kate spade new york

Bubbles Upon Bubbles Dress

$76 to buy
$478 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for something playful for the wedding brunch. This bubble print dress by kate spade new york is a fun and flattering option!

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed Mikado Silk (54% Silk, 46% Cotton). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt with hidden side pockets. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
191 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(120)
Small
(34)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
April 4, 2014
I never got to wear this. They didn't have a backup size and the size I got was absurdly small.

The bodice is tight, no give, and none of the reviews mentioned how small it runs. I'm usually a size 8 and I got a size 10 to be on the safe side and I could barely zip it over my bust. The seam down the front would not lay flat and my boobs looked like a shelf. Unflattering. I spend money for nothing, because I couldn't wear it and there was no backup size.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
April 30, 2014
So easy and I got tons of compliments!

The top fits tight, around the chest area. I had a 2 on but it wouldn't zip. It was almost like my back was too wide for the 2. I had to go up to the 4.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 220lbs
June 8, 2014
My future sister in laws bridal shower

The dress was tight in the ribcage and breasts in my normal size 12, i had to wear the 14, it was really nice! I got a lot of compliments, could not wear a bra though but you could not tell. I was so tired that day so thank goodness I didnt have to think about accessories etc. i got the necklace the model had on to pair w it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
June 27, 2014
I felt beautiful! Fun print, but still classy

This photo is from after a hot outdoor wedding. It's very tight on the top; just last weekend I rented another dress in a size 12, but I'm glad I got the next size up for this one. Pockets are nice, flare is nice. I would rent this dress again, but I don't know if it's my favorite. My skin has pink undertones, I felt very pink. The necklace on the model is a nice accessory. The length of the dress is nice, bending over I didn't fear of exposing myself

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
July 1, 2014
Not good for large busts :(

I was so sad that this dress didn't fit. We couldn't zip me up over my bust. The zipper also pulled at the lining quite a bit, so we could be as forceful as we were with my other dress. But it was a beautiful dress and would let you wear a normal bra.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2014
My favorite dress I've ever rented

While listing that it runs small, it only runs small in one place-- natural waist/rib cage. Otherwise, very true to size. I was still able to wear my usual 4, but with a tighter bra (and I don't have a particularly large chest), and it was snug. I loved the shape it gave me, though it definitely needs a good necklace to counter the very high neckline. The one on the model is what I rented and it was PERFECT. In real life, the fabric feels very rich, and the color is much prettier than the pictures make it out to be. Lastly, pockets. Enough said.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 17, 2014
Perfect dress for the occasion!

This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. The only downside is that it was a little tight in the ribcage when I was seated. Otherwise it was great, and I'm considering renting it again for a wedding this fall!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
August 12, 2014
Would have loved to wear this dress however I was unable to zip it and wear it.

I typically fluctuate between size 12-14, this dress was not available in a 14 and sadly it it did not fit. This was my first rent the runway experience and customer service took great care of me getting me a second dress for my event. To it's credit this dress was beautiful and had it fit I would've worn it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 9, 2014
Perfect for a wedding shower

Everyone said it runs small and given my 34 DDD I knew I needed to go up a size. It was comfortable and cute and I thought very flattering. (I will add a picture when I get one). The material was quite soft. I would buy this dress if I could or rent again!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
September 21, 2014
Fun, gorgeous dress!

This dress is beautiful, but it's tight in the bust. I had to wear a minimizing bra to fit into the 12. It didn't make it look like I had a uni-boob or anything, which was nice. Other than that, it's super flattering, especially in the waist, and the pockets are a plus!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2014
This dress has a really pretty print and the cut is very appropriate for a family wedding.

I loved that the length is a little longer and the overall fit was very flattering... the top is very fitted which bothered me a little. Also the hook and eye on my particular dress did not work so the dress was coming unzipped all night (not to the point where it fell off but people kept coming up to me to fix it). Also, the lining on my dress was longer that the outside so that was out all night too. small details i'm sure only i noticed but it did bother me quite a bit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 13, 2014
Beautiful dress

I loved the dress, but it definitely runs small. The six was fine once someone else helped zip me into it. The fabric is a bit thick which was great for a cold October day, but you would want to be careful of in warm weather. Fun dress and got lots of compliments, but not one of my favorite rentals.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 17, 2014
Classy, feminine, and fun!

Loved this dress! Felt classy and feminine with the flared skirt and color. It was perfect for the occasion. This dress definitely ran small through the midsection - I would recommend going a size up. I ended up using my second size 8.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2014
Fun and flirty

Fun and flirty, but tight in the bust. I should have ordered a size up for my figure. 32DDD/34DD. The fabric is thicker than I thought it would be. Colors and pattern are as advertised.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 28, 2015
Classy, modest dress worn to a baptism.

The top and midsection area runs a bit small. I could have gotten away with the 4, but the 6 gave a bit more room up top and in the middle. If you are larger up top I would aim towards the next size up. Great overall fit and look as the top and waist area is fitted and the bottom flairs out. Perfect balance of modesty and sophistication I need to wear to the church to christen my godson.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 19, 2015
I couldn't wear this dress at all because it was too small!

The fit was too small and I didn't know about the merchandise credit until it was too late. I couldn't wear this dress so had to scramble and find something else. Also, the dress was too long. I'm only 5'2 and the dress went down to my ankles.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2014
Very cute dress but tight in upper back/shoulders

This Kate Spade dress is so fun- playful pattern and forgiving A-line shape in the skirt. But let me tell you- it was tight in the upper back/shoulder area for me. I know I have a broad back but I had to have my boyfriend zip me in and it was slightly uncomfortable at first but manageable. Fortunately you can wear a regular bra with this dress no problem (it even has the built in snaps on top of each shoulder so you can keep the straps in place). Received the best compliment from another wedding guest, "You are so pretty, like movie star pretty!" That was enough to make up for the tightness! Order one size up from what you would normally wear and you'll be all set!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 22, 2015
I was told I had the prettiest dress of the night!

A fun print, flattering fit, and pockets for snacks!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2015
Loved this dress! Got compliments all night!

It fit well everywhere except for the bust. The bust was VERY tight. I typically wear a size four and order a size six as my backup, but the size six was unavaliable for the weekend that I needed it, so I decided to just go with the size four. The bust was very tight, but without a bra, it worked.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2015
Perfect Kate Spade dress!

I loved this dress, I've had my eye on it for months and I finally had the perfect wedding to wear it. I usually wear size 4 or 6 dress but the 6 was sold out so I rented a 4 and 8 and I'm so glad I got the larger size since I ended up wearing the 8. The top part of the dress is very fitted, if you have larger than a C or D cup I definitely think you should size up, I could barely zip the size 4 and breathing wasn't much of an option but the 8 was perfect. This dress is also great for taller girls, I'm almost 6ft and the length was just above the knee which can be hard to find. I loved the pockets and they were a great surprise. A few other people have pointed out that the lining of the dress hangs slightly lower than the top but it didn't really bother me. Overall I loved this dress, I wanted to keep it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
October 12, 2015
A wedding for longtime friends

This dress did not fit across the chest, so I would size up for larger chested women.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 29, 2014
Beautiful, fun dress and bump friendly!

Wore this dress at 15 weeks pregnant. Ordered one and two sizes up, and went with largest because of pretty tight bust area. Dress is unique and flattering. Bump barely appeared due to nice flowy A-line. Pockets too! Loved this one.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2015
Nice dress but chest runs small and waist is short

I ordinarily will wear a size 4 but squeezed into the 6 for my nephew's wedding. Knowing that Kate Spade dresses run small I ordered a 6 with an 8 as a backup. The 8 had a longer waist but was all around too large in the chest. I ended up wearing a silver belt with the 6 at my actual waist (which was below the dress's waist) so I didn't look so large. I received a lot of compliments but would not rent again because it just wasn't a good fit for me.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 29, 2016
Very pretty, but awkward sizing

I rented this for a baby shower. There was not a back up size available so I just got my normal size. I was able to zip the dress just under my rib cage, and that is where the zipper stopped. I've worn a lot of other Kate Spade dresses and am a true 4. I think the stitching makes the cut smaller, because as others have said it is tight in the bust. Since it didn't fit and I didn't have a back up, I was unable to wear this dress. Definitely size up for your back up size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
January 11, 2014
Perfect for an afternoon wedding!

Beautifully made Kate Spade dress. I don't normally wear anything that is pink, but the pattern is a perfect blend of pinks, gray, and white. The pockets were so handy so I didn't have to carry a purse. I do think this dress fits better on individuals who have a long torso and probably would not be best for a larger bust.

JessicaJanuary 11, 2014
Was the dress more knee-length or tea-length on you? Trying to get a sense of how long it is on us more petite girls. Thanks!
JessicaJanuary 11, 2014
Was the dress more knee-length or tea-length on you? Trying to get a sense of how long it is on us more petite girls. Thanks!
ParsonsJanuary 11, 2014
It hit right above my knee
JessicaJanuary 11, 2014
Thanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2014
Lovely Print, Interesting Fit

I am very familiar with how Kate Spade dresses fit and I usually wear a 2 or a 4. The fabric that this dress is made of does not have much (if any) give, so I found it to be tight and compressing across my chest. I wore the 4 for that reason. It still fit perfectly in the waist and arms, but for some reason, the chest was quite tight. I switched to a non-push-up bra and it helped a bit. I'd recommend sizing up. Otherwise, it's a gorgeous print! I received a lot of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 7, 2014
Runs quite small

Ordered my normal size 8, also had a size 10 ordered for back up; neither fit...way too small. RTR didn't have a size 12 available for my event. Very Disapointing...but all worked out in the end after several hours on line and many calls to RTR we found an alternate dress and thankfully it was overnighted in time for my event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 2, 2014
Too small at top

I ordered this dress as my free birthday dress. Almost every dress I wanted was not available, so I went ahead with one because it is so pretty. I read the reviews that said the top was snug and they were right. So if you're busty at all, consider a different dress. But, if you're more slim on top with a fuller bottom, this would be a great fit. The material is a bit thick so, great for spring but not so much for really hot summer weather.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 5, 2015
Love the fabric of this dress

This dress was gorgeous, and a great dress for a luncheon. The fabric of this dress is so cool - almost neoprene in a way, but not at all heavy. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2015
Too small. Didn't get to wear it :(

This dress runs very small. I am normally between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 wouldn't fit, so I didn't end up wearing the dress. I'd say order a size up and another up to be safe. The quality was very nice other than that!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2016
Rented this dress for a Mad Men themed birthday party.

This dress was very tight in the chest area. I'm very small on top, especially in the bust, and I had a hard time zipping it all the way up. I managed to do it, but just couldn't breathe or eat all night :)

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
December 22, 2013
A fun party dress that will make you feel comfortably pretty.

I took the advice on ordering a size down but wish I had done the opposite because the dress is very fitted around the waist. The rest of the dress fits very comfortably, the material feels a bit padded so it's perfect for a winter party. The skirt is full and I love how it swings! Added pockets are a plus.

RTR CustomerDecember 22, 2013
I really like the dress on you! I have an early May wedding to attend in Sacramento, Ca and the temp. could possibly be in the 80's or higher. Do you think the material is a bit heavy?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
January 3, 2014
Classy & Quirky makes for a great NYE dress!

This was the perfect dress for New Year’s Eve. It was comfortable, classy and something different from the typically black New Year’s Eve attire. The pockets are a wonderful perk and allowed me to always have my lip gloss nearby. This dress runs very true to size and there is no stretch in the fabric. I would recommend ordering your regular size and select the size larger for your extra dress…just in case.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 27, 2014
As always, great customer service

Really pretty fabric. Easy to dress up or down. Very slimming, hits at the narrow part of waist. It was supposed to arrive on Thursday and got here on Wednesday. Love that.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
February 9, 2014
Perfect dress for a fun party!

I loved, loved, loved this dress. It's a little tight in the bust, but that's standard for me and dresses. It was also a little long in the waist, since I'm on the short side, but I just tucked it up a bit and added a sparkle belt. Between the belt and a black tuxedo jacket, it was a really fun and unique outfit. Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 16, 2014
I loved this dress. It is very feminine and perfect for a night of dancing!

It fit me perfectly...very fitted through the torso, fun flare at the waist, hit slightly above the knee. I loved the pockets...great place to stash a lipstick.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
February 23, 2014
Cute dress

This dress was very cute. Snug around the upper waist/bust, but the rest was very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 9, 2014
Perfect dress, wonderful experience & totally comfortable, well worth it!

I certainly could have worn the 8, but chose to wear the 10 just because it was a smidge more comfortable. I am a 36B in the bust, with a 31 inch waist. The style of this dress was complimentary to my figure. I found it very comfortable and enjoyed the pockets. I normally wear either an 8 or a 10, depending on the designer. I wore the dress to a business dinner that my husband was hosting and received several compliments. Along with the dress, I wore sheer black tights, patent leather shoes and topped it with a beaded cropped cardigan. I am very pleased with my first experience with RTR.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 11, 2014
Loved it!

The dress met all my expectations. It fit well and looked great. i was worried that it might make me look "wide" since I already have "full" hips but it did not. Highly recommended!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 14, 2014
Fun and Professional!

I rented this dress for a work party. It fit me perfectly and was very comfortable. The length of the skirt and the neckline were very appropriate for a professional setting, but the print and cut are so flirty and cute that it was still very fun. I was helping to run the party, so the pockets were a very helpful surprise! I loved renting this dress, and I'm sure it'll be the first of many fabulous Kate Spade adventures for me!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×