Rent the Runway

Hervé Léger

Contrast Entrapment Dress

$80 rental
$1450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this black and plum colored contrast Herve Leger. A sophisticated style with a touch of edginess. Add a pop of sparkle with the Kara Ross' Stardust Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with burgundy color-block contrast. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

109 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 98
Large 2
Photos 57
Yes
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

The dress arrived the morning of the day I was supposed to receive it. I was perfect, they even sent me Hollywood tape, but i didn't need it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received compliments all night long! my husband loved it and was so proud that his woman was one of the hot chics of the night! I told my sister in law the dress was rented and she immediately joined RTR.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Looking sharp at my best friend's wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress seemed to run a bit smaller than the other herve I rented. The small was more flattering to my front but gave me back "cleavage" so the medium it was. Not too low cut and not too short. Perfect when you want to look hot but not slutty.
HL
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Love Herve Leger. Dress is a knockout. Sexy, classy, flattering.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits like a spanx glove, but comfortable and sexy. Love this dress!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

This dress fits like a glove and is extremely comfortable. In my book that makes it perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Make sure you get a size down from what you think you usually wear. Will this dress, the smaller size is more flattering because it holds everything in the right places. This is the third Herve Leger I have rented and after the first time I knew that it would be a guaranteed success. I am 38 and have two kids and work out regularly and this dress made me feel like the best of myself. The lines around the ribcage and under the breasts add an extra magical slimming effect! Oh, did i tell you that it is sexy?
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Felt great in this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was a great dress and overall nice fit. I wish I went with the XS, but I got 2 dresses and could only get 2 sizes in one. The dress came on time and in great condition. I would say that my biggest complaint is that I didn't get any other the added "goodies" that everyone talks about. These didn't come with either of my dresses this time or my past order either. I wonder if RTR has stopped doing this. I really hope not, that added feature really contributed to the experience...
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Nov 8, 2012

I had ordered another dress, but when it became unavailable, I got a chance to rent this amazing one

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great to wear with a regular bra, but I did have to keep making sure the back wasn't sticking out too much. This is absolutely gorgeous dress, and I got tons of compliments on it. Thanks RTR!!
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D+
Nov 20, 2012

I felt so hot I forgot that I was turning 49!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my birthday as a test run with RTR. My original dress pick didn't arrive and this was my backup dress. It turned out to be *the one* anyway, thank goodness. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dress is snug and the fabric does relax a bit after about 30 minutes of wearing. Very comfortable to wear. I had no trouble zipping into the Small by myself. On me, the dress was a little baggy at the waist in the back and once the fabric relaxed it was loose enough to ride up around the hips. I couldn't possibly go smaller, though, due to my cup size (I'm an F). My experience with RTR was overall a good one, even though the original dress pick arrived on Monday and not Friday as planned. I received a credit for the dress that didn't arrive and have just rented 2 different Herve's for a soiree next week! I'm hooked on RTR now AND Herve Leger. I just ordered one of my very own from Nordstrom tonight.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 20, 2012

My boyfriend's reaction when he saw me walk out in it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous about this dress because it's entirely skin tight and I'm not exactly model skinny. I was worried that my stomach would stick out and the dress would look too tight. But these herve leger dresses are magical! It sucked me in in all the right places and gave me great curves. I got compliments all night long and the most facebook "likes" I've ever gotten on one picture! I intend to rent another herve leger for my next holiday party!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

What a great experience with this dress! Feedback throughout the night was, "Wow, just wow."

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
How exciting to get the opportunity to wear an Herve Leger dress. The fit was definitely snug. I expected it to hide or "suck in" certain problem areas but was unsure if it was actually that forgiving. But an overall amazing experience. The girlfriends who knew it was Rent the Runway (I spilled the beans to all!) said I needed to OWN that dress. :) Worn with Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings.
Julianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Perfect elegance for a British Wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Classy yet sexy!
Gillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

This dress looked and felt AMAZING!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was super flattering, a great color combo, and classy enough for my work holiday party. The only critique I have is that it was a little loose around the mid-section (nice problem to have, I know, but still....maybe I just need more of a booty!). It otherwise fit really well all over, and it was nice to be able to wear a normal bra for a formal event. It was comfortable, fun, and definitely made me feel amazing all around. Will definitely be renting Herve again!
DK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Sexy yet tasteful

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was nervous about the dress fitting too tight, but it had plenty of stretch. I received many compliments throughout the night. I would definitely rent Herve again.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

An Herve Leger makes any night unforgettable and any woman a sex kitten!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Herve Leger -- fantastic. Max Azria knows how to make a sexy dress! I own a few Herves, but (devastatingly) they are all size XXS. When my boyfriend and I had a date at a very fancy restaurant a couple of days before NYE, I decided to go with my favorite standby designer. The dress is amazing, and the specific dress I received was in very good condition. Both the XS and the S fit really well, and going a size up in Herve doesn't sacrifice the fit, so if you're really worried, order the size you think you'll wear plus the next size up. Even a M would've looked great. The V-neck wasn't quite as low as I thought it would've been. Overall: LOVE!
Cheryl
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

The perfect dress for the my 40th birthday!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have never rented a dress before - but I can not say enough great things. LOVED this dress. It fit perfect and I felt amazing in it. Herve Leger is now on my list as the perfect designer. I was a bit worried about renting since I am so tall - but the dress could not have fit any better. Simple, elegant and sexy without being overstated. I was so sad to return!
Haizel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Herve Leger does it again!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the second Herve Leger dress that I rent and this designer does not disappoint. I rented this dress for a wedding reception. I couldn't bring my three kids so I decided to make the most out of a night with just me and my hubby. I was nervous that the medium wouldn't fit and a large is not available but I went for it anyway. I'm so glad that I did. Paired with a pair of Spanx stockings, the baby pudge that I carry was barely noticeable. It even gave me the cleavage that I only see with special bras. My friends gave me great compliments and I didn't feel self-conscious around the younger girls. I felt like I held my own. Thanks RTR!
mary
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2013

!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a little big in the lower back, but overall it was great.
cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Chic, flattering and sexy, yet understated

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit was very snug; I usually wear a small, but I could barely breathe in the small even though it fit. I didn't order the Medium originally because it was unavailable; however, RTR saved the day when I called to say it was too small--they rush delivered the Medium the next day at no extra charge. The Medium was much more comfortable but gapped a little in the waist. The material is thick and holds everything in. Received many compliments and look forward to renting again
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Great contrast dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nice dress. This one was a S size. A little on the long side for me, unable to wear since the event was cancelled.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

Perfect Bump-Friendly Fit!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress!! Was actually a substitute for my 2nd choice, but I think I've found a new favorite designer! The dress fits like a glove. The bandage design was perfect for highlighting my baby bump and slimming the rest. It is a body-hugging design, but not at all too tight. The heavier fabric obviously makes it wear well, as the dress did not look at all like a pre-worn rental. Bonus-could wear a normal bra with no problem at all.
Adriana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 13, 2013

This dress not only made me feel extremely sexy but it was very comfortable and it fit like a glove.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress was perfect and it hugged me in all the right places. It enhaced my breasts, accentuated my waist and didnt flatten out my behind, which is exaclty what I look for in a dress. Needless to say, my date could not take his eyes off me and the complements kept pouring in.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
May 22, 2013

Very flattering!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The only reason I didn't end up wearing this is because it smelled too much like smoke (sorry RTR!). If the dry-cleaning had been able to get the smell out it would have been perfect for the occasion. I have narrow shoulders and wide hips which can make sizing difficult, but the stretchy HL bandage dresses solve the problem wonderfully!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

Pretty amazing!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress truly sucks you in and pushes you out in all the right places! I'd prefer it to be slightly shorter but then since it is so busty, it helps even it out. Can be worn with a bra but I preferred it without.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Wish I owned this one!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress so much that I scheduled it for rental twice more right off the bat. I would buy this dress if I could! It's perfect for fall and the holiday season and easily can be dressed up or down with accessories.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 24, 2013

Great Dress for Going Out and Party In!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for clubbing in Vegas. I was very surprised how tight the medium was. I would def size up to a large for my next herve leger purchase. Other than the tightness the dress was fantastic. Throughout the night the dress lossen up a bit because of all my dancing. You need to be confident to wear this dress. It showed every curve! It looks exactly how it is suppose to look in the picture. The back does dip down slightly lower than my bra but I wore a black bra and it blended in perfectly. We went on a club crawl this night and I got several compliments from strangers. This should be every girl's little black dress with a purple twist. Thank you RTR!
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Wow!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Had this dress on my wish list and found it to be the perfect dress for a wedding. Loved the fit, loved the color. My husband has officially dubbed this the wetsuit dress. Getting it zipped is a challenge, but it really does hug you in all the right places and it's extremely comfortable. Herve is now at the top of my list for every occasion!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 25, 2013

Great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wear a 32DD so it was awesome that you could wear a normal bra with this. It is rather low cut but the hem line is fairly long (I'm almost 5'8''). Hervé Léger dresses always fit like a glove and squeeze you in all the right places. I would highly recommend this dress.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Perfect Vegas dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Excellent fit, very snug, no need for Spanx. Enough sexy without being too revealing and super comfortable. Would not be great for big busted ladies as it is too snug to wear a bra.
Tara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

fun, flattering and flirtatious!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had originally rented another Herve Leger dress but due to a previous renters damage issue I had to "settle" for this one. I was a bit disappointed but the RTR contact, Toni, was very helpful. The dress was awesome, I added a little cami underneath for a bit more coverage (was a family wedding!). The cut was excellent, pulled me in at all the right places and the shoulder area didn't make me feel like a linebacker. Would highly recommend this dress!
Skylar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 22, 2014

Herve Leger makes dresses that look good for any occasion!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dresses are form fitting. You barely need to wear anything underneath, because the bodycon sucks you all it. Sometimes the Herve Leger dresses can be a bit stretched out, but this one was perfect and true to size!
Mandii
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

More compliments than I could handle.. Almost ;)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was told the small might be too small but it fit perfectly! My date (and his friends) couldn't keep their eyes off me! This dress pulls everything in and the way the material is sewn is slimming. Even if you don't have a large chest, just wait. Va-va-voom cleavage is nearly unavoidable hah. I was a little doubtful when I ordered this dress (the ones I truly wanted were unavailable on short notice) but I'm so happy I did!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

A WOW Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! The material gets more comfortable once it warms up but also somehow holds you in. I got lots of compliments and felt amazing. Was so depressed to send it back!
Elisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2014

Great for a semi-formal event.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to a law school ball. The cut on top is sexy, but the rest of the dress is toned down enough to be appropriate. The fit was snug (as an Herve should be), but the hemline is longer than I expected. When choosing between sizes, definitely choose the size you normally would and one smaller! I would caution those ladies that are shorter may not be pleased with the long hemline of this dress. I am very tall so I was fine with the length, but I could imagine a shorter person being disappointed.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Really liked the look of this dress and got a ton of compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If you are busty, be careful with this dress as it’s definitely very low cut. I’m not busty at all but this gave me some nice curves based on the fit. It fits like a glove - part of why I love Herve dresses. It’s like spanx that you wear on the outside that also look amazing. Overall, highly recommend the dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Surprisingly Comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
FIRST the RTR staff was absolutely amazing. One of the size for the dress I had originally ordered was damaged by the previous renter. They allowed me to pick another dress free of charge and had it to me within hours! This dress held everything in! Although it was tight, it was super comfortable. I didn't feel like I had to "suck it in" all night! The length was definitely appropriate for a wedding (I'm 5'10 so this can be difficult to find). However, I do feel like it was a little too much boob for a wedding. This was a GREAT dress!
Megan
Age: 27
Sep 28, 2014

Very sexy, classy dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm usually in between a medium and a small. The medium had way too much extra material in the back like it had been stretched out. The length on the small was still great so ended up wearing the smaller size.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

Sexy, but not too Sexy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
From the second I put this dress on, I knew I didn't want to even try the back up dress on. Very comfortable, hugged all the right places.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

I felt so glamorous all evening!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. I am 5'7" and weigh 126lbs, and wore a size small. I wore the dress to a good friend's wedding and I received so many compliments! The dress could not have fit more perfectly, it felt like it was made for my body! It was body hugging in all the right places, but I was still able to move and dance all night long. I truly felt so glamorous in this dress, it could not have been more perfect for the evening!
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 27, 2014

Tons of compliments on this dress. Love that it's the perfect LBD with a little twist.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit great, but was quite stretched out. Herve dresses are typically almost impossible to put on (like the additional dress that I rented), but clearly this one may have seen a few too many renters. Gorgeous conservative dress with just a tiny bit of cleavage and tightness for a bit of covert sexiness. I'm 5'8" and the length went well below my knee, as well. Shorter renters may way to pin it up a bit for the night, or wear super high heels.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 21, 2015

Compliments galore. Very flattering dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everywhere I wore this dress, I got a million compliments. It was very flattering. I am self-conscious of my stomach area and was worried that the tight dress would accentuate it, but with spanx, it all looked relatively flat (though not totally). The dress definitely sucks you in. I would usually wear a size 4 but ordered the size small based on the reviews and it fit great. The top of the dress is super flattering and gave me great cleavage. The length of the dress made it feel less revealing. I would highly recommend this dress if you want to feel confident. I might rent it again sometime!
Sonya
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
May 27, 2015

It was my first rental and the drop off was easy

Size worn: S
Rented for: Other
This dress hugs you like a dream. I'm busty for my waist so I wore a scarf to cover up the deep cleavage.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×