Haute Hippie

Winged Embellished Shoulder Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Haute Hippie dress epitomizes feminine glamour. Mix it up with an edgy cuff or bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS, S, M, L. Size XS=0; Size S=2, 4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black Jersey. One shoulder neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Poncho sleeve. 37" from shoulder to hem.

Share
146 reviews
Fit
Large
(77)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(11)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 214lbs
September 28, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I thought the M or L would fit me well. However, I'm a curvy girl and I found the stomach area to be quite tight and unflattering. The dress also ended up being much shorter than I expected. The shorter side barely covered my bottom and, in the end, I couldn't wear the dress b/c I couldn't sit down in it since it was so short on me. I would not recommend this dress for curvy girls.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
October 7, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding rehersal dinner, and it was a HIT! I am a 10/12 and the MED fit me great. Wore a strapless pushup bra and spank, and felt like a million dollars. I would tell everyone to rent this dress.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
January 20, 2013
Get ready for complete strangers to approach you with sincere yet envious compliments!
For sure the dress runs large! The jeweled accent on the shoulder was sorta shifty at times, but stayed put for the most part. ( I do have wimpy shoulders). I wore this for a cruise formal night and was stunningly dressed without appearing over the top, just super-classy without needing elaborate jewelry. The hem hit just above the knee, which is hard to find for a petite girl whose legs usually appear stumpy in everything else. Looooved the fit and flow of the fabric. Spanx not even needed, though I am sometimes a size 4P and have had 2 kids. The night passed in such a whirlwind so that I didn't have time for a good full frontal pic, but my advice: Get This Dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 18, 2014
Everything fit, but it was way too short.
Great material, loved the concept, but the dress was just way too short. I didn't end up wearing it. I was so disappointed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2014
didn't get to wear it.
Dress was big even for an extra small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
September 13, 2014
<3
I loved this dress soooo much. I ordered a size down thanks to all the lovely ladies who reviewed before me. Thank you because it was accurate. I loved the way it fit and the bride herself was in love with my dress. The embellishment on the shoulder loved to take my hair and give me a hard time getting it untangled. That's the only thing I could possibly say bad. Which isn't that bad at all. I wish I could own this dress because it could be worn for several occasions.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
June 23, 2012
Just knowing that I was wearing something that I knew no one else would have on!
However, I still felt cool that I was wearing such a pricey dress to a tea party. The hat I wore with it (provided by the tea room) was a bit loud though. :) The embellishment seemed worn, but I am guessing this is a popular dress. Loved having two sizes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 4, 2013
Didn't work. Too short, too tight.
I was so excited to wear this dress on New Year's Eve, but unfortunately, it just didn't work. I am curvy through my midsection, and the dress was just too clingy--but if I had been able to get a size larger, it would have been baggy in places. It was also too short for me. Oh well.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2014
A cocktail party.
I did't end up wearing the dress. The back is VERY short. I am 5'4 and it barely covered my butt if I bent over even a little bit.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2014
Didn't wear it
Wayyyy to short. Maybe a medium would have been better but it didn't cover my butt. It was more like a tunic
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 15, 2010
This dress runs large. I am usually a size 4, and the small fit me but I could have also worn the size XS. This dress will fit all body types.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2010
I was not expecting what I received. I ordered this dress for my birthday and ended up not even wearing it. I was disappointed with the cheap fabric that HH used. My dress also came with a few deorderant stains and hanger marks. Loved the embellishment but not satisfied with the overall construction of the dress. Also, not as flowy through the body as you may think! Fabric tended to cling to my mid section so I decided to not even wear it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
November 13, 2010
Wore this dress to a gala and loved it! Was very comfy. The weight of the fabric and the length were perfect! I am a tall, healthy girl and dresses tend to be too short but this one hit me mid thigh. I am a 10/12 and this was a perfect fit. I ordered the medium for backup but I had a little too much junk in the trunk for it. This was my first time to rent but won't be my last. Process is super easy!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Apple
November 16, 2010
This dress is beautiful and was shipped right on time but, unfortunately when I tried it on it was way too short for my event. I was going to a dance and wearing heels. If I was attending an event where I'd be sitting or standing, I would've been fine wearing this dress but, since I planned on dancing all night, I knew that people would catch an eyeful once I started moving in it. I highly recommend it if you are shorter or plan on wearing leggings underneath it. I was very excited to get this dress but, unfortunately only gave it two stars because I paid for it but wasn't able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
December 20, 2010
Wore this out for fashion night out and got so many compliments.
Wore the XS to Fashion Night Out in NYC. Easy, easy fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 122lbs
December 22, 2010
This dress was perfect for a Christmas Party I attended! I'm 5'3 and the small was perfect - not too short, not too long. Some may have to use double sided tape to keep it in place however I didn't have a problem. I rented the biker bracelet (shown in photo) with it as well ... perfect accessory for the dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
January 27, 2011
LOVED this dress. Very flattering and got tons of compliments. Would love to have this in my closet for a go to dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
February 13, 2011
Love,love this dress,everything was perfect,size ,color& embellishement,got a lot of compliments,will rent it again.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
April 10, 2011
Awesome dress for an awesome evening. I received so many compliments on the dress before and after the event!
Loved the dress. I am shorter so it came right above my knee, not like pictured. True to size except in the top under arm. You will definitely need double-stick tape because it will not stay put. I wore a strapless bra underneath and had to tack it to the dress. But it did stay put. That would be the reason I gave it 4 stars. First time renting from RTR so far so good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 25, 2011
This was my first shot at RTR and what a great experience. I'm usually a size 12. The L fit beautifully, got tons of compliments. The embellishment was a bit heavy and moved around but some well placed fashion tape did the trick. I'm around 5'4" the length hit at just above the knee. Oh and it was super comfortable too.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 20, 2011
This dress was PERFECT! I received many compliments for such a simple dress ;-)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
October 24, 2011
Got it for the Rehersal dress for son's wedding but didnt wair it nice but was pritty short
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
January 8, 2012
Arrived on time---WAS NOT WRINKLED:) came in a garment bag including perfume sample, NYE party head band, and fashion tape. THANK YOU RTR~
I wore this dress for NYE 2012. I'm 5"3', 34C, usually wear xs/small tops, and size 26 pant....and this dress size was PERFECT. Other reviews say runs large... but, I didn't even need to use fashion tape and did not wear a bra.....I felt as though it's supposed to be a baggy look...it's HauteHippe--they are all about comfort, so it's not supposed to be form fitting. Highly recommend this one :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2012
Dress hung beautifully on my body and I am very curvy :) did not cling My husband thought I looked very sexy
This dress fit beautifully. I was comfortable, wore it for a summer evening garden wedding. Received lots of compliments. Love this dress
KarenApril 10, 2014
You guys look really happy here!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Loose but sexy
I like this dress but wish I would have remembered to wear a black bra! My nude one showed through in some pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 22, 2012
Perefct
dress is stunning
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
Holiday Party Perfect
Wore this dress to a work holiday party- the shoulder detail is beautiful, and the fit was flattering. Lots of compliments throughout the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2012
Love it
I rented this and wore it for a night out in NYC for a party. It was comfortable, and fun to wear. I probably could have used the small but they were sold out.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 4, 2012
Amazing dress
I received numerous compliments on this dress. I had to own it after wearing it. I still love the dress, and highly recommmend it.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2012
Nice
The dress fit well and looked nice, but I did not like the applique on the shoulder. I got this as my backup dress and did not wear it out.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 192lbs
September 29, 2012
Wore this in New York for Book of Mormon show. Even the usher told me it was a beautiful dress.
Fit wonderfully. Only complaint is the beading is a little heavy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2012
Perfect for the occasion
Was a litle shorter than expected, but otherwise perfect Light dress that is easy to put on but looks fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 4, 2012
It is not loose!
I loved the look of this dress and picked it because it was "bump friendly" (4 months post twins). However, it looks fairly loose on line but it is more of a sheath dress. I ended up not wearing it but it is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2012
Very comfortable!
I wore this to a fancy wedding last October. I wanted something comfortable that was easy to move around in and had a little something extra. This dress did just that! I didn't want to take it off by the end of the night.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 17, 2012
Dress was amazing. Lots of compliments. Great fit.
Excellent choice.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 1, 2012
Very pretty
Loved this dress. Lots of fabric!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 26, 2012
The dress was stylish but the material had a cheap feel to it.
I liked the dress and thought it was really elegant and stylish but the feel of it was kind of cheap, like an inexpensive slinky material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
Stunning!
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday party. I'm 5'10" and it was very short on me, but I wore it with 4" heels and felt like a super model! This dress was very flattering and very forgiving. You can definitely wear with a convertable bra - one shoulder - but I wore with a bustier and it was great! Definitely made me feel like the star of my party!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
December 31, 2012
Comfortable and perfect for the occassion
I wore it with black tights and black heeled booties. I loved it.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 6, 2013
RTR gives you the liberty to wear what you really want without breaking the bank! Thanks RTR:-)
The fit of the dress is extremely flexible no matter what type of body you have.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×