Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

450 reviews

Fit
Small 14
True to Size 385
Large 51
Photos 240
Mo
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

AWESOME! I had someone tell me I looked like Kate Middleton.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect. I loved everything about the dress. I wish I owned it!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

I felt like I was in Breakfast at Tiffany's!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was stunning! I wore it for my bridal shower in February, and I felt amazing in it. The only "disappointment" was that the strips are NOT white or cream...they are khaki brown. The dress looked amazing in person, it didn't photograph as well as expected, and the pleats didn't stay flat/pressed, but I felt great and got a ton of compliments. Would work on all body shapes.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Classic, chic dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my brother's wedding and loved it! I'm a 32B with a 27" waist, and the 2 fit fine. I paired it with a thin black belt, black velvet pumps, a pearl necklace, and a pearl bracelet. It was good for a more formal, but outdoor wedding in the summer on the beach (it isn't lined, which probably makes it a little cooler!) The dress I got was starting to fade a little - RTR needs to put out a new batch!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

I wore red pumps with this dress. LOVED the pop or color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great! It came a little off the shoulders, so make sure that you have the right kind of bra. Perfect length and it gave me a 50's modern classy vibe. I did not want to send this back!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

Wore this for a 1950's themed birthday party. It helped me channel my inner Holly Golightly!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size. Not much stretch in the bust. The length was perfect! I have really long legs (37 in inseam) and dresses tend to look very short on me. This truly was tea length and perfect!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Fun dress for wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I liked this dress and got lots of compliments on it. It does run a little small on top, so I had to go with the bigger size. Even that was a little tight. Love the Kate Spade dresses!
MBaker17
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Perfect Wedding Guest Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I've loved this Kate Spade since i saw it on Pinterest MONTHS ago, and was thrilled to be able to rent it for this beautiful occassion! I got nothing but compliments all night- easy to accessorize or wear alone! PERFECT DRESS!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Work Worthy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a work fundraiser and got so many compliments. It was the perfect Spring dress--cute but not too sexy. I felt very comfortable all night. I wore a belt with this dress to add a little more detail. Overall it fit slightly big on me--my mom tried it on the next day and it actually fit her better!
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 21, 2013

It was the big day for me at work and I LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous! I just bought it in navy at a big kate spade sale because I loved it so much! They did forget the belt so I improvised but I felt gorgeous and received compliments all day!
samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Jun 23, 2013

Gorgeous summer wedding with great friends!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great first experience with RTR! The dresses arrived on time and in good condition and I loved having the 2 sizes to try one. Got so many compliments on the dress and was happy to share that it was a RTR dress. It was my first, but definitely won't be my last time renting!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 23, 2013

Classic look, perfect for a summer formal affair!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit true to size and even had a bit of extra room, so I would have been able to size down in a pinch. I wore it to a formal event at a country club, so I paired it with my grandmother's pearls and a pair of red heels and it was perfect! The skirt arrived a little wrinkled, but that is unavoidable due to all the fabric. My steamer took the wrinkles right out. I was expecting the top to be more of a rounded neck, but the straps were wider on me and sat a little more boat neck and didn't lay totally flat, so i couldn't wear a regular bra even with the straps buttoned into the inside. The overall shape was lovely though and made me feel like I have a waistline. This was my first RTR experience and now I'm hooked!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 25, 2013

Classic and chic Kate Spade dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding/reception and it was perfect! I received many compliments on the dress and it's a very light weight fabric perfect for being outdoors. I would highly reccomend this dress for anyone who is tall!
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 1, 2013

Fun little dress for an afternoon Summer wedding.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
White stripe is definitely cream at best. No belt I closed which I thought came with it, but I didn't need it anyway. Top was stretchy and bottom was heavy, but laid beautifully looking crisp throughout the evening. I ordered 2 sizes and fit in both. So not much difference in top at least. Very comfortable all evening. I will do this again!
Elicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

Made my date 10x more elegant!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I went to a local restaurant with my boyfriend. I wanted a dress that looked nice enough to be formal but also was fun and flirty. This dress fit all my needs! The fit was beautiful and really flattered my figure. The color is more cream than white but I knew that from reading the other reviews. I loved this dress so much I wanted to buy it!
Tyler
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 7, 2013

My first RTR dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
SO COMFORTABLE. Got tons of compliments. My only problem with the dress was that it arrived extremely wrinkled and almost dirty looking. The white is definitely more of a beige than anything..I had to have to dress steamed before the wedding because I didn't have any other options. However, the dress was awesome and I was sad to return it. I would rent it again as long as I were to get a different dress from the one I got.
Theresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 10, 2013

Loved the RTR experience. The dresses even arrived early! Overall I was happy with the dress and fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sizing: Ordered a size 4 and size 6. Size 4 fit but the size 6 fit better in the bust. I would recommend going a size up for larger busted women. I also used the RTR stylists and they were wonderful for making recommendations for dresses. The dress: The stripes look whiter in the picture but are really more of a beige/tan. I also thought the skirt would be fuller like in the picture on the website.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Perfect dress for a summer winery wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first experience with RTR and it couldn't have been more perfect! The dress was lightweight and comfortable with a great fit (I'm 5'8" and it hit right above my knee). Fabulous choice for a summer wedding in Virginia with a church ceremony and winery reception.
Celena
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Pefect for a outdoor wedding, simple but formal.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit tight up top and flowed down perfectly at the knee.
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

The full skirt on this dress was perfect for twirling on the dance floor!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As other commenters have pointed out, the stripes on the skirt are more beige than white, and the material is cotton-y and looks more casual in person than in photos. I dressed it up with jewelry/belt/shoes and an updo, and with accessories it was definitely appropriate for a summer evening wedding. Also, this dress is cut for a classic hourglass shape which I am not, so the size that fit me in the waist was a little big in the bust. But it still worked and I enjoyed wearing it!
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

This is a beautiful dress and perfect for a formal occasion.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was true to size. I did wear a petticoat underneath it to make the skirt fuller.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 24, 2013

I got compliments on this dress all night! It fit perfectly and was super comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs big! I was surprised how big the 6 actually is! I would recommend renting a size down!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 28, 2013

Great dress for a bridal shower! So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is great! Super flattering and showed off some recent weight loss without being super tight and uncomfortable. Super appropriate for showers because it hits right around the knees. Is light weight so is great for the summer. Paired it with a Kate Spade New York Cobblestone Bib Necklace and I thought it was the perfect accent! Would definitely rent again! Highly recommend!!!!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

Stay Classy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For my second RTR dress, I chose this Kate Spade dress for an intimate backyard wedding. It was perfect! Made of lightweight cotton, it was comfortable even in 90 degree heat. The silhouette is very flattering and the bold stripes are striking. In a sea of polyester, printed dresses, this dress stood out as being classy and sophisticated. Make sure to keep and eye on things that will cause wrinkles (seat belts!) and be sure to have a steamer on hand before you first wear it. I love this dress so much I just may have to rent it again someday!
Tara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Great Party Dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress. Very comfortable, but classy at the same time. I loved it!
Patricia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Cute and classic!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly! Being 5'4", I liked that the skirt came down all the way to the knee, made it perfect for a formal occasion. The Rent the Runway experience was wonderful and stress free, I highly recommend it!
Joan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little long and fit pretty large, however it overall looked amazing! I had more compliments than I knew how to take. I paired it with the Kate Spade necklace and hot pink stillettos! The dress itself looked only SLIGHTLY worn! Not enough to really complain about. Overall a great experience and I will be renting again!
Jillianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Aug 14, 2013

I loved it to much I actually kept saying I wanted to keep it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Material is amazing- it was super comfortable and so soft. Loved that it had pockets! And fancy hooks to keep those bra straps in place. Fit true to size (I am a 6). Pleats are a little tricky but for the most part it didn't wrinkle!
Meredith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Loved the simple yet elegant look!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classic and chic. Comfortable fit and fabric. I'm normally a 6 and this fit true to size (not tight or too roomy). Great dress. Many ways to dress it up or down with shoes or jewels. Loved it!
Han
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Classic!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
LOVE! This dress was so chic and perfect for a garden wedding in wine country. The 0 fit perfectly...even the length (I was afraid it would be too long because I'm only 5'3"). Like other reviewers mentioned, the material is thick and more "casual" than in the model photos, but can easily be dressed up with accessories. Also, the dress is "poofy" but not childish or too girlie. You can see the silhouette really well in one of the pictures I posted. That's what it looked like when I would take a step. Perfect!
Arielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 9, 2013

A classy, elegant yet comfortable and cute dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the PERFECT dress! I wore the pink version to a wedding in June and tried this one and loved it even more! I paired it with a black statement necklace, rose gold Michael Kors watch, black bow earrings, and nude pumps. Note that it is NOT black/white but black/tan but actually much prettier. Fits like a glove. I had a nightmare experience getting the dress but hoping that RTR makes this up for me because the dress itself was gorgeous and I wish I could own it!
Wylly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 12, 2013

Elegant and flattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! It was so flattering and extremely comfortable! I received compliments all night- even the bride wanted the dress! Wore this to a nighttime wedding in Louisiana- fancy enough but not too fancy! I will definitely be renting this dress in the future! Loved it!
stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great dress! just packed it up and feeling really sad that I have to part with it. Fits true to size...I normally have wide hips but this was very flattering in all the right places. I felt really classy holding a glass of champagne in this dress! Didn't have to worry about wardrobe malfunctions all night. Love!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Perfect Dress for Me!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Once again, I ended up wearing the alternative style I selected to a wedding. Thankfully, the size 6 fit me perfectly. The dress is comfortable, stylish, and can be easily dressed up or down. I wore a rented statement necklace with this dress to kick up the dressy factor a bit. I got so many compliments on the dress; no one could believe I rented it! Maybe I should keep it a secret ;)
Felecia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

I love how easy it was to rent and return.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first rental and the dress worked out great for my Breakfast at Tiffany's themed bridal shower. Since I am a little short the dress fit a little longer but I wore a black crinoline under the dress to shorten it a little bit. I typically wear a 0 but decided to go up a size for the backup just in case but the dress does fit true to size so the 0 was perfect. I got a ton of compliments from everyone at the party and even strangers at Starbucks. The dress was very comfortable and was easy to wear and move around in during the day.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 21, 2013

So fun to wear Kate!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I heard that Kate Spade clothing fits small, however this dress totally fit to size. I did have to iron it before I wore it to the wedding-but totally worth it. Fit great, feels like its made well.
Jeri
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

I adored the dress from the first time I saw it! I waited for the perfect occasion.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit beautifully. The fabric was nice and soft and the overall fit was so comfortable. I had many compliments on the style and look. The dress has tons of class. The fit was true to size and I will definitively try another Kate Spade dress in the future. I will be back to Rent the Runway!
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

A great dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I hate the fact that I usually buy an expensive dress and only wear it once. I've been invited to several weddings this year and figured I'd check out RTR. Glad I did! I loved this Kate Spade dress because it was preppy and flirty and classic. I received a ton of complements from other wedding guests and they were all shocked when I told them it was rented. It really is a lovely dress! I am usually a 2 or a 4. I rented both sizes and they both fit well, the 2 was just a little more fitted in the bust and the waste.
Deanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 29, 2013

I received tons of compliments from complete strangers! Everyone loved this dress, including me!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was amazing. Great fit and easy to wear. It does scream for a belt in my opinion, so I added one along with chunky silver jewelry. I also think this dress would kill with red heels, but unfortunately, it was cooler the night I wore it so I opted for black tights and heels. Overall, a great pick!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

Yet another gorgeous RTR dress and flawless rental process. Got so many compliments all night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have nothing bad to say at all! Fit perfectly. Beautiful, well-made dress. As other reviewers have commented, the light-colored stripes are more tan / taupe in real life than they show in the picture of the dress on the model on the website. They seem white, but are really more khaki-colored. Super comfy too, and I didn't wear a bra (b/c of the scoop-neck back, and b/c I can get away with it!) but you totally could wear a regular bra. Couldn't be happier with the dress. Go Kate Spade and RTR!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Oct 7, 2013

The loved the dress and will definitely order again.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The 8 fit perfectly and I also ordered the 10. I wore with pearls and a thin black belt to break up the waist. dress is tan and black and definitely had to use the snaps to keep bra straps in place and prevent the top of dress from bunching up.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×