Rent the Runway

Haute Hippie

Gold Peacock Lace Dress

$40 rental
$995 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like the belle of the ball in this insanely beautiful Haute Hippie peacock feather printed dress. Such a unique style for a fashion forward renter.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold metallic lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Tiered full skirt. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

84 reviews

Fit
Small 24
True to Size 56
Large 2
Photos 65
MeganR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Runs quite small. I am usually a small or x-small (5'3", 123lbs, 33-27-35) and I would have needed the medium - although I'm afraid a medium would have looked absurd in the hips. Probably best for a pear shaped body.
Sonia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This is a gorgeous dress - I got compliments all night! The bust area is a bit small so if you're getting two sizes, it makes sense to get the larger one also.
Reena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

Very cute but a little snug

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had so much fun wearing this dress. The skirt portion is puffy and fun and the top is kind of corset like (felt tight at times). The peacock feathers didn't look as peacocky as I expected but it was still fun to wear and I got a ton of complements.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 26, 2011

I was told this was the best dress at the event. That's always nice to hear ;)

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is an amazing dress! I wore it to my sorority formal and got so many compliments! I was a little bit worried about the size because of the reviews I had read, but when the dresses came in the small and medium fit me. I chose to go with the medium, and once I got full of wine it was a bit snug. But overall I loved it and will be renting from rent the runway again! I'm including some pictures because I really wish I could have seen it on someone that wasn't a 5'9 100lb model before I bought it. Ha!
NYC Gal
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

great dress for small waist.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
runs small! it is black with gorgeous gold, not green. looks very expensive. loved it
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

My friend said I looked like a magical peacock!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Awesome dress! I got so many compliments on it. The previous reviews say it fit tight on top but for me it was true to size. Gorgeous detailing! It was the perfect NYE Dress :) Thanks RTR xx
NJL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93 lbs
Jan 21, 2012

RTR makes every moment unforgettable

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for NYE and it was great! It was a little tight in the rib cage, but I don't blame the dress, I blame the holidays for that. I had the size small as my backup, but that was too big for me. The XS fit, but no big meal for me that night. All in all, the dress was great! Perfect for a fun night :)
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 5, 2012

Courtwarming Cute!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looks green on the picture, but it actually a very pretty gold that cannot be described. Usually, I don't look good in gold, but I pulled this off well. Also, I found the bust size to be a little loose on me. Another thing to consider is that if you're going to a place for dancing and renting this dress, BE WARNED: If you shake your hips, the dress will come up and people might see your undies. I wouldn't suggest this dress for dancing. Also, the bust area goes a little low. I wouldn't suggest this dress for wide shoulders.
Tarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 10, 2012

Cute, but a strange fit.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is VERY cute, the rental I received was in very good shape, and I was just so disappointed when it didn't fit well. My measurements are 34-25-35, and the small, which I initially thought would be too tight for me, did fit well in the bodice, but it was pretty loose in the bust. This was surprising to me, since, while I am small, I have a C chest--and I usually never have a hard time filling out size 2 dresses. I think that I wasn't broad enough to fill out the dress, and while I could have used a padded strapless bra and stylist tape to keep it up, it just wasn't super flattering on me, and I would have been yanking it up all night long. I suggest that petite girls with a big bust be wary of this one, or order the XS as a back-up if you think you can fit. Boobs alone will not be enough to fill out the bodice. You'll need to be a little broader across the chest and back, or else it'll be roomy.
Velvet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

A truly unique and comfortable party dress. Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A beautiful, fun party dress that I didn't want to return! Super comfortable (well, for a corset top anyway), sexy (hello cleavage!) yet still tasteful (hit me a couple of inches above the knee). Great to dance in all night with no need to tuck in the tummy. And lastly, made of a unique fabric that demands notice.
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Really fun dress--great if you want to stand out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got an XS and a S in this dress. I couldn't even zip the xs , but the S was a nice fit through the ribs. I felt like my breasts were a little small for it, and kept almost showing as the cup part of the dress slid down through the evening, but the corset made it feel like at least that part was really secure. The small was in ok condition--I felt like a little too much of the skirt lining showed in front and the feathers were pretty wrinked when I got it and I had to spend a lot of time smoothing it out. The XS looked like it had almost never been worn. You can see from the pics that it wasn't the best with my coloring--made me look even whiter, but I got so many compliments and I definitely felt like I made a statement and I'm glad I wore it to the masquerade event I attended.
Liat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2012

as mentioned above ...

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
got so many compliments, it was super fun, comfortable, flirty and pretty without being sexy or sleazy. Im rather tall and it didn't look as short on me as it did on the model in the pic, if thats a concern. can work for both winter (like now, with leggings) and summer. this was my first rental from RTR and i was so pleased, totally recommend it
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Apr 21, 2012

Best compliments were from people saying that the dress is "so me".

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress! It looked amazing in person and was fun and flirty while still being classy. I received a lot of compliments on it and it stood out in a sea of less detailed dresses. Definitely two thumbs up! I personally think it is better suited for small busts...maybe up to a C, at most. I am a D cup and my chest was definitely overly prevalent in the dress in my opinion. But that could also be coupled with the fact that the sizes available only went up to a medium, so I couldn't rent a larger size as an alternate.
csn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2012

love it

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
love this dress! so unique and got so many good remarks about it. The dress runs true to size for me. I am very picky so the only thing I was unhappy with was, I'm not sure if it is the specific dress I got, but the bottom of the dress was a bit uneven with the lining, only noticeable to me because I wore it and catch the tiniest flaws, otherwise awesome dress!
glenda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 19, 2012

I didnt use this dress since I order a smaller size hoping it will fit me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
but the dress looks and feels amazing it makes you want to dance
El
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Beautiful dress! Exquisite details!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The details on this dress are lovely! I wore this to my junior prom and got plenty of compliments. It's dressy but still fun. The colors are quite dificult to tell online, it is a beautiful olive gold color that would compliment any skin tone. I'm kind of pale and it looked fine, but my friend who is quite tan tried the dress on and it looked good on her too. It's a lovely dress and if you're thinking about it, go for it! It's so nice! The online pictures don't do it justice!
manda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

I received many compliments and just loved the dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great.
Cassidy
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Perfect fit! Very flattering! Compliments all night long!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfectly tight for my tiny waist so I wasn't tugging at all. Made my barely there chest look there. Sexy and elegant and super fun. Twirls all the night long. Lots of adoring looks and compliments. The best accessory was my confidence. I lit up the second the zipper was up. The only con is that the size difference between the XS and S was big. I wore the XS even though if felt a little tight and it was perfect. It is like it molded right to me.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Dec 28, 2012

Unique dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
In the picture it looks green, but it is actually gold detailing on black. There is a lot of fabric under the skirt that makes it fuller, but on my particular dress it was all bunched in the front and stuck out from under the skirt which was a little annoying. I also had to be careful that it didn't fall down too low on my chest all night, even though it was tight around my waist (I'm a B). Otherwise, it was a beautiful and unique dress and I received a lot of compliments!
JC girl
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Easy delivery and return.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful details on the dress, make sure to wear a good bra !
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

Was not able to wear it sadly

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately the fabric under the dress had stretched out and came down lower than the hemline so I was unable to wear this gorgeous dress. However, the dress itself was beautiful and the detailing was to die for. RTR was amazing about it though and gave me a full refund. I have rented since and had great experiences!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

this dress is so unique and was the best for my formal!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit is very tight, so don't order it if you're not sure. I basically tried it on and was instantly on a diet. the color and look are true to the picture although the detail is even more amazing in person.
Share
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Great for Masquerade Party

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a masquerade party and it was perfect! Fits true to size, I ended up wearing the small. The only negative thing I'll say, is that it seemed like the dress had been worn way too many times as the boning in the bodice wasn't very strong and kind of puckered out.
Nineveh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

super cute but not much room for the girls

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
if you have implants this may be a hard fit. my 34d's just wouldn't fit into the space provided and there is NO stretch in the top. you need to put it on over your head and not slip on from below if you have hips. i tried the small and medium and both were a no go. The material is cute but a little scratchy...
Natalie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 15, 2013

Compliments left and right...all night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great. True to size. I looked adorable.
Elle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Much more attractive in photos

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in both XS and S and found that neither fit me well - the XS was too tight to zip, while the the bust area was too loose on the S. On top of that, the dress is definitely less vibrant than in the photos shown online - I was expecting it to be gold and green, whereas in person, the coloring was much more black with gold. If you're in a well-lit area, then it'd be fine, but for an indoor night affair, the dress would have come off more boring than expected. Unfortunately, I didn't end up wearing this out at all.
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

My size in this dress must not exist!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both an XS and the Small. The XS was crazy small, and the Small fell down on the top - which does not work well for a formal event where you will be dancing. Yikes! I say "runs small" but that's not consistent across all of the sizes since the small was so big. Would likely work better if you are my height with a bigger bust. The material was very pretty though, which was nice. Slightly less mutlicolored than it appeared online - more of just straight black and gold. Seemed to be more of a youth cut than for a woman. Thankfully a plan B is en route from RTR!
christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

super cute, but EXTREMELY fitted & unfortunately too small on top to wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
short version: although the size was "M" and a normal size for me, it probably would be best suited for someone who wears a 2 or 4 dress size, but with a generous bust (or an amazingly padded strapless bra) to keep it up. long version: i laughed when i tried this dress on, since the zipper (it goes up the side, so that's a big advantage if you're dressing up without an extra pair of hands available to help!) was seriously gaping open. i probably had a good 6 inches of flesh keeping the zipper from closing. the bodice is super tiny. a couple of slimmer co-workers i foisted this dress on could zip up the dress, but the bust area would gape unless one was well-endowed (not too crazy, but anything less than a C cup would risk having a wardrobe malfunction). the dress itself is adorable and super unique, so it's too bad i wasn't able to wear it. a plea for RTR: make this dress available in L and XL, pretty please!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2014

Gorgeous and Unique

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pictures don't do justice to the beautiful details of this dress. The lace skirt really does look like peacock feathers, which was perfect for the masquerade party I attended. I wore it with a strapless bra, but it has enough structure in the top that some women may not need one. The lace is a little scratchy along the sides of your body, but it's a small price to pay for such a knockout dress!
Julie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Runs extremely small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I can't believe how small this dress runs! I am 120 pounds and always wear a size 2 as my rib cage is very narrow... I couldn't even get close to zipping this up. In addition the top of the dress looks a bit cheap. The bottom part of the skirt is very cute, but the top isn't.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Didn't fit XS OR the S - #bustprobz

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Thank God I rented two dresses because this dress was just not fitting me. The XS was too tight to zip up, and the S was too big on my chest and I had to keep pulling it up. I'm a 32D with a small top, so maybe it was just me, but neither size fit correctly. I was so sad that I couldn't be a glam peacock for the evening :(
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

I did not get to wear this to my event because it did not fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not get to wear this gorgeous dress because despite the reviews, the dress does NOT fit true to size- it fits about 2 sizes smaller than your normal size. I couldn't even get it zipped past my waist!
Deirdre
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
May 9, 2014

Got compliments all night, great statement dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was between a small and an extra small, so I had to squeeze into the extra small (the ribbing of the corset made this difficult).
Y
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Basically, the skirt looks even more amazing in person.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Comfortable Cons: For those less blessed in the chest department, expect some frequent up-tugging.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

This dress was ADORABLE! Fancy and fun...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress - I got so many compliments throughout the night. I wore it for my cousin's garden wedding, which had a peacock theme, and it was perfect. The fit was so flattering - nipped in the waist and bust (not for the bigger chested girls) and then a full, somewhat flouncy skirt. I was totally comfortable and I felt beautiful. Would LOVE to buy it if possible!!
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

Gorgeous gown...runs very small. Wasn't able to wear it..

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top is meant for a very narrow rib cage. Again very beautiful dress..runs very small
katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 30, 2014

it was beautiful

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
looked much better on than in this picture. i got this at the las vegas retail store at cosmo. and thankful for Destiny, as I would have never picked this. but it was playful and elegant.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

I bought this dress to wear it to our firms Holiday Christmas Party. Idea: something fun/different.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Fit: Runs very small (granted, I had gained a few lbs). Pros: Fun dress, the ability to get two sizes. Cons: Dress had some pilling on the top of the bodice. Seemed cheap for a designer dress.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Received many compliments on the dress!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very tight in the chest/bust area...Overall very comfortable. I'm very small chested and almost needed to size up.
MacKenzie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Mar 4, 2015

Super Pretty- If it fir

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
The dress was very small and short, I was unable to wear it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×