Contrast Entrapment Dress

$80 rental
$1450 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this black and plum colored contrast Herve Leger. A sophisticated style with a touch of edginess.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with burgundy color-block contrast. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size106
Small9
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
January 16, 2013
Perfect fit, great dress.
I thought it was pefect for the wedding I attended, great fit, wasn't too tight. Long enough and didn't show off too much cleavage. The dress actually held me in around the chest and waiste - I could dance and not have to worry about any wardrobe malfunctions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
An Herve Leger makes any night unforgettable and any woman a sex kitten!
Herve Leger -- fantastic. Max Azria knows how to make a sexy dress! I own a few Herves, but (devastatingly) they are all size XXS. When my boyfriend and I had a date at a very fancy restaurant a couple of days before NYE, I decided to go with my favorite standby designer. The dress is amazing, and the specific dress I received was in very good condition. Both the XS and the S fit really well, and going a size up in Herve doesn't sacrifice the fit, so if you're really worried, order the size you think you'll wear plus the next size up. Even a M would've looked great. The V-neck wasn't quite as low as I thought it would've been. Overall: LOVE!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
i loved this dress and felt great in it!
fit well, didn't need bra which was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2012
Cute but it rode up!
So, I think I got the right fit, but it ended up riding up on me throughout the night. Very flattering and super form-fitting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2012
Sexy yet tasteful
I was nervous about the dress fitting too tight, but it had plenty of stretch. I received many compliments throughout the night. I would definitely rent Herve again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2012
This dress looked and felt AMAZING!
The dress was super flattering, a great color combo, and classy enough for my work holiday party. The only critique I have is that it was a little loose around the mid-section (nice problem to have, I know, but still....maybe I just need more of a booty!). It otherwise fit really well all over, and it was nice to be able to wear a normal bra for a formal event. It was comfortable, fun, and definitely made me feel amazing all around. Will definitely be renting Herve again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Beautiful dress, creates beautiful curves.
I did not end up wearing this dress because I only recieved the size smalll and RTR ran out of mediums. I think the medium would have been perfect. I would rent this one again in the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2012
Perfect elegance for a British Wedding!
Classy yet sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 4, 2012
What a great experience with this dress! Feedback throughout the night was, "Wow, just wow."
How exciting to get the opportunity to wear an Herve Leger dress. The fit was definitely snug. I expected it to hide or "suck in" certain problem areas but was unsure if it was actually that forgiving. But an overall amazing experience. The girlfriends who knew it was Rent the Runway (I spilled the beans to all!) said I needed to OWN that dress. :) Worn with Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2012
Fantastic!!! Fits very well lots of compliments
Slimming effect around tummy area!!!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Worn to my birthday celebration, loved the attention
Very well made dress, I was impressed by the quality of the material. Fits every curve, and slightly low cut in the front I had to wear a cami to feel comfortable.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 20, 2012
My boyfriend's reaction when he saw me walk out in it!
I was nervous about this dress because it's entirely skin tight and I'm not exactly model skinny. I was worried that my stomach would stick out and the dress would look too tight. But these herve leger dresses are magical! It sucked me in in all the right places and gave me great curves. I got compliments all night long and the most facebook "likes" I've ever gotten on one picture! I intend to rent another herve leger for my next holiday party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D+
November 20, 2012
I felt so hot I forgot that I was turning 49!
I rented this for my birthday as a test run with RTR. My original dress pick didn't arrive and this was my backup dress. It turned out to be *the one* anyway, thank goodness. As other reviewers have mentioned, the dress is snug and the fabric does relax a bit after about 30 minutes of wearing. Very comfortable to wear. I had no trouble zipping into the Small by myself. On me, the dress was a little baggy at the waist in the back and once the fabric relaxed it was loose enough to ride up around the hips. I couldn't possibly go smaller, though, due to my cup size (I'm an F). My experience with RTR was overall a good one, even though the original dress pick arrived on Monday and not Friday as planned. I received a credit for the dress that didn't arrive and have just rented 2 different Herve's for a soiree next week! I'm hooked on RTR now AND Herve Leger. I just ordered one of my very own from Nordstrom tonight.
erinDecember 8, 2013
I can't believe you are 50! You don't look a day over 35! The dress looks amazing on you! One of the top reviewers who have worn it! I have decided to rent it myself. I hope I have as good luck as you!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 19, 2012
Thank you thank you for saving my Vegas Weekend!
I had rented two other dresses for a weekend in Vegas -- and neither of them fit. But on Friday -- only a few hours before I flew out -- RTR staff helped get me this dress which was a KNOCKOUT. It is like wearing fashionable spanx. Totally comfortable and somehow manages to suck in and push up everything right. I highly highly recommend this dress if you are like me -- tall with curves. I have a size 27-28 waist, but I wear a 34 DD bra. Dresses are sometimes hard to find. As others have said, I took it out of the box and said, "uh-oh." But it slipped right on and was amazing. I got tons and tons of compliments! Herve Leger will definitely be a go-to in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
November 8, 2012
I had ordered another dress, but when it became unavailable, I got a chance to rent this amazing one
Great to wear with a regular bra, but I did have to keep making sure the back wasn't sticking out too much. This is absolutely gorgeous dress, and I got tons of compliments on it. Thanks RTR!!
JennyJune 29, 2014
Hi there! I am 5'2'' as well and was wondering how you felt about the length? I'm nervous about it being too long. Thank you!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
Felt great in this dress!
This was a great dress and overall nice fit. I wish I went with the XS, but I got 2 dresses and could only get 2 sizes in one. The dress came on time and in great condition. I would say that my biggest complaint is that I didn't get any other the added "goodies" that everyone talks about. These didn't come with either of my dresses this time or my past order either. I wonder if RTR has stopped doing this. I really hope not, that added feature really contributed to the experience...
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 26, 2012
Wow - moment dress. Wore it for my rehearsal dinner and loved, loved loved it!
I didn't need a bra or spanx with this dress. Fits true to size not as "Tight" as some HL dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
October 23, 2012
This dress fits like a glove and is extremely comfortable. In my book that makes it perfect!
Make sure you get a size down from what you think you usually wear. Will this dress, the smaller size is more flattering because it holds everything in the right places. This is the third Herve Leger I have rented and after the first time I knew that it would be a guaranteed success. I am 38 and have two kids and work out regularly and this dress made me feel like the best of myself. The lines around the ribcage and under the breasts add an extra magical slimming effect! Oh, did i tell you that it is sexy?
View photos (3)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
Love it... Sucked it all in!
I just felt really good in it... Renting another one!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Love Herve Leger. Dress is a knockout. Sexy, classy, flattering.
Fits like a spanx glove, but comfortable and sexy. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
Love this dress!
Wore this dress to a work holiday cocktail party. Everyone came up to me and said it was amazing. I loved that you could wear a regular bra. Would rent this again in a heartbeat if it weren't so memorable.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
Dress was stunning and body hugging in a good way. I wore it for my 35th birthday and felt amazing!
The dress fit perfect and held everything in place the entire night. It did not need to be readjusted nor did it ride up. Loved it and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 16, 2012
Absolutely beautiful dress!!!
This dress is gorgeous! It is a little tight in the bust, but I liked that - no bra needed! I normally wear a 4 or a 6, and the small fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 30, 2012
Looking sharp at my best friend's wedding!
This dress seemed to run a bit smaller than the other herve I rented. The small was more flattering to my front but gave me back "cleavage" so the medium it was. Not too low cut and not too short. Perfect when you want to look hot but not slutty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
August 12, 2012
Fits like a glove
Herve Leger is known for sucking things in, in all the right places. It would be tight if you have a larger chest, but worked for me perfectly and the waist and length were very comfortable. I was not tugging on it at all. It looks tight but is so comfy and I got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2012
Sultry but formal
Great dress, fit fairly true to size. I wear a 4/6. Slightly tighter across the chest than the waist/hips on me. Would work well for a more hourglass/slightly curvy shaped woman. Beautiful colors, great fit. Sexy but not overly so. Works well for a wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 8, 2012
Walking into the room and knowing that I looked amazing
This dress is beautiful and perfect for a wedding. I rented both the XS and S. Both fit and looked almost identical on. But the S was a little looser and more comfortable, so that's what I wore. The bust and straps were a little loose, but it wasn't noticeable. This was my first rental. Can't wait to rent more!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
July 24, 2012
I received so many compliements, and my boyfriend loved this dress on me!
This dress fits like a second skin. It's hugs to every curve and holds you in where you need a little help! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2012
The fit was AMAZING!!
I LOVE this dress. I wore it to my 30th birthday dinner (which included friends and family). All eyes were on me the entire evening. It had the perfect amount of sophistication and super sexy all wrapped together. Love Love Love It! I hated to send it back:(
dianaFebruary 20, 2013
You look amazing in that dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 10, 2012
Fits great! Very flattering!!
Fits fairly true to size. It was a bit longer than I was expecting, but still fit very nicely. Was sexy and professional at the same time. Only downside is it felt like my breasts were squished down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2012
Not my size
This dress is so pretty! I got the small since they did not have an XS and I am sure it is true to size but it was big on me since I wear the latter. not too low cut. Very classy. You can wear a regular bra with it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2012
LOVED IT
sexy and fun. I got so many compliments all night. It sucks you in in all the right places and flattering at the same time. I was so happy I rented this dress and will be sure to rent the runway again soon!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
February 15, 2012
Fantastic Dress
I loved loved this dress! It fit perfectly and was very flattering/comfortable! I was sad to send it back....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2012
O....M.....G!
This dress is simply amazing! The way it made my body look for a night out in Vegas was simply miraculous! My husband was impressed, and said even he could tell it was a special design. I loved the contrast color for waist definition on my fairly straight bod. My friend said it was the first time she had even seen me look so curvy! Would rent again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
January 26, 2012
perfect party dress
This dress fit absolutely perfectly! I went to several parties/venues the night I wore it and felt amazing. My date even mentioned that all eyes were on me everywhere we went! I wore it with black pumps and drop earrings - simple accessories. Also, I have never been able to wear anything without a bra for at least 10 years, but with this dress I didn't need one! This dress does wonders for the figure! I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2012
I rented this dress and sinful cinnamon for a NYE party. Both dresses were beautiful & sexy, but this one seemed unique & effortless. This dress will enhance the bust, so your eyes are drawn upward. As a small B, this dress gave me so much cleavage! I was feeling a little shy about that at first, but got over it pretty quickly. The color blocking, subdued colors, and length of the dress, give it an even balance between sexy, modern, and classy. I accepted the offer to have one of the RTR stylists surprise me with a matching accessory rental for $15. They surprised me with the "Through the Looking Glass bracelet by Badgley Mischka. I did not wear it, because I didn't think it matched well with this dress. I ended up wearing darker, gunmetal jewelry, chandelier earrings & chunky bracelet.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2011
I felt amazing in this dress. Received several compliments on the dress.
I love this dress! I'm pear-shaped, so it was a little big in the waist, but fit nicely everywhere else. Fun & sexy...I will definitely rent more from this designer in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2011
The dress arrived the morning of the day I was supposed to receive it. I was perfect, they even sent me Hollywood tape, but i didn't need it.
I received compliments all night long! my husband loved it and was so proud that his woman was one of the hot chics of the night! I told my sister in law the dress was rented and she immediately joined RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2011
perfect dress for looking sophisticated and sexy but not enough to outshine the beautiful bride!!
I rented this dress because of the contrast and design on the back. It's very flattering and gives the illusion of a waist and hips for a gal like me: I'm top heavy (32C), have a short torso, and my waist and hips are about the same in width, so there's not much curve there, but the contrast and detail made it appear that way. It holds everything in enough that you don't have to wear a bra, but I do recommend pasties for cold nights... only issue was that the sleeves seemed a bit stretched and I noticed in photos from the side that you almost see the shape of my breast through the armhole. Other than that, it still very suitable and appropriate for a wedding with kids and sexy enough to impress the boyfriend :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 2, 2011
The dress compliments your body in every which way. Very classy but sexy at the same time
Dress fit great..got lots of compliments.... enjoy it
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×