Jay Godfrey

Iris Lace Sheath

$35 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this lady like lace sheath by Jay Godfrey. The perfect style for any fall or winter wedding. Pair with tights for those colder days of the year and a fab closed toe pump. For a little bling, rent the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch crepe(95% polyester; 5% lycra). Crew neckline. V back. Lace trim detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 70
Large 4
Photos 31
Fani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

prompt delivery, easy return

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am normally a size 2 but it was not available so I ordered a 0 and a 4. The 0 was way too tight and the 4 a little too loose, but the dress looked beautiful anyway and I was very happy to be wearing it to the wedding I attended. Color is beautiful and striking. The back is very nice too
Rachel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2012

So easy, so fast and so painless. RTR is such an amazing option for events. It takes the guesswork out of finding the perfect dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a wedding the night before New Years Eve. Although it definitely hugs your body, it isn't overly revealing. It's classy, a beautiful color and has great lace detailing. One of my guy friends even said I was the "best dressed" of the evening! I highly recommend renting this.
sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 16, 2012

Beautiful dress! Great fit!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Just rented this dress for a fundraiser event. Received so many compliments! Great fit and great color! I am 5'4 and the dress hit my knee. I acutally think it would have been cuter if it were a little shorter. I usually wear a size 6 so opted to also have the size 8 shipped. Size 6 was way too tight for my top (I wear a 36 DD) the size 8 was perfect! The fabric has a small percent of lycra which makes for a nice fit and very comfortable. I highly recommend renting this dress for any social event! Loved it!
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

This dress was just perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS DRESS! When I ordered it, I was worried it may be a little plain and boring - quite the contrary. The color is beautiful, very vibrant. The fit was perfect for me and so SO flattering. The material is a little stretchy so it is very comfortable. I was able to wear a regular bra (I was wondering if I'd need a backless bra because of the V in the back). I actually REALLY want to buy this dress because I loved it so much & it has such versatility. I paired it with silver glittery shoes and clutch for the wedding, but this dress would be great for work or a dinner date etc. It is long enough to be appropriate for a professional atmosphere (hits right above the knee) and would look great with black tights and/or a blazer if needed.
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly; the color and material were fabulous. I received so many compliments at the wedding!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 1, 2012

Since I usually go for the LBD, this purple was a fun change! Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a bit small in the chest are, so if you are bustier I would suggest ordering a size bigger for backup. Bottom ran a little loose. Overall, I really liked the dress and got a lot of compliments on it!
Jeanine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and I am impressed with the whole process. The dress arrived on Friday and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. The fit was perfect and I loved the lace detailing. You can even wear a bra with this dress. The ease of renting and returning the dress has got me hooked on RTR.
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Great fit!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly. I wore it for my little cousin's Sweet 16, and I think it was a good choice for the event. The lace is really pretty, and the dress is very comfortable.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Jan 20, 2013

Super comfortable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit beautifully and I received tons of compliments throughout the night. However, as I am on the petite side, the length is a bit longer than shown in the picture. Definitely recommend for those not as petite as me though!
Brooke
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Great for a winter wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got a size 2 and it fit great. Very comfortable and the back is cute too.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Mar 5, 2013

I felt fantastic in this dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing! I was first drawn to it because it's purple (my favorite color), in person the color is beautiful. Not to bright but still makes you stand out in a crowd. I loved the way it fit, was not too tight. I wore my normal size 2 and was so comfortable all night. Great dress for dancing the night away!!
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

This was my first RTR experience and I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding in Chicago and it was perfect! The color is brighter than the it appears in photos, but is truly stunning. The dress is comfortable and has a bit of stretch so it was easy to dance all night. The back was not as low as I thought it would be - but I preferred that because no backless bra was needed. This was my first rental experience and it was a great success!
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2013

Perfect pop of color with lace detail

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved, loved this dress and it was perfect for a spring wedding! The dress ran a little tight for me in my normal size so had to wear the size up, but it fit comfortably. I also didn't have any issues with my bra showing in the back. The lace in the back was gorgeous and was the feature I loved showing off so I wore my hair up that evening.
Cathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
May 6, 2013

got lots of compliments in this dress and was super comfy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit great and was very comfortable. The material was a lil stretchy so it gave room but the waistband was a bit snug, I have a little belly though.
MS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

Gorgeous

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a Friday night spring wedding. Although conservative in the front, the back is a deep lace V and you are able to wear a normal bra with it. Lightweight and comfortable. Wish I owned it.
Nina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Got lots of compliments on the color, very flattering fit! I'm usually an 8 or 10, and the 8 was too snug - went with the 10, which could have been a bit tighter across the back - but it was fine for the evening. Great length - was longer on me than it looks on the model. You can TOTALLY wear a regular bra with it!
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress! Material is stretchy and flattering. The lace around the waist does a great job hiding my poochy imperfection after having a baby last year. Great fit! Would definitely recommend. Loved the RTR process, super easy and no regrets!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Wore this for a NYE dinner and dancing...loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit nicely although the zipper was a little hard to get over the seam. The color was bright and the lace was beautiful! You can wear a normal bra because the back V is not as low as the picture looks. I wore it with a chunky silver necklace, black tights and black booties. The lace around the waist is also perfect for hiding any slight problem areas! It was perfect for a night out in snowy Chicago!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Feb 24, 2014

Classy and flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the perfect dress for a winter wedding. The material is slightly stretchy and it cinched in the right places. It was very flattering and very easy to wear. I rented the 6 and 8 and wore the 6, if I had to do it again I would have gone down for my backup size. The color is bright and I got lots of compliments! I would definitely rent again!
Sarah
Age: 27
Mar 13, 2014

This dress fit great! It came a day early and was easy to return.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great! I'm a bit bustier, so it was a bit loose through the hips but it didn't look bad. I would definitely recommend it.
Fink
Age: 38
Apr 5, 2014

I did not wear the dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm short ,about 5' 2", and this dress wasn't exactly what I was looking for for the engagement party I planned to attend. I did not wear it. It looked more like a work dress on me.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

It was very classy and edgy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and I paired it with a long set of pearls. I am long waisted and I thought it might hit me in a weird place on my waist. I did have to adjust it a little during the evening between the bust and the waist as it wrinkled a little, but overall the dress was nice!
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Bold color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved the color and lace detail of this dress The cut was very flattering as well. I was not a huge fan of the fabric though, but that is more of a personal opinion. It is certainly something that is conservative enough to wear to a variety of functions.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2014

This dress fit perfectly and accentuates your shape so well. The color is stunning in photos!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a casual winter wedding. Was a fabulous hit--so many compliments and the pictures looked amazing. I felt so confident in the dress and you can wear regualr undergarments with it.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 12, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got tons of compliments on this dress at my friend's graduation. It has the perfect amount of stretch and length so that you are comfortable all night long, whatever you activity. I would definitely rent this again! The 4 fit perfectly and the 6 was a little big in the waist.
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2014

One of my best friends got married! :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I got compliments all night long, and the color really popped. The fabric of the dress had some stretch to it, which was great for dancing. Initially, I saw that many women rented this for fall/winter events, but the dress worked really well for a spring wedding too. This rental experience was everything I wanted it to be!
LaTasha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014

My husband though this dress was HOT!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is made out of a stretch material, which was great because the food was good! I loved this dress and felt good wearing it. I wore this dress when it was a little cold, so I put on tights and a cardigan. The back is out a little, but I was able to wear a regular bra.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

I felt like a million dollars at the wedding I attended!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding in Palo Alto and couldn't have been happier with it. I am definitely self-conscious about some weight that I've gained, and the lace faux-peplum on this dress was so flattering! I am somewhere between a 10 and a 12, and I decided to wear the 12 so I had a little more breathing room. At 5'3", I am a lot shorter than the model shown wearing this dress, and I was very happy with where it ended up falling on me length-wise. This was another RTR success!
meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my friend's bridal shower. I was worried about the low back, but was able to wear a normal bra with it which was great! Fit TTS.
lollie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Lots of compliments on this unique dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit very well, super flattering. I wore the 4 instead of the two because it was kinda right across my chest.
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect dress for a wedding reception! It was great for dancing!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very comfortable and great for dancing and moving. It was very breathable, so it was perfect for a summer wedding. It was a little bit loose around the hips, but the rest of the dress fit in the right places. It was longer than in the picture of the model, but that's also because I'm short. Overall, it was a hit!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Perfect fit, not too tight or too short for dancing the night away!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So comfortable, flattering fit and striking color. It was my first RTR experience and is the reason i keep coming back for more.
sharon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Aug 11, 2014

Complements keep on coming

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress on a summer wedding and it feels right and comfy. It has a nice stretch to it so more room to dance and of course to eat. I just felt so happy about it and if only I could keep it, I would. This is my first time to rent and I will do it again. It makes life easier most especially for a mom like me who does not have time in the world to shop for hours in the mall. Customer service at rent the runway is superb. It makes looking for a dress to wear on occasions convenient for everyone.
Mikayla
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

The material was comfortable and the lace detail added elegance that made it perfect for a wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was super comfortable and perfect for the wedding! Polyester was not the best choice for an outdoor ceremony in June, but the stretchy material was perfect for dancing. I received so many compliments on the style and fit of the dress. I paired with the Badgley Mischka Black Crystal Cluster Earrings https://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/blackcrystalclusterearrings.
Lorna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

This dress fit really well and was easy to wear.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a 6--the 8 was a little too baggy. The 6 was pretty form-fitting. Not too short. It was flattering and I loved it! Easy to wear any bra underneath.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Sep 23, 2014

Professional

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for a wedding I was planning. Very professional. No frills dress and the fabric is a little heavy.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Great of dancing

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable! Danced all night..fabric has stretch so very easy to move in.
Meredith
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2014

Lovely color and cut!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit wise, this dress was made for someone with different proportions.. Because I'm shorter, and have a short torso, the dress did the top half was too long and bunched up a lot. The seam across the waist also didn't hit me in the right spot. The bottom half ended up being too roomy. If I were just a little taller I think the dress would have fit a lot better. I loved the color and the cut in the back, though and got multiple compliments on it.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Great Dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Christmas Party and absolutely loved it! The lace adds just the right amount of detail to keep it from being too plain. Not to mention, the color is lovely. It is more conservative, but definitely not matronly. I could've worn the 2 as well, but I liked that the 0 was form-fitting. This was my first experience renting a dress and I have not one complaint. Thanks Rent the Runway!
Susanna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

It's great. Comfortable. Great fuschia color. Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well. I'm 5'0" and it was a pretty good length. I wanted to look a bit covered up at a wedding, so I didn't mind that it came to mid-lower thigh.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×