kate spade new york

Bubbles Upon Bubbles Dress

$76 to buy
$478 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for something playful for the wedding brunch. This bubble print dress by kate spade new york is a fun and flattering option!

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed Mikado Silk (54% Silk, 46% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with hidden side pockets. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
190 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 17, 2014
Good dress for a wedding
Contrary to other reviews, I found this dress to be a perfect fit. It worked very well for an outdoor wedding I attended - offered just the right amount of conservative-ness without feeling frumpy. My only complaint is the lining of the dress very clearly hung lower than the hem of the dress. That would have been OK if it was intentional and even all around the whole skirt, but it only hung lower in the front center. The pockets were a nice bonus.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this dress!!
This dress fit perfectly and was a good design for the outdoor wedding I was attending. I got several compliments and would definitely recommend this dress. I loved the cut and coloring on the dress. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 19, 2014
adorable for a wedding shower.
Top is a bit tight, I'm a 34d and the 4 fit ok, but still a little snug. Loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2014
Looked fun and classy.
A little tight in the top and it flared out a little more in the hips than I thought it would. Overall though it was a good fit and it looked very nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2014
This dress fit perfectly, like it was tailored.
Very well-made dress, with lots of attention to details. Conservative for a formal event but still very fun. Lots of compliments with the suggested necklace!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
June 27, 2014
I felt beautiful! Fun print, but still classy
This photo is from after a hot outdoor wedding. It's very tight on the top; just last weekend I rented another dress in a size 12, but I'm glad I got the next size up for this one. Pockets are nice, flare is nice. I would rent this dress again, but I don't know if it's my favorite. My skin has pink undertones, I felt very pink. The necklace on the model is a nice accessory. The length of the dress is nice, bending over I didn't fear of exposing myself
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
June 30, 2014
Fit like a glove - so cute and fun!
I was so sad to return this dress :( It fit me like a glove and hugged my curves in all the right spots. The dress doesn't have much stretch to it so if you're bigger busted (like me) you may want to get the next size up as your backup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
July 1, 2014
Not good for large busts :(
I was so sad that this dress didn't fit. We couldn't zip me up over my bust. The zipper also pulled at the lining quite a bit, so we could be as forceful as we were with my other dress. But it was a beautiful dress and would let you wear a normal bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 3, 2014
I was so comfortable and able to enjoy my sister's rehearsal dinner with no worries!
I wore it with black peep toe shoes, the matching necklace and bag and some black stretch bracelets and black diamond earrings. It was so comfortable and allowed me to enjoy the entire night. Another great dress from Kate Spade!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
July 4, 2014
This was my first RTR experience and everything was perfect
Dress fit great, the bust is slightly unforgiving but it wasn't a problem, I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 6, 2014
Amazing Dress!!
This dress was perfect!!! I got so many compliments on it. It's very comfortable and I love the pockets! I ordered size 4 but the 2 seemed to fit a little better, I recently lost weight though so I think the fit is true to size. Definitely another great RTR moment!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 8, 2014
Sophistication with a little splash of fun!
This dress fit perfectly for my shape (small frame on top, wider on the bottom!). I felt sophisticated and classy at the ceremony and was able to have a great time dancing at the reception without feeling restricted at all. The colors are perfect for spring/summer. The rose gold zipper accent was beautiful and I added black/rose gold accessories to dress it up even more. Would definitely rent again or recommend to others!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
July 8, 2014
loved it!
was perfect rehersal dinner dress. usually wear 12 in Kate Spade, as usual 12 was perfect. Was able to wear without a bra, which is always a plus.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 9, 2014
Classic with a twist!
This dress is a perfect classic cut--very flattering on! The bubble print keeps it fresh and stylish without being over the top. Perfect for an afternoon event, such as a bridal shower or luncheon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 12, 2014
Lots of compliments! Loved dancing in this dress
Fits true to size and the fabric was perfect for both indoors and out which was what this event was.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 13, 2014
Plenty of compliments.
So, just ignore my expression and look at the fit of the dress. :). I am normally a 0 or 2 and the 0 was a perfect fit. I am very small busted (34AA) and the bust fit perfectly with just a little "help" in the form of cutlets. I almost could have pulled it off without them, but I do think the dress looked better with the added volume. I wore this dress to a Summer afternoon wedding and it was exactly right for the occasion. The print wasn't as crisp as I thought and so the color looked a bit muddy but, overall, I was quite pleased with my choice. I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 14, 2014
Lovely dress but was in poor condition
This dress is really lovely & flattering, but unfortunately I was disappointed in the condition it was in. I wore it anyway and it wasn't immediately noticeable, but the fabric on the skirt appeared damaged and there were numerous snags. That said, I received a lot of compliments on this dress. Runs large, but can be tight in the chest for large-busted women. Rented it along with the necklace in the picture but chose to wear my own necklace instead - I thought the black was a little dark/intense for this dress and opted for more colorful one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2014
My favorite dress I've ever rented
While listing that it runs small, it only runs small in one place-- natural waist/rib cage. Otherwise, very true to size. I was still able to wear my usual 4, but with a tighter bra (and I don't have a particularly large chest), and it was snug. I loved the shape it gave me, though it definitely needs a good necklace to counter the very high neckline. The one on the model is what I rented and it was PERFECT. In real life, the fabric feels very rich, and the color is much prettier than the pictures make it out to be. Lastly, pockets. Enough said.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 15, 2014
I received tons of compliments. The dress was comfortable!
Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 17, 2014
Perfect dress for the occasion!
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. The only downside is that it was a little tight in the ribcage when I was seated. Otherwise it was great, and I'm considering renting it again for a wedding this fall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 18, 2014
Small in bust for sure but overall amazing dress
The only complaint I have about this dress is there's really no stretch to the fabric. I have 34DD and I usually wear a size 8. I pretty much had to cram my chest to for in a size 8 and the size 10 wasn't available. But it didn't look crazy after zipping it since the fabric is pretty thick.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2014
didn't wear it because the fabric was a bit strange and there was too much volume on the bottom.
fit was perfect! color was cute and the idea of the dress was nice it just wasn't appropriate for the wedding i was going to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156lbs
July 23, 2014
Pretty and flattering dress
This is a pretty and comfortable dress. I sized up which made it very comfy around the waist. The armholes & shoulders were perhaps a little big on me, but I prefer to be comfortable over wearing a dress that squeezes me. It's fairly thick fabric, and it is completely lined. This particular dress no longer had its rose gold zipper; it had been replaced by a silver zipper which didn't slide all that smoothly. Took quite a bit of care to keep the lining from getting stuck in the zipper. Also, the dress needed a good pressing to remove what looked like "bubbles" between the outer layer and what it was bonded to. The dress had some condition issues, but RTR customer service resolved them very well. I also chose the necklace shown on the model - thought it went with the dress nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 5, 2014
Absolutely perfect fit!
Unfortunately, I do not have a photo to provide. I did not get a full shot of the dress :( However, I will still proceed to brag about how awesome this dress was! It was a perfect fit and a beautiful print/color for a summer wedding. The material wasn't too heavy and wasn't too flimsy. There was no tugging or adjusting (which I am notorious for --especially when I am dancing at a wedding), once it was on, it stayed in place and I was comfortable to move around. It fit like a glove and I felt classy and beautiful. Another successful rental!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2014
Great dress worn for sisters bridal shower
Like some reviews have stated it is a little tight in the bust, but not uncomfortably so. This dress was extremely comfortable and was very easy to move around in. Would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 12, 2014
Would have loved to wear this dress however I was unable to zip it and wear it.
I typically fluctuate between size 12-14, this dress was not available in a 14 and sadly it it did not fit. This was my first rent the runway experience and customer service took great care of me getting me a second dress for my event. To it's credit this dress was beautiful and had it fit I would've worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 12, 2014
Color Pop!
I wore this to an early summer wedding, and I love it. The fit was perfect, I loved it. It was tight in the chest, but everything is on me, so whatever.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2014
Great Dress
Very pretty dress which was comfortable to wear all day while I hosted a baby shower for my sister-in-law. The fabric is very thick but it didn't make the dress overly hot even though the party was in late June. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2014
Perfect party dress!
This dress was really nice and fun to wear. It was very comfortable and had pockets. My first dress arrived damaged with a hem that hung below it but Rent the Runway was able to send out another the next morning just in time for me to leave to our function. The dress fit in my usual size and I did not order a backup size. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2014
This was an amazing experience.
The dress fit perfectly. It was extremely flattering. All the reviews about it being snug through the chest were accurate. It was comfortable and absolutely beautiful. Some folks said that the pink was more than expected. I thought all of the colors mixed well. Love RTR can't wait for my next event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 25, 2014
Beautiful dress for my bridal shower!
Got SO many compliments on this dress! It fit me perfectly. The quality of the dress was amazing. Would recommend to others!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 29, 2014
too big, but very unique
I wasn't able to wear this dress (hence, no picture) because it was too big for me. RTR doesn't carry a lot of size 00 dresses so I was hopeful this dress would fit me, but sadly, there was an extra 1 inch of fabric on each side of my underarms/ribcage when I zipped the dress up. Wearing a more padded bra did not help. It definitely was way too large. The print is also far more PINK in undertone than the picture shows. Very unique, but not at all discrete. I definitely think a statement necklace is key, as when I tried the dress on alone, it felt like it was missing something. The necklace pairing in the picture with the large black stones is a great accompanying piece. Also, the dress has POCKETS!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 1, 2014
Beautiful material - fun style!
This dress was great - it fit true to size, was slightly short on me (5'-11), but still a decent length. I got several compliments on it at the wedding. The fit and flare is very unique, the color is slightly more pink that it is pictured, and it has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 9, 2014
Perfect for a wedding shower
Everyone said it runs small and given my 34 DDD I knew I needed to go up a size. It was comfortable and cute and I thought very flattering. (I will add a picture when I get one). The material was quite soft. I would buy this dress if I could or rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
September 11, 2014
Loved this dress! Perfect for a wedding!
Wore this to my brother in laws outdoor September wedding in Tahoe. I was comfortable all night! I didn't get too hot yet it's a thicker material which actually helped as the temperature started to drop in the evening. Wore with black peep toe heels. Recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 15, 2014
I wore this for my son's Baptism and received many compliments.
I thought this dress fit true to size and was flattering overall. Looking back at the pictures from the event, I do feel that the fullness of the dress made me look a tad bit larger than I am in the hip and fanny area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2014
Very cool pattern
I didn't end up wearing this dress (but my mom did! That's her in the photo). I can usually wear a 0 and 2 interchangeably but this size 2 was way too big for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2014
Great Wedding Dress
This dress was beautiful and very well made. I am a little small up top so I had to wear a bra. The dress has pockets too which is always a bonus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2014
Great customer services as always made this rental special
I really liked the colors and the look of the dress (plus for pockets!) but the fabric was very heavy and the cut wasn't great for me. Oh well!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 21, 2014
Fun, gorgeous dress!
This dress is beautiful, but it's tight in the bust. I had to wear a minimizing bra to fit into the 12. It didn't make it look like I had a uni-boob or anything, which was nice. Other than that, it's super flattering, especially in the waist, and the pockets are a plus!
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×