You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Hole in One Dress
Rental $75 Retail $398
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.
Chat with a Stylist
Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos232

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Oct 15, 2012
Wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was comfortable and the belt with the little bow on the front was very cute. There was a little iron burn on the front when I received it. I called only to make sure that I would not be charged for it and RTR refunded me 50% which I did not expect them to do. I would rent again.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Oct 15, 2012
Wore for an October wedding. Absolutely loved this dress and will be renting it again, for sure!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 2 and 4. I tried the 4 on first and the bust fit perfectly, but the waist and length just felt a little too big. The 2 fit great around the waist and length wise, but the bust was a little tight. I made it work though, with a very think bra. Loved this dress!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Oct 14, 2012
Chic, simple and comfortable
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bridal shower outdoors and it was the perfect dress for the occasion: comfortable, classic style and true to size. I received compliments on the style and fit.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 9531
Oct 14, 2012
A perfect dress for my husband's art show. I heard a shout "vintage classy"!
Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Both the 12 and the 14 fit well on me. The zipper on the 12 was making me nervous, so i went with the 14. Thanks for sending the little black belt. That was great. I was able to wear a bra with the dress and I like the long skirt. I love this dress!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 12, 2012
10 stars!!!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a private event and I was so sad when it was over and I didn't have a reason to wear the dress anymore. I told my sister that I wish I had worn it to something more public because this dress makes you want to be seen, by everyone! For the first time in my life it was fun to feel like people were talking aboout me haha. I loved it so so much that it was painful having to send it back. It was incredibly comfortable and easy to wear. I was one of 10 bridesmaids and I definitely stood out in the line-up. Heads turned in my direction for sure. This is my favorite rental to date. Definitely on the potential buy list.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Oct 9, 2012
it was perfect for the occasion!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore it to a 50s party and it was perfect! The fit was great except for the top area. It was a bit loose because my chest isn't very large. It didn't really bother me as the night went on though. It was true to size everywhere else.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 9541
Oct 8, 2012
Got lots of compliments on the dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very cute on, and super comfortable
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 1, 2012
Comfortable and Fun!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so much fun to wear. If you like to spin around and dance, it's perfection. The top is stretchy and the bottom is a heavier cotton fabric. I would recommend having an iron or steamer on hand as the bottom can get wrinkled in the bag.
Susan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Oct 2, 2012
Great dress, very happy with the fit. I had gotten many compliments on it.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dess comes with a thin black belt which was a plus!
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Sep 27, 2012
Best Dress Ever!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress in both the 6 and 8 as other reviews said it ran a bit small. It fit completely true to size on me. I'm 5'9 (typically wear a 6) and the skirt hit just above the knee. The waist on this dress is lovely - it makes your waist appear tiny - especially with the belt. Honestly, I did not want to send this dress back! It was comfortable and incredibly flattering. My favorite part about the dress is how versatile it can be. I dressed it up with some jewelery, shiny clutch, and purple shawl...however, you could totally wear this to brunch too. It's a do over!
Anastasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Sep 26, 2012
I felt beautiful in this dress. It was wonderfully classic!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding at the Cleveland Botanical Garden. Highly recommended!
Breanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7531
Sep 25, 2012
Classy, beautiful dress
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My sister and I rented RTR dresses for her rehearsal dinner. I loved this dress. It fit great, was comfortable, super flattering and I received compliments all night long both at the event and on Instagram and Facebook.
Kristell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
Sep 21, 2012
The dress fit me like a glove! It was stunning and super comfortable. I wish I owned this dress.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is absolutely amazing. It fit me like a glove. It is stunning, flattering on my figure and super comfortable. I didn't want to take it off it was so amazing. I got this for a Rehearsal dinner and I looked amazing. I was the most beautiful person there and I got a ton of compliments too. I highly recommend this dress for any one regardless of the body type. It's flattering on big girls and small girls.
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2443
Sep 19, 2012
You can't go wrong with classy black and white and Kate Spade!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The style is a no brainer when it comes to fitting any body type. The cute black and white stripes are great for any occasion, and can take you from day to night.
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 7433
Sep 10, 2012
Great fit... perfect dress to show off my recent weight loss! :)
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic! The cut is great, the belt is the perfect accent, can wear a regular bra with it even though the back is low. Everyone was complimenting me and I gladly spread the word about RTR!
Amberly
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7444
Sep 9, 2012
"Wow, you look so elegant"
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding I was in, and I do not regret it! It did not come with the belt pictured, but a quick trip to F21 fixed that. The dress material was very thin and might need steaming to remove wrinkles. I received tons of compliments. If you are thinking about this dress, I'd say go for it.
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Sep 5, 2012
When we arrived at the polo grounds, I fit right in and got so many compliments! I didn't want to wait for the professional photos to review this.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this beauty over Labor Day weekend for my first ever polo match in CT, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I paired it with a big floppy black hat and the Lee Angel "Tie Up in Crystal Necklace" and Nicole Miller "Star Light Star Bright" bracelet and open toed flats to make the full outfit. I'm petite (5'3") with a solid atheltic build (~130 lbs), and the size 4 looked like it had been made for my body. One caution--if you're traveling, this may not be the dress for the job. The material, while of good quality (felt like poplin/lycra, with a good bit of give), shows wear and wrinkles very easily. There were some subtle water stains on the taupe stripes that you could really only see up close, and I did have to iron the dress when I received it. That said, if you like classic, understated style and you're thinking of renting this, I say go for it!
taylor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Aug 27, 2012
This was a special day for me and rent the runway gave me a special dress for it!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my bridal shower and LOVED it! It was everything I wanted! It came right on time and was clean and pressed! I got so many compliments! Thank you so much Rent the Runway for making me look fabulous at my bridal shower!
Ada
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8444
Aug 21, 2012
"You look AMAZING in that dress" - from the bride!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was amazing. I got compliments all evening. I am 5'10, weigh 168 lbs and have a large bust. The belt that comes with the dress is perfect for cinching the waist. The back of the dress is cut lower than the front which is very nice (and classy) look. I wore a size ten which was very true to size. Not too big not too small. I will say that the stripes are not exactly black and white. It's sort of black and cream/beige (but shows up white in pictures taken with flash). I will also recommend ironing the pleats because some got lost when the dress was mailed and then in my luggage during the flight to the wedding.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7443
Aug 19, 2012
I felt so beautiful and had such ease chasing around my toddler daughter.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If I weren’t happily married, I might consider marrying this dress. It was perfect for me! I loved the soft fabric, and the dress was perfect for an outdoor event. Since the occasion I rented a dress for was a family wedding and my toddler daughter was the flower girl, I had a couple of requirements for my selection: 1) It had to be comfortable; 2) I had to feel beautiful; 3) The dress had to have a timeless feel since these pictures would be in my family’s for decades to come, and; 4) I had to have the ability to chase around a toddler and bend down with ease (trust me, a ton of dresses were cut out of my list immediately for this reason alone ;) ). This Kate Spade dress met all of the above requirements, and I received so many compliments all night! I haven’t felt -this- gorgeous in quite some time. It looked great with a nude flat (I was walking in grass) and a bright earring!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6543
Aug 15, 2012
For our golf tournament party, the name of the dress was quite fitting.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fittingly, I wore this to my fiance's golf tournament party. Since the summer weather was a bit more on the chilly side, I felt a bit more covered up and appropriate for the event. While I dressed it up a bit with a fun necklace, you really don't need much for this dress. I will say that the size 8 was a bit snug in the waist, but the 10 would have been a bit too roomy up top. Fortunately the belt could be adjusted to provide a little more room after a nice helping of dinner and dessert.
Nikki
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 15, 2012
Feeling like a million dollars!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding that was held on a golf course in Lake Geneva, WI. The material is light weight enough that I was kept cool, but substantial where I could tell the quality was superb. I received so many compliments on the dress and felt it was so appropriate for such an occasion! 3 days after I wore the dress Samantha Gunthrie was wearing it on the Today show!!
Denise
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Aug 13, 2012
Women were amazed the dress was rented and shocked at the ease in which I ordered, received and needed to ship back! Even more.. the options of dresses to choose from!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. The fabric was so soft and movable!! It was a real show stopper for the country club wedding! I felt proud to wear it! It was also easy to accessorize!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Aug 1, 2012
Everyone wanted to know where I got this dress and how RTR worked! It was amazing.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower which had an English Tea theme. I ordered this dress in the 8 and the 10, knowing that designers of this caliber usually run small. The 8 fit fine but was a little tight around the waist area. The 10 was perfect. I loved all the little details in this dress. For example, the skirt is lined with lace on the bottom of the inside. Everyone kept asking me where I got it. I think RTR may be paying me some money for the amount of advertising they got from me wearing this dress! :)
lalalauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Jul 30, 2012
I was at a fundraiser in Washington DC and everyone said I was "Michelle Obama approved" in this Kate Spade dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A really cute, simple and classic dress. The fabric defnitely looks nicer in pictures than in person, so that was the only draw back. Other than that, I loved the dress. Bow belt was a nice touch.
Xiobhan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5632
Jul 9, 2012
I have another wedding in a few weeks and may rent this same dress.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6 and an 8 and while I think the dress runs small, I may have to admit that I am running a bit big. I went with the 8 and it was perfect. I am 5' 6' and the dress hit perfectly, just above my knee. I have broad shoulders but the scoop in the back provides lots of mobility. The skirt is also fun and twirly whirly when dancing. Heads up, it needed a press when it arrived and was an ironing challenge given the pleats. Downside: It's not lined. I would have expected a lining in a Kate Spade. I got lots of compliments!
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jun 30, 2012
My building's concierge messed up and didn't accept my dress the day before my event, but RTR came to my rescue and got the dress to me with plenty of time the day of my event!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved wearing this dress! This dress is fun and has a classic look to it.. everyone complimented it! Its very comfortable to wear as well. I usually wear a 4 but I wore my backup size 6 since the 4 felt a little tight around the natural waist. Even one size up the dress wasn't too long on me (even though I am 5'4"). I felt great in this dress! If you are considering it for an event, I say go for it!!
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Jun 17, 2012
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It's a very 1950s cut - I loved the fit on top and it definitely accentuated my waist. But the way the first cream-colored band drapes off the hips, I definitely would not recommend this dress for other full-hipped ladies. On the other hand, if you hips are less than full, wear with abandon!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4441
May 21, 2012
As usual, I had strangers come up and ask where I got my dress! The answer is always RTR!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a beautiful dress and was a perfect choice for my brother-in-law's graduation brunch! The stripes are adorable, but the cut of the dress makes it sophisticated. The patent leather belt goes great with it. My only complaint is that I think it would fit someone with a shorter torso better as my natural waist was about two inches below where the belt hit. Overall, a wonderful summer dress for those special occasions where you want to look like a lady! Thanks RTR!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 8422
May 14, 2012
I wore this dress to my Mother's Day brunch. My mother loved the dress and was jealous I didn't rent it for her instead.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was true to size but it was longer then I expected (slightly below my knees). I didn't mind it being slightly longer because it was probably more appropriate for my event. Overall, it was a beautiful dress and is one of my favorites. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Apr 3, 2014
Classic, stunning dress! I wore this for my engagement photos!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented a 4 and really needed a 2 but it wasn't available. It was a bit big but still fit. I had to iron the pleats on the skirt to make it appear like it does in the picture above. Otherwise, classic, pretty, great dress!
Cynthia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6642
Apr 3, 2014
Absolutely perfect!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it!
shari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8544
Mar 25, 2014
Beautiful
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit beautifully, I received many compliments.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Mar 17, 2014
I wore this dress for my engagement photos!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I love this dress. I wish I could find where to purchase it. its worth every penny. the skirt isnt as full as it looks on some, but it has plenty of flow. everything about the dress is flattering and classy
Memorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Mar 13, 2014
Classy and fun!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the fit, the color was more of a cream. I added a thin coral belt and coral heals.
Miranda
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8421
Mar 12, 2014
Compliments every turn I made!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
a little thinner material then I thought but it didn't matter. Great fit and I felt great. Great for big chest, felt classy.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Mar 4, 2014
Wore this dress to my cousin's bridal shower. Everyone said I looked like a socialite!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit true to size with some room to spare. You could definately eat a full meal in it, it was very comfortable. Perfect with the RZ Graziano pearl necklace I ordered.
Christy Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 24, 2014
Perfect for a wedding guest
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful and great for a wedding. I was worried about wearing it for a winter wedding but it was perfect. I put on black tights with a black jacket. I was disappointed that the dress no longer had the belt attached so I had to buy a separate one. Also the dress had been dry cleaned a few too many times because the black was fading so it was obvious that my black jacket was black and the dress was fading. Other than that it was a great dress...perfect for salsa dancing too!
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Feb 24, 2014
It was a great dress. Fun and just like the photo.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect. I am 5'2'' and about 110lbs. I got tons of compliments on the dress.
Chrystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4531
Feb 11, 2014
Great Dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a Mary Kay conference. It fit perfectly and was very comfortable. I love the hidden slit pocket detailing. It looked great with my Mary Kay red jacket.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress