Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
457 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(389)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2013
Great fit, but didn't wear.
I was very excited to wear this dress for a work Christmas party, but when it arrived the 2 had a stain on it and the 4 was too big to wear. The stain was near the zipper on the cream part of the dress, so to me it was obvious and I felt like I didn't want to wear something that I knew was flawed. RTR was quick to assist though, which was awesome. I returned the dress and they refunded me the total for my order within days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2013
Very flattering!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower, and the dress fit perfectly! It was girly and sophisticated at the same time. The material was thicker than I expected, which was a good thing.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2013
A lovely dress with a classic feel.
First off: the dress wasn't quite as formal as I expected from the photos. The skirt portion of the dress is more cottony than I expected, but I would easily have found that out if I had looked into the dress's details before ordering it. Also, the stripes are black and more of a linen, off-white color; they are not white. That said, the dress fit well in the smaller size I ordered and the top definitely had some stretch to it, so I think it would be flattering on many body types. I have am pretty curvy and I found it to be pretty flattering. As other reviewers noted, steaming is a good option before wearing as it may come a little wrinkly due to the nature of the fabric. I think it would be perfect to wear to an evening summer wedding or party, but is on the more casual side of cocktail in my opinion. An easy dress to accessorize!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
Beautiful Sun dress
This dress is beautiful, but the material of the dress is more casual. I did not wear this dress to the event. This dress w ould be better suited for a shower or formal Sunday brunch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
So classy!
I received so many compliments throughout the night from perfect strangers. It was a beautiful dress and I felt like Audrey Hepburn!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2013
N/A
I rented the dress as a second option for my party, the dress is gorgeous, classic, and fits good. The only problem is i am not going to be able to ware it because it has light dark spots under waist line. Probably the previous renter spilled red wine on the dress and you guys were not able to remove it. My party is today and i will wear my first dress. Thank you
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
January 21, 2013
Beautiful dress. I received many compliments. Elegantly understated.
This dress is really gorgeous. It is subtle and understated but with some red lipstick helps you garner some killer attitude. The picture has a cute belt on it, but unfortunately, it was tucked in the return envelope so i ended up wearing my own. I would not wear this to a formal event, but for something semi formal it is great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 25, 2013
Dinner with BF's parent's, perfect dress!
Runs large. I wasn't swimming in the dress but it felt large on me. No need to worry about whether it will fit the butt area does not matter with this dress since it flares out around from the waist area down. Just make sure that the dress size will fit your chest area. I normally wear a size 2-4, wore a Kate Spade size 2, and the additional size I got, size 4 in Kate Spade, was just ridiculously large. I was meeting BF's parents for the first time, so had to be a little conservative, and with the knee-length of this dress, it was perfect! Fun, cute, yet conservative. BF's parents later told him I looked beautiful. I usually like hugging dresses that flatter the figure but this Kate Spade was not "pudgy" at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2013
I walked out and my fiancé said, "can you buy that" - enough said.
Great for girls with a full bust. The cream color is a little darker than what I was expecting, but this dress is great for really ANY occasion. So sorry to see it go.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
I wore this Kate Spade number to a ball for my husband's company, overall, it was the perfect pick!
The only thing you should be mindful of is that the material is practically cotton, not a nylon/satin fabric, and I knew that when I rented it, but still thought the material would have a bit more sheen. That said, it's not SUPER dressy, so, if you have a very formal affair, this isn't the dress for you. However, a wedding, cocktail party, work event, etc...it'll do. Runs true to size, may actually run a little big. I'm typically an 8-ish, and I wore a 6, comfortable. Length is slightly above knee, wouldn't consider this "mini" at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
Super cute!
It is such a classic dress and very comfortable. I loved the fit. My boyfriend loved it as well. Sad I had to return it. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
Great fit, tons of compliments!
If you are a pear shape, RENT THIS DRESS. It fits like a glove in all of the right places and is beyond comfortable and great for dancing. I am tall and this was still to the knee, hard to find!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2013
One of a kind look!
The minute I walked in the room, everyone made a comment about how beautiful my dress was. My husband and I were judges for Miss Vermont USA and I wanted a dress that was going to command attention. It definitely did!!! The top has just the right amount of stretch to it and the fabric is amazing. And I was nervous because I am a 36D. It comes with a thin belt, which was lovely, but I chose to wear my own. I am waiting for another opportunity to wear this dress. LOVED it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 3, 2013
Fit perfectly and really made a statement! I wore with black wedges and it looked great!
Perfect for pear shaped bodies. Looks great if you are small waisted. True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2013
Everyone called me Barbie!!!
Fit was true to size. It was very comfortable and I moved effortlessly in it. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2013
I love this dress! I got a ton of compliments on it.
I wore this to a day wedding. It was perfect! Comfortable, easy and cute.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect Dress for Bridal Shower.
True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 12, 2013
Super flattering and versatile.
This dress fit like a glove and was super flattering. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner with tights. You can totally dress up with statement jewelry or dress down for a day event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 12, 2013
I was sitting in my car with a coat on over this dress and still received a compliment!
I absolutely love this classic look and so did many other people. I felt stunning in this dress because of the slew of compliments that it provoked. I am between a 6 and 8 so I ordered both. Both fit well but the 8 was a bit loose in the top, I do not have the biggest chest area; however this is did compliment the girls too. This was perfect for my sister's bridal shower which I was hosting. I definately recommend this dress; plus its really fun to twirl in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2013
Cute in theory - but I didn't wear it
I got this dress for an industry luncheon. I didn't end up wearing it. The skirt flares out a lot - which was not very flattering. It might be because I am super tall - the waist hit as an empire waist on me- which is wider than my true waist. I wanted it to be great, but the pleats in the skirt were just too stiff and flared.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 13, 2013
it made me look amazing!
i absolutely loved this dress. it was so pretty, girly, and fun to wear. I wore it during the day before a wedding. It was so perfect and fit true to size. I can't say enough good things about it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
February 19, 2013
Amazing dress that made me feel FABulous!
I absolutely loved this dress. The cotton was so soft. It fit like a glove and could be worn with my regular bra. Two random women on the street stopped me to say how much they adored my dress!! It was the perfect length and flare – definitely a good dress to dance and twirl in. I wore it with black tights and ankle boots. Perfect. Pair it with a chunky necklace and a bright colored purse and voila!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 20, 2013
Classic and chic style
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! It was very comfortable and flattering. I also liked the classic style, it was very appropriate for the event. The only thing I would suggest is leaving an extra day to have it steamed before wearing it. It was a bit wrinkled when I received it because of the cotton fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 20, 2013
So cute for my bridesmaid luncheon!
This dress is so cute for a day party/ luncheon! I wore this along with some the Kate Spade Bryce Bauble Necklace (via "mystery bling", always my favorite accessories option) to a bridesmaid luncheon. Both the 4 and 6 fit great. I think the top runs a bit large, and the bottom is pretty forgiving, so definitely order down for a backup size. Thank you RTR for making my pre-wedding events outfits so much better!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2013
Close, but no cigar.
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress. They didn't have my size so I ordered the smaller size hoping it would fit, but it didn't. It was really nice, soft fabric and the style is cute online and cuter in person. I will definitely try renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
February 26, 2013
Loved this dress!! Many Compliments!!! Would rent again!
The lighter colored stripes are more light taupe than white as they appear in the website model picture. I easily could have worn the sz 8, except I am quite busty (36 DD) and the top is not as forgiving as the bottom. Very comfortable and easy to dance in too!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2013
Excellent service, easy process. Great for special occasions!
Fit was true to size, very comfortable, VERY flattering. I got so many compliments on this dress! I wore my hair in a top knot and bright pink lips, which complimented the look well. I strongly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 3, 2013
This is a really fun dress to wear!
I rented this dress for a wedding, along with a RJ Graziano Dress Me Up Necklace. I recieved so many compliments and loved telling people it was a Kate Spade! Very fun dress to wear and I felt great in it. They were out of my back up size 8 at that time, but the 6 fit perfectly, so it didn't matter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
March 10, 2013
Loved the dress & hated to return it. The fit was perfect & the look was very elegant.
True to size but the belt was not sent with the dress. Luckily I had the perfect black sweater to pair with the outfit so one would never know a piece was missing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 11, 2013
Classy & Adorable!
I rented this dress for my brunch bridal shower that had a "breakfast at tiffany's" theme. This is a classy and adorable dress that worked great for the type of event. The fit is great and very flattering, the bow belt included adds a nice touch. I rented my size & a size up for backup, but I wish I would've went a size down for the backup since it runs true to size, but slightly loose. I was very comfortable the whole time and the length was great for sitting and having everyone watching me open presents. I am 5'6 and the hem hit right at my knees. There a couple of cute details to this dress you can't see, such as the lace interior hemline. Also, the straps had small clasps to snap your bra into place so no straps could come sneaking out. Overall, a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2013
Cute & classy stand-out. True to size.
I was surprised that the dress is light-weight cotton. Somehow I missed that in the description. However, I did think the dress was adorable on, and looked great with black tights. I think you can easily acessorize this for a day event, as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2013
Great, comfortable dress! Couldn't resist the photo op on the fainting couch. :)
This is a great dress - the fit is classic and flattering. The cotton fabric could be a bit casual, but it is easily dressed up with shoes, jewelry, etc. Received lots of compliments and was comfortable all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
March 13, 2013
This dress is incredibly comfortable and looks adorable on!
The material is a bit duller in tone than I thought it was going to be - definitely more of a matte finish than it looks in the photos. Regardless, it is an incredible comfortable party dress - fitted, but with plenty of stretch so it looks form fitting, without being too tight. Absolutely would rent this again for a party or wedding!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2013
Perfect for the occassion!
I wore this dress for my 1960's cocktail party themed 30th birthday. I am very curvy on top and bottom with a relatively small waist, so I loved the flowy skirt. I got a lot of compliments on this dress and it was very flattering for my hourglass figure. I am 5'0 and the dress came down below my knee to mid calf...I wasn't too bothered by that however since I loved how flattering it was everywhere else. Also, I was disappointed that the cute belt wasn't included with the dress...then after the event while packing it up, I realized it was in fact rolled up and in a small plastic bag that I just didn't see....so make sure to look for it!
MelissaJuly 24, 2013
so cute & love the retro makeup & hair =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 23, 2012
Great Cocktail Party Dress
This dress fit very well, true to size and looked exactly as photo describes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 25, 2012
Everyone who has seen my engagement photos remarks on this stunning dress!
This dress gets a 10 in every category!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 16, 2013
Love, love, love this dress!!! It fits perfectly in all the right places.
Loved the fit and look of this dress. I received compliments all night long. Rented this for a family rehearsal dinner and felt like a million bucks. My hubby couldn't keep his hands off me. :) I was concerned after reading the reviews that the dress would be too large in the bust area but it fit perfectly. I would love to own this dress!! The material was lovely and so comfy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
March 16, 2013
Fit perfectly and loved all the complements!
I loved this dress! I wore it to work in a professional setting, which was good but I recommend it more for a sundress day in Central Park. The fit was perfect and the material is extremely comfortable. The structure is very fitted at the waist and above sections, so make sure to order your sizes based on that. The bottom was so flowy that I felt like doing the flamenco all day! I hope everyone's experience with this dress is as great as mine was!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2013
My favorite RTR dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding and it could not have been more perfect. The fit was fantastic, it really makes your waist look great - It's classy but fun and very easy to dance in. Everyone kept asking me where I got it and I proudly said "I rented it!"
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2013
My sister-in-law loved it so much she bought it after!
Rented for a wedding shower. Adorable, feminine, and preppy, exactly what I think about when I think Kate Spade!
See more reviews:
4 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×