Hervé Léger

Off shoulder ombre dress

$150 rental
$1,590 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Accentuate a tiny waist or give the illusion you have one with this flattering ombre dress by Herve Leger. Enhance the bold colors by donning dark metal jewelry and silver heels. Though vibrant, these colors will be no match for your bright eyes once you add Lancome's Le Crayon Khol Eyeliner in Moss.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric and ombre coloring make waist look great
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Chartreuse and grey. 90% rayon, 9% nylon, 1% spandex bands. Off shoulder straps. Back zip. 35" from top of shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'11".

Share
63 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(11)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
August 16, 2010
I loved wearing this dress and didn't want to take it off! It was true to size (size 4) and I was very pleased. This dress was the talk of the party I hosted. The highlight of the evening: I'm in the ladies room primping and another girl compliments me on the dress, then to my amazement, she asks, "Is that Hervé?" I almost shouted YES!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 29, 2010
I LOVED this dress! I was at the time currently between two sizes xs/s (have a bigger butt) so zipping it around that area took a little push but besides that the arms holes were a little annoying but by 20 mins of wearing it was very very comfortable. I thought it was a little more yellow when I looked at the pictures it is more green. Everyone loved it and I loved it so this dress was a winner!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 1, 2010
OBSESSED with this dress. At times I got a little irritated because the shoulders wouldn't stay in place, but other than that this dress was PERFECTION. It sucked me in where I needed it, while emphasizing the places that deserve the attention. LOVE HERVE.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
December 29, 2010
Best dress EVER! I got compliments all night from both men and women! The classic Herve Leger silhouette was automatically recognized by every other woman that saw me. My boyfriend and and a guy friend both told me it was the best dress they had ever seen any woman wear. Its classy and very chic but at the same time flirty and sexy. Definitely a home run! Be prepared to be noticed by EVERYONE! I ordered a small even though I wanted an xsmall but it did the job because I have a fuller bust. Be warned though these dresses show EVER curve so you need a lot of confidence to wear this!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2011
AMAZING! I had some reservations about this dress because I’m on the shorter side. But this dress was the perfect choice! The grayish color really accentuates the mid section! I do wish it was a little shorter, but for a wedding it was perfection. Would totally recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 9, 2011
This is definitely the best Herve dress I've rented from RTR. I would buy it, but I can't find it online. It photographs phenomenally!! Looks great with silver shoes. Only issue I had was that it looked a little worn under the arms. But overall-great dress! The only
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
March 11, 2011
amazing! definitely photographs more yellow, though the dress is actually varying shades of lime/chartreuse. fit & clung perfectly (M) yet with tons of room to dance. wore it to a wedding, & it definitely stood out in a sea of ubiquitous black & red dresses.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2011
One word--amazing!!! I weigh 128 but the majority of my weight is in my botton and my hips so I was super scared about trying a herve dress. I ordered the small and medium and upon my boyfriend's suggestion I wore the small which fit great. I got tons of compliments all night from friends and strangers alike. A few pratical pointers, the dress looks yellow in this picture but its actually a greenish color. Its still very pretty but just very different from the picture. Also, this dress hugs every part of your body like a glove. I have a large bottom which was accentuated by the dress but I have a small stomach so it worked. If you are self conscious about your tummy at all be advised that this dress will hug every inch of you. However, the dark center does help to make your middle look really small but still something to consider.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2011
I have never received so many compliments on one dress in my entire life!!! Absolutely loved it!
where do I begin?!?! this dress was A-MAZING! It quickly went from my "backup" to the main event...I ended up wearing the berry ombre as my "backup" to dinner with my parents because it was cute but not WOW like this dress...I have never gotten so many compliments in my life, and a couple people even recognized that it was Herve Leger...I wore it for my 25th birthday party and felt like the sexiest woman in the room. It was too tight at first but it stretches out and was actually quite comfortable...it hugs you tight so be prepared to be looked at by pretty much everyone!! LOVE THIS DRESS and officially LOVE RTR!!!! (This was my first time renting and I have never felt more sexy/beautiful in my life!) THANK YOU RTR!!!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 4, 2011
This dress is amazing. It really stands out from other dresses because of the unique ombre style and colors. It was hard to zip up but once I was in the fit was perfect. Extremely form fitting. People are still asking me where I got it from.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
June 7, 2011
The dress is breathtaking. But it's a bit too long for a petite like me, especially the bottom part is not tight (not hugging my thigh). Nevertheless, it's a great dress and XS is not big!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2011
My friend and I got in everywhere free, and ushered into VIP sections all night! Made me feel like a celebrity!
I want this dress. No, really, it was PERFECT! The colors were gorgeous (and I didn't find them to be green) and it made my body look AMAZING. Super comfortable and flattering. I got compliments all night!! I really really did not want to send this one back!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2011
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to the VMAs and it killed! It hugs in all of the right places and is extremely comfortable. If it wasn't so memorable I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 31, 2011
This picture does not do this dress justice! I can't tell you how much attention I got in this dress. I wore it out for a night in Vegas and my boyfriend said, "Everyone is staring at you, I've never seen anything like it!" I received several comliments from both men and women. This dress fits like a glove and shows off shoulders and collar bones. The color is much more green than in the picture. FANTASTIC! You won't be disappointed!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2011
I'm 33-25-37 and only ordered an XS because the S was not available. I will say it took two people to zip me in (my butt and my chest were quite snug). But once it was on it was very comfortable and I actually had some give in the stomach to breath, eat, etc comfortably. As I walked through my Vegas hotel everyone stopped and stared, and many men actually stopped and told me how beautiful my dress was. I was a little upset there was a hole by the armpit where two bands were separating when I received it; RTR should have caught that before sending. Hope this doesn't happen to anyone else!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 20, 2011
The small fit perfectly even though I was convinced I would need the XS. I am normally a size 0 and am very thin. The dresses were both kinda worn out and it was obvious to me.. luckily not to everyone else. There were some markings on the side of the dress that were unappealing but overall, I was pleased and will use this service again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2011
This is dress so amazing, I had a hard time sending it back! The color truly pops in person and you cannot feel anything less than a million bucks while wearing it! It was comfortable, and it was short, it hit my mid-thigh and I only 5'5", confidence is needed to wear this dress in public;-) I don't have a much of a waist (but this dress gave me one:) My weight is 112-115lbs, bra size cup full C-small D and wear a 0/XS in all other clothing. I ordered the xsmall and hoped for the best. It was snug but fitted the way it was suppose too and looked awesome. I also ordered a back up by same designer, the dress was called 'stormy skies' in an xsmall. It was a side zip dress, it was not as snug and was way more comfortable but I wanted color for this event. Both dresses were fabulous on. Highly recommend! Hope this helps with sizing. Enjoy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2011
This dress was an attention getter for sure. Very fitted and figure flattering.
I wore an XS in this dress and the best description is Amazing.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 12, 2011
LOVE this dress! Wore it to a wedding and received tons of compliments. Sexy, yet comfortable to wear for hours.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
So happy when i get out, I had no time to shop for a dress for my engagement party so it was perfect! Really memorable night and dress
Runs somewhat small but great. I'm 5'3 and it comes right above the knee. It was super cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 1, 2011
super fast delivery and return was so simple.
loved this dress!! great color, perfect fit ,not too short ,but short enough. Got many comlpiments. I am a 36 c bust size and it fit very well ,not too snug.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 2, 2011
Definitely lots of comments received that night. What I loved best about Rent the Runway was the ability to easily return the dress the next day, all with a pre-paid postage and package. So easy to drop it off in a mailbox!
I rented this dress for my business school formal and I absolutely adored the dress. Obviously the Herve Legar brand and design of the dress are showstopping but I was pleasantly surprised at how well the dress fit me. The material was quite substantial and the details of the back really round out the dress quite nicely. Also, I loved how the ombre palette of colors blended perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
December 6, 2011
The fact that it was the first time I've worn and Herve Leger dress!
At first this dress seemed a little too small at the top, but after some jumping and wiggling around in it, it began to fit a lot better. I can't even begin to tell you how many times I was complimented. I had so many old ladies approach me to ask where I got the dress and who it was. I felt like a million bucks and was so sad when I had to return it :(
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2011
My favorite Herve so far! I wore this on my bachelorette party in Miami, danced all night long and still looked great at 4am. Wish I owned this dress.
This is one of my favorite RTR rentals thus far. Fits like a glove and the ombre pattern/bands is so flattering. I fell in love with this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 10, 2012
Great for busty/curvy figure
I am built like a video vixen which can be problematic since I rarely want to LOOK like one. I wore this to the ESPN Superbowl party in Dallas and got celebrity double-takes all night long. Don't be discourage when you first try to zip it up--it takes a little wiggling but worth the trouble!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2012
casual night out
This dress was short. It looked really good on, very slimming. Just keep in mind the length of this Herve Leger is shorter than the others. Get the NuBra with this one as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 18, 2012
cinderella moment
ultra flattering , very slimming one of the best hl dress
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 19, 2012
Amazing fit!
fits like a glove just like every other HL dress. this was my first off the shoulder style, which was not super comfortable when dancing but that was to be expected. there were quite a few places where the seams were splitting, probably due to wear. but regardless it was noticeable enough that I opted not to wear for my event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 18, 2012
Made me feel amazing at my bachelorette. Wouldn't have been able to afford this dress without rent the runway!
I loved the colors in the dress! So flattering. I am petite and had to roll the bottom under, but it worked well and stayed all night while dancing in Vegas! Perfect for my bachelorette party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
July 25, 2012
Pretty color
I rented this dress for a outside wedding. The small that I originally hoped to wear became unavailable. The medium was too big and was very stretched out on the top. I have a large bust area but it was still very loose. I had to pull it down on the shoulders a lot to get it to lay right. I didn't end up wearing it for the event. A bit long for my 5 foot frame. Pretty color though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 14, 2012
Stand Out Dress
This dress is definitely a hot number. All eyes (incl. girls/guys) will be on you. The dress does not have much yellow, I would say its bit on the green side. But, I would definitely recommend it. This dress runs a bit small, so please order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2012
Awesome
The fade color makes it so unique and photo perfect! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
August 24, 2012
Love this designer
The size was great. I'm a size 8 usually and the Medium was great. My only dislike was that the shoulders slid off too easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 5, 2011
Fabulous customer service!!
I was all smiles in this dress. It was surprisingly flattering and I got compliments from guys and girls the entireeeee night!! can't wait to rent another dress =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2011
I got a million compliments on my dress! Thank you RTR!
This dress was perfect for my friend's bachelorette party. I am 5"3 and it was a little longer on me then expected but still looked great. I suggest wearing a strapless bra since the straps go off the shoulder.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2012
the whole night!
Love, love, love this dress! Fit perfect everywhere, looked amazing, and I felt like a million bucks!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
September 19, 2012
wow
I rented this dress for a birthday party and it got a lot of compliments. The size is pretty true to size if anything it runs a hair big. I wish however the length was a bit shorter --- I'm 5'5" and it hit lower to mid thigh. Otherwise really comfortable with plenty of stretch and the colors are as they appear --- yellow to grey to white. WIll rent again from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 23, 2012
Stunning Herve Leger. Classy and everyone asked me where I got it!
The ombre stripes on this Herve Leger get wider as it gets your waist, creating an hourglass effect. It is a little above the knee, and perfect for formal events. This dress is classy, elegant and sexy. You will get complimented on it where ever you wear it. I actually bought this dress I loved it so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
Wore this for my 10 year highschool reunion. Was great.
Its a little long but easy to flip under hem with sticky tape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2012
Most compliments I have ever received while rockin this dress. Super comfy too!
Will rent again for sure!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×