Hervé Léger

Metallic Mystique Dress

$150 rental
$1,490 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Hot Hot Hot! This Metallic Mystique dress by Herve Leger is the ultimate dress to wear for a girl's night out, birthday party, or fancy date night! Rent Erickson Beamon's Smoke and Mirrors Earrings and Erickson Beamon's Super Nova Cuff to look fierce!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black metallic stretch bandage. V neckline. Open triangle back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden front zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
161 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(138)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 15, 2011
Great dress
Very pretty dress. Nice thick fabric. Bustline is a bit low but still very nice.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 19, 2011
LOVED this dress! I wore the medium, and it hugged every curve perfectly. The dress was a perfect length on me, not too short, which I wanted since it already had a low cut front. I could have worn the small, but it would just be uncomfortable. I don't have a great rack (34B), but my husband couldn't take his eyes off my chest! Would definitely recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 22, 2011
The dress is very nice! The only thing is that it was a lil loose. I think because it's been worn many times. I should have gone a size smaller but didn't since the reviews said it ran small. I think if it would have fit tight like other Leger dresses it would have looked super hot!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2011
This dress was amazing. Sexy without being inappropriate. It pulled my body in, in all the right places. The fabric was tight without being uncomfortable. Truly worth the 5 stars.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Age: 35
September 27, 2011
This dress was so hot but smelled a little bit weird....
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
October 5, 2011
I wore this to a wedding this past weekend and it was perfect. Because I have a small bust, the dress looked sexy but classy-- it was also extremely comfortable. My husband was disappointed to find out I had to return it! I will definitely be renting this one again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
I wore the XS small, although the S would have worked too, but the point of the dress is for it to be tight, so I went for the smaller size. That being said this dress was probably the sexiest thing I've ever worn; I rented it for a Las Vegas trip with my boyfriend and he asked me to wear it two days in a row. I felt super confident and the dress definitely flatters your curves. I didn't wear a bra, my boobs looked amazing without one and I'm a 32D. I want to buy this dress! Rent it, you won't regret it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2011
amazing night, amazing dress, amazing memories
I wore this dress for my birthday. It was amazing and hugged the right curves. I'm 5'8 about 145lbs and a B cup (I ordered the small). I'm not the curviest but I must say that this dress gave me the sexiest shape. I would definitely rent it again!
KAcyMarch 4, 2012
NicoleMarch 8, 2012
You killed it girl!! I was thinking about getting a different Herve for my 30th bday, but you just changed my mind! Thanks :)
JayMarch 13, 2012
Work it sistah!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 26, 2011
Prefect Vegas dress!
I rented this dress for a Vegas trip and it was awesome! It's a gorgeous dress that is definitely an attention grabber. I am usually a small in almost everything I wear but I ordered and extra small and it fit perfect, a small would have been too big. I am a B cup and the deep v was perfect for my size, too much bigger and you would be hanging out of it. I definitely recommend this dress for you next big night out!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2011
Herve Leger is perfect! I fit well into both the small and xsmall sizes and everything stays in place perfectly :-)
I wasn't originally planning to wear this dress as it was my back-up for a wedding. My original dress worked just fine, but I had one more day with the dresses and so I wore this out for a night out with some friends... and the boyfriend tagged along because he refused to let me out without an escort in this dress! It is absolutely stunningly sexy in a very classy way. The skirt bunched up a little, but I was still able to dance in it. Definitely worth the rental.
ShannonDecember 21, 2011
How did it fit in the chest area? Is there any support? Push up? Totally cute dress but I'm a bit nervous about the chest support- 36C.
SarahDecember 26, 2011
Hi Shannon, I'm a 32C, wore an XS and the girls stayed put. Put on the dress, set them where you want and I'm sure you'll be fine. Dress is true to size, so just make sure you get the right size. If you're conservative and really worried about showing too much, I wouldn't get the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2011
Didn't work for me
This dress didn't work for me. It didn't compliment my curves at all. Luckily, i rented the Contrast Entrapment from Hervé a s a back up dress which fit perfect. This dress might work for you but it just didn't do it for me.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 17, 2011
Wish It Was Mine
By far the sexiest dress I have ever worn! Material felt great. No need for spanx, the dress held it all in, including the chest. If my chest was any bigger I would not have been as comfortable in this dress. The neck is a very low plunge. No regrets on this rental at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
November 18, 2011
Loved this Dress!!
I wore this for my husbands surprise birthday party. It fit like a glove and I received a ton of compliments. I am 5'4 and weigh 114lbs. and the size small fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 21, 2011
Love Love Love <3
This dress is amazing! It fit perfectly!! I probably could have worn the medium or the large, but opted for the large. The material hugs in all the right places and makes everything look smooth! I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 26, 2011
LOVE!
I loved everything about this dress.I wore it for my 29th birthday party! It fit perfect in every way! Wore a VS deep plunge bra and it worked wonderful! Got compliments all night long. Would rent this one again in a heartbeat :)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2012
Wearing such an amazing dress without forking over my whole paycheck!
I wore this dress out for NYE. I absolutely loved it. I felt great in and my fiance was obsessed. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2012
This dress did not disappoint!
This dress was very comfortable and surprisingly,with 2 pieces of fashion tape, it held my very full bust in. Back is really nice too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 1, 2012
Ms Diva
I wore this for a birthday party it looked amazing on. I ordered both size XS and S. The XS fit better, and I received so many compliments all night long. This is my second time using Rent the runway for an occasion and both times was great. thank you.
ArielFebruary 7, 2012
I am wondering about getting this dress for my birthday party im just afraid i wont stand out since its black! How was it for you?
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2012
SMOKING HOT!!
This is probably the hottest, sexiest dress I have ever seen - let alone worn. Wore it out for a fantastic date night in NYC and my boyfriend could not stop telling me how amazing I looked. I felt so fantastic that I decided to wear it AGAIN to our second dinner date a few days later, (sadly) leaving my second dress at home unworn. SOO worth it!!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
February 25, 2012
Loved this dress, and the added sexiness :)
I am 5'5, 124lbs, 36A and I rented a XS. This dress is hot! It isn't my usually style to wear form fitting hot dresses, but I loved it from the moment I saw it on RTR. Fits amazing and is a sexy dress! Received lots of compliments. Danced the night away, and the dress didn't stretch and my boobs didn't fall out! It also came with hollywood tape for the bustier ladies. You will LOVE how you look and feel :)
AMarch 21, 2012
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 15, 2012
Had photo shoot to celebrate my 35th bday!!! looked amazing!!
I looked like dynamite!!! Fit perfect!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2012
SEXY
This dress is so lovely! Low cut for those who dare, the back is opened so I would suggest an up-do. Many many compliments. You won't be disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2012
I felt FANTASTIC wearing this dress.
I rented this dress for a fun weekend in Vegas. It was not only the most comfortable dress I've worn in a long time - it was beautifully made. I didn't need a bra (34D chest) and I didn't need Spanx. It was amazing to wear. I got so many compliments and I felt so confident wearing this dress. I'll have to rent from his collection again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2012
All the stares I was getting while wearing this fabulous dress!
Wore this dress in Vegas for my fiance's 30th birthday. The material is amazing and hugs in all of the right places. I didn't wear a bra (I'm pretty small chested) and I didn't have any issues with falling out or feeling uncomfortable. I can't wait to rent more herve dresses!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2012
LOVED THIS DRESS!!!!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments. I ordered the Small and Medium but ended up going with the small becuase it fit great and sucked everything in better. Highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 13, 2012
Hot dress!
I wore this dress to a red carpet event as a reward for recently losing 50 lbs and it did the trick. It looked fantastic, made me feel like a million bucks. Love the zipper up the front which made it easy to get into (and no deodorant smudges) and the structure of the dress made it s I didn't have to wear a bra, just a little topstick. I am short (5"0") and had no problem with the length or shoulders, so an A+ for petites as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2012
This dress was good luck!
This dress is amazing, it is made of thick material, and just molds your body into a rockin' shape. Wore this out in Las Vegas with nude heels, got tons of compliments. Best part of the night, I owe my good luck to this dress, I rolled for 28 minutes straight at Craps and doubled my money!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2012
Awesome dress!
I wore this for a girls' night in NYC. I usually wear a size 2 dress, sometimes a 4...the Small fit perfect. You will love this dress...super sexy because it is so low cut, but is not super short which helps to not make it look cheesy. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
May 29, 2012
Perfect for hourglass figure!
Wore this to a bachelorette party and was absolutely in love with the dress! I am a size 0-2 but wore a Small to ensure enough room in the bust area. Really gorgeous dress with a very chic sheen to it
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 31, 2012
Thank you RTR!!! I looked absolutely fabulous on my 30th birthday! :)
I wore this dress for my 30th birthday party. It was the perfect fit! Super sexy and the material is amazing...held everything exactly where it should! Tons of complements! Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 22, 2012
Perfectly Stunning!
This dress was for a "Rockstar" Gala and not only fit the theme perfectly but fit me perfectly. It's true to size, stretches easily due to the fabric (so it's extremely comfortable) and I love that the zipper is on the front. I received many compliments and can't wait to purchase my very own Herve Leger!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
July 3, 2012
This dress was perfect to make you feel sexy and fun and like a STAR on my birthday!! Made my night unforgettable!!
This dress was AMAZING!! I was definitely turning heads (in a good way) when I wore this dress to celebrate my 21st birthday!! The fit was perfect and it gave me and hour glass shape and booty to remember!! This is the perfect party dress. It doesn't ride up, there is no fear of a nip slip. I danced the night away without any worries!
RosannaOctober 3, 2012
I love the dress but I also love that lipstick you wearing. Can you tell me the name of the color and brand of it? :)
DemiOctober 9, 2012
i got my make-up done by my friend, so im not sure. But i have a ysl one that is similar YSL # 13
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2012
It will be hard to top this dress! Everyone at the party loved it, and my Husband didn't stop talking about it all night long!
If you are debating renting this dress, just stop and get it! I have never been one to show off cleavage or wear tight dresses, but after reading the reviews, I took the plunge and I am glad I did. This dress is AMAZING. It just pulls your body in to amazing shape, you don't need any spanx under for help, the dress does all of the work on it's own. I wish I could have kept this dress! I got the S as my rental, but got an XS as my back up and wore the XS, as the S was a little too big/loose in the chest area for me. (not sure i that is just the way it is made, or if it was stretched from previous use.) The XS was a little more tight than the S in the body, but it didn't feel too small, it felt like that's the way this designer is supposed to fit. I danced in this dress for a good 2 hours straight and it never felt uncomfortable nor did it ever ride up any. Again, debating this dress? Just stop and rent it! You will not regret it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2012
My favorite LBD ;)
I loved this dress. It was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2012
Heads will turn in this one!!
Rented this dress for a night out in Vegas and its a true attention getter. Low cut top and cut out in the back makes this dress a little daring without looking too over board. True to size and hugs you in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 6, 2012
Million Dollar Dress!
This is my first ever rental from Rent the Runway. I have always been a little bit skeptical of online shopping but when I received a coupon for a free dress rental, I obviously jumped at it. And boy did RTR make me a believer! First of all, the dress was packaged in a beautiful big box and it was inside a plastic garment bag with some goodies hung on the hanger as well. They really know how to treat a customer right. The dress came exactly when it was suppose to and was ironed and ready to wear. I tried it on and it perfectly hugged every part of my body. Even though I am small chested, this dress was so form-fitting that it helped boost up areas that most dresses would leave rather flat. The material is quite heavy and does feel luxurious, which makes me feel that this dress would have been PERFECT for the winter. I also ended up using the fashion tape to hem up the bottom of the dress because I am 5 feet and the dress was a little long on me. Nevertheless, I was caught by surprise. THANK YOU RTR for allowing me to wear a Herve Leger dress without breaking my bank...I will definitely be renting in the near future.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Total Party Dress
This is a really cute dress! True to HL form, it hugs you in all the right places. Unfortunately, it was a little to provocative for the event that I was going to. The deep neckline made it pretty much impossible for me to wear a bra and although you don’t necessarily need one (i.e. the chances if something falling out is slim) it was a bit too much cleavage for the dinner. This would definitely be a perfect Vegas/Miami style dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
August 16, 2012
When I lost that rented earring at Tao night club and the bouncers helped me find it :)
Another fabulous Herve...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2012
Love!
Loved this dress! I ordered it for my second dress and I was so sad that I couldn't wear it. It has a sort of lacquered look to it. The V is super deep, but it holds you in so well I wasn't concerned at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2012
A great party in a great dress. I felt like a celebrity :)
Loved this dress...I ended up having my sister wear this...she had better cleavage to show off. But it was so comfortable. We all got tons of compliments for our dresses, all from RTR.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×