Rent the Runway

kate spade new york

Aubrey Wrap Dress

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look chic in this kate spade new york black ruffle wrap dress. Great for a dinner party or shopping weekend with your girlfriends. Pair with a fab pump and the Kate Spade's Cut to the Chase Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fuller busted women should consider sizing up as the top is very fitted
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with closure and sash
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fuller busted women should consider sizing up as the top is very fitted
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection with closure and sash
HIPS: Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Heavier silk with subtle luster and lightly pebbled surface. Black silk(74% silk; 26% cotton;100% polyester lining). Wrap silhouette with ruffle trim and self tie. Interior snap closure. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

84 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 66
Large 8
Photos 15
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 3, 2012

Pretty ruffles

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this as my backup dress so I didn't end up wearing it. I'm a 2 on top and a 4 on bottom so I thought a size 2 would fit me but I could barely close the snap on the upper ribs. I'm not big-chested so I think the torso itself runs small. The fabric wasn't what I was expecting...it felt "waterproof". Pretty dress though and it looked as if the ruffles would've actually stood up for me unlike other reviewers.
Scotty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Absolutely amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely LOVED this dress! The material was lovely and I got so many compliments. Unlike others, I actually had no problem getting the ruffles along the collar to stand up using my steamer at home. The dress fit like a glove, and looked so polished and chic. It was the perfect conservative dress (wore it to a friend's black tie company party) that still had a whimsical touch. I was so sad to send it back. Will definitely rent again! FYI: I usually wear an 8, and knowing Kate Spade can run large, I ordered a 6 as a back-up size -- which is the one I ended up wearing.
Kelsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

Classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 6 and an 8...I originally planned on wearing the 8 but have lost about 8 lbs since ordering the dresses...the 6 fit perfectly! The length was right at the knee which is what I was expecting. I'm a 34C and the clasp at the bust fit well, although there was no room to spare there. I would order this dress again!
terry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 113
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 12, 2012

great little black dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is lovely, i highly recommend it if you are looking for a little black dress. I rented it as my backup, but didn't wear it because my other dress was fabulous. But if i ever need a little black dress i will rent this little black dress by Kate Spade again!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Jun 26, 2012

So Pretty!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I ordered this as a back up dress, and ended up wearing the first choice. I almost wore it the next day on a flight just to wear it! It has lots of hooks and snaps to make sure the wrap part stays closed and you stay covered.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 16, 2012

Classy Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a sorority event and it was great! I agree with the other reviewers that it is a little tight in the bust. I have a tiny waist and large hips and it fit perfectly.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Lots of compliments received!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fancy wedding in July when it was quite warm out. I got a lot of compliments!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 18, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved it. The material is beautiful. It took me a while to find the hooks to keep it secure but they are there. Perfect for a family affair.
Felicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 20, 2012

So classy and yet, a standout

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for two events, a funeral and a formal dinner, back to back two nights. I LOVED it and received so my complements. My only issues? Having to return it. Perfect replacement to the boring black dress.
Moira
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Aug 24, 2012

no prob with fit

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have big boobs and I did not have a problem with the wrap fit. The only problem is that the clasp doesn't stay shut all the time--which my boo found to be hysterical, so at least someone got something out of it.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Very Flattering & Classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in most dresses and I wore a 6 in this dress. I got a lot of compliments! I invested in a good Rowenta steamer for all of my RTR dresses after I used it once on this dress. It is well worth it. It has been my favorite RTR dress so far :)
SLR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 27, 2012

Cute and Flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my baby shower (at 7 months pregnant). I usually wear a 6 but ordered an 8 and it was perfect. The cut of the dress made it easy to wrap above my belly and the (strategically placed!) snaps allow this dress to hug and hide in all the right places. This dress is perfect for anyone with a large bust.
Kristen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was excellent! My size varies between a 2 and a 4, and the 2 fit perfectly. The 4 was a bit big for me in the shoulders since I am kind of short. It was the perfect dress for a night wedding, and I'd definitely consider renting it again for another event.
Rachel
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Classy and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! It was very classy and sophisticated looking and I added color with bright shoes and earrings to bring out a little more of my personality. I had recently lost weight so I wasn't sure about the size. The 8 seemed a little big and I tried the 6 just to see if it was even possible (I previously wore a 12 or 14) and the 6 looked great but was a little snug around the bust.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Love this dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a formal dinner and it was beautiful. I had tried this dress on in the Kate Spade store and fell in love. When I found this website and this dress on here I had to rent it. This dress is so comfortable and very flattering. RTR is a great site and will definitely be using again!
Lillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Great first experience with RTR! Hassle-free process from start to finish.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful, heavy fabric gives the flirty design a more substantive, work-appropriate look. I wore this to the office and was completely comfortable in it for 8+ hours, then happy hour drinks after! Since it's a wrap dress, I had no problem sitting or standing for long periods of time -- also, did NOT get those awful wrinkles/creases that happen when you sit in a dress or a skirt made of lower-quality fabric. The ruffles do lay flat, as mentioned by another reviewer, probably because it ships in the garment bag. Perhaps a little steam and some spray-on starch if you want to give them more shape, but I liked them the way they were out of the bag. I liked this style so much that I rented another Kate Spade dress in the same cut with a different pattern! Highly recommend.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 16, 2012

Covers up a lot

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a wedding, top was huge and I am not small on the top either. It covers a lot and dress was long and loose.
Kelsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Great full wrap dress that was easy and comfortable to wear for a full day of work.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for a conference at my work. Formal dress wasn't required, but a friend and I decided to dress up anyway :-) The dress had obviously been worn a few times (my friend's was brand new with the tag still on), but it looked and felt great. It's a full wrap, so just be prepared for that. I wore the dress for about 10 hours (full day of work and dinner after), and it was comfortable the entire time. Went with the 6, though I'm usually an 8. The 8 just felt a little bulky and I got the 6 to work. It'd be a great dress to wear if you need something that will last all day or all night. Not a show stopper, but it fit nicely and made me feel great.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Classic and chic!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I generally wear a 10 in Kate Spade but the 10 in this dress was just a little too tight -- the 12 was too big but was the better fit of the two. The dress is a bit conservative -- but is classic and chic. Note that there is no real sheen to the fabric, despite what it looks like in the picture.
DJS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 29, 2012

I loved this dress but unfortunately was unable to wear it. The top definitely runs small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a charity breakfast. Unfortunately when the dress came the size 4 was to small and came damaged. The lining was longer than the dress. i could have word a take top under it but there was no way to do anything about the lining. They substitutes my size up (6) because they were out of it, for it would have been perfect. I was really disappointed.
Calie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Classic, Comfortable, and Fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly! It was very flattering and I got many compliments. I was able to dress it down a bit with some wedges and a colorful necklace for the slightly casual wedding. It was black, in great shape, the fabric felt nice, and I was comfortable all night long. I would say that if you have a larger bust, this is probably not the dress for you. It is also good at hiding slightly wider hips (which is what I have) since it is a full wrap.
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 5, 2012

Great dress, flattering fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't think the fabric looked like it did in person.
LSG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Oct 6, 2012

gorgous Kate Spade dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall fit was very good. It is longer which is nice if you're very tall like me. Classic Kate Spade LBD. Good rental.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

Nice dress, great experience, will definitely rent from here again!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the dress was lovely, but if you are big busted, its a little restrictive in the chest. I ended up wearing a backup dress I purchased. I did love the rent the runway experience and will definitely be renting from them again!
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

PERFECT style for the event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
FIts very comfortably. Definitely A-line and only fitted through the waist. Flattering for those that are small waist & smaller bust with a little bigger hips. It's easy to add any colored sweater too to add some fun & flare!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress would be cute on a taller person, but at 5'4" and a size 12 it made me look dowdy. I didn't end up wearing the dress for the event.
M
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Beautiful dress !

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
FIts perfectly, loved the fabric!
Krista
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Ew.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Tried on both sizes to work for a wedding and found them both to be the opposite of flattering. The flap of the dress made me look pregnant and it just didn't have the wow factor that a solid little black dress usually gives ya. I didn't end up wearing this dress as even my husband said it did nothing for me.
Dominique
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

I loved this dress, but I was sad to find some of the clips on the dress were broken when I got it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
IF it had the clips to keep it "wrapped" correctly it would have been awesome! I got this dress for a work dinner so I wasn't very comfortable having to monitor the girls all night...
Lollie Shopping
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

A Bit of a Risk

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Figure flattering? Yes. Especially if you're hourglass like I am. However, be careful. In a photo, the dress looks great. But in person, it can come off a little hostess/server/maid-like if not styled correctly. I couldn't help but wonder if I should be holding a silver platter with a load of champagne glasses on it. So punch up the look with color and sparkle, if you can. Or someone may be asking you when the hors d'oeuvres are due to arrive.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2012

Great! Wonderful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's company Christmas party. Unfortunately, we did not get to go because something came up with work, but we still went out with friends later that night, so I thought, "Heck, why not wear the dress?!" When I walked out of the bedroom, his jaw DROPPED!!! You think I'm kidding... Furthermore, it was very comfortable and I was able to wear it all night without complaining or feeling uncomfortable.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Classy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
You will not regret this rental. I rented it for the 2nd time for a party at the Ritz. Perfect! I wore it with gold jewelry and red Christian Louboutin pumps!
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

This dress was great for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I dressed it up with some rustic orange pumps and gold jewelery to make the look complete!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Awesome bridesmaid dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid in a wedding. All the girls had to wear black dresses. I usually wear a 2 to 4, and only the 4 was available. It fit just fine. I had no problem keeping the dress closed and got TONS of compliments. Everyone wanted to know where I got it. Thanks RTR for making everything so easy!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

SO WONDERFUL! I would wear it everyday if I could!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is just amazing. The flattering fit, the classy appeal, everything was perfect. I wish I could find it in retail now because I just loved it so much.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Great quality material. Very Flattering Fit. Appropriate for any occasion.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the feel of the material. The tie let me adjust the dress slightly to get the perfect fit. The ruffles on the neckline on the right side kept folding over, but I secured it with fashion tape and it stayed perfectly in place all night. I noticed other girls mentioning more cleavage than they thought but I wore it to a work party and felt comfortable and appropriate. Very classy. I would buy this dress if I could.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 29, 2013

It was my back-up dress, but this size didn't accommodate my shape.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I ordered this in size 10 as my back-up dress, hoping to get another use out of it over the weekend, but the cut didn't work for my full bust -- I would've had to order a couple of sizes up, but then the bottom half may have been too big. The fabric felt nice, though, and the ruffle was sweet.
Paige
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 3, 2013

The dress was cute, classy, and perfect for a day-to-night dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this Kate Spade dress! I wore the dress to work with a cocktail event right after. The dress was comfortable even wearing it for an entire day! The fabric was heavier than expected. Fit was pretty much true to size, I choose to order one size up like RTR mentioned for bigger bust. I was happy with the sizing and would order this dress again!
jyogi104
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 6, 2013

great dress! but i wish the collar would have stayed standing

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great dress, lots of complitments
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

cute dress, but arrived with a missing sash

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous. If you read all of the reviews, you'll note that most people would agree. The number of reviews is a hint that this dress has been in circulation for a while, which is why I'm giving it one star. I ordered sizes 2 and 4. The 2 - my normal size - arrived with one of the sashes missing. Because I needed the dress the same night, I made the 4 work by tying its wrap style sashes a bit tighter. All was not lost but even the 4 was a little dingy. I am normally pleased with my RtR dresses, but I recommend checking with a stylist on the quality of this one before ordering.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×