black heeled sandals and my surprise bling-- the Nicole Miller Star Light Star Bright bracelet. It was a great combination. I had lots of compliments, but I completely forgot to take a picture. : (
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2013
Loved the simple yet elegant look!
Classic and chic. Comfortable fit and fabric. I'm normally a 6 and this fit true to size (not tight or too roomy). Great dress. Many ways to dress it up or down with shoes or jewels. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
August 19, 2013
Simple and elegant
I wore this dress for my second wedding shower at his very conservative parent’s house. I paired this with a black sweater. It was simple, elegant and everyone complemented how I looked. Great rental.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 24, 2013
Cute dress for a wedding.
Definitely had to get the dress steamed prior to wearing... Arrived very wrinkly due to the fabric. Really cute paired with fun jewelry, but I didn't LOVE it. Would be cuter if the beige was white and if there was a little less material in the skirt. I wore the smaller size that I ordered and still felt that the dress was a tad big. Overall, it was cute and I got a bunch of compliments but I will order a different dress next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 28, 2013
Classic!
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding rehearsal and dinner. It was classic and looked very elegant. I got complements all night! Great fit, very flattering. I am petite and this dress enhanced my figure well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 3, 2013
my Fav RTR dress
This was my 4th rental from RTR and bt FAR my favorite. SO comfortable and flattering. I still have my baby "pooch" from having my son a few months ago and this dress made me feel awesome! Would definately rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 9, 2013
A classy, elegant yet comfortable and cute dress!
This was the PERFECT dress! I wore the pink version to a wedding in June and tried this one and loved it even more! I paired it with a black statement necklace, rose gold Michael Kors watch, black bow earrings, and nude pumps. Note that it is NOT black/white but black/tan but actually much prettier. Fits like a glove. I had a nightmare experience getting the dress but hoping that RTR makes this up for me because the dress itself was gorgeous and I wish I could own it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2013
Pretty but not as formal as I expected
This dress was very pretty and I felt great in it, but the fabric was not as heavy as I expected - its just cotton and the dress didn't feel as special as I wanted to for the wedding I was attending. I ended up wearing this to services the day before the wedding and felt great in it. You could tell it had been worn - the black was slightly faded (even compared to the other size I got) and there was the telltale sign of deodorant fading at the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2013
Elegant and flattering
The fit was perfect! It was so flattering and extremely comfortable! I received compliments all night- even the bride wanted the dress! Wore this to a nighttime wedding in Louisiana- fancy enough but not too fancy! I will definitely be renting this dress in the future! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2013
Love this dress!
great dress! just packed it up and feeling really sad that I have to part with it. Fits true to size...I normally have wide hips but this was very flattering in all the right places. I felt really classy holding a glass of champagne in this dress! Didn't have to worry about wardrobe malfunctions all night. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
September 16, 2013
Perfect Dress for Me!
Once again, I ended up wearing the alternative style I selected to a wedding. Thankfully, the size 6 fit me perfectly. The dress is comfortable, stylish, and can be easily dressed up or down. I wore a rented statement necklace with this dress to kick up the dressy factor a bit. I got so many compliments on the dress; no one could believe I rented it! Maybe I should keep it a secret ;)
KatrinaOctober 23, 2013
who makes the necklace?
AngelaOctober 25, 2013
Katrina, the necklace is available on here... I can't remember the name, but check out my other reviews because I'm pretty sure I reviewed it!
AngelaOctober 25, 2013
Okay, I just looked - it is the Kate Spade "On the Town Necklace" :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2013
Classy and gorgeous!
I got so many compliments on this dress! My second RTR rental. I tell all my friends about it! Thank you for making my day amazing! <3
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
September 17, 2013
I love how easy it was to rent and return.
This was my first rental and the dress worked out great for my Breakfast at Tiffany's themed bridal shower. Since I am a little short the dress fit a little longer but I wore a black crinoline under the dress to shorten it a little bit. I typically wear a 0 but decided to go up a size for the backup just in case but the dress does fit true to size so the 0 was perfect. I got a ton of compliments from everyone at the party and even strangers at Starbucks. The dress was very comfortable and was easy to wear and move around in during the day.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 21, 2013
So fun to wear Kate!
I heard that Kate Spade clothing fits small, however this dress totally fit to size. I did have to iron it before I wore it to the wedding-but totally worth it. Fit great, feels like its made well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2013
The dress is so cute!
Loved the fit, but didn't realize the white was such a darker off white then appears in the photo shown. Still a great dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2013
I adored the dress from the first time I saw it! I waited for the perfect occasion.
The dress fit beautifully. The fabric was nice and soft and the overall fit was so comfortable. I had many compliments on the style and look. The dress has tons of class. The fit was true to size and I will definitively try another Kate Spade dress in the future. I will be back to Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2013
A great dress for a wedding!
I hate the fact that I usually buy an expensive dress and only wear it once. I've been invited to several weddings this year and figured I'd check out RTR. Glad I did! I loved this Kate Spade dress because it was preppy and flirty and classic. I received a ton of complements from other wedding guests and they were all shocked when I told them it was rented. It really is a lovely dress! I am usually a 2 or a 4. I rented both sizes and they both fit well, the 2 was just a little more fitted in the bust and the waste.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 25, 2013
Great fit, classy, loved it!
Ordered a 6 and an 8, the 6 fit perfectly, so it might run a smidge on the large size. If you have a smaller waist ...this is a perfect fit to emphasize. Loved it so much, considered buying it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2013
Wanted to like this dress but wasn't right for me.
I'm petite (5'0 and 100lbs). I rented the size 00 because I always have a hard time finding dresses that aren't too big on me. In this case, the 00 did not fit well. The top part was large in the shoulders, too tight in the waist, and the flared skirt overwhelmed my frame. Unfortunately, the dress also arrived smelling very strongly of mothballs and with a small stain on the skirt. I've always been pleased with the condition of other Rent the Runway dresses so this was a bit of a disappointment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 29, 2013
I received tons of compliments from complete strangers! Everyone loved this dress, including me!
This dress was amazing. Great fit and easy to wear. It does scream for a belt in my opinion, so I added one along with chunky silver jewelry. I also think this dress would kill with red heels, but unfortunately, it was cooler the night I wore it so I opted for black tights and heels. Overall, a great pick!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 30, 2013
Classic silhouette
This is a lovely dress, although repeated dry cleaning has turned the cream stripes to tan. There are tiny clasps to hold your bra straps in place, a great detail! It's a little awkwardly sized in the front, so I recommend this dress for A-C cups only - although my DD looked ok.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 2, 2013
Yet another gorgeous RTR dress and flawless rental process. Got so many compliments all night!
I have nothing bad to say at all! Fit perfectly. Beautiful, well-made dress. As other reviewers have commented, the light-colored stripes are more tan / taupe in real life than they show in the picture of the dress on the model on the website. They seem white, but are really more khaki-colored. Super comfy too, and I didn't wear a bra (b/c of the scoop-neck back, and b/c I can get away with it!) but you totally could wear a regular bra. Couldn't be happier with the dress. Go Kate Spade and RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2013
Very cute but too big
Rented this to wear the day after my wedding. The dress was cute but much too big up top. The waste fit well and the skirt didn't fall long, however, I probably could have taken off two inches from the top (was able to pull the dress up about that high past my shoulders). I didn't end up wearing it because it bunched up so much in the chest due to how long the upper half of the dress was. If you have a long torso this will probably work well for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
October 5, 2013
Great dress, but different from picture
I loved the fit and style of this dress, but a couple aspects are affecting my rating. First, the dress I received was so faded that it looked more like navy than black. Second, it came very wrinkled and I do not have the iron skills to tackle those pleats! I ended up wearing it and got compliments, but I didn't feel like it was the dress I signed up for. Still, I love RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2013
I did not wear this dress and had to return it. Too plain for a wedding.
The fabric looks a lot shinier and polished in the photos. In reality, it's a very plain heavy fabric that just didn't feel elegant to me. This would've been perfect for a day time casual wedding, not the fancy cocktail wedding we were attending. The fit was a little tight around my chest so that was another factor in the return of the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
October 7, 2013
The loved the dress and will definitely order again.
The 8 fit perfectly and I also ordered the 10. I wore with pearls and a thin black belt to break up the waist. dress is tan and black and definitely had to use the snaps to keep bra straps in place and prevent the top of dress from bunching up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2013
Very classy and comfortable dress.
Super comfortable dress. Definitely longer than the picture shows, but that was fine with me. I'm also not exceptionally tall. I got an 8 with a 10 as back up and the 8 fit perfectly. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely wear again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
October 10, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday party!!
I am usually a size 16, but after reading reviews that it ran big--I decided to give the 14 a try. I am so happy that I did! It fit perfectly. I received countless compliments on the dress all night. The only reason that I didn't give this dress 5 stars is because the off-white is almost tan... not that I was expecting bright white, but it is definitely darker than the picture. That being said, I would still rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
October 13, 2013
The perfect little dress!
I ordered both a 2 and a 4 and the 2 was perfect! I didn't even try the 4 on. I received so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for a wedding. I loved the whole RTR experience and have told all my friends about it. I will for sure use it again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2013
LOVED IT!
I couldnt of DREAMED of a better Kentucky Derby Dress! I rented this amazing Kate Spade dress along with the pearl necklace. It was a hit and people gawked over my entire outfit. Dress fits perfectly and is true to size. Very flattering and classy and fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180lbs
October 15, 2013
I felt so chic!
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
October 15, 2013
Black and cream... how could you go wrong!
I would buy it right here, right now... but alas $$. I loved everything about this dress. It was comfortable, it was classy, and it fit perfectly. I wore it with a black sweater shrug due to weather and I still received tons of compliments. This is a rental I would do again and maybe some day... it would be mine! Sorry for bad pictures - one was end of the rehearsal dinner from below and the other was in awful light.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 16, 2013
Great dress! Cute and comfortable!
When the dress arrived I was definitely glad I had paid attention to someone else's comments about dressing it up with a petticoat underneath. Made a big difference! Loved the dress. Fit great and was comfortable which is always a plus. Wore it to a gala event and felt very appropriately dressed in a formal crowd.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 20, 2013
Oh HOT Glam!
This was a perfect red carpet dress for the Global Down Syndrome black tie event! The dress was nice and roomy and I loved how it hit right at my knees! A definite hole in one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 20, 2013
Very fun dress!
Great fit. Very flattering. Great with a pop of color in the shoes. Lighter material than expected. Dress was slightly wrinkled on arrival.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 21, 2013
Not just another black dress!
I am hooked on RTR! This is my third rental. The whole process is fun. You get to window shop right in your own home. With the first rental, I was a little nervous thiinking if the dresses didn't fit than what would I do? However, most of us have one or two basic dresses in our closet that we could resort to if it turned out to be a disastor. No such thing has happened after three rentals due to the fact that there are so many great reviews that describe how the dress fits and offer little tips that provide you with enough information to help you make the right choice for your body. Most women like to wear different outfits to their events. How many of us wear the same formal dress more than 2 or 3 times? Sometimes the dresses that we do have in our closet are not appropriate for the occassion. This is my favorite thing about RTR. You can rent an affordable, well made dress that will suit the occassion because of their variety. The Whole In One Dress was just that, "a whole in one" for my wedding occasion. I ordered the 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the 4. The dress is made just a touch big. I wore a wide black belt that clasped in the front (did not come with the dress) and black pumps. It was a comfortable fit and the perfect length. The dress is full from the waist down and the adding belt helped to separate tht fullness. If you have a small waist than a petticoat may help to add fullness but I liked the fullness without the extra poof! It was a cooler night and I added a long black sweater while we were outside. Most people wear black to weddings. This Kate Spade dress was "not just another black dress" but the black and white stripe and full skirt added some fun to my attire. Had so much fun wearing this Whole in One Dress! Thanks RTR for another flawless rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2013
Great for a preppy, polished look
This dress was great for a casual, country club wedding. However, I wish it came in a petite size because the top was a little too long for my shorter, petite torso. The skirt was fantastic and very full. I ended up wearing this with a big cluster of pearls and some cobalt blue heels to make it a little more modern. Overall, very cute dress, we'll made, and super easy to rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 28, 2013
The team over nighted me the correct size. And it arrived just in time.
This dress is cream not white. BUT the fit is amazing. I am a 32 h in my bra size and never order dresses that come up high. But it had plenty of room and it did not fit snug around my bust. I ordered a size up because of the bust area and when it arrived the dress was too big. The team at RTR was amazing and over nighted me the 8. I wore the dress to my bridal tea and recieved so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 28, 2013
Favorite dress!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding, and it was perfect. It was comfortable to wear the whole night, and looked beautiful. I can see this dress being flattering on many different body types. This was one of favorite rentals from Rent the Runway!
See more reviews:
7 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×