Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Sip and Shine Martini Dress

$150 rental
$1450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock your curves in this Herve Leger metallic bandage dress for that night out on the town. You'll for sure turn heads in this gorgeous dress. Just add a cocktail ring like the Erickson Beamon Gold Digger Ring for a little flare.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for B cup sizes and bigger - bust runs slightly large
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey metallic stretch bandage. V neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

83 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 56
Large 19
Photos 31
AK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Looove this dress! Received a million compliments from random people on myself and my Sister's double date. I got the XS and S as a backup. I wore the S and my sister got the XS, since Im uuber-conscious about my body, and I was unsure abut the S since the dress hugged EVERY curve. The model in the picture doesn't do this dress any justice! Better in real life, definitely!
Jenny P
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm a tall girl roughly around 5'11/ 6"0. This dress is beautiful in person. However the hips ran very tight almost like a string that needed to loosen. The bust fit perfect but as the evening continued it began to loosen. I don't have a large bust so it frustrated me having to constantly tug at it. I loved the appearance of the dress in pictures.
NJKC
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
AMAZING DRESS! Herve never disappoints. This was flattering and beautiful. I got SO many compliments on this for a recent black tie wedding. Just know, it is a light grey base with pewter metallic, it looks more gold online and gold jewelry doesn't match.
EP
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress. It fit great and hit at a great spot right below the knew. The only downside was that the bust does run big, however, I still made it work.
Sharon P
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress, but really too long for my height. I ended up wearing another Herve Leger dress that was shorter
TD19130
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is very sexy and a great color. The overall fit is great but I ended up wearing another Herve Leger that was strapless because I felt like the bust seam on this one hit me in an odd spot. But it is a gorgeous dress and has that Herve Leger fit that is so flattering and sexy!
Vanillalatte
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is SEXY & ELEGANT! I wore this for an evening wedding with 600 people and turned a lot of heads. Herve Leger never does me wrong and I will continue to order dresses by him. I am a 34b and wore the xs that made me look skinnier than I already am. This dress shows off all of your curves. I am 5'5" and it was about 4 inches above my knees and looked fabulous with my black 4" heels and charcol grey jewelery. I tried my silver/charcol shoes but it didn't look good. This dress hugs you everywhere but ladies don't worry you can still breath! You won't be disappointed!!
Phyllismgonzo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is gorgeous, from the fabric color to the styling and fit. The straps were a bit long and so the dress is more revealing than the photo would suggest if you are a C cup or larger. I ended up wearing my back up dress because this dress is almost too sexy for a Gala (or for anything short of Vegas). I will definitely rent it on my next trip to LV!!
TKL
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. For my body type (petite upper body & curvy lower body) it was ideal. However, the top was somewhat stretched & bc I have a small bust (34A/B) it was hard to fill; I had a difficult time finding the "right" bra because the dress falls low in the back, I had to use one of those strapless bras that stick to the side (do not recommend this bra unless in cool climate bc the Florida heat melted those side stickie things right off so I was fighting with the bra the whole night, self conscious that you could see it from the sides - because you could). I wore this dress to a wedding & received many compliments; aside from the bra technial issue (I was more aware of it than anyone else) I highly recommend this dress & good luck with the bust area if you're like me (very difficult especially since these dresses are rented by others who most likely have larger busts & forever stretch the tops)
Kitty
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Oct 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered a M, since I wear size 4 or 6 and it hugged my curves perfectly. I am short so the dress stopped at just below my knees. I received many complements. It was not as gold as I expected it to be, but it still made a bold statement.
Anja
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I rented this dress for a black tie dinner in DC in both an XS and a S. The dress ran true to size and the S fit like a glove. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway. I will be renting again very soon!
Chunny
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this for a formal event, and got lots of compliments. It hit me at the knee, a little longer than the photo. Im 5'11, 160 and got a medium - fit great except on top, but I fixed that problem with a good bra.
MLS
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 10, 2011

I love this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I cant wait to wear this weekend for a friends wedding. I wish I wouldve ordered the S because after a few mins wearing it I felt it begin to stretch out esp in the bust area. But all in all it is a great rental choice. Don't pass this one up!
Just Me
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 10, 2011

A Fabulous Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is just gorgeous !! Fits perfectly and looks incredible !! Rent The Runway rocks !!
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 10, 2011

Not as tight as you think!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this and another dress for a black tie event. While this was far too sexy for a black tie wedding, it was perfect for the night time festivities before. The small I ordered fit perfectly, not too tight or too loose. Don't wear a bra. And I didn't need to wear spanx. I thought it would show every bit of fat, but instead, it acted like a full body corset and was lovely. Just don't eat much before you wear it so your tummy stays in!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 22, 2011

Longer than you may think

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up not wearing this dress b/c it hit below my knees and I did not like the proportions on me. I am a size 2-4, 122 lbs, 5,5 and I would have worn the xs. Probably a good dress for some, but I wish I would have ordered a similar Herve in the shorter length.
BWapt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Very tight-fitting

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sip and Shine was dark gray with some shimmer when hit with light -- nice color nevertheless, just expected it to be shinier like in the picture. I was worried about the length because I'm 5'1" but the XS was grazing my knee so the proportion is still fine as long as you wear really high heels. I was deciding between wearing the XS or S because the XS was VERY tight-fitting (awesome for women without an ounce of fat in them)! However, the straps of the S were just a bit too long and the chest area a little loose on me so I decided to just rock out the XS! This dress hugs EVERY part of your body.. definitely not for the shy ladies out there!
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 29, 2011

Herve won't let you down!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I got a small and a medium because I wasn't sure which size would fit best. In the end the small was a better fit although it was very tight because it eventually stretched out a bit. Everyone complimented on how great it made my body look! Definite won't go wrong with a sexy Herve dress!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Small in the bust

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a fun, sexy dress, but unfortunately you absolutely can't wear it with a bra. Unfortunately for me (32DD) that meant I couldn't wear it. It was almost okay without a bra, but not enough for me to really be comfortable (especially since I rented it for NYE and knew I'd be dancing all night.) For ladies with A or B cups, I think this would be a fantastic dress, though---it really highlights a small waist. Also, it is slightly darker than in the photo, sort of a dark pewter with gold highlights.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2012

Super Sexy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my best friend's birthday bash and it fit like a glove! I felt super sexy and it tucked and boosted in all the right spots. It is very sexy, though, so I probably wouldn't wear it to a family or formal affair.
Aja
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

Cute but fit was off

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my birthday. I was worried that the XS would be too small, but it fit surprisingly well. However, the bust area was way too big. I'm a 32C so for the straps and top to be too big on an XS seems really weird to me. I tried to pin it to my bra but the fabric was too thick. In the end I stuffed some cutlets in the bra and put my friends on bra watch for the night. I paired the dress with a black and cream bib necklace, also rented from RTR. I am absolutely obsessed with this necklace and highly recommend it!
Gayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 16, 2012

Flattery!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very flattering dress! Looks amazing in the bust! Not too low cut, just perfect! The color is very elegant! Buy the NuBra for this dress. Perfect for your birthday or a cocktail party!
Thais
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 11, 2012

Stretched

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Rented the small and medium as a backup. I'm generally a small, but this dress seemed ot be very stretched out or runs at least a size too large. I didn't end up wearing, but nonetheless, was still a beautiful dress.
Danni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 13, 2012

Didn't fit great on top

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love Herve and this dress didn't do it to me. Despite renting it in the summer, the color washed me out. The top was loose on top despite other Herve dresses in the same size fitting fine
maria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Birthday Bash

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented for my 40th. Had great time. Everyone said I look amaizing. Comfortable, able to dance.
ddiva
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

ShimmerGirl

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Def came in handy, curvy classy but still sexy. A night to remember.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Not a fan

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Rented this for NYE, thankfully I got a back up sent with it. Didn't flatter me at all. I'm slightly heavier on the bottom, and the top ended up being too big. The dress length was also a bit awkward.
angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Sep 1, 2012

Sexy and classy

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Dress is gorgeous... just stunning. I typically wear a 0 and it fit perfectly except in the bust. I am a B cup and this would be better for a C cup... I didn't fill it out as well as I would have liked to. The back of the dress is what really makes it!
Leanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Great shine

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit, no need for Spanx!
Anne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

A perfect pack for vacation dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
it fit great although one probably needs to get a bra that isn't a full covered as mine.
robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Everyone at the event I went to was jealous that they hadn't thought to rent a dress too!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits like a glove.
Graceland
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

super sexy, but still classy. loved how it held me in and showed off my body.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am usually a 2/4, but the extra small was surprising the best fit. It stretches out when you get yourself all zipped in, so go with the smaller size. The tone of the fabric wasn't too gold, so it seemed classy and not to over the top. I got lots of looks and compliment. I loved wearing this dress!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

nice dress--didnt wear it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved the color of this dress--didnt end up wearing it. BUT it was lovely
Sandy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Everyone thought I looked amazing!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size.
brenda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

I rented this dress for my daughter's homecoming! she looked amazing!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
She's' 5' 2" and 115 lbs,fit fine but not tight
rachel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

When input on this dress, I felt like I was ready for the runway

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit like a glove. It really conformed to my body and gave me an hourglass figure. The color was beautiful. Almost like a shimmery metallic that caught the light. I got so many compliments on the dress.
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Dec 4, 2012

Fits great, and was a show stopper.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
originally ordered a small when i received it the bust was stretched out so i overnighted a xsmall. it fit perfect. the customer service at RTR is amazing love the girls i spoke with so nice and helpful.
Mel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

I wore this gorgeous dress for my bachelorette party.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the medium and had the small as my backup. Both fit, but I ended up wearing the the small. I didn't need to wear a bra, and I would say that it may be hard to find a bra that wouldn't show in this dress. The fabric is nice and heavy, and sucks you in in all the right places.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Great fit and unique color!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
RTR customer service sent me this dress in a size XS when my original dress become unavilable. It is a beautiful dress but was not the look I wanted for my party. It fit like a glove & made my curves look amazing! The color is a gunmetal with a metallic sheen. The metallic sheen was worn off in a few areas but overall in pretty good condition. It was a longer style but I am also very petite.
HHS
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

Not nearly as sparkly as it appears in the picture.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered the medium and it was far too stretched out to wear. Which is unfortunate because I know herve leger sizing and it should been a perfect fit.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×