Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Grape Soda Pop Dress

$75 rental
$448 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do a little twist and twirl in this Kate Spade New York a-line dress! A great style for all shapes and sizes. Pair with earrings like the Oscar de la Renta's Beaded Tassel Earrings and the Anton Heunis Cerulean Orchid Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - very full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple silk mikado (74% silk, 26% cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with bow detail. Seamed flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

110 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 87
Large 6
Photos 84
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Such a fun party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was wonderful! I am typically a 4 or 6 and I went with the 4 on this one. It was a little tight around the bust, but the 6 was too big overall.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

Classic, Vibrent, Flirty

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments on this dress. I have never worn thsi color before, but everyone loved it. The cut is so classic and elegant, I paired it with a touch of teaI and it really popped with teh purple. I am usually a 6 or an 8, but with a bit of a padded bra the 8 fit cormfortably.
Carent
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

When the caterer said "cute dress!".

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great. The cut of the back really skims down a broad back. The only issue I had was that this dress is that the picture does not include a belt, but if you bought it from a department store, it includes the black belt. The black belt was ESSENTIAL for me to not look like a blob of grape. The belt loop holes were also cut from the dress.
Jessica
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 30, 2012

What a beautiful color! I loved this dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros - great for hourglass figures. Con - Bring wrinkle releaser!
Patty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 4, 2012

Great cut, great color, great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a huge hit. I got lots of compliments all night, particularly on the color.This is a great dress if you are looking for something beyond the little black dress you always wear. Just a note, I usually wear a 10, which fit perfectly everywhere but the chest. If you are big busted, order the size up. It fit fine. It also had to be pressed when it arrived, so factor that into your time of delivery. Oh and it has pockets. Love it!
Nell
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

Amazing Color!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect fit & flare - highlights your assets and hides the rest. I paired it with a chunky necklace, but it would be cute with a simple belt too. Make sure you show off the back!
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Perfect for a holiday party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a company holiday party - it is very festive, fun and the open back gives it a kick.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Cute and fun dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a group picture where we had to wear purple. This dress fit the bill! As the other reviews, it was a bit snug in the bust area. I probably would have gotten a 14 if it were available. I didn't even try on the back up size 10... I was able to wear a regular bra without problems. I liked it!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Perfect for a formal wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my stepbrother's wedding and got so many compliments. The fit and color was perfect and completely appropriate for an evening wedding. I would love to have kept this one!
K.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Near-perfect party dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my office holiday party, and thought it was super festive and fun. The color is a gorgeous jewel tone and the fabric has a lovely sheen. It has a tailored and luxe feel. The top does run small (I ordered a 2 and 4 but my back-up never arrived, so fortunately the 2 fit). I was able to wear this with a normal strapless bra, but definitely check to make sure yours won't ride up. The overall sizing was accurate, but the top is definitely on the snug side, with less give due to the fabric. The back is incredibly eye-catching, and I found that with a sparkly belt, the ensemble really popped. A statement necklace or earrings would also do the trick. Lastly, given the fabric and time in transit, reserve time to press or steam the dress before wearing. Incidentally, because my back-up size did not come and the dress itself arrived a day late, I asked for 25% off of the rental fee (I only had three days of the rental period, not four). RTR kindly obliged and satisfied my customer service issue. A good reminder to give yourself padding on when the dress arrives and when you will actually wear it.
Haley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

An amazing holiday color thats not green or red.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color is as pretty as the pictures. There is no belt with it so I added a bow belt from black house white market that looks very similar to the Kate Spade belts. The back has a bow at the top. So cute. Loved this dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Wore this for a company holiday party. I LOVED the color, especially when most people were in black

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Now I want to buy this dress!
SuzSyd
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Ease of ordering, efficient delivery, great packaging and easy return.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I love this dress, it fits me because I'm tall, and they style is very classic yet sexy. However I have size 36D breasts and the top was super tight, almost uncomfortable. It mashed my boobs up. But the small waist is very flattering and the color is simply AMAZING. Looks great in photos, I got a lot of compliments on it!
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect pop of color for a New Years Eve party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
After falling in love with the dress on the website I was so excited to try it on when it arrived on my doorstep. All the reviews were correct, the dress is VERY tight in the bust. I ordered my true size and it definitely showed off my waist. I would recommend getting an updo to show off the open back. I wore studded gold glitter heels and simple earrings. I received many compliments on my dress as a whole. If you are a typical 'basic black' girl, definitely rent this dress for your next special occasion for a fun splash of color!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Perfect holiday or party dress - nice and bright!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
While I did wear a size up, I still feel it runs rather large. I ended up being able to bring it in a lot by pairing a studded belt with it. Very fun party dress with a cute cutout back.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 14, 2013

Felt great all night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to the Rent the Runway Anniversary party, and loved it. Such a beautiful color. For the fit...It definitely runs small in the chest, so if you have a large chest - size up. I ended up wearing the 10 instead of the 8, just because of the chest.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

This dress was stunning and I got so many compliments on it at the rehearsal dinner I went to!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I probably could have gone a size smaller, but ordered up to be safe. The fit was comfortable and roomy without looking too big. I definitely felt amazing and LOVED this dress!
Lizy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 26, 2013

Great dress for working a formal affair!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a ball, and it was a great choice! The material is beautiful and elegant, and the color is definitely as bright and bold as it is in the photos. And the dress has pockets - amazing. The dress was almost 100% comfortable - only downside is it's a bit tight around the chest. Get ready to suck in when you're zipping it up!
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Fantastic fit, loved the back detail-although my hair is to long to see it. Beautiful color!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore it for an audience view for the Katie Couric show as they asked for color and my entire wardrobe is black. Got seated second row center and mostly everyone I knew commented that I had never looked better. This Grape Soda color looked wonderful on me and the line od the dress gave me a waist. It was the perfect fit for me!
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Gorgeous Dress! Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a two, but judging from other reviews I ordered a four as well. It was an absolutely gorgeous dress! I loved the color and the sheen it gave off! It matched perfectly with the Kate Spade necklace I ordered as well! I received compliments throughout the night!
Madeleine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 17, 2013

It was easy to wear, comfortable, and the purple was so fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is so cute. I loved the purple, it was a great change from the typical LBD. I was comfortable, I could dance all night. It doesn't wrinkle when sitting, which is always a plus. I loved the length of the dress because I didn't have to worry about what was showing! It was fitted around the bust so I didn't have to bother with a bra either!
Jade17
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Loved the dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress for a Gala it was perfect. After reading some of the reviews, I choose a size 6 however it was very tight around the bust. I am 127lbs, 5’2 and 32DD. A size 8 would have been a perfect fit. The color was exactly like the picture. Loved the dress!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, especially the color. It was long enough and had pockets! I just wish I would have remembered to pack a belt for it.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Wonderful dress, love the color.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to the fit.
Janelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Aug 9, 2013

Dress was perfect! I loved everything about it and so did everyone else

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit perfectly and was great for a July wedding! It was everything that was promised.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Super cute dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As the other reviews noted, this dress had a small bust. I ordered the 2 and 4 and I wore the 4 only because I couldn't wear a bra with the 2. It's really a cute dress, even cuter than the picture.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 16, 2013

Show stopping at a purple themed event!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I WANT TO OWN THIS DRESS!!! That pretty much sums it up... haha. Absolutely perfect for the purple themed black tie affair I went to. I definitely dressed it up so it fit for black tie but almost everyone told me they loved it!
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 17, 2013

LOVED IT!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Really really fun dress. Definitely needs a belt - but lots of options to wear something fun with it. AND I loved a bright yellow necklace with this dress. Loved the skirt - super fun and twirly. Exactly what I wanted - wore with patterned black nylons - fantastic!! (I do think the 2 would have been a better fit...it was a little big)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 10, 2013

Classy pick!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friends wedding whose ceremony I was participating in and it was perfect. The color is vibrant and the cut is classic and flattering. I wore a statement necklace and it really pulled the whole look together. You won't be disappointed.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Great dress! Loved the color! Was very happy with the choice! Wore it to a fancy evening wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My regular size is an 8 and I had to do the 10 in this dress which was disappointing. That is my only complaint. Loved length. Loved it fit well so I didn't have to wear a bra. Wore it with Kate Spade black chunky necklace. Perfect accessory. Would rent dress again. Loved RTR process!
SMP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 9, 2013

Perfect for a wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a friend's wedding and got several compliments. While the dress at first seems fairly simple, the cut away back adds a bit of run. The dress was true to size. My only complaint was that the fabric was a bit thinner than expected -- would definitely rent it, but not sure it's worth purchasing.
Bren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Great Color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fabric is begining to look tired from dry cleaning
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Beautiful color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as a backup dress and ended up wearing it to the evening portion of an all day wedding. The cut and color of the dress are beautiful, however the dress itself is not in great condition. The fabric looks worn, there are some catches in it, and it was very wrinkled when it arrived. It looked like the hem was folded up in some places when it had been pressed before sending it to me. The fit of the dress was perfect, though keep in mind there is no stretch in the fabric. I would give the dress 5 stars if it was in new condition.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

This dress fit true to size and the peekaboo in the back is very cute. A-Line was very flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly, and true to size. The color was brilliant and was especially good for wedding party photos an outdoors. The fabric was a little worn though through the waist -- it wasn't that obvious though from afar.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jan 15, 2014

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress made out of beautiful fabric. This fits especially well on pear shaped girls because of the shape. My husband saw a woman at the wedding pointing it out at to her friend and complimenting it. My first experience with RTR was great.
Lucy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Body type: Pear
Apr 2, 2014

Beautiful dress for graduation

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved the dress! Fit perfectly and was very comfortable. Would definitely rent again!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 17, 2014

Great for my Goddaughter's christening.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The color of this dress is lovely and it was perfect for a slightly formal, conservative event - my goddaughter's christening. The modest neckline and length were appropriate for the event, but the color and flared skirt kept it fun.
Mo
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 23, 2014

Gorgeous color, beautiful fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great for hourglass shaped women. Received many compliments on the color. Definitely helps you stand out in the crowd.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 30, 2014

Great fit - Fun back

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. I got lots of compliments on the color and the back cut out was very fun and flattering.
Andrea
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 8, 2014

Beautiful color & amazing style.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I definitely recommend going a size bigger for bustier women. Other than that, I loved this dress!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×