Helmut Lang

Chat Later Dress

$103 to buy
$295 retail
Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this asymmetric style by Helmut Lang. This sculptural little black dress is anything, but plain - a showstopper for your night on the town! Add standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Grey Swirl Triple Row Necklace to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black ponte (62% Viscose, 31% Nylon, 7% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt with tulip hem. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share
197 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(148)
Small
(26)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
September 22, 2013
Little black dress with big wow factor

I wore this dress for a wedding. I own a few Helmut Lang blazers, knowing things run a little on the smaller/fitted end I rented the medium. I probably could have gotten away with the small, but it would have been skin tight. This dress was so comfortable and hugged me in all the right places. I think it is very flatter for small busted women. Th length was perfect! This has been my favortie RTR rental so far!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 18, 2014
Loved it!

I loved this dress. Very comfortable, stylish dress with a slight stretch to the material so it gave way for dancing and the like :) Got a TON of compliments all night and you really can't beat the price. The only thing I didn't realize is that the zipper is silver and I had planned to wear gold jewelry but was able to change it up last minute, just glad I didn't rent any gold jewelry. Overall, would definitely recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2014
Fit perfectly--Perfect mix of sexy and classy

I actually got this dress as a backup, but as soon as I received it I knew this would be the one I would wear. This dress did run a bit small I thought, although I am usually right between a small and a medium. The medium fit perfectly. The length was perfect, a little sexy angle to it, but long enough to keep everything where it was supposed to be when you're dancing/walking. I paired it with the belle fleur necklace and got compliments all night. Definitely rent this dress, you won't be disappointed.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 13, 2014
Hot dress!

Wore this for my anniversary date with my husband and he loved it! It's a super hot dress. I did size up because I didn't want a skin tight dress, especially when going out to eat!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2014
Great party dress!

I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas and it was a big hit! It was super comfortable, stayed put (I didn't have to spend the whole night pulling it down), and looked good. The material is nice - it has weight to it without being too heavy. Great dress to accessorize with fun jewelry and shoes. I even thought about wearing it again the next night - I liked it that much!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
September 25, 2014
Felt thin!

Looked great on. Very expensive looking fabric and sucks you in. Very sophisticated and sexy at the same time.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 10, 2016
High Class Style!

I adored this dress and also rented the necklace from the picture. Felt super classy and ready to take on anything. Was also comfy for going to the theatre and sitting for an extended period of time! Love it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 21, 2016
Loved it so much I didn't want to return it!

This dress was initially not my first choice... I had rented a different dress that neither size I tried fit so, in a panic, I called RTR the day before the wedding and they promised to have this one at my door by noon the day of. I loved this dress so much and wish I didn't have to return it! I'm so glad that the first dress didn't work out because I felt so amazing all night in this one. The medium was the only size that was available (I'm usually a small) so I really took a leap of faith and it was perfect! I was nervous because I have bigger hips and butt and most tight fitting dresses are too tight and ride up, which it did a bit, but the dress was long enough on me that I wasn't giving everyone a show. I imagine that someone with less booty wouldn't have this problem. The dress is tight so I did wear spanx to keep from looking bloated from eating and drinking. The front "slit" and neckline was the perfect amount of detail for this LBD. I paired the dress with a necklace and stud earrings that I also rented, and nude heels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139lbs
January 22, 2017
Lots of eating and dancing at our country clubs annual black tie event. The dress made me feel spec

The thick stretchy fabric hid a lot of extra pounds I had put on over the holidays. I had to wear spanx to smooth out my bulges and flatten my stomach. The dress mad me look a lot smaller than other outfits in my closet. The dress tended to wrinkle in the back due to the fact it was riding up in the back. I had to pull it down a lot to smooth out the back. I still LOVED wearing the dress. The asymmetric hemline, and cut out around the shoulders made this a WOW dress. I received a lot of compliment during the evening. A fun dress to dance in as it is stretchy and forgiving.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2014
Love this dress!

This dress fits super tight but it was so comfortable. The fabric was soft and stretchy. Perfect for the occasion. It was a winter wedding in Florida. Dressed it up with some nude pumps and a fun necklace. I would definitely rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 13, 2013
amazing, sexy dress

great dress - sexy neckline and hemline. fits true to size, ordered small but could have gone with xs if available. received multiple compliments - absolutely loved this dress, very flattering!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 14, 2013
Amazing!!!

What an amazing dress! Simple but so sexy and snug but very comfortable. If you work out your arms it's got an amazing cut that helps you show off your arms. It was the perfect bday dress! I want it back!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2013
Love it so much I want to buy it!

I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. Very flattering and a little edgier than a basic black dress. I ordered a small and medium- I'm typically a small but Helmut Lang and other higher end designers tend to run on the smaller side of "true to size". This was no exception- the small fit but was tight enough it would have ridden up. The medium fit like a glove. I'm a size 25/26, 34C and broad shoulders. bonus-The material is thick enough it doesn't show all the imperfections. Wish I had a picture but alas, I didn't end up taking any that night! If this dress ever goes on sale at Saks or Nordstrom, I will definitely think hard about buying it!

NancyNovember 6, 2013
Let us know if you ever find it on sale..I also want to buy and missed it a couple weeks ago on sale at Saks, it sold out :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2013
Sexy, comfortable dress kept it simple and chic!

I thought the dress fit nicely, not to snug or loose. I ordered the S and M, and only went with the M knowing that I would be wearing tights (and that waist band line is hella annoying) so I didn't want anything too clingy. It was flattering but definitely shows off the curves...so keep that in mind. Great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2013
Amazing dress and so flattering yet comfortable.

Great material and so comfortable. Flattering for all body types, I highly recommend the dress and would rent it again. The perfect LBD that every girl needs!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
December 1, 2013
This dress is pretty stunning. Quite the eye-catcher during a girls' night out!

Normally I wear a Medium but had to go with the Large for this one to give me room in the bust--I'm 5'8'', 136lbs, 34DD. It does fit like a glove and it's gorgeous!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
December 7, 2013
LOVED this dress, actually I'm trying to find it online to buy now!

Comfortable and flattering! I'm 5'10 and curvy and I didn't feel self conscience in it at all. Love, love love this dress.

StashaDecember 7, 2013
Love it with the blue shoes, great choice!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2013
Great LBD

Perfect for a company holiday party. Super comfortable and flattering. Paired it with the "Crystal Cluster" necklace, sheer black tights and booties. I wish I owned this dress. Would definitely rent it again.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 14, 2013
Love this dress!

This dress is so comfortable and flattering! I want to buy it!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 1, 2014
Stunning Perfect LBD!

This dress was more than I expected. It was stunning, edgy and a perfect take on the LBD. I got so many compliments. It fit perfectly. I can't wait to rent it again. It made for the best birthday night. Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 2, 2014
Perfect little black dress!

The dress is so flattering and comfortable. I went with the Medium because the Small was a little tight in the chest for me (34DD). I wore this for NYE with a bunch of fun jewelry and received so many compliments. Wish I could buy this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2014
Fits like a glove! Wanted a sporty look so I wore it with converse sneakers to make it casual

Fits great! Is not forgiving but the fabric is thicker!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
January 27, 2014
Loved everything about this dress!

Helmut Lang makes fabulous dresses and this one is no exception. This dress is simply amazing! The fit is perfect, it is comfortable and I could walk all around Vegas without it riding up. My boyfriend said it was "classy sexy" which is the look I was going for. Just wish that I could have purchased this dress. Thank you RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 29, 2014
Great fit

It fit like a glove! I paired it up with a classic pair of Louboutins and a pearl necklace - was very content with the look. Got lots of compliments on the elegant look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2014
This dress just works! Tight but comfortable! Short but not too short. Felt great in it!

Second choice dress. I had overnighted after my first choice did not fit right! Customer service was great and shipped this dress out. I was nervous it wouldn't fit right but it was perfect. My waist is much smaller than my hips so despite the curvy bottom, the waist was also very fitted. No baggyness or gaps as I have found in other dresses.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2014
Didn't want to return it!!

Such a flattering dress. It fit perfect and was very flattering. I got lots of compliments throughout the night! I will be renting this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 21, 2014
Can't recommend Rent the Runway more!

This dress is perfect. Helmut Lang delivers a perfectly simple, yet edgy foundation for a great total look. IT is very fitted but truly hugged my body in all the appropriate places. Of course I still wore Spanx underneath! I paired it with black booties and a leather combo asymmetrical jacket, with simple teardrop earrings and a David Yurman chain cuff. I LOVE Helmut Lang and this dress was no exception! Unfortunately forgot to take a picture.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2014
Amazing dress! Sexy without being too revealing.

I wore this dress to a cocktail party and it was a hit. The quality of this dress is amazing and it hugs your curves perfectly. It's Mardi Gras time where I live, so our weekend was filled with cocktail parties and brunches. This was my second RTR dress to wear over the weekend and everyone was asking where I got my beautiful clothes! I will definitely be using RTR for all of my future events.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
February 27, 2014
amazing dress

really comfortable and flattering. got so many compliments on this dress - just wish I owned it!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
March 3, 2014
Continuously getting complements on my dress.

The dress fit really well however it was a little longer than what i expected. I would suggest putting a larger necklace on around the neckline as well as to bring out another color. I would defiantly recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2014
Awesome, well fitting dress!

The dress fits true to size, after reading reviews I was worried the dress would be super long on me (5'4) but the length was perfect. It is a tight fitting dress but not super tight and uncomfortable and the thicker fabric doesn't show any imperfections.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 9, 2014
Perfect LBD, great Vegas dress.

Fits perfectly on body. Tight but stretchy. Form fitting. I wore this in Vegas and felt awesome in it. Short enough to be a sexy lbd but long enough in back to still have class. I love this dress!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 14, 2014
Sexy and sophisticated for a wedding

I received so many compliments on this dress for a wedding in October. The asymmetrical hemline and cut made this dress super flattering!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 1, 2014
AWESOME DRESS!

True to size and extremely flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 8, 2014
Loved this dress for the quality material, comfort, and cute style.

This is the perfect dress to pair with a stylish necklace. If I had it in my closet, it would be the perfect go to dress for any party. I would rent this one again.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2014
Great great dress!

This dress was crazy comfortable. It gave me so much room to walk around and dance in. Loved it!

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2014
I wore this to my husbands friends wedding at La Costa Resort. I would definitely rent again.......

You need a strapless bra for this dress . I wore a Lillyette minimizer . Very comfortable dress. Wish I owned it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2014
Fantastic dress but a little long!

It's a great lbd but I would have liked it to be a bit shorter. I couldn't wear the small because it was too big, I wish the x-small was available. I will definitely rent this dress again!!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2014
The dress made me feel beautiful.

I had no cons for this dress it was perfect. The cut made me feel sexy without fear of the dress riding up. Loved loved loved this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 17, 2014
Very cute dress

I was feeling bloated at the time so I didn't end up wearing it, but otherwise a great dress.

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×