Haute Hippie

Shoulder Action Mini

$43 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get the ultimate sexy look for a girls night out by wearing this Haute Hippie mini. A little shoulder and leg showing never hurt a girl when out!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green crepe de chine (100% silk). Long sleeve with cold shoulders. Cowl neckline. Straight mini skirt. Detachable belt. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
90 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(45)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
October 26, 2014
Cute style

I rented this as a second choice in case my first one didn't look right. However, it was way too short on me to be considered a dress. If anything I would HAVE to wear leggings underneath it. However, I did find the should straps to be a little large. It took some effort to keep them where I wanted them. Other than that, when its styled correctly, it could look super cute. It just was not right for me at this point in time.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2014
Loved it! Color was perfect

Loved the fit light weight but comfortable.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
November 5, 2014
Felt great in this dress!

This dress was so comfortable! Reviews said it was very short but I'm only 5'3" so it hit mid thigh on me. Also, reviews suggested fashion tape to keep it in place and not flash the girls, so I used the tape and it was perfect! It does run large so order your extra dress a size down. Loved this dress and got compliments from all ages of ladies!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 19, 2014
AMAZING DRESS! Wore it in Vegas for my bachelorette party

I LOVED this dress. The color, fit and look was so amazing. I will definitely be renting this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 14, 2014
Christmas House Party

The dress is highly versatile. Adding leggings and boots tones down the dress and makes it appropriate for the winter. Could be a very cute dress for the summer as well. The sleeves are a bit big and I had to wear a tank top under the dress so as not to flash everyone. If I was larger up top the dress would have been a perfect fit. The length was great for my short frame. I can imagine it would be a very short dress on a tall person.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 8, 2015
I looked online for 3 hours the next day trying to purchase this dress!!!

This was my all time favorite RTR dress I've rented thus far. The dress is so flattering and would be on any figure. I wore it to a casual party bus birthday party. It's comfy and sophisticated and sexy! You will receive compliments all night with this one! If RTR ever puts it on sale I call first dibs :)

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2015
Danced all night!

This dress was really cute and comfortable. I wore it over leggings because the weather didn't really cooperate with the mini skirt length. The dress runs big. I would have worn a medium but it was not available. With the large I wore a cami underneath. The front will drape too low, so you need something under or double sided tape. Otherwise great dress. I danced all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2015
Sexy but classy

I rented this for my second night in Vegas to go and see Britney Spears. It was fun and a great color. Glad I went with the medium, it was pretty short. I paired it with glittery gold heels and it was very Vegas :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2015
I loved the color!

The dress is very cute, but I would suggest getting some fashion tape for the top. This way when you bend down, your chest isn't exposed.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2015
Super cute, husband loved it.

Loose fitting, I had to add a belt to dress it up a bit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
May 10, 2015
Possibly one of my favorite rentals yet!

I wore this for a farewell party including dinner and dancing at a club. I think this dress would look great on pretty much everyone! I would recommend sizing down as it does run large. For you tall girls out there, it is not too short for those long legs! The style of the dress can go well with any situation no matter how casual or fancy. I loved this dress so much that I might rent it again for my birthday in a few weeks!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 31, 2015
Wore to a work party, showed enough to be fun, but not too much for a semi professional event.

Runs large, especially the top, but a little double sided tape worked fine to keep from exposing anything. Wish I owned, people loved this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34H
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 1, 2015
Great dress, fun yet sexy.

I wore this to a brunch and a upscale rooftop happy hour. It was really cute and I received alot of compliments. I am usually about a size 10 and should have ordered the medium based on the other reviews. The large was a bit big yet it was still ok but a medium would have been more sleek and would have stayed better on my shoulders. You will definitely need strapless bra. I'm 5'3" and it was about the same length on me as you see on the model, however, you can make it longer by pushing it down and tying the belt lower.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
June 10, 2015
this was my backup that i didn't wear because it was too revealing for a wedding (very low cut)

fit: runs very large, and I'm heavier in the bust too. i'm already shorter than average and this dress was still short on me (high thighs) pros: makes you feel slim because there's a lot of material that seems to "hang" cons: too low cut for wedding (if i needed to bend down to pick anything up, my bust/bra becomes very visible. tips: may be appropriate for date night or girls night out or night club

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 10, 2015
None

This dress would have been so flattering if the bottom was just a bit looser.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
June 30, 2015
It was okay

Wore this to a show in Vegas. The dress is a pretty hunter green and very blousey. Not very fitted but can be short if you have a high natural waist. Needed a bit of double stick tape with the cowl neck. Overall is was nice just not the best dress I've ever worn.

Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 28, 2014
Unique

I wore this to a family fundraiser. I'm always looking for something fun and this was it! Very comfortable. I highly recommend it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 31, 2015
Smokin' hot little number!

I will definitely rent this again. Perfect for a night out clubbing in the city.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2015
Super sexy, but a tad see-through

The XS was a backup size that I received when the original was unfortunately damaged. The XS actually fit me quite well, it's a flattering dress, but it is a tad see-through in the skirt area (I could easily see the outline of my legs with light behind me). I am by no means an XS, so this dress does run large. I didn't wear this dress because I went with the complimentary rental that RTR mailed me when the original size I requested was damaged. However, I could see myself renting this for a night out with the girls or a trip to Vegas.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2015
Fun Party Dress

I got tons of compliments on this dress. I'm pretty busty but this fit big on the top. I went with the small, the medium was very baggy up top. It was comfortable and cute. I would post pictures but I'm clearly having too much fun in all of them...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 29, 2015
Best dress ever!

I've never received so many compliments on a dress (including my wedding!) This is definitely the best dress I've ever worn. I'm short so the length was perfect. I did need fashion tape to prevent a wardrobe malfunction up top, but otherwise, it's super easy to wear and gives just enough glamour while still being casual enough for a party at the beach.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 4, 2015
Cute outfit

It was very cute on! Figure flattering and comfortable, with s little sexiness too! I wore the belt as a choker, and got several compliments about the overall look. My only complaint was that one or the other strap would not stay up, so I was brushing the arm back up countless times. I suggest wearing something underneath too, as it's quite low cut and a wardrobe malfunction would be waiting to happen. I'd still order it again though, very cute!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2015
Cute but runs large!

I wore this dress on vacation with my husband in key largo. I loved it but the bottom/waist was too loose and hung too low in front, I probably should have gotten the medium. I was also very disappointed that my dress did not come with the sash, it took away from the look a bit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2015
Fun, comfy, but still sexy!

Love this dress!! The color is perfection, fit is great...loose but still extremely flattering! I'm 5'8" and wore 4.5" heels, so was a bit short, but I didn't quite feel uncomfortable about it even without tights (maybe just a little while dancing ;) ). Felt sexy but classy all at the same time, and fiancé was a fan! Sad to see this one go! (PS my sister-in-law is also pictured in a lovely RTR fav...must say the jewel tones paired very well together for a fall wedding!)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 30, 2014
Super comfy. Perfect for petites.

The belt was missing, but being short waisted I didn't need it. The length hit perfectly. I wore it for a bachelorette event and got a ton of compliments from everybody. I've already reserved the dresses for the wedding in a few weeks. RTR rocks!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 47
December 12, 2015
Dress delivered w/o belt and in somewhat shabby condition, still a really cute dress.

Wore this to my annual work holiday party, which I plan and am entirely responsible for-- so it's not only fun, but something very important to me. This dress was super cute, BUT... This is my first experience with RTR and I am extremely disappointed. First of all, I received the dress with no belt. To me, having the elastic waist showing is a major bummer, it looks unpolished. I called and requested that they overnight the belt to me, but there were no other dresses in stock. They offered to switch for a different dress but on short notice, there were hardly any choices AND I had planned all my accessories around the pretty green. Secondly, the dress is VISIBLY used. I understand this is a rental, but once they have multiple snags, shouldn't they be "retired"? I wish my experience were better. Great concept, but I was stuck wearing a dress that looked like I bought it at a thrift store, and with no back-up options.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210lbs
October 23, 2012
GREAT DRESS!!!!!!!!!! Great for a full figure woman!!!!

GREAT dress beautiful was great!

StashaOctober 23, 2012
You look AMAZING! Love the hair
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2012
Gorgeous, flattering AND comfortable!

Rented this for the holiday party we hosted and LOVED it. It's sassy and stylish, hid my flaws in the tummy area, and was unbelievably comfortable (no spanx required!). The green color is fabulous with gold -- I rented the Oscar de la Renta earrings it's shown with and wore gold strappy sandals. Endless compliments, felt great. I used it again the next night to a church fundraiser -- wore it as a tunic with leggings and fab boots (to show less skin) with big gold hoops and it looked fantastic. The only thing I didn't like was sending it back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
January 21, 2013
I wore this to a friends wedding and felt like I looked like a million bucks.

I loved the dress but I did have a problem with the top strap. It broke, during shipping to me! So I was very luck that I had brought some double sided tape and that held the dress together. I'm sure that wouldn't happen with all of them, but it never hurts to bring some double sided tape.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 18, 2013
Comfortable and sexy!

I wore this for my birthday party, which was also St. Patrick's Day, so the green was perfect! The dress was super comfortable and the open shoulders felt both cute and sexy. It did run a little big, so just be careful to adjust the top right so that there is no accidental flashing. :) Can be dressed up or down depending on shoes and accessories. I had a great time wearing this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
Awesome, fun dress for a girls' night out

Such a cute, easy dress. I opted not to wear the belt because it didn't add anything to the dress. The shoulder cut-outs made it sexy without being too over the top.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
Fun dress for a night out.

Great dress that runs a little big on top. You'll definitely need a strapless bra and be prepared to show a lot of leg. Perfect for our fun night out in Vegas!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 4, 2015
Fit perfectly and the color was beautiful

Elegant yet simple

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 17, 2015
Great dress, very flattering

I would say I'm usually a medium but this runs big. The small was perfect and being tall (5.9") the sleeve length was perfect. For tall girls it is on the shorter side but still classy. Got lots of compliments, wore it to a friends 40th and felt 30 :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 15, 2015
Great color. Large fit.

I loved the color. The challenge was tying to keep the dress from exposing too much all night. It photographs well. Just a little out of my comfort zone. Still received many complements on it all night.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 6, 2016
Loved this dress! It can easily be dressed up or down. Very comfortable & flattering. Gorgeous color

Fits just a little bit big, especially since I'm lacking in the chest area. However, it draped nicely and I used "fashion tape" to keep the top from flapping open. I read previous reviews, that the sash did not come in some people's order. I sent RTR an e-mail asking that they please make sure that it was included, and it was! I felt very confident in this dress and really hate to see it go!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
February 3, 2013
perfect birthday dinner dress!

I'm 5'8", so the dress was pretty short. Other than that, I really loved it...it was so comfortable and loose enough around the middle to hide imperfections.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
February 18, 2013
Casual but descent

I didn't get to wear this dress because the sash was not included. I didn't have anything that "worked" with it as far as a belt and it was way too casual without something around the hips. It's cute if you have the right accessories.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2013
Great fit. I loved the dress, received compliments all night.

I like the flirty mid thigh length. The open shoulder gives a little sex appeal without being trashy. I would definitely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2013
I paired it with a khaki blazer for dinner, and then lost the jacket for the after party. Perfect!

I have long legs, so it may have been a tad on the short side for people. I thought the cut was very flattering especially for a party where eating and drinking is highly encouraged. I also loved how unique this dress is without being too "out there." I received so many compliments!

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×