kate spade new york

Boy Meets Girl Dress

$68 to buy
$458 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this black and white floral kate spade new york doll dress. Simply adorable for all those weddings coming up! Stick to earrings like the Badgley Mischka's Ocean Moon Earrings and a glitzy clutch like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 00-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at upper waist with band
HIPS: Fitted - fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white printed cotton sateen. Bateau neckline. Cap sleeves. Belted waist. Ruffle hem. Exposed back zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
76 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(50)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party.

This dress is a perfect combination of classic yet sexy. I rented the size 2 and size 4- the 2 was a little tight on me (34D) so I decided to wear the 4. Neither dress came with a belt so I took a trip to the mall and picked up a really cute bow belt. The dress actually has a sheen to it so it looks better in person. I wore some classic 5 inch pointy toe heels and the look was perfect.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2013
Lovely dress for a short-waisted person

The dress is very nicely made. I really liked the feel of the fabric and the print. On me, though, the waist and hip points were about 3" too high. Sizing up only made the waist way too loose. I am tall, but most of my height is in my legs - I don't normally have an issue with dresses being too short waisted. Also, although the fabric looks white in the photos, it is distinctly off-white IRL. I didn't have an issue with the belt like previous reviewers - mine fit perfectly. So maybe RTR has fixed that issue.

Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 18, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress.

Very professional and polished!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2012
Very classy, elegant dress.

I rented this for my graduation right after I delivered a baby. It looked great. I was very happy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 11, 2013
quality packaging and merchandise

fit perfectly and very comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 17, 2013
Very elegant and unique

This dress is very beautiful and unique. Perfect for both daytime and evening events. Unfortunately I didn't get to wear it since my engagement photo shoot was rescheduled, but I am definitely going to find another event to wear it to this summer!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress was great!!! Wore it to my daughter's christening. It was a hit!!!!!

I would recommend this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Great first rental expierence! Felt perfectly dressed for an outdoor, semi-formal wedding in CA!

Appreciated the other comments about the roomier top, and ordered the 10 and 8; wore the 8. The material was light enough for a warm weather evening, and the print was dressy yet fun, which was exactly the theme of the wedding, with the frill on the bottom. Even got a few compliments from women I didn't know. Thanks, RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2013
Gorgeous, Comfortable Dress

I wore this for one of my bridal showers- theme being 50s era, Paris elegance... this dress fit perfectly! It was beautiful, the fabric comfortable. I added my own black belt (same as the picture) as my dress didnt come with one... added a large brimmed hat and it was perfect. would definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
June 20, 2013
Great dress!

This dress is so cute, and easy to wear. I typically wear a 0 or 2, and I wore the size 0 and it fit great. The white isn't actually as bright of a white that appears in the photo, but nevertheless it is a pretty dress. Very comfortable too.

AnnJune 20, 2013
This pic sells me on this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2013
Fantastic fit! Perfect for the outdoor wedding I was at.

This dress was great! I didn't get a picture that I liked yet. I got a size 4 and 6. I thought I'd need the 6 but I was wrong! The 4 fit so well. I got tons of compliments at the wedding I attended. It's even better for dancing!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 28, 2013
Great first rental! I wore this dress to my engagement party, and it was a HIT!

I recently lost quite a bit of weight since last year, so I wasn't 100% sure what size I should have ordered. If I could do it over again, I would have ordered a size 6 instead. This dress got so many compliments, it was unbelievable. Very simple and very classy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
July 24, 2013
I wore this dress to a work event and I just LOVED Loved IT

It may be slightly longer than you think it's going to be but it fits great and the fabric is smooth with a hint of a shine. I actually tried to find this dress afterwards to buy but couldn't find it anywhere, still highly recommend it to be rented, I will rent again.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
Great quality dress

This is a particular look, so it may not be good for everyone. I think a high heel is a must to elongate the legs, since the skirt goes below the knee. I wore with red shoes. A thin black belt (did not come with the dress) also adds a nice touch but isn't absolutely necessary.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2013
Adorable conservative dress!

Wore this to a courthouse wedding with some cute teal heels! Had a little jacket for the wedding and let the print shine for the lunch following. I love love love this dress and had a hard time giving it back!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2014
Unfortunately a problem dress

Holly's picture with the black shrug made me and a friend both fall in love with this dress. A friend and I flipped a quarter to decide who was going to get to rent this dress for the same event we're both going to. I won! Unfortunately both dresses arrived with noticeable snags and the linings hung longer than the shells. Since it's a bag lining, it's not something take can take care of. I took them to my tailor, who won't alter rented things, and she said that it was cleaned wrong and she can tell because what happened is the shells shrunk more than the linings. I alto tried on the 6 I ordered, and it was far too tight. I own a few Kate Spade dresses and usually wear a 4. So the 6 being too small by a lot is more evidence of bad washing. I'm just glad I ordered for delivery a couple days in advance. RTR's customer service has been great and is replacing with the dress of my choice without regard to cost, and I've got a lot of friends who are regular renters. So this experience isn't deterring me from still liking the company. When you do any volume of business, there are bound to be a few bad eggs. Still looking forward to a rental relationship with this company. :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 30, 2014
Classy and perfect!

True to size. Great dress! Wore to my son's baptism.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
May 4, 2014
Day at the track

True to size, although I wish I would have ordered it one size smaller. Amazing dress, so pretty. Got tons of compliments. Wish I could wear it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 6, 2014
I wore this to a steeplechase with a big black hat - it was perfect!

I don't usually try things without stretch, but this dress looked like it was custom made for my body. I highly recommend it if you have an hourglass shape!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
July 10, 2014
Great fit.

I liked the dress but didn't love it. I got size 6 & 8. Both fit but the 8 gave me more room to breathe and move around so I wore that.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2014
Cute dress

Fits well and fun

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
August 11, 2014
Rental for my mom- it was perfect!!

I rented this one for my mom to wear to a church event. She loved it and g it so many compliments that she restyled it the following Monday and wore it to work. She is 57 years old, 5'8", and usually wears an 8 or a 10. The 10 fit perfectly and my dad jokes that maybe he shouldn't let her out of the house looking so good!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 27, 2014
The dress was great. I wore a bright yellow belt with it instead just to spice it up.

The fit of the dress was true to size, the belt that came with it was to large so I worn a thin bright yellow belt I had instead.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2014
Fun and flattering

This dress was perfect for the couple bridal BBQ my best friend threw for us. I got several compliments throughout the evening. It was comfortable and overall fit very well and was very flattering. One thing to note is that it was snug in the hip area, so if you are a curvier/pear-shaped keep that in mind for sizing. The only other critique I had was that it wrinkled noticeably from sitting during dinner and gift opening. Overall I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2014
Fun, feminine, conservative

Fit my hourglass shape just right. The skirt felt short but the flared part went lower than it felt.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 26, 2014
Comfortable & classy!

Although it wasn't as white as I had expected it to be, I think I was better off. The dress was beautiful, easy to dance in, and the length was to the knee. I loved it with a pop of red jewelry & shoes!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
September 4, 2012
Very comfortable dress for an outdoor wedding

Loved this dress and would rent it again. Fabric is medium weight, but not too heavy for an outdoor wedding in LA. It got up to the low 90's, but thankfully was down to the 80's by the time of the ceremony! Liked that you can use a regular bra with it, as it has the little thread stays to hold the straps in place. Contrasting gold zipper is also a nice touch.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2012
Classic, Comfortable & Fun!

Not only did the dress fit super well (without hose or Spanx!), it also survived being packed into a bag and loaded onto a bus from Boston to NYC, then worn on the subway to the wedding in Brooklyn, a trolley ride through Bklyn, and then a bar crawl back up Smith Street!! Talk about a super dress!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2013
LOVE IT!

I love this dress! It comes with a skinny black belt but RTR called to tell me it was missing. I went and bought the one in my picture because I knew I'd use it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2013
Loved the way this dress felt as soon as I took it out of the box. The quality was easy to spot.

Wore this for a fundraiser wine tasting. High quality fabric, nice shape. Received lots of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 20, 2013
Everyone said the dress looked stunning on me. This dress was made for my body :)

I am 112 pounds, 5'3 tall and the dress fitted me so well. it also runs true to the size. I felt comfortable and looking like a million bucks.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
October 3, 2012
Comfortable to wear.

True to size. It wears well even on short statures.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Absolutely love this dress.

Awesome dress. The flare hits your knee just right so it moves when you walk. I wore this for a bridal shower, and everyone loved it. Fits true to size.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
November 26, 2012
Tons of Complements

It was a great dress, but don't put it on until you're ready to walk out the door. It wrinkles VERY easily.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
January 13, 2013
Very classy and perfect for the occasion.

Fit like a glove and looked awesome for my son's high school graduation in June. Went from stadium to country club party and it was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
Pretty and different from the usual outfits!

I loved this outfit. It was comfortable, pretty and was complimented a lot. :)

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×