Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Metallic Mystique Dress

$150 rental
$1490 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Hot Hot Hot! This Metallic Mystique dress by Herve Leger is the ultimate dress to wear for a girl's night out, birthday party, or fancy date night! Rent Erickson Beamon's Smoke and Mirrors Earrings and Erickson Beamon's Super Nova Cuff to look fierce!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low V cannot be worn with standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra -wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black metallic stretch bandage. V neckline. Open triangle back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden front zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

160 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 137
Large 12
Photos 87
Blaire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Nov 17, 2010

Being able to look like a million bucks without the actual spending!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such a hott hott dress! I'm size 0-2 and the XS fit like a glove. Had a blast wearing this Herve Leger!
RyanR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 20, 2011

I wore this dress for my birthday and it truly made me feel like a celebrity for the evening. Everyone was complimenting me and looking at me. I felt so glamorous! I'm the one on the far right in the pic.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
OMG!!! This dress is spectacular!! I thought that I'd have to wear some spanx with it as well, just to make sure those pesky hips were looking as slim as possible, but there's no need. This dress does all the work and feels like the most comfortable thing in the world. Someday I will buy one and wear it forever!! In dresses, I normally wear between a 6 and a 10, depending on the brand. I wore a medium in this dress and it was perfect. I also have very large breasts that ALWAYS require the use of a bra, but none was needed for this dress and I never once felt like they were going to fall out. I can't wait for another occasion to rent this dress!!
Solo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 17, 2011

amazing night, amazing dress, amazing memories

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my birthday. It was amazing and hugged the right curves. I'm 5'8 about 145lbs and a B cup (I ordered the small). I'm not the curviest but I must say that this dress gave me the sexiest shape. I would definitely rent it again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 15, 2011

Herve Leger is perfect! I fit well into both the small and xsmall sizes and everything stays in place perfectly :-)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wasn't originally planning to wear this dress as it was my back-up for a wedding. My original dress worked just fine, but I had one more day with the dresses and so I wore this out for a night out with some friends... and the boyfriend tagged along because he refused to let me out without an escort in this dress! It is absolutely stunningly sexy in a very classy way. The skirt bunched up a little, but I was still able to dance in it. Definitely worth the rental.
Julia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

Wearing such an amazing dress without forking over my whole paycheck!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress out for NYE. I absolutely loved it. I felt great in and my fiance was obsessed. Would definitely rent it again!
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Feb 21, 2012

Soo sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great Fit! Very comfortable...I actually wore this with no bra and had great support!
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Feb 25, 2012

Loved this dress, and the added sexiness :)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'5, 124lbs, 36A and I rented a XS. This dress is hot! It isn't my usually style to wear form fitting hot dresses, but I loved it from the moment I saw it on RTR. Fits amazing and is a sexy dress! Received lots of compliments. Danced the night away, and the dress didn't stretch and my boobs didn't fall out! It also came with hollywood tape for the bustier ladies. You will LOVE how you look and feel :)
Rachelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 3, 2012

Yes, definitely. It was my first Herve Leger and now I am hooked! Great dress for a girl with curves :)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my cousin's engagement party. It fit like a glove. I could have worn the Small or Medium but ended up wearing the Medium for this occaission because I didnt want to look too "hoochy" for a family event. I would have worn the Small for "girls night out" or just going out with my boyfriend. Got tons of compliments, I would definitely rent this dress OVER and OVER!
naomi
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 15, 2012

Had photo shoot to celebrate my 35th bday!!! looked amazing!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I looked like dynamite!!! Fit perfect!!!
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 20, 2012

I felt FANTASTIC wearing this dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a fun weekend in Vegas. It was not only the most comfortable dress I've worn in a long time - it was beautifully made. I didn't need a bra (34D chest) and I didn't need Spanx. It was amazing to wear. I got so many compliments and I felt so confident wearing this dress. I'll have to rent from his collection again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 27, 2012

I won't forget this dress because I was wearing it when Mike Posner gave a surprise performance @ the club we were at.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress out in Las Vegas for my birthday. It was definitely appropriate for the venue: super tight, lots of cleavage, open back! MATERIAL: This dress is made very, very well. The bandage material sucks you in in all of the right places. I was surprised that the metallic sheen on the dress was actually a second material and not part of the main fabric. The sheen was pilling a little in places (perhaps just due to many wears?) Regardless, it still looked great. SIZE: I found that size was very flexible. Usually I'd wear a L but that size was not available for the dates I needed it. I risked it and got the M and it fit fine. The stretch gives you some leeway. UNDERGARMENTS: I bought a backless adhesive bra but ended up just wearing a standard strapless bra. With a little fashion tape work, I was able to wear it without it being visible in the front or back. Buy fashion tape and bring a few strips with you when you go out. You'll likely need to re-stick so there's no gap between the dress and your bra.
Elena
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 29, 2012

=)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
loved this dress. sexy, comfortable and unique! highly recomend.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 3, 2012

All the stares I was getting while wearing this fabulous dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this dress in Vegas for my fiance's 30th birthday. The material is amazing and hugs in all of the right places. I didn't wear a bra (I'm pretty small chested) and I didn't have any issues with falling out or feeling uncomfortable. I can't wait to rent more herve dresses!!!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 141 lbs
Apr 4, 2012

LOVED THIS DRESS!!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments. I ordered the Small and Medium but ended up going with the small becuase it fit great and sucked everything in better. Highly recommend this dress.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

This dress was good luck!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing, it is made of thick material, and just molds your body into a rockin' shape. Wore this out in Las Vegas with nude heels, got tons of compliments. Best part of the night, I owe my good luck to this dress, I rolled for 28 minutes straight at Craps and doubled my money!
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 31, 2012

Thank you RTR!!! I looked absolutely fabulous on my 30th birthday! :)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my 30th birthday party. It was the perfect fit! Super sexy and the material is amazing...held everything exactly where it should! Tons of complements! Thank you RTR!
Demi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 3, 2012

This dress was perfect to make you feel sexy and fun and like a STAR on my birthday!! Made my night unforgettable!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was AMAZING!! I was definitely turning heads (in a good way) when I wore this dress to celebrate my 21st birthday!! The fit was perfect and it gave me and hour glass shape and booty to remember!! This is the perfect party dress. It doesn't ride up, there is no fear of a nip slip. I danced the night away without any worries!
Jamie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 21, 2012

It will be hard to top this dress! Everyone at the party loved it, and my Husband didn't stop talking about it all night long!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you are debating renting this dress, just stop and get it! I have never been one to show off cleavage or wear tight dresses, but after reading the reviews, I took the plunge and I am glad I did. This dress is AMAZING. It just pulls your body in to amazing shape, you don't need any spanx under for help, the dress does all of the work on it's own. I wish I could have kept this dress! I got the S as my rental, but got an XS as my back up and wore the XS, as the S was a little too big/loose in the chest area for me. (not sure i that is just the way it is made, or if it was stretched from previous use.) The XS was a little more tight than the S in the body, but it didn't feel too small, it felt like that's the way this designer is supposed to fit. I danced in this dress for a good 2 hours straight and it never felt uncomfortable nor did it ever ride up any. Again, debating this dress? Just stop and rent it! You will not regret it.
Faith
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

My favorite LBD ;)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was very flattering.
lalalauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Heads will turn in this one!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for a night out in Vegas and its a true attention getter. Low cut top and cut out in the back makes this dress a little daring without looking too over board. True to size and hugs you in all the right places!
Dori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Aug 16, 2012

When I lost that rented earring at Tao night club and the bouncers helped me find it :)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Another fabulous Herve...
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Knowing my friends and I looked HOT!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great! I wore it to our grad school "prom" and it was definitely an attention-grabber, especially from the guys. I wore it with a NuBra, because I wanted to have a little bit more in the chest department. The only issues I found were that the dress had been worn a lot (I noticed this, but no one else would have) and it's not a miracle-worker. The sucking-you-in of a bandage dress can only do so much. Overall, I felt beautiful and enjoyed myself! PS My friend (in purple) was able to wear my Herve Leger back up dress!
Colette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

A great party in a great dress. I felt like a celebrity :)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress...I ended up having my sister wear this...she had better cleavage to show off. But it was so comfortable. We all got tons of compliments for our dresses, all from RTR.
rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Great dress got tons of compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress got tons of compliments
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Apr 23, 2013

Sexiest dress I have ever worn!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore the XS and my friend had to literally zip me up in it but it was fabulous and I didn't even need to wear any support garments underneath, not even a bra. I will order this again!
JENNIFER
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

HOTNESS!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If this dress was available in S, I would've wore it! I'm 5'2" 34B and normally wear a 6 and the M was too big up top and still had room in hips... Otherwise, the dress is sexy, classy and really very flattering! Maybe next time!
Aimee
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 23, 2013

Loved this dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress really sucks you in, so even though it looks really tiny on the hanger, try on the smallest size you ordered (if you ordered two sizes). It really stretches - and the black is so flattering. I loved this dress. It was comfortable and beautiful.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2013

Stunning dress! Felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was definitely a form fitting and hip hugging dress. I normally don't wear dresses like this so I was nervous but it was very flattering in all the right places. I got so many compliments. I would definitely order again!
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 14, 2013

this dress is hot!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the xs had my boobs up to my neck but the small fit perfectly. accentuated all the right places!!!
Susana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Beautiful dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress to wear for my 30th birthday, but ended up wearing the back up dress. Loved the dress, but it didn't look right on me. Oh wells.
shayna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

I loved this dress-so much that I have rented it twice!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5'5" and weigh 113lbs with and athletic build, size 2 on top, size 2-4 on bottom. The xs was perfect fit like a glove. The first time I rented a dress with RTR I didn't receive the dress in time as the ups driver did not feel safe leaving the package at our condo unattended (we get packages all the time). I called RTR and they helped me get my dress rerouted to the hotel I was staying at in Vegas free of charge in time for my event. After this experience with great customer service I knew I wouldn't look anywhere else and would be coming back again.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2013

Bust! Someone ruined this dress and I was unable to wear it for my birthday!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I was highly disappointed that I wasn't able to wear this dress and looked forward to renting it for another time but it was removed from the site. RTR was great though and made sure I had another dress to make up for this.
Dana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Nov 18, 2013

Amazing!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I would rent this dress again 3 times over.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 18, 2013

Okay but don't get if you have boobs

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
okay
Stevie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

This dress is great because it's sexy but not tacky.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: it simultaneously holds you in and shows off your curves. LOVED it. Cons: I can't find it on RTR anymore :(
Simone
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Didn't wear it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was a bit past its prime - not bad looking but a bit stretched out it seemed like. It was definitely too big for me and not as form fitting as I would've liked (especially for a Herve Leger dress).
Kira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Vegas

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits like a glove, holds you in all the right places. Love this dress.
Lesley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

AMAZING dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The foot was so flattering, I'm obsessed with this dress. The cut is perfect and the color was more interesting than plain black.
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2014

Looked and felt like a million bucks

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fits like a glove. Hugged all of my curves
kate
Top Contributor
Age: 31
Jul 16, 2014

I wore this to an AMFAR gala at the MoMa and felt prettier than the art and celebs in the building.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits like a glove. So sexy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×