Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
417 reviews
Fit
Large21
True to Size279
Small69
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 1, 2016
Perfect fit and color
I loved the color and style of this dress. It held me in all the right places. The only con would be I wish the top were a little tighter, the straps kept riding up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
January 25, 2016
Dress was beautiful, but damaged. I wish it could've looked better.
Fit was body con, flattering, sucked everything bad in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 22, 2016
Classy & Sexy
Fit is true to size and dress looks great on; but you do have to be aware of the holes around the arms/bust. I would definitely rent this or the black version again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
January 17, 2016
Classy, not trashy, and a bit sexy!
I've never worn red before, but after seeing this dress on RTR i knew i had to try it out! I was looking for a dress for an extremely formal event (charity banquet) , that required suits and classy dresses. However, i loved how this dress added a pop of color, yet looked sophisticated and beautiful. It fit really well, the only downside is the top was slightly loose, but i honestly didn't really mind. Also, the dress fit not too tight! I'm normally a size 4, and i wore a size 4. Size 2 fit as well, but it didn't highlight my figure as well as the 4. Worn with nude heels and killer earrings i loved it (; Made me feel awesome and sophisticated. First RTR experience!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2016
Classy and sexy!!!
It did have a weird space under the arm but great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
January 13, 2016
Comfortable and RTR is so easy!
Very comfortable and stayed in place! The color isn't as red as it seems in the model's photo but still is eye-catching.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
January 12, 2016
very flattering
the top part comes unfolded and looks funny
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2016
The COLOR!
I got the 6 and 8 as the listing said size up, upon trying the 6 on, it notices it could definitely been a little more snug especially in the shoulders. I wore this without a bra and seamless undies. The fabric is thick enough that it will hold you in if you order the proper size and I did not experience issues with the dress riding up. Overall, a fantastic dress for a party!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
January 1, 2016
Sexy, fun, and classy!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress to my friend's wedding! I received a lot of compliments from people both at the wedding at randomly on the street. I rented the 4 and the 6 for backup but ended up wearing the 4, which is my normal dress size. The dress is form-fitting but not too tight where you can't breathe or can't have a real meal. Also, I never had to fuss with the dress when I was dancing or worry that it would ride up. This was my first RTR purchase, I felt beautiful in it, and I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 29, 2015
I got SO many compliments on this dress!
I tried the 4 on first and felt that the back didn't lay right; even though the 2 was much better, the back did bunch up a little bit. The most bothersome thing was the little hanger straps that tried to poke out throughout the night--usually I cut them but since this isn't my dress I couldn't very well do that! My fiancé pulled strap duty. The fit, color, and shape of this dress were awesome. I felt great and comfortable the whole night. I wore a sticky bra to avoid issues, but think I could've worn a standard strapless and been fine also. I would absolutely rent this again and would love to own it! My fiancé was obsessed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
December 23, 2015
Favorite Dress Rental Ever!
I rent frequently and this is my favorite dress I've rented! It was so much fun to wear. I felt sexy & classy. It definitely is tight so size up. The 2 was a little loose in the shoulders but manageable and I felt more comfortable in it as opposed to the 0. There were many comments about the arm holes being a problem but I didn't have any trouble. I have a small bust and wore a basic strapless bra and normal panties. It was fun to wear and very comfortable. I highly recommend giving this one a try!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2015
Great inexpensive party dress. Loved the color!
Runs a bit small. But loved the color and neckline. Great value.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Gorgeous Color and Super Glam
Very beautiful dress. Great color, loved the off the shoulder straps. I have more of a pear shape- the size 2 fit much better in my chest and torso but a little too tight around the hips- so went with the 4. With the 4 it felt a little bunchy around my torso (mainly the reason for the 4 star review) but better than skin tight around my hips! Fabric is of good quality but will slow and bumps, add spanx for an extra peace of mind! This is definitely a show-stopper of a dress; if you're more of a wall flower or looking for something comfortable this might not be for you.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Age: 28
December 20, 2015
Loved it!!
Fit perfectly, sleeves weren't annoying, stayed snug!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 20, 2015
Restrictive arms and thinner material than expected.
Not good for dancing. Dress fit well after going a size up from normal. Wore a 2. Usually wear 0. Spanx even showed under the thin material. Couldn't move arms without having to readjust the sleeves again. Won't rent again. First bad dress with RTR. Though I did receive a lot of compliments...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
I received compliments. Cute color!
The fit was not as flattering as I expected it to be based on other reviews. I would not recommend for pear shaped women. It was hard to walk in because the fit was tight. Only cute for standing still and sitting down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
December 13, 2015
The annual office holiday party.
I LOVED the dress - gorgeous and perfect if you want to balance a sexy and bold look for a more conservative affair. I would recommend spanx for the mid section and breast petals in place of a bra. I went with a size up so that it would be more appropriate for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 9, 2015
Lady in Red rocking it!
I loved this dress and of course received a ton of compliments. You also can't beat the great rental price! I was about 135 when I wore this dress; a little different than my current measurements. Very flattering on many accounts. I would recommend a silicone adhesive bra over a strapless due to the cut underneath the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 8, 2015
Classic Sexy
I am sorry that I do not have a photo to submit. Nonetheless, this is a beautiful dress. It fits true to size. The material is comfortable and not sheer. I would love to own this dress. The red is a shade that I believe would look good on warm/cool/or neutral skin tones- This is RARE!!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 8, 2015
Great hue mixed + classic, yet attention-grabbing, style
I wore this dress to a office Christmas party. Based on previous reviews, I was quite nervous about the cut being too much/tight and the side cut-outs being problematic for dancing. Fortunately, neither was a problem! Not only were the side arms completely fine (caveat: I'm an average bust), but I kept the straps pulled down and was able to wear a strapless bra *and* dance. (Note: There will be a few adjustments/checks needed throughout your time wearing this dress, but that happens with 50% of dresses anyway.) One final note - if you're tight in a certain dress size (e.g., "Size 6 dresses are tighter but flattering on me"), this is the kind of dress where you'll probably want to grab a size up (e.g., Size 8) for some breathing room. For instance, I often wear size 6 dresses but can be an 8 as well. Ordered both sizes here and ultimately wore the 8 because the underwear line wasn't an issue. Have fun with this one!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 7, 2015
This is a beautiful, form-fitting, dress for the daring.
The dress fit well but is designed to be very tight. I found that I needed to wear a thong with it. I am short (5'2") and the dress hit about three inches above my knee. I imagine it will be quite short on a taller person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
December 6, 2015
Curve hugging
I loved this dress! I wore to a wedding in which my boyfriend was a groomsman and felt perfectly matched to his tux. The 6 was a perfect fit, but I felt better wearing the 8 so it wasn't too tight for a wedding. Could not have picked a better dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2015
I took my jacket off and my date sat back down with a huge WOW!
Knock out dress!!! fit perfectly and the give to the dress acted like spanx. will rent this dress again! love it!! perfect length, and color.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2015
Gorgeous dress! The color pops and the stretchy fabric is very comfortable.
The dress has stretchy fabric so even as a tight dress it's comfortable. I'm happy I wore the size up of my two choices b/c you can easily see any underwear/panty line in the back so with the bigger size it was a little less noticeable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 2, 2015
I felt so confident in the bold red color :)
Such a lovely dress - fit like a glove. I wore it to a fall wedding and like many others said, I got tons of compliments all night! I'm normally a size 2 to 4 and ended up wearing the 2 because the neck on the 4 was a little big. The only minor qualm was that the off-the-shoulder style made dancing a little hard but other than that I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
November 30, 2015
I got tons of compliments and loved the way I looked in it
the fit was true to size and it was the perfect length with heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
Great dress but maybe not for a wedding
I liked the dress but would recommend the fit for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
November 19, 2015
I wore this for a charity event. So many compliments!!
It fit perfectly, no issue with the shoulder straps. It did ride up a little bit when I was walking but not enough to be a nuisance, overall it stayed in place. I wore with 6" nude peep toe pumps. This is a real head turner of a dress, color was perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 16, 2015
The dress a was very vibrant red but the straps were fussy.
I don't think I'd get it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 16, 2015
Loved it, felt confident and comfortable all night!
I absolutely loved this dress and it was perfect for a fall NYC wedding. I found the fit ran true-to-size. Some of the reviews I read noted that the arm holes were a little awkward and made wearing a strapless bra difficult, but I honestly had no problems. I felt it was stylish and classic, but the red pop added some pizzazz. I paired it with simple black pumps and the only jewelry I added were crystal drop earrings, I felt very confident and comfortable all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 13, 2015
I rented this dress to celebrate a friend's bachelor party in Vegas.
I loved this dress so much I actually purchased it used from Poshmark. Everything about this dress is awesome. The fabric is stretchy and very forgiving, hiding all of your bumps and lumps. The color is AMAZING! It's the perfect bright red. I recommend sizing down for your backup as there is PLENTY of stretch in this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2015
Felt like a head-turner all evening!
I was deciding between this dress and another that felt a bit more, ahem, forgiving...but every friend who saw me try this dress on absolutely insisted I wear it. I wore it for my date's work dinner and received a text a few days later saying "You are still getting compliments from my coworkers on your attire from dinner the other night." Fit is definitely on the short and tight side, and as others have mentioned would not be great for dancing as you can't really raise your arms above your shoulders. But overall, was defintiely an eye-catching dress that I would wear again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2015
Head turner!
Straps were a little annoying, but overall not bad. I wore a strapless bra. Really enjoyed this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2015
Simple, sexy cocktail dress
This dress fit true to size and is a sexy and bright alternative to the LBD. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because the color was slightly faded and appeared more of a deep pink than the bright red in the advertisement. Overall, I'm very happy with it and would rent it again for a cocktail event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
October 29, 2015
Loved it! Felt classy, sexy, and got tons of compliments.
I ordered the 4 and the 6. I ended up wearing the smaller size. It fit my shoulders better and I was able to wear it as shown on the model. Perfect!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
October 28, 2015
My last barristers ball!
The dress is absolutely stunning. When I first tried it on I thought it was a bit big in the belly (the fabric was not skin tight) but this just allowed me to eat/drink freely the night of my event with no fear. The top needs some fabric tape to stay down which I did for the pictures only. I wound up wearing a sticky bra due to the reviews and I don't regret it
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 28, 2015
XX
The dress was really cute, wish I wore the 0 instead. Every body is different and I have a short torso and large bust, finding a bra to fit this dress was difficult. Also there is absolutely no wiggle room with moving your arms up and down, I was forced to mimic a T-Rex all night with limited mobility. I think the dress is beautiful but probably best for small chested gals.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 25, 2015
Great dress!
I received many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
October 20, 2015
This dress in this color is an attention-getter for sure!
You definitely don't fade into the background in this dress. I wore this to a fundraiser and got a lot of compliments. The color makes it stand out and the fit means it's definitely not for the self conscious. I ordered a 12 and an 8 as backup (size 10 was unavailable). The 12 was loose around the shoulders and top half and showed a decent amount of side boob and the 8 was a perfect fit on the top and slightly tight around the legs. I went with the tighter fit because I didn't want to have to worry about any x-rated incidents at a work function. (A size 10 probably would've been perfect)! Word to the wise- it's probably not a good dress to wear if you think it might get hot and sweaty, it'll definitely show. BUT overall it's a great dress with structure that will turn heads when you wear it! As my friend described it, it's very Jessica Rabbit ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
October 20, 2015
This is a beautiful and flattering dress for most body types. It's sexy without being inappropriate.
I usually wear a size 2, but based on reviews, ordered a size 4 (the 2 wasn't avalable for my second size anyways). It was a pretty dress and fun to wear something different, but I don't think I'd rent it again. It was faded and looked sort of cheap and worn out, and the top was a stretched out so it didn't lay right across my shoulders and chest. Also, it wasn't very conducive to dancing (I wore it to a wedding). You can't really raise your arms and the dress creeps up. I'm pretty small-chested and have very narrow shoulders, so maybe this would be better for someone with a fuller chest and broader shoulders.
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×