Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Wishful Thinking Dress

$45 rental
$1590 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

182 reviews

Fit
Small 42
True to Size 129
Large 4
Photos 106
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 4, 2012

Love Love Love! I may have to buy this dress! So timeless a perfect all seasons dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress despite the fact it had sleeves. It was super sexy and hugged in all the right places. I know most of you ladies wear Herves without a bra but this one you may want to. It gives you that extra Umppph ;)
Diana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

RTR's Stylist, Justine, was a great help. Thank you Justine for your quick notifications and response. Thank you!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress to a Fashion Show in NY and it was perfect! Loved the fit. It made me look and feel wonderful. I loved the sleeves. It covered just below the elbow. It trimmed my arms perfectly. For those women who are a little worried about their arms, like me,...this dress is perfect! Recommend this to everyone!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 19, 2012

The amazing customer service I recieved

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is simple, yet smolderingly sexy. I ended up wearing a M which was a little too big (even though I have a fairly ample tush). Don't let it's simplicity dissuade you from renting this dress, as the thoughtfully placed seams help to accentuate curves, giving it a substantial 'kick'. Pair it with a statement necklace, and you'll be good to go. Love it. I actually wouldn't think a second thought about renting it again....
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

Feeling like a celeb in my Herve Leger :)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a cocktail party fundraiser that I was co-chairing. It fit like a glove - extremely flattering. Herve dresses are clingy in general, but the high quality fabric is really slimming and smoothes out any imperfections. I was hesitant to rent a Herve for the first time since I am not a stick, but I would absolutely rent this dress again - got a million compliments and felt great!
ELS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Perfect date night dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I should have gone a size up for some more room in the chest. Otherwise, I loved this dress!
Kendall
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

I wore this smokin' dress to my friend's formal wedding. I was a knock out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I borrowed this tasteful dress for my friend's wedding. Though it hugged my curves, it was very classy because of the length and sleeves. I just loved everything about this dress and was sad when I had to return it. :) I was invited to a wonderful formal wedding where everyone would be dressed in couture clothing. Rent the Runway allowed me to not only fit in with everyone else's attire but also, let me stand out! Everyone knew the designer and told me how fabulous I looked. I was complimented all night and my boyfriend couldn't keep his hands off me. I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was slimming, comfortable and easy to accessorize. Frankly, I'd borrow it again because its that good. I borrowed the extra small and the small. I am pretty slender but, girl, I am definitely not an extra small. The small fit like a glove. The extra small couldn't zip up past the middle of my back. No regrets. I wore it with my black Louboutin heels and a cute Kate Spade Sparkle clutch I borrowed from RTR. Girl, if you're debating about it... just take the plunge! Grab this hot dress and enjoy your new found fame while wearing it.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Loved it! This dress is gorgeous!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a date night with my husband and it made me feel amazing! I wanted to get a small but it wasn't available so I went with the XS, which was a little tight, but not uncomfortable. You can really feel the quality in this Herve Leger dress, I loved it!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Very Flattering The Compliments Wouldn't Stop Coming

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful. I wore it to an engagement party and people would not stop complimenting me all night! It was very warm because of the heavy material and it hugged all the right places. It was sexy and classy all at the same time. This dress made me fall in love with Herve Leger I can't wait to wear another one of his dresses!
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

Beautiful dress! Very classy!!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is tight but looks great that way!! It hits down to my knees. Very classy fit. I did not wear this dress because the dress I received was discolored and very worn. I reached out to RTR and they quickly fixed the situation by over-nighting me a different dress of my choice.
Jamilet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Very Slim Fitting

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is very tight and really sucks you in. Unfortunately the M was just a little tight on me. The size L would've been perfect.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

So comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The only problem I have with this dress is that it was tough to keep on my shoulder. Also, I wore this on a cold night with a coat and I was just fine. It might be a tad warm in the summer.
Lorraine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Amazing dress, my chest never looked so go in a dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fitted but comfortable
KErri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

color

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Top was too tight... Rest of the dress fit great.
Meg
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Great in theory

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this to wear to my sorority's formal. I thought the selves would be great and slimming but it turned out to be just the opposite. They made my arms look ridiculous and the built up seam that sits on the edge of your shoulder made it even worse. The fit every where else was perfect but definitely stay away from this dress unless you have very slender arms. Luckily was able to swap this dress out before my event so it wasn't a total disaster. RTR's customer service was great, especially Julie who made the whole process surprisingly stress free!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 11, 2014

Size Up!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited for this sexy little number to arrive but unfortunately it did not fit. I have worn Herve Leger before and the medium fit me like a glove. However, I would have definitely rented the large as my back-up size if it had been available. Rent the Runway was fantastic about overnighting me 2 dresses for my weekend event- that is what I most appreciate about this website.
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

This is a very sexy dress for sure.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This is a VERY form fitting dress. even if you're in great shape, shape-wear and a stick on bra is a must.
Adara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit like a glove and hugged curves, not that you can really tell from the photo but it did. I felt great in this dress. My husband is hell bent on buying it he liked it so much. The only tricky thing is that the sleeves fell off my shoulders a lot, but its not really an issue as long as you don't wear a bra (that way the straps won't show and the extra shoulder just looks a little sexier). And you don't need a bra this dress keeps everything in place! This was perfect for an event where I didn't want to stand out but I still wanted to look nice. I got a ton of compliments (mostly from men... So, it would probably be perfect for a date!) The dress came overnight to my hotel in NYC! Where it was so cold I didn't feel like going shopping for a dress, which was my original plan. I could not believe it got there on time! AMAZING!!!!
kdill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 28, 2014

Beautiful dress but runs very small!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Beautiful dress but runs very small!! I rented an XS ( which I have worn for for other Herve dresses) but this wouldn't even zip up!
Ginny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 5, 2014

I wanted to keep this one - so sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This is an absolutely stunning dress. I was a little worried about the size - I would usually wear a medium, but got a small as backup after reading other reviews. I was so happy that I did because the small fit perfectly! This is definitely a sexy look, especially for larger busts (like mine). I felt really comfortable all night and didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx. This dress held everything in the right place! I can't wait to rent it again!!
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2014

This dress was simple enough for a night out with my boyfriend, but made me feel glamorous!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It was very slimming, and the S fit perfectly, everywhere! I'm usually a size 4, with dresses sometimes being too tight on my hips, but the bands stretch to fit every contour of your body perfectly.
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 7, 2014

Perfect black dress for winter

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this out to dinner when I was on vacation. It's effortlessly sexy, and made me look at least 10 pounds thinner. The only issue was that I have narrow shoulders, and the sleeves didn't hit me quite right. I couldn't wear a normal bra with it. Wish I had a photo!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Love the dress but it was simply to small.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Pros- Beautiful Dress Cons- Super tight, shows every dimple, and anything else.
janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 13, 2014

Great dress! Felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Received many compliments throughout the night. It was form fitting but, kept everything together. It was extremely comfortable and I danced all night long! The dress gave me extra confidence.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Classic Herve dress was perfect for my formal event!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a true Small, however that size wasn't available and I really wanted the dress so I went with the XS, which was snug, but because its a bandage material it worked!
susan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Aug 21, 2014

perfect LBD

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
very typical harve lever fit..tight in the arms and low cut perfect for a formal event or special evening
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

This was my favorite Herve dress that I have ever worn.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was simple and classic. I loved it! The sleeves balance out the neckline. I absolutely recommend it!
Gada
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Hot dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super tight, flattering
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

A bit too tight for the more casual birthday party I was planning to rock it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress, but runs a little small.
FashionJen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Didn't get to wear it. Was too small.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loove Hervé Léger! But this dress ran too small. I've always been an XS in HL dresses, but I couldn't get the sleeves over my shoulders or for it to zip up all the way. I'm 32" around my bust and I weigh 110 lbs, so I'm pretty small. RTR didn't have the small available as a back up. An extra star for crediting me back my money! Only time I've had an issue with a dress.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Hot, hot, hot!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit like a glove. Boyfriend loved it.
CJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

Great for parties

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Worn for an awesome halloween party in SF. This dress gets lots of attention, while still being classy.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was stunning! It fit like a glove and was long enough and not too low cut. I wish I could have kept it!
Rea1128
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

Such a flattering dress

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
This dress fit like a glove and the seams and fabric pattern really worked to accentuate my figure. The slightly off the shoulder neckline was seductive yet classy making this a real show stopping lbd. However, I wasn't able to wear the dress because I was unable to go to the original event I rented the dress for, and it was too dressy to wear for the more casual get together I ended up going to that weekend. Regardless, I would rent this dress again, I honestly wish I didn't have to send it back!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Ouch!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Ran SO SMALL. Left marks on my arms at each "bandage", completely uncomfortable. Had I gone two sizes up, maybe it would have worked. Definitely sucks you in, but the seams alllll the way down the dress were not so pleasant.
Rini
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Hugged me in all the right places

Size worn: S
Rented for: Party
I wish I had a full picture of me... This dress hugged me right without feeling tight anywhere. It was very flattering and accentuated my curves. It was a little longer than I wanted but that's probably because I'm so short...
Ellesse
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

It was a bar mitzvah for my boyfriend's childhood friend's son, we danced the night away!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I underestimated the size of my boobs!!! The dress fit like a glove!! It was amazing, a little tight on the breast and arm areas, also small and tight on the bottom, when walking smaller steps were a must. I loved the dress and would totally rent it again, Although this time I would want both the small and x-small to compare side by side!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Beautiful, but order a size up.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress with ribbon/band detailing. Makes your "girls" look amazing, even if they're on the smaller side. I usually wear a 0 or XS. This dress is VERY form fitting and the XS was too tight on me. I think the small would have been perfect.
SD
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

This dress is sexy but classy at the same time. It was also super comfortable. It was perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress hugged the curves in all the right places and stayed in place the entire night.
Tracey
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
May 9, 2015

Gorgeous dress! Flattering and sexy...

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was very snug but held me in everywhere. I wore my regular bra and was completely comfortable all night. My only complaint was that the sleeves kept falling off my shoulders, and I kept having to readjust them. I felt sexy, and had cleavage for the first time in my life. Tons of compliments.
Valerie
Age: 28
May 19, 2015

Great for a date night or a girl's night.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Dress is amazing, was almost a perfect fit. I say almost because it was a little bit long because I am 5'2", but it still looked good. I was afraid it was going to be too big in the front because I am pretty petite, but it fit great. I loved it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×