Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
491 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(315)
Small
(75)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2014
Wore this for Valentine's Day & in celebration of our engagement earlier that day. Special night! <3
Perfect fit and true to size. Hugs curves in all the right places. Both alluring and classy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2014
I wore this dress to a philanthropy formal dinner for my sorority. I had such a great time!
I wore a size 2, however, the dress was stretchy enough that I could have gone down a size if I had wanted to. The material is very comfortable as and It is a very flattering and slimming dress. It would definitely look good on all women, from women with more curvier figures to women with straight figures. I received lots of compliments and, though I only got to wear it for a few hours, I never wanted to take it off! Everyone at the event was also wearing red for our philanthropy and I really feel like this dress made me stand out!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2014
Incredible dress!
I'm glad I chose this dress and I received so many compliments on it! I ordered it in a 6 and an 8, in case it was too tight, but was fine with the 6. I may have been able to fit a 4, but it probably would have been too tight. I was comfortable in the size 6 and found it very easy to move around in; however, I folded over the thick neck line because that was more flattering on me. I noticed although it was thick, the material of the dress showed outlines of body parts (abdominal muscles, stomach) under the dress. This was easily handled by wearing shape wear under my dress - I ate at my event and didn't want to worry about holding my tummy in to hide a food baby. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone going to a formal event!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 28, 2014
Beautiful Dress, Wrong Occassion
Ordered the dress as a back up for a formal gala. Loved the dress but it was a little more sexy than what was appropriate for the event, so I went with the other longer option. Great color, great snug fit, and very flattering. I thought the hem on the bottom was a little cheap looking or simple but thats only something the dress wearer would notice. Great quality dress and fabric!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2014
So hot, but runs tight
I'm usually a size 2 or 4, but this ended up fitting better in a 6 unless you want it super tight. My husband wasn't complaining :) I would definitely rent this again for a special date night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
The color, the cut and the length. Sexy, classy and a real head turner!
I wore one size bigger to avoid "side-boob"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
March 7, 2014
The perfect little red dress.
Fit and feel is great. Don't fold down the shoulders.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 10, 2014
This dress has wow factor and will certainly stand out if you have the confidence to rock it!
I typically wear a size 4-6 but ended up with a 2. With spanx, the 4 didn't quite hug all the parts of my body - I noticed in particular that type of issue where the zipper puckers at the end. The 2 looked smoother overall and like a better fit, and didn't feel much tighter so it was manageable. The only place that I actually noticed a strong difference was in the arms. It had a lot less range of motion there but it was worth it for a more fitted look. I did have to keep pulling the arms down though as they kept riding up whenever I moved my arms. As for a bra, I wore a stick on bra because the scoop under each arm is quite low and shows your bra. Overall great dress! If you're okay with something super body con, you will love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
too small for me unfortunately
the off the shoulder detail was awkward and wouldn't stay put, thank goodness my backup dress worked out! runs about two sizes too small for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 25, 2014
Beautiful color!
Great dress just annoying to fix the off the shoulder straps all night. They constantly rolled up. Great fit and color besides that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2014
Hugs in all the right places!!
Great dress! I've also worn it in black and am obsessed! The only slightly bad thing is the way the sides fall...if you're not very heavy chested like me you'll play with them for a good portion of the night until you decide to just let them fall wherever!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 26, 2014
Incredibly flattering fit makes this un embellished dress PERFECTION
I wore this for a Mayor's Inaugural Ball and it was a huge hit. The color is rich and the fit is perfect. I ordered both the 6 and 8 and wore the 8 for extra length and more wiggle room (the event required lots of sitting). I plan to order it in black, it's too well made not to wear again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 2, 2014
Passed on this dress.
I ended up going with another option for the black-tie event. This dress was was a little bit shorter than I had anticipated (I'm 5'10") and I did not want to feel uncomfortable/spend the night pulling the hem down. Such a shame, because the dress is beautiful.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 6, 2014
Loved this. Can't wait to use rtr again.
I wore it to a red themed party. It was beautiful. I had boys come up to me saying how pretty the dress was.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
April 16, 2014
The beautiful dress!
I loved this dress! It fit like a glove and was very flattering overall. It was a little more form fitting than I had expected but it kept everything in place all night! I had originally planned to wear the 0 but the 2 gave more stretch around the butt and hips area which looked a lot better. You do not need to fold the strap it just simply stays in place. It was extremely comfortable and I received a lot of compliments on the dress! I was unable to wear a bra because of how the dress cut near the armpit area. There was a little bit of sideboob, but nothing terribly noticeable. I would definitely recommend renting this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2014
Hot, hot, hot!
I actually did not end up wearing this dress. I ordered it as a backup/secondary option, but once I received it I realized it was a bit too formal for the event I was going to. I was kind of bummed because it was a super hot dress. Very snug, hits in all the right spots. I would definitely rent it again for a more appropriate occasion!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2014
Lovely dress! I got many compliments throughout the the evening!
Very sexy dress. It is a bit restricting in the arms but I think it's worth it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
April 27, 2014
I received so many compliments and felt stunning for my 35th bday Great first experience with RtR!
fits like a glove, incredibly comfortable to wear. only issue was with the off shoulder design which should be sewn in place - had to do a lot of adjusting as it kept rolling up and out of place
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
love the neckline. great with my shoulders and arms.
Great color, great fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
May 4, 2014
Could not wear and could not get new dress delivered in time for event
Beautiful dress but highlighted my problem areas. Very tight through middle. So sad I could not wear to my event. Not the best fit for apple shapes
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 5, 2014
Amazing color but side boob was pretty significant; suggest ordering a size up
I didn't end up wearing this, actually. I love the concept and color but: - the side boob was serious for a very photographed event - the fit was snug for sure but had good coverage to not make it too unflattering - the chest is generally unflattering here as its hard to find a bra that works and isn't exposed -- I went with a strapless but the sides still showed and so switched to nothing and the dress flattened me out quite a bit - its really a legs and shoulders dress, but not super flattering on the chest or midsection (wish it was actually tighter at the waist - would have given me a bit more shape)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2014
Stand out red color and neckline made for a HOT yet classy dress!
Loved loved loved this dress. It fit like a glove but had some length to it so it was appropriate for a formal event. The only downside that might discourage people from renting is the sleeves kind of restrict arm movement-- but I really didn't mind at all because the dress itself was so amazing. It was a little tight- but that is how it was structured to be, so if you don't like form fitting dresses, I would rent a different one. I received tons of compliments and the people at RTR were incredibly helpful! Already rented my next dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2014
Great dress
Great dress! The material is thick and the dress is very well made. My husband LOVED this dress and still talks about it a year and a half later. In fact, I even received a compliment from a random gentleman walking by saying..'great dress'. Highly recommend and will most likely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
May 18, 2014
Sophisticated off-the-shoulder dress in a red hot color
I liked this dress but didn't love it. The dress is definitely curve hugging and doesn't leave much wiggle room. Some of the other reviewers mention a bulge in the back where the zipper is. This was true for me too, I'm guessing it's a combination of the dress being a little loose in and me not having a shapely back side. But it didn't bother me enough not to wear it. The length is perfect for a wedding. And the red is definitely a stand out red color that I loved. The biggest issue I had with the dress were the straps, I couldn't figure out if it was supposed to be folded down, half down, or just left as is. I ended up folding it a little more than half way down and securing it with a lot of double sided tape and 2 safety pins. Folding the straps down also helped avoid the side boob problem. Overall I liked the dress enough to wear, but I wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2014
Did not wear
Dress looks gorgeous on the model, however, I was very disappointed once it arrived. The quality was not what I've come to expect from Halston. It felt very cheap and the fit in the bust area did not work for me as it revealed quite a bit. Maybe it was simply stretched out, but regardless, it had to be sent back and I ended up wearing something else. Hasn't deterred me from ordering from RTR again, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184lbs
May 29, 2014
Loved the red color!
Very form fitting but elegant
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
May 31, 2014
Hot dress
It was a pretty dress from the front but the back zipper pokes out a little bit! Overall, not too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
I stood out from the rest in this flattering red number!
The length of this dress allowed me to feel appropriate for a wedding, while the color and off-the-shoulder style made me red hot. I would definitely rent again. I was very comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
Did not wear
this was a back up dress sent to me because the dress i ordered didn't make it in time. i didn't like the style and did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 23, 2014
Love this dress
And I wish I could have worn it! It had a huge hole at the bottom of the zipper... Didn't want to be responsible for the zipper so I returned it :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2014
Lots of compliments!
This dress was nice and I got a lot of compliments. It was a little restrictive at the arms but really that was no big deal throughout the night. A lot of strangers complimented me on the fit of the dress but it didn't have the wow effect that I would have liked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 30, 2014
Came to late due to inclement weather but loved the fit, will definitely order for another event!
Sexy fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
July 4, 2014
Not my favorite dress, but I didn't dislike it...sort of ehh..
This was my backup dress to another dress that I had rented. I went with the main dress, which was a perfect fit. This dress is a bit big in the shoulders & it fits nicely, but it wasn't a huge WOW factor on me. I think if I'd had nothing else to wear I would have worn it & felt good in it, but I wasn't blown away by it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
A little risqué for a wedding
This dress runs small in the hips and big in the bust. The straps do not sit comfortably as they do in the picture. I wanted this dress to work, but it was just too fussy. I wore it anyway and felt a little risqué at the wedding, since my tush was so on-display. Spanks are a must, as even little bumps will make an appearance.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
July 11, 2014
Love this dress!! You feel like a bombshell in the red. I received tons of compliments.
I wore this to a formal wedding and it was perfect! I wore a size 0 and it fit almost perfectly. It was a tad bit loose around the hips and stomach but that made room for food at the wedding. I had read a lot of reviews about people complaining about the straps but they didn't seem to bother me at all. I also matched these with RTR's Kenneth Jay Lane Aqua drop earrings and they looked amazing. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 11, 2014
You cannot go wrong with red! I truly stood out.
I knocked off a star because the shoulder part felt a bit odd and restricted.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 12, 2014
Weird fit
I thought this dress was nice but it ran a bit small. I am busty and need to wear sturdy bras so there was no way I would be able to keep the girls in line because it has these weird sideboob openings that would have shown the bra. The fabric is also pretty thick so I wouldnt wear it to an outdoor wedding. Its is really curve hugging so I would invest in some shapewear or you are going to be unconsciously thinking to suck it in lol Good dress just not the one for me :/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2014
4 year anniversary!
Boyfriend was WOW-ed by this dress... It's tight but in all the right ways, defiantly wear a shaper and go for your size and the next size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 21, 2014
Great
great dress, don't wear a bra because of the armholes. Pretty true to size
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 28, 2014
Dress was perfect!!! So comfy, and could easily move around it the dress. Lots of compliments!!
The dress was perfect in every way! everyone loved it ! i did not want to take it off! The size 4 was a good fit not too tight, i tried the size 2 but it was very tight in the bust for me. Perfect for the occasion <3
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×