Halston Heritage

Star of the Show Gown

$110 – $130 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Going with a black gown for that gala? If so, go with this trendy Halston Heritage halter gown. A flattering style that cant do you wrong. Go with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(57)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 4, 2017
Simple Dress. Needs some fabulous statement jewelry to bring it to formal.
Shape of dress was nice as well as the true to size fit. Large jewelry pieces would step this up a ton
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2017
Unforgettable dress!
I was sent this dress for a formal event after my original dress was not able to make it to me due to previous damage. But I am so glad that happened! This dress is by far my favorite that I have rented. Classic, elegant, but still fun & unique! The top was a little large, but nothing a little garment tape couldn't fix. I would highly recommend this amazing dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 13, 2017
Comfortable, elegant, and classy! I got many compliments and felt so comfortable dancing in it!
If you have a small waist, I do recommend ordering down a size. I ordered and 8 and it was comfortable and didn't look large, but I definitely could have handled a 6. The fabric was light and I did not feel hot at the wedding (which was 85 degrees!) or dance floor all night. You will definitely need fashion tape for this-- i used a few pieces on each side--but then I felt great and didnt worry about revealing anything all night; nothing budged. I'm 5'8" and wore 2.5 inches and the regular length was perfect. I felt like a movie star-- go for it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
May 17, 2017
The most comfortable dress ever! Perfect dress to dance in and have an amazing time with!
Gorgeous deep open back and v front, fun belt to give a nice shape to, also length is perfect and didnt even need to wear heels though I could've! Amazing dress for any occasion!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2017
I loved this dress. Felt glamorous. Easy. Loved the twirly skirt, dramatic neckline. Lovely.
This dress was a dream. The 4 fit me just right at the waist. The belt that was sent could not have possible bene the original. It was just a cheap ribbon thing. I dressed up the waist with a black velvet ribbon I had from another dress. Tied it in a nice long bow at the back and it works great. My girls needs to be tapped up in this one for extra support and a lil lift. The top is not fitted and gaped a bit. I taped the neckline and sides for just enough modesty. I wore 4" strappy gold heels and the skirt did not drag but you do have to be cautious of potentially tripping over yourself. Overall, this dress made me feel confident, beautiful, and fun. Enjoy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 45
April 20, 2017
At least one size too big
The material is very billowy so can create a bulky look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 6, 2017
Loved this dress online.
This dress runs big especially in the bust area. If you do not have a chest to fill it out I would move on to another dress. Would have loved it but was just too big in the top even if I used double sided tape. So bummed, but Rent The Runway hooked me up with another dress so everything worked out great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 29, 2017
Worked out great with the Greek party theme
Loved this dress. Used dress tape, and substituted with Gold Cord for a Greek themed black tie event
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2016
Beautiful and Flowy!
I loved the look of this dress for my friends wedding. I was a bridesmaid and we were able to choose our own gown. With my heals it was the perfect length. The only issue I had was that the area for the bust was way too big, and I wore the smaller of the sizes that I received. There was a lot of tape involved to hold me in. Otherwise it was extremely comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2016
Stunning Gown!
I got this dress as a replacement when the original dress I wanted wasn't fit to be sent. RTR was AMAZING. They reached out, asked me to send some favorite styles and that they would work to accommodate and respond to me ASAP. The initial email I got was at 9am on Tuesday (Thursday rental), by 12pm on Tuesday I knew I had 2 new dresses coming that I was just as excited about. While it wasn't ideal that my original dress wasn't available, I appreciate that RTR checks the clothing and wouldn't send me something in disrepair. Their service was impeccable and I can't wait to rent another dress! I wore this for a city wedding in Chicago. The dress was amazing. The 8R was the perfect length to wear flat sandals for me (5'9). I didn't have to wear a bra with the dress (36D), just some tape on the sides. I received the 8 and the 10. The 8 had the belt (it's sewn on, so you can't transfer it to the other dress) and the 10 did not. The 10 also seemed like some of the material around the chest (toward the armpits) had un-bunched (I don't know how else to explain it). It felt far more voluminous and not in a good way. The material on the 8 was secured and looked great. The dress was extremely comfortable and does run a bit big, size down if you're between sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
July 10, 2016
This dress was lovely.
The dress was lovely. However, it was sent to me without the belt, so I could not wear it- the belt is essential for this dress. My only comment is that I am 5'8" and I was going to be wearing shoes that had 1" heels and this dress would have been just a bit too short.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Weight: 136lbs
June 19, 2016
Great simple, but chic black dress. Chic and comfy!!! NOTE: mine did not ship with a belt.
Chic and comfy!!! NOTE: mine did not ship with a belt. It NEEDS a belt. So either mine was shipped without a belt in error or you need to pair it with a belt you have or rent a belt. But this is a lightweight, comfy, chic, simple dress. Great for formal, event, gala, etc. Multi-use, for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2016
Fun but had to adjust all night
This dress was comfortable and beautiful but probably could have sized down ( haven't been a size 2 ever) because the bust kept slipping sideways and I had to be aware and adjust all night. But otherwise it was sexy comfortable and beautiful. Maybe my boobs are just too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2016
Perfect Bridesmaid Dress
Perfect bridesmaid dress! Although I didn't have the option of selecting a 4l for this review, I'm fairly certain that is the size I ordered and it fit just right, except for the belt which was too big, so I just improvised and used one from one of my dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 2, 2016
My favorite RTR ever!
I rented this dress for a formal event. I ended up getting very sick and not making the event, but this has been my favorite dress that I've gotten from RTR... Maybe my favorite dress that I've ever worn. Absolutely stunning. My next event that requires evening wear I will get this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2016
Formal Event / Engagements
So the 2P was a little short. I'm 5'3" and wore 3" heels and it was too short. Should've gone with 2 reg. Over all though, such a stunning dress. So forgiving and comfy but still sexy and classic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2016
LOVE
About me: I am Kate's friend, Katherine. She kindly let me rent a dress from her account Ht: 5'11''; Body type: hourglass; bust size: 34 C Beautiful dress. I typically wear a 10, but was able to size down to an 8. The deep V neckline and backless features of the dress require a sticky bra... I just left mine unfastened. Dress tape would also probably be useful. I forgot to purchase some so I was a little focused on staying covered. I am pretty tall, so I ordered the long. The dress still brushed the floor while wearing 3 inch heels. I felt beautiful and really enjoyed wearing the dress to my event. Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2016
Beautiful dress wore it for a New Year's Eve gala. Would definitely wear it again.
Dress fit true to size. I read previous post that said the dress was long, I'm 5 4" & 155 lbs the 10p fit perfect. I'm a size 36C and I did not need to wear a bar with the dress. Used some double sided tape to avoid side boob. I did not like the belt that came with the dress it looked cheap. I liked the way the dress looked with out the belt. Would definitely rent this dress again it was beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 23, 2015
Classy and comfortable
I wore this dress to a black tie charity event and I felt stunning. I used fashion tape on the plunging neck line and on my sides in order to keep any accidents from happening during the night. Originally my order didn't come with a belt so RTR's amazing customer service overnighted me the belt and I'm so happy they did because it's exactly what the dress needed to tie in the waste in order to keep it from looking too baggy. It also adds detail to the back which I loved. I usually wear a 2P and sometimes a 0 but I ordered the 2P and I'm happy I did. It zipped up around my waist perfectly and for my 5'2" height it fell perfectly to the ground with the help of my highest heels. I highly recommend this dress if you're going to a formal event and want to be professional yet still a little bit sexy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2015
I felt so beautiful!
It was so easy how it arrived, how it was packaged, you do have to drop off at UPS or schedule a puck up. I order two dresses but the first one I tried on I fell in love with and never even tried on the back up dress. Looks better then the photo. My husband was impressed with quality and how amazing I looked in his dress. I'm usually a 4/6 wide hips and small chest. This dress was flattering to my shape and helped to hide my dis portions but some one with largest chest would have room to fill, I never felt uncomfortable. I look forward to renting again for future weddings and have already recommend to my friends to try RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 9, 2015
Felt like a movie star
This dress is sensational. I was stopped numerous times and called a movie star and a "goddess"! I have never felt more glamorous. With kitten heels this dress dusted the floor. I used fashion tape to keep the dress more modest and the Victoria's Secret U-Plunge Bra works great. The dress fit nicely at the waist and the lining has stretch, so it just flowed beautifully over my curves. I wear a 12 usually, but was able to wear the smaller 10 as I have a small waist. This is a major show stopper.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 5, 2015
I liked the dress, I'm pretty short and it fit well.
this was long, definitely not a petite dress
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
November 3, 2015
This dress was stunning for the black tie wedding we attended!
The dress was a little big in the sides, but overall a wonderful fit! I received so many compliments! I would recommend this dress to anyone wanting to look stunning while still being comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 8, 2015
Stunning!
It was perfect! It fit perfect and was not heavy or hot. The v-neck was not as deep as I thought it was going to be and I felt very comfortable at a black tie event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2015
Favorite RTR dress yet!
Incredible formal gown! Dress has a much more open back than you might think, so be ready to show some skin! Also runs large and short- I usually wear an 8R, but wore a 6L in this. I had some issues with side boob so ended up safety pinning the back of the halter neck to make it tighter up top and wearing my hair down to hide it. With a little fashion tape and TLC it fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2015
It was perfect for a formal affair!
#wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
July 23, 2015
Very pretty and classic dress with a touch of sass.
The fit was very comfortable. I am usually a 4-6R, so I went with the 4R since many people said it ran large. It worked out really well. The dress is classic and sexy, but can pass as conservative if you use fashion tape and the proper shape wear. The open back and the neckline are pretty without being scandalous, and you can definitely wear it around parents, relatives, and the buttoned up folks in your life. One thing to note is that the top is very voluminous, so it can make you look like you have HUGE saggy boobs. I taped the top, so that it was a little more pinned down. It definitely helped. I needed a slightly conservative, yet somewhat sexy, dress for a formal event at a country club. This dress did the trick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2015
Perfect Black-Tie event dress!
Length was great for me. Heels brought the hemline off the ground so I didn't have to worry about tripping. Dress was very comfortable and easy to wear. Went with nipple covers instead of a stick-on bra and with the pleating, coverage was not an issue. Due to the low back, I would say it runs large because it can fit a wide range of sizes. I normally choose a 6 because of the bust area to ensure enough room but did not have to worry about that with this dress. Only negative thing is that it did not come with a belt as pictured so I wore a belt of my own. Great dress, easy to dress up for a black tie event.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 18, 2015
Very elegant and enchanting!
This dress made my night extra magical! Renting it for my senior prom was definitely the right choice. I felt gorgeous and elegant all night in this flowing black dress. It was a beautiful rent! I am a very small person, I should have ordered a 2P, so I'm guessing that it runs very true to size! Fun to dance in too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 30, 2015
This dress was absolutely amazing! I received so many compliments on it, didn't want to take it off!
I ordered the 2R and 4R, both fit in the waist but the 2R was a couple inches short with 4 inch heels. the 4R hit just above the floor. I wore adhesive bra cups and taped the neckline to avoid any accidents, and felt secure all night. It doesn't feel revealing even with the low neckline and open back. I would highly recommend this dress and can't wait to use Rent the Runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2015
Nice dress for a charity event.
The neck was a little bit long and the belt was a little bit short. Otherwise, this dress was nice and easy for a charity event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 5, 2015
Made for someone with a longer torso.
This one is not for us shorter gals (I am 5'2"). The top was way too big in both the 0 and the 2. There was no way to easily shorten it without hurting the dress. Even with double-sided tape holding it to the chest area, there is just too much material. Also, the dress dragged the floor even with super high heels. It is a very pretty dress but would probably work better on a taller gal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2015
Great customer service!
Very large in the top, especially on the sides. Said it was coming with belt and it didn't. Because it was just not flattering in the top I chose not to wear it. The bottom and material was beautiful though.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
March 20, 2015
Loved the back of dress
I knew it was low cut but I wish it would've stayed a little closer to my skin. But overall the dress was pretty and sexy. Just kinda hard to wear. Get some tape.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2015
I did not wear it, while I am "endowed" on top the halter portion was huge.
I did not wear it, while I am "endowed" on top the halter portion was huge
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
February 11, 2015
Terrible fit on top
Fit was terrible. I have 34ddd chest and it gaped horribly on the sides.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2015
Very comfortable gown great for the occasion super classic!
This gown was just right for my tall frame and no adjustments had to be made. Just gorgeous!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 15, 2015
NYE Wedding
I rented this in the 4R and 6R, and the 4 fit better. This dress runs true to size, but just wasn't flattering on me. They didn't come with the belts, but wasn't a huge deal since I had a black one already at home. I think this dress would be more flattering on a different body type. The length was good for my height (5'5) and the low back of the dress is really pretty. Great coverage for people with a larger chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2015
This dress was comfortable, classic and a perfect choice for a formal New Years eve party.
The dress was a bit more deeply cut in front than I expected. The black belt that comes with the dress was boring so I used a gold a black belt of my own.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
January 2, 2015
I rented this dress for a wedding on NYE. It was absolutely perfect for the occasion.
I had originally rented a 4 and a 6 since my wedding dress was a 6 and the other reviews had mentioned the dress ran large. They both ended up being big and I called and the overnighted the size 2 to me and it fit like a glove! The only drawback is the top, it can be a little loose in the chest when you're sitting if you are not well endowed. Nothing double sided tape wouldn't fix though. I wore wedges and the dress fell right to about 1/2 cm of the floor. The belt that came with the 2 fit fine, but it was not included with the 4 and 6 and for some reason I absolutely loved this dress and the customer service was amazing! Would absolutely rent another dress again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×