Wishful Thinking Dress

$45 rental
$1590 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
193 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size137
Small42
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 1, 2014
Amazing! Perfect fit - classic LBD.
I wore this for my best friends engagement party - i loved this dress, however i didn't want to eat anything the day before bc it shows everything. The XS I would suggest for small chested, flat tummy petit girls. Great LBD!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 27, 2014
Fantastic Herve quality, but perhaps for taller ladies?
The dress is the quintessential LBD, but I just feel the proportions didn't work for me. I received only an XS w/no backup size b/c the small wasn't available. That's OK b/c I think the small might have been too big. I'm 5'2 3/4 :), 117lbs, 32C. I have broad shoulders & no hips, but have a bubble butt in case this info helps you determine the size for you. So I felt the open gap might have been too wide open & the shoulders a bit wide. I liked that it hit my knee since it's so tight/fitted & has the wide V. The waist, hip & butt fit great, but as another reviewer noted, somehow it seems like it's too much dress. I still would have worn it, but it came with what I call stress spots because I think they're the result of use & stretching. But the chat ladies were wonderful & refunded me. I already have orders for my upcoming events--I view this one experience an enigma. I LOVE RTR!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 26, 2014
Girls trip to Vegas
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress! Fit beautifully! Gave me great cleavage. Arms were a little tight. Squeezes you in all the right places.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 23, 2014
Great fit! I felt like this dress was made for me!!
Wore for a mardi gras party at my son's school, then out for my birthday, so I wanted to look both sexy and classy & couldn't be happier with this dress choice! I was nervous after ordering JUST the XS because I read that these dresses run small, but it fit me perfectly. I loved the long-sleeves, they were not too tight and I didn't have any problems with extra material under the arms as other reviewers mentioned. I was able to wear a normal bra and not show too much cleavage. This was my first RTR experience and I can't wait to order again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
February 23, 2014
Gorgeous but tight on bust
Beautiful dress (as always with Herve Leger), but the bust is a little small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2014
beautiful
loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 20, 2014
Sexy and slimming!!
The dress looked tiny when I pulled it out, but fit beautifully! The zipper felt secure and the weight of the dress lets you know it's pricey. The cut is classic, but might be risqué on a woman with more chest. Length was great date night length. The arms were TIGHT even though the rest fit nicely. Nice LBT, nothing too flashy. Definitely needs accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
February 20, 2014
Comfortable dress that felt and looked fabulous!
Dress is very forgiving. Fit easily over my broad shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
February 18, 2014
Fun and Sexy
Loved this sexy look. The v- neck with long sleeves was perfect for a december wedding. Definitely a bandage fit look. Had a great time in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
It's a jawdropper!
Rent this dress! It's sleek and classy enough not to seem too attention-grabbing, which makes the fit all the more stunning. I have fairly thin arms and the sleeves were super tight, but still worth it. The shoulders do tend to slip off, so go with a strapless bra.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2014
This dress is perfection. If you want a confidence boost, choose this dress! Flattering & classic.
As it is a Herve Leger dress, it is supposed to be tight. I went with the xs and was really happy with it. The arms fit tightly, so be aware of that when deciding on the size. I agree with the suggestion to get two sizes in this dress - one in the size you usually get and one a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 7, 2014
Incredibly Small
I usually wear a size 0/XS/S. I ordered this dress in an XS. It came out of the bag looking incredibly small and it never seemed to stretch out. I was able to get it on but I would have been holding my breath all night. This dress just wasn't for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2014
I wore this to my high school reunion and it looked fantastic. I got compliments all night!
This definitely worked with my curves. It was actually really comfortable all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
February 5, 2014
Va va va Voom
This dress fit like a glove, very comfortable, compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2014
Sexy, yet professional
I wore this dress to a the Sports Emmy's, so I was surrounded by coworkers and other people in the industry. I wanted to look and feel great, but I didn't want to wear anything too sexy. This dress was the perfect balance between sexy and professional. It fit me perfectly and had a low neckline, but not too low that it looked out of place. Just remember, if you rent a Herve Leger dress, ALWAYS RENT A SIZE UP. I made this mistake once before, so renting the Small was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
Great fit!
Hugged in the right places and very comfortable. I love a dress I can walk around in all night without having to fix; this is that dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 23, 2014
Gorgeous LBD
Fit excellent! Really showed off the cleavage :) great LBD, not too short, not too long, not too tight... perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
Bombshell!
This dress holds everything together. Fits perfectly. A little on the sexy side for me, be prepared to show some cleavage in this!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 6, 2014
Gorgeous, sexy, transforming dress!
The first thing you'll notice when the this dress arrives is how incredibly weighty the dress is... the high quality, heavy material wraps your body tightly just where it's needed! Note that I wore my backup size of Medium, where as I typically wear small or extra small. At first, the fit concerned me - that even the medium wouldn't be comfortable - however, it worked out great! I could move just fine and it gave me curves just where I wanted them! As I wore this dress to party in the winter, I loved how the sexy cut made me feel gorgeous while the sleeves kept m from freezing! So nice to not have to borrow my husband's jacket for once! Loved this dress! I will be tempted to order it again! Lastly, I rented a stunning necklace that really made the outfit pop, as well as a bracelet and earrings. A statement necklace is a must to keep the low cut dress from drawing too much attention. ;-)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2014
Very flattering dress, great for parties!
I loved this dress! It's tight, but it flatters your curves. It definitely shows a lot of cleavage if you have a larger chest, but the longer length and sleeves keeps it from looking trashy. All in all, it's flattering black dress that's great for pairing with fun jewelry! My only complaint is that the medium I got seemed slightly worn/stretched out. The small seemed tighter/newer, and fit better for the most part... but the chest was way too tight so I stuck with the medium. Overall, I'm was really happy with the dress, and I was surprised by how comfortable it was to wear!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2013
I looked BANGIN!
fit nice and tight! Loved it! Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
Ok
Very form fitting like normal for a Herve but the sleve for the arms super small and very low cut not like shown in the picture- make chest look all smushed together
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
December 10, 2013
Not the best Herve Leger but still great
There were way too much fabric under my arm to be comfortable and it showed. Did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2013
Didn't wear the dress.
Very tight and small dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 5, 2013
Elegant, timeless, yet current and very comfortable!
About Me: 36D, 25 inch waist and 5'7" tall. The Dress: Simple black dress and easily accessorized. The Fit: Fits exactly as size guide suggests. The length was perfect and it did not ride up. Concern: My only caution is that the shoulders do "slip off" as they are meant to wear similar to that of a graduation gown. Very pleased with everything about this service and wish that I had discovered it sooner! Overall: A++. Highly recommend!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2013
Perfect LBD!!
Another great Herve Leger rental! This was my second time renting this designer and it was the perfect choice. Like all of the other body-con dresses, this dress really accentuates your curves! Perfect length and showed off the right amount of skin. The only thing was the sleeves were a little tight and I did have to adjust the shoulders every now and then to keep them from sliding down. I would definitely rent this dress again! Also RTR customer service was amazing as always! Katie E. was so a kind and a huge help!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 27, 2013
What you see is what you get.
The Herve is the Herve. I rented for a formal/black tie optional event but didn't end up wearing because it seemed a bit too sexy/casual. Still, it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2013
LOVED It!
Fit great, really flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2013
Sexy LBD
I've rented Herve Leger before and the sleeveless dress in a M fit perfectly. This dress was a bit more snug because of the sleeves but the M was still the right size for me. Tons of cleavage but overall a very slimming dress. Perfect for a party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
October 27, 2013
Nice dress, I thought it would have been nicer, material wise felt very used up already.
Fit was good, I'm a size 2, so the small was good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2013
Loved this dress!!!
but chose my other option because it was too low cut for the dinner we were attending. I will definitely rent for a night out though!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
October 20, 2013
This dress does amazing things to a woman's body.
I wore a size small and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 30, 2013
Your body will look amazing in this dress !!!
Ordered a small and medium. Ended up wearing the medium but through out the night, the shoulders kept sliding off. Even the medium was a tight fit, should have went with the small as I'm sure it would have stayed fitted. Overall, the dress is AWESOME. It totally enhances your body and makes your curves stand out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2013
Rented this dress to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Perfect dress for the occasion!
This dress fit perfectly. I didn't have to wear a bra, as the "bandage" effect the dress has holds everything in place. I felt incredibly sexy in it and my husband could not stop staring. If this dress ever goes on sale, my husband would be first in line to get it! If you're hesitating about this dress, DON'T! You will love it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
August 28, 2013
I love this dress
This is the second time I have rented this dress and I love it. I tried to have Rent the Runway send me another dress in the same size in case there was a flaw with the first dress by writing in the notes my request, but they only send a second in a different size. It would have been nice to have a second as the one they sent had been stretched out on the left side for some reason and it kept falling off my shoulder in the night but even with that, I love this dress. I have very little chest and this is the only dress I have found that makes it look like I don’t! If this dress ever goes on sale I would buy it in a heartbeat. Heavier dress, good for most seasons except really hot summer events in 90 degree weather. I am a size 4 and always get a medium in Herve dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
August 24, 2013
Sexy dress!
Sexy dress and surprisingly flattering. I typically wear a size 4, and the M fit perfect. Sexy but it still looks pretty classy. It is also very comfy which you wouldn't think.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
August 23, 2013
Herve Leger Makes the Event!
This dress has a wow factor that you cannot get from any other body-con dress. Herve Leger does it right.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 1, 2013
Post Baby Perfection
I knew I wouldn't be 100% where I needed to be before this wedding, but the dress hugged all the right places. It was a little loose in the armpit area, but not noticeable on me. Love this site!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
June 22, 2013
Very classic dress and felt comfortable all evening
Chose not to wear a bra to make it a little less "Jessica Rabbit", but would be fine on a smaller busted female with one. Perfect lbd!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 13, 2013
LOVED IT. It fit me perfectly.
I'm a very skinny girl, and it is very difficult for me to find dresses that can not only fit me, but look nice on me as well. It hugged all the right places, AND gave me some CLEAVAGE. I'm really happy with this choice!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×