Helmut Lang

Kiss of Death Gown

$78 to buy
$520 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 19, 2012
This was great, comfortable and fit really well
-
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
very happy with this dress and the overall service of RTR.com!!!!!!!!!<3
i rented this dress for my first high school prom and was extremely happy with it!! i got the XSL and the MR. the xsmall fit perfectly and wasnt too tight but showed off everything i wanted it to, i wore 5 inch heels and the dress came to the top of my heels:)) the medium regular was pretty short and came to the middle of my calf... i am 5'6 and 130 lbs with an athletic body. this dress is super comfortable, i was able to really get down and dance in it. only problem i had was the second layer slip underneath kept riding up to my hips and over my butt and id have to pull it down constantly. since the dress was pretty thin i didnt sweat too much. i choose not to wear a bra with it and that was a mega plus i also recieved so many compliments on it!! definitely recommend
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2013
I wore this for a summer wedding and LOVED it!!
The fit was exactly how RTR described. The slit was a sexy yet sophisticated touch and the low back was my fav!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
This is a amazing dress, that made me feel absolutely beautiful for my senior prom.
I liked this dress because it was simple, comfortable, and could easily be added to with some fab accessories. I did just that, and added a colorful pair of wedges along with a bracelet and matching earrings. I'm 5'7 and 130" and ordered my dress in the size XS Long. Ideally I would have liked to order this dress in a size Small Long, but it wasn't available, but based on other reviews it seems like it could be kinda baggy. My dress fit just right though. I would suggest though, that if you are taller then to order the dress in a Long, I thought the dress could have been a bit longer personally, but the length also makes it really easy to walk in. I received many complements on this dress and loved how it made me stand out with still being simple. I would recommend this dress for all shapes and sizes. It does show of curves, but it also does a great job at hiding curves at the same time.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
June 20, 2013
Short! Cute cut
I loved this cut and it was such a sleek, classy dress, unfortunately it was really short. I'm only 5'5" but even with flats it was short. Order a LONG!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 28, 2013
Pretty but too short
pretty dress but not for a formal affair. Also rather short. I'm 5'6 and it was too short even in bare feet. This would be a great dinner dress or a semi formal event for a person 5'3.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding affair!
The fit was perfect! Some may think it's a little snug, but definitely shows off those curves. I was worried about the slit being too high from reading others reviews, but it was just fine. I wore it to a black tie wedding and wasn't sure if I'd be too under dressed or over dressed, so this was a good medium. It was easy to dress up with gold and silver accessories. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 15, 2013
This dress made me feel amazing. Total class but also incredibly sexy
I felt like a model. Wore it for a work charity event where i knew i would be out numbered by men 3 to 1 (commerical real estate in nyc is like that) so wonderful way to "blend into a sea of suits" but still look womanly. I got xs and s andended up wearing the xs. Fit like a glove and im normally a 2. Fabric is forgiving and slit is just the right height/length. (If it werent a male dominated work event, i might have wanted it a little higher). Im 5'3 and the length was ok - but i wore 4.5 inch heels. Would def retn Gain for last minute black tie eventz!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 16, 2014
Too Short couldn't wear.
I have actually attempted to rent and wear this dress two times now for the same black tie charity event (2 years in a row). Last year, it didn't arrive, RTR did send others to replace....I assume who ever rented it before me didn't return it on time or in good condition because it was suddenly not available. When this year rolled around, I rented it early (mths in advance) and they no longer offered a Long length but, I didn't see this a big problem since I am 5'3". However, both sizes (Small and Med) were too short. The small fit great but, fell mid calf and the medium was a little longer but still too short with a flat foot. I called RTR right away and they were very understanding and over nighted me 2 sizes of another style of my choosing. Fingers crossed that one of them will be long enough since I ordered the regular length and long. After reading allot of reviews on many dresses....it seems that this problem occurs often. I usually have a length problem but, ALWAYS it is because it is too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
February 25, 2014
Gala-Worthy!
I wore this dress to the 25th Anniversary Gala for the National Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, DC. It was an amazing night since I was invited personally by the Director of the museum to represent one of their artists. I love Helmut Lang for it's modern, sleek silhouettes - and I knew I could pull of wearing black with just a pop of color. (especially in the more conservative climate of Washington) This dress highlights your figure, and I especially love the slit in the front - added bonus: showing a little leg! I'm busty, and curvy and the L worked perfectly. Perfect for a black-tie affair if you're looking for understated elegance. -- It must be, because I had my picture snapped for Washingtonian Magazine!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 2, 2013
This Dress is Definitely a Stunner!
I wore the dress for a Fraternity Banquet, I felt gorgeous all night long and got multiple compliments on the dress. It does have a slim fit, so if you are a self conscious about your tummy I would suggest a size up. The slit was a nice touch of sexy, and definitely made it a little easier to move around in! I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 27, 2011
Would rent again.
This dress in XSR is 150 cm / 59 inches long. As with most Helmut Lang, it is cut slim. I am 5'2", and with a pair of 3" heels, the hem lightly brushes against the floor (very elegant, just the perfect floor length). The slit back is a great detail: from the side, the bottom edge of the slit creates a subtle drape. And unlike the photo, the front slit does not cut as high as it looks (it hit an inch above the knee for me, in heels). I felt great in this dress and will definitely rent it again for the next black tie occasion.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2011
Stunning dress. Understated, very flattering. The jersey is comfortable and drapes wonderfully. The slit is lower than pictured, but is still provocative.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2012
super satisfied
I rented this guy for a formal black tie wedding in San Francisco City Hall. Big hit - I felt very comfortable and received many compliments. I'm a street size 6...rented both a S and M and chose the wear the S - it hugged my body in all the right places despite not being floor length.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2012
This dress was not for me- very underwhelming.
I rented this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. I lean toward simpler styles in solid colors- this was perfect for me! I envisioned my curves wowing in this column dress. Unfortunately, the dress ended up being far less. The fabric was thin and cheap feeling, and the dress hung horribly on my frame. The pleating in the front did not look anything like it does on the model. Overall it was unflattering and I ended up returning it.
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 25, 2013
Great dress! it is shapy, but the fabic doesn't cling
I'm a curvey 170, 36DD, but I LOVE wearing this dress and got tons of compliments! I was able to find a strapless bra that was low enough in the back, but be ware the back is low! I will say the lining of the dress would go one way and the top layer would go the other!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 3, 2013
great to have 2 sizes to choose from
a bit short, but OK.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×