Hervé Léger

Stop and Stare Dress

$150 rental
$1,450 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Showstopper is an understatement in this dress! Herve Leger hugs all your curves in the right way so go show them off in the city with the girls for a night out on the town. Add a handbag like the Carlos Falchi's Love Torn Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8, L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; Should be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Metallic combo stretch bandage. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(56)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 3, 2014
Eye Catcher
I got the attention of a number of people that night wearing this. This dress is DEFINITELY made to impress. It makes any body look amazing, super comfy. loved it. Fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
January 2, 2012
My New Year's Eve Dress
This dress is very fitted and flattering. I was concerned about the top, because in the picture it looks like the seam cuts right over your bust but it's fine and doesn't make a bump where there isn't supposed to be.
MariaJanuary 19, 2012
can you wear a bra with this dress with a low back attachment?
KellyJanuary 22, 2012
I couldn't. I rarely go with out a bra but you really don't need one for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
January 2, 2012
My fiance loved this dress
I can't say enough about this dress! The quality is OUTSTANDING and the fabric has some stretch. The moment you put it on it just feels expensive! I felt great in it! I actually got this as my back-up dress originally, but when the dresses came, they were both so gorgeous that I could not pick one! I wore it to a New Years Eve wedding and did a wardrobe switch after cocktail hr and dinner. (Was easy to do since I was staying at the hotel where the wedding was). Got tons of compliments, was absolutely gorgeous!
MariaJanuary 19, 2012
can you wear a bra with this with a low back attachment?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 19, 2012
I felt beautiful in this dress! I would wear it every day if I could. :)
This dress was beautiful and fit perfectly, like it was made just for me! I was worried about wearing it without a bra, but it fit so well, I didn't need one at all. I was also worried about it being unflattering because it was so form-fitting, but it was beautiful! I wanted to keep it and never return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 20, 2012
Absolutely Amazing!!!
I wore this dress for a formal holiday party and this dress worked out great! I would like to note that I am not very skinny and I thought i needed a medium, however upon talking to one of the representatives she told me the small would be perfect. I was a little worried because i have a little pudge from having kids, this didnt matter the dress put everything in place! I think my curves looked amazing, It fit perfect and i didnt feel uncomfortable. This dress was JUST GORGEOUS! I would recommend this to anyone and any size. P.S. I put that I have an hour glass shape and for the most part I am, accept for the little muffin top that i have. The dress completely hid that.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2012
Absolutely stunning!!
I absolutely loved this dress. I rented it for New Year's Eve and felt so glamorous! The best compliment? Getting hit on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 7, 2012
Hawt
Very tight, but stretchy. Like wearing a designer swimsuit...I needed help zipping up in it. I felt HOT. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 28, 2012
My girlfriends could not get over the dress. It was so flattering!
The stop and stare dress made people do just that! It is a snug fit, as are most herve leger, but oh does it hug in all the right places. I hate strapless bras and I was actually able to pull of a regular bra with this dress. Yay!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
March 6, 2012
Loved my experience with Rent the Runway. Super easy. Friendly staff. Really great!
I loved this dress. I wore it for a night out in Las Vegas and it was perfect. The dress is well made and fit like a glove. Hugs in all the right places. I'm 5'2" and I would have liked it to be maybe 2-3" shorter, but because of the material, I was able to pull it up without it looking weird at all. All in all, it was fabulous and I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 12, 2012
I will definitely use RTR again in the future. Overall, great experience!
This dress fit so wonderful. I am about 5'5 and 145 lbs. I originally ordered the S with XS as a back up, but I ended up wearing the XS. It was a little tough to zip over my bum (since that is where I carry most of my weight), but once I got it past there, it was smooth sailing!! Very comfortable fit. No bra necessary!! Just push the twins forward and you will be fine!! Everyone complimented me all night and I literally was getting the "stop and stare". The dress made me feel SUPER thin. I would definitely, without a doubt, recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 28, 2012
Hubby loved it!
Before I review this dress let me just say how awesome Rent the Runway is! I had ordered a different style and one backup for my 1 year anniversary trip to Vegas with my husband. The Friday before I left I received a confirmation that my dresses had shipped and much to my surprise the estimated arrival date was 3 days past the guaranteed delivery date. Before I freaked out, I called the customer service number to check on it and spoke with Emily. I explained the situation, then she briefly put me on hold to investigate. Unfortunately the shipping information was accurate, and it was shipped incorrectly. But Emily came to the rescue! She stayed on the phone with me, helped me to select other dresses (since the ones I had order were not available) even ones that were more expensive then the ones I had originally ordered, and made sure the dresses arrived by my date. I had them shipped directly to my hotel and when I picked up the package I saw that it was even there for Sunday arrival! Once I got the package upstairs I discovered that beyond the 2 dresses that we had selected, she had also included a third dress! While this dress was the one I picked out first, the third dress almost won out. So Thank You so much to Emily & Rent the Runway for helping to make my first anniversary a special one! Now about this dress...Wow! It is spectacular. I had ordered the large as I have never worn a Herve Leger before. I usually wear between an 8 and a 10, and I wasn't sure if I would like the medium or a large. In hindsight I would have preferred the medium, but the large worked out fine. The large was still snug, but not as much so as the medium, which I think is more of how these dresses are supposed to fit. I also wish I would have had Spanx. I had read this in some other reviews, and it was completely my bad for not remembering them. They just would have helped to smooth everything out a bit more. This dress (and the other Herve dresses I got) had a tendency to flatten me out, but I was able to wear a bra underneath it. That made all the difference! I didn't at all need it for support and could have gone without one, but it helped maintain more of my naturally curvy shape. My husband absolutely loved the dress and I think he was genuinely disappointed that it wasn't mine to keep. I'll just have to rent it again in the future!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 16, 2012
Allowed me to drink free all night...... ;)
Great fit, perfect for a night out or you could dress it up. Received so many compliments on this dress, and am saving to purchase it at this point.... Fit me perfectly, and I am a 34C (Herve Leger can be iffy on bust)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2012
Amazing dress
This dress fit very well and is perfect for a night out. Lots of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 2, 2012
It was the first time I wore an Herve Leger dress and it was on my 30th birthday!!!
I wore this dress for my 30th Birthday dinner in Vegas, which was perfect although the "v" part kept slipping even with tape (the fabric doesn't stick to tape well). I had to wear a bra because I'm not very busty so it kept showing (as you can see in the photo). I wouldn't wear it out dancing because it's very low and revealing, but it's really sexy on! It's also not very short which is nice for sitting!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
September 1, 2012
Did not wear but is gorgeous!
Again, I didn't choose this one because my original choice worked better, but it is so stunning. I would have chosen if it had an xxs - I felt it ran slightly large, especially in the bust. If you are a C cup... or even a full B, go for it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 5, 2012
Definitely a show stopper
This dress is absolutely amazing. Fits great and is definitely a show stopper. I sized down on this from the other Herve I wore because I think you want Herve to fit as tightly as possible. This dress gave me a tiny waist and definietly was a head turner/show stopper/the whole deal. Perfect for my Labor Day weekend in Atlantic City!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
September 7, 2012
Hot hot hot!
I rented this dress because I wanted to look sexy, and it was exactly what I was looking for. I got tons of compliments and felt fabulous. A few small complaints: the dress looks shiny on the web, but in real life, it's coated in a strange rubbery glue almost that gives it that look. I just thought that was odd. I have a pretty small bust, and I don't think I'd recommend this dress for bustier ladies. In general, although its very flattering, you need to be comfortable flaunting your curves in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
January 29, 2012
Great pick!
I wore this to a college formal and loved it! The fit was perfect and showed off my curves in a flattering manner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 28, 2012
SEXY CLASSY
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Can anyone go wrong in Herve
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
My husband said I was the most beautiful woman in the room!
This dress is so flattering! I wore this to a fancy party and got TONS of compliments. I definitely recommend renting this dress. You will be the belle of the ball!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 19, 2012
Love it! As I wore l must got a zillion complements from men and women ...
Feels conf. But the skirt keeps pulling up all the time. Like a mini l guess... Beautiful sexy chic dress: )
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 21, 2012
Runs big
It's a beautiful dress- I loved the shiny silver aspect. I usually wear a size 0 or XS, and this dress was very loose at the sides, so unfortunately I couldn't wear it to my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2012
Loved the dress! got so many complients on it! Will def rent another one!
since i'm tall, i was happy that it wasn't super short. it hugged me in all the right places and made my body look great! So pleased with the fit and the look of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 3, 2012
Not worn
My measurements: 38D, 29 at small of waist, 31 just above belly button, 37 across biggest part of hips. This dress fit perfect in size small for the bottom half and torso. I felt like I was falling out of the top. If you are anymore than a standard C, I would go for the medium, but you may not be happy with how the bottom fits. Most of my pants and skirts and dresses are a size 4 and my shirts are sometimes a 6. Hope this helps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 4, 2012
immpecable PERFECTION!!!
Did I tell you all that I LOVE Herve Leger? So much in fact, that it has been years since I wore a different brand to a formal event. I think Jennifer Love Hewitt had the same ailment a little while back. ;) Anyway, when you wear any brand repeatedly, your style can be categorized as stale or boring, even if HL is what I consider to be the most amazing impressive dresses in the world! But, believe it or not, Herve Leger can possess many different attitudes, not just timeless high class sexy. fab rental love rent the run way for giving me an HL fashion shower!! I just can't not wear Herve Leger to special dates, operas, shows and weddings. Why? Because it makes me look a way that no other dress does. As many of you know, it makes a woman feel like a million bucks which is darn near priceless! Will definitely rent again, LOVE & Lust Rent the runway... The first Herve Leger you get will have you second guessing in the closet because it is SO different from anything else. But, after you receive all the compliments from your first outing, you'll be in love! By the way, I don't have NEARLY the same type of love affair with any other brand. Herve Leger is my fashion Achilles heel! But, to keep it looking fresh and novel, having a varied collection of Herve Leger and knowing how to style can make each dress seem totally different. Here are a few examples with a few dresses from my own wishlist, and a demonstration of how different they can be. One is never enough! :) My wishlist is ... LONG... This is just a sampling of the many Herve Leger dresses I'd love to have.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
Sexy Dress
The only thing that I did not like about the dress was the neckline. It is very low cut. However the fabric is wonderful and holds everything in place well.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
Felt like a star in this dress! Wore to a formal affair in Vegas and felt great !!
Fit like a glove!! Loved it Used the double sided table as a extra safety measure in the bust area . Was perfect length and not too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2012
Very flattering even though I don't normally go tight or short and this dress is both!
Comfortable, while flattering. I definitely should have worn higher heels with it to highlight leg, but would definitely rent again.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 5, 2012
The dress was a hit!!
The dress is definitely a head turner! The fit was great. Holds you in so you don't need Spanx. If you're a D cup or larger it is very low cut so not much material to cover. I would recommend this dress for any shape!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Sexy Dress Compliments Figure well
Hugs every curve in all the right ways! Perfect NYE dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2012
tight but flattering, a bit low in the chest area. sexy colors.
The dress is a beautiful herve. It fit like a glove and certainly shows off everything you've got. There really is nothing to hide about your shape in this dress. The only complaint I would have is I felt aware of my cleavage all night. It's a very very low cut dress and reveals quite a bit down there and I am by no means large chested. But overall great dress!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Fabulous!!
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, and could not have been more pleased with the result! The fit was great and so flattering. The dress was much heavier than I had anticipated, but it was not an issue. You will not be disappointed with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 5, 2012
the best part: feeling beautiful. the next best part: no waiting in line at any vegas nightclubs.
this dress felt terrific all night; no red marks from straps or seams, no need for spanx, plenty of room for dinner, didn't ride up dangerously high when i sat down; really, it was just perfect. i didn't try the medium on--the small was ideal. and boobs! i got boobs! happiness.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 10, 2012
Sexy, conviennent and unique!
I've actually rented this dress twice but have never worn it. I love it and like all HL dresses, it fits like a glove and is very sexy. I just happened to prefer my back up dresses. This dress is low cut and form fitting so it will turn heads.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2013
When I walked into the party, someone immediately complimented my dress and knew it was Herve Leger.
This dress is a must!!! I wore it for New Years Eve and got complimented on it all night long. I normally range from a XS to a S but since it is tight I knew I had to rent a S. It hugs your body in all the right places and made me look phenomenal. This was my first RTR dress and had such a great experience, it will definitely not be my last. Thank you RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 12, 2013
It was amazing and Al Pacino complimented me on my dress
Fits true to size
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 22, 2013
Received many compliments on this dress! Felt beautiful in it!
The dress fit like a glove thanks to my spanx. Comfortable wearing it all evening.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 24, 2013
My hubby and I were invited to use for free an unused bottle service area in LV nightclub! Yeah!
Dress was beautiful. I wore the small though usually wear an extra small as very tight. No bra needed even though I am a 34D. Loved it! Thanks RTR. Easy method to ship back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
February 2, 2013
Sexy
This has a deep plunge so I it wasn't a dress I could have worn for the event I went to (wore my back up that I ordered) and if you are busty, becareful too. It would be great to wear out to a club or Vegas or date night with my hubby but not for a Detectives Dinner like I was planning. But it is SUPER sexy! Loved it and wish I could have worn it!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2013
Getting invited to the Marquee after party.
This dress fits tight. No need for a bra.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×