Helmut Lang

Chat Later Dress

$60 rental
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this asymmetric style by Helmut Lang. This sculptural little black dress is anything, but plain - a showstopper for your night on the town! Add standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Grey Swirl Triple Row Necklace to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black ponte (62% Viscose, 31% Nylon, 7% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt with tulip hem. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share
192 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(144)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 23, 2014
Hot dress!
Very form fitting, but classy LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 28, 2014
Great for a night out on the town
I got this dress as a backup. Although I did not wear it, when I tried it on it had a great fit and thickness to it. I am very short (4'10") and the skirt was short on me! Not the best cut on top for a petite gal - the shoulder fit was awkward.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
May 28, 2014
Perfect LBD!
Great fit and very forgiving. It's very simple so I wore it out with a statement necklace. I would actually buy this to have it as a staple in my closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2014
Lovely
This dress was perfect for my birthday dinner. It's a little long, but flattering, so if you're looking for a sexy dress that doesn't have your, ah hem, assets hanging out, then this could be the right dress for you. My only regret is that I was all "no photos, please"!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2014
PERFECT for tall girls
I'm normally constantly puling down dresses to make sure they're long enough, not with this dress. I'm 6'0 and wore 2.5 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect. The cut of the shoulders was very flattering. Comfortable dress with thick, expensive fabric. The fabric was not too thick for a summer wedding, though. Trying to find it online!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 158lbs
June 11, 2014
The perfect mix of classy and sexy for a 30th birthday!
THIS DRESS. I would buy it tomorrow! Both the S and M fit well, I'd recommend a size down for a snug, sexy fit. My only complaint is that this was MUCH longer than I was expecting. I'm 5'2" and it pretty much hit me just above the knee! Short girls, it's still sexy but definitely won't look like the photo. I wore it with blue heeled sandals to add some sass to my 30th birthday dinner. I was going for classy and fabulous, with a hint of sexy. It was perfect for that - even my husband mentioned several times how much he loved my dress. I'd heart this one and save it for the perfect occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
June 12, 2014
Fantastic LBD
This is an amazing dress. So sleek and sexy yet the most comfortable dress ever. I cannot say enough how comfortable. I wasn't messing with it or concerned about bra/boob/hem etc. super flattering cut on the shoulders. I have slightly broad shoulders and this dress complemented them nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
June 12, 2014
Great LBD!
Love the asymmetrical hem line! Great fabric! Sucked everything in ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 17, 2014
Very comfortable and forgiving
This dress was perfect for my best friends bachelorette party. It rode up a little bit when I walked, but it was ok since I'm a little on the short side anyways. I loved the zipper detail and how it goes all the way up your back. Felt great in this dress and loved the cut!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect fit.
Absolutely perfect fit. The angled straps make it unique from other LBDs. The dress was flattering and very slimming. Received tons of compliments too. I had to purchase the NUBRA Seamless Adhesive Bra from RTR because the arm openings dipped lower than regular dresses so there was no way you could wear a regular strapless. All in all, I'm obsessed with this dress and am considering purchasing this dress for my own collection if I can find it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
June 23, 2014
The whole experience was flawless! From ordering to talking to a consultant to getting the dress!!
This dress is fantastic! I'm usually a small but it wasn't available so I went with the medium, and it fit great! The fabric is stretchy, breathes great, and was no fuss the whole night (even when dancing)! This dress hides any problem areas and is just super fun to wear! I would definitely recommend this LBD for any occasion! Got so many compliments I just wanted to keep it and wear it all the time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 24, 2014
Great Dress however don't get the Medium!
This is a great dress and the second from Helmut Lang that I have ordered. These dresses fit the body nicely and have a stretch to them. I was planning on wearing the medium however the zipper kept opening and therefore I was unable to wear it. The way the straps are compliment the arms very well. I loved the dress but wish there was not a malfunction with the Medium!! I would definitely recommend any other size!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
June 26, 2014
Was the perfect dress for my birthday date night! Loved it so much I wore it the next day with flats
I was having a difficult time finding dresses that fit right on RTR, and was about to give up, but this dress was PERFECT!!!! I loved it so much that I wore it the next day with flats and a jacket for dinner with girlfriends. I am naturally top heavy so a bra is necessary with most dresses, but this one held up the girls and supported them wonderfully. The fabric is as bit think, but not a bad thing. It basically hugs where it needs to and flattens what needs it. The slit is not too high but still makes it look sexy. Highly suggested, and would even consider buying. Make sure you have a great statement necklace to go with. Best of luck; I know I finally got mine!
JJuly 14, 2014
Where did you get the necklace you are wearing in this photo?! It fits perfectly on this outfit <3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2014
My first runway rental was a success! I will be back for more!
I ordered this dress in both S and M for a wedding. I found that with a strapless bra it was a little snug in the bust area, so I chose to wear the M, which is overall slightly bigger, but NOT by much. The medium was a great fit, and the stretchy fabric made it very comfortable to wear! It landed just above my knee even though I have a short height. I paired this up with the grey Kate Spade necklace seen on the model. I received compliments all night and can not wait to rent my next dress. The process from beginning to end was seamless! So glad I tried this!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
July 6, 2014
20th Anniversary of Essence Music Fest in NOLA
This dress is very flattering but does not give. I can usually wear a M but this dress runs small. Therefore, it was a little uncomfortable after dinner. I think if I had ordered a size L, it would have been perfect. However, this didn't stop me from "Partying Like It's 1999!" with Prince :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
July 6, 2014
This dress fit perfectly!
So glad I rented this dress! It fit perfectly and the material was so comfortable! I was very happy with my decision to rent this dress for my bachelorette party. The only minor minor con was that it rode up a little when I was walking, so I did have to pull it down occasionally (but I also chose to wear the smaller size). I would buy this dress if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 8, 2014
The perfect little black dress!
There are not enough good things I can say about this dress. I wore this dress out for my birthday and it fit perfectly, the fabric was thick, and was long enough that it didn't have to keep pulling it down all night. I wanted to keep this dress so much! It was literally perfect. The cut was sexy and so flattering. I got so many compliments. I paired with a RTR necklace and strappy heel sandals. Highly recommend for a night out!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2014
Cassie and Val's wedding
Loved this dress. Very, very comfortable. Great length. Unfortunately, my size (M) was not available so I went up and the dress was a little big. Classy and highly recommended. Would order your size or down a size due to stretchiness.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
July 16, 2014
Loved this dress! I received a ton of compliments throughout the night, simple but totally chic!
Great fit. Perfect for a wedding. Has an awkward neckline (halter but not) which made it a little difficult to find the right bra to pair it with because I have a slightly bigger chest. But still loved the way it looked and felt. I think the unique neckline and asymmetrical hem is what makes this dress so chic, so I kept it very simple with accessories and hair. I would stick with statement earrings to dress it up. Overall, awesome dress, would highly recommend!
CatherineAugust 28, 2014
what kind of bra did you opt for?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
July 20, 2014
Many compliments & very fun LBD
I ordered a small & medium but ended up wearing the medium because it was a little longer and fit my chest better. It was very comfortable to wear and a fun alternative to the typical black dress. I added a colorful chunky necklace and it made the outfit complete.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 21, 2014
Simple, but sexy and fun.
Great fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 21, 2014
Simple Glamour
Absolutely perfect! An amazing dress for my very special cousins wedding. The length was perfect - short but not too short (I'm 5'5 with a true hourglass figure), perfect length to showcase your legs in a classy way. Enough stretch to hug in all the right places and a thick material to keep you wonderfully compact. Slim. You definitely need a strapless bra underneath - straps show even in a racer back style. I added a light spanx skirt underneath just to add the finishing smoothing touch. Love the dress! Will definitely rent again ... Would love to buy. A+++
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 16, 2013
Gorgeous dress that shows off your curves!
This dress may look like your basic black dress, but the cut of it makes you look amazing. The length was perfect and I loved how it accentuated my curves. I felt very feminine and the dress was very comfortable to wear. A+!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2014
My bachelorette
It is soooo comfortable and very flattering to boot!!! A perfect LBD!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2014
True quality
The fabric of this dress is CALIDAD/QUALITY at the most. (You can totally tell by the weight & texture of the dress). Not like dresses nowadays that are all polyester & hang loose all over your body. This dress fitted well & molded all the imperfections on my body. Another thing: the dress was long enough that it did not ride up when I walked, especially, nor when I danced. Be forewarned this dress will make you sweat if you decide to dance all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 5, 2014
I have never felt so beautiful as I did in this outfit!
Let's first start by saying that I rented this for my bachelorette party in Las Vegas to wear to Tao and when I did a little "fashion show" for my very reserved fiance his comment was "when can you rent that one again?" I paired the dress with a coral Kate Spade bead necklace that made all the difference. Had I just worn it plain, it would have been beautiful too, but I think a pop of color works great as well. I can't wait to rent this outfit again, and am hoping one day I can afford to buy it, because it is truly spectacular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 12, 2014
Amazing and flattering dress!
This dress was wonderful. This is the fourth dress I have rented from RTR and perhaps my favorite. It's a great cut and extremely comfortable. I've read other reviewers say they weren't a fan of the length, but I was so glad it was a little on the longer side. It kept it very classy! I wore this dress to my sister's engagement party, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I would absolutely recommend it for anyone looking for a cute and classy black dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2014
Love this dress! Its very fitted so Spanx (or equivalent) helps. Very sexy dress!
Fitted, shows all curves! Great for date night or holiday party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2014
Rtr makes dressing up for any event a breeze!!
I loved this dress. Perfect for a wedding. I am long and lean so, It was a bit big in the waist and legs but only something I could notice. Great material with lots of give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2014
Wore this for a bachelorette party- dressy enough for clubs but not too over the top for dive bars.
Medium was a bit too tight around the thighs and butt, large was a little too big in the chest and arms. Went with the large for comfort and wasn't disappointed after a night of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 27, 2014
Sad it didn't work out, but hoping to rent it again!
This dress is stunning - I ordered it hoping I would be able to dress it "down" for a wedding but ultimately decided it was just too much for the event and I didn't wear it. It's stretchy and somehow still structured and supportive, I could have worn either the M or the L and I am a 34DDD and curvy. The large was a bit more comfortable (would not be afraid to eat a lot!) but was longer than anticipated.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2014
I love this dress! It made me feel like a bond girl. I wore it to a Great Gatsby themed party.
I originally ordered the Small and the Medium but the Small was damaged. RTR was extremely accommodating and sent additional dress choices for me to choose from, some that I picked and some that the stylists picked. I can't say enough about the customer service, it was tremendous. In the end I had a lot of other dresses to choose from but I went with the Medium in this dress. Its possible that the small would have fit a bit better, but I loved everything about it so I have no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
September 7, 2014
Wore it for my senior pictures...
The dress was simply beautiful, but that's all; simple. The dress fit great and was comfortable, although I'm not sure what it did for my body type. I definitely recommend this to women who are tinier on the chest area. Just like other reviewers, I feel that it needed a statement necklace, but I decided not to rent one so it wouldn't distract from my photographs. I would rent it again, but for maybe a date, party, or night out. It's too simple for a special event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2014
it's okay
it's okay, not much more to say
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2014
Great quality, flattering cut! I wore this to the Oaks horse races and it was perfect!
The dress is body-con and fits a little snug. I'm 5'7'', 130lbs, and I typically wear a S (or size 4) in most designer dresses but took a M in this one. It does ride up a little when you walk. The fit is so flattering, especially for hourglass types. I would definitely wear it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2014
Loved it for a formal summer wedding!
The material had a good amount of give- making it a good fit for most body types whether you a busty or not. I am- and often have a hard time finding something that fits up top. I am a typical sz. 8 and the medium worked for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2014
Easy process and great customer service
This LBD has a little extra with the side slit... It was comfortable and fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress for Valentine's Day date night. I'm usually a size 4 and the small fit well but the medium fit even better (a little more breathing room). This dress was classy and sexy at the same time. I wish I owned it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
August 22, 2013
So chic and comfortable!
This was one of my favorite RTR dresses to wear. Incredibly chic cut and the fabric was so comfortable, I could have worn it forever! The small fit me in the waist but was a bit snug on the chest so I ended up wearing up the medium. Loved, loved, loved this dress and the Kate Spade necklace was the perfect addition!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 1, 2014
Simple but stunning
This dress is fabulous! I ordered the L and M and wore the M because it held me in a little better. The fabric has a slight stretch. The asymmetrical hem is stunning. Love the slightly longer length in the back. It definitely benefits from a big necklace, which I didn't have. Wish I owned this one! Will rent it again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×