kate spade new york

Celebrate Good Times Dress

$139 to buy
$798 retail
Stylist Notes

Meet the perfect party dress! This style by kate spade new york is a fun and festive choice for every celebration.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Sequins Over Blush Lining (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Hourglass body. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
288 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(166)
Small
(59)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 24, 2014
It was so fun to wear such a cute sparkly dress all night!!
As the description of the fit says, the dress runs a little big. I usually wear size 6 dresses, so I ordered a 4 and it fit great. My only complaint was that the dress tended to twist throughout the night and I had to keep straightening out the back of the dress. Other than that, no complaints at all. Such a great dress, such a fun night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 1, 2014
Perfect Vegas Dress!
Do not wear this dress if you don't want to stand out! I had strangers on the street coming up to me to compliment it! I'm very petite and the 0 almost swallowed me, so it would be better for someone taller. It also got a little scratchy after a few hours of wear. But I still loved it and hope another sparkly occasion comes up so I can rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139lbs
June 16, 2014
Festive and fun!
I selected this dress for a wedding where I knew the bride would appreciate a lot of sparkle. Sure enough, the dress fit perfectly in the theme of her day. The rental wasn't my absolute favorite to date, but I did really enjoy it. Just beware that it seems to run big. I wore the 4, but I could have easily sized down to a 2. I typically wear a 4-6, if that helps give some perspective on size. Just a note that the midsection can be a little itchy, due to all the sequins. But overall, I was very pleased with the dress and was glad I had the opportunity to wear it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 3, 2014
Everyone loved it! It sparkles so much and it's unique!
I love the dress and it fit me well but my only complaints would be that it was big in the bossom area and that the material would scratch my arms :-/ it was such an awesome dress and look for the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 4, 2014
It was really cute!
It was really long and went about 3 inches below my knees which I was not expecting. I ended up pinning it up and it worked great! Overall it was a really cute and chic dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2014
Sparkly & Cute!
I wore this for a formal work event, so the tea length and the modest neckline with the heavy sequins were really perfect. In person, the dress is a bit more peachy and the black sequins strewn throughout the design are a little more obvious than in the picture (where I think it looks more silver), but it was the perfect dress for this occasion. I wore the 2 because it was a little loose up top when I tried on the 4, even though the 2 was a touch tight under my armpits. I felt like this ran a little large. Overall, the ideal dress for a formal work function or a cocktail party where you need to be demure but still a little fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 19, 2014
Showstopping dress!
This is an amazing dress. Very gorgeous and beautiful :) I had so many compliments on this dress it was so nice and made me feel so beautiful! It's so glittery and gorgeous. This dress is meant for taller girls. I'm 5'3 and this dress went to my knees. This was alright in my case because it's such a pretty dress; the beauty makes up for it :) My normal sizes are 0-4 depending on who makes the dress. I ordered in between (a 2) and it literally fit my like a glove (comfortable glove aha) This dress isn't itchy or anything. The only issue with this dress is when you sit down, you can feel the sequins on your bottom and such but honestly it's worth it. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 11, 2014
Beautiful dress that looked perfect surrounded by Christmas lights at a Festival of Trees Gala.
The dress is amazing. I got so many compliments. Very comfortable. No need for special bra straps or spanx, straps are wide enough to cover a regular bra and the cut of the dress is very flattering without being too snug. And it has pockets! It hit me just at the top of my knees which is a little longer than I had hoped it would be and it was a little loose around the waist (I am 5'6", weigh around 120lbs, and wore a size 4). It looks peachy until the light hits it then it's all sliver sparkles! Beautiful!
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 11, 2015
I ordered this dress for prom and it was perfect! I received so many compliments.
I ordered the OO. When it arrived, the chest was too big and the dress reached beneath my knees. I used over 100 pins to make the dress fit me. The dress eventually evolved into a bubble dress. If you're small like me, I recommend having a bunch of pins on hand and ordering the OO.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
February 14, 2015
Eye catching 2nd dress
I wore this as my second dress or what you might call party dress for my wedding. I received a huge amount of compliments all night. It had a enough bling that I didn't have to wear much jewelry and the sequence didn't irritate my skin which is a plus. It was very flattering and flirty.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 18, 2015
It was the perfect party dress!
It was a gorgeous dress! I wore it to a wedding reception. Definitely fit me to a glove although a little loose on the armhole area (which was fine since the sequins rubbed my arms a little but it wasn't bothersome at all). I got compliments ALL NIGHT for the dress. I paired it with my Kate Spade NY Great Expectations book clutch & Kate Spade NY Lennin heels which definitely pulled the outfit together! I also used my Kate Spade phone case which probably made me a walking Kate Spade NY advertisement but I definitely love the entire look! I had a hard time with the zipper - needed help to zip and unzip but I would recommend this outfit to anyone! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2015
For my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner
This dress fit amazingly! I received compliments all night long about how I sparkled and how tiny my waist looked in the dress. I normally wear a 4 or 6 but the 2 fit just right. I'm also petite and sometimes have trouble with larger arm holes, but didn't have that problem with this beautiful dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 11, 2015
The dress was so beautiful, and I got a ton of compliments!
The fit was a bit large. I usually wear a 0, but the 0 definitely was too big around the waist. As you can see, it still looked fabulous even though it was big around the waist because it was not fitted past the waist. It was a little heavier than the dresses I have worn before, but it was so easy to move and dance in. Overall, this dress is amazing for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2014
Amazing dress! Gots tons of compliments :)
I would def. recommend taking a size lower than you usually take! I'm usually a size 4 and the size 2 was just perfect for me. The skirt part is really louse, so it's perfect if your have wide hips!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
May 25, 2014
Just wasn't right
I rented this for my bachelorette party but did not end up wearing it. I felt the length was too long for me (right above the knee) or wasn't the right fit for a bachelorette party... a little too frumpy. Also the arm holes were to big and too big around the shoulders. The size 1 0 was too big and I almost considered wearing the size 8 but then noticed the seams were about to bust on the size 8, which was a deal breaker. I called RTR and they overnighted me the Dancing Till Midnight Dress and it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2014
Got so many compliments, and it was so different from what anyone else had!
Absolutely wonderful dress! There's a small section of the zipper that's a little tricky, but once you make it through the dress is phenomenal! 5 stars
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2016
Such a fun, pretty dress!
I wore this to a work holiday party with my boyfriend. Everyone loved it! The sequins give the blush color tons of pop and keep from washing your skin out. I will say, I felt like the cut didn't do a ton for my figure (I carry all of my weight in my hips), but everyone else loved it and thought it was flattering. If you have a small waist like me, size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
February 11, 2014
It really was an amazing dress!! I felt like a moviestar!!!
It was just to big in the busy area! I am very petite and have a small chest but other than that it fit great and I got so many compliments!
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 25, 2014
I got so many compliments all night! The dress is even more beautiful in person! Perfect for prom!
The size 0 wasn't available on the date of my event, so I crossed my fingers and got the 00 and it fit like a glove! It was tight, but the dress was still very comfortable to dance in all night! It is very beautiful in a subtle way, would definitely recommend it to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2014
Beautiful dress, just too big.
It was too big, so I was unable to wear it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 6, 2016
sparkly!
I am usually a size 0 or 2 and RTR sent me the dress in a 00. I still ended up fitting (though it was pretty tight), so I would say the dress probably runs a little big. It was very sparkly and overall was a great choice for my formal event. I would recommend it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Weight: 130lbs
October 17, 2016
This dress was PERFECT for my bridal shower.
Fit doesn't run terribly large, just a little. I'm usually a 4 and could have worn a 4 or a 2 but the 2 hugged me a little bit better. The silhouette is very flattering and the length was perfect for my height. The dress is definitely more pink than it looks in the photo but that was fine with me. It sparkles so much in person and in pictures, it's truly a FABULOUS dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 18, 2017
pretty dress but runs way too big
pretty dress runs very large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2014
Holy Sparkles, Batman!
I really enjoyed this fun and flirty dress although, since I wore it for New Year's Eve, there were multiple good-natured jokes made about how I looked like the Times Square ball. It is very, very...shiny. Possibly reflective. :o) What I loved, though, is that it's not tacky, the way a lot of sequins can look. Plus, there are flecks of black in the sequins (you can't quite see that in the RTR photo) amid the silver, copper and gold, I uploaded two photos to offer two ways you can wear this. I DID NOT wear the black crinoline look, although I adored the way the crinoline brought out the black and gave it a ladylike, retro 1950s flare. Had we been going anywhere old school, I'd have done this in a minute, if only to wear the crinoline from my wedding again. I DID wear it without the crinoline, with copper peep-toe shoes, which set off the exposed back zipper nicely. (Tiara courtesy of RTR for NYE). I also wore the Nicole Miller Star Light Bracelet with it (a personal accessory rental favorite of mine, rented so often I ought to ask for a rent-to-own agreement...the bracelet is perfect for nearly anything, fyi) The dress was a trifle small in the bust. If I raised my arms too high above my head, you could see a bit of the side of my bra. That small detail aside, this is a tremendously fun dress. It's very easy to wear and quite comfortable. The waist and bust lines are flattering and I love the flare in the hips, wonderful for any pear-shaped gals. One small nitpick: there was a sequin just under the left arm pit of the dress that was stuck into the seam, with a sharp exposed edge. I had no way to clip it off and it kept digging into my arm all night. I wound up with a scratch, which was no fun. Otherwise, I felt very pretty, received several compliments, and would recommend this highly.
StashaJanuary 2, 2014
Thanks for the detailed review with styling options! RTR should shoot you some credits.
BethJanuary 2, 2014
GREAT REVIEW!!! The dress looks adorable on you by the way. It helps me to know how long this is, since I'm 4 foot 10 1/2! Next time I need a dress for a party I'll definitely consider this one based on your review :)
KristinJanuary 2, 2014
Thanks so much for the thorough review!!! It helped me put this on the top of my list for my rehearsal dinner dress :-)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
February 7, 2014
didn't actually wear it
I don't know if I just have an abnormally large rib cage or if perhaps kate spade expects their customers to have a more demure bosom, but i could not get this zipped past my 38 D girls. Not sure I would have worn it anyways as the 14 seemed to be showing a damaged patch of sequins on the front of the skirt. Fun dress though - if it fits you you should twirl all night in celebration.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
February 25, 2014
A fun, flattering dress!
I received many, many compliments on the dress! It looked great. The bust was a little bit snug in the size 6, and there were some loose sequins, probably from being worn so many times. But overall, a big success!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 2, 2014
I wore this dress to a "Glitter Ball" - and it was perfect!
The dress was beautiful! It ran a bit small around the bust area and rib cage, but overall the dress was eye-catching! I received compliment after compliment all night long. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
April 7, 2014
An annual gala for 600. I had to be on stage and speak
Loved the dress! So pretty and sparkly! The styling was very classy. I wish I had ordered one size up. I have broad shoulders/back and the 6 would not zip up past the middle of my back. I will try the 8 for an upcoming wedding
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
May 13, 2014
Beautiful and fun dress with lots of sparkle. Received many compliments and a fun dress to dance in.
Was a little tight through the bust, I probably should have rented a 12. The dress was very comfortable and even had pockets. Great length for the over 50 girls. Lots of sparkle and moved well when dancing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
May 23, 2014
great sparkle, too bad it didn't fit
ordered a 10 and my backup size 12 was not available. did not fit sadly but great sparkle and shine. would have been fabulous at my bachelorette party or even rehearsal dinner! length was a little bit long for us petite ladies out there!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
June 18, 2014
Unable to wear the dress
I wasn't able to wear the dresses (rented two sizes) that I received. Neither one fit and I was going out of town the day after I received them. The hem was also coming out from below one of them which would have been unwearable even if it had fit. Beautiful dress, poorly made.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
July 7, 2014
Too small in ribcage
I rented the 4 and 6 for a cocktail party and ended up not being able to wear either. This dress is tight in the ribcage. I am a classic size 6, so size up if you order. It's fun and flirty and I wish I could have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
August 1, 2014
Beautiful dress remains unworn due to large chest.
This dress is to DIE for! I squealed when I pulled it out of the box. The dress is more blush than pictures show, but it's still beautiful. Alas, my size 38D's did now fit in the 12 or 14. I sadly had to return both sizes but had a quick and helpful customer service experience and am now awaiting the Time Will Tell Sheath and Midnight Glamour Dress dresses as its substitute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
August 20, 2014
I didn't wear this dress
This is a killer little dress. I am a bit busty and the 10 was tight. I ordered it for another event in a 12 I liked it so much
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2014
So many compliments, and so comfortable!
The fit on a 14 for me was great - though I usually wear a 10 or 12 in other RTR designers. The dress was comfortable and the cut is so appropriate - not too short but not so long it ages you- and high neck and back which makes it classy, though very fitted in the bodice which makes it sexy. I would love to own this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2014
True showstopper! The most classy, elegant "look at me dress" I've ever found.
I rented this dress for my birthday. Due to scheduling issues, I ended up wearing it to my conservative office the day of my dinner celebration. Needless to say, I got all of the attention I wanted and more! My managing partner still to this day asks when I am going to wear "that dress" again because it truly was a magnificent dress. It is classy yet fun. My only note would be that the waist is quite slim - nothing too dramatic but it definitely caught me by surprise. If you are between sizes, I would recommend going a size up. I ended up being more comfortable with the larger size. But this dress was absolutely worth every penny!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
September 14, 2014
This dress is gorgeous!
This dress was sent as a back up to a backup because of a damaged dress. I love RtR for looking out for me. The dress was a little small that spanx couldn't fix. I found the zipper to be tough due to the masses of sequins on the dress. There was a lot of room the dress for full hips / bum. Room for full chest, but not too full otherwise the dress won't zip up the back. If you're on the upper edge of a size be sure to have a 2nd pair of hands to help with the zipper. I'm shorter and the dress hit right at the knee. If it would have zipped it would have been a show stopper!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 19, 2014
Stunning dress but super small !
Dress was so beautiful and sparkly on person I was sooooo excited when I opened up my RTR package. But when I went to put it on there is no way I could zip it over my upper rib cage and chest. The dress is just to narrow. I would size up one or 2 if you have a large chest. I am determined to loose weight just so I can wear this dress to a future event ! Btw the pictures do not do it justice, and the underlying fabric is a light pink color.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2014
There can't be a better dress for the dance floor. It's stunning
Great dress. Fit me quite well in the 2. I had a really fantastic night in it. The dress is fitted in the chest and in the waist then flares out from the waist down. I am not that tall and the dress did hit me right below the knees. I wish it had been a little shorter but that was the only downside. The dress was in great condition. I think there may have been just one or two sequins missing but not noticeable. Great dress I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2014
Loved the dress, but didnt fit my chest.
The dress was adorable and fit great, except for my chest. I couldnt get it zipped and there were no larger sizes available for my event. I would have loved to wear it.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×