Helmut Lang

Bondage Exit Dress

$68 to buy
$460 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Helmut Lang presents an edgy take on the LBD that channels your inner femme fatale. Signature minimalist luxe flatters any silhouette. Pair with colored accessories for a superb contrast.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black mid-weight jersey. Built-in shelf bra. Double strap closure in back with exposed zipper. Asymmetric hem. V-neck. Seaming detail. 35" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

102 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 74
Large 23
Photos 48
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

EVERYONE complimented me on this dress, especially my fiance!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I cannot say enough about this dress. It was sexy without being too much and extremely flattering. I like that it was revealing in the back and front, but a longer length. I rented this dress for my birthday and felt absolutely amazing. I highly recommend it. I normally wear a 4 (34-26-35), but the 2 fit better. I am definitely renting Helmut Lang again!
AStorm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Great dress with a back that really shows off

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought this dress was so fun for a sorority formal. The front cut is interesting and the back takes it to a whole new place. Definitely for small chested women and very little stretch.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

One of my best friend's holiday house party and the dress was perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was amazing. I seriously might have to rent it again. Didn't want to return it :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Oct 29, 2014

I received a lot of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It arrived on time as usual
MK
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Loved the dress for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was fantastic. In addition to looking great, it was very comfortable. It was a little shorter than I expected, but perfect for a bachelorette party. The zippers in the back did not stay up as well as they should have, but a safety pin easily solved the problem. I'm guessing the zippers are just worn out. Overall, the dress was incredible and I will definitely be renting again!
lolita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Fun LBD!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress wasn't my first choice, but it worked out fine. It definitely stands out from the other "little black dresses!!" I really liked the edge the back gives the dress...the length was a little shorter than I would have liked it to have been, but overall, it's a fun dress!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

Birthday

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is sexy. The straps run large in the back, they get stretched out. Sorry I don't have a pic of the back, but that's the best part. You can't wear a regular bra with it, but I wore a stick on strapless and it was fine. You might not need it though, the material is pretty thick. Very comfortable. It's short and (especially on me, being tall and curvy) it's not a demure dress. Probably not appropriate for a wedding but great for a night out/bachelorette/ date night. Especially date night. ;) The only thing is, the zippers come half way undone. I used double sided tape just in case and had a crew of ladies looking after it all night. lol. I would still rent it again despite the flaws. Great LBD.
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2014

LBD!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great dress. Love the detail in the front, the two different fabrics give it a little extra on the front view. The back is amazing! You wouldnt expect it from the front of the dress, but the back has two straps with zippers in the center followed by a low back zip up around the hips. Very open back. The top zipper actually helps act like a built in support, in combination with the fabric, so you can go braless if you feel comfortable.
Jordan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 25, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect. The fabric was stretchy, and fit like a glove. The length was great too; it looks long in the picture, but when i put it on, it was just the right length. It was sexy, but not overdone.
GBear
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

BAM!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress has it going ON! It's a simple LBD with a sexy neckline and shocking back. Loved it! I am usually a 4/6 and the 4 could have been tighter. It was definitely tight at the bust, but kind of stretched out over the night.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

I received so many compliments on this dress. Sexy LBD!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 because it fits true to size. The dress was beautiful and hugged in all the right places. Some people spoke of the zippers comes undone but I didn't have that happen all night. I received so many compliments I would most definitely rent this dress again. Love it!
Diane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

AWESOME LBD!!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love, love, love this dress! I had my eye on it for awhile and finally rented for a good friend's bachelorette dinner. The 0 felt true to size and I didn't even need breast petals because the fabric was thick enough in the bust. I got so many compliments on this, I highly recommend it for a night out! Notttt the best choice for a wedding though. The zippers on my dress were a little tough at first and might be a little difficult to close on your own. I also wish the bust was a bit tighter a la Herve Leger to push up a bit (since a bra isn't possible).
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

This dress is amazing & the back is spectacular!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great for a bachelorette or night on the town... The back is so fun, and for those who dont love to show off their legs, it's a great length that's not toooo short. The 4 gaped a bit on me, but, that could be due to previous wearings. I don't recommend ordering up a size 'just to be safe' because you wont need it. I highly recommend this dress!!
kristine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 25, 2013

Great LBD with an Edgy back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is a very nice LBD. it is simple and classy from the front and edgy from the back. be prepared to show off your back. i paired it with a chunky statement necklace and it was perfect.
josie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 11, 2013

Fun date night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Size 4 fit fine, except a little tight up top. But, that seems to be an issue with most dresses I wear.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Did not want to return this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is simply phenomenal. I actually rented it as my back-up dress for a night out in Chicago. It fit wonderfully and is extremely comfortable. Some reviewers mentioned that they had a hard time with the zippers coming unzipped, I did not experience that. This dress is a great balance of fitted and sexy without being over the top. I am actually looking to purchase this dress I loved it that much.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 16, 2013

The perfect LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The picture doesn't do it justice. Probably my only complaint- pictures really didn't show off the dress as much as I had hoped. However, the dress fit beautifully. It was tight in all the right places. Fabric was soft, stretchy, and cotton, but the dress did not feel cheap whatsoever. It was easy to dance in and I felt extremely comfortable. It did stretch out a little throughout the night, but that's somewhat expected with that type of fabric. I would say the dress is pretty true to size, but maybe a little on the big side. I ordered the 6/8 and ended up wearing the 6 (easily). I thought the dress was going to be a little bit longer- so just an FYI to the tall ladies, it does not go to the knees as seen on the model. However, it wasn't too short by any means. It was sexy, the back is absolutely gorgeous and I received compliments all night. The neckline is gorgeous, low, but not too much (I do have smaller boobs though, so you might want to take that into consideration). You cannot wear a normal bra, so I suggest wearing 'sticky boobs'. I loved it!!! Rent it, I know you want to!
Colleen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

Perfect fit with a great back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Highly recommend this dress! It is very flattering and everyone loves the open back.
Kima
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

Good fit and I felt great in it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well and didn't ride up throughout the night. I felt great in it and got a lot of compliments.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

I loved this dress so much. It was fun, sexy and extremely comfortable. 10 out of 10

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Fits true to size to a bit large but in a good comfortable way. Great fabric.
Christina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Feb 19, 2013

FABULOUS sexy date night dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm usually a solid 6 or leaning towards a 4, got to wear a 4 in this dress with no problem. Cannot wear a bra and I definitely needed some of those stick-on "chicken cutlets" to boost the girls up and fill out the top. Other than that, can't remember the last time I felt this sexy, got hit on a ton of times and my fiance enjoyed it too!
Inez
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Sexy "Bond Girl" dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I went with the other dress I rented, so my friend wore this one (on the left). She's normally a 6-8 so this definitely runs large - size down for sure. I wouldn't recommend this for large-busted girls, because when I tried it on, it shows EVERYTHING, it's so low-cut. However, as you can see, on my friend it looked fantastic. The little back straps are unfortunately hard to keep zipped, like some have mentioned. However, the overall Bond Girl sexiness of this dress more than overcomes its little issues!
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Sexy but classy for an outdoor summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved the fit of this dress, and the necklace complemented it perfectly. I received compliments all night :) Undergarments were a challenge, but I found a backless/ strapless that worked perfectly, as I wanted more support than the built in gives. The zippers in back are itty bitty, so this may not be the best option for fuller chested women.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Classy, sexy and dangerous...this is the perfect LBD!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect! I wish I owned it. I wore it to a New Year's Eve party in Napa, CA and felt amazing. I was worried that a size 2 might be too small considering it's a designer size, but it was perfect. I usually wear size 0 or 2 in J Crew dresses. It was snug in all the right places and the length was perfect on my 5'7'' frame (well, after heels it's 5'9'). I would HIGHLY recommend this dress! I want to rent it again!!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Dec 27, 2012

Felt sexy all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party, and it was a hit! The best part of this dress is definitely the back-- it gets a lot of stares when you walk into a room (and every girl should know that feeling at least once in their life)! :) I'm normally a size 4, but the 2 fit perfectly and wasn't too short. I wanted it a little tighter since it's backless and I needed everything to be "held in", but the 2 and 4 didn't make that much of a difference. Highly reccommend!!!
Ladyingreen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 8, 2011

Felt so sexy in this dress, without being slutty. :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! It was my first rental, and I was a bit worried about fit, but it was perfect. I'm not exactly pear-shaped, since I have wide shoulders, but I do have a very flat chest. The dress maximized what I have, and wasn't too tight across the shoulders. It was a bit shorter than I was expecting, but not indecent. I got lots of compliments!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

In LOVE with BDay DRESS! Club had the mirror and couldn't resist taking this photo for you gals!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was right in between a 2 and a 4. You can see in one pic a little extra fabric. The 2 was too tight around my arms so i went with the 4. Its shorter than on the model which I liked from the other gals who have rented this dress. I would rent this one again! I felt great and comfortable (didn't spend all night adjusting) and got so many compliments!
Viv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Aug 19, 2012

Classic LBD turned up a notch

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is by far my favorite dress that I've rented on RTR. I rented this for my sorority's winter formal and got compliments all night! The material is super soft and hugged my body in all the right places. It is such a beautiful LBD with an amazing neckline and back as well! (I recommend the sticky boobs, because you definitely can't wear a normal bra with this one)
J
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 4, 2012

Loved the dress. Perfect for a bachelorette in Sin City.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Went a size down and fit like a glove.
Carolina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2012

The dress fit wonderfully and looked chic and sexy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Well tailored and great detail, exactly what you want from a LBD. The fit was perfect and looked amazing. I received multiple compliments walking down the street on a perfect NYC night. There was one issue - the top zipper would not stay up no matter how many adjustments I made. It originally stayed up, but by the end of the night it would not stay. I did contact RTR about this issue and they were very responsive and helpful.
Marybeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

The bride and her sister were the first to see the dress. They were blown away.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
As a whole, I loved this dress. My only complaint was that I had was constantly trying to get the tiny zippers to stay up. Only once did one come entirely undone, but it prevented me from confidently wearing it without my wrap for most of the evening. However, I did feel sexy and beautiful in it. It could have just used a little hook to keep them closed, that's all. And I would have worn it many times.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

All the compliments I received on the dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a date night with my boyfriend. It was super comfy and extremely sexy. I wore the size 0, but it was a little big. I think it's probably been stretched out, def size down 1 to 2 sizes.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 24, 2012

Two different women asked where I got the dress. Second woman actually asked bartender for napkin and pen to write down web address!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This is a very sexy and incredibly comfortable dress! It technically runs true to size, but I felt that a size smaller would hold everything in place/pushed up better. It stretched in a flattering way over my curvy figure, but my DD's could have used more support! I felt sexy in it, but some pictures make my chest look too heavy (almost droopy) unless I had EXCELLENT posture! Hubby loved it, so I have no complaints.
Hillary
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 19, 2012

I heard from everyone how perfectly it fit and sexy it was. Yay!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a fraternity date party at my school, and absolutely loved it. It was dressy enough for a date party without the material being too formal that I looked over-the-top. The back was not quite as plunging on my as the model in the photo, but it was definitely sexy and all. I got tons of compliments. I didn't have to wear a bra-- I'm like a B cup-- but I ended up tossing in some nuBra cups to plump up the girls, which made it look awesome. It was my first time renting and I really loved it!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 16, 2012

Very easy to work with-- great customer service and dress came right on time! I've convinced lots of coworkers to begin using RTR!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress, and received so many compliments on it. I normally go up a size in fitted dresses because I have bigger hips, but the 4 fit perfectly. My only issue was the top zipper, anytime I moved the zipper came down but we luckily had double sided tape to hold it up. In the picture, my sister is always wearing RTR (Pinch Of Pink Flare Dress by Z Spoke)
rae4sunshine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 12, 2012

My boyfriend loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a total win for an black tie gala I attended. The back was a bit more revealing than I realized, and I got a little nervous that I was with executives. However the dress is sophisticated and I think it worked over all. Great stretch in the hips for us curvy girls. WARNING, you will want to turn around for every photo to show off the sexy back
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 3, 2012

So easy and convenient.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress. It is a the perfect LBD with a twist. Looks fabulous from the back. Only problem was that the little zipper on the top strap in the back came open a little, but was never in dander of opening all the way. A little fabric tape helped.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 21, 2015

Wasn't a fan

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Date
I thought this dress looked a little too provocative with my bust size. Didn't feel comfortable and didn't wear.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Beautiful

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
My date got canceled, but this dress fit perfectly when I tried it on. I regret not getting to wear it out and about. A very sexy dress.
RTR Customer
Dec 28, 2014

Felt very sexy.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. The only problem I had with the dress was that the zipper kept falling down. I had to place a safety clip in it to make sure I didn't have an accident.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×