Rent the Runway

Haute Hippie

Winged Embellished Shoulder Dress

$49 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Haute Hippie dress epitomizes feminine glamour. Mix it up with an edgy cuff or bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS, S, M, L. Size XS=0; Size S=2, 4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS, S, M, L. Size XS=0; Size S=2, 4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Jersey. One shoulder neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Poncho sleeve. 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

146 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 56
Large 77
Photos 44
Becky
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 15, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress runs large. I am usually a size 4, and the small fit me but I could have also worn the size XS. This dress will fit all body types.
Christy
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 4, 2010

Overall fit: Large
This dress was stunning. I wore it to a black tie, very formal, wedding and it was perfect. I received many compliments. I usually wear a small but had to wear an extra small in this dress.
Lucy S.
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Oct 7, 2010

Overall fit: Large
LOVED THIS DRESS -- it's stunning ! I agree with other reviews in that it ran big ... I would have normally worm the small but it was quite big on me... (thankfully I took advantage of the ability to get a 2nd size from RTR so I had the XS on hand which I ended up wearing). Dress arrived on time as promised... complete with return envelope. The process could not have been easier, and the dress was amazing- got TONS of compliments!
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 3, 2010

Overall fit: Large
This dress is GORGEOUS on!! Absolutely stunning! I actually rented it twice already because I love it so much! I have a curvy figure and this dress was very flattering. And I liked the fact that I was a size smaller in this dress!
Jenna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 7, 2010

Overall fit: Large
Loved the dress, it was absolutely stunning! It was a little shorter than I felt comfortable with so I wore it with black tights and it was perfect. Also, just like everyone said it does run large and I wore the smaller size that I received.
Michele
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: Large
I absolutely loved this dress. It was so comfortable, and so elegant. It really does run big though. I usually wear a six and the small fit perfectly. Gorgeous dress!
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: Large
As previous posts have said, this dress runs large. I typically wear a 2/4 and I followed the advice of others and ordered an XS. The dress was still a little too large and I needed to use some tape to secure the dress. It was also a little long on me. I did love how comfortable this dress is though! Overall, it's a great dress you'll have lots of fun in.
Chicago
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Nov 9, 2010

Overall fit: Large
There was too much material slack from the shoulder to the underarm cutout, and without any elastic holding the material to the skin it hung very loosely on me, making it look suprisingly frumpy. Would recommend for taller and/or broader shoulders.
T
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Nov 10, 2010

Overall fit: Large
This dress runs large, but I ordered a size smaller than I would usually wear and that fit pretty well. I wore it to a black tie fundraiser and looked glamorous all evening!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Nov 12, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I was not expecting what I received. I ordered this dress for my birthday and ended up not even wearing it. I was disappointed with the cheap fabric that HH used. My dress also came with a few deorderant stains and hanger marks. Loved the embellishment but not satisfied with the overall construction of the dress. Also, not as flowy through the body as you may think! Fabric tended to cling to my mid section so I decided to not even wear it.
PamC
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 13, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Wore this dress to a gala and loved it! Was very comfy. The weight of the fabric and the length were perfect! I am a tall, healthy girl and dresses tend to be too short but this one hit me mid thigh. I am a 10/12 and this was a perfect fit. I ordered the medium for backup but I had a little too much junk in the trunk for it. This was my first time to rent but won't be my last. Process is super easy!
Janet
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
Nov 16, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful and was shipped right on time but, unfortunately when I tried it on it was way too short for my event. I was going to a dance and wearing heels. If I was attending an event where I'd be sitting or standing, I would've been fine wearing this dress but, since I planned on dancing all night, I knew that people would catch an eyeful once I started moving in it. I highly recommend it if you are shorter or plan on wearing leggings underneath it. I was very excited to get this dress but, unfortunately only gave it two stars because I paid for it but wasn't able to wear it.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 23, 2010

Overall fit: Large
Definitely runs large. But thank goodness RTR lets you order two sizes just in case! My backup size fit well and the shoulder detail is beautiful! Wore it to a SATC2 party, and it was a hit!!
LG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 22, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was perfect for a Christmas Party I attended! I'm 5'3 and the small was perfect - not too short, not too long. Some may have to use double sided tape to keep it in place however I didn't have a problem. I rented the biker bracelet (shown in photo) with it as well ... perfect accessory for the dress!
Jamilet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was gorgeous! There was a problem with L that I ordered so I only got the M. Luckily, the dress runs a bit large so the M fit perfectly! I wore this dress to a 70s theme new year party and got many compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Macy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 26, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I wore this to a Fall Wedding. I think I ordered a S and M. I ended up wearing the small since it is more of a sheath dress and the medium would have made me look huge. Everyone loved the dress.
jclenz
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Jan 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress. Very flattering and got tons of compliments. Would love to have this in my closet for a go to dress!
serena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love,love this dress,everything was perfect,size ,color& embellishement,got a lot of compliments,will rent it again.
Tay
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 14, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Love this dress!!! I usually wear a 4 and was so glad I ordered an XS. The dress definitely runs big. Very classy and elegant.
MollsMurph
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2011

Overall fit: Large
TO DIE FOR!!! I wore this dress to an engagement party and it was perfect. I'm 5'5 and 125 and wore the XS and it fit just like it does on the model. I wish I could afford to buy this dress :/
Emma
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was just as fantastic on as it is in the picture! It arrived on time and in perfect condition. I ended up wearing the medium and it was a little large but still looked incredible. It is a very figure forgiving dress. After 3 kids all under the age of 4 - I felt fantastic in this dress!! Thank you RTR!
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first shot at RTR and what a great experience. I'm usually a size 12. The L fit beautifully, got tons of compliments. The embellishment was a bit heavy and moved around but some well placed fashion tape did the trick. I'm around 5'4" the length hit at just above the knee. Oh and it was super comfortable too.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress!!! very flattering. It is very short!!! I received so many compliments at my works Christmas party.I would rent this dress again.
Mair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
May 10, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I loved this dress! It hangs perfectly your body. Hides all bumps! Looks classy and it is so fun to wear! I got so many compliments and I felt great wearing it!
A. Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I rented this dress as the back-up and thank goodness, because this is the one I ended up having to wear. I got SO many compliments and felt super sassy in it. It does run large. I wore the XS which was still a little loose around the top, but it worked. It was a very chill & classy night, but yet one of the stones ended up missing - so get insurance!! Make sure you wear black delicates! I weigh about 130 and wear a 34B.
Bernadette
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
May 13, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Got this dress as a backup dress in case another didn't fit. So I got the xs and s. And the xs just didn't fit right on me. It was just too big. The arm sleeve was just too long and it sorta just sat on me. It felt very nice though. Soft. But might be a little too heavy for a hot night. The detail on the shoulder was very nice. I suggest it to anyone that is bigger than a 1
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×