Rent the Runway

Haute Hippie

Try Not to Stare Dress

$75 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wanting to make that lasting impression? Wear this sexy little red dress by Haute Hippie to the party and get ready to take some numbers. Pair with feminine earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Wrap body with tie waist. Deep V back. 36''from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

83 reviews

Fit
Small 22
True to Size 42
Large 19
Photos 32
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 5, 2012

I felt great in a designer I've only dreamed of wearing!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is more orange than red but the color is absolutely beautiful and totally pops with a tan. You absolutely cannot wear a bra with this dress but as long as you use a few pieces of fashion tape and don't have a big chest you will have no issues. This dress is comfortable and fun and I felt super sexy. I wore it to a fraternity formal and it was perfectly appropriate but since it is a little revealing I wouldn't recommend ordering this if you are going to a dinner party or something. If you are not afraid to try something a little daring and don't mind not wearing a bra I totally recommend this dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 16, 2012

The quality of the dress was amazing and so was the color. And as always RTR is so simple to use.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the third dress I've rented from Rent The Runway - and so far the best! I felt like a million bucks in this dress. And as always, using this service was so simple. The dress is not for the shy - It cuts low to the waist on the sides and low in the front and back. Nothing a few strategically placed peices of fashion tape couldn't fix to make sure it stayed in place. This dress fits true to size. I ordered an xs and s - the small was a bit tight around the hips so if your concious of that go with the medium.
Andy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Aug 1, 2012

I got to skip the line a few times and I think the dress had something to do with it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress in an XS for my birthday party and it was perfect for the occasion! The color looks great with a nice tan and the dress itself is really flattering. I do have to warn you, fashion tape is necessary! The front, back and sides are really low cut so some adjustments were needed. I didn't wear a bra because of the style but if you're uncomfortable with that, this dress may not be for you. Overall, get it! I received so many compliments on this dress! PS. It took less than 24 hours for the dress to get to me which is so so so awesome!
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Received tons of compliments on this hot little dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! Made me feel like a supermodel. Runs a bit large and very plunging neck line so modest ladies beware
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Super sexy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is super cute but make sure you are ready for the open sides of this dress. Like other reviews said you defiantly can't wear a bra with this dress.
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Two great dresses. Cant wait to rent again!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a vacation in Jamaica. I wanted something bright and spicy... Its a beautiful dress, but modest ladies be warned. When the dress first arrived, I was a little surprised by the lack of material on top. I tried another reviewers suggestion of wearing a lace bra, but felt like it just didnt look great. In the end, I opted for lots of tape and went for it. I love the back of it. The slits on the side are fairly high. I normally wear a 4 on the bottom, and was sent just the XS which made me nervous since I should have received a S as a back up, but didnt. The bottom of the dress has some give to it, and it fit perfectly. I wouldnt recommend this dress for the larger chested ladies. Over all its a beautiful dress, but I'd prefer a little more fabric.
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Wear a tank top underneath

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Not for a pear shape. Very big and loose up top; very tight and too small in the hips. The sides of the top are deep open v's under the arms. There is a slit on either side of the skirt that prevents you from being able to wear spanx. Adhesive bras that need to tape on the sides didn't work. I was ready to give up on the dress because you cannot wear a bra and I wasn't having luck with fashion tape or pinning (just too much loose fabric on either and the deep V in front). A friend suggested I throw a tank top underneath and it saved the day. Give a very different look than the model, but got plenty of compliments on the outfit. Just be cautious what you are getting into.
Shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

load up on fashion tape and have fun!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
wore this awesome dress in Vegas and had a blast. As others have said this one is not for the shy. I used a lot of fashion tape to keep the dress securely on my boobs since you can't wear a bra with this obviously. The back will drape but it looks amazing. The bottom of the dress is fitted and the fabric is a medium weight. You'll need t wear a thong with this. I would rent this one again!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Awesome night out at Miami clubs with a stress-free getting ready/ outfit picking process!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was very fun for a night out and it was very helpful that RTR included fashion tape - it is 100% needed unless you want to give a peep show! This dress also runs large, especially in the top - I wished I had safety pins all night. I usually would never wear an XS due to my height but I should have sized down for this dress. The material is also extremely thin so I was unable to wear any undergarments. Obviously, none of the above bothered me though as I wore it out all night, was comfortable and the thin fabric was perfect for a hot and humid night out in Miami in August. I received so many compliments that night and still when people browse through my photos!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

absolutely loved it

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
under the low V top it is tight around the butt and stomach but still so flattering. stunning dress, had a blast in it! make sure you wear fashion tape though!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Not much of a dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this for tropical vacation. I didn't try it on before I left. When I put it on, it is basically a very fitted skirt with two pieces of fabric draped on the top. It is ALL open on sides and deep V (down to my belly button) on top. My bust is wayyy to small to hold something like this up! If I could've planned ahead I would have brought a black tube top or something to wear underneath. Ended up putting on the only thing I had under it so I could wear it (white cami). I didn't like the way it looked at all. The bottom was too small on me and top was huge. I was constantly adjusting. For someone with large, perky breasts and lots of fashion tape, this dress may work. Also I guess a long torso would also help. I found that the dress material was VERY thin and the outline of the fashion tape could be seen through it. Won't be renting this one again.
Kersten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 6, 2012

I have never felt sexier.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is called "Try Not To Stare" for a reason. It definitely draws attention in a sexy yet classy way. I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It's a little revealing, but in all the right places. I wore a size large because of my booty, but the large was huuuuge in the top. I had to use a lot of reinforcements/tape! I had to tape my boobs so I had a bit of cleavage and shape, and I used fashion tape to secure the dress, but the flow and draping of the dress is to die for!!
Kaitlyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Got in for free :)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I knew going into it that this dress, well, didn't have much to it. I wore it to a party in AC for my 21st birthday, because of my brand new ID the bouncer at the club we wanted to go to gave me a really hard time getting in and we missed the time for free admission but were told to speak with some guy. Found the guy, he looked me up and down and not only let me in for free but we got in through the VIP entrance :). I got the XS and the S, the XS fit, but for some reason the back straps seemed a lot thinner on the XS than the S so I ended up going with the S to add a few inches of fabric for a little more comfortable fit.
Kim-Mai
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

Not appropriate for a company holiday party

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was very disappointed with the dress. The model makes it look very classy and conservative but when I tried it on, it was way too inappropriate in every way possible. The dress is very open. I had to pin the sides, pin the cleavage area (and I have barely B cups!), and tape the straps from falling off my shoulders. I had no other option so had to wear it to the holiday party, but I would only suggest a dress like this for a Vegas or Miami night out.....
Gwen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Fun Dress, but hard to wear

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This is a really great dress, but as others have mentioned, it's completely open on both sides and low in the front. If you don't need to do much, it's workable. But I was in Vegas and it was cold so everytime we went outside and I had to put a coat on, we had to make sure I wasn't exposing myself. And unless you are extremely flat-chested, it would be impossible to dance in this dress. So, for those reasons, I would not rent it again, although I loved it just standing there. :)
h
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

Pretty small!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
If you are the least bit curvy I would recommend going a size up!
Darcy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

All eyes will be on you in this dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am in love with this dress! I wore it in Vegas, which is probably one of the only places where it is appropriate because it is VERY revealing. There is quite a bit of sideboob exposed, so use double-sided tape to avoid a wardrobe malfunction. This dress will work well on more flat-chested women. The bottom part fits a little bit tighter than the top, so if you have bigger hips, I would size up.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 3, 2013

Wore this in Vegas for girls weekend. My friends loved this dress! I received so many compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I read the reviews, so I was prepared for the low cut. This dress is pretty revealing. It cuts low on the sides and the front. Tape is a must in the dress!! Without it, I wouldn't have felt comfortable in it. It was a great dress to dance in all night! I loved it!
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Sexy hot

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved the dip in the back and on the sides. Exposed just enough skin. I didn't like the tie though, it was too long and hung in an unflattering way in my opinion so I tied it around and my waist a couple times and tied a smaller bow in the back and it was super cute. Wish I owned this one.
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
May 16, 2013

LOVED the dress. Perfectly tight in all the right places!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color was a nice bright red and it fit nice and tight throughout the bottom but a little loose on the top. Would definitely wear it again. Since it cut very deep in the front I have to wear stickies incase.
CR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
May 18, 2013

Bachelorette Party Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress out for my bachelorette and loved it. It's definitely low (and a bit open on the sides), but it hangs extremely well, so I was able to wear it without double-sided tape when I forgot to pack it and didn't have any mishaps!
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 23, 2013

Sexy but major side boob!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm a size 10 and the large was definitely snug around the waist and hips. It made undergarments tricky because you should see everything. I was prepared for the low cut in the front, but should have paid more attention to the reviews to know about the major reveal on the sides. Used almost an entire roll of double stick tape!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 25, 2013

40th bday party

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Could not figure out how to wear it. Very bad design.
Amanda B
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 29, 2013

Pretty dress, fun color and very sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A litte big up top, I ordered the small for a back-up and it wasnt available so I only had M to choose from. I do not have much up top, so it was very revealing.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Skipped every line I walked up to in Vegas :-)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Ohhhh I LOVE THIS DRESS! It is not for the shy, but I have been obsessing over renting it for awhile. My bachelorette/birthday in Vegas seemed like the perfect time. It was SO comfortable and fun. The small isn't available to rent anymore, and I wish it had been, because the XS was a little too tight in the bottom, and the M was pretty loose in the chest. But nothing that a little double-sided tape doesn't fix! I felt hot hot hot! (Also pictured: me trying on the dress in TJ Maxx! This way you get an idea of what the side looks like. :-) I almost bought it, but they, too only had the Medium)
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 7, 2013

Beautiful color but not the right vibe for a wedding

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fun and flirty - and a great color! - but it wasn't as fitted as the picture and showed a lot of skin. This was my backup dress so I didn't end up wearing it, but I could certainly imagine it with some double sided tape for a girls night out or bachelorette.
Brenda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

Love the look but hard to wear

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress in Vegas (the only place you can get away with it!) It's cut to there! I had read the reviews and it only stayed on by the magic of fashion tape which took me a while to get right. I had to make adjustments all night. I was able to get some spanx skinny britches under there because the material of the dress is so thin but it required lots of tugging and folding so I don't recommend it if you have cellulite. Yes everybody stared at me and I loved it!
Ang
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Attention getter! Great for Vegas!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
The top part of this dress was A LOT more revealing then the photo on the model reveals. I had to use a ton of tape to keep this dress in place. I got the S in a back up size, and even though the skirt was a bit tight in the XS, the S top was more difficult to drape correctly. You can not wear a bra with this dress. I used adhesive petals as the fabric is pretty thin. I almost didn't wear it, but I figured I was in Vegas so I might as well go all out!
Kati
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Aug 16, 2013

The fabric was not the quality I thought it would be.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
...
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 29, 2013

na

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
na
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 166 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Smaller than it appears

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The side cut outs of the dress went basically to my waist! Much more of a sexier dress than pictured and the fit seemed quite small to me.
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Not what I expected! EEK!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sides of this dress were essentially non existent. It was my birthday bash, and since I had done RTR before, I didn't even think to try the dress on before heading to our hotel to get ready. And I mean, it was a wrap dress..... what could go wrong?!? I was pretty dismayed when the fabric was thin and the dress was so low cut on the sides, I couldn't wear either size. We had to stop at a store downtown and I had to run in and buy another dress! Oh well.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Jan 10, 2014

Party Ready

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. While it is very sexy, it was a very high maintenance dress - you need special bra and also need to tape yourself in as the top runs very, very loose. Overall I enjoyed wearing it and thought the color was beautiful; however, just be prepared that it won't arrive ready to wear.
Roxanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

unfortunately, I did not wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress looks so cute on the model, but I am curvy and it just looked inappropriate. This is a fabulous pic for a night out on the town and if you have a straighter body type.
Kelsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

VEGAS!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was perfect for vegas - it is much more revealing than the picture portrays! the sides are basically completely open.
grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

The dancing!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful draping
Micha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

Sexy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Really fun, sexy dress that I wore to my senior sorority formal. If you have bigger hips/butt that I would size up considering the dress is tight on the bottom. Also, fashion tape and nu-bra were both definitely needed- worked great when I used these, otherwise the dress is too revealing for another type of bra. Really loved wearing this dress- its a sexy, party dress so don't try to wear it to anything super formal or work-related. Would rent again!
TLuu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 153 lbs
May 29, 2014

Comfy, Gorgeous, Fun

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Two pieces of fashion tape to keep the girls in place. Dress was super fun and breathable for a night of dancing. Returning the dress while carless in Vegas was kind of a headache (hotels charge a handling fee for sending it off even though shipping is prepaid), but the dress was amazing.
jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Vegas or Miami yes please!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very very showy... Get a cute bra and be prepared to show it off as well as your booty... Underwear is very hard to wear with this one. The material is terrific and lays on your curves very nicely but you can see any kind of underwear line, I tried em' all but it's too short to go sans... You'll get over the lines. No one notices because they're too busy checking out your other assets. I would only recommend this dress for Vegas or Miami it's a hot number.
Louisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 21, 2015

Sleek, sexy & fun!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress. Low cleavage...tape will be needed, however the color is fabulous and dress is jersey / slinky huffing and draping in all he right places.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×