Hervé Léger

Color of Love Sheath

$284 to buy
$1,350 retail
Stylist Notes

Red hot! This fitted sheath by Hervé Léger is a must to make a sultry splash at the cocktail party. Add Kenneth Jay Lane's Gold Shadow Bib Necklace for that extra wow factor.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee Length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra. We recommend SPANX to cinch in waist.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red stretch bandage (90% rayon, 9% nylon, 1% spandex). Three quarter length sleeves. V-neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
142 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(99)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 24, 2014
Way too small!

Not a normal fitting Herve at all. Way to tight and small around the arms, so size up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
February 17, 2014
Beautiful dress for a night out on the town!

Beautiful dress! Runs a tad small so I recommend getting a size up just in case. Originally selected for dinner date however went with a different selection as it a bit low cut. Meant for a night out on the town i.e.. club, bar etc. Would get this again but for a different occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2014
Not for big busts

I rented this for a weekend in Vegas and unfortunately was unable to wear it. It is extremely tight, even by HL standards. The front was pretty low and with my 34DDD bust I ended up being smooshed and spilling over inappropriately.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2016
Wasn't able to wear. Once I tried on the dress, it stretched out a hidden wine stain on front.

It's short and tight, like all of his dresses, it rocks confidence.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
August 15, 2013
Wore this dress for our wedding anniversary date..loved it!!!

this dress holds it all in!

RachelleAugust 15, 2013
Does the dress fit true to size? I am a size 4 also and only the XS is available.
KristineAugust 15, 2013
Rachelle- I think it runs a little small, but I guess it depends on your body type. The XS was too tight for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 15, 2013
I wanted to love this dress so much and I did until I had it zipped up all the way.

This dress is beautiful and it hugs everything exactly right except the back below the nape of the neck. When it's fully zipped the zipper caused it to stick out from my back. It's kind of difficult to see in the picture. I had to return it. Maybe I'm not large enough up front to stretch out the excess fabric. I hope you are. It's such a sexy dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2013
felt amazing!

When I received the dress it was brand new so I was super excited to try it on. The dress was amazing and the color was eye catching. Unfortunately I couldn't wear it to the even that I was planning, but planning to rent it again in the future. You can't help it but to feel like a million bucks with this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2013
Best Birthday Dress Ever.

My first Herve experience and I had the best time in this dress! I never fussed with it once and It fit me like a glove. I wore it on a 85 degree night and I wasn't sweating which was great. I wear a 32B and I had to go braless and use some double sided tape but everything stayed in all night. I can't tell you how happy I was in this dress. It was quite the head turner out on the Manhattan streets.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2013
I wore this spectacular dress to a party on a yacht in Monaco and got a million compliments!

The dress fit perfectly. It is not for shy women though as it is very formfitting and tight and draws a lot of looks. I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 14, 2013
This outfit is EVERYTHING!!

I wore this dress for my birthday and it was the absolute best! Herve never disappoints but I would have to say that this is one of my favorites. I usually don't wear red but this red certainly stands out. In addition, it maximizes ALL of your assets. For me, it is my boobs so this dress gave me an ULTRA SEXY look. All evening my friends said, "You are working that dress"! If you are shy, this is NOT the dress to wear but if you are trying to make a statement when you walk in the room...well...this is IT. I wore a nice pearl and gold chunky necklace, stud earrings and bone color shoes. My makeup consisted of a smokey eye with gold accents and of course RED LIPS. The only thing negative I would say is that the dress had a slight stain on it which wasn't terribly noticeable so I still wore the dress. However, RTR should have caught that before sending. However, that has nothing to do with the dress itself (that's a RTR thing) so I will still give this 5 stars. Wear if you dare and enjoy!

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 30, 2013
I felt stunning!

The bust of the size S was a little too wide so I squeezed into the XS. It holds you in perfectly without feeling constricting. I got TONS of compliments on this dress. Its the definition of sexy without being scandalous. I wore it with a wrap for the ceremony as it does amp up your cleavage. I felt like a million bucks.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
November 1, 2013
Perfect date-night dress! The BF kept sneaking photos of me the whole night!

I loved this dress. I would definitely recommend wearing shape wear underneath it though. My boyfriend loved it. My only con would be that the neckline is lower than I anticipated. Had to wear a different bra than I'd planned, but it worked out. Overall, I loved this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 8, 2013
I have never seen more jaws drop or more heads do 180's! STUNNER!

LOVE LOVE LOVE. I wore this to a fancy dinner and it was a complete JAW DROPPER - guys and girls alike. The neckline is extremely low cut and it attracts major attention so if you're busty and not comfortable with that sort of action, this isn't the dress for you. Ran TTS (true to size) as most Herve Leger dresses do (on me at least). The sleeves provided more coverage and I thought that really balanced out the aesthetics of the dress. Love how the bottom of the dress scoops up a tiny bit in the middle. This is a beautiful, sexy dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 18, 2013
Sexy!

You will definitely stand out in this dress. The long sleeves make the dress look very sophisticated. I rented teh same necklace the model wears and they look great together!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
November 25, 2013
Showstopper!!!

Love, love, love!!! Fit perfect! You should know what size you wear in HL before ordering. My boyfriend loved it and I felt super confident all night long. This dress is perfect for a night out on the town. Didn't need to pull it down when getting up or walking. Comfortable in the arms as well. Not for the faint of heart due to cleavage factor. Overall, it was my favorite dress from RTR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2013
SO. STUNNING.

This dress is incredible. Such a standout, especially for the holidays. The one thing I will say is that the fit is tricky if you have a larger bust. I'm a 34 C and mine were popping out. It ended up looking fine, but any larger and it would be really risque. My chest looked very out there as it was. But I still loved it--super hot dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2013
Pictures don't do it justice!

I would love to own this dress, it's timeless, classic, and sexy. Fit was like a glove, once zipped it's very comfortable and holds everything in. I was able to wear a regular low cut plunge bra with it which I was worried about beforehand since I didn't know if the dress would be too low for a bra. Simple accessories are best, I tried it with a large statement necklace and it was just too much, went with a classic diamond necklace and single bangle and it was perfect. Let the dress speak for itself. Absolutely amazing dress and probably the favorite Herve dress I've worn out of 10 or so!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 22, 2013
Totally awesome for curvy gals!

Wonderful fit. I am a full C cup, btw. Tight bandage fit held everything in/up perfectly. I didn't wear spanx or a bra here.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 3, 2014
Sexy, low-cut, form fitting dress!

I was approached by a woman at the party who repeatedly said I looked fantastic, and that my cleavage was impressive. She then gently poked each of my breasts! I wear a 36C or a 34D, and while I do have breasts, they are widely spaced, so I don't really have cleavage. But I had cleavage in this dress! Even my friend said she couldn't stop staring at my cleavage. But because the neckline is so low, I couldn't wear a bra with the dress. So keep in mind a bra may not be possible before you rent this one. It may not be obvious in the picture, but the top part of the dress was a little loose. I don't know if it's cut that way or if it had been stretched out. There were also two small holes on the seam on the left leg. They were very tiny, and I am the only one who noticed them. RTR should be able to fix them easily because they are right on the seam. This is why I am only giving it 4 as opposd to 5 stars. But all in all, I loved the dress, and I am thinking of renting the same one in another color.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 13, 2014
Not for full-busted

Beautiful dress, but not for women who are a C+ cup. This dress will flatter those who have an hourglass figure, but it is VERY VERY low-cut. While this dress fit, I could not wear this dress to my party because the incredibly low neckline made the dress look obscene when worn. This dress would be fine for someone with more of a pear-shaped body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2014
LOVE the dress

I felt so confident in the dress and did get compliments all night. The front cut was a little lower than I would prefer. Sometimes I got a little too much attention if you know what I mean. Over all I felt great, I didn't wear a bra, but I did throw in some "chicken cutlets" for a little more volume since I'm lacking in that department :o)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 22, 2014
I loved wearing the Herve Leger for my fashion show. It was a HOT dress

I loved this dress, I only got one size because the Small that I actually wanted was ruined so they couldnt send it. I am pretty small and the XS was VERY tight. It worked but it kept coming down in the front because of the deep V and the size issue. My bra was showing half the time. Other then that I loved the dress I would just get a bigger size then usual since Herve runs small anyway.

JillJanuary 22, 2014
You look super cute, I am about the same size as you a size zero and I am a 32C as well, being petite and full busted I think you will be able to relate , did you feel like you were going to spill out of the dress all night, was your bra constantly showing, and lastly did you have any VPL issues, are you able to wear a thong, I have heard many say with a herve if you wear any panties at all it will leave a noticeable panty line, did you have any VPL issues?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 27, 2014
RED RED

I loved this dress! Herve Leger is such an amazing designer. The neckline on this is VERY low. I could not wear a bra because you could totally see it. Very low. I cannot stress that enough. Very stretchy and extremely sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 31, 2014
Sexy dress!

This dress will definitely get some attention! Wore this for my 10th anniversary with my husband and felt amazing! Fit was perfect and snug and definitely needed some help getting zipped up, but it was comfortable and easy to move around in. Be warned that it is a deep v neck and if you aren't comfortable showing some cleavage, this dress isn't for you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 3, 2014
I was complimented all night!

I loved the fit of this dress! I just had a baby and it made me feel sassy and glamorous. It is very low cut, but when accessorized with the right necklace it's perfect. double sided tape also helped make me feel more secure in the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2014
Unwearable. Waaaaay too low-cut.

Perfect for a stripper convention in Vegas or an audition for The Bachelor. Otherwise, completely unwearable because of the low neckline. It would work for those who want people staring at their chest all night, but otherwise....be warned. In fairness, I was forewarned, but I kept thinking "it can't be that bad". It was.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
March 10, 2014
Amazing dress!!! Serious show stopper!

Great fit! Hugs every curve of your body. I have a large bust and butt and small waist and the small was a perfect fit! Would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 12, 2014
The best dress for small chested ladies!

I am obsessed with the dress! I am a 34A and this dress gave me the best cleavage I have ever had. I usually wear a size small or extra small. Only the XS was available for my event so I went with it- definitely a little bit of a struggle to get on but it worked. The cut is really low so I wouldn't recommend wearing a regular bra with it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
March 12, 2014
Loved it!

This dress was fantastic. I loved its simplicity, slick look, and sophisticated sexiness. The fit was great, snug but not too tight, it zipped up with ease. The top (shoulder and ribcage) had some room to spare but nothing to affect the look. The neckline is super low - I had to pin it. Would rent it again, my favorite rental so far.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 17, 2014
Wasn't a fan of the arm length

Fit in the body beautifully but I didn't really care for the shoulders or the 3/4 arm length. Wasn't the best on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 21, 2014
Foxy, but not for me.

I really wanted to wear this dress, but just couldn't do it. The shoulders and arms were too big, which made the dress seem ever more daring in the chest. Very low cut, which I could've handled, but only with a tight fit! I did like the hem of this dress though. With the right build (wider shoulders and big bust!), I'm sure the dress would be great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103lbs
March 22, 2014
Super Sexy

I have a fairly large chest for my frame and I was surprised that the xs seemed a little more lose than I expected based off of the other reviews. Used fashion tape to keep it in place and it worked wonderfully

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2014
It was so easy! I absolutely love rent the runway!

It was a beautiful dress that had very stretchy material that made it fit like a glove and the red made me feel glamorous!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2014
Beautiful dress, just not for a woman with a large bust

I loved the dress. It was gorgeous, but the neckline was extremely wide and low. I am a 34D and it was way too revealing. I was going to wear it for my 21st birthday but it was too trashy looking even for a college party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
April 10, 2014
Most flattering dress

Fit is true to size. I received compliments all night and it looked amazing in pictures!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
Felt like a bombshell!

This dress is gorgeous! I got so many compliments and it fits like a glove!! I wore it to a wedding and definitely stood out - the only con for this dress is that it's VERY low cut (I wasn't expecting it to be that low). I had to keep adjusting the neckline all night so I wasn't exposing my breast area too much (wearing the necklace helped). Other than that I loved it, felt very sexy in it and would definitely recommend it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 4, 2014
Red was definitely the perfect color for my sorority formal!

This dress was REALLY tight. It took two people to zip it up, although, once it was zipped it was comfortable and felt secure. Sticky boobs didn't give me the shape I wanted with it so I wore a normal bra with it, and it peeked out a lot throughout the night. Overall I liked it! Lots of compliments. I probably wouldn't order a similar one again just for the fact that I would want to have more ease of movement, and the possibility of eating and drinking without feeling bloated! I really liked the sleeve length, that was probably one of the main reasons I ordered it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2014
Incredible color and cut!!

The dress was gorgeous and fit like a glove, however slightly more low cut than I anticipated. Definitely worth a rental!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2014
Love Herve!

The dress fit like a glove. I ordered three different Herve dresses for a trip to Vegas. I could definitely see the wear on this one as it's an older style but loved it anyway. The chest area is VERY revealing... I wouldn't wear it anywhere except Vegas. Many other reviewers did not wear a bra, but had I not worn a bra the girls would have fallen out. So I wore a plunge bra and it worked fine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 7, 2014
You will turn heads!

This dress is GORGEOUS. I rented it for a friend's Las Vegas bachelorette party weekend, which is pretty much the perfect setting. Originally I ordered the medium and large, but the large was damaged and unavailable. (RTR was awesome as always and let me substitute another dress FOR FREE as a result). Despite my fears, the medium fit like a glove! I was literally serenaded down the street by dudes singing "Laaaady in red..." and my friends said guys' heads were turning all night. Like everyone says about HL dresses, the material is thick and holds you in exactly where you need it. I loved that the plunging neckline and super tight fit were balanced by a slightly longer length and sleeves, so it looked sexy rather than skanky. The necklace the model is wearing fits perfectly and went really well with my gold/white clutch and neutral heels. Warning - I included the second picture to show what happens while sitting down! Careful, this dress will give you insane cleavage even if you're pretty small in the bust like I am.

View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×