Helmut Lang

Bondage Exit Dress

$68 to buy
$460 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Helmut Lang presents an edgy take on the LBD that channels your inner femme fatale. Signature minimalist luxe flatters any silhouette. Pair with colored accessories for a superb contrast.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black mid-weight jersey. Built-in shelf bra. Double strap closure in back with exposed zipper. Asymmetric hem. V-neck. Seaming detail. 35" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
December 28, 2014
Felt very sexy.
Fit like a glove. The only problem I had with the dress was that the zipper kept falling down. I had to place a safety clip in it to make sure I didn't have an accident.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2015
Wasn't a fan
I thought this dress looked a little too provocative with my bust size. Didn't feel comfortable and didn't wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2014
-
Dress was true to size. I liked the back a lot. Not too tight. Wore a nubra. No complaints
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 16, 2010
Really liked but too big in the butt - I taped it to my lower back and it looked fine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011
Loved the dress! Runs a little large so maybe order a smaller size. The dress was definitely sexy and flattering! A little more low cut and shorter than I expected, but was still a great dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2012
Great dress! Poor RTR quality
This dress is just as pictured. Very flattering and looks great on. I'm disappointed in RTR quality control as I ordered sizes 2 & 4 and the hems on both dresses were completely ripped to the point where the length was uneven! Since RTR only delivers the day before the event I had to tape up the hem and was worried about it coming undone all night. This has happened with other RTR dresses before, one time I rented a dress that had a hole on the butt just below the zipper and another time I rented a dress with a belt, but it arrived without the belt and looked like a smock! Beware of the RTR quality control.
WhitneyMarch 31, 2012
Is RTR responding to this issue??
RTRApril 5, 2012
Hi Whitney and Kate, if a customer ever reports an issue with a dress we are sure to notify our warehouse to make sure the dress is repaired immediately upon return and before shipment to another member. If the dress cannot be repaired, it is then retired. We often order more stock in popular dresses as well.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 16, 2012
Very easy to work with-- great customer service and dress came right on time! I've convinced lots of coworkers to begin using RTR!
I absolutely loved this dress, and received so many compliments on it. I normally go up a size in fitted dresses because I have bigger hips, but the 4 fit perfectly. My only issue was the top zipper, anytime I moved the zipper came down but we luckily had double sided tape to hold it up. In the picture, my sister is always wearing RTR (Pinch Of Pink Flare Dress by Z Spoke)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2012
Two different women asked where I got the dress. Second woman actually asked bartender for napkin and pen to write down web address!
This is a very sexy and incredibly comfortable dress! It technically runs true to size, but I felt that a size smaller would hold everything in place/pushed up better. It stretched in a flattering way over my curvy figure, but my DD's could have used more support! I felt sexy in it, but some pictures make my chest look too heavy (almost droopy) unless I had EXCELLENT posture! Hubby loved it, so I have no complaints.
MarleenJune 4, 2012
I'm trying to find something sexy and flattering for my birthday in Sept. I have been looking around this site for a lady within my age range and size as well. lol. I think I have found my dress.Thanks for posting the pics, Suzanne!
MarleenJune 4, 2012
I should state that I was looking for comments and pics about particular dresses to wear on my birthday. My previous comment seemed somewhat questionable...lol.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2012
Loved the dress. Perfect for a bachelorette in Sin City.
Went a size down and fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2012
Form-fitting dress is super sexy.
I originally ordered a 2 and a 4. But since my body type is ruler straight (33-26-34), I was worried that I might be swimming in this dress. Luckily the RTR customer service folks (they are awesome!) were incredibly helpful and changed my order to a 0 and a 2!! I ended up wearing the 0--it was form-fitting! But had the 0 been even a smidge bigger it would have been too big. I'm very small-busted, so though it looked good on me, I think it would be hotter on someone with a bit more on top. The fitted form, the silky detail on the bust, and the sporty straps on the back make this a very sexy dress... perfect for my New Year's Eve party in Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2012
In LOVE with BDay DRESS! Club had the mirror and couldn't resist taking this photo for you gals!
I was right in between a 2 and a 4. You can see in one pic a little extra fabric. The 2 was too tight around my arms so i went with the 4. Its shorter than on the model which I liked from the other gals who have rented this dress. I would rent this one again! I felt great and comfortable (didn't spend all night adjusting) and got so many compliments!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
December 27, 2012
Felt sexy all night!
I wore this for my bachelorette party, and it was a hit! The best part of this dress is definitely the back-- it gets a lot of stares when you walk into a room (and every girl should know that feeling at least once in their life)! :) I'm normally a size 4, but the 2 fit perfectly and wasn't too short. I wanted it a little tighter since it's backless and I needed everything to be "held in", but the 2 and 4 didn't make that much of a difference. Highly reccommend!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2013
This was perfect for a night out on the town on New Year's Eve.
When I asked a stylist about the dress they mentioned that it ran a bit large so I decided to order a size down, definitely the right decision. I have an athletic, curvy body type and wanted a fitted dress. The stretch really helped it to fit nice. I couldn't wear a regular bra but bought a stick-on type and it worked great. Overall a good pick for my party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 30, 2013
Best thing i've ever rented.
Incredibly flattering. Great cut. Great fit. easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Sexy "Bond Girl" dress!
I went with the other dress I rented, so my friend wore this one (on the left). She's normally a 6-8 so this definitely runs large - size down for sure. I wouldn't recommend this for large-busted girls, because when I tried it on, it shows EVERYTHING, it's so low-cut. However, as you can see, on my friend it looked fantastic. The little back straps are unfortunately hard to keep zipped, like some have mentioned. However, the overall Bond Girl sexiness of this dress more than overcomes its little issues!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
March 4, 2013
I loved this dress so much. It was fun, sexy and extremely comfortable. 10 out of 10
Fits true to size to a bit large but in a good comfortable way. Great fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2013
Great LBD with an Edgy back!
This dress is a very nice LBD. it is simple and classy from the front and edgy from the back. be prepared to show off your back. i paired it with a chunky statement necklace and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 2, 2014
BAM!
This dress has it going ON! It's a simple LBD with a sexy neckline and shocking back. Loved it! I am usually a 4/6 and the 4 could have been tighter. It was definitely tight at the bust, but kind of stretched out over the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 7, 2014
Birthday
This dress is sexy. The straps run large in the back, they get stretched out. Sorry I don't have a pic of the back, but that's the best part. You can't wear a regular bra with it, but I wore a stick on strapless and it was fine. You might not need it though, the material is pretty thick. Very comfortable. It's short and (especially on me, being tall and curvy) it's not a demure dress. Probably not appropriate for a wedding but great for a night out/bachelorette/ date night. Especially date night. ;) The only thing is, the zippers come half way undone. I used double sided tape just in case and had a crew of ladies looking after it all night. lol. I would still rent it again despite the flaws. Great LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2014
Easy to wear!
I wore this dress for a bachelorette weekend in LA. The material was very stretchy and comfortable and the bust area detail was a fun twist on an LBD. I have a smaller chest and had to use fashion tape to make it all work so smaller ladies be aware! My one issue with this dress is the cut of the hem. It's not really visible in the picture but it's actually cut shorter in the back and front and longer on the sides (think curved baseball tee hem but with the longer parts on the sides). For a girl with a larger butt I felt like it made my butt look bigger because it appeared like my but was pulling it up. All in all the dress was great, I got many compliments and it was easy to wear. Just a note to my curvier ladies!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2014
I didn't end up wearing the dress.
This dress runs big. You can cross cross the straps in the back and it makes it slightly smaller. Overall it was too large to wear out and wasn't available in the smaller size. Better luck next time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2011
EVERYONE complimented me on this dress, especially my fiance!
I cannot say enough about this dress. It was sexy without being too much and extremely flattering. I like that it was revealing in the back and front, but a longer length. I rented this dress for my birthday and felt absolutely amazing. I highly recommend it. I normally wear a 4 (34-26-35), but the 2 fit better. I am definitely renting Helmut Lang again!
NoelleMay 6, 2013
would this dress be wedding appropriate? or more for a date night out on the town?
RTR CustomerMay 6, 2013
Hi! We recommend this dress more for a night on the town, date night, or bachlorette party!
CrystalMay 7, 2013
I agree..personally I think the dress is a little too sexy for a wedding, but would definitely recommend it for a date night or night out!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2012
All the compliments I received on the dress.
I wore this dress for a date night with my boyfriend. It was super comfy and extremely sexy. I wore the size 0, but it was a little big. I think it's probably been stretched out, def size down 1 to 2 sizes.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 28, 2012
The bride and her sister were the first to see the dress. They were blown away.
As a whole, I loved this dress. My only complaint was that I had was constantly trying to get the tiny zippers to stay up. Only once did one come entirely undone, but it prevented me from confidently wearing it without my wrap for most of the evening. However, I did feel sexy and beautiful in it. It could have just used a little hook to keep them closed, that's all. And I would have worn it many times.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2014
LBD!
Great dress. Love the detail in the front, the two different fabrics give it a little extra on the front view. The back is amazing! You wouldnt expect it from the front of the dress, but the back has two straps with zippers in the center followed by a low back zip up around the hips. Very open back. The top zipper actually helps act like a built in support, in combination with the fabric, so you can go braless if you feel comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2012
Very Cute
This was my backup New Years Eve dress and I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller Pretty Woman Lace dress which I highly recommend. I only ordered this dress in a 4 but definitely could have used a 2. It looks revealing in the front/back but isn't slutty at all. I wish I had a chance to wear this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
February 19, 2013
FABULOUS sexy date night dress!
I'm usually a solid 6 or leaning towards a 4, got to wear a 4 in this dress with no problem. Cannot wear a bra and I definitely needed some of those stick-on "chicken cutlets" to boost the girls up and fill out the top. Other than that, can't remember the last time I felt this sexy, got hit on a ton of times and my fiance enjoyed it too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
July 1, 2014
Itty bitty party dress
I'm 5'6" 123lbs; hourglass, and usually wear between a 2 & 4. The 4 fit perfectly even though I have wide hips and the other reviews said it was tight through the hips. Very comfortable. It was shorter than it looked on the model, and I'm not tall. That may mean it had been hemmed. I was hoping the longer skirt would balance out the low-cut top & make it a bit more modest but that was not the case. It was the hottest (read: littlest, sluttiest) dress I've ever worn. The dress is also a little worn; the minizippers didn't want to stay up (they should put a hook & eye closure on each strap) and the satin on the bust was a little snagged/threadbare. Great for a bachelorette, but I don't think I could wear it elsewhere. I accessorized with bold gold jewelry & shoes.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2010
Oh.my.goodness. Sexy without being overdone, this dress is wildly flattering, showing off your clavicle, back, and the prettiest part of your legs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2010
Quite sexy without being slutty (kind of a business in the front, party in the back dress). I felt so good in this! It barely requires a necklace, and the fabric is really nice. Super flattering. Kinda wish I owned it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 28, 2010
OMG! I want this dress! It is gorgeous on! I was scared when they only had a zero available in case it ran small but it fit perfectly! I wear a large b-cup in the bust and the top of this dress made the most beautiful and sexy cleavage! I agree with the other reviewer, it is a total mullet dress all business in the front and party in the back, making you a total siren and attention grabber but still classy! I wore this to a wedding and I turned more heads then the bride! ;) I didn't wear it with a necklace and I don't think I would, instead with a bling bling diamond bracelet and some great earring and cocktail ring! For the price you can't go wrong! I chose it over the Herve Leger Chocolate Addiction Dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2010
Loved the dress, sexy without baring too much and the back cutout looks great. I thought the front looked more flattering if I wore a bra (I wear a C-cup) so I was able to wear a black bra with thin bands/straps and hide it under the dress. You will need the styling tape to make sure your bra doesn't show in the back and I recommend asking a friend to help as it is difficult to tape alone. An adhesive bra like nubra may work too. Dress material is stretchy so it hugs curves and the thicker fabric weight means lines don't show.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
October 20, 2010
This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged my curves and I received many compliments in it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 1, 2010
LOVED. IT. It fit perfectly, and was definitely sexy without being too much. I have a pretty standard hourglass figure (32/27/32), and the fabric hugged all the right places!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
November 3, 2010
True to size, but if you're between sizes, I would order a size down so it's not loose in the back -- stretchy comfortable material, great zipper detail.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2010
Sexy sexy sexy, LOVED this dress! Great for girls with smaller busts, and the built-in-support really did the job. True to size and had a little stretch in it, so it was comfortable all night!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2011
The dress was simple but very pretty. As mentioned before it is a little shorter then it appears on the model. Not too short by any means, it hit at my mid thigh. It also ran a bit big. I wore the size 0 which usually fits well and it could have been more fitted. Overall the dress was very pretty and I am glad I rented it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2011
This dress is awesome- I was a little nervous at first because it is recommended for a small/medium bust, and I am a 36D, but it worked perfectly. The dress is very flattering, and I can see it working on any body type. very sexy and stayed up all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
March 24, 2011
This dress was great! It was comfortable and flattering on all accounts. Some dresses look different when they arrive, but this dress was exactly what I expected- and more! The detailing made it look special and elegant and the back was a sexy surprise when I turned around. I have a smaller chest (size B) and the front fit perfect so I would order a back-up size if you have a bigger top.
raOctober 16, 2012
So what size did you end up wearing?
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2011
I loved this dress! I was a little concerned because the dress appears to flare towards the hem and curve upwards in the middle; however, it did not do that, at least when I wore it and it looked just as fabulous on as it does in the picture.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×