Wishful Thinking Dress

$557 to buy
$1590 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have the ultimate, figure flattering LBD at your finger tips ladies with this Herve Leger. Perfect for that date night where he'll fall in love and never look back! Add a little sparkle with kate spade new york's I Kissed a Frong Clutch to complete the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage. V neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
194 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(137)
Small
(42)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 24, 2014
This dress was PHENOMENAL. Sexy, elegant, classic LBD.
I absolutely love this dress, and if I had the money, I would FILL my closet with Herve Leger. This was my first Herve Leger rental, but it certainly won't be my last. The fit was perfect. I can say it was a little tough to get all of the way up my arms, but it made it there! I didn't need any shapewear as this dress is very forgiving. It accentuates all of the right places and minimizes the others. I received so many compliments after wearing this to an evening wedding. It was comfortable too and I danced the night away! LOVED it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 23, 2014
Classic Herve dress was perfect for my formal event!
I'm a true Small, however that size wasn't available and I really wanted the dress so I went with the XS, which was snug, but because its a bandage material it worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
June 21, 2014
Great LBD!
This was my first Herve and I was extremely nervous that it would be too tight. I'm not sure if its because its a popular rental but the dress was perfectly fitted. The fabric of this dress is heavier than expected, but not bulky! Did have a little issue with the neckline stretching out by the end of the night. Too much wedding dancing maybe?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 14, 2014
Dress was fierce even in June heat. Definitely accentuated all the good!
The dress was super comfortable and sexy without being overly showy. The only issue was that as I walked around, the dress shifted up, getting big in the shoulders. A shoulder fell off once or twice, but it was an easy fix, just pulling everything down again. Overall, I was super impressed and would def rent again. My boyfriend LOVED it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 13, 2014
Great dress! Felt like a million bucks!
Received many compliments throughout the night. It was form fitting but, kept everything together. It was extremely comfortable and I danced all night long! The dress gave me extra confidence.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
June 6, 2014
Love the dress but it was simply to small.
Pros- Beautiful Dress Cons- Super tight, shows every dimple, and anything else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 25, 2014
This dress is a show stopper! I absolutely loved it and my husband couldn't keep his eyes off of me.
I am very small chested but still wouldn't have been able to wear a bra with it. Either way it still kept the girls sitting up nicely! Very, very form fitting. Going to the bathroom was difficult at times because of the tight nature of the dress, so try to avoid drinking too much in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 20, 2014
Sexy dress, my boyfriend won't stop talking about it!
I was worried because only the size XS was available when I rented and I didn't know if the dress would fit. However it fit great and because the material is stretchy, it would probably work for someone a few pounds heavier or lighter than me. The dress material acts as a push up bra by itself, so I wouldn't recommend wearing any bra, especially a padded bra unless you are REALLY wanting to show some cleavage. Overall this was my favorite dress I have rented thus far. I'm looking for an excuse to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 11, 2014
Sexy LBD
Form fitting and very flattering. A must if you want to accentuate your cleavage. It is low cut in the front and even though the sleeves are meant to sit slightly off the shoulder, I found myself having to pull up the sleeves a few times throughout the night. Takes a little getting used to and it was my first HL dress but now I'm a Herve Leger fan for life! True to size, I'm 5'5" and 125lbs and ordered a S. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Perfect black dress for winter
I wore this out to dinner when I was on vacation. It's effortlessly sexy, and made me look at least 10 pounds thinner. The only issue was that I have narrow shoulders, and the sleeves didn't hit me quite right. I couldn't wear a normal bra with it. Wish I had a photo!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2014
This dress was simple enough for a night out with my boyfriend, but made me feel glamorous!
It was very slimming, and the S fit perfectly, everywhere! I'm usually a size 4, with dresses sometimes being too tight on my hips, but the bands stretch to fit every contour of your body perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
I wanted to keep this one - so sexy!
This is an absolutely stunning dress. I was a little worried about the size - I would usually wear a medium, but got a small as backup after reading other reviews. I was so happy that I did because the small fit perfectly! This is definitely a sexy look, especially for larger busts (like mine). I felt really comfortable all night and didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx. This dress held everything in the right place! I can't wait to rent it again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2014
Fabulous friends and an over the top celebration for my friend's birthday!!
Loved how this dress seems to have extra support or have been designed to make me have no pooch in my tummy and uplift to my breasts. Didn't wear any bra and the dress provided enough support. No wonder it would be so expensive to purchase off the rack!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
April 28, 2014
Beautiful dress but runs very small!!
Beautiful dress but runs very small!! I rented an XS ( which I have worn for for other Herve dresses) but this wouldn't even zip up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2014
Hour glass with class!
Loved this dress. Everything everyone says about is true. It is very tight, but it gives you a wonderful shape. The photos can make it seem simple, but you won't blend into the crowd with this dress. The sleeves did fall off my shoulders occasionally, but it was fine for most of the night. I loved the shape and quality of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 22, 2014
Sexy and comfortable!
Fit like a glove and hugged curves, not that you can really tell from the photo but it did. I felt great in this dress. My husband is hell bent on buying it he liked it so much. The only tricky thing is that the sleeves fell off my shoulders a lot, but its not really an issue as long as you don't wear a bra (that way the straps won't show and the extra shoulder just looks a little sexier). And you don't need a bra this dress keeps everything in place! This was perfect for an event where I didn't want to stand out but I still wanted to look nice. I got a ton of compliments (mostly from men... So, it would probably be perfect for a date!) The dress came overnight to my hotel in NYC! Where it was so cold I didn't feel like going shopping for a dress, which was my original plan. I could not believe it got there on time! AMAZING!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 22, 2014
This is a very sexy dress for sure.
This is a VERY form fitting dress. even if you're in great shape, shape-wear and a stick on bra is a must.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
April 12, 2014
Great fit in all the right places. Love Herve!
I ordered the small and xs but the small fit just right. This dress was so comfortable - I didn't get the magical cleavage effect I read about it other reviews but still very happy! Material is thick and expensive feeling - does all the sucking in for you :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 11, 2014
Size Up!
I was so excited for this sexy little number to arrive but unfortunately it did not fit. I have worn Herve Leger before and the medium fit me like a glove. However, I would have definitely rented the large as my back-up size if it had been available. Rent the Runway was fantastic about overnighting me 2 dresses for my weekend event- that is what I most appreciate about this website.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
April 10, 2014
Great in theory
I ordered this to wear to my sorority's formal. I thought the selves would be great and slimming but it turned out to be just the opposite. They made my arms look ridiculous and the built up seam that sits on the edge of your shoulder made it even worse. The fit every where else was perfect but definitely stay away from this dress unless you have very slender arms. Luckily was able to swap this dress out before my event so it wasn't a total disaster. RTR's customer service was great, especially Julie who made the whole process surprisingly stress free!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2014
This dress fit perfectly and by boyfriend loved it!
It was sexy enough to turn the head, but conservative enough that I would feel comfortable wearing it for almost any occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2014
Gorgeous and comfortable!
This dress for amazing. It was the perfect amount of sexy and it was extremely comfortable! I didn't want to take it off. I definitely think I'm going to rent it again. I'm usually a size 6 and I got a medium.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2014
color
Top was too tight... Rest of the dress fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 3, 2014
Amazing dress, my chest never looked so go in a dress!
Fitted but comfortable
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2014
Amazing! Classy and sexy dress. A must rent!
This was my first Herve experience and I am a lifelong fan now. This dress is sleek, sophisticated and classy. I rented the XS and S and ended up going with the Small. It was super comfortable. The neckline is meant to sit slightly off your shoulders so the sleeves fell down quite a bit, but when they stayed, they looked great. I love this dress and may even rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 28, 2014
Everyone complimented my look, and it wasn't even my birthday party.
Fit was great. I didn't have to wear spans under and felt amazing in the dress all night. Arms were a bit tight at first but I didn't notice them after awhile.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 25, 2014
i felt like a model in this dress!
Nothing is every tight or sexy on me unless I get it taken in, hemmed, cut...this was not the case! It was perfect and I felt like a million bucks and not the( sometimes) frumpy mother of a three year old.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 25, 2014
So comfortable!
The only problem I have with this dress is that it was tough to keep on my shoulder. Also, I wore this on a cold night with a coat and I was just fine. It might be a tad warm in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 23, 2014
Very Slim Fitting
This dress is very tight and really sucks you in. Unfortunately the M was just a little tight on me. The size L would've been perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 20, 2014
Beautiful dress! Very classy!!
This dress is tight but looks great that way!! It hits down to my knees. Very classy fit. I did not wear this dress because the dress I received was discolored and very worn. I reached out to RTR and they quickly fixed the situation by over-nighting me a different dress of my choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 20, 2014
Great dress, but too big in the shoulders
This was my first time renting an Herve and I really loved the feel of it - very sexy. However, I have fairly narrow shoulders and had to use double-sided tape to keep the sleeves from slipping off - which didn't really work so well with this fabric. Would definitely rent another Herve but caution girls with narrow shoulders from renting this.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
Beautiful dress for an amazing charity event.
I am a fitness model and the arms were a little tight on me personally, however everything else fit like a glove
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 16, 2014
This is an absolute knockout of a dress! I received so many compliments at my company holiday party!
It is a bandage dress, so it is meant to be worn snug. I would definitely suggest spanx, they just smooth everything out. Loved wearing this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 15, 2014
I love that this dress sucked it all in,gave me hour glass figure, and didn't even need a bra!
Typical Herve fit, little snug in the arms, loved that didn't need to wear a bra with it and somehow it magically made my not so large chest look fab. Created curvy hourglass body look that I so do NOT have but wish for! #sexy #curvehugging #herve #glam #conservative
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 14, 2014
Perfect fit
Everything stayed in place and it showed off all the right parts! Arms were a bit tight but otherwise great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 10, 2014
More stunning in person!
I wore this to a bachelorette party and felt fabulous! Had to have a friend help zip me up, as it is skin-tight, but for the rest of the night, didn't have to worry about a thing...aside from accepting compliments. ;) (Accessorized with the Whiting & Davis Chrome Lattice Clutch)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 9, 2014
Very Flattering The Compliments Wouldn't Stop Coming
This dress is beautiful. I wore it to an engagement party and people would not stop complimenting me all night! It was very warm because of the heavy material and it hugged all the right places. It was sexy and classy all at the same time. This dress made me fall in love with Herve Leger I can't wait to wear another one of his dresses!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 9, 2014
Great basic black dress
Wore this to a charity fundraiser and loved it. It was a great "blank canvas" for me to accessorize in whatever way I wanted. I was very happy with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
March 6, 2014
I wore it to my schools President's Ball, perfect simple black dress for any formal occasion.
dress definitely showed off the bust area but other than that the fit was perfect! very tight dress that shows off all your curves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2014
Fun prom night!
The small fit me great! The only slight downside was that the shoulders/neckline was quite wide, and my bra strap would occasionally show, but it wasn't a big deal.
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×