Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Duplicity Contrast Dress

$169 rental
$1350 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be daring by renting this fabulous Herve Leger Duplicity Contrast Dress. Perfect for a girls night out or birthday dinner.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy and tall women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy and magenta bondage jersey. Multi strap neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

150 reviews

Fit
Small 13
True to Size 133
Large 4
Photos 79
Munnyhkkie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Great Dress!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love how this dress play with the black and purple. As always Herve Leger is the way to go when you want to look FABULOUS!!!!
Liz
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Sep 3, 2012

I got tons of compliments on it and felt amazing all night long!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a birthday dinner/cocktail party my friend was hosting at a banquet hall. The dress had a very comfortable fit- definitely fitted in the bandage-style, but not tight or restricting. It was very comfortable and easy to dance in.
katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

awesome ! looked and felt awesome =)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit snug but not too snug it molded to your body
Solo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

KNOCKOUT OF THE NIGHT!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I WORE THIS DRESS (SMALL) TO MY PRE-BIRTHDAY KICKOFF PARTY AND I FELT AMAZING. THE DRESS WAS TRUE TO SIZE AND HUGGED MY BODY IN ALL THE RIGHT PLACES. I'M NOT THE CURVIEST GIRL BUT THIS DRESS HELPED OUT ALOT!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Best Dress I have EVER worn!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
IT WAS AMAZING! I wore this for a fraternity formal, and got so many compliments! I get nervous about snug dresses like this in case they hug the wrong places, but you really can't go wrong with Herve Leger. I normally wear a size 6, but I balance between a small and a medium, so I ordered both. I ended up wearing the small, even though both would have worked. Definitely recommend!!!
Alexandria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Don't Be Afraid of this Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The straps on this dress make it look a little intimidating; however, they are actually very flattering. The dress is a different type of material than most Herve dresses. It isn't ask slick and shinny as most, more of a matte fabric, but I still loved it. I wore it for new years last year and received a ton of compliments.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

This dress made me look incredible...

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was tight but that was expected with the XS. It gave me the amount of shaping that I wanted and needed, because I have pretty wide hips. I'm also a 32E and this dress held me in all night - probably the best part about selecting this dress for a party. It was extremely comfortable and my date could not stop staring at me all night. Hands down, best rental!
bianca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 25, 2012

i looked fab

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
it fit a little tight but sucked everything in
Veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

truly a WOW dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I originally rented a different dress for NYE but it suddenly became unavailable and RTR let me pick any available dress on the site! Since it was NYE, it was slim pickin's BUT! i did manage to score this beauty. I'm super short and like my dresses short and this one totally fit the bill. Mid thigh-ish range. I was worried the straps might be big but they're not! Every part of this dress conforms to you. It's like Herve fits to every woman...not just the tall and skinny ones! yay! Would definitely rent again and highly recommend! I wore it with black tights and black booties (really cold) but if I had my purple suede pumps that are in my apt, I would have totally worn them! Boyfriend couldn't stop staring...
Leah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Great Dress!! Highly recommended ;)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Received lots of compliments on this dress!!
vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Loved this dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was true to size. Loved the colors. Got many compliments on this dress.
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

The dress of the night!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really nervous after reading all of the other reviews because "tight" and "super fitting" were common descriptors. But, this Hervé has such a thick, expensive fabric that it stretches and forms to fit your body in the best way possible. I got so many compliments that night and I felt confident throughout the formal and didn't have to worry about any wardrobe malfunctions. The small fit perfectly and I highly recommend this to any body type!
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 25, 2013

After the tenth compliment of the night, you start to feel pretty special

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Well, after reading all the other reviews, and looking at the dress, you've probably figured out that the dress is tight-fitting. You shouldn't wear it if you're not comfortable with the bodycon style. That being said, it doesn't actually fit small; I'm usually a 4/6 S/M and the small was fine (the medium was noticeably too big--and the material is really thick so wearing too big a size will actually make you look bigger). I'd recommend getting this dress a day before your event so you can put it on and let it stretch to your body a bit before wearing it for real.
Regan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 11, 2013

RTR had great service and the dress arrived right on time.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit my body like a glove and looked great. The entire night i got so many complements.
sasi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 7, 2013

Perfect Dress for the Perfect Birthday

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was not the initial dress that I wanted, but it really just worked out in the end because it looked amazing! Because the wrong dresses were sent to me, RTR was able to accommodate me by taking the time to find the right one dress just in time for my birthday. They apologized and gave me a free rental for next time. As for the dress everyone said that I looked great, and the size fit perfectly for my shape, everything was sucked in, and fit like a glove. It was almost hard to zip up, but it's just because it fit perfectly. For bust, definitely go with a nubra, or you will look flat, this is specific for those with smaller busts. If I got a size Small, I probably could wear a regular bra, but it would have been a bit looser, so I was glad I got the XS. Also the dress is too short to wear any form fitting shorts or spanx.
Corie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Jun 9, 2013

Loved it!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the style and color. It fit perfectly.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

Cute and different!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was one of the dresses my daughter and I picked out for her birthday/bachelorette trip to Las Vegas. Her friend Amanda didn't end up wearing it (the Medium was not returned on timet, and she felt like the Small was not flattering), so Adriene (5'6", athletic build, size 4, sometimes 2) wore it out to lunch (never let a dress go to waste!). She really liked it and wished she had enough nights in the trip to go out dancing.
claudia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Great Vegas dress - super sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. It was pretty tight fitting, but it held you in in the right places. I was able to wear a bra - which is always a plus for me since i have large breasts. Pretty colors too. The dress is purple and dark bluish gray (not black). Would recommend!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Great dress, tight fit hides flaws; however, has a little wear and tear.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was my backup dress that I did not end up wearing. I was surprised at how heavy this was, the material is very thick. When I was putting it on, I noticed a few teeny tiny holes at the seams in front from all the love this dress has gotten! Not at all noticable when wearing though. The heavy material, tight fit, and dark color (which is dark purple - not black) were all very flattering and hid my little tummy very well :) I might have rented again for another event if I could get one that wasn't so used looking.
ASHLEY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 12, 2013

Duplicity Not Found

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this as my back up dress for the Beyonce' concert. She was kind enough to include RTR credits in her VIP packages, which was an awesome addition to help make the night even more unforgettable. I went with my 1st choice as it was a better overall fit for my body & coloring. Even though this dress looks like it's designed to add curves, it added none & made my chest, hips and butt look flat. The Medium was a somewhat loose fit, the other Herve Leger dresses I've tried are usually snug and don't need Spanx or Bras. I tired this one on with both. A small probably would have worked better. Still a nice dress and would probably work better one someone not as pale as me :-)
Bibiana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2013

Looked amazing on my 22nd birthday!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress on the eve of my 22nd birthday in Las Vegas (and rang in my birthday with it too)! It was a great dress, probably my second favorite dress on RTR. I was a little intimidated by the straps in front since I'm a short girl, but they worked out perfectly and allowed me to forego a fancy necklace. I paired the dress with black pumps and these beautiful teardrop earrings from J.Crew that were dark blue, so they went with the dress nicely (as the darker area is more of a purple-blue than a deep purple). The fabric, like many other girls have mentioned, is also thicker than most Herve's and is therefore much more forgiving and sucks you in even more - but not to the point that it's constricting! The dress was a little longer on me because of my height, but still ended up being sexy enough for my birthday - my boyfriend thought I looked amazing! Overall, I loved the dress and am happy I took the plunge with the intricate neckline!
Desiree
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

I wore this dress for my friends birthday and it was a hit! Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit great and was very sexy!
Jenifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

RTR sent me a complimentary dress because the one I ordered came back to their warehouse damaged!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits so great. It tucks and smooths over all the right places and accentuates your curves just where you want.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

You better work!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this as my second dress for a Girls Night Out and ended up wearing my first option. This dress is gorgeous but it's on the shorter side (even for an Herve) so one of my friends wore it instead. She's about 5'7" and has an athletic build and wears a size 2 on top, 4 on bottom. The small was great!
Lumi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

People recognized that it is a designer dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has the perfect colors! I was very sad to return it! It is very flattering for the curves like any other Herve Leger. I wore a small and it was a little big, but I think an xs would be tight on the bust area. Overall it was a very comfortable dress and got many compliments. I would definitely recommend it!
liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Amazing dress! Stunning color and fit! I love you Herve.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Herve Leger dresses are the best. This dress is beautiful. I wore it to a holiday party in Vegas. I would highly recommend this dress ----it hugs your curves in all the right places, nice thick material, very classy and sexy looking.
N
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 25, 2014

Unique color combo, sexy dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a lot of fun wearing this dress. My only complaint was that it didn't do much for my bust. It holds everything in, but for smaller-busted women it might make you appear flat. Other than that a great dress that was fun for dancing the night away.
Grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Wore this dress to a Mardi Gras sorority semiformal and it was a huge hit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the XS and S and decided to go with the XS. The major difference in fit between the two sizes was with the bust area. i would say if you're anything above a 34B the XS would cause some awkward sports-bra uni-boob effect. It was a tiny bit shorter and sort of held you in more (felt kind of like spanks) but in a comfortable way. Definitely a revealing/ body conscious dress but also quite flattering. I'm usually between a 2/4 in dress, wear a 26/27 jean and a XS/S shirt
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

I was so sad to return this dress! ;(

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was actually supposed to be my backup dress but I fell in love with it as soon as I tried it on...I received so many compliments on it, and the overall fit was amazing :)
Polly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

My husband said this was his favorite!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was amazing! I rented it for a Broadway performance of Rock of Ages and it was perfect for the party atmosphere. I noticed lots of glances from both men and women and it was so comfortable to wear. I was a little nervous about the straps but they were fine and stayed right in place. I wore a strapless bra because otherwise I felt like this dress kind of flattened down my chest. Since the dress was so form fitting, I had no trouble with that - it held the bra right in place along with everything else. My husband said this was his favorite Rent the Runway dress I've ever rented!
oletha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Nice fit, need a strapless bra, rides up a bit because I have a big derriere but nothing major. Holds it all together well w/o spanx as usual for an Herve. Good pick.
Kailyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Senior year sorority formal

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is tight, bandage style that really holds you in at all the right places. Super sexy dress that my boyfriend loved.
Nay
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

I had such a great time and I got lots of compliments on the dress.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress definitely shows all of your curves. It's very flattering if you have a large chest. The colors were beautiful and you will definitely stand out in the crowd. My husband absolutely loved it.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 1, 2014

Sleek and sexy dress, perfect for a bachelorette party!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have always wanted to try a Hervé Leger dress and decided my friend's bachelorette party in Atlantic City was the perfect time to try one out...I have no regrets! I was a little nervous the dress would bunch in the wrong places despite the reviews saying it sucks you in...well they were right! The medium was a little baggy so I tried my luck with the small and was so happy with the results! The dress is definitely tight but made me feel so great and it was very flattering. I got many compliments on it. The color is more like a dark purpley blue in person. You can obviously tell it is well made and I would recommend this dress a thousand times over! One of my favorites!
Gizem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102 lbs
May 10, 2014

love at first sight!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a stunner. I loved how it fits. The colors were gorgeous (purple & navy), the straps and the patterns are very flattering (adds a cool factor), and the length works on petite women like me. I was also able to wear a regular bra so that was great. I loved everything about it. I wore it to my birthday party and felt like a million bucks:)
Annabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2014

Wonderful dress another show stopper

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Dress was perfect for a romantic dinner, the husband really loved it. Unlike the other HL dress I ordered it was a bit of a tight fit into a small, but ended up looking perfect once zipped
Heather
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 29, 2014

I rented this dress while in Vegas, and this is the perfect party dress !

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is tight but in a good way, it's almost like its a part of you. I would rent this dress again for sure !
EMILY
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Continuous stream of compliments

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wish I never had to return this dress! I got compliments all night long. I wore it for a night out in Vegas and it was perfect. I shipped the dress to the RTR store in the Cosmopolitan, it was right on time and they had it packaged up nicely. When I dropped it off at the end the just took it and said thank you, no hassle at all. I'm normally a size 2 and the size chart said the xs would fit, so I ordered that but was not able to get a second size small because it was already sold out for the weekend. It was definitely a tight fit as the fabric didn't have much give but was very thick and forgiving. I would have loved to try on the small but the xs still worked. The dress worked with a regular strapless bra and I wore short spanx as well. Overall best dress I have ever worn!
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Flatters your body, received so many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit, received so many compliments! Asked a lady who worked at Herve about size, and she said that If you can zip up an Herve dress on your own it's probably too big.
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Being in the right dress made me feel so good too :)

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for the sorority formal. It fit perfectly for me--it had just the right amount of tightness overall and the length was nice too. It was the hottest dress I've ever worn and everyone complimented on it all night long. My date was really impressed with the dress too ;)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×