Haute Hippie

Gold Peacock Lace Dress

$40 rental
$995 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel like the belle of the ball in this insanely beautiful Haute Hippie peacock feather printed dress. Such a unique style for a fashion forward renter. Pair with a clutch like the Judith Leiber's Love Struck Bag.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold metallic lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Tiered full skirt. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

79 reviews

Fit
Small 24
True to Size 54
Large 1
Photos 57
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

The dress has such great detail!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a wedding and it was a big hit. The flowers are a bit more gold than in the picture but it is gorgeous. The top does run a bit small, I normally wear a 4-6 and the M was the right size.
Alex
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 12, 2011

FABULOUS!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had an amazing evening (homecoming!!!) in this dress! I got so many compliments and the best part was I could just send it back without having to worry about dry cleaning! Getting the 2 sizes was also great! I love this dress, and I am so happy that I rented it! It is more gorgeous in person!
Velvet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

A truly unique and comfortable party dress. Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A beautiful, fun party dress that I didn't want to return! Super comfortable (well, for a corset top anyway), sexy (hello cleavage!) yet still tasteful (hit me a couple of inches above the knee). Great to dance in all night with no need to tuck in the tummy. And lastly, made of a unique fabric that demands notice.
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 16, 2012

Really fun dress--great if you want to stand out!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got an XS and a S in this dress. I couldn't even zip the xs , but the S was a nice fit through the ribs. I felt like my breasts were a little small for it, and kept almost showing as the cup part of the dress slid down through the evening, but the corset made it feel like at least that part was really secure. The small was in ok condition--I felt like a little too much of the skirt lining showed in front and the feathers were pretty wrinked when I got it and I had to spend a lot of time smoothing it out. The XS looked like it had almost never been worn. You can see from the pics that it wasn't the best with my coloring--made me look even whiter, but I got so many compliments and I definitely felt like I made a statement and I'm glad I wore it to the masquerade event I attended.
Liat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 3, 2012

as mentioned above ...

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
got so many compliments, it was super fun, comfortable, flirty and pretty without being sexy or sleazy. Im rather tall and it didn't look as short on me as it did on the model in the pic, if thats a concern. can work for both winter (like now, with leggings) and summer. this was my first rental from RTR and i was so pleased, totally recommend it
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Apr 21, 2012

Best compliments were from people saying that the dress is "so me".

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress! It looked amazing in person and was fun and flirty while still being classy. I received a lot of compliments on it and it stood out in a sea of less detailed dresses. Definitely two thumbs up! I personally think it is better suited for small busts...maybe up to a C, at most. I am a D cup and my chest was definitely overly prevalent in the dress in my opinion. But that could also be coupled with the fact that the sizes available only went up to a medium, so I couldn't rent a larger size as an alternate.
kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 25, 2012

Everyone loved the dress. One girl said that she was "obsessed" with it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my little sister to wear to her prom. She couldn't have been more pleased with it. It fit very well and the lace is absolutely gorgeous - much more metallic than it seems in the picture, in a good way. The dress is flirty with a nice amount of drama, but wasn't too sexy. She was able to dance all night in it and told me that she felt like the prettiest girl there.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

Learning to Greek dance with all of my friends at the wedding in this metallic gold peacock feather dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a total show stopper! I got SO many compliments. The skirt was so fun to wear/dance in! I absolutely loved it. The bodice was flattering and comfortable - I didn't need to wear a bra. I am 5'6, 135 lbs., 34 C, and I wore a size small. Highly recommend this dress!
Simka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

This dress makes you feel like a rock star. The best compliment that I got that night was that no one had ever seen a dress like mine before, that it really made a statement without being too over the top.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a masquerade ball, and absolutely loved it. I have a really small torso, and this dress fit so that I didn't have to keep pulling it up. I don't really know what else to say about this dress except that it fit exactly like I hoped it would - not too short, not too long, not too tight, not too loose. It was also really comfortable, and I spent at least 7 hours in it.
maggie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

fabulous

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
got tons of compliments on it all night, sorry i don't really have a clear picture- but it is a GORGEOUS color, green-gold. made me feel like i was on the red carpet. the only complaints i had with it was the side zipper was hard to zip up, not because it was too small for me, but because the zipper was rough and not hidden. And after a night of dancing-the wire that holds up the cups broke out and stuck up into my skin :/
Bella
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Fit perfectly, stayed up the entire night, and my boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off me.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
perfect fit!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

I loved looking down on that beautiful skirt all night.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is beautiful, especially on the skirt. The one problem I had was that it made my torso look very boxy. I am short wasted, and it wasn't doing me any favors.
Tricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got tons of compliments. MADE FOR DANCING! I ordered the XS and S - I usually wear XS, so this dress runs small. FYI
Sofiya
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Very fun dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress makes you feel comfotable, beautiful, and edgy at the same time. I would have given it 5 stars if it had more bust support and structure. Otherwise, it is definitely a winner!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 4, 2012

It was a good birthday

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
No stretch, very comfortable, skirt has great movement, boning in bodice is helpful to keep it up, without becoming painful
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 1, 2013

Fun and Flirty

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for NYE. Sparkly, eye-catching and fun to dance in. The boning in the bodice had very little stretch - I wore the small without a bra and there was plenty of support but would recommend going up a size for back-up .
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I received so many compliments on this amazing dress!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely beautiful. It is perfect for short girls with a narrow torso. I initially ordered the S and the XS, but the S was unavailable. I think the S would have fit perfectly because the XS was definitely very tight. However, I think the holidays may have something to do with that! This dress is a show stopper, and I was so sad to return it! Highly reccomend!
Allie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Everyone noticed me in the dress! It was great for my event and for my photos

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was great for my special event where they took a lot of photos... So I wouldn't really wear the dress again... It was very complimentary to my figure and I didn't even need a strapless!
Jean
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Perfect dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a sorority formal at the zoo and, needless to say, it was the perfect fun and flirty dress. It fit fairly snuggly for a xs dress and accentuated my waist in a flattering manner. Since the bottom of the dress flares out, it gives your body a nice figure! I would definitely recommend the dress for any fun animal-themed party or formal event.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Rung in the New Year looking like a fabulous gilded peacock!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was great, and was right at home at a fancy new years eve party. When I rented it, I was nervous that the skirt might have glitter on it. No need to worry, everyone! All that lovely sparkle and shine comes from metallic thread. So you won't need to worry about picking glitter of yourself, your date, and pretty much every other surface. The boning added some structure, and wasn't uncomfortable. I still needed a strapless bra in order to fill out the top, but that's not unusual for a small busted lady like me.
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

Perfect party dress! Loved the shimmer in the lace!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for a 45th anniversary party for my husband's fraternity, which was just cocktail attire but I wanted something a little extra sassy, and this dress fit the bill! I am wide on top (nearly 36 A), so the Medium fit perfectly and overall the dress was comfortable. I am 5'5" and I was able to wear 5 inch wedges with out this dress looking too short. The only issue was when it arrived, the lace was all stuck together like velcrow and I actually had to iron it a little, since it made the lace wrinkle pretty badly. Aside from that it was great and a gorgeous dress in person! I complimented the goldish lace with green earrings and red lipstick. I got tons of compliments all night! It was fun to dance in and the RTR easy return was awesome.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 21, 2013

So many compliments!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was the best I've ever rented. There's gold thread detailing in the bodice that is incredible, and the peacock feather skirt is made of a fine gold and black lace. It's incredible comfortable and fits like a glove. I paired it with the elizabeth cole burst and chain earrings and they matched perfectly. Wish I never had to send this dress back!
Cameron
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 17
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

Absolute Fabulosity!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits great and is great for dancing and moving around in. You may want to be careful when sitting down and getting up, but other than that PERFECT!
Natasha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 14, 2013

Beautiful and unique!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a four and a six, because I was in the middle of the two. The dress itself is beautiful, with a industrial zipper (thank god!!). The gold lace overlaying the black satin kind of gives it a greenish tinge to it, but it was still gorgeous. I wore it to my senior homecoming, and the fit around the bust was snug, which allowed me to dance with doing the "pulling-up-my-strapless-dress" move.
Tierra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

Not the greatest dress but it worked

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked the dressed... When I opened the box I was hoping for it it be more of the peacock color but is gold and black.. The small did not fit over my hips so I went for the medium which fit but I had to use double stick tape to hold it up
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Jan 1, 2014

Great party dress, perfect for New Years Eve

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I took advantage of the NYE dress deal to rent this dress and was very happy I did. It was fun and appropriate for the type of party I went to. I rented an XS and S and the S fit perfectly, Id recommend sizing up for this an accessorizing with a belt!
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 1, 2014

So much fun!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It fit great and I got a ton of compliments on it all night. I felt I was pulling it up a little bit, the bust could have been a tad more supportive. But overall a great fit and very fun to dance in. It is formal but unique- highly recommend!
Tory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Gorgeous party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was Mrs. Peacock from the game Clue for a murder mystery dinner party for my birthday. The dress is super comfortable. It does not wrinkle. It has tons of volume and great detail when viewed up close. I received many compliments. Enjoy!
Margaret
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

It was such a neat dress! Really interesting and I received many complements!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was really pretty up close lots of details. It ran a tad small in the bust but overall a great fit. I wore it to a formal event/ law school prom. Fun Night Great Dress and I would highly recommend it to anyone else!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
May 13, 2014

Fun, flirty and fabulous birthday dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this from the Las Vegas showroom for my birthday. The stylist told me a lot of women can't wear it because the top is too tight; I'm very small on top but larger on bottom so the tighter bodices and looser skirts are perfect. This was flirty and short and tight enough to still be Vegas appropriate. It's very true to size and no Spanx are needed! (Hallelujah!) I loved wearing this dress - I paired it with a chunky gold elephant necklace and gold glitter spiked Betsey Johnson stilettos. I have never felt more confident in a dress and I owe it all to the ladies at the Las Vegas showroom - they found this gem for me!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 30, 2014

So much fun to dance in!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This definitely runs small, but the next size up was super comfy! The detailing is beautiful and it photographs very nicely. My favorite dress I've ever rented. Wish I could wear it again!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Jul 23, 2014

Super cute peacock party dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This runs small. I had to do the Slim Fast diet for a few days before I wore this so it zipped. So it's a tiny "medium". But it's adorable and I got tons of compliments on it.
Ashlee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Statement Maker!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this little gem to a " Dress like an animal Party" and it definitely fit the bill. In a sea of cheesy costumes, my peacock dress was the stunner. I felt beautiful. The dress itself was a little worn and I had to pin the front of under slip up a bit because it fell below the feathers. It was also a little uncomfortable in the waist when sitting, but the medium was too loose, so I dealt with it. I paired it with the Kate Spade Steal The Spotlight necklace, which seemed like it was made for this dress. Overall, it was a wonderful rental and I will definitely reach for it again.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 24, 2014

Unique, Glamorous and Fun!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a charity party for Pittsburgh's Riverlife. It runs very small. I typically wear a small or a size 2. I rented the small and the medium after reading other's reviews. I ended up wearing the medium. So, I would recommend sizing up. However, the dress is beautiful! I loved the detail in the lace. The charity event was called Gold, Glitz and Glam. So, the dress was perfect for the event!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 32A
Sep 26, 2014

Didn't want to take it off!!!!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, I rented it ahead of time (about a month before the event) to try on. I was attracted to it because of its gold detailing, immediately when I opened the box I just loved it! The bodice is a little snug but I really didn't care. I paired it with gold shoes and a gold necklace. Would definitely be rented again!!!!!
jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 19, 2014

Fun and different NYE dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! Classy and fun and different. It stayed up really well which is something I constantly worry about as a C/D cup. The caging of the top of the dress got slightly uncomfortable - but It was tolerable.
Yen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

this dress made my Diwali evening festive!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
this dress is SO pretty, pictures don't do justice. im 5'8" 125lbs, 34a, size small was a great fit in bodice, a bit loose in cups but not terribly so.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

So many compliments at Fuel the Cure charity gala!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous - high quality, well made, beautiful details. Got tons of compliments, would definitely recommend. A few tips - if u have a small rib cage (like me) I'd recommend an xs. I ordered a small & medium & the small was falling down all night (it's a heavy dress). Definitely need double sided tape and my strapless bra wouldn't fit in it so you'll need petals. But if worn properly, this dress is to die for.
Kyle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

I needed something Madonna-esque for an 80's party. This was perfect.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size, the bodice is flattering and the skirt isnt too flouncy. I loved it.
Seneca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Holiday Party Dress Sparkle

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Although this dress probably fits best bra-less, I am a Mom so I require a bit more lift and squeeeeezed a strapless bar under the dress. It did make the bodice a bit tight but I was able to get the desired effect. the size small was actually still too large with the strapless bra, surprisingly which is why I wore the extra small. The dress has a fabulous sparkle and the gold accent really doesn't translate well in photos. My husband loved it and it was the perfect Holiday party dress! I preferred that the length was almost knee length because I was able to wear thigh high stockings.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×