Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Lilac Infused Cocktail Dress

$131 rental
$1050 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Strut your stuff in this figure flattering Herve Leger purple power dress. It's sexy and will certainly turn heads at the party. Stick to minimal accessories and let this dress be the show stopper.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; S=2,4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; S=2,4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bandage. V neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Asymmetric hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 40
Large 3
Photos 32
Annabelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

Feminine and sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm pretty curvy but I have a small waist. This dress fits like a glove and is stunning. I felt super confident!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

I felt great in this fun color and flattering dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I tried this dress on at a Rent the Runway employee party and felt like wearing it out that night! The tight fabric was very flattering and I felt as if the dress would stay put and looking great through out an entire party. It can be worn with an normal bra or without if you are comfortable which is very convenient. It was a bit longer then I was expecting and I would have sized down for back up.
Gabby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

great color!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this at our Rent the Runway Employee Party - it was the first Herve I've ever tried on and wow - i get what all the hype's about! I wore the XS but could have easily gone a size up, it was super tight and flattering but really good at hiding any "flaws". Definitely a thumbs up for a bachelorette, night out on the town, date (lucky guy!), etc
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

LOVED IT for summer wedding

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit is amazing - so comfortable especially when dancing all night! The fabric warms up to your body and allows you to feel great and look great. I received a ton of compliments on this. It was a tiny bit too short for my liking though, especially when walking (rides up a couple inches), but the neckline is a compromise as it provides a bit more coverage than a typical cocktail dress. Stunning color too!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 154 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

I wore it for a garden wedding in Malibu. Very chic.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A bit on the short side but shows off your curves.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Great for a last minute dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress on a Wednesday and got it that Friday. It was not my first choice dress but it was perfect for the event and RTR got it to me so fast. The dress looked slightly worn and stretched out in certain places which made it fit funny.
Amrita
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Perfect dress for my bday!!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was very comfortable. I danced all night long with ease. This was my first time renting with RTR and loved the ease of ordering and returning. I will be back for more gorgeous rentals:)
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

Made me feel like a MILLION bucks !

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tight around the mid section. Would definitely wear Spanx.
Melika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Addicted to RTR & Herve Leger! All Herve Leger dresses are amazing! RTR is the best!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Can't explain how much i love this Herve Leger dress. It's not too revealing, very sophisticated. Dress is a bit worn out (too much rentals i guess) but it still looked ahh-mazing! RTR's service is always excellent! They called me that my dress was not available 2 days before my rental but they were able to send me another replacement the next day! It worked out perfectly because i like this more than my original rental! Amazing customer service, keep it up RTR!
Aimee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

Customer Service was outstanding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress did not make it on time because of weather delay. I called RTR immediately and their customer service is nothing short of excellent. They gave me a credit for my next rental which I gladly used to try an HL dress again. The dress fit great and I tried it on with and without the Spanx and actually ended up going without since the spanx made it look too thick. The dress itself tucks everything in nice and tight. Love the dress for sure!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Beautiful color, looks great in pictures. Dress looked a little worn and stretched out.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Beautiful color, looks great in pictures.
katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Got so many compliments. Wore with neon orange accents (bag, lip, nails)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
So easy to wear!
Socialite | Realtor | Football Wife
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

This color was a showstopper!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Like most Herve' dresses, this one fit like a glove. I'm tall but my shape is very pear so it is not always easy to find dresses that fit. I always feel sexiest in a bandage!
Devin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

I have a very athletic build...however this dress made me feel feminine and sexy!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have a very athletic build...however this dress made me feel feminine and sexy! Great dress for my bachelorette party! Typically dresses do not fit me right. The hips end up on my waist and the chest part of the dress hit up to high on my neck. This dress pulled in all the right places.
BridgetBK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

Sexy - maybe a little too sexy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This is a beautiful dress, but the small was VERY tight on me - I usually wear a size 4 dress. I wore it to dinner, but couldn't last in it for long afterwards! It was also very short on me, so I felt like I had to keep tugging it down. Still, it's a beautiful, extremely sexy dress!
NYCgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Great Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful jewel tone color. It hugs and cut in all the right places.
Hens
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 1, 2013

perfect amount of slutty

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
sounds kind of harsh, but it was just revealing enough for a perfect 18th birthday party dress! The material is really thick, i picked up the box and it was really heavy, which is a good thing i guess! i was worried about it being too long since i have short legs, but when i put it on i kind of had a problem with keeping it long enough. i kept feeling like i would flash someone, just because the way the upside down V is cut out! but loved the dress and will definitely rent more Herve Leger!<3 oh and the most amazing part-- Im pushing a DD and i didnt have to wear a bra :O and my boobs looked so good!!! :D
hp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

loved it. Wore it for a March of Dimes event, perfect color. No need for Spanx! Great fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
zipper had a little wear on it, color was coming off, but you couldn't tell unless you were the one zipping, great fit! Loved it.
Diana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

felt great in this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this. Was long enough and didnt have to worry about it riding up or being too short which i usually have an issue with. got lots of compliments.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Pretty in Purple

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Wore this for a date night to a Broadway musical. Usually wear a size M, but wanted to more breathability since I knew I would be walking around town a bit after. Got many compliments as usual with this designer.
Yvette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 152 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

I turned 30 in a purple Herve! Enough said!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a S (wishful thinking) and a M. Both dresses were ok, but I didn't like the fact that you could see my inny belly-button in the small. :) I wore this at my 30th birthday party and it was perfect! Purple is my favorite color and while I thought I ordered a different dress, this one turned out to be perfect! The hem detailing on the bottom of the dress made it unique as well as the neck and shoulder lines. While I was mindful while talking pictures to make sure I "sucked" it in at the flash, I was not worried about my dress at all. I was comfortable and best of all I felt beautiful.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Good overall coverage and fit

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Liked color and this dress had a nice overall fit and cut
irina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 30, 2013

Not very flattering for my hips and tummy area

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very tight fitting dress, and shows off any lump or bump you may have. So it wasnt for me. It made my hips look extra wide, and made my tummy look a lot bigger than it really is. I have a long torso, and usually I dont have that problem, but for some reason this dress, hugged me in all of the wrong places. Which was a bummer, I was really excited to wear this. But RTR staff was amazing and sent me another dress that I can not wait to wear for NYE! Can not thank them enough, I dont think I've ever experienced amazing customer service like this.
Suzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

NYE dress...fabulous, felt like a million dollars!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit very tight around bust, fit perfect everywhere else, I did manage to put a bra on underneath for some lift as the dress squashed my bust a little. The dress has a heavy, quality feel and shows off all the curves in the right places, color is fabulous, would rent again!
Natasha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Vibrant color, very sexy in front

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Great looking dress, I can usually wear a small in Herve but this was really small! I got away with it but it was tight, the front hemline makes the dress shorter so being 6 foot tall it was almost to short to be comfortable. Beautiful color!
Juli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

Great dress...with a little fussing.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is stunning, it is a bright mid-toned purple, I wouldn't really call it a lilac. However, the fit is weird. Despite other reviewers comments, I would urge you to size down. Herve dresses are not flattering if too big, and mine definitely had some spots where I would've liked it to hug closer and "suck me in". It's possible that the size I ordered was stretched out, but I wish I had purchased a size xs. The cut of the neckline is also very odd, it's higher than I think is flattering and smooshes you down. I pulled the top down and hoisted my chest up for a more flattering fit. I also didn't find it to be too short at all. I am 5'6" and wore heels
Abbey
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Mar 10, 2014

Didn't end up wearing it, but how convenient!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Herve leger dresses are famously skin tight, and this dress definitely lived up to the rumors. I am very skinny, boobless girl, and this dress was entirely too tight for my comfort level. It would have looked awesome on a curvier girl. Also, just a side note, the purple color is definitely darker in person that it seems online.
sabrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Girls night out in New York City

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It's a great dress for a night out or party. Very flattering on the curves. Looks great in pictures. The color is a perfect alternative to LBD.
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Mar 16, 2014

Looking and feeling incredible in this gorgeous purple!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so flattering and the color is great. I wore it for a night out with girlfriends and I never wanted to take it off! It's form fitting and tight, but the material is stretchy so no need to really wear spanx with this dress.
Gerry
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Just ok

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress seemed worn out and was I'll fitting - especially the straps. Wanted to love, but had to send back.
Bella
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Perfect fit, hugged my curves in all the right ways!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
When I received the dress, it was a little stretched out, but when I put it on you couldn't tell at all. The color is very unique and stands out in a crowd and the fit hugged my curves and sucked in the belly. I'd never worn an Herve Leger before, and what I really liked was that the bottom of the dress never rode up. I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal and it was absolutely perfect. I highly recommend this dress!
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

Meh. Did not end up wearing it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the look of this dress, but I think maybe the bandage dress is just not good for my body type. It fit, but barely (usually a size 8 and I ordered the medium). Ended up going with another dress. The color was gorgeous though!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

Didn't end up wearing but it was lovly!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Great dress, worn a different one but I will rent again to wear. Color is gorgeous
Jackie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Bummed that I had to return it because the length of the dress was too long

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Hugs your body in all the right places, curves or no curves. Wouldn't recommend if you are shorter than 5'
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Great dress to wear for a formal rooftop Chicago summer wedding!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing fit!!
RTR Customer
Apr 26, 2014

Looking at the pictures I am so happy I chose this dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is absolutely beautiful ... I received dozens of compliments on this dress !!! I hated to send it back honestly . I can't wait to order again ... I might just find an occasion to wear this one again !!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Awesome fit and color! I loved this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time renting a Herve Leger dress so I did not know what to expect but I was so happy with it! I wore this dress to a wedding and I felt great in it all night! I wore a size small and it was fitted enough that it hugged my curves in all the right places but I was still able to move around and dance all night. The color is a great shade of purple. I got compliments on this dress all night long. I would definitely recommend renting this dress and already look forward to my next Herve rental for another wedding next month.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

Stunning!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party, and it was absolutely stunning! Definitely hugs every curve, but not so tight that I couldn't breathe. It also has a bit more of a conservative top than some other Herve dresses, which made me feel more comfortable given my larger chest size. The color was also beautiful, especially if you are looking to stand out in a crowd. Would rent again in a heartbeat!
Teresa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 7, 2014

Great dress for fundraising party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit great! Needed help zipping it up, but overall fit was comfortable w/ Spanx. Received compliments all night!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Jun 18, 2014

Shows wear and tear

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was overall a good, not too short length for a 5'2" person. The bust also was not revealing on me. However, the dress is extremely form-fitting so I did feel like it was a little to risque for the night. Also, the fabric on the edges looks a little stretched out or loose and the fabric around the zipper is a little rough -- so it looks slightly worn.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×