Halston Heritage

Star of the Show Gown

$269 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Going with a black gown for that gala? If so, go with this trendy Halston Heritage halter gown. A flattering style that cant do you wrong. Go with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Belt is not guaranteed.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(57)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
January 2, 2015
I rented this dress for a wedding on NYE. It was absolutely perfect for the occasion.

I had originally rented a 4 and a 6 since my wedding dress was a 6 and the other reviews had mentioned the dress ran large. They both ended up being big and I called and the overnighted the size 2 to me and it fit like a glove! The only drawback is the top, it can be a little loose in the chest when you're sitting if you are not well endowed. Nothing double sided tape wouldn't fix though. I wore wedges and the dress fell right to about 1/2 cm of the floor. The belt that came with the 2 fit fine, but it was not included with the 4 and 6 and for some reason I absolutely loved this dress and the customer service was amazing! Would absolutely rent another dress again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
March 20, 2015
Loved the back of dress

I knew it was low cut but I wish it would've stayed a little closer to my skin. But overall the dress was pretty and sexy. Just kinda hard to wear. Get some tape.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2015
Great customer service!

Very large in the top, especially on the sides. Said it was coming with belt and it didn't. Because it was just not flattering in the top I chose not to wear it. The bottom and material was beautiful though.

Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2015
It was perfect for a formal affair!

#wedding

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 19, 2015
Favorite RTR dress yet!

Incredible formal gown! Dress has a much more open back than you might think, so be ready to show some skin! Also runs large and short- I usually wear an 8R, but wore a 6L in this. I had some issues with side boob so ended up safety pinning the back of the halter neck to make it tighter up top and wearing my hair down to hide it. With a little fashion tape and TLC it fit perfectly!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2015
I felt so beautiful!

It was so easy how it arrived, how it was packaged, you do have to drop off at UPS or schedule a puck up. I order two dresses but the first one I tried on I fell in love with and never even tried on the back up dress. Looks better then the photo. My husband was impressed with quality and how amazing I looked in his dress. I'm usually a 4/6 wide hips and small chest. This dress was flattering to my shape and helped to hide my dis portions but some one with largest chest would have room to fill, I never felt uncomfortable. I look forward to renting again for future weddings and have already recommend to my friends to try RTR!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
January 1, 2016
Beautiful dress wore it for a New Year's Eve gala. Would definitely wear it again.

Dress fit true to size. I read previous post that said the dress was long, I'm 5 4" & 155 lbs the 10p fit perfect. I'm a size 36C and I did not need to wear a bar with the dress. Used some double sided tape to avoid side boob. I did not like the belt that came with the dress it looked cheap. I liked the way the dress looked with out the belt. Would definitely rent this dress again it was beautiful.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 18, 2015
Very elegant and enchanting!

This dress made my night extra magical! Renting it for my senior prom was definitely the right choice. I felt gorgeous and elegant all night in this flowing black dress. It was a beautiful rent! I am a very small person, I should have ordered a 2P, so I'm guessing that it runs very true to size! Fun to dance in too!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
November 3, 2015
This dress was stunning for the black tie wedding we attended!

The dress was a little big in the sides, but overall a wonderful fit! I received so many compliments! I would recommend this dress to anyone wanting to look stunning while still being comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
November 9, 2015
Felt like a movie star

This dress is sensational. I was stopped numerous times and called a movie star and a "goddess"! I have never felt more glamorous. With kitten heels this dress dusted the floor. I used fashion tape to keep the dress more modest and the Victoria's Secret U-Plunge Bra works great. The dress fit nicely at the waist and the lining has stretch, so it just flowed beautifully over my curves. I wear a 12 usually, but was able to wear the smaller 10 as I have a small waist. This is a major show stopper.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2015
Very comfortable gown great for the occasion super classic!

This gown was just right for my tall frame and no adjustments had to be made. Just gorgeous!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 40
February 11, 2015
Terrible fit on top

Fit was terrible. I have 34ddd chest and it gaped horribly on the sides.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 2, 2016
My favorite RTR ever!

I rented this dress for a formal event. I ended up getting very sick and not making the event, but this has been my favorite dress that I've gotten from RTR... Maybe my favorite dress that I've ever worn. Absolutely stunning. My next event that requires evening wear I will get this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2016
Perfect Bridesmaid Dress

Perfect bridesmaid dress! Although I didn't have the option of selecting a 4l for this review, I'm fairly certain that is the size I ordered and it fit just right, except for the belt which was too big, so I just improvised and used one from one of my dresses.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2016
Fun but had to adjust all night

This dress was comfortable and beautiful but probably could have sized down ( haven't been a size 2 ever) because the bust kept slipping sideways and I had to be aware and adjust all night. But otherwise it was sexy comfortable and beautiful. Maybe my boobs are just too small.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 29, 2017
Worked out great with the Greek party theme

Loved this dress. Used dress tape, and substituted with Gold Cord for a Greek themed black tie event

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2017
Unforgettable dress!

I was sent this dress for a formal event after my original dress was not able to make it to me due to previous damage. But I am so glad that happened! This dress is by far my favorite that I have rented. Classic, elegant, but still fun & unique! The top was a little large, but nothing a little garment tape couldn't fix. I would highly recommend this amazing dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 14, 2012
Pretty Dress, but a little big

I rented this dress as one of two options for a black tie event, but I ended up choosing the other (Badgley Mischka Ruched Sweetheart) because its very low in the back (which is awesome/sexy but I had a tan line that showed) and big up top in the chest area (particularly on the sides of my bust). It was a stunning elegant and flowing dress, but I was going for something that showed off my figure more, so I chose a different one!

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 22, 2012
I agree

This dress is beautiful; however, its runs large in the bust...and I'm a DD. I didn't like the bust showing on the sides. The skirt is very pretty and flowy. Do not order the long if you are 5'5" or shorter. I was advised the long would work with my heels (I have on 5 inches) and it doesn't.

EmilyFebruary 22, 2012
Hey, were you able to wear any type of bra with this? I am also a DD and was worried about letting the girls go free.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 29, 2012
Perfect length-lose in chest

I ordered this dress in the 2L and 4L. The 2L fit better around the chest and every where else, but was too short for me (I am a little over 5ft 8in). The 4L was lose in the chest so I had to use double sided tape to keep myself covered, but worked better length wise for me. Also with the way this dress is cut the inside hanger strings are hard to keep in- I had to constantly check and tuck. Otherwise the dress was perfect. I felt like it was sexy, but not too revealing and was comfortable. I could sit, stand, walk (not bend over!) and I got lots of compliments.

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 23, 2012
The dresses featured on Rent The Runway are timeless. I have bookmarked Rent The Runway and will keep using it. It has become a favorite website.

Overall, the dress was a great choice and I received so many compliments. However, the dress does run large. I am 37-32-43. The waist and hip area fit perfectly, but the top was large. I had to safety pin the halter top around my neck and I also had to use taupe tape to keep my breasts in. But like previously stated, the dress was a stunning choice, I loved it, and it was a great night.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 26, 2012
Classy

I was afraid that this dress would look a little "maternity" but it didn't, it was beautiful and classy. I ordered the 6L but the 4L fit better with the exception of the belt which was very snug. They only sent one belt for both dresses and it was a small. I would recommend asking for the bigger belt if your average dress size is a 6.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 11, 2012
For Beautiful Backs Only

I rented this dress for a formal event that I was attending with my parents. The dress runs a little large so I suggest ordering a size smaller for your back-up. The belt helps in sinching the waist and the plunging neckline is very tasteful – it completely covered my D cups. A very elegant dress indeed, but I didn’t realize how unflattering the dress would make my back look. My back fat and birth mark made me really self conscious and I ended up wearing my back-up RTR rental.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 19, 2012
Sexy dress!

I love it.. however the top was large for me. I had to use taupe tape on my breast.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
September 23, 2012
great for black-tie, elegant, timeless

I wore this dress for a black-tie wedding in August - very pretty dress with a flattering cut. It runs a bit large (in my opinion) and is long (I'm 5'5'' & wore 4-inch heels, which was perfect). Probably not best-suited for a very small or very large bust as it runs bigger on top and doesn't work with a bra. The style is wider on top, so I used some tape to may sure it stayed in place. Very comfortable!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
October 3, 2012
I loved the fit of this dress.

It was so comfortable and slimming.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautiful dress

Dress was beautifu but it was large on the top. I normaly fit into a 10 or 12 but an 8 would have been a better fit and I never fit into an 8.

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 1, 2012
This dress is amazing. So comfortable and versatile. Love love love! Runs very large though.

What started out as a disaster, ended with a wonderful experience. I had initially ordered this dress in the blueish/purpleish color (moodn goddess dress) as a back up for a black tie wedding. My first choice was WAY too short and looked kind of ridiculous. Then the moon goddess dress was too big and the belt was damaged to the point that it was unwearable...(random side note: i ordered the moon goddess dress in a 2L. I'm usually somewhere between a 2 and 4 but i sized down after reading reviews...but apparently I didn't size down enough). I called RTR on Friday morning (the wedding was Saturday) and they were absolutely amazing. One of the best customer service experiences i've ever had. They ended up sending me this dress in a 0L (the 2L in the mood goddess dress was too big) and it fit absolutely perfect. I got so many compliments on the dress!!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2012
Fantastic Dress!

Loved this dress but unfortunately couldn't wear it since I got a terrible sunburn that it highlighted. This dress was incredibly flattering and forgiving in the bottom, and sexy on top without being vulgar. I hope I will have occasion to rent this dress in the future.

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress, flattering up top, flowing on bottom.

The dress fit great. Very flattering halter top, cinches in waist, forgiving long flowing bottom. Beautiful material. very classy dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Not only did I LOVE this dress, my husband did too!

This dress was sooo comfortable, I did not want to take it off! I followed the advice of the other reviews and ordered my normal size (4) and a size smaller (2). I am glad I did because the 2 fit like a glove. I highly recommend this dress to everyone!

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2012
I hope that you are busty!!!

I love this dress in the picture, but when I got it home... the top was huge. It was much blousier on top then I was expecting. Nothing was falling out, but the dress was ballooning out at the top. It was just so BIG. I'm glad the event that I was going to was not as formal as I thought it was going to be, so I could wear another dress.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2012
I didn't wear this style from my order for my event.

I rented this and one other style from Halston Heritage, for my event. I rented two sizes of this dress, a 4L and 6L. The picture shows the dress being a little blousy on the girl. It was definitely that and even a little bit big on me. I wear a 4-6. and am a full 34B- small 34C, but the dress made me look like a little girl playing dress up on top. This could possibly be a good choice for a larger breasted girl, but remember it does cut sort of low. It wasn't exactly the look/fit I was going for, so I didn't wear it. The back was pretty, and didn't plunge too low. It was definitely still appropriate for a formal affair. It flowed away from the lower body, and could hide any low body problem areas. The length was fine, and I could wear heels with it (I'm 5'10).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Great Dress! Subtle wow factor with the open back and super comfortable.

I wore this dress for a black tie wedding and received a ton of compliments on it! The low back was a wow factor, the front V was low but not too low and the flowy skirt was comfortable and fun! The top runs large but the waist is true to size which is great for someone with a figure like mine, big bust and small waist. My only issue with the dress was that I ordered the 0L but it wasn’t long at all. I normally wear between 4-5” heels and had to wear 2” so you wouldn’t see my feet. Even with that, I’d wear it again in a heartbeat, I'd probably just order the 2L to see if the length was different.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 5, 2012
The cut of this dress is very flattering and the fabric is beautiful.

I liked this dress a lot but I needed a smaller size if I was going to wear it. The "belt" feature that appears in the photos wasn't actually on the dress and I didn't have anything I could have used to cinch it. It definitely needs a belt or something at the waist.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2012
So flattering! The cut was perfect and the back looked great.

Definitely runs large. I am typically a 6 and the 4 fit well. I would recommend getting the long if you're wearing heels and over 5'8"

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2013
TIMELESS!

I looooved wearing this dress to my fancy New Year's Eve party! I paired it with a little sequined shrug, and heels, and I used my own belt instead of the one included, and was on my way! I definitely needed the included fashion tape- the top runs a little big and I'm small chested. But overall, I would love to wear this dress again! It was perfect -a little late 70's, but also perfectly modern. I got SO many compliments and danced the night away.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2013
Beautiful dress - my favorite rental yet!

Use fashion tape if you are larger-chested due to the very open back!

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 10, 2013
Beautiful gown for the Mayor's Ball!

I ordered this dress in 8L and 6L. I ended up wearing the 6L. I read the sizing description and being 5'6" I was right on the cusp of regular or long. I knew I would be wearing heels, so I went long. Well, the long is really long! I wore 2 1/2 heels and had to pick up my dress to even walk! The top is very loose also. I'm a 36B and needed to tape myself in. One wrong move and either side boob was visible or nipple LOL Minor set back really. That's what they make double sided tape for right?! It was super comfortable to wear, and like others have said, no spanx needed! I will certainly use RTR again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 3, 2013
belt was missing to dress and the bust area ran really big

beautiful dress

See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×