Wishful Thinking Dress

$557 to buy
$1590 retail
Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
194 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(137)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2012
gorgeous lbd
my sister rented this and she loved it! she's 5'4" and is a definite pear shape and she really pulled this one off!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Love this dress!
Great dress would look amazing on all shapes and sizes. Possibly the most comfortable dress i've ever worn!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2012
Great dress - too big
Great little black dress, just too much dress for a small frame.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress is not for full chested women!
I love Herve dresses and have successfully rented them before, but this dress did not fit me in the chest area. There are triangular panels in the breast area that are meant to accentuate the bust. They are very small. I tried to position myself different ways but my breasts were either awkwardly stuffed in and disfigured because they were larger than the panels or spilling out to the point of a nip slip. That said, it would be a great dress for someone with a C cup or smaller. It is sexy but still classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 1, 2012
So form fitting and flattering, sadly I did not get to wear it :(
This dress was absolutely amazing, super form fitting, but super flattering... I ordered the medium and the small, and I know this is supposed to be body hugging, but I think I might have been just a wee bit more comfortable in the large. I have larger arms so it felt pretty tight there. I sadly didn't wear this for my date because it was just a little too va-va-voom for the location. I cannot wait for an event where I can wear this because it's on the top of my list of dresses to wear!!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
October 7, 2012
What is not to love about looking fantastic!
Fits great. No Spanx necessary.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XXS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
October 14, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it runs very small but its still gorgeous.
Good thing I ordered two dresses because this was too small. I ordered size xxs and should have ordered an xs or small. The other herve dress I ordered was an xs and that fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 14, 2012
The look on my boyfriend's face was awesome.... every time he looked at me, all night.
I loved this dress. It was sexy, yet still classy because I wasn't busting out of it - I don't have a large chest, so I just wore a regular push-up with it and it worked out great one I made a few small adjustments (see below). Overall thought, this is a sexy, curve-hugging, flattering dress. It got four stars because it kept sliding at first in the neckline and exposing my bra. This may just be the fact that I'm self conscious about my chest, but I ended up using Victorias' Secret double sided body tape, which is awesome - I use it a lot because it holds but doesn't ruin fabric or irritate my skin. I actually taped the dress to my bra, not to my skin, and it worked out perfectly. I'm trying to post pics but apparently mine are too large. Will keep working on it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 17, 2012
Amazing! Love how this dress felt on.
I would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 25, 2012
Such an Amazing Dress!
This is an expensive dress to rent, but its really stunning. The fit is incredibly flattering, and the neckline is like nothing I had ever worn before. Just really, really recommend this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2012
Runs small.. so if you have sexy curves go 1 size up ladies.
Runs small, if you have an hourglass figure go 1 size up. I rented the medium and the sleeves were to snugg. However this piece is absolutely spectacular. I wish the large would have been available for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2012
This dress made me feel spectacular!!!
It hugged the right way in all the right places. Definitely skintight, as you would expect from a bodycon dress) but more comfortable than I expected. I wear a 34DD and would say that maybe it's best suited for someone with a bit less in that area, but overall it is an amazing dress and I was sad to see it go...
desireeNovember 6, 2012
you look amazing
GirlyGoalieNovember 7, 2012
Thank you Desiree! That's so sweet :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
November 13, 2012
Amazing
The fit of this dress is incredible and super flattering. Everyone loved it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 7, 2012
the look on my boyfriend's face when he first saw me...
This dress is the PERFECT combo of sexy and classy. The slightly risque neckline is subdued by the elbow length sleeves and 'just' above the knee hemline. This was my first time wearing an Herve Leger and I am officially a believer! Would (and maybe will) absolutely consider renting this dress again. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 12, 2012
Looking and feeling like a celebrity!
I loved this dress. Gorgeous, form fitting... I felt like a sexy million bucks! I would recommend sizing up tho. I'm petite, some people say I'm tiny... and so I have a really hard time finding stuff to fit me but this dress FIT. It was a little like getting into my wetsuit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2012
Very sexy!
I wore this dress for my birthday and received many compliments. I absolutely loved how it looked! It is very form fitting and it was a little uncomfortable in the arms when I tried to raise them high. But other than that I loved the dress and felt very sexy the whole night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
December 29, 2012
So classic and flattering!
I loved this dress, however, the extra small was a little tighter than I would have liked.. I tried the small, but it was WAY too big in the bust and shoulder area. Either way, it is a beautiful, classic dress, and I would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 1, 2013
AWESOME DRESS!
I have nothing bad to say about any Herve Leger dress, this one is no different. I rented this dress for NYE with my husband and it was just awesome. It was a chilly night out so I paired it with some thick tights and platform pumps and it was perfect! It fit me like a glove, hit my curves in all the right places! LOVE! Highly recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress; too small even though I ordered the largest size (a medium). Please get a Large!
I was extremely excited for this dress. I had to order a medium because that was the largest size available but after I saw some of the pictures I felt that would be okay, tight but okay. When I got it (the day before NYE) the dress was beautiful but waaay too tight; so much so that I couldnt zip it all the way up and had to return it. I think RTR should order a large!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 4, 2013
ABSOLUTELY Best RTR Yet!
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. I actually began looking to buy it I loved it so much. I got a gazillion compliments and felt the prettiest, sexiest, most amazing that I've ever felt. Will definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 7, 2013
Beautiful dress runs small
I selected this dress as an alternate to my original pick. I tried on but not comfortable for 2reasons. 1. Runs small. 2. More streamlined for younger generation. My daughter tied on the dress and it was gorgeous on her.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
January 18, 2013
AMAZING! I want this dress!!!
Fits in all the right places. Very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 21, 2013
Bringing SEXY back!
Super form fitting and flattering! This dress runs true to size but I went up a size for comfort. The quality is superb, nothing less than what you would expect from a designer dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
January 21, 2013
An amazing fit! It was hard to send it back. Will definitely rent this dress again!
Very flattering, enhances curves and gives the perfect hourglass figure
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2013
PERFECT.
everything about this dress is perfect. It's not too short, but still sexy. Great fit. LOVE it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2013
great post-partum dress
I wore this dress 4 weeks post-partum. It subdued my still protruding baby belly pretty well and really accentuated my new found curves. The weight/bust are estimates for the size I was when I wore the dress. I did think it was a little narrow in the shoulders and found it hard to move my arms very much; it almost wanted to slide off my shoulders into an off-the-shoulder configuration. I don't know if that was the dress or just my body being weird so soon after the baby.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2012
Love Love Love! I may have to buy this dress! So timeless a perfect all seasons dress.
I loved this dress despite the fact it had sleeves. It was super sexy and hugged in all the right places. I know most of you ladies wear Herves without a bra but this one you may want to. It gives you that extra Umppph ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2012
RTR's Stylist, Justine, was a great help. Thank you Justine for your quick notifications and response. Thank you!!!
Wore this dress to a Fashion Show in NY and it was perfect! Loved the fit. It made me look and feel wonderful. I loved the sleeves. It covered just below the elbow. It trimmed my arms perfectly. For those women who are a little worried about their arms, like me,...this dress is perfect! Recommend this to everyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
April 23, 2012
Awesome dress!!
Great dress! It was knee-length on me, quite revealing in the chest area. The shoulders kept slipping a bit, wish I had used alcohol on my skin then fashion tape to keep it in place. I couldnt wear a bra with it because it created way too much cleavage. I am a larger 34D (implants) The dress moves with you beautifully and you can just feel the quality. I wore it to the Ms. America Pageant in California, and I felt like I fit right in!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2012
Perfect dress
People said the dress fit like it was custom-made for me, and I suspect it would fit many body types that way. Super stretchy with just the right neckline - it's very sexy, but completely classy at the same time. I felt great in it all night, it's very comfortable and you can breathe in it.
Keli June 11, 2012
You and I have the exact same body type (weigh the same, same height, same bust size, etc.). Did you also try the XS on? I am trying to decide between the two. I was told with Herve that if you can zip it yourself, it's too large as they stretch. Did you find that to be the case?
RTRJune 11, 2012
Hi Keli, the size Small is equivalent to size 4 and XS is a size 0/2. We offer one free back up size per order, so you can add in the XS as your back-up size.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2012
Engagement Picture Dress
I loved loved loved this dress! I am not at the weight I want to be yet for my wedding, but this dress made me feel sexy and confident! Love how it fits every curve and really sucks everything in. Definitley no need for spanx!! Cant wait to rent another Herve for my Rehersal dinner! :) <3
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 30, 2012
Perfect date night dress!
I should have gone a size up for some more room in the chest. Otherwise, I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
August 1, 2012
Great fit
Wore to an evening wedding in San Francisco. I wanted a longer dress with sleeves but tight- so this was it. It went right to the top of me knee because I am 5'2" with hips. The small was too small in the arms and snug in the hips so I went for comfort with the medium. I was able to dance all night. If you want to do more than stand/sit and you're in between sizes, order up with your backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 15, 2012
Chic and sexy
I would rent this again. Next time will rent small as the xs was just too tight and s wasn't available that time.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress!
This dress is a stretchy thick material. Would not recommend it for a outdoor summer event. It sucks you in all the right place. Super comfortable, sexy yet classy. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2013
I absolutely loved wearing this dress! Tons of compliments from friends and strangers!
I could have worn either the small or the medium, but the medium was a little looser on my legs, which i liked. It made my chest look amazing and made the rest of my body look really small =) haha all Pros for this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Boyfriend's reaction was priceless
True to size, beautiful dress and perfect fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 8, 2013
Hugs in all the right places.
Loved this dress! I normally wear an XS.. so I rented the XS and SM. I couldn't even get the XS on - so it definitely runs small. Super sexy and yet still very classy. Will definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2013
The minute I walked into the party, I knew all my time at the gym and eating right finally paid off.
I don't remember the last time I felt so great in a dress. It's so sexy without being risque. I really loved this dress so much I almost called RTR to tell them I had lost it so I could just keep it. The fit is amazing and true to size (I'm usually a 4 on top and a 6 on the bottom). It wasn't too short though I did occasionally pull it down after standing up. I tried it on with a pushup bra at first but it was way too much cleavage for me and I would've had to use tape to keep the bra and the straps from peeking out all the time. I actually ended up not wearing one at all because it held me in perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
A great LBD!
Fits true to size for Herve. I loved the sleeve for a cool night out. Easy to accesorize and I love when I can wear a good bra under a dress. The length was mid thigh and the deep V front and back are a nice touch. Herve always makes you feel incredibly beautiful and heads turn all night long!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×