Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Boy Meets Girl Dress

$68 to buy
$458 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this black and white floral kate spade new york doll dress. Simply adorable for all those weddings coming up! Stick to earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Ocean Moon Earrings and a glitzy clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white printed cotton sateen. Bateau neckline. Cap sleeves. Belted waist. Ruffle hem. Exposed back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size49
Small21
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2013
Straight with little give
This dress is not good for a girl with curves. I think it runs a size small, and really should be on someone with a straighter figure. Mine did not fit (even with the spanx), so I had to wear something else to my bridal tea. I would choose a size up for a second size.
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 18, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress.
Very professional and polished!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2013
Lovely dress for a short-waisted person
The dress is very nicely made. I really liked the feel of the fabric and the print. On me, though, the waist and hip points were about 3" too high. Sizing up only made the waist way too loose. I am tall, but most of my height is in my legs - I don't normally have an issue with dresses being too short waisted. Also, although the fabric looks white in the photos, it is distinctly off-white IRL. I didn't have an issue with the belt like previous reviewers - mine fit perfectly. So maybe RTR has fixed that issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 11, 2013
Adorable dress, but too small in the chest for me to wear.
I ordered this dress for a work conference and was unable to wear it. The chest was too tight. I normally wear an 8 or a 10 in dresses, but even the 10 didn't fit. It zipped but smashed my chest and was unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
February 10, 2013
So cute, but didn't fit
This was a really cute dress, but I would size up next time as it didn't fit at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
January 13, 2013
Very classy and perfect for the occasion.
Fit like a glove and looked awesome for my son's high school graduation in June. Went from stadium to country club party and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, but...
Other renters said this ran true to size to large, so I ordered my size (12) and a backup 10. Unfortunately, the 12 didn't fit in the hips and barely zipped all the way up. In this case, I should have ordered up a size with my real size as backup! I had to return the dress without wearing it and had no time due to the holiday to have a replacement shipped, so they're crediting this to my account for next time. Great RTR PEOPLE experience, I think I should order up next time for a good RTR DRESS experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party.
This dress is a perfect combination of classic yet sexy. I rented the size 2 and size 4- the 2 was a little tight on me (34D) so I decided to wear the 4. Neither dress came with a belt so I took a trip to the mall and picked up a really cute bow belt. The dress actually has a sheen to it so it looks better in person. I wore some classic 5 inch pointy toe heels and the look was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
II thought this dress would be a nice change of pace for my husband's company holiday dinner party.
This dress fit very comfortably. I wore it to an evening dinner party. I was very comfortable all evening. This dress is snug in the waist, but in a good way. It felt elegant. The belt did not fit my waist..so I tied a black sash around my waist. It worked very well. The best part is how much fun Rent the Runway is to use. They are amazing and very kind and easy to work with.
MarleenJanuary 27, 2013
this dress looks great on you. I was looking @ this dress for an upcoming event in May. I was wondering if it was too "young" for me. We're in the same age range, so your posting immediately answered my question!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
I received a thousand compliments on this dress!
The dress is gorgeous! Runs a little large. The 2 was big on me and that is unusual. The quality of the dress was top notch and I loved it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
November 26, 2012
Tons of Complements
It was a great dress, but don't put it on until you're ready to walk out the door. It wrinkles VERY easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2012
Classic, Comfortable & Fun!
Not only did the dress fit super well (without hose or Spanx!), it also survived being packed into a bag and loaded onto a bus from Boston to NYC, then worn on the subway to the wedding in Brooklyn, a trolley ride through Bklyn, and then a bar crawl back up Smith Street!! Talk about a super dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
November 14, 2012
Lovely cut, beautiful fit!
This dress was only available in a 0, so I was thinking it was going to be too small, but it fit perfectly! It was a bit tight in the rib cage, but nothing I couldn't handle. The belt was also too big for the dress, so it looked better without it, but overall it was really comfortable and I liked the material. However, the ruffle part on the bottom was wrinkled and needed to be steamed. I didn't have time for that and I had rented a second look (because I was afraid of the size issue), so I ended up wearing the other one, but I absolutely loved this dress and wished I had more time and another occasion to wear it to!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Got so many compliments on this dress, and pointed everyone to RTR.
Fits totally true to size. The only mishap for me was the belts. I am an 8, so I got an 8 and a 10. Well, the belts were totally different styles for both sizes! The 8 belt was too big but the 10 belt fit better. But that 10 was the wrong style belt. SO, if they had sent the right belt, they both would have been too big. Long story short, I think I read another review that said order your size and then 1 size down so you can use that smaller belt. Totally agree with that. The dress was gorgeous AND comfortable. Loved it! Wish I owned it -- I'd wear it again. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2012
#classysexy
This dress fits so perfect, made me feel really pretty! Very form fitting! I ended up wearing the yellow Kate Spade swing dress but this was a strong runner up! I will most likely re-rent this one since I didnt get a chance to wear it! Nude shoes, red lips, who gonna stop me :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Love this dress
Great style, feel like wearing it all day. People loved it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Absolutely love this dress.
Awesome dress. The flare hits your knee just right so it moves when you walk. I wore this for a bridal shower, and everyone loved it. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
October 3, 2012
Comfortable to wear.
True to size. It wears well even on short statures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
Very classy dress.
The chest/torso is super tight. The hips were on the looser side though, so that was a little weird. The length is great for tall girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
Runs small
This dress fits really small. I could barely squeeze into the 12 and I usually wear a 10. I am short in the waist. and I have hips and booty. Really did not fit me well at all. I am returning it. The top part was too big/long on me and the hips too tight. It will fit you well if you have a long waist and order at least a size up if you have hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2012
Very classy, elegant dress.
I rented this for my graduation right after I delivered a baby. It looked great. I was very happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 7, 2012
Family Wedding Reception
Wore this for a wedding reception and got many compliments. Very comfortable, actually, and fits very well. Loved it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 5, 2012
Fabulous
This dress was just fabulous - i wore it for a graduation party and got lot of compliments;)...very decent and very figure flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 4, 2012
Very comfortable dress for an outdoor wedding
Loved this dress and would rent it again. Fabric is medium weight, but not too heavy for an outdoor wedding in LA. It got up to the low 90's, but thankfully was down to the 80's by the time of the ceremony! Liked that you can use a regular bra with it, as it has the little thread stays to hold the straps in place. Contrasting gold zipper is also a nice touch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 30, 2012
Beautiful Dress, Runs Small
After reading that many others found the dress to run large, I ordered a size smaller than my usual, which would normally be a 10. The 10 wasn't available for my rental period, so I figured that would be ok. The dress doesn't zip past my rib cage. Even if I could get it to zip all the way, it would be incredibly snug. It's a beautiful dress. Disappointed that I won't be able to wear it, but glad that I ordered a backup dress from RTR and that it fit my sister-in-law perfectly, so at least someone was able to wear it! Hopefully I'll be able to rent the next size up for a future event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
I had a great experience with RTR. I was a little nervous, because I'm a little older, can't really wear some of the newest styles at my age!! My daughter helped me pick the dress, and we had a great mother-daughter collaboration on it! The dress was beautiful, I felt good in it. The process was very convenient. I'll definitely rent another beautiful dress again!
I loved the dress, even though the bust was a bit loose on me. The fabric was very nice, it was becoming, a little longer than I was expecting, but still I got many compliments. Easy to dance in!! I think a size 8 would have been a better fit, however that size was not available at the time, so I went with a 10 (which is the size I usually wear).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 15, 2012
Everyone just loved the dress. It fit perfect for the theme!
This dress was perfect for the bridal tea shower I hosted for my best friend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Classy dress!
I wore this to my semi-formal college graduation. It was a perfect length for an affair that my parents and grandparents were attending. I was the envy of my fashion-obsessed sister in this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
August 11, 2012
Wonderful classy dress!
I've rented this twice now and it's a wonderful classic piece to wear for a nice brunch, for a casual wedding or any time you want to look fabulous! I actually don't think it runs that large--it's large in the chest but pretty fitted in the waist and hips (or maybe that's just a sign I need to lose a few pounds!) This dress is very pretty and feminine. The fabric is also high quality and has a slight sheen to it in person. I actually don't think as much of the belt it comes with, to be honest (it's sort of a cheap plastic-y material, not up to the caliber of the dress). However, it's worth a rental for the dress itself, which is the most important part. Worth a look!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Kate Spade Floral Dress
I was very happy with this dress. It looked exactly as the picture online and there were no surprises. It fit true to size and was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this. A classic look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2012
My over-critical BFF who hated the dress when I showed it to him online was stunned. He said it fit like it was made for me.
I ordered an 8 and a 6 - they both fit. They seemed to fit me the same in my hips, but the 8 was a bit blousey on top. The 6 was definitely more fitted up top, so overall a better look. This dress is absolutely gorgeous - it's classic, comfortable to dance and sit in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 20, 2012
Having a backup dress was perfect because my first choice did not fit.
I wore this dress for a wedding reception and got tons of compliments. I normally wear a 6 and it fit perfectly. The belt adds a great touch and it was very flattering to my figure. It was easy to sit, move and dance in. I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 29, 2012
Tried something different
I rented this dress for a bridal shower and a christening. I rented a 2 and a 4. The 2 was snug in the chest but I could still zip it. The 4 fit great in the chest but was big in the hip. I felt it did not fit me right and I didn't end up wearing it. Also, the style was not for me but the quality of the dress was beautiful.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 16, 2012
Pretty dress!
I ordered this dress for my main dress but ended up wearing my backup dress as I liked it better. This dress looked and fit nice however it was tight in the hip area. If you are between sizes order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
March 21, 2012
It is fun to wear something no one has seen me wearing before.
I wore this dress to my daughter's bridal shower. I enjoyed wearing it.
SusanJune 12, 2014
Did the material give at all
NoraJune 13, 2014
no, this fabric is NOT a stretch knit, so there is no give.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×