Helmut Lang

Chat Later Dress

$60 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this asymmetric style by Helmut Lang. This sculptural little black dress is anything, but plain - a showstopper for your night on the town! Add standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Grey Swirl Triple Row Necklace to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte (62% Viscose, 31% Nylon, 7% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt with tulip hem. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

149 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 121
Large 3
Photos 81
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
May 3, 2014

Fantastic dress but a little long!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It's a great lbd but I would have liked it to be a bit shorter. I couldn't wear the small because it was too big, I wish the x-small was available. I will definitely rent this dress again!!
JessL
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2014

The dress made me feel beautiful.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had no cons for this dress it was perfect. The cut made me feel sexy without fear of the dress riding up. Loved loved loved this dress.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 13, 2014

Amazing customer service!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This body con dress is a sexy stunner. Wore for my birthday in Las Vegas
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 17, 2014

Very cute dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was feeling bloated at the time so I didn't end up wearing it, but otherwise a great dress.
FashionMama
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2014

Great LBD

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wanted something a little different and the neck line, shoulder detail and angled cut at the knee was perfect for a birthday celebration of dinner and dancing. I'm normally a size 6 and the small felt really snug so I went up a size to the M and it fit perfectly. The fabric is a thick, soft, stretchy fabric (almost jersey feeling) that was easy to dance in without worry of my skirt creeping up. The cut around the shoulder was sexy but not overtly. The only very minor issue I had was finding a bra that worked with this dress. I tried on a few strapless bras to find one that was low enough under my arms so you couldn't see my bra. I would highly recommend this for any occasion when you need a comfortable LBD.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2014

Simple but stunning

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Runs TTS. With a statement necklace, it's killer.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 23, 2014

Hot dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very form fitting, but classy LBD
Iwalani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 28, 2014

Great for a night out on the town

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got this dress as a backup. Although I did not wear it, when I tried it on it had a great fit and thickness to it. I am very short (4'10") and the skirt was short on me! Not the best cut on top for a petite gal - the shoulder fit was awkward.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Lovely

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for my birthday dinner. It's a little long, but flattering, so if you're looking for a sexy dress that doesn't have your, ah hem, assets hanging out, then this could be the right dress for you. My only regret is that I was all "no photos, please"!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Fantastic LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is an amazing dress. So sleek and sexy yet the most comfortable dress ever. I cannot say enough how comfortable. I wasn't messing with it or concerned about bra/boob/hem etc. super flattering cut on the shoulders. I have slightly broad shoulders and this dress complemented them nicely.
Leiah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the asymmetrical hem line! Great fabric! Sucked everything in ;)
Connie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Perfect fit.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely perfect fit. The angled straps make it unique from other LBDs. The dress was flattering and very slimming. Received tons of compliments too. I had to purchase the NUBRA Seamless Adhesive Bra from RTR because the arm openings dipped lower than regular dresses so there was no way you could wear a regular strapless. All in all, I'm obsessed with this dress and am considering purchasing this dress for my own collection if I can find it!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Great Dress however don't get the Medium!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress and the second from Helmut Lang that I have ordered. These dresses fit the body nicely and have a stretch to them. I was planning on wearing the medium however the zipper kept opening and therefore I was unable to wear it. The way the straps are compliment the arms very well. I loved the dress but wish there was not a malfunction with the Medium!! I would definitely recommend any other size!
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Missed opportunity

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was the definition of LBD. Unfortunately, a day before my delivery I received an email from RTR saying the size M was not available. I still received the large, but it was too big to wear out for the night, so I wore the backup dress they sent instead. I would consider trying to rent this dress again, aiming for the M, and maybe even the S instead of the L as my backup size. Wish I could have worn this!
Maisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jul 6, 2014

20th Anniversary of Essence Music Fest in NOLA

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very flattering but does not give. I can usually wear a M but this dress runs small. Therefore, it was a little uncomfortable after dinner. I think if I had ordered a size L, it would have been perfect. However, this didn't stop me from "Partying Like It's 1999!" with Prince :-)
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Jul 13, 2014

Cassie and Val's wedding

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. Very, very comfortable. Great length. Unfortunately, my size (M) was not available so I went up and the dress was a little big. Classy and highly recommended. Would order your size or down a size due to stretchiness.
Rina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Sexy but I didn't wear it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit well, the fabric was a little heavy which I liked, but I didn't wear it. It was a backup dress and I went with my first choice. When trying this on, I kept thinking of it as a Kardashian type dress.
CMG
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 16, 2014

Loved this dress! I received a ton of compliments throughout the night, simple but totally chic!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit. Perfect for a wedding. Has an awkward neckline (halter but not) which made it a little difficult to find the right bra to pair it with because I have a slightly bigger chest. But still loved the way it looked and felt. I think the unique neckline and asymmetrical hem is what makes this dress so chic, so I kept it very simple with accessories and hair. I would stick with statement earrings to dress it up. Overall, awesome dress, would highly recommend!
Alejandra
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Simple, but sexy and fun.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Great fit!
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

True quality

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric of this dress is CALIDAD/QUALITY at the most. (You can totally tell by the weight & texture of the dress). Not like dresses nowadays that are all polyester & hang loose all over your body. This dress fitted well & molded all the imperfections on my body. Another thing: the dress was long enough that it did not ride up when I walked, especially, nor when I danced. Be forewarned this dress will make you sweat if you decide to dance all night.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

I have never felt so beautiful as I did in this outfit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Let's first start by saying that I rented this for my bachelorette party in Las Vegas to wear to Tao and when I did a little "fashion show" for my very reserved fiance his comment was "when can you rent that one again?" I paired the dress with a coral Kate Spade bead necklace that made all the difference. Had I just worn it plain, it would have been beautiful too, but I think a pop of color works great as well. I can't wait to rent this outfit again, and am hoping one day I can afford to buy it, because it is truly spectacular.
Lisa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Love this dress! Its very fitted so Spanx (or equivalent) helps. Very sexy dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fitted, shows all curves! Great for date night or holiday party!
DenverRunner
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Hot dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Wore this for my anniversary date with my husband and he loved it! It's a super hot dress. I did size up because I didn't want a skin tight dress, especially when going out to eat!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Sad it didn't work out, but hoping to rent it again!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning - I ordered it hoping I would be able to dress it "down" for a wedding but ultimately decided it was just too much for the event and I didn't wear it. It's stretchy and somehow still structured and supportive, I could have worn either the M or the L and I am a 34DDD and curvy. The large was a bit more comfortable (would not be afraid to eat a lot!) but was longer than anticipated.
seven
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

it's okay

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
it's okay, not much more to say
alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas and it was a big hit! It was super comfortable, stayed put (I didn't have to spend the whole night pulling it down), and looked good. The material is nice - it has weight to it without being too heavy. Great dress to accessorize with fun jewelry and shoes. I even thought about wearing it again the next night - I liked it that much!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

Felt thin!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Looked great on. Very expensive looking fabric and sucks you in. Very sophisticated and sexy at the same time.
Vicky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Never wore this dress, too big unfortunately

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a medium in this dress, without a backup based on reviews, but it was too loose on me and I wish I had gotten a small. It's a very simple dress, but pretty. It was a little long on me in the medium and I think if I had the small it would have been a better length on me.
2ofHearts
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Fit like a glove

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
sexy LBD
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

This dress was perfect for my event!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I originally ordered this dress in a small and a medium, but was later informed that the medium was damaged and was sent the small, along with a different style dress. The small ended up fitting great! I am 5'10" and length was not an issue at all, the dress is a little longer in the back than the front. The thick material is extremely flattering and comfortable. I wore this to a sorority event and dressed it up with black strappy heels and a RTR necklace. I received compliments all night!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

I little snug on the legs

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I've seen this dress for a while now and decided to rent it - first dress I have sent back without wearing. The top half of the dress fit amazing - really shows off your arms (is that is what you want). But the bottom: too snug. It had the elastic feeling of spanx, but not in a good way since my legs were being squished together. I'm 5-6, and it was a little long as well.
Mari
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

Perfect LBD!!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress!!! The length was great, not too long but short enough to still look good. I love the cut around the shoulders too and the neck line. I got compliments all night long. I could see myself wearing this dress just for a night out too.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Wedding
You can't go wrong with this dress. Fun neckline and it hugs you in all the right areas. I was very comfortable all night and the length was appropriate for my event.
Chrissy8
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Super sexy and form flattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super sexy black dress. Extremely comfortable. Hugged my every curve in all of the right ways and in all of the right ways. Dress hem stayed put too. I had no problems with it riding up throughout the night. I agree with some of the other reviews that I've read that it needs to be worn with a statement piece. I chose sexy embellished booties and shiny earrings.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

Really Comfortable and Stylish

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this for my friend's bachelorette party in Miami and the dress was so flattering and comfortable that I never wanted to take it off. The only draw back was that the arm straps weren't in line with my tan line. But otherwise it was great and will rent again.
jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

This dress is conservative enough for a wedding but also sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am long waisted so I was right between sizes as I usually am. I ended up in the S because the M was too loose through the waist. The small did ride up a little when I sat but that is true of most dresses that are fitted and you are long waisted. I found the neckline really flattering.
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Great dress - felt awesome in it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding and it fit like a glove. Very comfortable and the asymmetrical hem adds interest. I would definitely rent again - this is a great LBD.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

Really unique dress, extremely flattering.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so sad to give this back! The perfect amount of edge for a LBD. I received so many compliments and felt so confident the entire night! I was able to wear a butterfly back bra, but fair warning - the slit is too high to wear spanx.
KThom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 26, 2015

A perfect LBD! More unique in person than in pictures. Perfect with a statement necklace.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. It was so comfortable! I got so many compliments on it. Not your typical little black dress. I would definitely rent it again for other events. Pair it with a fun necklace, and it is classy but sexy. I ordered a both a Small and Medium, but RTR did not have a Small, so they sent me a backup dress. I usually fit in Smalls and Mediums, but for this dress, the Medium was perfect. I did not wear a bra, but just know that the back is unique, so you would probably have to wear a strapless. Love it! Would totally recommend it!
Lauri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Upgrade to the LBD!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit snug but felt sexy. Material is perfect for slimming you down.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×