Riptide Dress

$45 rental
$1500 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sex appeal meets tranquility with this Riptide Dress by Herve Leger. Show off your curves and take over the party by pairing it with Lee Angel's Silver Etienne Necklace. There's no way you'll be lost in the sea of a crowd in this dress!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX for additional cinch at waist
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue ombre bondage jersey. Strapless neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(35)
Small
(20)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 17, 2015
Bootylicious Birthday Dress!
This was a beautiful and comfortable dress! I didn't have to worry about it slipping down, and it was very figure flattering. It really accentuated my curves. The colors stood out for my birthday party, and I got compliments all night. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 25, 2014
Loved this dress! Has to wear the L bc the M was a bit too tight but very flattering and comfortable
Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2014
Beautiful dress, I think I just ordered the wrong size :/ XS was too tight and the M was too big.
Beautiful dress, felt very nice on my body. Stiff fabric which was cool. The medium was really big in the bust (completely different from the XS). Almost like someone had tried to stuff their really big boobs into it and stretched it out. Maybe that was just the specific dress I got, or that's how it was supposed to be. Either way, the dress was nice but it just kept falling down. The S was out of stock, but I think it would have been a perfect fit. Wore it to birthday dinner with my boyfriend and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2014
Ran way too small and short
Couldn't wear - way too short and showy
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2014
Great dress, fun night
It was a bit stretched out on the top, but I made it work. I note the tape (recommended by dress consultant) does not work well on the fabric. So ... unless you get some guidance from a professional on how to get it to stick do not buy the tape. Otherwise, great dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2013
Unflattering
Not a great look for curvy girls, and the color did nothing for my pale skin and red hair. This was a backup in case my original pick didn't fit - I squeezed into my original just to avoid wearing this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
November 18, 2013
Fun and Flattering
I loved this dress, it was so pretty and very flattering. It's Herve, so you know it's going to fit like a glove and hug you in all the right places. I thought it was comfortable to wear all night (through eating and drinking... tight, but not spanx tight. I received a ton of compliments. :) The reason I took a star away was that it was obvious this dress is a VERY popular rental. I received a M and L in my initial order and wanted to wear the M, but it was in relatively poor condition. I called RTR the day of and they same day delivered another M to me (amazing customer service). The second dress was in better condition, but still obviously a well worn dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 11, 2013
Dress fit like a dream, accentuating all the right parts!
Dress is easy to wear and hugs curves in all the right places. Since the material is thicker and tighter, it also stays in place, which is nice. Great especially for those with large busts because the material is stretchy so you know for sure that it will fit and you can pick the dress according to body size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
AMAZING Customer Service!
I wanted to rent this dress in a S & a M, but when I went to check out, the small wasn't available (just the first of my troubles). I contacted the stylist via chat & she told me that the dress was no longer offered in a S but suggested a similar dress that was, however the color in that dress wasn't the same so I got the XS & M of this dress instead. Once the dresses arrived on Wednesday evening for my event on Saturday night, I tried the dresses on. The M fit well but it was a lot shorter than expected which made it inappropriate for the occasion. I contacted the company Thursday night & they told me they could get me a substitute on time. I was a bit skeptical seeing as though I'm all the way in Texas, but they got it to me Saturday morning without charging extra! Everyone I talked to was super nice & made sure I had an enjoyable experience. LOVE RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
August 21, 2013
Great fit!
The overall fit of the dress was what you woul dexpect from a HL dress, however, the dress itself was a bit worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
August 20, 2013
Birthday party success!
This dress was SO comfortable and flattering. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and the medium was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
May 20, 2013
Delivered right to my Hotel! But not my favorite rental.
Loved that the dress was delivered right to my hotel very easily when I was vacationing in NYC. The dress however was not my favorite. I have worn Herve before and knew I was a size Medium, but so thankful I got the large backup size because the medium was way smaller than anticipated. The Large was stretched out, but at least it fit. It worked for date night, but I did not want to stay in it very long because it was just uncomfortable. I think the boyfriend loved it though :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2013
I wore this to my first prom. The dress looked amazing and I got so many compliments!
Very short; dont expect to be able to bend down to pick something up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
absolutely beatiful
fit was snug, but not uncomfortable and held everything just wear you wanted it to stay. so flattering, got sooo many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 22, 2013
Amazing colors
The picture doesn't do it justice, the dress in natural light is way more vibrant... and the cut is really flattering!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
April 7, 2013
Super flattering and I got tons of compliments.
Fit well but there was some extra fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 103lbs
February 24, 2013
Felt like a Model
Loved this dress, super sexy and classy. I chose the small because the xs would have not made this dress classy on my body type (I am a C cup and couldn't really fit into the xs as well as the s). Some pros: I'm 5'0" and constantly aware of the length since most minis are too long on me. This one was great - mid-thigh, not too long or short. The one con is that I needed to wear cups and they didn't stay too well so I was pulling up the dress all night and checking it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 21, 2013
Beautiful dress
Fit like a glove. Got so many compliments. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2013
I had so many compliments on this dress.
I'm typically a small or medium, so I ordered a medium thinking it would fit. It was a little tough to get into. But it looks fantastic. It's a very slimming dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 30, 2012
What could be better than wearing Herve on NYE?
I took a chance on ordering this dress since I don't like it on the model at all and don't think it was styled correctly. The necklace and shoes are too clunky, hairstyle is matronly, red lipstick is distracting, and the model's skin is too pale for this dress. I'm glad there were pictures posted by actual renters which helped make my decision because most of the real photos look better than site photos in my opinion. This was actually my first rental and my first Herve Leger dress. I did rent another Herve for my add on which also fit great. I am hooked now and will definitely rent more Herves as well as purchase one. I loved this dress and felt amazing in it all night. The dress was the perfect length for me, hitting mid thigh. The XS fit like a glove which was perfect because the S was not available as a backup. It was a little difficult to zip up by yourself but I am thinking that is normal for Herve dresses. Once on it fit perfectly and stayed put for the most part. It never rode up and I only had to adjust the top a couple times the whole night. The colors are muted, not super bright, but is beautiful on and looks like the ocean. I love anything ombre and this dress was no exception. The colors look a lot better when photographed with a flash. Without a flash the blues just don't photograph well. The dress itself felt a little soft, not thick and stiff like it should feel, so this dress was probably worn a lot, but this did not affect the look of the dress or the bandage effect. Wearing an Herve dress will make any night more memorable!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 29, 2012
Was not able to wear this dress.
I was unable to wear either size I rented. one was too small everywhere and the other smashed my bust area too much giving me a weird shape. I always wanted to try an Herve because they look so amazing on others, but it did not work well with my shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
Careful! Runs EXTREMELY Small
I was totally bummed when this dress arrived because the style runs extremely small and I rented it for New Year's Eve -- very short and very tight. Luckily my backup size wasn't available, so I got to rent another Herve for an extra $25 (also XS) it fit perfectly! Also, the colors look brighter in the picture, whereas the colors in person are little more aquamarine-ish. If RTR had a small available, I would have been golden. At least I have my backup!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2012
Loved the prompt delivery and multiple size options
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding, and ended up wearing my second choice of dress because this was too short. I was concerned about it riding up all night, and having to adjust it or pull it down. Would be better for a fun night out vs. a more formal event like a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
December 18, 2012
Great dress, but I am so glad i dieted beforehand!
I didn't order this dress, It came instead of my original choice. I love the colors and the fit, the only downside was that you could tell It had been worn. It had little slits of rips in the upper bandages, which really is annoying. Overall, this dress was great…but 150 is alot for something that is not in great condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2012
A Knockout Dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore this for my company holiday party. Probably a tad too form fitting for that kind of party, but I'm under 30 and you gotta live a little! I received a lot of compliments on the dress and the necklace. It was a great pairing. I had some trouble fitting in the dress at first, but since the material is a little stretchy, I was able to get into it. I would definitely rent a similar dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
Got compliments from everyone at my birthday party
The dress is awesome on many levels, but unfortunately did not fit me quite right. The length was nice, which can be harder for someone only 5 feet tall, so that made me happy, and I looked awesome in it, and it looked awesome on me. The only problem was that it wouldn't stay up. I am not sure exactly why this happened, but i suppose it probably would have been best to have ordered the back up size in an XS. Hevre dresses are always stretchy, and therefore it can be quite easy to size down and I wish I had. While I was eating dinner it was fine, but when it came to dancing I would not have made it through the night without the help of fashion tape, but even that had a hard time keeping the dress up just because of the type of material the bandage dresses are made of. Great dress, but I would suggest sizing down or ordering a smaller backup size... or just not jumping up and down as much as I do. (sorry that I do not have a better picture of it... I'm way on the left, hopefully it is helpful with length)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2012
Gorgeous dress
Rented this after seeing it on my friend at her birthday. Fit like a glove, gorgeous color. Great on both my very athletic body as it was on my friend's very curvy body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 5, 2012
really cute and flattering
fit runs a little large, order smaller. flattering on blondes and brunettes. really pretty shades of blue.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
November 28, 2012
Amazing service
I rented this dress for prom, and it was absolutely flawless. I received so many compliments, and I plan on renting it again soon! The Rent the Runway team was totally on top of the order--they notified me immediately when my backup dress was unavailable, and then replaced it easily with a dress similar to it. Overall great first experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2012
This dress was absolutely incredible. I felt so sexy and glamourous wearing it!
It fit perfectly, though zipping it up was a struggle. It also didnt ride up like a lot of body con dresses do so I didnt have to worry about pulling it down all night when I was dancing! I wish I could keep this dress and wear it to everything!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2012
Great on the computer screen; underwhelming in person.
I rented this dress for a trip to L.A. and when I opened the package I was so underwhelmed. The color of the dress is dull and boring me. I ended up not wearing it at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2012
beautiful dress
I rented this dress as my first choice but they didn't have it in the size i needed, so I wear my second choice. I have to say I really did love the colors of this dress and would love to rent it again.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2012
The dresses came exactly when I needed them in perfect condition!
I wore this in a medium because they didn't have a small available. It was a little baggy and a small would've fit perfect but the medium was still fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
I was the only one wearing Herve in sight and everyone knew it!
it was flattering and rather loose fitting (especially on top for me) Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
Everything arrived on time and was extremely easy.
The dress is extremely comfortable to dance in, which was one of the main reasons why I loved it so much. I didn't have to worry about adjusting the dress at all after dancing for hours. I would recommend wearing a strapless bra with it though. The only down side was that I didn't want to send it back the next day! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 6, 2012
I can't imagine feeling any hotter than I did in this dress! Perfect for my bff's Bachelorette!
I rented two Herve Leger dresses for a Bachelorette Party in South Beach. This one and the "Purple Peep Dress". I have been waiting for an excuse to rent this designer for a while now and this seemed like the perfect chance! This one was MUCH smaller than the purple peep dress... shorter and tighter but I managed to sqeeze in. I loved this dress a lot more than I thought I would. It's gorgeous. I recommend for short ladies (I am 5'2 and it was a mini) and a large would probably fit a size 8-10 dress gal better than this 10-12 size gal.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 30, 2012
Best moment: when my date told me I looked "unreal"
I wore this dress to an all-boys school prom, and had one of the best nights ever. The dress was tight to get into but fit PERFECTLY once on. It was so easy to dance in, barely budged on my body (aka I never had to pull it down because it was getting too short), and was comfortable. Just a warning, it's quite heavy and not recommended for hot weather. I would rent this dress/a similar one in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
August 30, 2012
Smaller than I imagined...
I could barely squeeze into the small, and my little sister fit into the xs. Once I had it on it was very cute, but I wasn't in love. The neckline just wasn't my favorite and the dress did not fit correctly. I did not end up wearing it for my birthday.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
August 17, 2012
Be careful
Usually wear 2 or 4...so rented medium and small as suggested by previous reviews. Medium was perfect but the boning in the dress was broken! And the small could have worked except the panels had holes in between them! Gorgeous dress but they def need to fix or take the two I received out of circulation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 18, 2012
Was a bit too short
I ordered the Riptide and the Berry Ombre for a fashion show and party and I'm so glad I ordered the backup dress; this dress was obscenely short on me. Other Herve's run longer, this one was closer to a tube top.
See more reviews:
1 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×