Hervé Léger

Yacht Cruising Sheath

$30 rental
$1,690 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Get ready to set sail in this ombre sheath by Hervé Léger. Ocean hues will have you craving a tropical drink as you schmooze your way through the cocktail party. Keep accessories minimal to let the dress stand out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee Length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. We recommend SPANX to cinch in waist.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue Ombre Bandage Knit (90% Rayon, 9%Nylon, 1% Spandex). Short sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
254 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(175)
Small
(57)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
March 5, 2014
A great looking dress that turned heads. Received many compliments and the dress feels expensive
The dress feels expensive from the moment you unpackaged it. Great look that turns heads. Runs true to size but is very from fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 10, 2014
Compliments all night !
I wore this dress at my engagement party. The ombré coloring and tight fit made for a sexy dress, but the length made me feel comfortable in front of all our family and friends. I recommend this dress for anyone!
carolynJune 1, 2014
what did you get for you back up size? I am getting and xs, but not sure if my back up should be S or XXS
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 14, 2014
I loved the dress. It was amazing! I got so many compliments.
It is a very heavy dress. But still awesome
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 16, 2014
Body hugging, quality, comfort.
Normally a small, I was thankful to have the medium, which was longer in length than I would of liked, but ultimately more comfortable in size overall. The sleeves do run a little snug, but my arms adjusted to it and never noticed it during the night. I could of used some tape to keep the sleeves in place and the neckline flat, but I did without. I was so impressed with the fabric quality. You could already tell just taking it out of the box at how heavy it was. The stretch in this dress was just enough to flatter any body type. Color was as expected. This was my first rental, and I will definitely do it again. Received many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
A very flattering and comfortable dress
This is a very flattering dress. I wore it for a date with my fiance and he loved it. Even though it is a really tight dress, it is still really comfortable. I really liked that it didn't show too much leg or too much chest - both are very modest in this dress; its sexiness is in its fit. I think it ran true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 20, 2014
Show stopper
I am obsessed with this dress! It fit like a glove, the colors were gorgeous and the material was comfortable. I wish I owned it in every color and style. It was my first Herve and definitely wont be my last!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2014
did not fit :(
Usually, I'm a 6, and if things don't fit, it's in the booty. But this one is a bit stretchy, and fit perfectly in both the hips and booty, and also in the waist. The problem was that it did not fit around my bust and arms well enough to zip up! Sadness, because my event is only an hour away, and RTR had no backup size available. At least Molly H was very helpful in the live chat feature to get me set up with a Return For Fit Request. It's a gorgeous dress which I will most definitely rent again in the future, but will have to wait til the Medium is available.
KeshaMay 19, 2014
you should have tried the M, I think it would have fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
March 29, 2014
WAY better in person!!
When I first saw the dress online, I scrolled right passed: thinking it had too many colors and the hem was too long for my birthday bash. However, the length was perfect once I put on heels and the shape is amazing. The ombre is so much more natural looking once you put it on and see it in person. The neck/shoulder/sleeve area was kind of a weird fit. I usually wear a S in Herve, but can fit in an XS for an extra curvaceous look (the bandage dress does tend to stretch/form to your body as the night goes on). I wore it off the shoulder and it looked more natural and felt comfortable that way. The bottom of the dress was a bit stretched out from use. Once I zipped it up, I felt like a sexy mermaid. The dress was a hit all night long, I didn't want to take it off!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2014
This dress will make you unleash your inner VIXEN!
Ladies, this dress will SUCK. YOU. IN and accentuate your assets. I am obsessed with Herve Leger and his dresses...he's a true miracle worker. I wore Spanx underneath to smooth out my love rolls (bleh) but needless to say, EVERYONE loved my dress and I received compliments all night! I got a LARGE as my backup size and thank goodness because that's the size I wore. I recommend wearing spanx and perhaps a waist cincher underneath to really amplify your natural curves. If you get this dress, be prepared...because you'll feel uber FAB & FIERCE in it. Now if only it came in other colors...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
Out of this world!!!!
I can't even begin to explain how much I loved this dress!!!! I have never received so many compliments before in my life....the dress was truly amazing and fit like a glove. I wore spanx with it because I just wanted to keep everything smooth but it was so form fitting that it felt like the dress did all the sucking in on its own. The quality was amazing and you can definitely see why these dresses are so expensive. I will absolutely rent Herve Legler again and again after wearing this dress. Thank you RTR for yet another successful rental!!! I couldn't stop gushing about how much I love renting dresses from you guys.....I don't think I'll ever buy a dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2014
Perfect Dress!
The fit was undoubtedly skin tight, but after about 10 minutes of wearing it the dress loosened up and was very comfortable. I definitely wouldn't have gone another size up (I rented a s and xs and wore the small). The dress was beautiful and I was complemented all night long I would recommend this dress to anyone, and I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 11, 2014
Loved the dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding and got multiple compliments. My husband liked it so much that he wanted me to buy it! Id rather do RTR and rent many different dresses from Herve!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 13, 2014
Wow!
This dress fits every one of my curves! I ordered a M and L, but the large was not ready to be sent to me. Lauren from RTR upgraded my order and sent several other options. I was so grateful for the customer service! Fortunately, the medium fit like a glove, and I received countless compliments all night. This dress is a no brainer!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2014
So many compliments!!
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner and drinks, and it was fabulous. The table next to us at the bar gave me a standing ovation when I walked by. It's form-fitting and sexy, yet I never felt inappropriate due to the neckline and the long hem. I ordered a S and XS. Unfortunately, the small arrived with food splatters on the bust, and there was no way I could fit my arms through the sleeves of the XS. Customer service told me there was no smalls available to overnight, so at least the splatters weren't that noticeable and the dress still wearable. That aside, it was an amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
April 22, 2014
Tight and Heavy
I rented this as a back-up dress to wear during my wedding weekend. It was too tight and very heavy so I decided to wear something I already had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2014
SIZE UP!
I'm usually a solid 4 in dresses, sometimes a 6 if they are tight on the bottom compared to the top. I ordered this dress in Small and felt like I was wearing an incredibly tight rubberband. The material is very thick so once I zipped up (with lots of help) the dress actually looked pretty awesome. But I couldn't separate my legs enough to walk :( Unfortunately there were no mediums available to overnight so I had to go with my standard LBD. It's a great dress but definitely one to size up.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 24, 2014
Exceeded expectations!
My only regret was giving it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect fit, beautiful and comfortable.
GORGEOUS DRESS. I thought from reading the reviews that the small might not fit but it was absolutely perfect. I can see how zipping yourself in might be difficult, but I managed well by doing the top quarter when it was down below my shoulders and then shimmying it up! ; )
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 28, 2014
Tons of compliments. Told it was the best dress at the gala.
The large was not available at the last minute. I was very stressed but with some spanx it all worked out well. Actually easy to walk and sit in as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
Words cannot describe how amazing this dress is! Perfect for competing in the Miss Vermont Pageant!
I rented for the first time from Rent the Runway for all of my pageant attire for the Miss Vermont Scholarship Organization Pageant that was this past Saturday. This dress received TONS of compliments and is extremely figure-flattering (it will make your waist look extremely slender!). The dress was a little snug and the material is thick, but I would highly recommend this dress to anyone for an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 28, 2014
Definitely too tight
the medium was not available so I was hopeful that the small would work. Not the case!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2014
Beautiful dress that fit like a glove!
Fit so well and my husband loved it! Compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 4, 2014
Everyone loved this dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress and I felt amazing in it! I did wear spanx, but could have gone without--the dress is super slimming on its own! The coloring really accentuates your curves and hides any imperfections. It is really tight and I was not able to wear a bra, which I usually couldn't do, but the fabric of the dress was really supportive. When I first put it on it was a little difficult to walk (it's fitted right down the the knees) but it loosened up after a bit and wasn't an issue. I felt like a million bucks. I will definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2014
I wore this dress to the Kentucky Derby! AMAZING!
I loved everything about this dress. I had people stopping me and asking if they could take my picture because they loved my outfit. Some lady stopped me and grabbed my arm to tell me how beautiful the dress was. I can't even begin to tell you how many people loved this dress. Including myself. My husband asked how much to buy it? I told him not to worry because there are more Herve Leger dresses on RTR. Get this dress, it will make you feel gorgeous.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 11, 2014
Stunning! I felt fancy and beautiful and glamorous.
Compliments from my husband all night - and three women at the event came up to me to tell me how much they loved the dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2014
I rented this for my Rehearsal Dinner. All night every kept telling me how incredible I looked!
The fit was true to size and fit like a glove! The colors were vibrant and perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34F
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
This dress fit like a glove!
Beautiful dress, the blue color is much brighter than the picture. It's sexy without showing skin. So happy that I went with a back up size, I wanted the small and a medium, but the medium wasn't available. But it worked out because the XS fit the best! I loved wearing this dress, and I got quite a few complements on it too!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 3, 2014
Show Stopper.
I wore this to a wedding and received compliments from everyone! Beautiful fit and no spanx required! The dress does loosen up though after about 10-15 minutes of wear. I wish I had worn the XS just for a little more pull-in! Overall, highly recommend! Cannot wait to rent another Herve Leger soon!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
It made me feel sexy and confident.
-very tight but stretchy - slightly itchy by tags - moved well
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 8, 2014
The best dress.
I didn't want to send this dress back. At first it was a bit tight but it adjusted throughout the night and fit like a glove. The colors are so vibrant and help accentuate curves. This dress is amazing and I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 10, 2014
Not a good fit.
Way TOO tight - uncomfortable - very heavy dress as well. I did not wear it. I wear a 4 normally, sometimes a small running 6 . Truly bummed as loved the look from the front but just too uncomfortable .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 11, 2014
So gorgeous, but v snug!
I didn't actually wear this dress. I normally would have ordered a L, but it wasn't available and the RTR girl who took my call thought the M would work for me. Alas, the M was way too tight for polite company. That being said the dress is even better looking in person and I'm anxiously waiting another occasion to order the L for.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
love the dress, went to herve and bought it…
fits perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 16, 2014
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING AND SO FLATTERING
I am obsessed with this dress. It ran a bit small, but once it was on, it was not going anywhere. Very high quality, felt amazing on, and looked incredible. I received so many compliments on this dress and did not want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
This dress was true to size, and absolutely gorgeous! I got so many compliments on it. The different color stripes that make up the dress are incredibly flattering and really define your waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 20, 2014
I felt so sexy!
This dress was slammin'! I felt like a bombshell! I have fairly muscular thighs, so I had to wear a longer pair of boy shorts to prevent chaffing, but other than that, it was perfect! The ombré is super-slimming, and the RTR price was perfect. I was so sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
Awesome and versatile dress!
After reading that this dress ran small on some people I was very scared that the size I've worn in Herve in the past wouldn't fit, but it zipped up and looked great! It held everything in so well, I didnt even have to wear spanx under it! This is an awesome and versatile dress that was super comfortable. I wore this for an outdoor rehearsal dinner with pretty flats and it rocked in a more casual way, but add a heel and this dress can be totally glamed up for a night on the town. Herve never lets me down!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2014
This dress makes dreams come true!!
First of all I want to thank Rent the Runway for allowing me to have the most PERFECT dress imaginable for my engagement photos! I've had my eye on this dress for quite sometime but never could fathom spending the original retail cost of $1,600 for a dress I will wear for only one occasion. Rent the Runway made this desirable dress an affordable cost and making it so easy for my special occasion. I love the fact you can order another size at no cost so I decided to get the small just incase since I read in other reviews it runs small. I have to say the XS fit me like a glove with still being a tight fit that I like but still extremely comfortable. This dress is a gorgeous array of blues, teals, and creams and was prettier in person than the picture on the website. My fiancé was BLOWN AWAY when he saw me in this dress and made it extra special for our beautiful engagement photos. This dress is pure class and sexiness all put together into one dress! I can't tell you how many compliments I have gotten especially since our engagement photos were last night! BEST DRESS EVER- I LOVE YOU RENT THE RUNWAY!! Thank you for making our wonderful engagement pictures extra special :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 7, 2014
Very flattering dress! Received a ton of compliments!
I was a bit hesitant about wearing this dress to a wedding since it's very form-fitting but the length and the sleeves made it feel more conservative. I wanted a second size (small) but it sold out before I completed checkout so I was forced to wear the XS. It was a bit snug so I wore it around the house for an hour before I head out and it worked out perfectly. The dress itself is beautiful, very flattering, and fairly comfortable. I received a ton of compliments and would definitely rent this dress again! If I had to critique it I would say that my least favorite thing about it is because it's so tight it rolls your underwear down when you pull it down and shows undergarment lines (I had to adjust it every time I used the restroom). If it wasn't a rental I would've probably opted for no undergarments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 12, 2014
Beautiful and Different
Unfortunately, there were issues with my order and I only received my dresses the day I needed to send them back (UPS’s fault not RTR’s). So I didn’t get to wear any of my dresses. However, to be honest I am kind of happy with how that worked out. HL dresses are thick and heavy. Not entirely ideal for summer. I wanted to wear this for my bday in NYC but glad that things ended up working out the way they did. It would not have been fun to wear in Hot NYC. I would suggest renting it in the fall or winter. Would I rent it again? I am not sure, its beautiful and different, and I love the colors but after trying it on I only Liked not Loved it.
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×