Haute Hippie

Winged Embellished Shoulder Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Haute Hippie dress epitomizes feminine glamour. Mix it up with an edgy cuff or bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS, S, M, L. Size XS=0; Size S=2, 4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black Jersey. One shoulder neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Poncho sleeve. 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share
146 reviews
Fit
Large
(77)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2011
When my fiancé said I was the most beautiful woman at the party =)

So I'm very short. 4' 11". Now I'm Filipino, so that makes me NORMAL height for my ethnicity. But that also means I have boobs. So I'm technically petite because of my height but I've got curves too. It's hard to find great outfits!! This dress was gorgeous! I admit it ran large. I wore the XS and it was STILL big...I've never worn an XS dress in my life. But that was great because I've packed on some winter lbs and clingy wasn't the look I was going for. I wish I could have made it shorter and been able to create a more definite waist but I still felt comfortable and sexy and my fiancé loved it! I would totally rent this again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 23, 2012
Just knowing that I was wearing something that I knew no one else would have on!

However, I still felt cool that I was wearing such a pricey dress to a tea party. The hat I wore with it (provided by the tea room) was a bit loud though. :) The embellishment seemed worn, but I am guessing this is a popular dress. Loved having two sizes!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 19, 2012
This was my first rental with RTR, and I was not disappointed!!

So, this was actually my backup dress, since my first choice was not as flattering as I thought it would be. I am short, but broad thanks to years of swimming. While it ran large, I had read that already on reviews and the small worked perfectly. I would normally not have worn a dress like this to something so formal as the Marine Corps ball, but being that it is black and the lines are dramatic, it works. I got a lot of compliments, and it was SO much easier to dance and have fun in versus wearing a long, heavy gown. It should be noted that the dress can be slighly sheer when taking photos with flash. Wear appropriate undergarments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2015
I wore this to my sorority formal, and it was a hit. I got compliments all night!

I fell in love with this dress. It was SO comfortable, all while being fun and flirty. It was the perfect length, size, feel, everything. I would rent this again in a heartbeat.

View photos (2)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
October 7, 2010

LOVED THIS DRESS -- it's stunning ! I agree with other reviews in that it ran big ... I would have normally worm the small but it was quite big on me... (thankfully I took advantage of the ability to get a 2nd size from RTR so I had the XS on hand which I ended up wearing). Dress arrived on time as promised... complete with return envelope. The process could not have been easier, and the dress was amazing- got TONS of compliments!

Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2010

Loved the dress, it was absolutely stunning! It was a little shorter than I felt comfortable with so I wore it with black tights and it was perfect. Also, just like everyone said it does run large and I wore the smaller size that I received.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2010

As previous posts have said, this dress runs large. I typically wear a 2/4 and I followed the advice of others and ordered an XS. The dress was still a little too large and I needed to use some tape to secure the dress. It was also a little long on me. I did love how comfortable this dress is though! Overall, it's a great dress you'll have lots of fun in.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2011

I rented this dress as the back-up and thank goodness, because this is the one I ended up having to wear. I got SO many compliments and felt super sassy in it. It does run large. I wore the XS which was still a little loose around the top, but it worked. It was a very chill & classy night, but yet one of the stones ended up missing - so get insurance!! Make sure you wear black delicates! I weigh about 130 and wear a 34B.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 27, 2011

I had high expectations for the dress, but unfortunately it was completely underwhelming. The dress ran large and I had to pin about 4" of fabric under my arm to tighten it. The material was sheer in photos and the overall quality was cheaper than I expected. I would not rent this dress again.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2011
Loved It!

Runs very large, got the medium and a small as a back up - had to go with the small and wished that I had gotten the small and extra small to see the difference. Other than that though, LOVED this dress. I was worried that it wouldn't give me any shape since I have a large chest but a small waist - it draped perfectly. Wore it to a wedding reception and it was a hit. So comfortable yet stylish at the same time. I've been considering trying to find and buy this dress, that's how much I enjoyed it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 25, 2011

I ordered the small (am usually a medium) and it fit great. However, this dress doesnt do much for the figure. If you want to give yourself a little more eating room and not have to worry about sucking in then this is the dress. The detailing on the shoulder was pretty and not cheesy which was my first fear. The dress is super comfy but not terribly flattering.

Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
November 6, 2011

Gorgeous dress, looks beautiful on! Reviews are dead on it is simply perfect! It does run a little on the larger side as the other reviews stated (so order what you think you are plus the smaller size). The only problem I had with the dress was I did not get to wear it! :o( We had a huge unexpected storm in the NE on the date of the "outdoor" charity event that I was renting this for and the event ended up being cancelled. I was absolutely devistated since the dress was PERFECT! I am hoping there is another event soon that I can rent this one again for!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2011
Great dress!

I rented this dress for my own 11-11-11 wedding in Las Vegas & really loved it :) It fit great, very comfortable especially since I was going to be in it all day & night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2012
So cute!

Very comfy and roomy but not tenty. Wore this to an evening wedding at the beach. It was perfect.

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 22, 2012
Cute dress!! Is GINORMOUS!!!

I rented this dress for a reunion party because I had a baby three months ago and the fit stylist said it is forgiving. I am petite, but still have some baby weight to drop. The dress is kind of shapeless so I feel bigger than I am. Might be cute if you are taller or bigger.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2012
Comfortable and Cute

Comfortable and cute are usually hard to find when looking for an amazing dress. This dress definitely runs a tad large in my opinion as I usually wear a small not x-small. I wore this dress to a wedding and it was perfect! I was so comfortable and didn't have to worry about wearing Spanx which is always a plus. I would definitely recommend this dress.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
November 3, 2012
Classic LBD that's very forgiving!

Great dress- felt comfortable and pretty. The dress if very forgiving of problem areas- loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 4, 2013
Didn't work. Too short, too tight.

I was so excited to wear this dress on New Year's Eve, but unfortunately, it just didn't work. I am curvy through my midsection, and the dress was just too clingy--but if I had been able to get a size larger, it would have been baggy in places. It was also too short for me. Oh well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2013
Perfect Dress for an evening wedding!

This dress is a sexy but classy dress. I loved the embellishment detail on the shoulder.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2013
What a beautiful dress! Loved wearing it and would love to own it

Great fit and was so comfortable.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2013
Fantastic, shapely dress for an upscale night in Vegas!

The dress fit beautifully. The shoulder detail adds glam and the asymmetry, fashion. It was perfect for sipping classy beverages in a roof-top bar in Vegas. It certainly caught a number of eyes. The fabric feels luxurious and drapes in a very flattering way.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 6, 2013
Truly bump-friendly!

I am 31 weeks pregnant and wore this dress to a black tie wedding. The fit and style was far better than any maternity dress. I looked better than I possibly hoped, considering I look like I swallowed a basketball, and received compliments all night long. The material is not as thin as some reviewers indicated, but I followed the advice to wear black skivvies so had no problem with flash photos. This is a really fun, comfortable dress that I recommend for anyone with a round midsection.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2013
Perfect for Vegas with the Girls!

I got TONS of compliments on this dress all night and the little embellishment on the shoulder added the perfect something extra to what would have been a plain black dress... I loved it so much I rented it again!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2014
A cocktail party.

I did't end up wearing the dress. The back is VERY short. I am 5'4 and it barely covered my butt if I bent over even a little bit.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2014
Didn't wear it

Wayyyy to short. Maybe a medium would have been better but it didn't cover my butt. It was more like a tunic

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 10, 2014
Tons of compliments. Renting it again for a different party!

Loose fit. Very cute.

See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×