Metallic Mystique Dress

$150 rental
$1490 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hot Hot Hot! This Metallic Mystique dress by Herve Leger is the ultimate dress to wear for a girl's night out, birthday party, or fancy date night! Rent Erickson Beamon's Smoke and Mirrors Earrings and Erickson Beamon's Super Nova Cuff to look fierce!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black metallic stretch bandage. V neckline. Open triangle back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden front zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
161 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(138)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2012
Sexy sexy little black dress!
This dress was so sexy! I'm 5'3" so I thought it might be a little longer than I'd like but it was perfect, definitely no need for this dress to be short, the deep-V on top was enough to show off. The dress has a firm stretch to it, which was great for me cause I just found out I was pregnant and happy to rock one last super sexy dress before my baby bump starts to show. No bra necessary either this dress offers plenty of support, and the deep-V can be adjusted so you can show off as much or as little as you want.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
August 28, 2012
The best
All I can say is that people still asked me where I got this dress.... Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
August 22, 2012
The beautiful dress!
I rented this for a friend's birthday party. I absolutely loved it! No bra necessary; which is super awesome. Definitely will consider renting this dress again or trying another Herve rental. I love RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 21, 2012
super sexy!
I wore this dress out on my Birthday and it looked amazing! I got tons of compliments. It looks low cut on the model in front and back, but I was able to wear a regular bra with this dress although it was so supportive I really would not have needed to. The lenght was about knee lenght on me (I'm 5'4") which is a little longer than I normally like- but in this case, it balanced out the sexier top of the dress nicely. The fit was looser than most Herve dresses I have rented, the fabric is a little more giving and comfortable but still hugs the body and gives you that classic Herve sexy shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
Great Dress
Loved the dress however if you have a larger chest, it does not fit like the picture shown. Very very low cut
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 19, 2012
Amazing Dress
This...dress...is...AMAZING!!! I know it had to be a hit because when I went to the venue and was about to stand in line, one of the promoters takes me out of the line directly into the venue without paying a cent. Then not less than 3 seconds after entering the doorway, I am asked to dance...and doted on from the beginning to the end. I received tons of compliments. My only complaint is, you may have to get new feet after dancing all night because when wearing this dress, you definitely will not be without a partner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2012
A great party in a great dress. I felt like a celebrity :)
Loved this dress...I ended up having my sister wear this...she had better cleavage to show off. But it was so comfortable. We all got tons of compliments for our dresses, all from RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Love!
Loved this dress! I ordered it for my second dress and I was so sad that I couldn't wear it. It has a sort of lacquered look to it. The V is super deep, but it holds you in so well I wasn't concerned at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2012
Perfection.
This dress was a scene stealer for sure! Long enough to be modest but the lower neckline gives it the perfect touch of sexiness! The back is beautiful as well. I wore this to a friends birthday party and it was absolutely perfect.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2012
Stunning!
I rented this dress for a law school formal and just loved it. It ran a bit large I'd say - I'm 5'6 120lbs and the XS fit perfectly. The dress was a little long but the material was such that you could easily fold it to adjust the length. The dress was incredibly sexy and classy. I was worried about that plunging neckline (I'm a 32B), but the dress does wonders for the cleavage (just pair with a Victoria's Secret invisible bra). Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
August 16, 2012
Knowing my friends and I looked HOT!
This dress was great! I wore it to our grad school "prom" and it was definitely an attention-grabber, especially from the guys. I wore it with a NuBra, because I wanted to have a little bit more in the chest department. The only issues I found were that the dress had been worn a lot (I noticed this, but no one else would have) and it's not a miracle-worker. The sucking-you-in of a bandage dress can only do so much. Overall, I felt beautiful and enjoyed myself! PS My friend (in purple) was able to wear my Herve Leger back up dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2012
When I lost that rented earring at Tao night club and the bouncers helped me find it :)
Another fabulous Herve...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2012
Cute but not very stretchy
The dress is a statement. Both the fabric and the cut are unique. The dress looks and feels expensive. It is not as stretchy as I expected it to be and not particularly forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Total Party Dress
This is a really cute dress! True to HL form, it hugs you in all the right places. Unfortunately, it was a little to provocative for the event that I was going to. The deep neckline made it pretty much impossible for me to wear a bra and although you don’t necessarily need one (i.e. the chances if something falling out is slim) it was a bit too much cleavage for the dinner. This would definitely be a perfect Vegas/Miami style dress!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 6, 2012
Million Dollar Dress!
This is my first ever rental from Rent the Runway. I have always been a little bit skeptical of online shopping but when I received a coupon for a free dress rental, I obviously jumped at it. And boy did RTR make me a believer! First of all, the dress was packaged in a beautiful big box and it was inside a plastic garment bag with some goodies hung on the hanger as well. They really know how to treat a customer right. The dress came exactly when it was suppose to and was ironed and ready to wear. I tried it on and it perfectly hugged every part of my body. Even though I am small chested, this dress was so form-fitting that it helped boost up areas that most dresses would leave rather flat. The material is quite heavy and does feel luxurious, which makes me feel that this dress would have been PERFECT for the winter. I also ended up using the fashion tape to hem up the bottom of the dress because I am 5 feet and the dress was a little long on me. Nevertheless, I was caught by surprise. THANK YOU RTR for allowing me to wear a Herve Leger dress without breaking my bank...I will definitely be renting in the near future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2012
Heads will turn in this one!!
Rented this dress for a night out in Vegas and its a true attention getter. Low cut top and cut out in the back makes this dress a little daring without looking too over board. True to size and hugs you in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2012
My favorite LBD ;)
I loved this dress. It was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2012
It will be hard to top this dress! Everyone at the party loved it, and my Husband didn't stop talking about it all night long!
If you are debating renting this dress, just stop and get it! I have never been one to show off cleavage or wear tight dresses, but after reading the reviews, I took the plunge and I am glad I did. This dress is AMAZING. It just pulls your body in to amazing shape, you don't need any spanx under for help, the dress does all of the work on it's own. I wish I could have kept this dress! I got the S as my rental, but got an XS as my back up and wore the XS, as the S was a little too big/loose in the chest area for me. (not sure i that is just the way it is made, or if it was stretched from previous use.) The XS was a little more tight than the S in the body, but it didn't feel too small, it felt like that's the way this designer is supposed to fit. I danced in this dress for a good 2 hours straight and it never felt uncomfortable nor did it ever ride up any. Again, debating this dress? Just stop and rent it! You will not regret it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 3, 2012
This dress was perfect to make you feel sexy and fun and like a STAR on my birthday!! Made my night unforgettable!!
This dress was AMAZING!! I was definitely turning heads (in a good way) when I wore this dress to celebrate my 21st birthday!! The fit was perfect and it gave me and hour glass shape and booty to remember!! This is the perfect party dress. It doesn't ride up, there is no fear of a nip slip. I danced the night away without any worries!
RosannaOctober 3, 2012
I love the dress but I also love that lipstick you wearing. Can you tell me the name of the color and brand of it? :)
DemiOctober 9, 2012
i got my make-up done by my friend, so im not sure. But i have a ysl one that is similar YSL # 13
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2012
Perfectly Stunning!
This dress was for a "Rockstar" Gala and not only fit the theme perfectly but fit me perfectly. It's true to size, stretches easily due to the fabric (so it's extremely comfortable) and I love that the zipper is on the front. I received many compliments and can't wait to purchase my very own Herve Leger!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 31, 2012
Thank you RTR!!! I looked absolutely fabulous on my 30th birthday! :)
I wore this dress for my 30th birthday party. It was the perfect fit! Super sexy and the material is amazing...held everything exactly where it should! Tons of complements! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 29, 2012
Perfect for hourglass figure!
Wore this to a bachelorette party and was absolutely in love with the dress! I am a size 0-2 but wore a Small to ensure enough room in the bust area. Really gorgeous dress with a very chic sheen to it
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2012
Awesome dress!
I wore this for a girls' night in NYC. I usually wear a size 2 dress, sometimes a 4...the Small fit perfect. You will love this dress...super sexy because it is so low cut, but is not super short which helps to not make it look cheesy. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2012
This dress was good luck!
This dress is amazing, it is made of thick material, and just molds your body into a rockin' shape. Wore this out in Las Vegas with nude heels, got tons of compliments. Best part of the night, I owe my good luck to this dress, I rolled for 28 minutes straight at Craps and doubled my money!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2012
Hot dress!
I wore this dress to a red carpet event as a reward for recently losing 50 lbs and it did the trick. It looked fantastic, made me feel like a million bucks. Love the zipper up the front which made it easy to get into (and no deodorant smudges) and the structure of the dress made it s I didn't have to wear a bra, just a little topstick. I am short (5"0") and had no problem with the length or shoulders, so an A+ for petites as well.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2012
LOVED THIS DRESS!!!!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments. I ordered the Small and Medium but ended up going with the small becuase it fit great and sucked everything in better. Highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2012
All the stares I was getting while wearing this fabulous dress!
Wore this dress in Vegas for my fiance's 30th birthday. The material is amazing and hugs in all of the right places. I didn't wear a bra (I'm pretty small chested) and I didn't have any issues with falling out or feeling uncomfortable. I can't wait to rent more herve dresses!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2012
=)
loved this dress. sexy, comfortable and unique! highly recomend.
LioraOctober 12, 2012
BEAUTIFUL!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 27, 2012
I won't forget this dress because I was wearing it when Mike Posner gave a surprise performance @ the club we were at.
I wore this dress out in Las Vegas for my birthday. It was definitely appropriate for the venue: super tight, lots of cleavage, open back! MATERIAL: This dress is made very, very well. The bandage material sucks you in in all of the right places. I was surprised that the metallic sheen on the dress was actually a second material and not part of the main fabric. The sheen was pilling a little in places (perhaps just due to many wears?) Regardless, it still looked great. SIZE: I found that size was very flexible. Usually I'd wear a L but that size was not available for the dates I needed it. I risked it and got the M and it fit fine. The stretch gives you some leeway. UNDERGARMENTS: I bought a backless adhesive bra but ended up just wearing a standard strapless bra. With a little fashion tape work, I was able to wear it without it being visible in the front or back. Buy fashion tape and bring a few strips with you when you go out. You'll likely need to re-stick so there's no gap between the dress and your bra.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2012
I felt FANTASTIC wearing this dress.
I rented this dress for a fun weekend in Vegas. It was not only the most comfortable dress I've worn in a long time - it was beautifully made. I didn't need a bra (34D chest) and I didn't need Spanx. It was amazing to wear. I got so many compliments and I felt so confident wearing this dress. I'll have to rent from his collection again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2012
SEXY
This dress is so lovely! Low cut for those who dare, the back is opened so I would suggest an up-do. Many many compliments. You won't be disappointed.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 15, 2012
Had photo shoot to celebrate my 35th bday!!! looked amazing!!
I looked like dynamite!!! Fit perfect!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 3, 2012
Yes, definitely. It was my first Herve Leger and now I am hooked! Great dress for a girl with curves :)
I wore this dress for my cousin's engagement party. It fit like a glove. I could have worn the Small or Medium but ended up wearing the Medium for this occaission because I didnt want to look too "hoochy" for a family event. I would have worn the Small for "girls night out" or just going out with my boyfriend. Got tons of compliments, I would definitely rent this dress OVER and OVER!
Jessica March 13, 2012
You look great! Just wondering, I'm also chesty and i'm curious what type of bra did you wear this this dress?
RachelleMay 4, 2012
Jessica: Sorry it took me so long to respond. I didn't have to wear a bra at all. It completely kept be "in place" and I was very comfortable.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
February 25, 2012
Loved this dress, and the added sexiness :)
I am 5'5, 124lbs, 36A and I rented a XS. This dress is hot! It isn't my usually style to wear form fitting hot dresses, but I loved it from the moment I saw it on RTR. Fits amazing and is a sexy dress! Received lots of compliments. Danced the night away, and the dress didn't stretch and my boobs didn't fall out! It also came with hollywood tape for the bustier ladies. You will LOVE how you look and feel :)
AMarch 21, 2012
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 21, 2012
Soo sexy!
Great Fit! Very comfortable...I actually wore this with no bra and had great support!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2012
SMOKING HOT!!
This is probably the hottest, sexiest dress I have ever seen - let alone worn. Wore it out for a fantastic date night in NYC and my boyfriend could not stop telling me how amazing I looked. I felt so fantastic that I decided to wear it AGAIN to our second dinner date a few days later, (sadly) leaving my second dress at home unworn. SOO worth it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 1, 2012
Ms Diva
I wore this for a birthday party it looked amazing on. I ordered both size XS and S. The XS fit better, and I received so many compliments all night long. This is my second time using Rent the runway for an occasion and both times was great. thank you.
ArielFebruary 7, 2012
I am wondering about getting this dress for my birthday party im just afraid i wont stand out since its black! How was it for you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2012
This dress did not disappoint!
This dress was very comfortable and surprisingly,with 2 pieces of fashion tape, it held my very full bust in. Back is really nice too!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2012
Wearing such an amazing dress without forking over my whole paycheck!
I wore this dress out for NYE. I absolutely loved it. I felt great in and my fiance was obsessed. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 26, 2011
LOVE!
I loved everything about this dress.I wore it for my 29th birthday party! It fit perfect in every way! Wore a VS deep plunge bra and it worked wonderful! Got compliments all night long. Would rent this one again in a heartbeat :)
See more reviews:
3 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×