Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

450 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 385
Large 51
Photos 240
Claudia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 5, 2012

Loved everything about the dress from the fit, to the pockets and the adorable belt!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress and will be renting again!! Many sorority sisters asked who was the designer - I am a huge fan of Kate Spades clothing line and people were impressed I rented it from RTR!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 23, 2013

This was an awesome dress. I got so many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a Kentucky Derby themed bridal shower. This dress was a monster hit. So many people asked me where I got the dress from. It was very comfortable to wear and was perfectly acceptable for the Kentucky Derby Themed shower at a Golf Club.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Great dress, v. versatile, I received tons of compliments all evening long.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Works well for hourglass/larger chests. Paired with cherry red pumps for a classic look.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for an event in DC and absolutely loved it! Fit very true to size and was so soft/comfy - the dress did come a little wrinkled and I had to iron it beforehand. Highly recommend this!
Allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Oct 10, 2013

Very classy and comfortable dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super comfortable dress. Definitely longer than the picture shows, but that was fine with me. I'm also not exceptionally tall. I got an 8 with a 10 as back up and the 8 fit perfectly. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely wear again!
francesca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

The perfect little dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both a 2 and a 4 and the 2 was perfect! I didn't even try the 4 on. I received so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for a wedding. I loved the whole RTR experience and have told all my friends about it. I will for sure use it again. :)
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I couldnt of DREAMED of a better Kentucky Derby Dress! I rented this amazing Kate Spade dress along with the pearl necklace. It was a hit and people gawked over my entire outfit. Dress fits perfectly and is true to size. Very flattering and classy and fun!
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

I felt so chic!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments.
Lyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Black and cream... how could you go wrong!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would buy it right here, right now... but alas $$. I loved everything about this dress. It was comfortable, it was classy, and it fit perfectly. I wore it with a black sweater shrug due to weather and I still received tons of compliments. This is a rental I would do again and maybe some day... it would be mine! Sorry for bad pictures - one was end of the rehearsal dinner from below and the other was in awful light.
Michele
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Great dress! Cute and comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
When the dress arrived I was definitely glad I had paid attention to someone else's comments about dressing it up with a petticoat underneath. Made a big difference! Loved the dress. Fit great and was comfortable which is always a plus. Wore it to a gala event and felt very appropriately dressed in a formal crowd.
Marissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 19, 2013

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 was little large and my backup size was a 6, so it would have been perfect at a size 2 if you're not too big up top and by that I mean chest size. The fabric is super comfy yet it looks like a million bucks. I got so many compliments. This dress stood out among all the girls wearing super short/skin tight dresses so you know that's a statement! I loved it, thanks RTR!
Kiana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Oh HOT Glam!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a perfect red carpet dress for the Global Down Syndrome black tie event! The dress was nice and roomy and I loved how it hit right at my knees! A definite hole in one!
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Oct 20, 2013

Very fun dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit. Very flattering. Great with a pop of color in the shoes. Lighter material than expected. Dress was slightly wrinkled on arrival.
Jennine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Not just another black dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am hooked on RTR! This is my third rental. The whole process is fun. You get to window shop right in your own home. With the first rental, I was a little nervous thiinking if the dresses didn't fit than what would I do? However, most of us have one or two basic dresses in our closet that we could resort to if it turned out to be a disastor. No such thing has happened after three rentals due to the fact that there are so many great reviews that describe how the dress fits and offer little tips that provide you with enough information to help you make the right choice for your body. Most women like to wear different outfits to their events. How many of us wear the same formal dress more than 2 or 3 times? Sometimes the dresses that we do have in our closet are not appropriate for the occassion. This is my favorite thing about RTR. You can rent an affordable, well made dress that will suit the occassion because of their variety. The Whole In One Dress was just that, "a whole in one" for my wedding occasion. I ordered the 2 and 4 but ended up wearing the 4. The dress is made just a touch big. I wore a wide black belt that clasped in the front (did not come with the dress) and black pumps. It was a comfortable fit and the perfect length. The dress is full from the waist down and the adding belt helped to separate tht fullness. If you have a small waist than a petticoat may help to add fullness but I liked the fullness without the extra poof! It was a cooler night and I added a long black sweater while we were outside. Most people wear black to weddings. This Kate Spade dress was "not just another black dress" but the black and white stripe and full skirt added some fun to my attire. Had so much fun wearing this Whole in One Dress! Thanks RTR for another flawless rental!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

The team over nighted me the correct size. And it arrived just in time.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is cream not white. BUT the fit is amazing. I am a 32 h in my bra size and never order dresses that come up high. But it had plenty of room and it did not fit snug around my bust. I ordered a size up because of the bust area and when it arrived the dress was too big. The team at RTR was amazing and over nighted me the 8. I wore the dress to my bridal tea and recieved so many compliments.
Vivian
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

Such an awesome dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First dress I've rented from RTR. All pros for this dress. So lightweight and comfortable. It's a dress that can be used for many occasions. So fun and flirty! I will be renting from RTR again.
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

When my husband wanted to take me out to more than just the Christening for looking so pretty.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress in a 2 and a 4. At the last minute i was told the 2 wasn't available which wound up working out just fine and RTR gave me 2 other options of dresses similar to what i had picked out just in case the 4 had not fit! What a brilliant idea! The 4 fit beautifully, it had a little "worn" feel to it but after ironing it and giving it some TLC, it really looked beautiful on. The staff was especially helpful to me upon getting that email that the size 2 dress wasn't in stock. Very friendly. The packaging the dresses came in was very organized as well. I appreciated that it wasn't just thrown together. Returning the dress was simple and i can say that i will absolutely be ordering a dress from RTR again. You now have a customer for lifes' special occasions!
Jess
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

I was the perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner!!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress!! I was a little nervous about the size because it was my first rental. I was a little tight in the top only because of my large boobs but the rest felt great! I was also surprised because i thought that it was going to be white and black and Its actually grey and black. It still looked great with my white neckless!!I got so many complements on the and how it looked on me! I wish I could own it!
Annie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

I loved having a unique dress for the night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the dress to a cocktail party. The fit was great and the dress was so comfortable. Loved the little snaps to keep bra straps in place. Wish I could buy this dress because it's so versatile!
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Very classy and fashionable dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress on Preference Night during Sorority Recruitment. I ordered a size 2, but i probably could have worn a 0. It was not baggy but a tad long. If you are going for a very classy and conservative look, this is the dress for you. It hit me right above the knee. I paired it with 5 inch black pumps so I think the two balanced out very nicely. Also, i recommend using a pop of colors with your accessories. Overall, very satisfied with Rent the Runway. Cant wait to order again!
Karina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Nov 15, 2013

Gorgeous dress and very elegant.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! Since I am an 8, I ordered this in size 8 and 10 as my back up dress. The size 8 did not get returned in time so the RTR could not send that to me. (BTW, they were very helpful trying to find another dress for me). RTR sent the size 10 and it fit just perfect, especially for my body type since I am a 34D and have wide shoulders. The only issue I had with this dress is that it made my butt look big when I either bent over or moved to much. Trust me, I have some other issues but big butt is not one of them. I wore this dress anyway and made sure to walk and stand as straight as possible. Since the event was not a dancing one, it worked out just fine.
Cher
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

This dress was adorable, I got tons of compliments!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It wasn't the material I expected it to be. It wrinkles easily and the bottom of the dress didn't poof out as much as I expected so I bought a petticoat to go underneath it. Other than that it fit perfectly and was super cute!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

Summer Sophistication!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for my summer semi-formal affair. It's sleeveless, but the fabric is heavy and abundant, which I liked. If you are a "elegance through "abundanc-y" type of lady, this is for you ;)
Kristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Perfect dress for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely beautiful and I chose it because of all the great reviews. This was my first time using RTR and I overall had a great experience. The dress fit true to size and was long enough for my height. I wore it to a co-worker's wedding so I wanted a more conservative look and this dress was perfect. It was very comfortable and I got compliments all night. The return process was painless and easy. I'll definitely be renting the runway again!
Belle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So classic and elegant I received tons of compliments on the dress at my friend's wedding. I will definitely be renting this dress again! Wish I could buy it :(
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Dec 17, 2013

Great experience! Amazing Customer Service! Will Rent Again!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress!! I rented it for part of my engagement shoot! The only downsize is for me that any dress that can fit my bottom is too loose on the top. The length was perfect. I added an undershirt because I don't wear sleeveless clothing. The fabric was very thick and soft. I loved this dress so much I tried to get my fiance to find and purchase one for me. But these are no longer sold in retail. Wish I could own this dress!
Dalya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Very classy dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress has a very classy look to it. I felt like the chest was stretched out a bit or maybe the top of the dress is made for someone more busty than myself. The skirt is very flattering to someone with wider hips but I did feel like it was a bit too big and wide. I would have preferred a slightly smaller flare on the skirt.I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable, classy, elegant and beautiful. I really enjoyed the simple lines on the dress. I gave this dress 4 stars only because I felt like the top of the dress would have been better if it had been smaller. It wasn't large enough that anyone else noticed though. All in all, it was a beautiful and elegant dress!
Kim
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jan 28, 2014

This was my first RTR experience and I will do it again.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a black tie optional affair. The fit was good, but I am between sizes right now, so I probably could have worn a 10. I was worried the dress was too casual, but once I paired it with a black shrug sweater, it was fine. This is an easy dress to dress up or dress down. It was very comfortable.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

The dress was super cute and I wore it with red heels.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cons: Size 2 (which I wore) seemed very worn. The bra strap concealer was broken so I wore stickies. The black is pretty faded. Don't rent if you want a popping black. It's a faded cotton black. Pros: Loved the fit, the flare. Was comfy and length was good even though I'm taller.
Kai
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

The dress was stunning, and it photographed well! Very comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for prom, and i was surprised to find that the dress ran a bit large. I wish I had ordered a size down for my backup size, but the size 2 looked wonderful on me, despite feeling a bit roomy. The dress also felt a tad long, but that is more because I am so short. The fabric was much more comfortable and soft to the touch than i imagined, which was a pleasant surprise! I got plenty of compliments on the dress, and I loved my experience with RTR! I would highly recommend this dress, though I would suggest ordering down for your backup size.
DKDC
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Great fit, super cute, appropriate for all types of events!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a huge hit! It was my first RTR experience and it went better than I could've hoped for! The dress was super comfy, a perfect length (hard to find for a tall girl like me at 5'-9"!) and a fun way to mix it up from my usual black dress wardrobe.
WakaLaka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Bridal Shower

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful. It arrived on time. I wore a size 2 because I was in a rush and I just put on the first dress I grabbed. My dress was winkled (and as I mentioned I was in a rush) so I didn't have time to iron it. There was a small ink stain on the bottom- not very noticeable. I thought this dress was a bit overpriced for the fabric and design.
Amiris
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

It was the perfect outfit for my bridal shower.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Everything about the dress was perfect!
MK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

I wore this dress to a friends wedding over Christmas.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was really pretty but I didn't love the fit. I think it would have been better suited for someone taller than me.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Perfect dress for my wedding shower!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
So this was my first time renting from RTR. I ordered a size 2 and a 4. Unfortunately, the size 4 was damaged so they couldn't send it to me. They sent me another style from my favorites and the size 2. Luckily, the skirt of the dress is flared, so the size 2 worked for me. I will say that the material is very crushable, so I had to have my fiancé run to the cleaners the day of the shower to get it steamed. If you are able to put on the dress just before your event (i.e. after a car ride), I would highly recommend it. Otherwise, it was a great dress and I got SO many compliments. Plus it looked really cute while we were opening our shower gifts.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Classic, stunning dress! I wore this for my engagement photos!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented a 4 and really needed a 2 but it wasn't available. It was a bit big but still fit. I had to iron the pleats on the skirt to make it appear like it does in the picture above. Otherwise, classic, pretty, great dress!
lmarks617
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Loved renting a dress- it was my first time and it was so fun to have something new to wear!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was beautiful, simple and classy. I wore a giant fancy necklace to dress it up. The material was much more informal than i thought it would be, and it needed steaming when I received it.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 17, 2014

Flirty and fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it fit perfectly and added just the right amount of flare. Wish I owned it!
Darcy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Beautiful wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fun, classy dress, easy to accessorize against.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

very comfortable, received lots of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fit well, loved it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×