Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Star of the Show Gown

$130 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Going with a black gown for that gala? If so, go with this trendy Halston Heritage halter gown. A flattering style that cant do you wrong. Go with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

101 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 44
Large 49
Photos 55
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Pretty Dress, but a little big

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as one of two options for a black tie event, but I ended up choosing the other (Badgley Mischka Ruched Sweetheart) because its very low in the back (which is awesome/sexy but I had a tan line that showed) and big up top in the chest area (particularly on the sides of my bust). It was a stunning elegant and flowing dress, but I was going for something that showed off my figure more, so I chose a different one!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 22, 2012

I agree

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful; however, its runs large in the bust...and I'm a DD. I didn't like the bust showing on the sides. The skirt is very pretty and flowy. Do not order the long if you are 5'5" or shorter. I was advised the long would work with my heels (I have on 5 inches) and it doesn't.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

Perfect length-lose in chest

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in the 2L and 4L. The 2L fit better around the chest and every where else, but was too short for me (I am a little over 5ft 8in). The 4L was lose in the chest so I had to use double sided tape to keep myself covered, but worked better length wise for me. Also with the way this dress is cut the inside hanger strings are hard to keep in- I had to constantly check and tuck. Otherwise the dress was perfect. I felt like it was sexy, but not too revealing and was comfortable. I could sit, stand, walk (not bend over!) and I got lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Apr 26, 2012

Classy

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was afraid that this dress would look a little "maternity" but it didn't, it was beautiful and classy. I ordered the 6L but the 4L fit better with the exception of the belt which was very snug. They only sent one belt for both dresses and it was a small. I would recommend asking for the bigger belt if your average dress size is a 6.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 23, 2012

I want to buy it

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It is very classic.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 11, 2012

For Beautiful Backs Only

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event that I was attending with my parents. The dress runs a little large so I suggest ordering a size smaller for your back-up. The belt helps in sinching the waist and the plunging neckline is very tasteful – it completely covered my D cups. A very elegant dress indeed, but I didn’t realize how unflattering the dress would make my back look. My back fat and birth mark made me really self conscious and I ended up wearing my back-up RTR rental.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Pleased

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was very pleased with this dress. This was the first time using RTR and will be a returning customer.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Love!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVED this dress. I wore it to a black tie charity event and it was perfect. I am a definite pear shape and loved how the dress accented a smaller waist while hiding full thighs. Ran true to size and was the perfect length on my 5'5" frame for a pair of 3 inch heels.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 8, 2012

Compliments Galore!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I got so many compliments in this dress! I usually wear a 6 and I am small on top with a small waist. This dress was perfect for my body type because it belted at smallest part of my body. The best part - I didn't have to wear a bra and the back is very sexy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Beautiful & Elegant Prom Dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was definitely a one of a kind at my prom this year. I absolutely loved the simplicity of the look. With a sparkly necklace or accessories it really finishes the outfit well. The open back and deep V gave just the right amount of sexy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Sexy dress!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I love it.. however the top was large for me. I had to use taupe tape on my breast.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Lovely experience!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding in NYC. The dress came in great condition and was exactly the material I had hoped for. Because of the many comments about this dress running large, I ordered the 4 and 6. I generally wear a 6/8, but I am way smaller on top than bottom, and I knew this dress would be kind to my bottom half. The 4 fit perfectly in terms of zipping up, but the top was huge!! I had to get creative on how to pin the top so that I didn't let the girls hang out all night. Not a big deal, but something to think about- I'm not sure what type of bust fits in that thing. That being said, who can argue with a dress that does not require a bra, bonus, big time. I was super comfortable! The only other comment about the dress is that I wish I had ordered the taller version. I am 5'7'' but I like really high heels, so I end up at 6 feet usually. This dress was a little short, so if you are my height and wear heels, I would recommend ordering the tall version. All in all, I am pleased with my experience- I looked lovely and I was comfortable. I look forward to using RTR in the future!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 5, 2012

Amazing!!!!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic! Stunning on, comfortable and beautiful when you walk! Has a graceful flow and elegance to it!!! I ordered the 2L and 4R...the 2L was perfect....with a little tap to hold the top in pace! Tons of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was beautifu but it was large on the top. I normaly fit into a 10 or 12 but an 8 would have been a better fit and I never fit into an 8.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I want to own this dress!!! I read a lot of reviews before I got on this dress and the blue one (same dress but diff color) and was kind of worried. I am kind of in between a 4 and a 6, and everyone said it ran large, so went with the 4. They did not have a 2 or a 6 for a back up size in case, so I was really risking it. The length was absolutely perfect for me (I am 5'8" with small chest) in the 4L. It fit perfect in the 4, although bc I have a lot of muscle, the belt was a little tighter than I would have liked. I would suggest ordering your normal size and a size down, you will end up wearing size down, but the belt on the next size up will probably be better. Although everyone is different, thats just how it would have been for me. A lot of reviews said they needed tape and that the side boob was an issue. I did not find this to be the case AT ALL. I definitely didnt need any tape, and was perfectly comfortable and not worried about flashing anyone all night. It might be different for girls with bigger boobs to hold in, which is my only guess as to why other people wrote that. This was sexy but I also definitely felt beautiful and thought it was tasteful enough for a formal wedding. You will not regret renting this one!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 1, 2012

This dress is amazing. So comfortable and versatile. Love love love! Runs very large though.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
What started out as a disaster, ended with a wonderful experience. I had initially ordered this dress in the blueish/purpleish color (moodn goddess dress) as a back up for a black tie wedding. My first choice was WAY too short and looked kind of ridiculous. Then the moon goddess dress was too big and the belt was damaged to the point that it was unwearable...(random side note: i ordered the moon goddess dress in a 2L. I'm usually somewhere between a 2 and 4 but i sized down after reading reviews...but apparently I didn't size down enough). I called RTR on Friday morning (the wedding was Saturday) and they were absolutely amazing. One of the best customer service experiences i've ever had. They ended up sending me this dress in a 0L (the 2L in the mood goddess dress was too big) and it fit absolutely perfect. I got so many compliments on the dress!!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Fantastic Dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress but unfortunately couldn't wear it since I got a terrible sunburn that it highlighted. This dress was incredibly flattering and forgiving in the bottom, and sexy on top without being vulgar. I hope I will have occasion to rent this dress in the future.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 16, 2012

I hope that you are busty!!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love this dress in the picture, but when I got it home... the top was huge. It was much blousier on top then I was expecting. Nothing was falling out, but the dress was ballooning out at the top. It was just so BIG. I'm glad the event that I was going to was not as formal as I thought it was going to be, so I could wear another dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2012

I didn't wear this style from my order for my event.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this and one other style from Halston Heritage, for my event. I rented two sizes of this dress, a 4L and 6L. The picture shows the dress being a little blousy on the girl. It was definitely that and even a little bit big on me. I wear a 4-6. and am a full 34B- small 34C, but the dress made me look like a little girl playing dress up on top. This could possibly be a good choice for a larger breasted girl, but remember it does cut sort of low. It wasn't exactly the look/fit I was going for, so I didn't wear it. The back was pretty, and didn't plunge too low. It was definitely still appropriate for a formal affair. It flowed away from the lower body, and could hide any low body problem areas. The length was fine, and I could wear heels with it (I'm 5'10).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

The cut of this dress is very flattering and the fabric is beautiful.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress a lot but I needed a smaller size if I was going to wear it. The "belt" feature that appears in the photos wasn't actually on the dress and I didn't have anything I could have used to cinch it. It definitely needs a belt or something at the waist.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

beautiful material, too open in the back for my liking

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress had a beautiful flowing skirt, however the top was just way too revealing for my liking. I have a normal length torso and the halter was too long, so had I worn the dress I would have likely been falling out with every move.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×