Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Yacht Cruising Sheath

$30 rental
$1690 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready to set sail in this ombre sheath by Hervé Léger. Ocean hues will have you craving a tropical drink as you schmooze your way through the cocktail party. Keep accessories minimal to let the dress stand out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee Length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. We recommend SPANX to cinch in waist.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee Length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. We recommend SPANX to cinch in waist.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue Ombre Bandage Knit (90% Rayon, 9%Nylon, 1% Spandex). Short sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

243 reviews

Fit
Small 54
True to Size 167
Large 1
Photos 174
Gigi
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

This was a fitted and flattering dress. It had a slimming spandex effect, so yay!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a fitted and flattering dress. Because it had the slimming spandex effect, the length could be made longer or shorter, depending on how much stretch I wanted along the bodice. It came off the shoulder more and more as the night wore on and the dress loosened up (slightly); and because I don't care for the off-the-shoulder look, I wore an undergarment shirt. You can it see it quite plainly if you look. Don't mistake it for the actual dress. I still do recommend Spanx for those that suffer from post-baby bumps like me.
Dawna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Even other women were telling me how amazing I looked in this dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a workout to get into this dress and get it zipped, but once it was on, it looked amazing!! You can't wear much under it! I ended up not wearing a bra, which is a big deal for me because I'm a 32DDD. I NEVER go without a bra!! But the dress kept the girls supported and contained. The ombre color with the dark in the middle just made me look like my waist was tiny!! I received tons of compliments on how I looked. Even other women were telling me I looked amazing! You KNOW that you look great when even other women are complimenting you!!!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Jul 26, 2014

just had a baby

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was scared his dress wouldn't fit since the largest size available is a medium and everyone said it's super tight. So I got myself some spanx and crossed my fingers. The medium for perfectly. I felt so amazing in it and my boyfriend says I looked "phenomenal." Considering I had a baby a few months ago I felt so great wearing it. I know I said this with my last dress review but seriously, can I keep it?! Even my boyfriend asked if we really have to send it back :)
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 3, 2014

Made me feel beautiful!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for my 35th birthday dinner! I rented this dress with my free birthday rental from RTR Pro. I always wanted to try Herve Leger but worried that since I am not a size 2 that it wouldn't fit me. Since it was free I gave it a whirl! I am so happy I did. I have never felt better than I did in that dress.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

"Better curves than a corvette!" - Boyfriend "Makes me want a Coke" - Random

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. LOVE. I wore it for my 10 year HS reunion, where I was awarded Biggest Transformation from my class and I was complimented all night. The dress is PERFECT for showing off an already hourglass figure or adding the illusion of curves to those more on the straight and narrow. It is incredibly comfortable... and incredibly difficult to return.
Evie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 15, 2014

This was such a seamless process & returning was WAY easier than I expected!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is snug, but also super sexy...I rented it for a work event at an art gallery & did feel slightly "too sexy" (is there such a thing;) for this particular event. Regardless, I worked all day sweating & setting up, threw in this dress 5 minutes before the event began & was still able to feel like a million bucks. I'd say that's a win.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 16, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous dress and amazing service

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was so upset to send this dress back! It is unbelievably flattering. The material is very thick and not too stretchy, but it really hugs curves. Wearing it all night to dinner and after with friends in Vegas, it was the perfect dress. I never adjusted it or felt uncomfortable.
Hannah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 16, 2014

beautiful & perfect

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like it was made for me. The colors are rich and beautiful. The dress is fitted but the banded fabric is thick so I was able to go without a bra. You just have to be conscious that the seam in the back will slide a little off center as you move around (but you will look so good that a very willing date or friend will offer to adjust it for you from time to time). Sexy. Tons of compliments.
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

You'll look amazing in this dress.

Size worn: XXS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress about a week before my event and I would have gone with the XS but it was not available. The XXS was tight but it worked! I expressed my concerns about the smaller size with RTR and the costumer service was exceptional! The woman I spoke to explained that she was my size, and that the XXS worked for her but that it would be a little tight. That was exactly the case. Loved this dress!
Brenda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

I have never gotten so many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing... fit is very very snug but the dark blue in the middle gives an hourglass figure. After a bit, the dress relaxed a bit and I could move more. I got compliments all night and when I posted pictures friends and family were texting me to tell me how much they loved the dress! Could not say enough good things... I can not wait to have an event to go to so I can use Rent the Runway again :)
Theophainia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

I normally don't wear blue... but this dress was perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I normally don't wear blue... But my boyfriend was wearing navy to the wedding. I love these dresses. They are incredibly form fitting and comfortable. I own one my self. I still don't think I would buy a blue dress, but certainly another from the designer.
RTR Customer
Aug 23, 2014

Sexy! Got many compliments!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Very tight. I wore spanx at first and ended up taking them off half way through the night because the dress was so tight.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

Beautiful color but long for us short girls

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tight fit like all the Herve Leger dresses. Beautiful color and unique but long for us short girls! I used fashion tape to tape it up and that worked perfectly. Worth the rental!
Jannine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 23, 2014

The dress was awesome. I got a lot of compliments and my husband loved it!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove, perfect!
HT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 25, 2014

Beautiful colors- needed spanx!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The colors of the dress look great in photos- but in person, the colors are not totally solid. Each band has almost a "Heather" look to it. Definitely very tight, form fitting, and I don't know about the other posters who claimed to wear it with no bra- I am a 36D, 135 lbs and 5'7" and no way! Definitely needed spanx too! And the picture on this website totally does not do this dress justice. This is a knockout dress for the perfect body type- hourglass with a medium to full bust. The darkened colors in the middle have a slimming affect which is great. All in all, not bad, I just should've been better prepared.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Perfectly tight, absolutely fabulous!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a formal wedding at the Boston Public Library. I wanted to rent a Small but they were out so I went with a Medium and an XS as a backup (not a chance that would zip up). The weight of the fabric is thick and really holds you in nicely, no need to wear shapewear or even a bra. I'm fairly short and the dress hit me right above the knee so walking was not a problem. You must rent this dress, it's a show stopper!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Hot hot hot!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is awesome! I don't normally like things this tight, but it sure is flattering. I absolutely LOVED how it was off the shoulder. The length kept it from being trashy because it is a little longer than most cocktail dresses. The colors are so beautiful. Also, no bra or undergarments needed! I am large chested and this was very supportive. The fabric is nice and thick. I definitely recommend this dress!
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 1, 2014

Sexy and Fresh

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I tried both the small and medium. The small fit and zipped but was a little too tight on the butt through the thigh. The medium fit well. It has the Herve Leger "scuba" tightness to it. It has a thickness (and weight, the box was heavy!!!) that is a mark of the high quality of the dress. Overall, tons of compliments, felt and looked great, could eat my dinner and not feel like the dress wouldn't look good anymore, could dance, looked sexy without being too showy, etc very very pleased with this rental! Flawless night!
erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Loved this dress…and so did my husband!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ran true to size. Form fitting, yet the sleeves and length still made it conservative
Val
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

This dress truly made me feel like a priciness on my special birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I fit into a medium in other Herve Leger styles. However, the small worked for this one. It was quite snug upon first putting it on, but after an hour or two felt great. I was able to eat, drink and dance the night away without having to worry about the dress or how I looked all night. I felt beautiful, and got countless compliments. It accentuates all your curves and if you have any problem areas it holds everything in nicely. Highly recommended!
Jada
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 8, 2014

Best dressed at the wedding! My curves shut the party down!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and I was very satisfied. I've always been a fan of Herve dresses and they accentuate my "curvier than Kim K" booty and hips. I could get in the small and medium but wore the medium for comfort and length for a wedding reception. There were small signs of wear on both dresses but nothing noticeable. Literally everyone complimented me on this dress from the fit to the color. It definitely fits snug. To me it's like wearing a dress with built in Spanx. I didn't wear any undergarments which is the suggestion at most Herve retail stores. I have already ordered 2 more dresses from RTR. This dress was a show stopper.... Arrived on time, affordable and the perfect balance of sexy/classy.
Holly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Sep 10, 2014

The way I felt in this beautiful dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I didn't want to send it back. I felt so beautiful in it and received many compliments throughout the evening. I am 5'2, 135 pounds and 36 C. I ordered a small and got a medium as a back up. I am so glad that I ordered the medium. The small fit but was tight and just fit too snug for me. I wore the medium and felt very comfortable. It still pulled me in where I needed and looked great. I would highly recommend renting this dress for any occasion.
Lauren
Age: 32
Sep 14, 2014

So sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove. Sucked everything in and showed off all my curves. Super comfortable. No complaints! My boyfriend said he will be daydreaming about that dress for a long time!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
No negatives, fit great. Love the color. Requires strapless bra
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Tons of Compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything about this dress was amazing; the fit was perfect, the color, the style. It was easy to dance in and really made me feel beautiful and sexy. The dress fit more off the shoulders then what it shows on the model which I absolutely loved. If you want to hear how great you look all night then I could not recommend this dress more.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

Stand out dress! Complements all night!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is a tight fit but fits beautifully! Loved the ombré and bright blue color, sleeves add a nice touch. Fitted in back - very flattering!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2014

This dress is INCREDIBLE!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'll definitely be renting this one again! Show stopper! It fits well and is super comfortable to wear all night.
Denae
Age: 31
Sep 21, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress, did not want to return it!!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress!!!! I received so many compliments and I felt comfortable in it all night!! The fit and color was beautiful!!! I did want to rent the small and the medium but the small was unavailable and I was worried but the medium was perfect!!! I would say don't be afraid to go up a size if your normal size is unavailable.
kia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Color pops on darker skin tones

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, color and shape. Perfect for hourglass figures
Mar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

My husband flirting with me all night :)

Size worn: XXS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented both xs and xxs and decided I liked the fit of xxs the best. Gave me a very sexy silhouette but the length hit right at my knee, so it was still classy and appropriate for a country club wedding. Spent most the night with shapewear underneath, but when the dancing began I had to take it off because it was too warm! The fabric of the dress is so thick, coupled with shapewear it got a little hard to breathe. The color is just beautiful in person! The neckline didn't need a necklace, so some sparkly earrings were the perfect accessory. I felt so gorgeous all evening.
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 2, 2014

This is an eye catching dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first Herve Leger rental and I was not disappointed. The fit is very tight but the fabric is thick enough that it is still flattering. I felt great in the dress but also I questioned whether it was the best choice for the wedding I attended. It's length and neckline make it appropriate, but the fit and color are attention grabbers. You will not blend into the crowd wearing this dress.
Joan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

This dress is a definite head turner. Received complements from everybody!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was a great dress for my 25th class reunion. Very classy. It was a very tight fit, but not uncomfortable. I loved everything about it!
lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Sexy in a classy way

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore XS because the S I rented was returned to RTR damaged. I was nervous about how tight the XS felt, but my husband assured me I looked sexy and classy and didn't appear to be constricted. While the material is thick/heavy and has a way of keeping things in place, I was also able to move, dance and sit with no problem. Got many compliments from friends and strangers as well as eye rolls from other women which, I guess, is a good indicator of how the dress looked.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Great dress, fits very tight!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and got tons of compliments, but woooo is it tight! It acts as its own spanx, though. :) Ideally I probably would've sized up to M, but they were out, so I made the S work. If my arms were bigger, I probably couldn't have worn the small.
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Oct 14, 2014

Makes a big statement!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is quite heavy, so I wouldn't recommend it for a summer or humid event. Everything fit perfectly, but I found the shoulder stitching to be a bit snug...that was the only place that I couldn't get to stretch. It didn't bother me once I got used to it, but athletic ladies may find it bothersome. Overall, I was so pleased to actually wear a Herve Leger dress!!
Anne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Oct 14, 2014

Sexy but classy dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a great dress and it was so well made! The construction and the weight of the dress made you be able to know it was a designer dress! It was certainly fun to wear! Some people my height in the reviews complained that the dress was a little long . I felt that the length of the dress kept it classy while still being sexy. I would've given it five stars but the dress was a little bit worn and there was a tiny hole towards the bottom. I expected a little bit worn as it is not a new dress but the tiny hole was a bit of a bummer. However I will still rent again and I was very happy with the dress!
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

The dress just makes you feel awesome!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was afraid it might not fit...but it did! Fits like a glove. Makes you look super skinny! I wore spanx-type pantyhose underneath but probably didn't need them...the dress itself slims you! Blue is my favorite color and I basically did not want to send it back. So many compliments.
Lauren S
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 18, 2014

Compliments for days!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My first Hervè rental and definitely not my last...I loved wearing this dress! The color is beautiful in person & the design beautifully flatters in all the right ways. Compliments all night long. Highly recommended!
Jenny
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Great customer service & a beautiful dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It broke my heart to return this dress! I wore it to my best friend's rehearsal dinner and received a lot of compliments! This dress is very form fitting so I recommend wearing Spanx underneath. All pros no cons... Best dress ever!
Becca
Usually wears: 2
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Didn't want to return it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
10/10 for a black tie, fall wedding at the beach
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×