kate spade new york

Boy Meets Girl Dress

$68 to buy
$458 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this black and white floral kate spade new york doll dress. Simply adorable for all those weddings coming up! Stick to earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Ocean Moon Earrings and a glitzy clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white printed cotton sateen. Bateau neckline. Cap sleeves. Belted waist. Ruffle hem. Exposed back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

75 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 49
Large 4
Photos 27
Jyll
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

Pretty dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for my main dress but ended up wearing my backup dress as I liked it better. This dress looked and fit nice however it was tight in the hip area. If you are between sizes order a size up.
MG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 29, 2012

Tried something different

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a bridal shower and a christening. I rented a 2 and a 4. The 2 was snug in the chest but I could still zip it. The 4 fit great in the chest but was big in the hip. I felt it did not fit me right and I didn't end up wearing it. Also, the style was not for me but the quality of the dress was beautiful.
Amy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 10, 2012

Kate Spade Floral Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was very happy with this dress. It looked exactly as the picture online and there were no surprises. It fit true to size and was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this. A classic look.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Aug 11, 2012

Wonderful classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I've rented this twice now and it's a wonderful classic piece to wear for a nice brunch, for a casual wedding or any time you want to look fabulous! I actually don't think it runs that large--it's large in the chest but pretty fitted in the waist and hips (or maybe that's just a sign I need to lose a few pounds!) This dress is very pretty and feminine. The fabric is also high quality and has a slight sheen to it in person. I actually don't think as much of the belt it comes with, to be honest (it's sort of a cheap plastic-y material, not up to the caliber of the dress). However, it's worth a rental for the dress itself, which is the most important part. Worth a look!
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Aug 13, 2012

Classy dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my semi-formal college graduation. It was a perfect length for an affair that my parents and grandparents were attending. I was the envy of my fashion-obsessed sister in this!
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Beautiful Dress, Runs Small

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
After reading that many others found the dress to run large, I ordered a size smaller than my usual, which would normally be a 10. The 10 wasn't available for my rental period, so I figured that would be ok. The dress doesn't zip past my rib cage. Even if I could get it to zip all the way, it would be incredibly snug. It's a beautiful dress. Disappointed that I won't be able to wear it, but glad that I ordered a backup dress from RTR and that it fit my sister-in-law perfectly, so at least someone was able to wear it! Hopefully I'll be able to rent the next size up for a future event.
Shana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 7, 2012

Family Wedding Reception

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a wedding reception and got many compliments. Very comfortable, actually, and fits very well. Loved it!
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Very classy, elegant dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my graduation right after I delivered a baby. It looked great. I was very happy.
Amelia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Runs small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress fits really small. I could barely squeeze into the 12 and I usually wear a 10. I am short in the waist. and I have hips and booty. Really did not fit me well at all. I am returning it. The top part was too big/long on me and the hips too tight. It will fit you well if you have a long waist and order at least a size up if you have hips.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Sep 28, 2012

Very classy dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The chest/torso is super tight. The hips were on the looser side though, so that was a little weird. The length is great for tall girls.
adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Comfortable to wear.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size. It wears well even on short statures.
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2012

Absolutely love this dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Awesome dress. The flare hits your knee just right so it moves when you walk. I wore this for a bridal shower, and everyone loved it. Fits true to size.
Benghie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2012

Love this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great style, feel like wearing it all day. People loved it.
Ladybug
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

#classysexy

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits so perfect, made me feel really pretty! Very form fitting! I ended up wearing the yellow Kate Spade swing dress but this was a strong runner up! I will most likely re-rent this one since I didnt get a chance to wear it! Nude shoes, red lips, who gonna stop me :)
Christina
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Nov 26, 2012

Tons of Complements

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a great dress, but don't put it on until you're ready to walk out the door. It wrinkles VERY easily.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

I received a thousand compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The dress is gorgeous! Runs a little large. The 2 was big on me and that is unusual. The quality of the dress was top notch and I loved it.
rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Great dress for a holiday party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a perfect combination of classic yet sexy. I rented the size 2 and size 4- the 2 was a little tight on me (34D) so I decided to wear the 4. Neither dress came with a belt so I took a trip to the mall and picked up a really cute bow belt. The dress actually has a sheen to it so it looks better in person. I wore some classic 5 inch pointy toe heels and the look was perfect.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Beautiful dress, but...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Other renters said this ran true to size to large, so I ordered my size (12) and a backup 10. Unfortunately, the 12 didn't fit in the hips and barely zipped all the way up. In this case, I should have ordered up a size with my real size as backup! I had to return the dress without wearing it and had no time due to the holiday to have a replacement shipped, so they're crediting this to my account for next time. Great RTR PEOPLE experience, I think I should order up next time for a good RTR DRESS experience.
dcg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Very classy and perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit like a glove and looked awesome for my son's high school graduation in June. Went from stadium to country club party and it was perfect.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Feb 10, 2013

So cute, but didn't fit

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was a really cute dress, but I would size up next time as it didn't fit at all.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Feb 11, 2013

Adorable dress, but too small in the chest for me to wear.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress for a work conference and was unable to wear it. The chest was too tight. I normally wear an 8 or a 10 in dresses, but even the 10 didn't fit. It zipped but smashed my chest and was unflattering.
Lucy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Lovely dress for a short-waisted person

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress is very nicely made. I really liked the feel of the fabric and the print. On me, though, the waist and hip points were about 3" too high. Sizing up only made the waist way too loose. I am tall, but most of my height is in my legs - I don't normally have an issue with dresses being too short waisted. Also, although the fabric looks white in the photos, it is distinctly off-white IRL. I didn't have an issue with the belt like previous reviewers - mine fit perfectly. So maybe RTR has fixed that issue.
Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

I received so many compliments on this dress.

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very professional and polished!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 4, 2013

Straight with little give

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is not good for a girl with curves. I think it runs a size small, and really should be on someone with a straighter figure. Mine did not fit (even with the spanx), so I had to wear something else to my bridal tea. I would choose a size up for a second size.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

Very elegant and unique

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is very beautiful and unique. Perfect for both daytime and evening events. Unfortunately I didn't get to wear it since my engagement photo shoot was rescheduled, but I am definitely going to find another event to wear it to this summer!
robin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

This dress was great!!! Wore it to my daughter's christening. It was a hit!!!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I would recommend this dress
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Great first rental expierence! Felt perfectly dressed for an outdoor, semi-formal wedding in CA!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Appreciated the other comments about the roomier top, and ordered the 10 and 8; wore the 8. The material was light enough for a warm weather evening, and the print was dressy yet fun, which was exactly the theme of the wedding, with the frill on the bottom. Even got a few compliments from women I didn't know. Thanks, RTR!
megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Fantastic fit! Perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! I didn't get a picture that I liked yet. I got a size 4 and 6. I thought I'd need the 6 but I was wrong! The 4 fit so well. I got tons of compliments at the wedding I attended. It's even better for dancing!
Genna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2013

I couldn't wear this dress, I'm too 'hippy'

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so disappointed, when I got this dress it didn't fit right, Luckily I returned it and got a credit.
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

I wore this dress to a work event and I just LOVED Loved IT

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It may be slightly longer than you think it's going to be but it fits great and the fabric is smooth with a hint of a shine. I actually tried to find this dress afterwards to buy but couldn't find it anywhere, still highly recommend it to be rented, I will rent again.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184 lbs
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful, but if you have hips this is not gonna work out.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress and well-made. Got it as a backup but didn't end up wearing it. I could barely fit it up my hips, and zipping it? Forget it. Too bad. I ended up wearing another dress. This dress would be a better fit for a straight and narrow body type, not an hourglass as falsely suggested!
Irene
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 19, 2013

Great quality dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a particular look, so it may not be good for everyone. I think a high heel is a must to elongate the legs, since the skirt goes below the knee. I wore with red shoes. A thin black belt (did not come with the dress) also adds a nice touch but isn't absolutely necessary.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Cute dress, but not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am normally a size 6 in Kate Spade, but the 8 in this dress was really tight in the mid-section and not wearable. If you're a fan of Kate Spade, you'll love this dress, but it's very fitted, so if that's not your thing you may want to pass on this one.
Sohna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Pretty and different from the usual outfits!

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this outfit. It was comfortable, pretty and was complimented a lot. :)
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Adorable conservative dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a courthouse wedding with some cute teal heels! Had a little jacket for the wedding and let the print shine for the lunch following. I love love love this dress and had a hard time giving it back!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×