Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Chat Later Dress

$60 rental
$295 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this asymmetric style by Helmut Lang. This sculptural little black dress is anything, but plain - a showstopper for your night on the town! Add standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Grey Swirl Triple Row Necklace to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte (62% Viscose, 31% Nylon, 7% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt with tulip hem. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share
170 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size133
Small22
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2015
Very sexy, flattering LBD for any occasion.
This dress fit like a glove. It was fitted but still comfortable to wear all night. One thing to note is that the cut makes it tough to wear anything but a strapless bra. I have numerous convertible bras and none of them would work. If you are small-busted, you would get away with not wearing a bra at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2014
Great presentation and packaging. I
Loved this dress. The cut made it more interesting than your basic LBD. The small would have worked, but the medium was more comfortable and not as short. As other reviewers have said, definitely need the statement necklace. I paired the dress with a Willow and slate necklace from the site.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 11, 2014
Perfect LBD
You can't go wrong with this dress. Fun neckline and it hugs you in all the right areas. I was very comfortable all night and the length was appropriate for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 10, 2014
Loooooooove this dress!
I could not have been happier with this dress. I've rented several dresses from Rent the Runway and this is by far my favorite dress so far. The fit was absolutely perfect and it was just stunning. I've never had the desire to rent a dress a second time, but I would rent this one again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 8, 2014
Perfectly form-fitting and comfortable. Gorgeous dress that demands a statement necklace.
The two sizes both fit really well, but the small was slightly too short in the front for sitting/dancing. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
November 17, 2014
First time using RTR and I can't wait to use it again
Love this dress and it fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2014
Great for an outdoor wedding.
Love the fit and shape of the dress. It was true to size. Hugged me perfectly without that tight, uncomfortable feeling. The wedding was in the summer and outside. The material was just right; not too light or heavy. The style and shape was unique and amazing! Love looking back at photos in this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2014
Perfect for a charity event.
I loved this dress! It was very flattering for my athletic build and the material was stretchy and comfortable. It was classy but with sex appeal. Will definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2014
Perfect LBD!!!!
I LOVED this dress!!! The length was great, not too long but short enough to still look good. I love the cut around the shoulders too and the neck line. I got compliments all night long. I could see myself wearing this dress just for a night out too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2014
I little snug on the legs
I've seen this dress for a while now and decided to rent it - first dress I have sent back without wearing. The top half of the dress fit amazing - really shows off your arms (is that is what you want). But the bottom: too snug. It had the elastic feeling of spanx, but not in a good way since my legs were being squished together. I'm 5-6, and it was a little long as well.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 10, 2014
This dress was perfect for my event!
I originally ordered this dress in a small and a medium, but was later informed that the medium was damaged and was sent the small, along with a different style dress. The small ended up fitting great! I am 5'10" and length was not an issue at all, the dress is a little longer in the back than the front. The thick material is extremely flattering and comfortable. I wore this to a sorority event and dressed it up with black strappy heels and a RTR necklace. I received compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 5, 2014
Comfortable & Flattering!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! So easy to wear and comfortable. The neckline was very flattering and while it required a strapless bra I didn't mind. All it needed was a sparkly necklace and I was good to go! Highly recommend for a night out that can be dressed up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
November 3, 2014
Fit like a glove
sexy LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2014
Fit perfectly--Perfect mix of sexy and classy
I actually got this dress as a backup, but as soon as I received it I knew this would be the one I would wear. This dress did run a bit small I thought, although I am usually right between a small and a medium. The medium fit perfectly. The length was perfect, a little sexy angle to it, but long enough to keep everything where it was supposed to be when you're dancing/walking. I paired it with the belle fleur necklace and got compliments all night. Definitely rent this dress, you won't be disappointed.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2014
This dress is a great LBD - and will make you feel pretty and sexy
Wore this to a daytime formal wedding. The dress has very clean lines, so I just dressed it up by layering 2 statement necklaces. It is very flattering and comfortable - would definitely recommend it and you cannot beat the price.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2014
awesome!
Im very tall so the medium worked perfectly, it was just short enough to be sexy but not too short to reveal anything, I loved it, so comfortable and I got so many compliments on it.. in the photo I'm all the way to the right!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2014
Never wore this dress, too big unfortunately
I ordered a medium in this dress, without a backup based on reviews, but it was too loose on me and I wish I had gotten a small. It's a very simple dress, but pretty. It was a little long on me in the medium and I think if I had the small it would have been a better length on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 17, 2014
Classic & Beautiful LDB - So Many Compliments
At least 4 friends asked to borrow this dress within the first 5 minutes of seeing it haha. Classic, chic black dress I paired with a gold necklace also rented from RTR to dress it up a bit. Really well constructed dress and it fit like a glove. It has interesting angles that make it really unique and pretty and the material is very comfy and flattering. Didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
October 11, 2014
Loved the dress
The dress was great! It was a good length, and long enough to dance comfortably.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2014
Didn't wear but Loved it!
I rented this as a backup dress to the Parker Claudia dress which I ended up wearing because I wanted something a little less conservative. This dress has a fun structured top and the bottom is slightly asymmetrical both of which are flattering. I would definitely rent this again for a wedding or party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2014
Perfect little black dress with a lot of creativity to dress up or down.
I rented a medium and a small. The medium was a bit looser on top, but fit well around the waist. The small fit on top but was very very fitted around the hips. I ended up wearing the small and loved the length of it. Often LBDs are too short and not appropriate for a wedding. This one was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 1, 2014
Simple but stunning
This dress is fabulous! I ordered the L and M and wore the M because it held me in a little better. The fabric has a slight stretch. The asymmetrical hem is stunning. Love the slightly longer length in the back. It definitely benefits from a big necklace, which I didn't have. Wish I owned this one! Will rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 25, 2014
Felt thin!
Looked great on. Very expensive looking fabric and sucks you in. Very sophisticated and sexy at the same time.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2014
Easy process and great customer service
This LBD has a little extra with the side slit... It was comfortable and fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2014
Perfection
This dress was perfect for a night out in Vegas. It was sexy but not over the top. I'm tall so I usually have a problem finding dresses that are the appropriate length. This was just long enough that I wasn't pulling it down all night. The fabric is comfy and stretchy. It was a no hassle dress. Fit perfectly. I loved the cut of the top and the asymmetrical hem line. I would consider renting it again for another event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2014
Great party dress!
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas and it was a big hit! It was super comfortable, stayed put (I didn't have to spend the whole night pulling it down), and looked good. The material is nice - it has weight to it without being too heavy. Great dress to accessorize with fun jewelry and shoes. I even thought about wearing it again the next night - I liked it that much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2014
it's okay
it's okay, not much more to say
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2014
Loved it for a formal summer wedding!
The material had a good amount of give- making it a good fit for most body types whether you a busty or not. I am- and often have a hard time finding something that fits up top. I am a typical sz. 8 and the medium worked for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2014
Wore it for my senior pictures...
The dress was simply beautiful, but that's all; simple. The dress fit great and was comfortable, although I'm not sure what it did for my body type. I definitely recommend this to women who are tinier on the chest area. Just like other reviewers, I feel that it needed a statement necklace, but I decided not to rent one so it wouldn't distract from my photographs. I would rent it again, but for maybe a date, party, or night out. It's too simple for a special event.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 29, 2014
I love this dress! It made me feel like a bond girl. I wore it to a Great Gatsby themed party.
I originally ordered the Small and the Medium but the Small was damaged. RTR was extremely accommodating and sent additional dress choices for me to choose from, some that I picked and some that the stylists picked. I can't say enough about the customer service, it was tremendous. In the end I had a lot of other dresses to choose from but I went with the Medium in this dress. Its possible that the small would have fit a bit better, but I loved everything about it so I have no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 28, 2014
Love how this dress fit
Sorry for the bad photo! I originally got this dress for a back up but loved it so much I wore it for my main dress! It fit like a glove but hugged in all the right spots. I felt super sexy in it. It was a perfect dress for a night in Vegas!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 27, 2014
Sad it didn't work out, but hoping to rent it again!
This dress is stunning - I ordered it hoping I would be able to dress it "down" for a wedding but ultimately decided it was just too much for the event and I didn't wear it. It's stretchy and somehow still structured and supportive, I could have worn either the M or the L and I am a 34DDD and curvy. The large was a bit more comfortable (would not be afraid to eat a lot!) but was longer than anticipated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2014
Wore this for a bachelorette party- dressy enough for clubs but not too over the top for dive bars.
Medium was a bit too tight around the thighs and butt, large was a little too big in the chest and arms. Went with the large for comfort and wasn't disappointed after a night of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2014
Rtr makes dressing up for any event a breeze!!
I loved this dress. Perfect for a wedding. I am long and lean so, It was a bit big in the waist and legs but only something I could notice. Great material with lots of give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 13, 2014
Hot dress!
Wore this for my anniversary date with my husband and he loved it! It's a super hot dress. I did size up because I didn't want a skin tight dress, especially when going out to eat!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2014
Love this dress! Its very fitted so Spanx (or equivalent) helps. Very sexy dress!
Fitted, shows all curves! Great for date night or holiday party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 12, 2014
Amazing and flattering dress!
This dress was wonderful. This is the fourth dress I have rented from RTR and perhaps my favorite. It's a great cut and extremely comfortable. I've read other reviewers say they weren't a fan of the length, but I was so glad it was a little on the longer side. It kept it very classy! I wore this dress to my sister's engagement party, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I would absolutely recommend it for anyone looking for a cute and classy black dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 5, 2014
I have never felt so beautiful as I did in this outfit!
Let's first start by saying that I rented this for my bachelorette party in Las Vegas to wear to Tao and when I did a little "fashion show" for my very reserved fiance his comment was "when can you rent that one again?" I paired the dress with a coral Kate Spade bead necklace that made all the difference. Had I just worn it plain, it would have been beautiful too, but I think a pop of color works great as well. I can't wait to rent this outfit again, and am hoping one day I can afford to buy it, because it is truly spectacular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
July 30, 2014
True quality
The fabric of this dress is CALIDAD/QUALITY at the most. (You can totally tell by the weight & texture of the dress). Not like dresses nowadays that are all polyester & hang loose all over your body. This dress fitted well & molded all the imperfections on my body. Another thing: the dress was long enough that it did not ride up when I walked, especially, nor when I danced. Be forewarned this dress will make you sweat if you decide to dance all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 21, 2014
Simple Glamour
Absolutely perfect! An amazing dress for my very special cousins wedding. The length was perfect - short but not too short (I'm 5'5 with a true hourglass figure), perfect length to showcase your legs in a classy way. Enough stretch to hug in all the right places and a thick material to keep you wonderfully compact. Slim. You definitely need a strapless bra underneath - straps show even in a racer back style. I added a light spanx skirt underneath just to add the finishing smoothing touch. Love the dress! Will definitely rent again ... Would love to buy. A+++
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×