kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

449 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 384
Large 51
Photos 240
et
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

beautiful dress, so fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress is very pretty, the belt is great and would love to own this one! very easy process - both dresses arrived, so simple to return with the pre-paid return envelope.
Cecile
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Loved it! This dress was classy and comfortable for a fall New England wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The previous comments were right. The top was slightly big around the shoulders, I'm glad I got the size smaller. Rent the Runway was fabulous to deal with. There was an issue with UPS and Rent the Runway customer service took care of it for me and Rent the Runway even called me back after it was settled to make sure things were okay. It was a very flattering dress!
kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Great Cocktail Party Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fit very well, true to size and looked exactly as photo describes.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 28, 2012

I received many compliments, my favorite so far

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore dress to a baptism, it was very comfortable. Material had a lot of stretch to it, I wore the 14, it was very roomy on top- I should've worn the 12, but didn't want to take a chance of it being too tight. Skirt is very flowy, will hide any trouble areas. Loved the style, simple and chic. This is my second dress I rent from RTR, this month. Looking forward to renting again.
amariecal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

It was fun turning heads on the Santa Monica Pier. I felt like a celebrity for a day!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally wanted to wear this dress to another semi-formal event I had that weekend, but ended up wearing my backup dress (the Kate Spade Mademoiselle dress) to the event. However, I loved this dress so much that I ended up just wearing it sightseeing around Los Angeles. I liked the simple elegance of the dress: classy and conservative. The length was perfect. The white is actually more off-white in person, so take note of that if you're looking for a pure black-and-white dress. The patent belt was a nice touch, and was easily adjustable (which was convenient, especially after eating Sunday brunch). I'd definitely recommend this dress to a friend!
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

The little belt absolutely made this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am a 32D and I went braless with this. It was so comfy though! The weather was unexpectedly in the 30's, but I threw on a blazer and it worked perfectly. I received tons of compliments.
Sarai
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

I was very pleased with the whole RTR experience. Despite Hurricane Sandy, my dress arrived on time.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was just a little tight through the chest and rib cage (but I have a large rib cage for my size), but would have been too big if I had worn the next size up. I love the length, because I'm 5'11" it's hard to find dresses that are long enough, but this dress was PERFECT! I loved this dress!!!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Great dress when you want to be appropriate

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a Rehearsal Dinner and felt so comfortable. Flattering and current without over doing it. This was also great for a sit down event, I wasn't pulling at my dress to cover my legs. Material wasn't as thick as I expected, more a sateen cotton finish but looked great in pictures. Not a lot of size difference in 4-6.
Krista
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Perfect for my afternoon rehearsal!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful. I got tons of compliments on it throughout the day! It's also very comfortable. I wore it to lunch, our afternoon rehearsal, and a manicure. It's very cute without being too over the top. Easy to dress it up or down!
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Wow. Just fantastic. Looked great/felt great. So flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress would look great and many body types. I had RTR throw in an accessory and I got fantastic earring. Can't say enough good things...
Becky
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments all night long on this dress. It was a great fit, very flattering. I was worried about the length and that it would hit awkwardly since I am shorter, but it was actually just above the knee and the perfect length for elegant and fun! I would recommend this dress to everyone! I absolutely loved it!
Ann Marie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my bridal shower luncheon and it was the perfect style I was looking to have! I received a ton of compliments on the dress! The fit was very flattering and ran true to size. The belt was missing with my order but I had another skinny black belt on hand to take its place.
Julz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 13, 2012

"You look like Jackie O"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a friend's engagement party and it was a few days before my birthday so I also had some kate spade accessories that were gifts which I added as accessories. The dress fit well and the belt was a great touch. I wore black tights and heels as it was November but it could be worn without in a warmer month! Love everything except wish it had pockets!!
Gabrielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

The best!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress for a fall wedding! Wore it with a chunky KS necklace and black pumps and loved every second of it. Very comfortable and easy to dance in. Runs like most KS dresses - a little big, so order a size down for your backup.
Julia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2012

I felt gorgeous and totally feminine in this dress. It was perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the full skirt of this dress, and the length was perfect. I paired it with the kate spade new york gold bright spot necklace.
sarryj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

A truly beautiful and classy dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love love loved this dress. Just a few minor details: the dress is true to size but if you are a little bigger up top, like I am, you might want to size up. I wore the 2 and it JUST fit - if it was any tighter it would have been too small. It was truly gorgeous and is a dress that can either be dressed up or down. Thank you so much RTR! I got lots of compliments and felt fantastic in it. My husband absolutely loved it. They sent me the wrong belt (for size 10) but luckily I had a back up dress so I just wore the belt for the other dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 29, 2012

"Of course you'd be wearing Kate Spade!" from a childhood friend I hadn't seen in ages.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 4 fit very well - almost perfect - I could have used a little less fabric in the bodice, but I'm used to that. The fabric was amazing, very rich looking. I felt so glamorous even though it was a day wedding! I paired with my own belt because my shoes were gold and black suede and matched better than the little leather bow belt the dress came with (which was very cute - I just didn't have shoes that matched). I got so many compliments and per usual, did not want to return this dress on Monday...
Taj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

An all-occasion dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a conference during the day and a cocktail party at night. Basically just went from tights to hose. After seeing all the reviews from other RTR members, it was clear that this dress works for pretty much any body type. I received many compliments. The zero was just right. The giant stripes and the touch of poof in the skirt made this such a fun dress. I'd recommend it for everyone.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 3, 2012

Perfect for a Mad Men party-loved the stripe detail. Many compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the fit, length, etc. I was hoping the fabric would have been a bit more stiff to let the skirt flare out a bit more but I ironed with with a bit of starch and it worked out nicely! Many thanks RTR!
Kathryn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

I was so busy dancing the night away I barely take any pictures! Love RTR, love the dress, AMAZING!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. It was comfortable, beautifully made and really fun to wear. The skirt had a really nice fullness to it that made it fun to dance in! I ordered the 2 and the 4 as the extra size, glad I did! The 2 was really tight in the chest (I am a bit busty for my size) but fit really nicely everywhere else. The 2 fit but the 4 looked and felt so much better. I received tons of compliments on the dress, it was perfect for the first holiday party of the season! I dressed it up with sparkly long necklace I have on hand from JCrew. You can definitely dress it up or down with accessories.
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Great fit, classy dress, but women with big hips beware.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress did get lots of compliments, but I didn't feel comfortable. The flowing shirt in theory is great to hide big hips, but the stripes only accentuate hips more. The size ran true to size and the little belt that came with it was very cute. Soft material with a little bit of stretch, easy to zip by self (underarm). can wear a regular bra which is a plus, but the stripes really made my butt look a lot bigger than it is.
Renee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

As soon as I took off my coat, a friend said, "I love your dress! Where did you get it?!?!"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fir perfectly; it was very comfortable and made me feel fabulous! Plus, if you like to dance, the skirt has a great twirl...
Tori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Everyone loved the dress, I felt so comfortable and classy at the same time. Thanks RTR!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size, and I loved that I could wear my normal bra with it. Very comfortable. My backup size was the 6, and that fit, but was a little tight around the belt when I sat so I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I'm still loosing baby weight so I loved that this dress hides your tummy. I would love to rent this dress again, it was a hit.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Compliments: jackie O

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric wrinkles so def STEAM THIS DRESS! fit greats bows a little wonkey but you could add any quite bow and it would be great.
TIK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Loved this Kate Spade dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very becoming and would be to any body type. I got tons of compliments on how great I looked. The top is slightly stretchy so it forms well. The skirt part of the dress does wrinkle easy but not enough for anyone to notice. I'm so happy with my first Rent the Runway experience; I will be back!!!
Shalini
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Fun & Flirty

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Really cute overall, fun and flirty to dance in. The dress itself fit wonderfully, but I'm a bit short so the dress ran long on me. The short skirt became more of a tea length with my height. But still, it was very cute and I received many compliments!
brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Dec 19, 2012

fabulous

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
loved this dress
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 25, 2012

Everyone who has seen my engagement photos remarks on this stunning dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress gets a 10 in every category!
Racine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 2, 2013

Fun & Classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size 4 but in this dress it ran a tad big, so a size 2 was perfect! It's a flattering shaped dress, comfortable and simple. I paired it with a big statement necklace (not pictured) which gave it an added glamor look.
DJS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Dose not photograph well but great in person

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is perfect for a Hamptons or NYC charity event , dinner or lunch-in. Unfortunately unless you 90lbs it does not photograph well, but it was fabulous in person.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

It was great, I got a lot of compliments!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ABSOLUTELY loved it! I felt sophisticated yet comfortable, and it fit perfectly. thanks RTR:)
Patricia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

N/A

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented the dress as a second option for my party, the dress is gorgeous, classic, and fits good. The only problem is i am not going to be able to ware it because it has light dark spots under waist line. Probably the previous renter spilled red wine on the dress and you guys were not able to remove it. My party is today and i will wear my first dress. Thank you
Fabe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 21, 2013

I LOVED this dress, and the best part was its so easy to dress up or down!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit perfectly and was exceptionally comfortable! I was sitting in on presentations/seminars all day and with the perfect length it gave me no problems. The top is nicely fitted so it makes your waste feel much smaller, especially with the belt.
sandra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 21, 2013

I felt so special in this dress. It was a knock out.....Thanks RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the little patent leather belt.,,,this add the extra touch to the dress.... Paired it with patent leather pumps and a great necklace.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

I walked out and my fiancé said, "can you buy that" - enough said.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great for girls with a full bust. The cream color is a little darker than what I was expecting, but this dress is great for really ANY occasion. So sorry to see it go.
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 28, 2013

I wore this Kate Spade number to a ball for my husband's company, overall, it was the perfect pick!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only thing you should be mindful of is that the material is practically cotton, not a nylon/satin fabric, and I knew that when I rented it, but still thought the material would have a bit more sheen. That said, it's not SUPER dressy, so, if you have a very formal affair, this isn't the dress for you. However, a wedding, cocktail party, work event, etc...it'll do. Runs true to size, may actually run a little big. I'm typically an 8-ish, and I wore a 6, comfortable. Length is slightly above knee, wouldn't consider this "mini" at all.
H
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Super cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is such a classic dress and very comfortable. I loved the fit. My boyfriend loved it as well. Sad I had to return it. I would definitely rent again.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

One of a kind look!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The minute I walked in the room, everyone made a comment about how beautiful my dress was. My husband and I were judges for Miss Vermont USA and I wanted a dress that was going to command attention. It definitely did!!! The top has just the right amount of stretch to it and the fabric is amazing. And I was nervous because I am a 36D. It comes with a thin belt, which was lovely, but I chose to wear my own. I am waiting for another opportunity to wear this dress. LOVED it!!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

Got compliments, but have an iron handy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 10 and the 12; the 12 was gigantic- a previous renter must have stretched it a bit. The 10 was a bit snug in the bust. The armholes were also cut a bit small; after a night of dancing I had rope burn-like marks by my armpits. The material is also a bit more "cottoney" and had less sheen than I thought it would. This also meant it arrived a bit wrinkled and needed touching up before the wedding. But, even with all those issues, it was a head turner for it's stunning simplicity.
Ursula
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

I love this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a day wedding. It was perfect! Comfortable, easy and cute.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×