Hervé Léger

Papaya Bandage Dress

$150 rental
$1450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Brighten up the party circuit in Herve Leger's Papaya Bandage Dress. Create a strong color contrast with tall black heels and Rodrigo Otazu's Rainbow Fringe Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10.

BUST: Works best on A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra or with a NuBra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10.

BUST: Works best on A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra or with a NuBra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Papaya bandages. V neckline with cut out detail on straps. X bandage detail on body. X bandage detail on back. Hidden back zip. 24" from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

122 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 98
Large 12
Photos 75
M-
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 25, 2011

My fiancé's face :)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is AMAZING! I was 130lbs at the time, 34C and I rented a Small. I wore it to a class reunion and got so many compliments. I paired it with Badgley Mischka "Fierce" Gold Sandals, clutch & earrings and the whole outfit was perfect! The color is more of a soft peach color than a bright papaya color. The fabric is very form flattering, but thicker than I imagined. However, it is flexible and light. I LOVE renting Herve Leger dresses!
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2011

getting compliments galore. after posting photos abou

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS! Wore it last year for a formal event and orginally wanted another herve but this was the only one available at the time. I ordered a small and a medium and the small fit better on me . I thought it looked better in person. Dont need a bra either!
Alissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress... I wore it to LIV night club in Miami and Im convinced it help my bf and I get past the ropes on a sold out max capacity night. I wore it with no bra, just an invisible bra for victorias secret for some cleavage. The XS fit perfectly, I am 5'8'' 135 pounds and usually wear a size 2 or 4.
Karin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

"Girl where'd you get that BODY?"

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Snug as a glove fit. I'm a pear shape and it fit just about perfectly. I would certainly recommend a pair of spanx, too - just to emphasize and accentuate your curves. Damn, I got a lot of compliments wearing this dress! The color is wonderful and will also make you look tanner in the cold, dreary months of winter. A wonderful party dress! Pity I don't have any
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 17, 2011

Obsessed!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! It runs short so it came a few inches above my knee. This dress is hard to wear a bra with and the bandage material sucks you in so no spanx needed!
luna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 22, 2012

compliments kept coming all night

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
words cannot explain how sexy & confident i felt in this dress, def a head turner..... loved loved this dress
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 25, 2012

Being dressed to kill with my best friends, some who were also wearing RTR. We got our dresses delivered to our hotel, so when we arrived in Vegas we were so excited to have them there!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing. Being able to stand out in Las Vegas where everyone is dressed to die for, I literally got complimented 10 times within the first 5 minutes of walking through the hotel in this dress. Paid for itself in compliments alone! I got an XS and a S and ended up wearing the S because I could actually breathe in the S, but with Herve you want it tight. Definitley a figure flattering dress, you can't help but feel sexy.
tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

when mymother called and said i looked amazing. she didnt like the dress when i showed her online but said she loved it on me :)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 30th Birthday Party and it was the best pic ever! I loved it and the way it hugged my body.. Def will get another Herve dress for any other event!!!
naja
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

i really can't choose the best complement , all of my friends were speechless, it made my birthday unforgettable.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly, The dress is stretchy so I was able to dance. Get the dress ladies.
Cami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

I got soo many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my sorority formal and I absolutely loved it! I ordered a small and an extra small and, although the small was not a whole lot larger, it actually zipped. This dress is awesome for girls with a little curve- the back zipper really accentuates your hips/butt and the open back is so sexy! Also, not having to wear a bra was great. It definitely looks better if you're a little tan, since the color is a bit more orange than it looks in the main RTR picture. Overall, absolutely loved this dress and will definitely be renting from RTR again.
Paula
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 12, 2012

Great Dress = Great Night

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wow, what a great dress! All things I read in the reviews are true, this dress results in lots of compliments. I felt awesome in it! While I do believe it runs small in size, I think its supposed to be that tight. Herve Leger is truly a genius ladies. The bands on this dress hug you in all the right places. I wore it with a nude pump, not black as shown here. It was perfect!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Hot, but very small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in a S & XS for a party and was unable to wear either size as they were both SO tight and SO short! I could just squeeze into the M w/only minimal capability for pulmonary respiration. Seriously though, this number was very constricting on me, albeit very very sexy. Luckily I also rented another Herve in a S which fit perfectly initially but ended up a bit lax as the night progressed. Go figure...must be the cut of the dress. I would rent again in the future in size M, or in an S if I ever figure out how to breathe thru my skin ;)
liv
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

absolutely stunning

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This Herve dress looked and felt amazing, to say the least. This jaw dropper did run a bit larger than expected, thankfully I opted to get a second size smaller and it fit like a glove.
Simone
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

LOVED IT!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got SOOO many compliments on this dress! Fit me like a glove :)
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2012

A-mazing

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the most beautiful dress. It wears well! It fit perfect! It is a show stopper. I loved it so much, I purchased my own.
Monica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Awesome Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had a great time at the Roots Picnic 2012, and looked amazing. Sorry for the lack of pics! Amazing fit! I felt like a celeb all night long.
EM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Flattering Fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great. It was very flattering and smoothing. I was a little concerned about the stomach area, however the additional bandaging reinforced the stomach so there was no need for spanx. I did rent this dress to possibly wear for a wedding, however it was a little bit too short and revealing to wear for a wedding, especially because it had a tendancy to ride up due to the material. You also can't wear a bra with it, but I am a 34C and the thicker bandaging also helped anything from showing. If that is an issue a NuBra or petals would work just fine with the cut. Overall a great dress - super confortable, tons of compliments, looked amazing. Definitely great for a night out.
Janelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Amazing fit & Great Color!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a ton of compliments on this dress. It couldn't have been more perfect. As with most Herve Leger bandage dresses, Spanx are always a good idea! I have no complaints with this one and highly recommend it.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My daughter wore this to a homecoming dance. She is a size zero at 5'4" and 105lbs. It was gorgeous on her and she loved it!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

I wore this dress for my birthday and it was perfect! The material hugs in all the right places!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
-Fit- a bit larger than normal size -Hugs the body well, great for girls wit curves!
happy birthday to me!!!
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 22, 2012

My dress arrived on time and it was almost like christmas opening and trying on the dresses!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit was definitely tighter than I originally thought it would be. I'm normally a size 8-10 in dresses, so it's a good thing I ordered the L as my second option. Although the straps were a little large on the L, which made it almost impossible to keep the top up, so I grabbed some Spanx and wore the M. Got a ton of compliments, definitely accentuated my curves, made my 21st birthday a blast!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

This dress is amazing. I felt super sexy in it. Definitely a show stopper.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress run a bit small. Great material.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

I am glad I also ordered another style because this one was too short for the occasion.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress from the moment I first saw it on Rent the Runway! I ordered this dress and a purple herve leger dress to wear to a wedding. Unfortunately I did not pick this dress. It was way to sexy and short for the wedding I was going to. Its a great dress for an occasion where it is ok to scream look at me, like a birthday or bachelorette party, I just did not find it appropriate for a wedding. Very very sexy though!
Pink Turquoise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

I wish it had fit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my second option. But, it didn't work out. The color was very nice. However, the dress looked well worn. I didn't like that much. The fit was kind of weird for my shape too. Overall, I was sad it didn't look the way I wanted it to look. But, I was happy I had a great dress that I wore instead, also from RTR!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

wasn't flattering on me so I did not end up wearing it :(

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
the shoulder straps make it impossible to wear a real bra, and the bust was too big and unflattering without one. Sad to say I didnt get to wear it
Tracy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 22, 2013

Great... Just Great!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, got lots of compliments at the wedding.
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Fit perfectly! Great color.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Recommend it
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Feb 11, 2013

The dress was a show stopper!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect, dress was in great shape and worked perfectly for my homecoming dance. Definitely accentuates the curves of the body in a good way.
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

I felt gorgeous!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my bachelorette party in Vegas! I kept on getting compliments all night. It might be my favorite dress I've rented so far! It fit great and was in really good conditon. I was getting compliments all night! :)
dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 4, 2013

Eyes were on me all night.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress, hugs the body perfectly, and draws attention. Loved it and I would definitely recommend it
christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2013

.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress really hugs your body so it shows all your assets! I would definitely recommend this dress to someone for rent!
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2013

Canceled rental before receiving it but it looks like a GORGEOUS dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Never wore it but dress looks gorgeous! Too bad it's no longer available!!
Shar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

BLA-DOWWWW

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for my 25th Birthday and it fit like a glove!!! You cant go wrong with a Herve Leger dress EVER!! Paired it with gold accessories, heels and necklace. Made my 25th PERFECT! Color looks great on tan/dark skin tone.
Jonah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 23, 2013

Night out in Vegas!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
A tad on the small side in the bust so I was a little self conscience. And a little short but I'm tall! Still loved and got lots of compliments.
Stevie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

This dress is definitely a head turner! I got so many compliments on how I looked in it :)

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Pros: fits well on the bottom, where I carry all my weight. Cons: the top was loose and since it's stretchy material, would require tailoring to get it to fit.
Christine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 5, 2014

Fantastic Dress. Great color and very comfortable.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit. Shows off all of your curves.
kitty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 9, 2014

amazing

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
perfection.
Maura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 4, 2014

Terrible fit. Was huge on me and the straps would hardly hold its own weight of the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Runs Huge! i was swimming in a small and didn't get to wear the dress out. Rent the Runway has been no help in any way. They promised a refund that I never received. Have not and will not order from them again.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

I wore this for my high school homecoming and it was perfect! Nobody else had anything like it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a small, but I was glad my extra dress was an XS because that fit me perfectly! Very tight and form fitting but the fabric is thick so you can't see any lumps and bumps!
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Nothing makes you feel like a million bucks like Herve!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was by far the best rental ever... The dress fit like a glove and the color is so gorgeous.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×