Kiss of Death Gown

$78 to buy
$520 retail
Stylist Notes

Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2010
No offense to the model, but she does not do this dress justice. It is a very sexy dress! If you have curves in all the right places, it will show! I loved it! I received tons of compliments all night. The dress was very comfortable. My only suggestion is to keep your heel height in mind when you order this dress. I ordered a regular size dress, but I probably could have gotten away with a long since I wore 3" platform shoes.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 8, 2010
This dress was a perfect fit for someone with my height and weight. 5'6'' 107 lbs. It was super comfortable because the fabric is a little forgiving which was a nice change from the uncomfortable dresses we sausage ourselves into. Very sexy, very feminine, very modern. Loved it.
catalinaDecember 20, 2011
What size did you order and heel length did you wear?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
November 22, 2010
I rented the size 4 which is my typical size and it fit perfectly with a pair of 3" heels. I added a crystal brooch at the waist where the draping is and it really took it up a notch. The slit on the leg is much lower than pictured. I felt beautiful in this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
March 25, 2011
I rented this dress for my senior prom along with some extremely classy, silver earrings and bracelet (different from the ones pictured, but from rent the runway), and I loved it. The slit is in just the right place, so I don't show my whole leg, and the way it hugged my lower body made me feel really confident all night! I followed an above suggestion by putting a brooch where the fabric wraps around your middle and it made me look like a very classy, svelte princess.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2011
This dress was a HIT at a black tie event for work. It was appropriate for the occasion, and the slit ended just above my knee... way less revealing that the picture. Also took the advice and added a sparkly broach to the knot at the waist. No necklace as the cowl neck was perfect. I rented the large having just had a baby 9 months ago and (I'm 165 and 5'6") and this accentuated all the right spots... with spanx and a sticky cup bra! I felt glamorous and comfortable in this gown... not always easily combined!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
August 31, 2011
I loved the draping in the back, and as others have said, the slit in front is not nearly as high as it appears in the photo. My only complaints that kept this from getting 5 stars are the following: first, it was very hard to get the drape in the front to sit correctly. It kept looking like a bulge of fabric that needed to be tucked somehow. Once I got it in the right place, the short lining kept riding up until there was a bunch of fabric at my hips and I had to go to the ladies room several times to "adjust". Also, the drape at the neckline has a raw edge that kept flipping over so that it was visible and did not look very neat. Overall, I liked the dress, but I probably would not rent it again. This was my first experience with RTW, and I was totally happy with them. I will definitely rent again, just not this dress.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2011
Unfortunately my rental did not fit and I could not wear. The Xsm was way too small and too short. The Small was enormous - I was literally swimming in it. XSM must be better on a petite woman 5'2 and under.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2011
I loved the style of the dress - but it is not exactly as pictured: my rental was worn out with hanging seams, a torn in the front that had been repaired and the gathering over the stomach also showed signs of heavy use. The leg slit ends at the knee. Again, loved the style but this model should be retired.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 22, 2011
Felt Beautiful
It was a beautiful dress. The only reason I didn't wear the xs was the length. I am usually between a 2/4 and it was just about 2 inches too short without heels. The slit was not too high and the dress was formal enough for an event that I was unsure of.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2011
A wedding guest I didn't know approached me to tell me I looked stunning.
Dress was perfect for a black tie wedding - very classic conservative, but the form-fitting shape and cut out back give it the perfect edge. Received very nice compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I interned with UNICEF and wore it to their West Coast Ball in LA. It was a black tie event and this dress was perfect--formal, sexy, but not too over the top! I'm 5'9-5'10 and I would have liked it to be a bit longer, but overall it was perfect. My only complaint is that the slip attached to the dress rode up pretty often, but it was easy to adjust.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
February 8, 2012
It is great to be able to rent a $800 dress for $75. I would have worn it only once anyway. Great idea.
I loved the dress. It is simple but classy and chic. I combined with a green necklace and green sandals. See the picture.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2012
Felt great in this dress at a gala
I ordered both the small and the medium in this dress and ended up going with the medium simply because of the length but it actually made for such a comfortable night! I am 5'9 and had to wear pretty short heels, which again added to the comfort. I got SO many compliments on this dress and adding colorful earrings really pulled together the whole outfit together. I highly suggest this dress, just be careful about the length if you are on the taller side!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
April 23, 2012
Not as SEXY as it seems
This dress is OK really, its not as SEXY in person as it seems on the model. The slit is not as high, and its very black, so all of the form fitting knots on the top of the dress are not very visible in person. Really a little blah, i didnt even wear it.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2012
I wore the dress to a taping of an awards show, the taping was 5 hours long and it was so comfortable.
True to size, I am 5'4 and the length with heels was perfect. It was super comfortable. Received many complements on the dress.
RTR CustomerApril 3, 2013
Did a normal bra work with this outfit given the cutout at the back? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
May 21, 2012
lang
I have to say this dress was gorgeous but I could not believe RTR sent me a dress in such horrible condition, the back was ripped as well as the top of the slit in the leg. I did not have time for them to send me out another dress so I wore any how. It runs true to size - I had to wear 5" heels for the length to be correct.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
June 4, 2012
Perfect for me
This dress was excellent! It was a little on the short side but I don't know if a long would be too long. I wore it for prom and it was unique and I got a lot of compliments on it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Great sexy simple dress
This dress was awesome. A great, super comfortable material that was still flirty. I wore it to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
Got so many compliments in this dress! Very comfortable.
I loved this dress! I wore it to the winter ball for a charity event. I was concerned about the length being that I'm only 5'3 but with 4" heels it was a perfect fit. The only thing that might give you some trouble is the hole for your neck. It's snug so it's almost like putting on a turtleneck. It felt fine as far as comfort goes but I had to wear the dress to the hair salon so I didn't have to worry about messing up my hair when I pulled it over my head. The dress was sexy due to the slit but still classy enough to wear to a ball. Overall, GREAT dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2012
Just ok
The dress I rented had several broken seams so I had to use fashion tape to keep it together, which was a little disappointing. Otherwise, the dress was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2012
Ow OW! Elegant and sexy
I really loved this dress. It is covered up but still very sexy. The slit came up to an appropriate spot on my thigh without being too showy. I felt like the length was perfect, I didn't trip on myself.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect Fall Dress
I picked this dress for a formal evening wedding in Iowa. I ended up wearing the back up size, but it still fit beautifully. At 5'2'' I wore 4'' heels to pull of the length. I would recommend wearing spanx as the material does cling to your body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2012
Beautiful how this dress falls.
Shoulders and top torso area are very narrow. Unfortunately when this dress arrived, it Also looked like one of the straps had been ripping a bit from the dress.I normally wear a 2, but would need a medium in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 5, 2012
I am obsessed with this dress! It fit perfectly the length
I am obsessed with the dress! It fit perfectly and the length was great with heels as I am 5'3. I felt like a million bucks and received so many compliments. My only complaint is the back was a little ripped so the draping was more than expected and I word a normal bra but nothing fashion tape couldn't fix.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 8, 2012
Nice dress
It was just perfect for my Audrey Hepburn costume!! the lengh of the dress is short, (R perfect for me), this dress enhances natural shapes of women's body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Great dress for a formal occasion
Elegant, yet edgy in the back. The only complain I have was the lining would ride up every now and then... Super comfy and soft.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2012
LOVE!!!
I wore this dress for a formal wedding and it was a hit! Classic and simple, but definitely sexy! I opted for the XS instead of the S (the size I typically fit). This dress could be a bit baggy if you don't size down. Amazing dress and an amazing night :)
McKenzieApril 24, 2013
Did you do the XS in a regular length or long?
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
November 18, 2012
Edgy, sexy yet classy dress!
Dress fit perfectly, very sexy yet classy. As others have mentioned, the dress was fairly short. I am 5'3'' and the dress hit at my ankle. So make sure to wear good shoes with it! Also the slit came to my knee, not nearly as high as the slit shown on the model. Overall looked awesome, just be careful if you are tall as the dress might not be long enough for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
Classic LBD with a twist.
This dress was great for a formal event; it was snug in all of the right places, but also had a little bit of stretch to it. The ruching in the front and the ever-so-slight cowlneck made the dress interesting, as well. My only problem was that the XSL was still a bit too short on my 5'8" frame.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
December 8, 2012
Comfortable and Classy
Such a great dress! would recommend it to anyone! rented the jade earrings to top off the look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2013
Way too short!!!
Based on the reviews, I decided to rent an XS so that the dress would fit like a glove. THe only problem was that it fit like a glove in the body area, but it was wayyyyy too short! The dress came up to my mid shin. I was hoping for a floor length dress... Might of been better if I ordered a size S, but then it probably would of been too baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2013
Wrong size was sent
Wrong size was sent
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 6, 2013
Nice fit - open back was great
Dress was run ragged and had threads hanging and even a little tear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2013
Too Short!
I ordered a 0R, as I am between a 0 and a 2, depending on the designer. When I received the dress, I noticed that the tag read "Petite," which immediately worried me, as at 5'8, I am definitely not considered petite, though I do fit into a Size 0. When I tried on the dress, my concerns were, unfortunately, validated, as the dress only went down to my mid-shin. I was disappointed, as I would not have ordered the dress had I known it was Petite, rather than 0R. Also, the dress I received had two holes in it, which were fairly noticeable. I've always had a great experience with RTR in the past, so I think this was just a fluke.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 10, 2013
This dress is so classy and comfortable!
I wore the XS in this dress and it fit like a glove. I loved the cinched front and the modest slit. I received so many complements throughout the night on this dress! I normally wear a S so I would recommend sizing down or else the dress can be a little baggy. This dress is so versatile with accessories! I totally recommend it!
RebeccaMay 5, 2013
We are basically the same height and bust size, and I was wondering if you wore high heels, how tall were they? Last time I rented from RTR the dress was VERY long. Thank you!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
September 19, 2012
This was great, comfortable and fit really well
-
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
very happy with this dress and the overall service of RTR.com!!!!!!!!!<3
i rented this dress for my first high school prom and was extremely happy with it!! i got the XSL and the MR. the xsmall fit perfectly and wasnt too tight but showed off everything i wanted it to, i wore 5 inch heels and the dress came to the top of my heels:)) the medium regular was pretty short and came to the middle of my calf... i am 5'6 and 130 lbs with an athletic body. this dress is super comfortable, i was able to really get down and dance in it. only problem i had was the second layer slip underneath kept riding up to my hips and over my butt and id have to pull it down constantly. since the dress was pretty thin i didnt sweat too much. i choose not to wear a bra with it and that was a mega plus i also recieved so many compliments on it!! definitely recommend
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2013
I wore this for a summer wedding and LOVED it!!
The fit was exactly how RTR described. The slit was a sexy yet sophisticated touch and the low back was my fav!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
This is a amazing dress, that made me feel absolutely beautiful for my senior prom.
I liked this dress because it was simple, comfortable, and could easily be added to with some fab accessories. I did just that, and added a colorful pair of wedges along with a bracelet and matching earrings. I'm 5'7 and 130" and ordered my dress in the size XS Long. Ideally I would have liked to order this dress in a size Small Long, but it wasn't available, but based on other reviews it seems like it could be kinda baggy. My dress fit just right though. I would suggest though, that if you are taller then to order the dress in a Long, I thought the dress could have been a bit longer personally, but the length also makes it really easy to walk in. I received many complements on this dress and loved how it made me stand out with still being simple. I would recommend this dress for all shapes and sizes. It does show of curves, but it also does a great job at hiding curves at the same time.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 20, 2013
Short! Cute cut
I loved this cut and it was such a sleek, classy dress, unfortunately it was really short. I'm only 5'5" but even with flats it was short. Order a LONG!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×