Hervé Léger

Contrast Entrapment Dress

$214 to buy
$1,450 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this black and plum colored contrast Herve Leger. A sophisticated style with a touch of edginess.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with burgundy color-block contrast. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2014
Tight in all the right places
As others have stated this dress is super thick but in a good way. Its like a built in corset and even helps give the ladies a lift. The length was great for me, long enough to not creep all night but short enough to not feel stuffy. I will say the dress did bunch a bit at my butt, otherwise I barely even noticed it was on as it felt like a second skin. I will definitely rent another Herve Leger!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 17, 2014
I felt so glamorous all evening!
This dress fit like a glove. I am 5'7" and weigh 126lbs, and wore a size small. I wore the dress to a good friend's wedding and I received so many compliments! The dress could not have fit more perfectly, it felt like it was made for my body! It was body hugging in all the right places, but I was still able to move and dance all night long. I truly felt so glamorous in this dress, it could not have been more perfect for the evening!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 7, 2014
Delivery company wouldn't drop it off so I had to chase ups to get it for my next day flight :(
The dress fit well, a little long for a bachelorette party. Cute and comfortable though!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 27, 2014
Tons of compliments on this dress. Love that it's the perfect LBD with a little twist.
Dress fit great, but was quite stretched out. Herve dresses are typically almost impossible to put on (like the additional dress that I rented), but clearly this one may have seen a few too many renters. Gorgeous conservative dress with just a tiny bit of cleavage and tightness for a bit of covert sexiness. I'm 5'8" and the length went well below my knee, as well. Shorter renters may way to pin it up a bit for the night, or wear super high heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 18, 2014
Back up dress
The dress fit well and looked nice on my body, but it was very plain and just didn't have that standout quality.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2015
I received so many compliments!
Beautiful and flattering dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2015
This dress was amazing! Fit like a glove and was PERFECT for our friend's wedding! Highly Recommend!
Fit perfect, could move around with no problem. No cons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2015
A work event
I didn't end up wearing this because the neckline was a bit too low cut and sexy for a work dinner. Also, I usually wear 0 or XS but the last Herve Leger I got in 0 was SO tight I couldn't breathe. But this one seemed stretched out or something because it wasn't as tight as the other one. Also hits at the knee, so longer than I expected. Still, such a gorgeous dress and colors. Maybe I'll get it for next time I have a big event like a wedding or cocktail party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 16, 2015
Very sexy for a date night!
This dress is very sexy and the back is really beautiful. It has fun criss-cross detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 21, 2015
Compliments galore. Very flattering dress!
Everywhere I wore this dress, I got a million compliments. It was very flattering. I am self-conscious of my stomach area and was worried that the tight dress would accentuate it, but with spanx, it all looked relatively flat (though not totally). The dress definitely sucks you in. I would usually wear a size 4 but ordered the size small based on the reviews and it fit great. The top of the dress is super flattering and gave me great cleavage. The length of the dress made it feel less revealing. I would highly recommend this dress if you want to feel confident. I might rent it again sometime!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
June 10, 2015
Amazing, I can't tell you how many people were complimenting me on this dress.
It was true to size, keep in mind this dress was supposed to be tight. It hugs all the curves and the lovely thick fabric makes it very forgiving!! Even though the fabric is think and it was a warm day, I didn't get hot, danced the night away!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
June 10, 2015
*
It was a flattering dress...the lines accentuate your waist and the material smooths out imperfections. I have a full bust and this dress shows a good amount of cleavage so may not be a good choice for a conservative event. Length hit right at the knees. Well constructed dress and in good condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
June 13, 2015
The dress was a great choice for my Saturday night cocktail attire wedding! Was super comfortable!
Loved the plunging neck as it gave my 34bigishB chest some umph! I'm a size 4 around 5'5" and the dress was a little long right above the knee. All in all I'm glad I rented this dress! Unfortunately I literally have no pictures as my boyfriend was in the wedding party and had my phone! oops!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2015
tight supportive great for curves
it's a Herve! you can't go wrong. tight and sexy. holds you in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2015
Great dress for a date night out
Hugs every curve, but in a good way. My husband loved this dress I rented for our 10th anniversary weekend getaway. Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2015
I felt like a goddess!
Amazing dress! Herve bandage dresses are perfect for all body types. Enough stretch but a substantial fabric that doesn't feel flimsy at all. I could have gone smaller in the hips but then the bust wouldn't have worked, the girls were already squished. Deep V means no bra and fashion tape needed if you plan on bending over or dancing a lot. I wore this to dinner, so just sitting. I found the shoulder just ever so slightly too wide and long for my frame, but only noticeable by me. Also the dress seemed a bit stretch in the tummy area compared to a new Herve. But that's a rental hazard. I love his dress and wish I could own it. Photographs and wears amazingly. Plum color is perfect for fall and winter evenings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
January 22, 2016
Shorter ladies - rent with the Hollywood temporary tape!
Low-cut and fun! I'm short so I temporarily hemmed it above my knee with the Hollywood tape, and it looked better with my frame.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2014
Beautiful contrast!
This dress was perfect for my law school formal! The black is very slimming and the purple contrast slims the waist. I rented the small and the medium; the small fit but was a bit too tight for me so I went with the medium, which was comfortable all night! I wore a regular bra with the dress; next time I would probably use some fashion tape to make sure it doesn't peek out. The purple photographs nicely and the photo of the model accurately reflects the color. Very happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 22, 2016
Showstopper of a dress!
I loved this dress. It fit like a glove and was super flattering with my curvy body type. Definitely flaunts the cleavage, but in a classy way. I wore spanx with it, but it was stretchy/form fitting enough that you could get away without it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2013
The perfect dress for the my 40th birthday!
I have never rented a dress before - but I can not say enough great things. LOVED this dress. It fit perfect and I felt amazing in it. Herve Leger is now on my list as the perfect designer. I was a bit worried about renting since I am so tall - but the dress could not have fit any better. Simple, elegant and sexy without being overstated. I was so sad to return!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2013
Very flattering!
The only reason I didn't end up wearing this is because it smelled too much like smoke (sorry RTR!). If the dry-cleaning had been able to get the smell out it would have been perfect for the occasion. I have narrow shoulders and wide hips which can make sizing difficult, but the stretchy HL bandage dresses solve the problem wonderfully!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
July 23, 2013
Pretty amazing!
This dress truly sucks you in and pushes you out in all the right places! I'd prefer it to be slightly shorter but then since it is so busty, it helps even it out. Can be worn with a bra but I preferred it without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 30, 2014
Really liked the look of this dress and got a ton of compliments
If you are busty, be careful with this dress as it’s definitely very low cut. I’m not busty at all but this gave me some nice curves based on the fit. It fits like a glove - part of why I love Herve dresses. It’s like spanx that you wear on the outside that also look amazing. Overall, highly recommend the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
May 27, 2015
It was my first rental and the drop off was easy
This dress hugs you like a dream. I'm busty for my waist so I wore a scarf to cover up the deep cleavage.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2015
This dress is AMAZING
Everything about this dress is stunning. It fits like a glove, hugs all the right places, super comfortable. I was getting compliments all night and I felt amazing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2016
Loved the dress!
I wore for a New Years Eve party and received lots of compliments all night. The dress fit snugly, but not restrictive. I was able to dance the night away. I would 100% recommend. If you are between sizes, so with the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 8, 2011
I love love love this dress. It was definitely the dress of the evening. I am relatively thin and athletic and this dress just held everything in place perfectly. I received so many complements in this dress! I wish I could wear it all the time. Would definitely rent this dress or even a dress from this designer again. I loved the way it tucked everything in and made my relatively straight frame look curvey.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 10, 2012
Fits great! Very flattering!!
Fits fairly true to size. It was a bit longer than I was expecting, but still fit very nicely. Was sexy and professional at the same time. Only downside is it felt like my breasts were squished down.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
August 12, 2012
Fits like a glove
Herve Leger is known for sucking things in, in all the right places. It would be tight if you have a larger chest, but worked for me perfectly and the waist and length were very comfortable. I was not tugging on it at all. It looks tight but is so comfy and I got a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
Dress was stunning and body hugging in a good way. I wore it for my 35th birthday and felt amazing!
The dress fit perfect and held everything in place the entire night. It did not need to be readjusted nor did it ride up. Loved it and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 26, 2012
Wow - moment dress. Wore it for my rehearsal dinner and loved, loved loved it!
I didn't need a bra or spanx with this dress. Fits true to size not as "Tight" as some HL dresses.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Beautiful dress, creates beautiful curves.
I did not end up wearing this dress because I only recieved the size smalll and RTR ran out of mediums. I think the medium would have been perfect. I would rent this one again in the right size.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
April 9, 2013
Comfortable and flattering!
Loved this dress. Wore it for a Broadway opening show and party and it was perfect. I am still nursing my 5 month old baby so I needed a dress that allowed me to wear a regular bra, which this did. Very comfortable and flattering with the color blocking. I would definitely rent it again!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 16, 2014
This was for my long time boyfriend's twin sister's wedding. THIS was a big deal!
If you are large chested, beware that you will be showing quite a bit of cleavage, if you can sacrifice the tight fit, opt for one size up with your one other free size offered. This fit perfect and I felt very comfortable in it all evening. It was snug but did not suffocate you like a corset. Just snug enough and I received so many compliments! I definitely recommend this dress. If I were not going to be seeing so many familiar faces at this upcoming wedding in June, I would order it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
Gorgeous dress - Sexy sophistication
I had to try on three other dresses before finding one that fit, but this one fit practically perfectly. It looks just like the photo and hugs curves well. I bought spanx to go with it, but in retrospect it wasn't necessary. Not sure what to say other than this dress is phenomenal and I can't wait to find an occasion for another Hervé Léger item! *Keep in mind that if you have a larger bust you will definitely be showing some cleavage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
April 11, 2014
Great Vegas dress!!!
Very flattering and fun! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Elegant dress perfect for a wedding.
The dress is a bit long, but the purple and black combination are very flattering. Received lot of compliments. Love the back of the dress as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2014
Fabulous and sexy
I felt great in this dress. It holds you in and pushes you up and makes you feel confident and sexy, but not trashy. The most sophisticated Herve I have ever worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 6, 2014
dress is beautiful, and very elegant.
Dress was a little long for me since im 5,2, fits very well though. This is an elegant and sophisticated dress, and is true to the colors.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2015
Gorgeous, flattering, sexy dress.
LOVED LOVED LOVED!!!!! This was one of the most flattering dresses I've ever worn. Also surprisingly comfortable. I would definitely recommend.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×