Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
456 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size389
Small14
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2013
My first RTR dress
SO COMFORTABLE. Got tons of compliments. My only problem with the dress was that it arrived extremely wrinkled and almost dirty looking. The white is definitely more of a beige than anything..I had to have to dress steamed before the wedding because I didn't have any other options. However, the dress was awesome and I was sad to return it. I would rent it again as long as I were to get a different dress from the one I got.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
July 3, 2013
This dress is FAB!
Tons of compliments! This worked great for my Knot Summer Cocktail party!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
July 3, 2013
LOVE this dress. Too big :(
This dress is totally classy. Unfortunately the 0 was huge on me. Wish I could have wore it. RTR gave me a credit to rent my next dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 2, 2013
Made my date 10x more elegant!
I went to a local restaurant with my boyfriend. I wanted a dress that looked nice enough to be formal but also was fun and flirty. This dress fit all my needs! The fit was beautiful and really flattered my figure. The color is more cream than white but I knew that from reading the other reviews. I loved this dress so much I wanted to buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2013
na
na
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 1, 2013
Fun little dress for an afternoon Summer wedding.
White stripe is definitely cream at best. No belt I closed which I thought came with it, but I didn't need it anyway. Top was stretchy and bottom was heavy, but laid beautifully looking crisp throughout the evening. I ordered 2 sizes and fit in both. So not much difference in top at least. Very comfortable all evening. I will do this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
June 26, 2013
Loved the style and fit, but needs to be retired (this specific dress)
Love the style and fit. The dress itself was really faded though and did not look as high end because of it. I still wore the dress to a formal event, but was not as floored as I was hoping. Might be time to retire this particular size 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2013
Classic and chic Kate Spade dress
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding/reception and it was perfect! I received many compliments on the dress and it's a very light weight fabric perfect for being outdoors. I would highly reccomend this dress for anyone who is tall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2013
Classic look, perfect for a summer formal affair!
This dress fit true to size and even had a bit of extra room, so I would have been able to size down in a pinch. I wore it to a formal event at a country club, so I paired it with my grandmother's pearls and a pair of red heels and it was perfect! The skirt arrived a little wrinkled, but that is unavoidable due to all the fabric. My steamer took the wrinkles right out. I was expecting the top to be more of a rounded neck, but the straps were wider on me and sat a little more boat neck and didn't lay totally flat, so i couldn't wear a regular bra even with the straps buttoned into the inside. The overall shape was lovely though and made me feel like I have a waistline. This was my first RTR experience and now I'm hooked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 23, 2013
Gorgeous summer wedding with great friends!
Great first experience with RTR! The dresses arrived on time and in good condition and I loved having the 2 sizes to try one. Got so many compliments on the dress and was happy to share that it was a RTR dress. It was my first, but definitely won't be my last time renting!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 22, 2013
Classy, yet fun!
The dress fit beautifully and gave me that elegant feeling without being over-the-top. Received a lot of compliments at the wedding I attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 21, 2013
It was the big day for me at work and I LOVED this dress!
This dress is gorgeous! I just bought it in navy at a big kate spade sale because I loved it so much! They did forget the belt so I improvised but I felt gorgeous and received compliments all day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 20, 2013
Work Worthy!
I wore this to a work fundraiser and got so many compliments. It was the perfect Spring dress--cute but not too sexy. I felt very comfortable all night. I wore a belt with this dress to add a little more detail. Overall it fit slightly big on me--my mom tried it on the next day and it actually fit her better!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2013
Washed out
The dress is very adorable but i expected the colors to be more bold. It has been worn many times and the color has faded. Unfortunately, I ended up returning this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
June 18, 2013
Didnt really like the fit but the back of it was super cute!
I loved the back of this dress but the fit was a little off! I wore it for my sons baptism and I was less than thrilled with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 17, 2013
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a friends wedding.
I loved the way I looked. The dress fit perfectly and I got compliments all night, it was a little big in the bust, but nothing a padded bra couldn't fix. Other than that the length was great and appropriate for the event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2013
Perfect Wedding Guest Dress!
I've loved this Kate Spade since i saw it on Pinterest MONTHS ago, and was thrilled to be able to rent it for this beautiful occassion! I got nothing but compliments all night- easy to accessorize or wear alone! PERFECT DRESS!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2013
Awesome dress for a wedding.
This dress is so flattering. The skirt was so much fun to dance in. The fabric was light and easy to move it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 14, 2013
Fun dress for wedding!
I liked this dress and got lots of compliments on it. It does run a little small on top, so I had to go with the bigger size. Even that was a little tight. Love the Kate Spade dresses!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 13, 2013
Wore this for a 1950's themed birthday party. It helped me channel my inner Holly Golightly!
Fit true to size. Not much stretch in the bust. The length was perfect! I have really long legs (37 in inseam) and dresses tend to look very short on me. This truly was tea length and perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
Such a classic dress! Perfect for any occasion!!
Fits on the larger side so try going down a size. But worth every penny!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2013
I wore red pumps with this dress. LOVED the pop or color!
The fit was great! It came a little off the shoulders, so make sure that you have the right kind of bra. Perfect length and it gave me a 50's modern classy vibe. I did not want to send this back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 9, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it's the perfect classic look.
The cut of this dress is very flattering and it is true to size. My only complaint is the fabric. It is not as high quality as I had hoped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2013
Classic, chic dress!
I wore this for my brother's wedding and loved it! I'm a 32B with a 27" waist, and the 2 fit fine. I paired it with a thin black belt, black velvet pumps, a pearl necklace, and a pearl bracelet. It was good for a more formal, but outdoor wedding in the summer on the beach (it isn't lined, which probably makes it a little cooler!) The dress I got was starting to fade a little - RTR needs to put out a new batch!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 7, 2013
Fun dress but looks a bit different in person.
I rented this dress in a size 0 and size 2 for my Black and White rehearsal dinner party. Unfortunately, when it arrived, it was black and beige. Also, it was not a poufy on the bottom as it looks in the photo. I thought it looked more casual than what I wanted so I added a petticoat under it and black tights. I liked the look but I didn't love it. I did get compliments on it though. It is a nice dress for a less formal event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 7, 2013
It made me feel like Zooey!
Knowing I had picked a dress that Zooey Deschanel has worn before, I knew I was in good hands. A really flattering shape and a bold, but not silly, striped skirt was perfect for an awards ceremony with my husband. I was hoping it was a little bit longer on me than the photo shows it, but it was definitely just above my knee. Crazy cute and true to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 4, 2013
Beautiful and classy!
I loved this dress! It fit perfect, wasn't too short, didn't make me look chesty and was an extremely comfortable material. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
June 4, 2013
Rented the Hole in One Dress for my wedding rehearsal.
Perfect dress for the perfect occasion, my wedding rehearsal dinner! The dress was amazing and fit true to size. I received so many compliments about the dress, I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Classic and timeless
This dress is very classic. Very Jackie O. I loved the way that it fit and flared a the bottom. I received a tonne of compliments all afternoon at the event. Can't go wrong with this dress, although I must say it was a little bit longer than expected, but that may be my fault as I tend for forget that the models on here are 5' 10".
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2013
Flirty, Retro, Fun
This dress was perfect for a classy look at an evening wedding. I received so many compliments and was thrilled that I was able to size down into the 8. The color in the skirt is an off white cream and the material is very comfortable. This is a great dress for girls with a larger bust and it really accentuated my short waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 2, 2013
Flattering but worn
This dress was like an old favorite in my closet. I agree with previous reviewers who stated that it should be retired. The dress is in good condition but it looks like I've worn it several times before. The fit and quality is nice, but I chose to wear the other dress I rented to the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
This dress is so much fun!
Wore this for my engagement photos and LOVED it! Paired it with the Kate Spade "Hepburn" necklace which I also LOVED! Great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 29, 2013
Perfect Fitting Dress
This dress was perfect for the formal event I attended. It was also very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2013
Perfect!
I wore this dress to my cousin's wedding and am in love with it! I felt absolutely wonderful in it and everyone complimented me on it. People kept asking where I got it from and I was more than happy to tell them about Rent the Runway. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 23, 2013
This was an awesome dress. I got so many compliments
I rented this dress for a Kentucky Derby themed bridal shower. This dress was a monster hit. So many people asked me where I got the dress from. It was very comfortable to wear and was perfectly acceptable for the Kentucky Derby Themed shower at a Golf Club.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2013
I didn't wear it out to the party because I got two to try on, but loved it!
Fit very well... a little big in the bust area, but that's just my body type.
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2013
Rented this for a polo match and it worked perfectly!
Overall the dress was perfect! I ordered both the 2 and the 00, but ended up using the 00 due to the sizing running a little large. The lighter stripe is more of a cream than a white if you are choosing accessories. Great option to be more casual or dressy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2013
I LOVED this dress.
My husband liked this dress so much, he suggested that I try to buy it. The fit was perfect and flattering, and the style was exactly what I wanted for a formal, Parisian-themed Valentine's Day party at a winery in Napa. One woman at the party told me that my dress was "perfection." Doesn't get better than that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 20, 2013
Great fit, great look.
I rented a size 4 and had a size 6 as a back up since I had not worn the Kate Spade brand before. The size 4 was perfect for my 5'5, 127 lb frame. I really should have found a thin belt to wear with this dress. It would have looked so much better. Although it didn't seem so in person, in photos I looked a little thick in the middle. A belt would have helped. I accessorized with the Kate Spade Cobblestone Bib Necklace, a bright cardigan and bright colored pumps. One of the lingerie straps was missing from the dress and the hook and eye closure under my arm was bent and really killed by the end of the night.. Overall, a great dress. I received a lot of compliments and actually want to purchase this dress from Kate Spade.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2013
Pretty, but underwhelming
I thought the dress was pretty, but underwhelming. I had to jazz it up by wearing a black skinny waist belt and a multiple strand pearl necklace. Also, I thought the white on the black and white striped skirt looked more yellowish-beige than white. The skirt texture was also much "softer" than the picture makes it look, so the skirt actually got a little crinkly as the evening wore on. I give it 3 stars for RTR's delivery policy and the fit was perfect.
See more reviews:
5 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×