Halston Heritage

Smooth Operator Sheath

$134 to buy
$475 retail
Stylist Notes

Ladies, get ready to sizzle in this red hot number by Halston Heritage. With its timeless shape and crimson hue, you'll be taking numbers all night long. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust so bustier women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt is very form fitting
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red Ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Short sleeves. Off the shoulder neckline. Hidden back zipper. 38” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
493 reviews
Fit
Large
(25)
True to Size
(315)
Small
(76)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 14, 2013
backup dress
I rented this for a backup dress but I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller long sleeved lace dress (perfect!). This dress was a bit plain and fit odd. I was underwhelmed by the fit, and it looked a bit cheap on me. However, I have to say it looked beautiful on some of the other girls in the reviews and on the model. I couldnt wear this but maybe a girl with skinnier arms would be more flattered.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2013
A night to remember, or not - because I was long gone already in da photo!
Very flattering yet elegant red dress for my birthday dinner and party! Tight enough to show some curves but it is stretchy and comfortable too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2013
Difficult to wear
The dress was beautiful standing still but wasn't very flattering and the straps rode up constantly! Uncomfortable on the arms as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
It was a great color!
I usually wear a 0 but this dress felt very tight in a 0 to the point where I didn't think I could sit comfortably at the wedding or dance! So I wore the 2 instead but it was a little bit too big and started bunching up at the wedding in the middle area (as you can see in the picture). If I had worn the 0, it might have stretched out through the night but it was so uncomfortable when I tried it on that I didn't want to take the risk! It still looked very nice but I wasn't the most comfortable in either size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2013
One of the best dresses I have rented
I wore this dress for an engagement party and it fit beautifully. I loved the fabric and I got a lot of compliments on it. The color is much prettier in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
April 23, 2013
Awesome!! Got so many compliments on this dress. Sexy but classy. Highly recommend it!
I usually wear a 4, but the 6 was more comfortable across the bust area. The material was stretchy, so very comfortable. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2013
"That dress was magical"-my date
Loved this dress!! Hugged in all the right places. I am smaller on top with a much curvier bottom half (32" chest, 27" waist, 40" hips). It has a great amount of stretch- could dance, sit, eat, and drink comfortably all night. My only compalint is that the "off the shoulder" look was hard to keep in place. I eneded up using small safty pins around the interior to make sure it stayed in place. i highly recommend this dress; the fit and color were a huge hit!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2013
Beautiful, classic dress!
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it. I wore it for a semi-formal awards event with nude pumps and it was perfect! It fit amazingly (though I would recommend some Spanx, as it is very fitted in the hips) and was super comfortable. The only thing that may be a little annoying would be if you were trying to do a lot of dancing in this dress- the off-the-shoulder sleeves kinda limit your moves. Overall, I LOVED this dress and wish I could buy it! More fit notes: it does DEFINITELY show off your curves and is pretty fitted. I am pretty pear shaped and it was definitely hugging on my hips (in a good way). You'll want to wear a sticky bra, because you do get a little sideboob action and a regular bra would show (you can see in the third picture).
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2013
Amazing dress! I actually ended up buying it! Makes you stand out in the crowd.
This dress runs a tad small, so opt for a size up. I usually wear a size 2, sometimes even a size 0, and I ended up going with a size 4. It was very comfortable and fits to your shape. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2013
Hot dress...
WOW! What a dress...still getting compliments (especially from guys!) 5 months after the formal. Definitely more form-fitting than I though it would be, but hugs the curves in all the right places...was a little constricting in the shoulder/ arm area but didn't really bother me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 13, 2013
This dress is fantastic!
I ended up wearing my second style dress to the Valentine's Day Party I went to, but only because the other dress was a little more "office party appropriate." This dress is SEXY!!!! Wear it out for your boyfriend or husband. Render him speechless all night long. I will rent this one again! It does run small, this was the first time my back up size fit (I rented a zero and a two, and the two fit better.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
May 28, 2013
Perfection!!!!!
This dress fit like a glove and the length was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and color.
Like the other reviewers, the band across the shoulder may come up while dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 4, 2013
So sexy!
I ended up not wearing this for a wedding, but would definitely rent again to wear for a girls night or a fun social night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 4, 2013
Stand out dress!
I'm not surprised at all on how many people have commented the strap won't stay in place. You are not supposed to fold it! I did at first, then re-looked at the pictures, & realized that no, it is supposed to lie flat. With the strap flat as-is, it was very comfortable & did not move at all. There IS some side boob action - I initially tried on the 4, as it looked tiny out of the box, but it left a little gap under my arm where this would have been an issue. So, I sucked in & went for the 2. It honestly didn't feel any tighter, & there was no side gap. Spanx were not an option, as the dress is so tight it showed the line at the top when I tried putting them on. Oh well...I was able to wear a sticky bra, which was fine. I was also a little worried the first time I put this on, thinking it was very pretty, but almost looks like your typical dress from the mall. Once I had the shoes, makeup & hair done, I felt better about it. It's not my favorite rental ever, but definitely a stand out dress. Red is always fun!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
Beautiful but Not Perfect
I thought about the dress I would wear for my one-year wedding anniversary in Vegas for months, and this one always escaped my attention. I had a few others in mind but decided to stay within a budget, so went with this one as a backup to a Nicole Miller dress on a whim because I love off-the-shoulder styles. My typical choice is black so I decided to go with red to step out of my comfort zone. This is a true red. It is very attention grabbing (but if you're looking to rent a red dress, you probably know that already). I am a true hourglass and this dress accented every curve. Spanx are mandatory for those with any bumps (I have many). I really appreciated the more modest length. I decided to go braless as I had no time to find a bra that would work with the arm cutout situation. It wasn't a terrible choice but if I had more time, I probably would have invested more energy in finding a flattering bra. Overall, this dress made me feel pretty foxy, but since I had to wear Spanx, it was more of a "eat food and regret it" kind of dress. My husband did like it (but ended up loving another dress I already owned more, I went with this one anyway). If you have the shape, you should totally rock it though. It is very sexy and a moderately priced swap-out for all of the available red Herve's. I would size down and wear Spanx.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
July 10, 2013
Stunning color, but a little uncomfortable
The top was a annoying because you have to keep pulling it up and down to avoid the side boob or the straps sticking up. Very form fitting, so it got a little uncomfortable to be in all night. Not my favorite in comparison to other dresses I've rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
August 5, 2013
Fit great
Beautiful dress, fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
Fell short of expectations
I had high hopes for this dress however it fell short of my expectations. The color was flattering and the fit was true to size, however my biggest issue was that I could not raise my arms .... like, ever. The second issue is there is a gape underneath the arm, so there is some major side boob action going on, and no bra can be worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2013
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and LOVED IT!!
Overall, this dress is stunning. A fabulous color red and adoring neckline. The hemline is perfect sitting right at mid-thigh. My only complaint is that the neckline kept sliding up and had to be pulled down to create the dramatic, straight effect. The fit is slimming and hugged all the right spots. I had help with my accessories (Alexis Bittar earrings and Rebecca Minkoff clutch) because my ideal clutch was out of reach for my perfect night...but as always a successful evening with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
This dress is a show stopper!
Wore size up because attended event with coworkers. Also wore hair long and loose. Hair up really accentuates the shoulders (in a good way!). Classy with an edge of sex appeal. Definitely pair with a neutral shoe to let the dress shine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 11, 2013
Pretty party dress, but not a favorite
I have mixed feelings on this dress. I rented it for a formal rehearsal dinner and ended up not wearing it (unfortunately). I wasn't comfortable in it because it felt more like a party/nightclub dress rather than a formal family wedding type of event. It really hugs every single curve and is the type of dress that you do not want to eat a big meal in! The other thing I didn't like about it was that the off the shoulder was beautiful, but very tight so it kind of smashes your arm into your body, which isn't very flattering. If I did wear this, I wouldn't wear a bra with it but again, I would only do that if I was going to a nightclub type of event where it would be dark and not super noticeable that I wasn't wearing a bra. A pretty dress, but not one of my favorites from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2013
Pretty ...
This was a pretty dress, but definitely had been worn alot. The red on the zipper had started to come off. Besides that, I got several compliments. Definitely runs true to size. I wore a 0 ... the size 2 was brand new with the tag on it still ...
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
I wore this dress for my birthday/Michael Buble concert. The dress was stunning.
I found the dress to be true to size. It's a nice fitted material. It rides up a little but other than that, it's amazing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 13, 2013
Be ready to be the center of attention!
The dress definitely boosted my confidence! I'd give this 5 stars, but the back zipper was a little long and bunched up a bit towards the bottom (and my torso is pretty long).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2013
Backup Dress
It was very form fitting, as depicted in the stock photo. It looked great! IF you were standing completely still, the second I moved it would bunch up around the waist and the sleeves would move over my shoulders. It is a very flattering dress, I wouldn't recommend wearing it for a dance if you're looking to have a good time.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2013
Sexy with a touch of class!
I got this gorgeous dress to wear for my 9 year wedding anniversary. My husband loved the way the dress hugged my curves, this dress is a show stopper! I received so many complements, I loved that is was super stretchy, it really is true to it size didn't event have to try on the size 4. There were a lot of complaints about the straps riding up. You are not supposed to fold it, leave it flat. I never had to tug or adjust them. Overall, this was my first RTR rental and was beyond impressed. I will be ordering again soon!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2013
Flattering!
So beautiful and an amazing fit. The color is vibrant; I would recommend this for any date or party. I didn't want to return it!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2013
Loved it!
I wore this for my work holiday party. Although the 6 fit well, I decided to wear the 8. Both sizes fit great! Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Not my favorite rental
As other reviews mentioned, the arm holes are awkward. If I pulled the dress up (in the arm hole areas) there was a weird bunching over my chest, and if I pulled the dress down so the material was flush, my strapless bra would show. Also, the hanging ribbons were short and difficult to keep tucked in. I felt like I was fussing with the dress all night. However, I did get many compliments and felt very sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2013
Great dress
Great valentine's day dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2013
The dress was beautiful, but it was much smaller than I expected. I didn't end up wearing it.
The fabric was not forgiving at all. Spanx would have been an absolute necessity if I would have worn it so you couldn't see my belly button. The color was stunning, and I wish it would have worked. Unfortunately, it was not what I expected, but RTR was awesome and immediately credited my account!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 19, 2013
Don't fold the neckline!
Don't fold the neckline! It will fall down, and it just doesn't look as sleek.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 23, 2013
Classic dress and sexy silhouette perfect for any occassion.
I rented this dress to wear to a formal work Christmas party. It wasn't my first choice but the first two I rented from RTR didn't work out. I opted for this because of the bold color and off-the-shoulder look. Fabric is very stretchy and slimming. Even if you don't need it I recommend wearing Spanx just to give your body a smoother look since there is no room for error in this dress. The shoulder strap does ride up even when you lie it flat across the shoulders. Although this wasn't my favorite rental, it did end up looking hot. I paired it with sparkly gold glitter pumps, gold chandelier earrings, and gold bangle bracelets.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 29, 2013
I loved this dress!!
Great dress for girls with broad shoulders for their size. I could see how this dress may not fit well for girls with a more slight build on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 31, 2013
GREAT potential, but sadly did not work out for me
The 0 fit very close to the body & was pretty smoking hot, but there was a stain on the interior in the back that showed slightly on the outside. When I use chat RTR, go to girl Didi - I didn't want RTR to think I had left that stain on it - offered to refund the charge for that part of my rental. Another amazing service experience with RTR, which is why I went "Pro". My backup size 2 actually looked better from the front (shown in pictures) but had a little "pooch" out under the zipper in the back so it was too big. The length is perfect for a glove fitting dress. It might have worked better for me if I had more behind to fill in the size 2. I could definitely see the potential for this being a fabulous dress if only the 0 was clean! The dresses also looked a little worn out, but it's possible the red was originally a bit faded out.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2014
The size worn was actually a L
I did love the color and collar of the dress. Definitely stood out. However the sleeve part of it is really tricky and I was constantly fidgeting with it. The dress isn't forgiving at all so you have to be comfortable with your figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156lbs
January 2, 2014
'Lady in red!' as my bartender friend remarked
Great color. Very slim fit so I tried the size 12 but the top band was too lose so I stuck with the size 10 and wore SPANX. I wore it with the top band folded down and safety pinned to hold it in place so that I didn't have to fuss with it at all throughout the night. Wearing it with the top folded down solved the "side boob / side bra" issue others experienced.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
January 2, 2014
Great New Year's Eve Dress!
Great dress. Fit like a glove! Runs a little small; I am typically a size 4, but the size 6 fit perfectly. Only problem was my bra showed a little under the left arm.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2014
It didn't happen..
Had to return it both sizes were way too tight..not flattering at all.
See more reviews:
4 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×