Rent the Runway

Helmut Lang

Chat Later Dress

$60 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this asymmetric style by Helmut Lang. This sculptural little black dress is anything, but plain - a showstopper for your night on the town! Add standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Grey Swirl Triple Row Necklace to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte (62% Viscose, 31% Nylon, 7% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt with tulip hem. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

154 reviews

Fit
Small 19
True to Size 126
Large 3
Photos 84
Audrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 22, 2013

So chic and comfortable!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was one of my favorite RTR dresses to wear. Incredibly chic cut and the fabric was so comfortable, I could have worn it forever! The small fit me in the waist but was a bit snug on the chest so I ended up wearing up the medium. Loved, loved, loved this dress and the Kate Spade necklace was the perfect addition!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Little black dress with big wow factor

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding. I own a few Helmut Lang blazers, knowing things run a little on the smaller/fitted end I rented the medium. I probably could have gotten away with the small, but it would have been skin tight. This dress was so comfortable and hugged me in all the right places. I think it is very flatter for small busted women. Th length was perfect! This has been my favortie RTR rental so far!
Marina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

I need to buy this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove and was perfect for my cousins conneticut wedding. extremely comfortable fabric and stretched with my body in all the right places. i got compliments all night how great i looked. i also rented the earrings im wearring in the photo. i was extremely impressed that they arrived on the correct date also. i will def be renting again!
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Love this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so comfortable and flattering! I want to buy it!!
Aixa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Amazing!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
What an amazing dress! Simple but so sexy and snug but very comfortable. If you work out your arms it's got an amazing cut that helps you show off your arms. It was the perfect bday dress! I want it back!!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2013

Amazing Fit! Shows off your true assets!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: really accentuates true assets; simple dress that easy is to dress up; great for any occasion Cons: runs a tiny bit small; i went with the medium
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

I felt like a million bucks.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I cannot say enough good things about this dress. I loved it so much and felt wonderful in it. I got a ton of compliments all night. It's simple but beautiful.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Sexy, comfortable dress kept it simple and chic!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought the dress fit nicely, not to snug or loose. I ordered the S and M, and only went with the M knowing that I would be wearing tights (and that waist band line is hella annoying) so I didn't want anything too clingy. It was flattering but definitely shows off the curves...so keep that in mind. Great dress!
Nancy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 95 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Managed to combine two orders, customer service was very responsive and easy to work with.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing. The cut on the shoulders is phenomenal both in the front and the back. I could have worn the size Small, but because I'm so short it was a little long and I opted for the XS. This dress runs small; it is very stretchy but skin tight. I was not able to comfortably wear a bra with the XS, but it was so fitted it held me in just fine anyways. I received a ton of compliments, if you have defined arms, you will love this dress!
Abby
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 7, 2013

LOVED this dress, actually I'm trying to find it online to buy now!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable and flattering! I'm 5'10 and curvy and I didn't feel self conscience in it at all. Love, love love this dress.
Leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Gorgeous dress that shows off your curves!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress may look like your basic black dress, but the cut of it makes you look amazing. The length was perfect and I loved how it accentuated my curves. I felt very feminine and the dress was very comfortable to wear. A+!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

Stunning Perfect LBD!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was more than I expected. It was stunning, edgy and a perfect take on the LBD. I got so many compliments. It fit perfectly. I can't wait to rent it again. It made for the best birthday night. Thanks RTR!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Loved everything about this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Helmut Lang makes fabulous dresses and this one is no exception. This dress is simply amazing! The fit is perfect, it is comfortable and I could walk all around Vegas without it riding up. My boyfriend said it was "classy sexy" which is the look I was going for. Just wish that I could have purchased this dress. Thank you RTR!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

This dress just works! Tight but comfortable! Short but not too short. Felt great in it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Second choice dress. I had overnighted after my first choice did not fit right! Customer service was great and shipped this dress out. I was nervous it wouldn't fit right but it was perfect. My waist is much smaller than my hips so despite the curvy bottom, the waist was also very fitted. No baggyness or gaps as I have found in other dresses.
lainie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

Great little black dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Adorable dress, great for accessorizing. Definitely does not leave anything to the imagination, I normally wear a small and the medium was very snug but comfortable. If you are tall it feels pretty short with the cut.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for Valentine's Day date night. I'm usually a size 4 and the small fit well but the medium fit even better (a little more breathing room). This dress was classy and sexy at the same time. I wish I owned it!!
Kati
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Amazing dress! Sexy without being too revealing.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a cocktail party and it was a hit. The quality of this dress is amazing and it hugs your curves perfectly. It's Mardi Gras time where I live, so our weekend was filled with cocktail parties and brunches. This was my second RTR dress to wear over the weekend and everyone was asking where I got my beautiful clothes! I will definitely be using RTR for all of my future events.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

Love the neckline on this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a hot, tight dress. It's very fitted in a flattering way – sucks everything in. The neckline is very flattering and makes you look toned and athletic. I would definitely recommend for a party or cocktail attire event. The dress tends to ride up when you walk or sit, so be careful.
maddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Continuously getting complements on my dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit really well however it was a little longer than what i expected. I would suggest putting a larger necklace on around the neckline as well as to bring out another color. I would defiantly recommend this dress.
Marci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Mar 8, 2014

Awesome, well fitting dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fits true to size, after reading reviews I was worried the dress would be super long on me (5'4) but the length was perfect. It is a tight fitting dress but not super tight and uncomfortable and the thicker fabric doesn't show any imperfections.
Rsow77
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Perfect LBD, great Vegas dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fits perfectly on body. Tight but stretchy. Form fitting. I wore this in Vegas and felt awesome in it. Short enough to be a sexy lbd but long enough in back to still have class. I love this dress!!!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 14, 2014

Sexy and sophisticated for a wedding

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments on this dress for a wedding in October. The asymmetrical hemline and cut made this dress super flattering!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

I felt elegant and sexy at the same time.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
When finding a dress for the night on the town, I'm sick of seeing two extremes: slutty, too-thin dresses that scream "I'm 21!!!" and mature. frumpy-looking styles. I felt pretty and sexy in this dress and it accentuated whatever curves I have. It was comfortable to dance in all night long. I ordered two sizes-- Small and Medium -- and really could have gone with either. I have a small bust and the medium was a little baggy up top, so the small worked great.
Laceybug
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 28, 2014

I wore this to my husbands friends wedding at La Costa Resort. I would definitely rent again.......

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
You need a strapless bra for this dress . I wore a Lillyette minimizer . Very comfortable dress. Wish I owned it!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 12, 2014

Great quality, flattering cut! I wore this to the Oaks horse races and it was perfect!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is body-con and fits a little snug. I'm 5'7'', 130lbs, and I typically wear a S (or size 4) in most designer dresses but took a M in this one. It does ride up a little when you walk. The fit is so flattering, especially for hourglass types. I would definitely wear it again.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 18, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. Very comfortable, stylish dress with a slight stretch to the material so it gave way for dancing and the like :) Got a TON of compliments all night and you really can't beat the price. The only thing I didn't realize is that the zipper is silver and I had planned to wear gold jewelry but was able to change it up last minute, just glad I didn't rent any gold jewelry. Overall, would definitely recommend this dress!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111 lbs
May 19, 2014

Perfect in every way imaginable!! So happy and definitely renting again!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress!!! So happy!! It fit perfect, the material was a little thicker which made the fit flattering and the cut of the dress was so great- just a bit of an edgier LBD which is exactly what I wanted-definitely renting from RTR again!!!
Leila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
May 28, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Great fit and very forgiving. It's very simple so I wore it out with a statement necklace. I would actually buy this to have it as a staple in my closet.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 3, 2014

PERFECT for tall girls

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally constantly puling down dresses to make sure they're long enough, not with this dress. I'm 6'0 and wore 2.5 inch heels and the length was absolutely perfect. The cut of the shoulders was very flattering. Comfortable dress with thick, expensive fabric. The fabric was not too thick for a summer wedding, though. Trying to find it online!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Perfect LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress so much. It was comfortable and fit like a glove. I swear it was made for me. I felt great in it all night, perfect for a party. I'm small busted, petite, no curves.. this dress gave me some shape. Loved it!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 141 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

The perfect mix of classy and sexy for a 30th birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
THIS DRESS. I would buy it tomorrow! Both the S and M fit well, I'd recommend a size down for a snug, sexy fit. My only complaint is that this was MUCH longer than I was expecting. I'm 5'2" and it pretty much hit me just above the knee! Short girls, it's still sexy but definitely won't look like the photo. I wore it with blue heeled sandals to add some sass to my 30th birthday dinner. I was going for classy and fabulous, with a hint of sexy. It was perfect for that - even my husband mentioned several times how much he loved my dress. I'd heart this one and save it for the perfect occasion!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

My bachelorette

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is soooo comfortable and very flattering to boot!!! A perfect LBD!
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Very comfortable and forgiving

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my best friends bachelorette party. It rode up a little bit when I walked, but it was ok since I'm a little on the short side anyways. I loved the zipper detail and how it goes all the way up your back. Felt great in this dress and loved the cut!
Auberry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

The whole experience was flawless! From ordering to talking to a consultant to getting the dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is fantastic! I'm usually a small but it wasn't available so I went with the medium, and it fit great! The fabric is stretchy, breathes great, and was no fuss the whole night (even when dancing)! This dress hides any problem areas and is just super fun to wear! I would definitely recommend this LBD for any occasion! Got so many compliments I just wanted to keep it and wear it all the time!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Was the perfect dress for my birthday date night! Loved it so much I wore it the next day with flats

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I was having a difficult time finding dresses that fit right on RTR, and was about to give up, but this dress was PERFECT!!!! I loved it so much that I wore it the next day with flats and a jacket for dinner with girlfriends. I am naturally top heavy so a bra is necessary with most dresses, but this one held up the girls and supported them wonderfully. The fabric is as bit think, but not a bad thing. It basically hugs where it needs to and flattens what needs it. The slit is not too high but still makes it look sexy. Highly suggested, and would even consider buying. Make sure you have a great statement necklace to go with. Best of luck; I know I finally got mine!
Dana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 3, 2014

My first runway rental was a success! I will be back for more!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both S and M for a wedding. I found that with a strapless bra it was a little snug in the bust area, so I chose to wear the M, which is overall slightly bigger, but NOT by much. The medium was a great fit, and the stretchy fabric made it very comfortable to wear! It landed just above my knee even though I have a short height. I paired this up with the grey Kate Spade necklace seen on the model. I received compliments all night and can not wait to rent my next dress. The process from beginning to end was seamless! So glad I tried this!!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

I rented this dress for my bachelorette party, and it blew me away.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a big snug, and rode up a bit, but still looked amazing and gave me a very hourglass shape. Totally hot. All my girls gave me compliments and it definitely caught the eye of my future hubby when I tried it on to model for him before my weekend of scandal!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

This dress was amazing! I wish I owned it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit like a glove! So comfortable and flattering! Looked amazing with a statement necklace from the site!
MELANIE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

This dress is amazing. Fits like a glove

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress is cut beautifully. The little rise in the skirt is just enough without being too much. Loved it and want to buy it!
K
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
May 15, 2015

.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×