Iris Lace Sheath

$50 to buy
$325 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this lady like lace sheath by Jay Godfrey. The perfect style for any fall or winter wedding. Pair with tights for those colder days of the year and a fab closed toe pump. For a little bling, rent the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra if pulled down slightly
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips and length
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch crepe(95% polyester; 5% lycra). Crew neckline. V back. Lace trim detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(73)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 12, 2014
Loved this dress!
I got tons of compliments on this dress at my friend's graduation. It has the perfect amount of stretch and length so that you are comfortable all night long, whatever you activity. I would definitely rent this again! The 4 fit perfectly and the 6 was a little big in the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2014
My husband though this dress was HOT!!
This dress is made out of a stretch material, which was great because the food was good! I loved this dress and felt good wearing it. I wore this dress when it was a little cold, so I put on tights and a cardigan. The back is out a little, but I was able to wear a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 2, 2014
I felt like a million dollars at the wedding I attended!
I rented this dress for a wedding in Palo Alto and couldn't have been happier with it. I am definitely self-conscious about some weight that I've gained, and the lace faux-peplum on this dress was so flattering! I am somewhere between a 10 and a 12, and I decided to wear the 12 so I had a little more breathing room. At 5'3", I am a lot shorter than the model shown wearing this dress, and I was very happy with where it ended up falling on me length-wise. This was another RTR success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 6, 2014
Loved this dress!
This dress was perfect for my friend's bridal shower. I was worried about the low back, but was able to wear a normal bra with it which was great! Fit TTS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2014
Lots of compliments on this unique dress.
Fit very well, super flattering. I wore the 4 instead of the two because it was kinda right across my chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 25, 2014
Perfect dress for a wedding reception! It was great for dancing!
The dress was very comfortable and great for dancing and moving. It was very breathable, so it was perfect for a summer wedding. It was a little bit loose around the hips, but the rest of the dress fit in the right places. It was longer than in the picture of the model, but that's also because I'm short. Overall, it was a hit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2014
Great fit great color!
Perfect Fit. A little long but I am 5"1"
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 18, 2014
The material was comfortable and the lace detail added elegance that made it perfect for a wedding.
The dress was super comfortable and perfect for the wedding! Polyester was not the best choice for an outdoor ceremony in June, but the stretchy material was perfect for dancing. I received so many compliments on the style and fit of the dress. I paired with the Badgley Mischka Black Crystal Cluster Earrings https://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/blackcrystalclusterearrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2014
This dress fit really well and was easy to wear.
I wore a 6--the 8 was a little too baggy. The 6 was pretty form-fitting. Not too short. It was flattering and I loved it! Easy to wear any bra underneath.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2014
Lovely color and cut!
Fit wise, this dress was made for someone with different proportions.. Because I'm shorter, and have a short torso, the dress did the top half was too long and bunched up a lot. The seam across the waist also didn't hit me in the right spot. The bottom half ended up being too roomy. If I were just a little taller I think the dress would have fit a lot better. I loved the color and the cut in the back, though and got multiple compliments on it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 12, 2015
Great Dress!
I wore this dress to a Christmas Party and absolutely loved it! The lace adds just the right amount of detail to keep it from being too plain. Not to mention, the color is lovely. It is more conservative, but definitely not matronly. I could've worn the 2 as well, but I liked that the 0 was form-fitting. This was my first experience renting a dress and I have not one complaint. Thanks Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2015
It's great. Comfortable. Great fuschia color. Lots of compliments.
Fits well. I'm 5'0" and it was a pretty good length. I wanted to look a bit covered up at a wedding, so I didn't mind that it came to mid-lower thigh.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 12, 2014
Super cute - walks that fine line of classy, cute and sexy. Perfect!
The fit was perfect!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 17, 2015
Wonderful Dress
I absolutely love this dress! It has an amazing color and fit. I received a lot of compliments and I felt great wearing it! It is true to size.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
April 29, 2015
This dress was comfortable and perfect for a wedding!
This dress fit perfect and the material was very comfortable. I highly recommend this dress. My stomach is my problem area and in this dress you couldn't even notice. Thumbs up for me!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 2, 2015
Worked, but wasn't my favorite
This dress was definitely pretty and worked for the event (spring evening wedding) but it wasn't my favorite. It fit true to size and the the fake peplum hid any stomach issues I wanted to hide. The length was nice and it worked with come plain black pumps. I received a lot of compliments on it and I was comfortable all night, but there was just something off about it so I didn't enjoy wearing this dress as much as I thought I would. I'm glad I tried something out of my comfort zone but I wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
This dress was just perfect!
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS DRESS! When I ordered it, I was worried it may be a little plain and boring - quite the contrary. The color is beautiful, very vibrant. The fit was perfect for me and so SO flattering. The material is a little stretchy so it is very comfortable. I was able to wear a regular bra (I was wondering if I'd need a backless bra because of the V in the back). I actually REALLY want to buy this dress because I loved it so much & it has such versatility. I paired it with silver glittery shoes and clutch for the wedding, but this dress would be great for work or a dinner date etc. It is long enough to be appropriate for a professional atmosphere (hits right above the knee) and would look great with black tights and/or a blazer if needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2012
The dress was gorgeous and so comfortable!
This was my first RTR experience and I am impressed with the whole process. The dress arrived on Friday and looked exactly like the pictures on the website. The fit was perfect and I loved the lace detailing. You can even wear a bra with this dress. The ease of renting and returning the dress has got me hooked on RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 20, 2013
Super comfortable
The dress fit beautifully and I received tons of compliments throughout the night. However, as I am on the petite side, the length is a bit longer than shown in the picture. Definitely recommend for those not as petite as me though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2013
Great color!
Got lots of compliments on the color, very flattering fit! I'm usually an 8 or 10, and the 8 was too snug - went with the 10, which could have been a bit tighter across the back - but it was fine for the evening. Great length - was longer on me than it looks on the model. You can TOTALLY wear a regular bra with it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2013
Great dress!
Love this dress! Material is stretchy and flattering. The lace around the waist does a great job hiding my poochy imperfection after having a baby last year. Great fit! Would definitely recommend. Loved the RTR process, super easy and no regrets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2014
Wore this for a NYE dinner and dancing...loved it!
It fit nicely although the zipper was a little hard to get over the seam. The color was bright and the lace was beautiful! You can wear a normal bra because the back V is not as low as the picture looks. I wore it with a chunky silver necklace, black tights and black booties. The lace around the waist is also perfect for hiding any slight problem areas! It was perfect for a night out in snowy Chicago!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
March 13, 2014
This dress fit great! It came a day early and was easy to return.
This dress fit great! I'm a bit bustier, so it was a bit loose through the hips but it didn't look bad. I would definitely recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 19, 2014
One of my best friends got married! :)
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I got compliments all night long, and the color really popped. The fabric of the dress had some stretch to it, which was great for dancing. Initially, I saw that many women rented this for fall/winter events, but the dress worked really well for a spring wedding too. This rental experience was everything I wanted it to be!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
November 16, 2014
Great of dancing
Very comfortable! Danced all night..fabric has stretch so very easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2014
Perfect fit, not too tight or too short for dancing the night away!
So comfortable, flattering fit and striking color. It was my first RTR experience and is the reason i keep coming back for more.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2011
I was super pleased with this dress. I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and it was prefect for the occasion. The fabric has some stretch so it was really comfortable and the color was striking without being over the top. I'm 5'4" about 150lbs and the size 8 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
Great dress. Fits like a glove
This was SO comfortable. I wore it to an outside September wedding. Didn't hardly wrinkle at all! A little on the conservative side, but the back is the best part. The lace is gorgeous. Fits true to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
August 24, 2012
Very Elegant dress
A little long for me so I had to use the magic tape to make it a little shorter..it's perfect that way. I love how it looked in pictures. In person, the material felt like something you could actually wear to work
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 7, 2012
not bad
I orginally saw this dress on the Nordstrom website in a beautifull red color, but they ran out of my size, then I found the purple one on Rent the Runway, it was perfect, it is a beautiful design the qaulity however was less superior then I thought it was going to be, it is a poly dress, and the color is more sturated then its showing on the website which I understand, screens cant show true colors. but its not bad afterall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Fantastic Dress
I ordered this dress for a wedding. It was beautiful and so flattering. Unfortunately the dress I received had a stain. It looked like whoever wore it before me spilled on the front, RTR had it dry cleaned, but the cleaners could not remove all the stain. It was barely noticable, but once you saw it, it was all you can see. I contacted them and the issue was resolved the next day. I love this site and will continue to order from them for all the future weddings/events I have.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this, but my friend (who is 5 inches taller than me) did & it was gorgeous!
This dress is definitely for someone long & lean. I ordered it but it was not flattering on my figure. It looked gorgeous on my friend who is 5'9" & slim (maybe 125 lbs). The color is really nice & looks great on all skin tones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2012
I got a lot of compliments. The dress is perfect for a wedding.
The fit was true to size. It is conservative but still fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
January 27, 2013
Too large!
Do not get this dress if you are petite! Unfortunately, I couldn't wear it. The size 0 looked like I was wearing sack. Pretty color and was really trying to get into the lace thing that's so popular, but this was just not right for my body type.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 11, 2013
Great color!
Love this dress!! I bought this to wear for my birthday brunch at a fancy french restaurant. I like the peplum lace, awesome if you'ew self conscious about your stomach like I am. Also has a little stretch, so its comfortable to wear!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2013
Love having the option to choose between two dresses.
The dress color was beautiful and fit well throughout, however it did pull in the chest area. As a result, I did not consider as an option to wear as I would have been self-conscious of how it looked in the chest area,. I got it as a back-up to my first choice which I loved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 30, 2013
I was told this dress looked like something Princess Kate would wear!
This dress is fabulous. It fit perfectly with a little extra room in the hips making it extremely comfortable and wearable. I'm 5'2" and it was the perfect length for a semi formal event. I paired it with black pumps and silver jewelry. Will definitely rent again based on all the wonderful compliments I received!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2013
Fit Like a Glove
The black detail hit my hips perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Beautiful color!
I got this as a backup dress for a wedding, but decided to go with the other dress. It's a decent length on me, but I can see it being a tad short on someone taller. Fits true to size, so if you are more chesty just be mindful that a larger size may be better. I would rent this again for sure.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2014
Complements keep on coming
I wore this dress on a summer wedding and it feels right and comfy. It has a nice stretch to it so more room to dance and of course to eat. I just felt so happy about it and if only I could keep it, I would. This is my first time to rent and I will do it again. It makes life easier most especially for a mom like me who does not have time in the world to shop for hours in the mall. Customer service at rent the runway is superb. It makes looking for a dress to wear on occasions convenient for everyone.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×