Hervé Léger

Contrast Entrapment Dress

$143 to buy
$1,450 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this black and plum colored contrast Herve Leger. A sophisticated style with a touch of edginess.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up; may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Very fitted - bandage fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black stretch bandage with burgundy color-block contrast. V neckline. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
Perfect dress for night out! Sexy, but still classy.
I wore this dress to a fight and the after-party in Vegas. I could not have asked for a better selection! The fit was absolutely perfect and it was so flattering. There was a bit of cleavage, but not so much that I was uncomfortable (36D). I received compliments on the dress all night. My boyfriend absolutely loved it on me. Will definitely consider this dress for future events. My only regret is we were on the go so much, we didn't stop to take a picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2014
Va-va-vooom
I wore this to an early fall work gala. Accentuates your curves in all the right places. I really love how thick the banded material is, very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Flattering fit!
This dress was great. The plum detailing really accents your waist and the signature Herve fit sucks you in in all the right places. The one thing I noticed about this dress was either it was a bit stretched out, or I should have rented the XS since the waist area was a little baggy. Everywhere else fit very well.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2014
Great for a night out
This dress was awesome!!! I got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 6, 2014
Sophisticate!
I rented this dress as a backup for a date night w/ my husband in Vegas. I end up wearing both... Cause I love both. It's tight but not out of control. I feel sophisticated and curvy... Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 9, 2014
A WOW Dress!
Loved this dress! The material gets more comfortable once it warms up but also somehow holds you in. I got lots of compliments and felt amazing. Was so depressed to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2014
Great for a semi-formal event.
I wore this dress to a law school ball. The cut on top is sexy, but the rest of the dress is toned down enough to be appropriate. The fit was snug (as an Herve should be), but the hemline is longer than I expected. When choosing between sizes, definitely choose the size you normally would and one smaller! I would caution those ladies that are shorter may not be pleased with the long hemline of this dress. I am very tall so I was fine with the length, but I could imagine a shorter person being disappointed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 14, 2014
Compliments all night. RTR customer service was excellent. Dress arrived two days before my event
Perfect fit. Easy to get into,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
July 29, 2014
Surprisingly Comfortable
FIRST the RTR staff was absolutely amazing. One of the size for the dress I had originally ordered was damaged by the previous renter. They allowed me to pick another dress free of charge and had it to me within hours! This dress held everything in! Although it was tight, it was super comfortable. I didn't feel like I had to "suck it in" all night! The length was definitely appropriate for a wedding (I'm 5'10 so this can be difficult to find). However, I do feel like it was a little too much boob for a wedding. This was a GREAT dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 28, 2014
Very sexy, classy dress
I'm usually in between a medium and a small. The medium had way too much extra material in the back like it had been stretched out. The length on the small was still great so ended up wearing the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 30, 2014
Sexy, but not too Sexy
From the second I put this dress on, I knew I didn't want to even try the back up dress on. Very comfortable, hugged all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2014
Loved this dress! :)
Loved the dress! I didn't pick this dress initially, but the dress I originally ordered was damaged so I had to pick another one out. I ended up liking this dress even more then my original one!! Fits like a dream, good combo of classy and sexy, and actually comfortable! Totally loved it! Would love to own it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2014
Tight in all the right places
As others have stated this dress is super thick but in a good way. Its like a built in corset and even helps give the ladies a lift. The length was great for me, long enough to not creep all night but short enough to not feel stuffy. I will say the dress did bunch a bit at my butt, otherwise I barely even noticed it was on as it felt like a second skin. I will definitely rent another Herve Leger!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 17, 2014
I felt so glamorous all evening!
This dress fit like a glove. I am 5'7" and weigh 126lbs, and wore a size small. I wore the dress to a good friend's wedding and I received so many compliments! The dress could not have fit more perfectly, it felt like it was made for my body! It was body hugging in all the right places, but I was still able to move and dance all night long. I truly felt so glamorous in this dress, it could not have been more perfect for the evening!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 7, 2014
Delivery company wouldn't drop it off so I had to chase ups to get it for my next day flight :(
The dress fit well, a little long for a bachelorette party. Cute and comfortable though!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 18, 2014
Back up dress
The dress fit well and looked nice on my body, but it was very plain and just didn't have that standout quality.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2015
I received so many compliments!
Beautiful and flattering dress.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2015
This dress was amazing! Fit like a glove and was PERFECT for our friend's wedding! Highly Recommend!
Fit perfect, could move around with no problem. No cons!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2015
A work event
I didn't end up wearing this because the neckline was a bit too low cut and sexy for a work dinner. Also, I usually wear 0 or XS but the last Herve Leger I got in 0 was SO tight I couldn't breathe. But this one seemed stretched out or something because it wasn't as tight as the other one. Also hits at the knee, so longer than I expected. Still, such a gorgeous dress and colors. Maybe I'll get it for next time I have a big event like a wedding or cocktail party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 21, 2015
Compliments galore. Very flattering dress!
Everywhere I wore this dress, I got a million compliments. It was very flattering. I am self-conscious of my stomach area and was worried that the tight dress would accentuate it, but with spanx, it all looked relatively flat (though not totally). The dress definitely sucks you in. I would usually wear a size 4 but ordered the size small based on the reviews and it fit great. The top of the dress is super flattering and gave me great cleavage. The length of the dress made it feel less revealing. I would highly recommend this dress if you want to feel confident. I might rent it again sometime!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
June 10, 2015
Amazing, I can't tell you how many people were complimenting me on this dress.
It was true to size, keep in mind this dress was supposed to be tight. It hugs all the curves and the lovely thick fabric makes it very forgiving!! Even though the fabric is think and it was a warm day, I didn't get hot, danced the night away!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 13, 2015
The dress was a great choice for my Saturday night cocktail attire wedding! Was super comfortable!
Loved the plunging neck as it gave my 34bigishB chest some umph! I'm a size 4 around 5'5" and the dress was a little long right above the knee. All in all I'm glad I rented this dress! Unfortunately I literally have no pictures as my boyfriend was in the wedding party and had my phone! oops!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2015
Great dress for a date night out
Hugs every curve, but in a good way. My husband loved this dress I rented for our 10th anniversary weekend getaway. Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2014
Beautiful contrast!
This dress was perfect for my law school formal! The black is very slimming and the purple contrast slims the waist. I rented the small and the medium; the small fit but was a bit too tight for me so I went with the medium, which was comfortable all night! I wore a regular bra with the dress; next time I would probably use some fashion tape to make sure it doesn't peek out. The purple photographs nicely and the photo of the model accurately reflects the color. Very happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 22, 2016
Showstopper of a dress!
I loved this dress. It fit like a glove and was super flattering with my curvy body type. Definitely flaunts the cleavage, but in a classy way. I wore spanx with it, but it was stretchy/form fitting enough that you could get away without it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2013
The perfect dress for the my 40th birthday!
I have never rented a dress before - but I can not say enough great things. LOVED this dress. It fit perfect and I felt amazing in it. Herve Leger is now on my list as the perfect designer. I was a bit worried about renting since I am so tall - but the dress could not have fit any better. Simple, elegant and sexy without being overstated. I was so sad to return!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 22, 2013
Very flattering!
The only reason I didn't end up wearing this is because it smelled too much like smoke (sorry RTR!). If the dry-cleaning had been able to get the smell out it would have been perfect for the occasion. I have narrow shoulders and wide hips which can make sizing difficult, but the stretchy HL bandage dresses solve the problem wonderfully!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
July 23, 2013
Pretty amazing!
This dress truly sucks you in and pushes you out in all the right places! I'd prefer it to be slightly shorter but then since it is so busty, it helps even it out. Can be worn with a bra but I preferred it without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 30, 2014
Really liked the look of this dress and got a ton of compliments
If you are busty, be careful with this dress as it’s definitely very low cut. I’m not busty at all but this gave me some nice curves based on the fit. It fits like a glove - part of why I love Herve dresses. It’s like spanx that you wear on the outside that also look amazing. Overall, highly recommend the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2016
Loved the dress!
I wore for a New Years Eve party and received lots of compliments all night. The dress fit snugly, but not restrictive. I was able to dance the night away. I would 100% recommend. If you are between sizes, so with the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 8, 2011
I love love love this dress. It was definitely the dress of the evening. I am relatively thin and athletic and this dress just held everything in place perfectly. I received so many complements in this dress! I wish I could wear it all the time. Would definitely rent this dress or even a dress from this designer again. I loved the way it tucked everything in and made my relatively straight frame look curvey.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 10, 2012
Fits great! Very flattering!!
Fits fairly true to size. It was a bit longer than I was expecting, but still fit very nicely. Was sexy and professional at the same time. Only downside is it felt like my breasts were squished down.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
August 12, 2012
Fits like a glove
Herve Leger is known for sucking things in, in all the right places. It would be tight if you have a larger chest, but worked for me perfectly and the waist and length were very comfortable. I was not tugging on it at all. It looks tight but is so comfy and I got a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
Dress was stunning and body hugging in a good way. I wore it for my 35th birthday and felt amazing!
The dress fit perfect and held everything in place the entire night. It did not need to be readjusted nor did it ride up. Loved it and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 26, 2012
Wow - moment dress. Wore it for my rehearsal dinner and loved, loved loved it!
I didn't need a bra or spanx with this dress. Fits true to size not as "Tight" as some HL dresses.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
December 10, 2012
Beautiful dress, creates beautiful curves.
I did not end up wearing this dress because I only recieved the size smalll and RTR ran out of mediums. I think the medium would have been perfect. I would rent this one again in the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
April 9, 2013
Comfortable and flattering!
Loved this dress. Wore it for a Broadway opening show and party and it was perfect. I am still nursing my 5 month old baby so I needed a dress that allowed me to wear a regular bra, which this did. Very comfortable and flattering with the color blocking. I would definitely rent it again!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 16, 2014
This was for my long time boyfriend's twin sister's wedding. THIS was a big deal!
If you are large chested, beware that you will be showing quite a bit of cleavage, if you can sacrifice the tight fit, opt for one size up with your one other free size offered. This fit perfect and I felt very comfortable in it all evening. It was snug but did not suffocate you like a corset. Just snug enough and I received so many compliments! I definitely recommend this dress. If I were not going to be seeing so many familiar faces at this upcoming wedding in June, I would order it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
April 11, 2014
Great Vegas dress!!!
Very flattering and fun! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Elegant dress perfect for a wedding.
The dress is a bit long, but the purple and black combination are very flattering. Received lot of compliments. Love the back of the dress as well.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×