Hervé Léger

Volcano Explosion Sheath

$175 rental
$1690 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a bright look for the night in this Hervé Léger number. The ombre will give you a perfect hourglass shape as you strut your stuff at the cocktail party! Dress it up with crystal accessories like kate spade new york accessories’ On the Town Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee Length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. We recommend SPANX to cinch in waist.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XXS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee Length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra. We recommend SPANX to cinch in waist.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red ombre stretch bandage (90% rayon, 9% nylon, 1% spandex). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

93 reviews

Fit
Small 44
True to Size 46
Large 0
Photos 73
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Amazing!! You cannot go wrong with Hervé Léger!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
These dresses are supposed to be snug. I am a normal size 2 and the XS fit perfectly!
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Photo does not do justic for the colors! Every girl needs a Herve dress in your closet.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore a large and most of my dresses are 8's. I felt held together in all the right places. I loved the cut and teecture. Everyone was impressed ( I was an extent chair). I would definitely wear a Herve dress to any event...
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Standout cocktail dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Body-hugging style with super cool coloring! The ombre makes you look tiny in the middle and perfectly accentuates your hips. It is a bit long, so I paired this with strappy black heels to make it a little sexier. Great dress!
ERICA
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

This dress was AMAZING!!! I had a million compliments and felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. It was extremely fitted, but thats what I wanted.
Gaila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 29, 2013

Statement dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress stands out in EVERY WAY! Such a knockout! I felt like a power house! Sexy,sophisticated and expensive ! The kind of dress you wish you are wearing when you run into your "ex" -( you fill in the blank)
M
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

Perfect dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. The colors in the photo don't do it justice. It was so comfortable and the material perfectly held in every trouble spot in my mid section as if I was wearing Spanx. It was also a perfect length as it was sexy yet still classy. I rented the M and L as I am usually a M but the L fit like a glove, M would have been too small. I've never received so many compliments before. I had women and men of all ages approaching me asking me about the dress. I posted this photo on my Facebook page and had people reach out to me who I hadn't spoken to in years asking me where I bought it. Im trying to figure out when I can rent it again!
melina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 18, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress. I always rent Herve Leger and I was not disappointed!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was nice and snug, but a little loose in the shoulders. Luckily I have broad shoulders, so it worked for me. I would recommend this dress if you want to look sexy, yet conservative at the same time.
Janet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Gorgeous Colors!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved the colors on this dress! SO very flattering! I wore this for a formal party and it was perfect! Can't go wrong with Herve! Get some help zipping it up!
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Great party dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
So glad I got two sizes as a small was way too small and the med fit perfectly. Many compliments and interest in Rent the Runway.
kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

I received so many compliments on this dress.. the color was perfect for a fall cocktail party

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit ran small so i would order a size up . I am usually a small in Herve but tis one ran i bit tighter. The length was perfect, not too short for a respectable look. The color was just as shown. Wore a nude pump which went very well.
Shelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Hugged my curves in all the right places!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is my first time renting a Herve...I LOVED IT! They know how to make a dress that hugs your curves and smooth our the lumps and bumps. They are cut kind small through the hip, so if you are hippy, order the next size up. This dress was a head turner...definitely will be looking for an excuse to rent another Herve!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Oct 1, 2013

This was a beautiful dress that fit impeccably. Had lots of compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved the dress. The only con was that the material is quite heavy, which made it a bit warm for a late-summer wedding in New York (hot & humid), but I would definitely wear it again. It hit me just at the knee (I'm 5'2"), which was perfect for me. Hugged all my curves perfectly--I wore Spanx for some extra tuck, but it is definitely not necessary. Recommend a strapless bra, since the sleeves are slightly off-shoulder.
Lady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Wow Factor

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is sex on stilts. I felt like a million bucks in this dress. Super sexy and feminine. The colors are amazing. A total knockout. I dare everyone to get this dress. It's impossible not to look crazy sexy in it. I will rent this again and make men stare and whistle.
Lina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2013

Help from customer service making last minute dress changes.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
LOVE the dress. Used this for one of my looks for my 30th bday shoot. Absolutely amazing. Hugged all the right curves. I would definitely rent this again.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

Feeling classy at the Natural History Museum

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to go with a color instead of black, so picked this Herve dress for a evening wedding. It wasn't a perfect fit for me -- there were a few bits I wished were tighter, since I had to go up to the L to even zip it. It doesn't do as good of a job with belly-hiding because of the color and sheen of the fabric, and it also kind of squishes your chest in less-than-flattering ways... but ALL that said, I really enjoyed wearing it. I would probably pick a darker option next time (loved the Herve Cyclone dress) just to feel more comfortable, but this is a beautiful option for a fall wedding!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Stunning on the red carpet

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a red carpet premiere, and loved it! Fits true to size, and I think if I would have went up a size then it would have been too loose on the shoulders. Wore it with a regular bra.
Sharon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Love 2 size opt, designer outfit for special occasion, why spend more on something less stunning?

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Typical Herve fit... The better your body the better it looks.... and vice versa. comfortable, but not forgiving... Shoulders couldn't decide where they wanted to be... but I do have broad shoulders. Arm hander tags were a pain. Overall I felt like a MILLION BUCKS! I mean, stole the show, rocked the party, who's that girl, killed it!!
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

Great dress for a fall rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually get the large in Herve Leger, as it fits better in the bust for me. Loved the color.
Kyle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

I LOVE this dress! It made me look and feel great. Difficult to get into, but so worth it.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was a little snug, so I was glad that I went with the larger size as my backup.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 10, 2014

Felt classy in a Herve Leger!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
It was VERY difficult to get on. The fabric and stripes were very flattering. The dress almost hit my knees and I would have liked it to a be little shorter. It was not the most comfortable dress to wear, but was worth all of the looks that I got wearing it!
Mina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Unorganized Vegas RentTheRunway Store!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was staying at the Cosmo in Vegas and I was pleasantly surprised to see there was a official RentTheRunway store in the Hotel. I peeked in at first, didn't really think I was going to rent anything since I had my dress for the night already picked out. That's when I saw how inexpensive the rentals were so I purchased this dress ONLY because the price tag said $60. When the lady rung me up for $175 I mentioned that wasn't what the price on the tag and she looked and told me that it must be a misplacement for another dress. I didn't want to make it a big deal and purchased it anyway until I got back to my room and it bothered me the whole night. It is a lovely dress and fits wonderfully, it's just a shame to not honor a price that was clearly not granted.
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Not the right fit.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was not the right fit for me. I also didn't like the colors and I felt it wasn't flattering. This was my back up and I didn't end up wearing it.
Courtney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Loved the dress, but runs small.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Before I ordered the dress, I read the reivews. Because everyone said it runs small, I ordered an XS and S (instead of an XXS and XS). I typically wear a size 0 or 2 dress. I couldn't even zip the XS. The S fit very tightly, but worked just fine. If I had the M, I may have worn it, but don't know for sure. Next time I order an Herve Leger, I will order the S and M. Honestly, I can't imagine how the dress only goes up to a size L, or who fits in a XXS!
Sara
Age: 36
Apr 15, 2014

Great

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit, tons of compliments
sherri
Age: 46
Apr 18, 2014

The dress is so flattering and comfortable. I felt like I was on the runway. So many complements.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very snug fit, really accented my curves. I'm 5'3" hit me just below my knees. Loved it.
Juss
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 2, 2014

This was my second choice but it was so beautiful I ended up wearing it!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely beautiful! It fit like a glove and the thick stretchy material curved in all the right places. I am very petite but have larger breasts so this actually gave me curves in the waist and hips! I received so many compliments and felt like a movie star. I will be renting another Herve soon!!! It does run tight so if you are uncomfortable being very snug in a dress then I would go a size up.
Candice
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 5, 2014

You will turn heads in this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Rent the Runway saves the day again for me! I needed a last minute dress for a wedding and I found this beauty in a pinch. The quality was of this dress was amazing, and the fit was so flattering. I ordered an XS and S, I decided to go with the small because although the xs did fit and was comfortbale, I was nervous with how tight it was. The small allowed me to eat, sit, and dance in comfort. I recieved a lot of compliments on this dress, including a compliment from the bride!
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 27, 2014

I love Herver Leger-another winner!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This Herve dress made for an amazing ensemble. Classic design but with a pop of color, the dress made my evening out truly memorable! A winner!
Judy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

Did the job!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a charity event. Although it wasn't my first pick (the one I ordered was unavailable for some reason) it still worked.
Shelby Lauren
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Beautiful dress, couldn't breath.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It is a stunning dress but not the one I ordered. Unfortunately, the dress I did order wasn't in the proper condition to send out so RTR sent this one- which I loved but I wanted to wear blue to match my date. I've not worn an HL in a couple years and forgot how tight the top is. If you have a larger bust go one size up.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

You'll look photoshopped in it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Its a bodycon dress, so the idea is that it will be tight tight tight. Like, you can't eat a whole dinner tight. But it smooths out every curve, and looks ridiculously sexy, especially because it is long enough and covers enough cleavage to take out the skanky factor. Wore it with a regular bra and nude pumps. Only negative I have to report is that RTR sent me two smalls, instead of the medium I ordered with a small as a backup size. When I called them they didn't have any in stock they could send me. I still wore the small, but just skipped the whole breathing/eating thing for the night.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

Fit was snug, did not look good at all.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented a medium(8/10) because that is what I always wear. Too small. Sent back
RTR Customer
Aug 2, 2014

Excellent service

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful, chic and flattering. Colors and design are unique. You feel and look stunning
Keosha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

While this is a gorgeous dress it runs extremely small. I'd order two dress sizes up.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Don't wear this unless you have great abs!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

I wore this to my birthday party and it was a big hit! I wish I owned this dress, it's a beauty.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It's an Herve Leger, so it probably goes without saying that it runs a bit small and snug. That said, for the right event, it's perfect!!
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

This looked fabulous and fit like a glove as Herve should!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit well and really accented my hour glass figure. Loved it and would wear this again.
Aline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is great, runs small and a little longer on a petite woman like me. The colors a great and for sure it fits like a glove. I didn't wear it but i i know i'll order it in a right size one day and get to wear it.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 102 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Gorgeous

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Colors are beautiful and fits like a glove.
Ajbarnhart
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2014

3mo postpartum with my second child & this dress made me feel amazing

Size worn: M
Rented for: Other
Since I'm not at my prepregnancy weight I didn't want to invest in purchasing a dress for my husband's work dinner. This was perfect. I'm 5'8" & currently 150lbs. I wore a medium. The length was just above my knee - it was very snug but wasn't revealing in an inappropriate way. I felt great and everyone ooh'd and awed over it. Herve takes the cake again!!
Christine M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

Love It!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Wedding
One of my favourite dresses ever! It's so unique and flattering. I received more compliments when wearing this dress, than I have ever received previously. It's astonishing comfortable to wear and exceptionally polished.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×