Haute Hippie

Try Not to Stare Dress

$75 rental
$425 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wanting to make that lasting impression? Wear this sexy little red dress by Haute Hippie to the party and get ready to take some numbers. Pair with feminine earrings like the kate spade accessories' Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - Bust area runs large and fashion tape is highly recommended to secure deep V.
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red jersey(100% rayon). Surplice neckline. Wrap body with tie waist. Deep V back. 36''from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
83 reviews
Fit
Large
(19)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Great great color! But tight on the bottom

Very low cut on the side, and the bottom was a tight on me. But I liked how the top half fell on me of the small, but the bottom was too tight... it shows everything

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 25, 2012
Only for the Daring

While the dress is very pretty and is true to size, little did I realize from the photos that it is completely open under the arms! You cannot wear a bra with this...be forewarned! This would be great for clubbing, but just did not work for the dinner event I was going to attend.

Sue April 25, 2012
You can wear a bra, it just has to be a really nice one! I wore a nude lacy La Perla with this dress last weekend and got tons of compliments on how smart it looked. It's just a bra...there ain't no shame in showing it off!
KristenApril 25, 2012
The note about the dress being open under the arms is very helpful! Now that you point that out, I can tell by looking very closely at the side view of the dress.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2012
I felt great in a designer I've only dreamed of wearing!

This dress is more orange than red but the color is absolutely beautiful and totally pops with a tan. You absolutely cannot wear a bra with this dress but as long as you use a few pieces of fashion tape and don't have a big chest you will have no issues. This dress is comfortable and fun and I felt super sexy. I wore it to a fraternity formal and it was perfectly appropriate but since it is a little revealing I wouldn't recommend ordering this if you are going to a dinner party or something. If you are not afraid to try something a little daring and don't mind not wearing a bra I totally recommend this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2012
Very fun and sexy

This dress fit great on my petite athletic A-cup frame. I used double-sided tape and petals and felt a little nervous, but it looked great. It's a very fun dress, and the skin-baring nature provides just the right amount of sexy if you are in shape and have a smaller chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
July 10, 2012
Beautiful dress

I was a wee bit nervous to actually wear this dress because of so much doctoring (taping) I would have to do to prevent any peekaboo mishaps. You also have to have a pretty wicked body to pull it off. I'm 5'8, 138 lbs, and I ordered a small and it fit great..but very short! I decided to wear something else because I was just too nervous about the the shoulders sliding down and showing my business. The color is beautiful and the material makes you feel so sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
The quality of the dress was amazing and so was the color. And as always RTR is so simple to use.

This is the third dress I've rented from Rent The Runway - and so far the best! I felt like a million bucks in this dress. And as always, using this service was so simple. The dress is not for the shy - It cuts low to the waist on the sides and low in the front and back. Nothing a few strategically placed peices of fashion tape couldn't fix to make sure it stayed in place. This dress fits true to size. I ordered an xs and s - the small was a bit tight around the hips so if your concious of that go with the medium.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
August 1, 2012
I got to skip the line a few times and I think the dress had something to do with it!

I rented this dress in an XS for my birthday party and it was perfect for the occasion! The color looks great with a nice tan and the dress itself is really flattering. I do have to warn you, fashion tape is necessary! The front, back and sides are really low cut so some adjustments were needed. I didn't wear a bra because of the style but if you're uncomfortable with that, this dress may not be for you. Overall, get it! I received so many compliments on this dress! PS. It took less than 24 hours for the dress to get to me which is so so so awesome!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 9, 2012
Not like the picture

This was my inital rental and when I got it, I coudn't believe they didn't show/tell that the sides were open all the way down to the waist! I thought this was going to be a nice, V-neck dress but it shows waaaay more skin than in the picture. I'm a 34D and coudn't go without a bra and didn't want to wear a bra and have it show. Luckily I LOVED my back up dress but be warned of this dress if you 1.) must wear a bra & 2.) renting for a conservative affair.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Flashy Dress

You definitely will need double sided tape to wear this one! The bottom fits a bit snug, but I have a pretty round behind compared to the rest of my body. The slits on the side go up pretty high and the top obviously drapes low, so don't wear it to a classy event. It's a great color and I received lots of compliments. Very fun to wear.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
No dress disaster

I received my dress on Friday, 8/17, and was prepared to wear it to a wedding that night but was unable to b/c BOTH dress sizes I ordered came WITHOUT the wrap around belt. Without the belt this dress is unwearable. Upon further inspection of the size small dress, i found a cigarette burn near the shoulder of the dress. I understand we're able to return the dresses and not have to worry about dry cleaning but maybe RTR should examine the dresses more closely before accepting the returns. I immediately called customer service when I realized I wouldn't be able to wear either of the dresses, and I'm still waiting on my FULL refund. I will not be ordering from this website again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 23, 2012
Only for the daring...

This dress is super sexy but you have to be comfortable not wearing a bra. I rented it for an after party and was totally held in place and comfortable using a few pieces of fashion tape. One thing I would recommend is wearing commando underwear - with any other pair you could totally see my undie lines through the material. I would definitely recommend this dress for a party if you want to stand out!! I've never received more compliments in my life!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
September 5, 2012
Super sexy

This dress is super cute but make sure you are ready for the open sides of this dress. Like other reviews said you defiantly can't wear a bra with this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
September 17, 2012
I did not wear this because it showed more skin than I was expecting

You can't tell from the model photos (and I did not look at enough of the user photos), but this dress hangs very low in the front and the back, and is very open on the sides- the two straps that go over the shoulders must be tied in a creative fashion to keep it all closed up-- it would have been amazing for a super hot date or a different night- but I had picked this out for a party that my parents were attending, I am glad I got a 2nd dress. It has great potential, but it was not for this event.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Birthday Party

The fit was very slinky but flattering. The top is completely open on the sides through to the tie around the waist so a lot of fashion tape is necessary. The color is beautiful and it hangs just right.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 19, 2012
Way too revealing!!

I am very tall and thin but have a full bust and this dress is one I would only wear in Vegas. The top is incredibly revealing and there was no amount of tape/safety pins that could have remedied the problem! I was headed to a party at a country club and, if I had worn this dress, I'm quite sure they might have keeled over. I would wear this dress only to a casual, fun, and club like atmosphere.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 4, 2012
I wish I could have worn this dress :-(

Unfortuantely, I wasn't able to wear this dress :-( The color is fantastic and the bottom of the dress was great but I ended up being too busty to wear this. The sides are completely open and so is the back. If you have a small chest then some double sided tape would be all you need. If you are a busty girl, beware!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2012
load up on fashion tape and have fun!

wore this awesome dress in Vegas and had a blast. As others have said this one is not for the shy. I used a lot of fashion tape to keep the dress securely on my boobs since you can't wear a bra with this obviously. The back will drape but it looks amazing. The bottom of the dress is fitted and the fabric is a medium weight. You'll need t wear a thong with this. I would rent this one again!

View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it

The back is a lot more revealing than shown in pictures. I would have worn it to Vegas- but I rented it for a wedding and it was too inappropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
November 14, 2012
Not much of a dress!

I rented this for tropical vacation. I didn't try it on before I left. When I put it on, it is basically a very fitted skirt with two pieces of fabric draped on the top. It is ALL open on sides and deep V (down to my belly button) on top. My bust is wayyy to small to hold something like this up! If I could've planned ahead I would have brought a black tube top or something to wear underneath. Ended up putting on the only thing I had under it so I could wear it (white cami). I didn't like the way it looked at all. The bottom was too small on me and top was huge. I was constantly adjusting. For someone with large, perky breasts and lots of fashion tape, this dress may work. Also I guess a long torso would also help. I found that the dress material was VERY thin and the outline of the fashion tape could be seen through it. Won't be renting this one again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
November 20, 2012
It's cute and the color is fantastic, but...

Didn't actually wear this dress...even with dress tape the sides were too exposed to wear it with the bra I had. (was on vacation) Overall this dress is a nice idea, but not practical for me.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
December 6, 2012
.

.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2012
Got in for free :)

I knew going into it that this dress, well, didn't have much to it. I wore it to a party in AC for my 21st birthday, because of my brand new ID the bouncer at the club we wanted to go to gave me a really hard time getting in and we missed the time for free admission but were told to speak with some guy. Found the guy, he looked me up and down and not only let me in for free but we got in through the VIP entrance :). I got the XS and the S, the XS fit, but for some reason the back straps seemed a lot thinner on the XS than the S so I ended up going with the S to add a few inches of fabric for a little more comfortable fit.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2013
Fun Dress, but hard to wear

This is a really great dress, but as others have mentioned, it's completely open on both sides and low in the front. If you don't need to do much, it's workable. But I was in Vegas and it was cold so everytime we went outside and I had to put a coat on, we had to make sure I wasn't exposing myself. And unless you are extremely flat-chested, it would be impossible to dance in this dress. So, for those reasons, I would not rent it again, although I loved it just standing there. :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 16, 2012
Sexy dress!

This was a really sexy dress - need to use a lot of tape as others mentioned.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 25, 2013
All eyes will be on you in this dress

I am in love with this dress! I wore it in Vegas, which is probably one of the only places where it is appropriate because it is VERY revealing. There is quite a bit of sideboob exposed, so use double-sided tape to avoid a wardrobe malfunction. This dress will work well on more flat-chested women. The bottom part fits a little bit tighter than the top, so if you have bigger hips, I would size up.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 3, 2013
Wore this in Vegas for girls weekend. My friends loved this dress! I received so many compliments!

I read the reviews, so I was prepared for the low cut. This dress is pretty revealing. It cuts low on the sides and the front. Tape is a must in the dress!! Without it, I wouldn't have felt comfortable in it. It was a great dress to dance in all night! I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 27, 2013
Sexy hot

Loved the dip in the back and on the sides. Exposed just enough skin. I didn't like the tie though, it was too long and hung in an unflattering way in my opinion so I tied it around and my waist a couple times and tied a smaller bow in the back and it was super cute. Wish I owned this one.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 16, 2013
LOVED the dress. Perfectly tight in all the right places!

The color was a nice bright red and it fit nice and tight throughout the bottom but a little loose on the top. Would definitely wear it again. Since it cut very deep in the front I have to wear stickies incase.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2013
Bachelorette Party Dress

I wore this dress out for my bachelorette and loved it. It's definitely low (and a bit open on the sides), but it hangs extremely well, so I was able to wear it without double-sided tape when I forgot to pack it and didn't have any mishaps!

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2013
Pretty dress, fun color and very sexy!

A litte big up top, I ordered the small for a back-up and it wasnt available so I only had M to choose from. I do not have much up top, so it was very revealing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
July 9, 2013
Love the look but hard to wear

I wore this dress in Vegas (the only place you can get away with it!) It's cut to there! I had read the reviews and it only stayed on by the magic of fashion tape which took me a while to get right. I had to make adjustments all night. I was able to get some spanx skinny britches under there because the material of the dress is so thin but it required lots of tugging and folding so I don't recommend it if you have cellulite. Yes everybody stared at me and I loved it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2013
Not what I expected! EEK!

The sides of this dress were essentially non existent. It was my birthday bash, and since I had done RTR before, I didn't even think to try the dress on before heading to our hotel to get ready. And I mean, it was a wrap dress..... what could go wrong?!? I was pretty dismayed when the fabric was thin and the dress was so low cut on the sides, I couldn't wear either size. We had to stop at a store downtown and I had to run in and buy another dress! Oh well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
February 15, 2014
VEGAS!

This dress was perfect for vegas - it is much more revealing than the picture portrays! the sides are basically completely open.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 153lbs
May 29, 2014
Comfy, Gorgeous, Fun

Two pieces of fashion tape to keep the girls in place. Dress was super fun and breathable for a night of dancing. Returning the dress while carless in Vegas was kind of a headache (hotels charge a handling fee for sending it off even though shipping is prepaid), but the dress was amazing.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 21, 2015
Sleek, sexy & fun!

Great dress. Low cleavage...tape will be needed, however the color is fabulous and dress is jersey / slinky huffing and draping in all he right places.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2013
Not appropriate for a company holiday party

I was very disappointed with the dress. The model makes it look very classy and conservative but when I tried it on, it was way too inappropriate in every way possible. The dress is very open. I had to pin the sides, pin the cleavage area (and I have barely B cups!), and tape the straps from falling off my shoulders. I had no other option so had to wear it to the holiday party, but I would only suggest a dress like this for a Vegas or Miami night out.....

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
June 5, 2013
Skipped every line I walked up to in Vegas :-)

Ohhhh I LOVE THIS DRESS! It is not for the shy, but I have been obsessing over renting it for awhile. My bachelorette/birthday in Vegas seemed like the perfect time. It was SO comfortable and fun. The small isn't available to rent anymore, and I wish it had been, because the XS was a little too tight in the bottom, and the M was pretty loose in the chest. But nothing that a little double-sided tape doesn't fix! I felt hot hot hot! (Also pictured: me trying on the dress in TJ Maxx! This way you get an idea of what the side looks like. :-) I almost bought it, but they, too only had the Medium)

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Would not rent again.

I rented this for a high school reunion and this dress was not appropriate. The sides are completely open and without fashion tape you would expose yourself. If you are renting this dress for Las Vegas or a runway event you can get away with it--otherwise, too much skin is exposed.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
What a dress!

Rented this dress for my bachelorette party. Absolutely loved it! It's stunning but definitely revealing! I wore double sided tape to help keep the straps in place. Gorgeous color & gorgeous dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
An unforgettable dress for a night you shouldn't remember!

I rented this dress for my twenty first birthday. I ordered both a medium and a large because I was worried the small would be too tight around my butt. I knew the medium would fit though. The dress itself does not have sides under the arm which i knew from reading the reviews. I wore sticky boobs and used fashion tape on the shoulders to hold the dress up tighter as it was very loose. I also used a piece of fashion tape at the 'vneck' to keep the strips of fabric together and to conceal my sticky boobs. I did not need to fashion tape the sides as I am very small busted and taping the shoulders was enough. The dress was not as short as I thought it would be but the material is very thin so you need seamless underwear. Customer service was fantastic when I thought they had forgot the belt, they overnighted me new ones (even after I found the original ones...oops). I loved the dress and it was perfect for the occasion.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×