Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$30 rental
$475 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

353 reviews

Fit
Small 62
True to Size 243
Large 17
Photos 242
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Slim and sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfect!! Made out of nice fabric, pretty color, and it is really slimming. Only thing you have to watch out for is the arm hole so it doesn't show your bra or too much side-boob. The off-the shoulder look was so fun and I had no problems with the fabric slipping as noted in some other reviews.
Adina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Such a beautiful shade of red! Classic elegant look!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved mostly everything about the dress! Super easy to wear but slightly loose in midsection.
Devaroti
Age: 35
Dec 22, 2014

Show stopping dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This dress is a lot of fun. Fabric is thick, so no need for spanx. Arm holes are a bit weird, but I sized down and was able to wear a regular strapless bra. Dress is short and rides up a bit while walking, but not a huge issue. Neckline is versatile, I wore it asymmetrically.
RTR Customer
Dec 29, 2014

Pretty dress... Fit a little ackward

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Very pretty holiday dress. I actually fit into the size 2 great but it was a little tight for Church on Christmas Eve so I decided to wear the 4 which wasn't as form fitting . Wearing a bra with this dress was hard since you could see on the sides under your arm pit. Braless would have worked out great if I wasn't attending church :) Overall very pretty dress and great first experience with RTR! Happy Holidays !
Willie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

22 weeks pregnant and felt sexy and comfortable in this dress

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Great fit!!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve Party, got lots of compliments! Love a good red dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs a bit small, I asked for a 12 to be sent out after requesting an 8 and 10...ended up wearing the 10. I think that the cut around the armpits is super weird...lots of potential for side boob. And the way the collar fit is a bit off if you don't have the right torso -- but I let it ride high and made the "off shoulder look" more of a "cool collar look" -- which was really fine with me. Not sure if I would rent again, but I am happy with the end results either way!
Ling
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Gorgeous color, got compliments all night.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented for a NYE wedding, perfect for the night! The RTR pic is true to the color, it's a beautiful shade of red. Minus one star since there is a pretty decent side-boob factor. Finding a strapless bra for this was really annoying, I decided to use a strapless low back bra. It's VERY comfortable but also form fitting so it tends to ride up if you're dancing (also mind your pantylines). The sleeves/straps ride up also but that's normal with an off the shoulder dress. I definitely plan on using RTR again.
Keri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Great dress, perfect red color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for NYE party, was comfortable and easy to dance in (though had to adjust skirt and shoulders a few times). Got lots of compliments, wish I could keep it! Didn't wear a bra 'cause I didn't have a strapless on hand, the material is supportive enough to go without.
----
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Beautiful, unique dress -- tricky to get the right fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, but the sleeves are tricky to get the right fit. The 4 was a little loose in the shoulders, but fit elsewhere; the 2 was perfect in the shoulders, but too tight elsewhere. My first RTR experience was great overall!
elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 25, 2015

Love this off-the-shoulder dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Photographs beautifully. Great cocktail length dress for a formal affair.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

Super tight, but super hot

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress is pure sexy. It's REALLY tight and fits like a glove, but good for a date night. The upper part fits oddly (for me) when off the shoulder (too loose, slipped down), but I was able to put it up on my shoulders and it looked better. I got the 6 and the 8 (I usually wear a 6) but ended up going with the 8. It's not very comfortable, and not great if you want to dance and not worry about your dress. But if you just wanna look hot and not eat a lot, this is the dress for you! Great color, I might add! I had a baby 4 months ago and this dress definitely made me feel like a hot mama! Hahaha :)
MO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Fits true to size, form fitting stunner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. The color pops! I styled it with dangly gold earrings, black shoes, no necklace and dangly gold and black bracelets.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Best rental yet

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a sales meeting award dinner. I was worried the sleeves would roll up but it fit perfectly all night. Loved the color and fit. I would rent again for sure!
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

This dress is formal without being boring or stuffy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress will show off any 'flaws' on your body, so be prepared! It fits like a glove and is unforgiving. I had to keep pulling it up/down to make adjustments (mostly around my hips) for a nice fit. That being said, it's a lovely dress and a great shade of red.
shessavvy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 16, 2015

Showstopper of a Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Wore this dress to dinner with my husband for Valentine's Day. I ordered it in a size 2 and 4 but after looking at the two dresses, I knew there would be no way I'd fit in the size 2. The size 4 fit but was pretty tight. I wore pantyhose with a control top so they helped to smooth everything out. The material was pretty thick so it was perfect for the chilly evening. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress for someone with curves because it definitely accentuates them.
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Perfect Valentine's Day Dress

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Date
This dress fit perfectly other than the small bump in the lower back area due to the zipper. I tried on the 2 to see if maybe the 0 was too tight but the two had the same effect. It was not as noticeable as I thought and if you pulled the dress down every so often it would go away. The sleeves were perfect - not so tight that you couldn't lift your arms but definitely challenging to do without the sleeves moving up to your shoulders. I wish it had been warmer so I didn't need to wear black sheer tights and black boots (it was a blizzard here). Overall; My boyfriend thought the dress was beautiful. I would rent again but more likely in the summer.
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Mar 5, 2015

I got tons of compliments and lots of admiring glances!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Be warned though, even a strapless bra shows under the arms. I wore a self stick bra with no straps or back. Very form fitting and flattering. This is NOT for the feint of heart though. If it isn't right on you it won't look good, you'll end up looking like you're trying too hard. I wore a Spanx tube slip (topless) undergarment to make sure everything was smooth. Great dress, real head-turner!
Emily
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

i felt like a princess, the off-the-shoulder cut was gorgeous

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it looks great with green earrings and red lipstick
lilly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

I wore this dress to a semi-formal dance.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The zero fit, but the two was a little longer and just about as form fitting. I folded over the top part around the shoulders because when it was all the way up it bunched together. Overall I was very satisfied with the dress, but make sure you stand up straight in photos!
Cassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Fit is amazing! Compliments all night.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
The fit is amazing which means it either fits true to or a bit small. It clings to every inch of your body, so it's rather not forgiving to any "trouble" areas, but it was beautiful yet simple....
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Didn't want to send it back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
GREAT fit and color! The fabric is stretchy so it's comfortable and easy to get on, and you can't really go wrong if you order your size. I was afraid that the sleeves would make my shoulders look too broad, but I was wrong. Great dress!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

This is an absolute stunner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a Valentine's Day date and it made the night perfect. I had one woman come over to our table just to compliment me on this dress. It was fitted but not too tight. It was the perfect length, above the knee but not too short (I am 5'1 however). The material is very thick and sturdy so it smooths in all the right places. I had to fiddle a bit with the top part of the dress that goes around the shoulders. I think the key to getting it to lay properly is to pull the dress up a little and fold the band over more. That way I was able to wear a strapless bra without anything showing. Another renter mentioned a "duck tail" at the bottom of the zipper in the back. I had the same issue but it didn't really bother me. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again. It was a hit!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

I received a ton of compliments. The dress color was great and it was perfect for the event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm an hourglass shape with wide hips. The top fit a little loose in the boob area, and was a little long on my petite frame. I had to keep pulling it down all night to keep it from looking scrunched up. Overall it looked great, I felt super comfortable in it, the fit just left a little more to be desired. Also, don't plan to raise your arms up at all. Help was needed to reach anything on the table or put anything around me.
Evelyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

It was very easy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I took the site's advice an ordered a size bigger. It fit like glove.
Gmommy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 22, 2015

Comfortable and stunning

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for an outdoor summer wedding and it was so much fun to wear. It was easy to wear, I was able to eat, dance and overall it was a great dress. I would rent again!
Jesse
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

I felt like a movie star! I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit absolutely great, it is a tight dress but ran true to size. I received non stop compliments about the color and style of the dress. I did not have any issues with it at all. Definitely wear a nude heel!
Nook
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
May 17, 2015

i love the dress! it's very casual. I wore it to a wedding dress and party later. it's perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
you can't move your arms that much.
emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 25, 2015

Tight, Bright, and Perfect for the Night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my 1st RTR experience and it was FAB ! I rented this dress for my spring sorority formal in Newport, RI. I read many of the reviews and viewed photos before choosing this dress to make sure it would flatter my small up top, large on the bottom "pear" body type. Both the 4 and the 6 fit, but since the dress was so tight I chose the 4 to hold me in a bit more (the 6 also had some excess fabric that created wrinkles). The main difference in fit between the 4 and 6 was the tightness in the shoulders. I wore a sticky bra and had no issues with the "awkward" arm hole gap that other reviewers mentioned. Although the fabric is well made and thicker, the dress is still VERY tight (not uncomfortable or painful though) and shows all. If you are the type of person to fixate on a tummy pooch spanx would definitely be needed or I'd advise you to choose another dress. I chose to fold the shoulder piece down since I have a smaller frame, but it still looked nice not folded (as pictured on the RTR model). I had no problems dancing in this dress and the shoulders stayed in place pretty well all night, it may have been since I sized down. Additionally, the zipper did not "duck tail" in the back on me as it has for some other wearers. Overall this was a great dress perfect for my occasion, my SO loved it !
Dede
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 28, 2015

The dress fit wonderfully!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
When I received the dress (a day early...thAt made me happy) I looked over the dress, the zippers on both dresses were a little worn but not totally noticeable. Both the 0 and 2 fit well but the 0 fit better. The dress is pretty short but I'm 5'1 so it wasn't a big deal. I got a lot of compliments for the dress so the mission was accomplished!
Megan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

I was very noticeable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is very curvy, It showed off my hips.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

This fit great! I got a lot of compliments all night, even from the bride!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
The only thing I didn't like was the straps were a bit unruly.
Tiffani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 3, 2015

Hugs your curves and the color is stunning

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Major side boob action and the dress constantly rides up. The fabric is thick and no need to wear spanx. You can't wear a bra with this dress, but it looks and feels great. The size was right on.
alex
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 6, 2015

ssssmokin'!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress hugged all the right places and allowed me to move freely (aside from some restrictions of the off-the-shoulder straps-- but that's to be expected with the style of dress). I ate and danced and played the night away in Vegas- without much fuss. The only bugger of it all was the off the shoulder straps. I had to adjust them if I got excited and wanted to lift my arms up, but it was absolutely worth it.
edglz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129 lbs
Jun 6, 2015

Sexy dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this dress for a weekend trip to Vegas Pros- loved how the dress hugged my curves and made me feel so beautiful and sexy No cons! Will definitely rent again
Angelina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 7, 2015

Classic.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
The color was perfect. I did not have a problem with my bra showing that others did. I did find the dress a little stretched out so the fit wasn't perfect.
AZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 7, 2015

This is a "wow" dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It has the perfect balance of sexy and classy. It is very form-fitting, but the material is stretchy. I wore a strapless bra, which was occasionally visible in the armpit area, but not too much of an issue. The color of the dress is beautiful and eye-catching. This dress will set you apart from the sea of little black dresses.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

This dress is a CLASSIC.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It's a little bit stretchy, so I could've gone a size down, but had enough room to dance and it was comfortable. I found myself having to re-situate the straps and make sure my strapless bra slid down far enough so that it couldn't be seen. A strapless bra with a low strap (corset-like maybe) would be ideal. The color is absolutely beautiful and I got compliments on it all night!
Liz
Age: 26
Jun 11, 2015

Show-stopping dress, but tricky for undergarments

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt very glamorous and received many compliments when I wore this for an award banquet. The hardest part was finding undergarments that didn't show through the clingy material. I wore spanx and it was still a little visible along my mid-section. I also bought a sticky bra since a regular strapless bra was visible through the very open arm holes. Overall, a red hot outfit I would definitely recommend for a special occasion!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 15, 2015

I felt comfortable and beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
It was a very snug dress but I ended up loving it! The material is very stretching but not too forgiving
Aj
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 19, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress! Loved it.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
#cocktail #simple #greek
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×