Rent the Runway

Jay Godfrey

Iris Lace Sheath

$82 to buy
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this lady like lace sheath by Jay Godfrey. The perfect style for any fall or winter wedding. Pair with tights for those colder days of the year and a fab closed toe pump. For a little bling, rent the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch crepe(95% polyester; 5% lycra). Crew neckline. V back. Lace trim detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

82 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 73
Large 4
Photos 32
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was super pleased with this dress. I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and it was prefect for the occasion. The fabric has some stretch so it was really comfortable and the color was striking without being over the top. I'm 5'4" about 150lbs and the size 8 was perfect.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 28, 2011

Perfect Semi formal Party Dres

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my ten year HS reunion and received so many complements on it. The length, fit, and style are prefect to potray a mix of elegance with sexiness. This dress would be perfect for any Semiformal event from the office to a party.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Great dress. Fits like a glove

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was SO comfortable. I wore it to an outside September wedding. Didn't hardly wrinkle at all! A little on the conservative side, but the back is the best part. The lace is gorgeous. Fits true to size!
Stacia M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my brothers engagement party that was coat and tie. It was perfect and I can't tell you how many compliments I received on the dress. The color is awesome and the lace detail is very dainty and elegant
ety123
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163 lbs
Apr 10, 2012

Loved but a bit lose :/

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It was a beautiful dress but I was not able to wear it since it was a bit too big. I ordered a size 8 and 10, which are my usual dress sizes and the 8 was lose around the waist and through the hips. I personally wanted it to be a little bit more fit. But I would definitely order it again, just a smaller size :)
MK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Apr 19, 2012

Sexy and very short!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The color of this dress is gorgeous - vibrant purple with awesome black lace accents. It seemed a little more fall than spring when I looked at it online but in person it is a sexy dress for any season. This dress fit well in all areas except the length. The only problem is that it is very short. I am only 5'5" (longish legs, slightly short torso, but pretty much proportionate). From the picture and description I expected this dress to hit at midthigh. But it was actually much shorter than that. The suggestion of wearing this with leggings would be a great idea, but it's too warm out this week to pull off that look. Bummer!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 23, 2012

Classic and comfortable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, and it's easy to dress up or down, depending on the occasion. It has some stretch, so if you're bustier or have hips, you'll be fine with your normal size. My only word of caution is to the tall girls with hips and/or a long torso. I felt that the proportions were a liiiiittle teeny bit off, as the bottom of the lace portion did not hit me at the hips, it hit a little above. The dress also rides up a bit, so I did find myself tugging it down a few times to keep the proportions (and my dignity) in tact . Other than that, I definitely recommend!!
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Bridal Shower

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
LOVED IT!
CI
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Very Elegant dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little long for me so I had to use the magic tape to make it a little shorter..it's perfect that way. I love how it looked in pictures. In person, the material felt like something you could actually wear to work
tiffany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

not bad

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I orginally saw this dress on the Nordstrom website in a beautifull red color, but they ran out of my size, then I found the purple one on Rent the Runway, it was perfect, it is a beautiful design the qaulity however was less superior then I thought it was going to be, it is a poly dress, and the color is more sturated then its showing on the website which I understand, screens cant show true colors. but its not bad afterall.
mariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 10, 2012

Fantastic Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding. It was beautiful and so flattering. Unfortunately the dress I received had a stain. It looked like whoever wore it before me spilled on the front, RTR had it dry cleaned, but the cleaners could not remove all the stain. It was barely noticable, but once you saw it, it was all you can see. I contacted them and the issue was resolved the next day. I love this site and will continue to order from them for all the future weddings/events I have.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

This made me feel great at my high school reunion!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress with black tights and heels, and it looked great! Any tighter and I would have been uncomfortable, but I thought it was very flattering (with Spanx tights underneath to smooth things out), and I got a lot of compliments. The fabric is great because it doesn't wrinkle and it's a unique color. It's too bad you have to wear a low back bra with this, because if I hadn't been wearing the slimmer underneath, the belly strap on the bra would have been very obvious under this dress. Still, I felt confident and sexy, but still covered up and appropriate. For those with bigger breasts (like me), the black lace at the sides of the bodice gaps out a little so it looks different than on the model, but I thought it still looked good and not like a mistake. Would wear again!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great dress for winter wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the 4 and the 2. I am usally a 4 but .the 2 fit perfectley! I wore this to a January wedding with black tights and black pumps. the detail in the back was so pretty, I recived many complimants..in fact later that night I was raving about it anytime someone asked me where i got it ,i said "rent the runway"..love them!
rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

I didn't end up wearing this, but my friend (who is 5 inches taller than me) did & it was gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is definitely for someone long & lean. I ordered it but it was not flattering on my figure. It looked gorgeous on my friend who is 5'9" & slim (maybe 125 lbs). The color is really nice & looks great on all skin tones.
afs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

I got a lot of compliments. The dress is perfect for a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. It is conservative but still fun!
Cameron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 23, 2012

I wore this for my company Christmas party and it was great! Comfortable and really cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the color and the lace detail. The material is stretchy, so it fit perfectly.
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2012

Perfect for a work event, or alumni function.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The high neck line made it apropriate for greeting the headmaster and older alumni, but the black lace accents added in some fun for dancing later!
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 20, 2012

love the color and lace detail!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great dress for the rehearsal dinner I went to. the fabric is a little clingy and rode up a little because it clung to the tights I wore with the dress, but other than that everything was great. the lace detail at the waist does a great job of cinching things in, and the back is so pretty!
Daniela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 21, 2012

Well-fitting, beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The lace detailing is gorgeous. The material is of high-quality and very comfortable. I was about 136 lbs when I rented this dress and the size fit well.
joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Love the lace!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit so well and is very well made. I love the lace detailing and the color is really much brighter in color than it is on screen. It pops and I got lots of compliments on the dress! I am short, so the dress came down a little longer on me than it did on the model. The dress SLIGHTLY runs large, so it was roomy through the hips. It was perfect for me, because I ate a lot of food at the party and didn't have to worry about a food baby! :)
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

A good casual dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful, but it didn't fit my body type quite right. It felt a little loose in the midsection and shoulders. I think a size down would have worked much better. It was also a more casual dress than I expected. I paired it with black leggings, heels and a black leather jacket. I love the lace detail and the back of the dress is exquisite.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

The service and reliability can't be beat!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Like other reviewers, I think the top is a little smaller than the bottom half of this dress. It would probably work well for more pear-shaped bodies ... I'm more straight up and down, so the fit wasn't ideal on me, but still worked. It is a pretty dress - wore it to an industry party (it's business enough to be worn in that setting, but fun enough for a holiday party). I wore it with sparkly emerald drop earrings, which I thought worked well.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Dress fit perfectly and received many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress ran true to size and fit like a glove. The color is true to the photo online. Overall, the dress was very comfortable.
Erica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress! I planned to wear another one for my work Christmas party and this was the backup dress. So glad I paid for a backup because my original choice ran way too big! But glad I went with this one because I received a ton of compliments on this dress and would suggest it for any cocktail party event.
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

Too large!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Do not get this dress if you are petite! Unfortunately, I couldn't wear it. The size 0 looked like I was wearing sack. Pretty color and was really trying to get into the lace thing that's so popular, but this was just not right for my body type.
Lillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 29, 2013

Beautiful dress for a work function

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Purple and lacy back gives it enough punch to be different from an LBD, but still incredibly classy dress!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress!! I bought this to wear for my birthday brunch at a fancy french restaurant. I like the peplum lace, awesome if you'ew self conscious about your stomach like I am. Also has a little stretch, so its comfortable to wear!
Anne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 24, 2013

Love having the option to choose between two dresses.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress color was beautiful and fit well throughout, however it did pull in the chest area. As a result, I did not consider as an option to wear as I would have been self-conscious of how it looked in the chest area,. I got it as a back-up to my first choice which I loved!
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

I was told this dress looked like something Princess Kate would wear!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fabulous. It fit perfectly with a little extra room in the hips making it extremely comfortable and wearable. I'm 5'2" and it was the perfect length for a semi formal event. I paired it with black pumps and silver jewelry. Will definitely rent again based on all the wonderful compliments I received!
Kemrock
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
May 15, 2013

Loved this dress! Next to the bride all eyes were on me!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress was rich and gorgeous. I wore it to a January evening wedding and felt appropriate. The fabric was also very comfortable and forgiving. I received so many compliments from my husband and daughters which is especially nice since they see you every day.
Betsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Fit Like a Glove

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The black detail hit my hips perfectly.
Em
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 22, 2013

Great fit and looked awesome! Highly recommend it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering. Although formfitting, the lace does a great job at making people who don't have model tummies look AMAZING!
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great, and the lace detailing was very pretty and made the dress unique. My stomach is far from flat, so I wore spanx but the fabric made it more flattering than most sheath dresses.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2013

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this as a backup dress for a wedding, but decided to go with the other dress. It's a decent length on me, but I can see it being a tad short on someone taller. Fits true to size, so if you are more chesty just be mindful that a larger size may be better. I would rent this again for sure.
sally
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Super cute - walks that fine line of classy, cute and sexy. Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect!
Joanna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Great fit great color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect Fit. A little long but I am 5"1"
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was my backup dress. I wore it to a date with my husband to see Book of Mormon. It wasn't as flattering as I had hoped because it was a little right across the chest on me. Would probably add a lot of shape to a straight body type though! I loved trying something different from my usual though. My friends all liked my original dress best but my husband had no complaints :)
Fink
Age: 38
Apr 5, 2014

I did not wear the dress.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm short ,about 5' 2", and this dress wasn't exactly what I was looking for for the engagement party I planned to attend. I did not wear it. It looked more like a work dress on me.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

It was very classy and edgy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and I paired it with a long set of pearls. I am long waisted and I thought it might hit me in a weird place on my waist. I did have to adjust it a little during the evening between the bust and the waist as it wrinkled a little, but overall the dress was nice!
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Bold color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved the color and lace detail of this dress The cut was very flattering as well. I was not a huge fan of the fabric though, but that is more of a personal opinion. It is certainly something that is conservative enough to wear to a variety of functions.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×