Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Carol Dress

$75 rental
$398 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel oh so pretty in pink for your next party in this full skirt dress by kate spade new york. The black piping gives this ladylike style a mod feel for a cool cocktail look! Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Pearl Princess Earrings and you are ready to go!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'9" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – loosely fitted at natural waist
HIPS: fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee - (on a 5'9" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Hot pink crepe (55% cotton, 41% nylon, 4% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with black piping detail at neck and hem. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 51
Large 14
Photos 31
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

Both sizes, 2 & 4, were too large. Didn't get a chance to wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress but it runs large. Could not wear but was able to wear the Kate Spade Hole in One dress instead.
Lala
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

This dress is anything but simple!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit on this dress is fabulous! Absolute perfection! The color is a lot brighter than it appears online, but I have to say it took this simple dress style to a whole new level! It was anything but boring and I Received many compliments :)
Susan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Mar 13, 2013

Great dress! The color is a bright neon pink - and a real show stopper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved the pockets and the black trim. Definitely ran a bit big. There were no reviews so I asked the sizing specialist and she recommended getting a size bigger. I normally wear 8 - so I got the 8 and a 10. Really needed a six. Arm holes were a little gaping and the overall fit was too roomy. Belted it with a thick black belt and wore black tights, and it was fine. Regardless of it being a little big - the dress was beautiful and comfortable. The material has a nice sheen that you don't see in the pics. Nice heavy fabric too. length was longer on me - which I liked. Lots of compliments! This was my first RTR rental - the $50 coupon sold me. Glad I finally tried it (after years of browsing and thinking about renting). I will definitely rent again!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2013

Great party dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It's a super cute and fun dress, great for a party with it's hot pink hue. A fab fit for someone with bigger hips like me. I paired it with a skinny black belt and black pumps.
Hillary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2013

Cute cut!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I did not wear this dress but tried it on. I loved the fit, cut, fabric but the color was a bit glaring for me. I just wish the color was bit more subdued.
Brittny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

Such a fun dress but not good fit for large body types.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is just fun and cheerful. The hot pink color (even brighter than what it appears to be on the site!) will immediately put a smile on your face. I loved this dress, but it unfortunately didn't look right with my body type. Hopefully after losing all this winter weight, I'll be able to rent it again and look fabulous in it for spring!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Definitely made a statement!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a gala for our local animal shelter, and I had at least a dozen women come and tell me I was the best dressed girl at the event!
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

classic kate spade dress in hot pink

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
beautiful dress, well structured and great material. i did not actually wear the dress as the color was too bright, much brighter than the website picture. if you want an attention grabber, this is the perfect dress.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Not a dress for petite ladies!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Even the 0 seemed to be too big and hit in the wrong places- may work better for larger busts. Dress also seemed really long on me (5 2') - hit at knees or below.
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Comfortable and stylish!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I would definitely buy this dress, if given the option. It is versatile, people raved about the color and style. I wore it to a cocktail attire gala and thought it was perfect. Fabric is stretchy, but the waist is a little short, so I would not size down. This is retro with a modern twist.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Many compliments at the event!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented three dresses, and this option turned out to be the best dress for me. It is a great polished cotton, nice weight, not too light or too heavy and the quality was really good. Loved the pockets! They are well hidden, do not stick out at the hip area. The fit was great for a 'fit and flare' style, with plenty of room in the bust area, a nipped-in waist and an easy flare over the hips without looking too tight or too baggy. The length was perfect for my height, just at the knees. I wore dove gray shoes for the wedding, and open-toe nude pumps for the reception. Loved it and received so many compliments at the wedding!
Renee
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2013

More like a smock.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I did not enjoy this dress. My actual size was not available on my event dates so I selected -1 and +1 size from my true size. The smaller size actually fit but everything about this was bad for my body type. The material was much thicker and matte than I expected. I was really excited about a bright color for spring but unless you are a size 2...you will look like a walking bottle of pepto bismol. Idid not wear this look, I ended up wearing my black backup dress for my event which I did love. I will not be renting this look again nor recommending it to anyone.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
May 12, 2013

I LOVE RTR but I had to return this dress because it just didn't fit by body right.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was my first time returning a RTR dress. The dress fit, but it wasn't flattering on me. It was big in the arms and abdomen area. It was super easy to get this dress returned.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 24, 2013

Great Luncheon Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. The length and fit were perfect. I am tall, almost 5'10" and I wore this dress with tall wedges and was not worried about the length at all. The fabric is surprisingly interesting, I suppose the best way to describe is a neoprene-esk.
Alexandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 27, 2013

The compliments were the best!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Darling dress. Fit like a glove.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
May 29, 2013

More of an empire waist

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Really cute; color is so bright and fun! And the full skirt with the pockets is great. However, I found it to be more of an empire waist. I would have preferred something with a lower waist.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2013

Fun, bright and pink!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this bright pink dress...was perfect for a daytime shower I attended. Got tons of compliments!!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Best Dress Ever!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding and received more compliments on it than any dress I've ever worn. Multiple women told me it was the best dress at the wedding! I highly recommend it. So cute. So flattering. Wish I owned it :)
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

The pockets made it perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my college graduation, it was the perfect mix of fun and classy for pictures with my family that I will see for years to come. The pockets were great for keeping a few items on me during the ceremony since I obviously couldn't have my purse. I usually go between a 4 and 6 in dresses but definitely could not have worn the 6 in this.
Kristen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable and flattering.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Perfect dress for teen, LOTS of compliments on classy standout style.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my daughter's 8th grade graduation ceremony. While girl after girl paraded up to the front in low-cut and thigh-high dresses (like baby deer in their wobbly heels, bless their hearts), she looked all confidence and class in this dress. It's almost neon bright (and the color is not consistent from dress to dress), slightly to the coral end of pink. Length is fun, but still fairly modest, and the fit is superb on a slightly hourglass girl frame. Everyone raved how stunning she looked - which is the real litmus test - because it wasn't about the dress itself, but how great it made HER look. For stats, she's typically a 2, height 5'6", weight around 115, bust 32C, slightly hourglass.
Elaine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 22, 2013

Loved the color and got a lot of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was very comfortable but pretty creased when it arrived. Creases fell out with steaming
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

I didn't wear for my event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit is awkward for women with small waist and long torso. It cuts in at the belly button instead of natural waist. Would look better on women with smaller torso.
Colby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 1, 2013

not what I expected, but not bad

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was far brighter than I thought it was going to be. And it did not have the classic look it appears to in the pictures but all in all it was a pretty dress
charlene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

What a great, comfortable dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits like a glove and is very comfortable..The fabric is a bit heavy, I wore to an outdoor event in a heat wave!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×